Danse Macabre: Ominous Obsession Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Danse Macabre: Ominous Obsession Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(351.79 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the newest addition to the Danse Macabre series!

Your friend is off to become a star of the silver screen! What starts as a simple send off quickly takes a dark turn as she's kidnapped by an unknown assailant! Can you uncover the dark dealings of the mysterious kidnapper before it's too late? Find out in this exhilarating hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Free Maria and end Philip's wicked plans in the bonus chapter.
  • Find morphing objects in every hidden-object puzzle!
  • Collect hidden signs in every location to unlock bonus content.
  • Earn achievement awards for your theatrical game play.
  • Treasure your memories with wallpapers, concept art, and soundtrack.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 727 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Danse Macabre: Ominous Obsession Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(351.79 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Danse Macabre: Ominous Obsession Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Solid 4! I enjoyed the demo quite a bit, and was surprised how much time had passed...a good sign! It was pleasant to play--looked good, played well, held my interest--and it will be a purchase next time there is a BOGO. I have played all the other games in this series, and this one holds up well to them. What keeps it from being a 5 for me is that although I enjoyed playing, I wasn't "wowed" by it. Good game, solid 4, all the CE bells and whistles.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ballerina beware! My friend, the ballerina/big star to be, has been kidnapped and it's up to me to rescue her. Can I do it before an ominous fate befalls her? Wow! I am loving this game! I haven't previously played a Danse Macabre game so, for me, this is fresh stuff from this dev. To begin with, the scenes play like a movie. The one at what turned out to be the end of the demo actually made me jump. I really enjoyed watching them. Seeing the way people's mouths moved as they spoke gave a sense of realism to the some of the conversations. The HO scenes felt new(ish), as well. After the games I've reviewed over the last several days, this one has been a breath of fresh air. Gameplay was very smooth and movements required were logical. I didn't feel like I was lost as I played. There were some mini-games which stood out as such and were fairly easy to complete, then there were mini mini-games that were incorporated into regular gameplay and not really counted as mini-games, per se. I thought that was a fun aspect. There are achievements and collections, although I couldn't get a sense of what the collections were because they were locked until after game is played. I can't recall for sure but maybe until after the bonus game is played, too. There's also morphing items but only in HOG's. As much as I was enjoying myself, I didn't feel the need to pay CE price for the extras this time. I will probably wait til the SE comes out and purchase the game then. Until then I say well done to the devs. Ominous Obsession is a fun game to play and I definitely recommend you try it out.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unravel the Baron's sinister scheme Story: it's 1930s Europe and your girlfriend is about to sail on a luxury liner headed for America to become a big star. She leaves behind her purse and you run on board the ship to give her her purse and discover her stateroom is a mess and she's a damsel in distress, and let the sleuthing begin. Level of challenge: moderately challenging. The HOs are well done and always have at least 1-2 items that are well hidden and difficult to find. Puzzles are challenging, the kind that takes a while to figure out, and 50% of the puzzles are this level of challenging. Makes for a long game if played on Hard mode, which allows for hint and skip button, which I like. Collectibles: 39 sign boxes to find, one in each scene, not too hard to find if you make up your mind to look for it before you go hunting for HOs. You can locate missing ones after playing main and bonus chapters, without playing game all over again. Morphing objects: 16 to find in HO scenes. Souvenirs: 30 souvenirs, unlocked after playing main and bonus chapters. You get 30 scenes and the silhouette or picture of item to find in that scene. I loved this part and was much chagrined there isn't more like this. Bonus chapter: fairly short, can be played in 30 minutes for experienced gamers. Tasks are more intutitive, HOs and puzzles not as hard as in main game. You can play match3 instead of look for HO. You can replay all the HOPs in main and bonus chapter to get a gold medal achievement. Overall, the game is forgettable in terms of plot. The artwork is nice, but not outstanding. What I will remember about this game is how hard it was--those puzzles were a bugger to solve and the tasks were 50% not obvious or not intuitive. I don't mind one or two challenging puzzles, but this was one right after the other 3 or 4 in a row. Not a great way to unwind after a hard day of real life work. CE or SE? For this game, I would have been content with the SE. The story just did not grab me. The extras I listed I could have lived without--they just seem standard and not outstanding, but you decide.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Their Best I was disappointed in this Danse Macabre. It didn't have me on the edge of my seat like the previous games. I'm not into blood and gore but this was nothing but a missing person, no dead bodies to reel you in until you find out several young girls were missing. It just didn't have that "Macabre" feel to it.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Talent That Could Have Been Ugh I found the suit case HO so frustrating. There was no clear indication what could be move to find some of the pieces. I ended up clicking every centimeter of the brief case looking for pairs for the other half that could be found. One puzzle was good where you had to move ships. Characters were good enough. I think this might be their worse game. I would only buy it if it was free to add to the collection. I guess there was Morphing objects, but I do not recall finding any. Collect music boxes, Working HO's, Jump Map, and piece together some items in the inventory. Game flow was just ok and found it frustrating and other games are just as guilty. I had a pottery shard which cut open the curtain to the ballerina stage but would not cut open the paper on the back of a picture. I had to use a seam picker for that. I was just shaking my head to the added frustration. Maybe I am to picky.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eipix Fail! Again. Your good friend, Maria, is setting sail to take a part in a movie offered her by a famous director, jumps on a ship that is in need of repair, gets kidnapped before it sets sail in the only visible life boat, - hey, nobody will notice it's missing till the ship sinks - and the inept kidnapper leaves you clear clues so you can follow just in time to witness something unpleasant. Mediocre stuff: All the game elements are here with all too familiar HOPs with morphing objects, puzzles with almost adequate instructions, varying qualities of artwork and sounds, and a story lacking passion and interest. Bad stuff: All of the above because there is no originality here. Another bland, overly average addition to an established series with "been there,done that" game features and a story that has more holes than Swiss cheese and is so much like other games that you'll want to check the title to see what you are playing - repeatedly. If you have played any of the dozens of series games dumped on the market by Eipix this year, you have probably seen facets of this one and will find it distressingly similar with what is becoming a common lack of logic and cohesion in the ultra-light story. The Demo, completed in 45 minutes, left me feeling embarrassed that it took me even that long. I should have bailed earlier. Please try the demo before buying. After playing through several hundreds of these games, I will not be buying this one.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BLUE PINK PURPLE This is a short review. I can tolerate the blue pink purple scenes in a great game but not in a mediocre game. blue pink purple blue pink purple UGH I agree with Pennmom. I prefer my Morphing Objects in the actual scenes and not the HOS. Too easy! I like a challenge when I play a game. Just my 2 cents
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Human Trafficking? Another great series bites the dust! If this game was offered as a new series, I may have felt differently about it, but when compared to other Danse Macabre games, it's just a middle of the road addition, neither bad nor good. I'm sure there will be many rave reviews, but honestly, there's nothing special about this game, and the storyline isn't even very in-depth or interesting, I have to agree with Sunnyglow on this one, as I've been saying, lately the well known series have been releasing one game after another at such a fast pace, they just can't keep up with the demand. It's almost as if they muddled several old games together to rehash the same ole same ole with slightly different graphics. You know what theses devs need? They need to have a panel of BF reviewers that can give them input on what they would like to see in a game, what features we like and dislike, and I bet you the storyline would be Epic if we were able to write the plot, or at least give them our fresh ideas! Danse Macabre games are all about talented artists who rise and fall usually at the hand of a familiar person who has hidden nefarious plans. When your best friend Maria Reiter is chosen to be cast in a movie by a renowned producer in New York, you accompany her to the docks to say your farewell's. Before the ship even leaves port, you witness a stranger kidnap Maria, using one of the ship's lifeboats! It's now up to you to uncover a nefarious plot, and save your best friend from human artist trafficking! The storyline is ho-hum and so are the Collector's Edition extras. SURPRISE, there are 39 Hidden Signs, one in each scene to look for. Bet you didn't see that one coming! You have no sidekick, and no props to help you sleuth, but naturally this Collector's Edition has Achievements to earn, and the Hidden Object Scenes have a Morphing Object to find, I love Morphs, but I really don't care for them when they are only offered in the HOP's. In my opinion, they know we like Morphing Objects so they include them in the HOP's of the CE, so that it's easier to "remove" this feature from the SE. I imagine it is difficult to remove them from each scene in the main game, it's almost like creating a second game, but on the other hand, the programmers are geniuses, I bet they can handle it. The Hidden Object Scenes offered are the same as the other games offered by Epix with the typical "find 5 of this item and 5 of that item" which gives you an item to use as a tool to open up the interactive lists such as a broom to sweep the dust covering the list. There are also Descriptive list, Multiple item finds and matching pair finds where you click items that are covering the matching pairs. Each scene has a Morphing Object and you can opt for a Match 3 game instead of the HOP. The Mini Games are okay, but most are fairly easy to solve. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Rotate the moveable parts of the gate until the two wings of the gate are identical. 2) Send the ships to the correct ports based on their flags, with the specific number of moves indicated without backtracking. 3) Use the clues from the leaflet to find the exact address of the theater. 4) Select and place the tokens in the correct order to complete the picture, each new token placed will push the previous token to the next slot. 5) Position the note on the right side so they mirror the ones on the left side. 6) Connect the ribbons to all the buttons so that every pattern on the ribbon on the top of the heap matches the pattern of the tile below. This Collector's Edition has 9 Music Soundtracks, 7 Videos, Match 3 games 22 replayable Puzzles, 16 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 8 Concept Art pictures, 8 Wallpapers, 39 Hidden Signs, a Souvenir Room, 16 Morphing Objects within the Hidden Object Scenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WALTZ THROUGH VIENNA TO THE TUNE OF SOME VIENNESE SCHMALTZ OVERVIEW: Be on your toes as you tour Vienna in this 3-star mystery game. Your best friend Maria, a prima ballerina, has been kidnapped off a ship and you are off to save her. This is a mediocre game which is similar to other games from this developer. The game has a good mystery story; the graphics are beautifully illustrated; the HOP scenes are duplicates of those from previous games; and the puzzles are extremely easy. I feel that the pace is a little slow due to the lack of challenge in the game. Am I suffering from déjà vu? I do feel as if I have played the same game before. There are an equal number of puzzles and HOP scenes. Many of the HOP scenes and puzzles are cookie cutter reproductions from other games. However, to be fair to them, I do feel EIPIX does provide a couple of new concepts for their HOP scenes and puzzles. There is a new style of logic puzzle in this game. There is one HOP scene which seems to be slightly different than those from previous games. Repeating myself now for the umpteenth time, I wish EIPIX would develop some new gaming strategies for some of their series. This is yet another series which has gone stale. I also wish they would include one or two challenging puzzles as they did in the past. Even better would be to offer puzzles with both an easy and hard option. This game will appeal to those who like ballet, mysteries and easy breezy games. Personally, I find it another boring assembly line production of previous games in this series and it will be a non-purchase for me. Extras include the same collectibles as in all of their other games (signs). There are the same morphing objects in the HOP scenes. You can also replay the Match-3 game, HOP scenes and puzzles. HOP SCENES: The HOP scenes are better constructed than the puzzles. There are several multiple-step ones. They include lists of items, silhouette, matching and cryptic clues. The “old” EIPIX HOP scene is back again in this game – locate 5 of two items, releasing a list of items to locate. You also have the option to play a Match-3 game instead of the HOP scene. PUZZLES: The puzzles are extremely easy. The puzzles include a matching puzzle to open a gate. There are two map puzzles in the demo. In one of them you must formulate a route for 3 ships within a certain number of moves. The other map puzzle is similar to a HOP scene in which you eliminate items from a scene. The demo includes a sequence puzzle and another matching puzzle as well. There is a logic puzzle involving ribbon in which you must run various types of ribbon across and down a square piece of cloth so that each ribbon covers patches of the same design. LEVELS: Easy, Medium, Hard, Custom Hints: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 15 Achievements Collect 39 signs (music boxes?) 16 Morphing objects: (in HOP scenes) Replay Match-3 Game, 16 HOP scenes, and 22 Puzzles 4 Concept art, 8 Wallpapers, Music, Souvenirs, and replay of Movies HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE: HOP SCENES: You have the option to play a Match-3 game in lieu of the scene. A. The good “old” EIPIX HOP scene. In case you don’t remember. (1) First locate 5 of two items. (2) List of items to locate. B. Matching. Match up earrings which are listed in silhouette. C. Multiple step. (1) List of items to locate. (2) Cryptic clues D. Multiple step. (1) Cryptic clues. (2) List of items PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Rotate parts of a gate so that they match. Actually, all you need to do is just rotate the parts until a light appears. Ridiculously easy! Rating: 1 B. Map puzzle. Move 3 ships decorated with their country’s flag to their home port. Each boat has a certain amount of moves you are allowed. Rating: 2 C. Map puzzle. Use a map and clues from a note to remove items from the map. After you have removed the items you will be given the location of an address. More of a HOP scene than a puzzle. Rating: 1 D. Sequence puzzle. Insert tokens in the proper sequence to complete a picture. Rating: 2 E. Matching puzzle. Place notes on one side of a diagram so that both sides match up. Rating: 1 F. Logic puzzle. On a board of patterned tiles, match up ribbons so that the top ribbon matches up with the tile on the bottom. Rating: 2
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew Voice Maybe I've played too many Nancy Drew games but I can no longer listen to the voice actress Lani Minella in anything. Clunky controls, same old format if you like that type of thing. Nothing new here. Bored after 20 mins.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is getting ridiculous. REVIEW BASED ON full demo I CURRENTLY OWN 504 computer games. PROLOGUE With the notable exception of two original and somewhat challenging puzzles, Ominous Obsession is a rehash of the overwhelming majority of Eipix games that have been released in the past year. The storyline is nearly nonexistent, and gameplay is simplistic and repetitive. Been there, done that…and at this point, I wouldn’t wear the t-shirt if you paid me. ONCE UPON A TIME ? Your best friend Maria is supposed to travel via ship to America to become a movie star. You’re at the dock to see her off, but realize she forgot her passport. As you board the ship to return it to her, you witness her being kidnapped and manage to follow the trail to a theater, where it appears as if cult activity is going on…or maybe they’re just rehearsing a play. In the hour demo, the plot remained thin, confusing, and poorly developed to the point that I didn’t care what happened. Sorry, but if you can’t capture my interest in an hour, you’ve failed to write a proper exposition. PLAY THE GAME ?? Adventure - Lots of the usual hackneyed and illogical devices: • the dreaded missing zipper pull (Getting old, devs.), • the rusty hinges that magically become brand new with oil (Ever try that? Yeah, you get oily rust.), • the magnet to get something metal from a cabinet with a glass front (Surprise! Not all metal is magnetic.), • shaped keys to fit inset “locks,” (So much nope.), • broken things that need repairing (On a ship about to set sail across the Atlantic?!), • incomplete items, etc. (Level of challenge: low. Fun factor: low.) HO Scenes - Quite a bit of variety but, in the end, they’re still “unhidden object scenes.” • Find five of each, then use those to unlock interactive list panels. • Matching pairs. • Riddles. • Straight interactive list. • Silhouette find and use that included a zoomed area matching pairs (with really badly drawn pictures). You can play Match-3 instead; for each Eipix logo you get to the bottom of the grid, one object is “found.” (Level of challenge: low. Fun factor: low.) Puzzles - Throwaway, stupidly easy puzzles included: • rotating parts of a gate until the two sides matched, • finding multiple icons on a map, • turning four lion heads until they faced the center (moving one did NOT affect others), • clicking jigsaw pieces in the correct order, • moving musical notes to mirror the given clue. There were only two that were original and offered a modicum of a challenge. • On a map with three ships and marked shipping lanes, move each ship to its destination. Ships can only move along shipping lanes that match their flags, and moving a ship through a marked point changes that point’s flag. This puzzle required strategy and was actually fun. • A loom is partially woven with patterned ribbons. Add ribbons vertically and horizontally so that the topmost ribbon you add matches the pattern already in place. Again, this one required a bit of planning and was fun. These two puzzles are the sole reason gameplay got two stars instead of one. SIGHTSEEING ?? • Scenery - Apparently, we’re back to the nauseating “all light sources are neon” trend. Most scenes appeared unrealistic because the light was not realistic. Twilight skies aren’t purple, sunsets aren’t usually Pepto Bismol pink, and streets at night aren’t blue. • Up close - Textures were rendered well, including reflective surfaces. • NPCs - Generally drawn fairly well, but the animation was cut-rate. • Cutscene Animation - Grainy and pixellated on my large screen HD monitor, with inconsistent quality. At times, the articulation and movement of the NPCs was spot on, as if green-screened (like the winding of the music box and the shadow figure dancing). Most times, it was non-human and stop-motion in quality (like Maria waving goodbye…her arm looks like it’s on backwards). • Zoom Scene Animation - Pro forma at best, it had none of the smooth, realistic animation Eipix usually produces. SOUNDBOARD ? • Music - Overly dramatic and repetitive. I turned it off. • Environmental Sounds - Mostly lacking, unfortunately. • Game Sounds - Appropriate and mostly not annoying. • Voiceovers - Amateurish. Either stilted and lacking affect or melodramatic. TOOLBOX ?? • Inventory Panel - Not really a panel, but a series of circles. Every item animated when you moused over it, which was distracting. The arrows only moved one item at a time, so it took forever to click through, since only five items show at once. • Map & Navigation - Fully interactive map drawn like a blueprint. Regarding navigation: the sweet spot to go back to a previous location was extremely small and touchy. It was too easy to move past it to either the inventory or the scene. • Journal - None. • Helper - None. • Gimmick - None, at least during the demo. BUGS & BOTHERS No technical difficulties with Mac OS 10.11.6. I did find that there was a great deal of lag at the ends of cutscenes before gameplay would resume, as well as every time the dratted notification banners slid in from the side, which was often. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY ???? • Bonus Chapter - Free Maria, which you apparently don’t do in the main game. • Strategy Guide - Presumably. • Collectibles - Easily visible boxes of some type in each scene that allegedly unlock bonus content. • Morphing Objects - One in each HO scene. • Replay HO Scenes - Yes. • Replay Puzzles - Yes. • Developer’s Portfolio - Wallpapers, soundtracks, concept art, movies. • Other - Dubious performance achievements, replay Match-3, souvenir room. EPILOGUE - Overall Rating: (12 total ?) ÷ 6 = ?? I see no need to spend money on this, because I’m pretty sure I already own several Eipix games exactly like it…and have reviewed and refused to buy dozens more. Much better games by this dev include: • Amaranthine Voyage: The Living Mountain CE ????¾ • Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment ????? • Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree ????? • Myths of the World: Black Rose CE ????½
Date published: 2016-09-10
  • y_2019, m_4, d_25, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_25439, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Danse Macabre: Ominous Obsession Collector's Edition

Can you save your best friend before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.