Fear for Sale: The Dusk Wanderer Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Fear for Sale: The Dusk Wanderer Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(452.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

EleFun Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Fear For Sale series! It's been 40 years since a young couple disappeared in the European countryside. The case went cold until the missing woman was seen in her childhood home having seemingly not aged a day! What starts as a normal investigation quickly takes a dark turn as dark spirits try to stand in your way. Can you uncover what happened to the couple, or will you get lost in a labyrinth of mystery and deceit? Find out in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Revisit the Carmer estate in the bonus chapter.
  • Search locations for well-hidden collectibles.
  • Consult the helpful strategy guide.
  • Test your skills with challenging achievements.
  • Enjoy wallpapers, concept art, music, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1653 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear for Sale: The Dusk Wanderer Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(452.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Fear for Sale: The Dusk Wanderer Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Considering all things in what we are offered lately With respect to all that has been said, I can't pass on this game. These Dev's pay so very much attention to detail and offer you so much variety they break all the rules for me. Even the map supports your total game play with looking for the extra's. I haven't got to the gadget yet....I do not like them and do not like the little helpers, so I am crossing my fingers that I didn't make a bad choice with purchasing the game. I also don't really care for the color scheme they use in their games, so with all that These are some of the best HO's around. Detail, detail, and variety. Outstanding! Oh yes, the stories could definitely use a good change in this type of genre.... I have the other ones in this series, and I was not disappointed with the game play in the demo.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game!! It had a story you could follow, graphics were great, I would have liked it a bit scarier but enjoyable.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bitter-Sweet Redemption, Unpolished Our ghost and gossip reporter Emma Roberts gets an emergency call from … Hillary Clinton? Not quite, her name is Veronica Johnson - but she certainly could qualify as a lookalike. 40 years ago, her brother Edward disappeared together with his girl-friend Helen Larson. But only recently, Helen was seen through the window of a her old house - Veronica could even take a picture. Disturbingly, Helen looks not one day older than in 1977 ... We (as Emma) arrive in the first scene by cab. The place looks very European, like a small, southern German or Swiss town – but we pay in Dollars. Funny. I don't think we'd find these medieval houses with their typical timber framing anywhere in the states. Anyway, we are at the site of the ghostly sighting. Birds chirp their evening songs, the scenery glows in the last sun rays, soon it will be dusk. We see lots of brown, ochre, brick-red, olive, golden, dusky, autumnal colors, later violet and blue. All outdoor scenes are set in different states of dusk, from golden hour to sunset and into the night. I like this concept, but find the title nevertheless a bit random; there is nowhere a wanderer. The story, though nothing new or surprising, wouldn't be bad: an old jealousy, a mistake which eventually drives three restless spirits to haunt the Larsen's house and the Carmer estate. However, the execution of this plot rather bewildered me. Ben, the lead role besides of Emma, is completely illogically constructed, his figure is simply ... far, far away from any verisimilitude. Elefun shouldn't have given him prestige and a family. Would an intelligent engineer threaten a girl, which is a quarter as burly as himself, with a loaded gun? Would a wealthy socialite run around in the shoddy outfit of a farmhand? Would somebody, who is familiar to lord over servants, speak with the soft, uncertain voice of a frightened youth? No matter how we look at it: Ben's position in society doesn't fit to the showed character. We see a hapless, paranoid lunatic who clumsily traipses into every trap, gets buried under stones, falls into wells. Was he even meant as a funny role? To me it looks embarrassing and badly transposed. Emma by contrast is remarkably self-confident, bossy and terse. When she snaps in direction of Helen: “Don't worry. I'm here”, it is more like a command than reassuring. To Ben she talks like a school mistress to her very dimwit pupil. Even this could have been funny, but somehow lacked … the fun. Strangely enough, Emma seems to know exactly how to handle these ghosts, even before she finds clues. She also understands the quantum magic of the labyrinth right away, before she sees any descriptions. Hm. Yes, there is a “labyrinth”. But it's is not so much a labyrinth as a time warp device, and it consists of the Carmer estate in different time periods, like the 70ties or 50ties. No idea, why there must be those silly, white Pierrot porcelain masks on the walls in every labyrinth scene. Peculiar I also found the handling of sound. For the first time, we have at times clearly audible chamber music outdoors or in catacomb scenes. Strange. Is there an orchestra which we can't see? Are the excellent sound effects not good enough? Many scenes have merely SFX or even no sound at all, fortunately. But it yields a confusing effect when we travel back and forth: we get slapped by snippets of different music in different styles, one second this track, one second another one. Even weirder: in a scene where the invisible orchestra plays, we zoom into a window ... and the music simply stops. Which random generator created this muddle, I wonder. But what really annoyed me, was the application of biocides, even TWICE. First, we spray a plant with weedkiller - which like every herbicide surely contains glyphosate. Second, we must eliminate strangely mutated stag beetle-ants with insecticide. Good heavens! Does Elefun now perform product placement for Monsanto? And how shall we pollinate our fruits and vegetables when the insects have been exterminated? Please, don't give us this rubbish; we've had enough of applying bug spray where a simple brush would do. Through the whole game I thus here and there stumbled over nonsense, contradictions and flaws. Over logical blunder: according to his drivers license, Ben Carmer lives at 26 Water Street. In a newspaper clipping we read: “City authorities have elected to demolish 26 Water Street, formerly known as the Larson property”. Uh ... are there two Water streets in such a small town? Or when we klick at items, texts sometimes appear before they should, and we can't do anything with the message (yet). No, this is not a polished game. It should have been granted a bit more time to finish and smooth out. But as it is, somebody (probably Emma) came barking in and bellowed: “Deadline is tomorrow! Get a move on!” and such. Drat it! It'd be such a pity if Elefun would now join all those devs which were once brilliant, but started to churn out rehash and cookie-cutter games, just because the Big Sharks prefer quantity over quality ... The end tasted for me rather bitter-sweet. In course of the game we discover quite a bit of background about the figures, and we get the most information concerning Ben. At the end I had more sympathy for Ben and Adam than for the tedious, ghostly love couple. So why should there not be a happy end for everybody? It's just not fair. But well ... when has life ever been fair? MUSIC: Arkhipov never disappoints. A dozen of the 16 tracks are more or less minimal-ambient-soundscapes: very intriguing, incredibly subtle constructs, some eerie, some sad, some created from merely statics and spooky sighs. You certainly never hear soundtracks as exciting as these somewhere else at BF. However I can't recall to have noticed much of them within the game. They were probably drowned by invisible orchestras or wasted for too short mini-games. No, wait - I found for the first time three or four puzzles which were NOT solved within 30 seconds! Glad to see the attempt, Elefun ;) EXTRAS: Currently, this dev still has one of the most meager offers for CE editions. We get the whole who-cares-bunch of 9 wallpapers, 11 concept art sketches and 3 screen savers. Of the 9 achievements are 5 bogus rewards for playing the game. The four real achievements are one each for finding all morphs / all collectibles, one each for using no hints in HOPs or puzzles. Meh. The 35 morphing objects, one in each scene, are sometimes hidden in dark corners and not always easy to see. However the cursor indicates where to click; I didn't find a way to turn this off. Collectibles appear in the same old 5 x 5 pattern, five of this, five of that, a random range of mundane things like sunglasses, whisky on the rocks, high-heels, clocks. The only witty item in the whole knick-knack is a book with the title “How to fix everything”. How about inserting a bit more fun here, Elefun? What could be worth the CE price are the 16 music tracks. The BONUS CHAPTER plays in 10 scenes, five from the main game, five newly created. It contains 8 HOPs, 6 puzzles and lasted for me about one hour and ten minutes. It doesn't add anything new to the story, is more like a flare up again of the same plot. Adam Carmer's ghost suddenly seems to care about Ben; paradoxically so, after he made Ben suffer through the whole main game. Thus, he abducts Edgar & Helen and growls “Bring my son back right now, or they'll never rest!” Really strange. Does Adam not know that Ben is in fact looking for him? That he conducts mysterious rituals to bring his father back to life? Shouldn't a spirit feel those efforts? Adam must be an especially dense specter, lol. And guess what? When we find Ben eventually, he falls again into a shaft … Oh dear!
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Series Not what it used to be... I used to enjoy this series but they seerm to be sliding down the quality scale to me. Now, this is just my opinion, but there are no puzzles that a child could not do and the graphics have gone from an 8-10 to a 4-5 rating. And this series still does not have a map that pops u where u need to go. Probably just me but I am not enjoying this easy game at all. I want to use my brain!!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm lost and alone! Hi friends! As usual, I mostly review on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. Well, looks like we have #9 in this series, unless my count is off. I have the first 8, so was excited to see this one come along. I was disappointed in the faded blues and purple colors, as well as the faded graphics. Animation wasn't bad. Voice overs were okay, but nothing special and not much in the way of emotion, fear, etc. Sound FX were pretty nice. Music was okay and changed depending on what was happening at the time. Game play was good, except when the hint stopped working for a bit. It did fix itself. HOPs were a nice combination of interactive lists, silhouettes, replace items in scene and highlighted words. If you didn't care for the HOPs, you can switch to a jigsaw puzzle, my favorite. Scenes weren't too cluttered and items were fairly easy to spot. Puzzles were quite simple and took no time at all to complete. Hint system is helpful, but there was no transport, so you had to use the jump map. I do like the way the map is set up. Very easy to follow and areas well marked. Collectibles are the same as all the others in this series, but I like them. They are varied and items are not all the same. It is easy to forget to look for them. You need to find 6 of each: against the rules; damsel in distress; Adams legacy; timepieces and hope for redemption. You also need to find 35 morphing objects. Watch for these, as they morph quickly and some are quite small. I was somewhat disappointed in this game. The story wasn't bad, but the devs definitely need to pay attention to those of us who constantly complain about the colors and graphics. They just have a way of making your eyes tired very quickly. Again, you have to use a bright light to get rid of the bad spirits, but that seemed to fade away for the time being. I'm sure it will return as the game progresses. That said, the game flowed quite well and was easy to follow. There is no real challenge to any of it, except finding the collectibles, which I especially like. I think this will appeal to all levels of players for one reason or another. Yes, I will add this to my collection, but I'm not sure it will be the CE version. I will put this in my puddle and think about it a bit. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fear of Confusion I forgot got what game I was playing and thought it was The Maze. Oh no. Kind of dark game. It was okay. Entertaining enough to buy. Just not my favorite Fear for Sale game.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The puzzles are too easy I like all of the fear for sale games but the games in this one were too easy. The game almost solved everything for you. Please make the games a little more challenging.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very frightening... I bought this game on the judgment of the first minutes - as i don't dare to play too long before i decide. I better had taken more time. For me this was a very subtle frightening game and i did not enjoy at all playing it. Just that i gave money for it kept me going. It sure is interesting for people, who like dark games, but for me it was way beyond the normal amount of horror... even the sounds were frightening... now, i will have a closer look at future installments of this serie's before i buy it. Sorry, but this one was really not for me.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blurry, grainy graphics & a predictable overused story The most striking thing about this game is the poor graphics. I definitely don't expect blurry graininess in a HOPA game these days, and this "feature" was not appealing. Other than that, this game is a rehash of every HOPA you've ever played with a "stalwart paranormal investigator" story, a category that competes only with the rescue-the-relative theme for primacy in the HOPA genre. What is innovative here? Well, instead of buying a bag of peanuts for the squirrel I have to feed and finding a hairpin to pick a lock instead I got to find a bag of peanuts for the squirrel (if clicking on a bag laying in plain sight on the counter of an untended concession stand can be construed as "finding" it) and buy the hairpin. Wow, is this imaginative! What I fail to understand, is why developers continue to be so fascinated with the concept of a squirrel (or any other small furry animal) as a guard that must be bribed before giving up the secret book that just happens to be lying in some random outdoor area. It's a silly idea and seeing it for the 1000th time doesn't make it any less so. This developer loves the feed-the-animal gimmick so much that, in the course of the brief demo, I got to feed not just one animal but three! The unusual mix of the found peanuts and purchased hairpin was the only deviation from the well-worn path between me and the HOPA ghost busting. Other than that, there is the typical clearing of thick vines, finding of ladders to get into second-floor windows, and all the other overused and underwhelming tasks you've performed in a gazillion other HOPA games. If you've played a HOPA before this game will give you no surprises. Combined with overly fussy pop-ups that require a click in just the right section of pixels to function and "puzzles" made up of things like eight pieces already arranged in the correct spot, the lack of even a glimmer of imagination or innovation here make this game a no-buy for me. The easiest way to sum this up is "been there and done that."
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What on earth is this Game about? Story is ridiculous, all over the place and has NO adhesiveness. The only thing I like about this Game is the Jigsaw Puzzle option, otherwise the Game is tedious and BORING. Definitely NOT worth a Collector's Edition!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The last of the series in my collection I have all of the games of Fear for Sale but I won't buy any other of them. There's so little to do, except the collectibles, that I can't even imagine how bad the SE could be. You are in a place, do a few things and leave for the next. It's a fragmented game and this makes the story fragmented too. Farewell Fear for Sale!
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wander Away From This One Fell asleep playing this rehashed, tedious boring game. Rehashed story line. dreadful graphics & characters with wonky mouth movements.
Date published: 2016-10-03
  • y_2020, m_1, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_25504, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear for Sale: The Dusk Wanderer Collector's Edition

What secrets are hiding in the European countryside?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.