Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(464.69 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

For years, the sailors and pirates of the Lost Lands have been talking about a ghostly ship sailing in the heart of a storm. This vision disappears as soon as it comes to life. Rumors spread about the ship’s captain, a huge octopus that travels with the ship, a Yarl’s curse, and an evil sorceress!

Meanwhile, Susan finds a strange pirate chest with the compass of the worlds inside and a note begging for help. It's time for her to return to the Lost Lands!

  • Continue the adventure in the bonus chapter!
  • Enjoy collectibles, achievements, morphing objects, and bonus puzzles!
  • View wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks, and more!
  • Consult the helpful strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1043 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(464.69 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan May Want To Relocate I have been a fan of the Lost Lands saga from the very beginning when Susan and her young son Jimmy were first transported to the Lost Lands. I remained faithful as time after time I watched this poor woman get yanked from her everyday real world life to help solve all the otherworldly apocalypses. This time, the Lost Lands have come to her world to ask for help, sort of. Susan has just met the captain of the Grey Flounder, Finuer Steelburn, who explains that the ship isn't real, the giant octopus that brought her aboard isn't real, not even the captain himself is real! The real Finuer Steelburn is being held prisoner, and cursed into an eternal slumber. In his dreams, the captain has traveled to many worlds, and each time he visits, the worlds he traveled to have experienced cataclysmic disasters. Susan must return to the Lost Lands, find the real captain, and release him from his eternal slumber or both worlds will suffer dire consequences! As I stated earlier, I've been a fan from the beginning of this fantasy themed adventure series, and I love the storyline of this latest edition, with reservation....What is up with the really poor graphics? I have always prefered computer generated graphics over hand drawn graphics, but what kind of computer did they use, or software, I just don't get it. The colors don't pop, it may as well be a black and white, there are few details, and at times they even look blurry! I would expect graphics to evolve and become crisper with each new game because technology evolves so quickly, did they go over budget and decide to cut corners and use cheap software? On the brighter side, they haven't cut corners on all the Collector's Edition bling that this series is so famous for. Each scene has a Collectible from one of 4 different categories, there are 8 skulls, 8 bottles of Rum, 8 sailboats, and 8 fish statues altogether. There are also 15 Collectible Masks, and 20 Lost Manuscript pages, and 8 Map fragments that will unlock 20 bonus level Mini Games. There are several Achievements to earn and last but certainly not least, there are 32 Morphing Objects. Many reviewers have complained in the past that these collectibles are too small, but I prefer it that way because it makes them more credible (morphing snail for example) I only wish the cursor didn't change to a hand whenever you come across one of these. The Hidden Object Scenes are all the same, and I'm assuming will continue that way after the demo. It's not a bad thing because they are extremely Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape finds requiring you to find an object that matches the Silhouetted Shapes, and then use those items within the scene interactively to expose the next items. Most of the HOP's have interactive puzzles to solve as well. The Mini Games are quite nice, many of them newer puzzles, and some can be challenging. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Arrange the symbols inside the inner circle to match the ones on the outer circle. 2) Repair the ferry floor by placing boards of different patterns so all holes have been covered. 3) Click on the crystals to redirect the beam of light to travel through all of the crystals only once. 4) Input the correct code by turning three dials to match the code you found earlier. 5) Rotate the fields to move the green cube to the green cell. This Collector's Edition has 9 Wallpapers, 26 Concept Art pictures, 21 Videos, 8 Music Soundtracks, 23 replayable Mini Games, 7 replayable Puzzles, 21 Achievements to earn, 32 Morphing Objects. 20 Lost Manuscript pages, 15 Collectible Masks, 8 of each, Collectible Fish Statues, Sailboats, Skulls, Bottles of Rum, 8 Map Fragments that will unlock 20 bonus levels of Puzzles, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Fan of Lost Lands I never write reviews up to now. I have been a fan of this series since game 1, and this one, again, does not disappoint. Clever puzzles and great HOPS, interactive just as I like them.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another gem of the series I love the structure of this wonderful series, one of the few where you still have to use your brain and memory to play the game. Here you don't have just to collect the items and use them in the next or the same scene. Even if maybe the graphics could be better, as I've found them a bit blurry, I think this is a very pleasant way to spend your time: a lot of collectibles, customizable game mode and a perfect skipping map if you don't like to backtrack.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am so happy to see another Lost Lands game. I love this series, there's always so much to do I never get bored in these games. I won't describe the storyline but near the beginning you meet a Beaverling and he's very talkative. HOS - interactive. The first was a silhouette where you find something that allows you to get the next item. Puzzles/Mini Games - I liked them and they weren't too hard. Map (on the right hand side) transports quickly and also shows if there is still a collectible or morphing object to find in the scene. Diary is on the left hand side. Bow of the Ship (on the left hand side) is a Dragon Head when you hover over it, it says Additional. It contains the Strategy Guide, Achievements, Collections and Tasks. 21 Achievements Collectibles and there are a lot of them. 8 Skulls 8 Bottles 8 Sailboat Models 8 Fish Statuettes 20 Manuscripts 15 Masks 8 Map Pieces 32 Morphing Objects, all different things. Extras include: 23 Mini Games and 7 Puzzles to replay. The rest are the usual things like Wallpapers, Concept Art, etc.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLUGE YOURSELF INTO THIS CAPTIVATING MACROCOSM ADVENTURE! First there was Lost Lands the Dark Overlord. Then came Lost Lands The Four Horsemen, followed by Lost Lands The Golden Curse. Now we embark on the 4th edition of Lost Lands The Wanderer. Once again you play the role of Susan where she and her husband have just come back from an adventure from The Lost Lands, but it seems far from over. The “ghost” of a Captain Finuer Stulburn from the Lost Lands has tracked them all the way back to the real world. What does the captain want? To find his way back to the Lost Lands, as he is doomed to wander between the two worlds bringing destruction to the places he visits. He tasks Susan to set the compass to the Lost Lands, and to find his body and wake it up as it is only his mind that wanders between worlds with his ship and giant octopus. You soon discover after being transported via compass sphere into the Lost Lands that Captain Stulburns body is trapped in a magical structure called the "Energy Reservoir". It's complicated for Susan in the Lost Lands because she is from the modern day era and viewed as a threat to those who seek power in Lost Lands. When you eventually face the Earl of Obian, ruler of Mist Coast who has an Evil plan to Rule Lost Lands. He throws you into his prison dungeon where by coincidence you meet Captain Stulburns wife Nitelle Stulburn. She is convinced that her husband is deceased. So you share the truth with her and both of you break free from imprisonment. Soon you will encounter your faithful companion from all the Lost Land Series. A powerful Mage named Maaron, member of the ancient Order of The Keepers and protector of Forgotten Lands from any possible threats. Now, trapped in the Lost Lands, Susan must do as Stulburn bids. What ensures is a totally unforgettable Hidden Object adventure that you, as the player, must experience. Several characters offer you help along the way, but in the end it's ultimately up to you to save Captain Stulburn and Save the day. This is an impressive series that I have LOVED since the first edition was released. It take hours and hours of gameplay to complete the journey....then there is the bonus adventure.Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector’s Edition features both Hidden Object games AND mini-puzzles, as expected. Mini-puzzles are non-HO puzzles that you still have to solve if you want to get an important item for your inventory. However, you can choose to skip the mini-puzzle, but only after a specific amount of time has elapsed. As for the HO puzzles, there’s a variety of them found here in this game. The very first HO puzzle you encounter is a silhouette puzzle - you’re given a row of object silhouettes, and you’ll have to look for them in the picture. Now, the game adds a layer of challenge by having the objects play a role in finding other objects. Thus, you can’t just find objects simply by looking at the puzzle. You’ll have to figure out what they could be useful for in the puzzle. Cut scenes feature beautifully rendered artwork, with professionally recorded dialogue accompanied by very legible subtitles below. These audio-visual presentation completes the truly immersive experience that this HO game offers for members. Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector’s Edition is best EXPERIENCED instead of just talked about. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did, and if your new to the series play all of them. I especially love Lost Lands The Four Horsemen...
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OFF ON ANOTHER EXCELLENT ADVENTURE TO THE LOST LANDS I absolutely love the Lost Land series of games and own all of the others that I have played many times. There is so much to do and see in the games so they have great replay value. Not only do I have all of the Lost Lands games I also have every CE from this developer including another of my favorite series – New York Mysteries. In the newest game The Wanderer you get to play as Susan, our world traveling heroine, who was most likely around for the original “tea party” with all the traveling she does. When Susan returns home from her daily run she finds a magically sealed sea chest in her living room and, because after her previous expedition she accidentally returned with a pair of anti-magic gloves, she knows just what to do so she can open the chest. An interesting note in the chest, along with the Compass of Worlds, leads Susan to the shore where she is whisked away by a giant octopus where she soon meets Finuer Stulburn; Captain of the Grey Flounder who we learn is only an illusion. While meeting with the captain Susan learns that not only is the Lost Lands at danger of destruction, but so is any other world the captain has visited, including our own. So begins The Wanderer and Susan must not only find Captain Stulburn’s body and wake him from his destructive wandering but find and free his wife as well. Although some might find the graphics old school, I happen to think they are excellent. The voiceovers and sound package are very good as well and compliment the game to perfection. The game offers the custom setting that is now becoming almost standard with all newer games. I appreciate the very interactive map that this developer includes in its games because not only can we quickly travel from place to place, it also shows where we have collectibles or morphing objects left to find. Believe me when I say this game has a lot of collectibles because it certainly does and is a bonanza for those of us who love CE versions of games for this reason. I am not going to give all of the details about the HOPS or mini-games because there is an excellent reviewer who provides this information for those of you who want to know. As far as I’m concerned the HOPS are very enjoyable even though most of them are the silhouette type, which is fairly standard for this developer. The good thing is that the silhouettes are fairly good so it isn’t too overly difficult to figure out what we need to find. Where I think this game is excellent is in the mini-games or puzzles. Even though the puzzles are not mind-numbing difficult there still is some challenge. Most of the puzzles are doable if you stop to think about them and if needed, you can find detailed instructions in the Strategy Guide. If you choose to purchase the CE version of the game there are 32 collectibles that complete several different sets, 32 morphing objects, 20 manuscripts, 8 map pieces, and 15 masks to find. You can replay Mini-games and Puzzles (although I am not sure what the difference is between them at this point). Other extras include concept art, wallpapers, videos, music, bonus chapter and Strategy Guide. Since I know the value of these games, I purchased it immediately because I couldn’t wait to play the full game. I love Susan and her adventures and I am sure this one will be just as excellent as the others. Okay, I am turning off the phone and immersing myself in The Wanderer as soon as I post this review. I hope others of you will try the demo to see if you just might enjoy the game as much as I do.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set Sail!!! I dont ever write reviews for games. My game of choice are TM games although I do like the hidden object and adventure games I own quite a lot. Played one hour of demo, I will be buying this game, lots of things to find. I liked the story line. Dont know about the music I shut sounds off in most games. The level of challenge was really good couple of the puzzles I skipped I didnt want to waste demo time but they seemed hard and challenging. I will be replaying them love a challenge. try the demo you have nothing to lose.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots to do I think this is one of the better games that have come out lately. First off, it is not that dark/evil. It has many collectibles and the morph's are in the game play, not the HO's. I really appreciate these additions to the game, adds more to it. The graphics area bit different, but I think it adds to the uniqueness to the game. The music is one of the better backgrounds I have heard. The only draw back is getting to the SG, that is a bit' cumbersome, but I don't use it that often. Another neat thing - on the map, it has an icon showing that there are collectibles at that location.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE FASCINATING WORLDS OF FIVE-BN GAMES! Top quality and challenging gaming, FIVE-BN Games presents the worlds of the Lost Lands. With over 20 video cut-scenes, collectibles, morphing items, puzzles and creative hidden objects that usually, in other games take up the entire game--all packaged together. No cutting corners here, these Developers have raised the gaming bar far above the others. Looking forward to more exquisite games from these fine artists. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!!! I have played every game in the Lost Lands series and they have yet to disappoint me. I love playing Susan and the most awesome thing is I can play each game over and over. They do not get old. I was really excited about this coming out and only played 15 min and knew i would be purchasing this game. I am a big fan of this series and hope they continue to bring me awesome games.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and colourful! I recommend this game. I played with pleasure and i think you'd like it.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice long game Great game and a nice length for the CE bonus game, too.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WINNER playing the trial and its a gr8 game...music is cool...and graphics are even better..must get this one for sure!! worth the dollars.....love the story line
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Consistent series so far This is the second Lost Lands game I've played, and so far, I'd say they have a pretty solid approach to real world/fantasy crossover games. There isn't anything really revolutionary or particularly fascinating about this game, but it's definitely worth checking out if you like this kind of genre. Pluses: Good length, decent bonus chapter, interactive HO scenes with some challenge involved, some creative/difficult mini-games. The collectibles are not difficult but some of the morphing objects are pretty tough! Minuses: I think the visuals are sometimes clunky-looking, good but not top-notch; some of the dialog was also strangely modern for characters who looked very otherwordly. The weirdest thing to me was that the game ranges all over, never really "finishing" one area before moving on to the next. That means there is lots of back and forth between areas of the game that are really far apart--you definitely have to use the map on this one!
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very disapointed Game's going along just great when in the bonus game my last HOG Crashes and I can't complete game I'm hurting.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dizzy... I've played the other Lost Lands games in the series and thought they were very well done. The story line in this game was superb...characters were wonderful, graphics and visual exquisite! But...I have to say that I thought that we had moved on from the running back and forth from location to location phase. It takes so much of the fun out of it. Impossible to remember so many things without the help of a map...and I'd rather I was able to do it myself so I feel I'm participating in the game and part of the magic. So...developer if you're reading this keep up this magnificent series...but you're making me dizzy and that's no fun :--)
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Susan Makes Another Foray into the Lost Lands Once again Susan is pulled into the Lost Lands. This time she will be trying to wake up a sea captain imprisoned in an energy field on an island. He is asleep and in his dreams, he sails his ship, the Grey Flounder, across many worlds. When he leaves those worlds, a natural disaster accompanies his departure. It is only a matter of time before a world is destroyed. Captain Steelburn has come to appeal to Susan to awaken him before the worst happens. This also means she will be saving the Lost Lands and her own World from destruction again. Good stuff: There are morphing objects and collectibles in almost every scene, along with lots of puzzles and great characterizations including a Beaverling named Corko and a dwarf sailor named Jepp. The artwork is astounding – just appreciate the water moving on the sea. You’ll also find the usual CE bling along with an extra chapter of the story when you finish the main bout. Bad stuff: There are only HOPs that involve finding items by their shadows and interacting with the scene to finish. There is no alternative to these – a form of punishment I found unwarranted. Otherwise you get the same game you have come to expect from this series – a group of maps that you will flip through to see what needs to be done and lots of travel back and forth between the five maps to get those things accomplished. I played through the last entry, The Golden Curse, and when I was done, I made a note about those maps. I had found that game dragged after a while because of the endless back and forth between the five maps. When the Lost Lands were finally saved, I didn’t want to play another game in the series, ever. All that said, I want to see how the good Captain Steelburn is saved from the energy field and what happens to Corko and Jepp. It seems it is not just the story that will grab you, sometimes - it's some really great characters and awesome artwork that help! Try the Demo and see what you think!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid 4 stars. I have all four games in the Lost Land series (this being the fourth), & with the exception of the first, I've enjoyed them a good deal. If you're unfamiliar with this series, two things are worth noting up front: (1) the HO scenes are all of the progressive silhouette variety, & are not replayable as part of the bonus content; & (2) these games tend more toward mini-games than HO, so if the former aren't your thing, you will miss out on a certain amount of content (on the + side in that regard, both hint & skip can be customized down to five seconds). That said, if you prioritize a game having a good storyline & interesting characters, this series is quite good, & "The Wanderer" is no exception. The main game is a good length, as is the bonus chapter, & a high level of quality is maintained throughout. As others have noted, there are a ton of collectibles, & a map that clearly indicates if you've missed any (I also like that areas never become closed off, allowing one to defer looking for them if one wishes). The mini-games are of a good range of difficulty, with some proving quite challenging; there are a few, however, that I thought were poorly done, such as the one shown in the far-right screen shot, which requires one to replicate a design while working right on top of it (obscuring one's view of the design). The graphics, for the most part, are quite good, the only notable exception being those instances when the characters have that "claymation" kind of look. The dialogue got a bit long-winded for my taste at times, but you can click through it at your own pace, which is a boon when replaying. I've played the main game twice now & the bonus chapter once; the main game took me about five hours the first time & three hours the second, & the bonus chapter took about two (no skipping any mini-games, all collectibles collected, & so forth; I skipped through the cut scenes & dialogue my second time playing the main game). All in all, the Lost Lands series, in my opinion, provides excellent value, especially as these games have good replay value. If you're not a collectibles fiend & prefer to wait for the SE, you'll still good a good, long game, well presented, that will provide hours of enjoyable play, & which you will likely want to play again. If you're new to the series, I highly recommend doing the demo, & for others in the series, as well.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Wanderer is a winner! REVIEW BASED ON completed demo (Mac OS 10.11.6) HOW I RATE GAMES My collection includes 509 computer games. To me, a successful game has a well-developed and entertaining storyline, logical and challenging gameplay, intuitive game mechanics, a variety of music and environmental sounds, and professional graphics regardless of style. If it’s a CE, the extra offerings should justify the doubled price. ONCE UPON A TIME ????? Susan has been the non-resident heroine of the Lost Lands since she saved her young son, Jimmy, from the Dark Overlord. She’s been back twice since then…once to save the Lost Lands from the dreaded Four Horsemen, and once to banish the awakened Golden Curse. Now, the Wanderer has sought her out, as he is doomed to sleep in the Lost Lands while, in his dreams, he causes catastrophe in every world he visits. Can she find and wake the Wanderer before the Lost Lands and all other worlds are destroyed? PLAY THE GAME ???? Adventure mode finds you traveling the Lost Lands in search of the Wanderer’s sleeping body. Fortunately, most of the denizens are only too happy to help you but, naturally, you’ll have to help them in return. There’s a bit of irrationality. For example, you have a “fire starter” in your inventory, which you discard once you start a fire, saying, “If I need to light anything, I can come here.” Sure, or you could have just—call me crazy—kept the fire starter! It was portable! (LoC: medium. FF: medium.) HO scenes are all of one type, which is fine, because they’re all challenging and fun. Your “list” consists of silhouettes which you find, then use in the scene toward your goal of finding the final object. Each scene includes several areas you can zoom in on and interact with. (LoC: medium to high. FF: high.) Puzzles include some from previous episodes and some new, but none are simplistic throwaways. • Two concentric circles contain symbols. The outer circle is static, but the inner circle rotates and each symbol may move separately. Rotating the inner circle and using the two free spots in the outer circle, arrange the symbols on the inner circle so they match the order of the outer circle. (LoC: medium. FF: high.) • Assemble the floor of the ferryboat by correctly fitting the Tetris-like pieces together. (LoC: medium. FF: medium.) • A circle of crystals emanates lines of light, creating a complex geometric figure. Click the crystals to draw over each line of light only once. You may start and stop in different places, as the line doesn’t have to be one continuous line. (LoC: medium. FF: high.) • A lock contains two mirrors and a number of crystals which can be rotated. Rotate the crystals to connect the line of light between the two mirrors, while also passing through every crystal. (LoC: medium. FF: medium.) • Figure out three symbols for a lock based on the hints given. (LoC: easy. FF: easy.) NUTS & BOLTS ???? The interface is nicely spaced out, with all the “extras” located in a submenu accessed by clicking the dragon’s head. Inventory locks and includes plus items. It also has a glowing indicator for the “go back” sweet spot, which is a nice touch. The map indicates available actions, transports, and notes collectibles and morphing objects you’ve missed. It’s divided into tabbed sections that correspond to the “districts” of the Lost Lands, and the indicators light up on the tabs too. There are no animal helpers and no gimmicks. Four difficulty levels are offered, including custom, and there are separate volume levels for everything. Navigation is intuitive and hotspots are adequate in size and placement. I had a bit of difficulty with the cursor, as it barely changed when there was something to do; one small part of it became animated, and it was hard to see. SOUNDBOARD ?? For the most part, this seemed like a fairly quiet game. I didn’t hear much music except for a few swells coming up in the background. There are some environmental sounds, but not many. Voiceovers are professional and fit the characters, but there are quite a few spots where you can’t click through the dialogue…and it’s pretty long-winded. SIGHTSEEING ????? I disagree with reviewers who found the graphics poor, blurry, fuzzy, and old school. While there is a stylistic difference between the graphics in this series and the graphics in the games of more prolific developers, that does NOT equate to lesser quality graphics. Overall, the animation was smooth with a high frame rate, the poser work was excellent, the textures were superb, and the depth of field was realistic as were light and shadow. The opening animation was clear and not at all pixellated on my 21.5” monitor, and the water looked amazingly real. Scenery is rendered as in life: the foreground is crisp, while the focus gradually fades so that the background is slightly fuzzy. That’s what scenery looks like IRL. Up close, items are incredibly detailed and textured. From the splintered, open pored texture of weathered wood to the smooth, reflective shine of cut crystal, the textures are spot on. Also, the treatment of light is spectacular from bright, sparkling sunlight to warm, ambient candlelight. NPCs are drawn, but are perfectly lifelike in their articulation and movement. And the palette is warm and inviting, colorful without being garish. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY ????? If you like collectibles, this is the game for you. Not only are there 32 collectibles in 4 different categories, there are also morphing objects, map fragments, manuscripts pages, and more. Some of these unlock bonus content. There’s also the bonus chapter, the SG, and performance achievements. You can replay puzzles and HO scenes. Lastly, the dev’s portfolio includes soundtracks, wallpapers, concept art, and videos. Nothing to find fault with here! END OF LINE Overall Rating: 25 total ? ÷ 6 categories = 4.16 ? (rounded to ????) I do recommend this game, although I haven’t yet decided whether to purchase the CE or wait for the SE. I’m not a huge fan of collectibles, so I’ll probably wait to see reviews of the entire game, including the bonus game, before I decide. One way or another, this game will be joining my Lost Lands collection. Happy gaming, fishies! RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV These are games I rated ???? or above at the time of their release. Some may be older, so please compare your system specs with the game’s requirements before downloading…enjoy! • from this series: Dark Overlord CE, The Four Horsemen CE (The Golden Curse CE just missed with ???½.) • one-offs: Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire CE
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of collectibles, challenge and fun! Hello friends! Well, we have #4 in this series. Yep, got the other three and enjoyed every one of them. As always, I review mostly on the game play and not the story, as others do a much better job than I on that part of the game. Excellent graphics, very clear, very realistic, including in the animation. Movements are quite smooth, no blur, just a bit of muted color now and then, but not in close ups. Game play was very nice, no problems during the demo and the picture fit my large screen quite well. Voices were pretty well done, especially the pirates and their "gravel" voices. I did have to laugh when our gal said "I'm okay," when she fell through the ladder. My grandson said that when he fell...age 3. There isn't a lot of music in this one, but what there is, is very soothing so far. The sound FX are awesome, very realistic and with every movement and action. HOPs are only interactive silhouettes. Find the item, then use it within the scene. Items are not difficult to find and scenes are fairly clear and clutter free. You could not switch to something else, if you get bored with the same HOP all the time. The game could have used a bit more here. Puzzles were actually challenging and thought provoking. You can't just breeze through these. There are some a bit easier than others, but most take time to complete. Hint system is very helpful and transports to longer locations by way of the jump map. The map opens and shows you where your next stop will be. Map is well done, and shows you where collectibles and morph items can be found in case you miss one. The SG is in a very odd place. Took me a while to find it. In case you missed it, click on the dragon in the bottom left corner. Collectibles are many. Most items are quite small, so you really have to look for them. Quite challenging here as well. We need to find 32 morphing items, which morph quickly...about 3 seconds in and out. I found a couple accidentally, as they were extremely small. We also need to find 8 skulls, 8 bottles of run, 8 ships, 8 fish statues, 8 map pieces, 15 masks and 20 manuscript pages. Whew! Love this part of the game! I found this story to be quite interesting and a little different, and was drawn into it pretty quickly. You are constantly on the move. There is quite a lot of back-tracking in this game as well, and at times, you have a lot of items in your inventory. When I beta tested this one, it didn't catch my interest, but I see the devs did make some positive changes. I do not give 5 stars easily, as a game has to be exceptional throughout. This is an excellent game, but because some collectibles are extremely small and difficult to see, I gave it 4.5 stars. This game is challenging and fun. I feel that all levels of players will find this one well worth playing. Yes, I am going to add this to my ever growing collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A New Item to Add to my Lost Land Collection I am a big fan of this series and it was nice to see them give a nod in this game to the earlier ones that came out. My only gripe is that I do wish there would be more collaboration between the departments within the producer companies of games, particularly with the artwork, so that the cut movie sequences don't have characters that look different from the ones that are featured in the bulk of the game itself. I mean, there is a resemblance, but come on - we players aren't stupid, and it does require a lot of imagination and tolerance on our part. Same thing with the sound - a lot of the time, the voices don't sound the same as what we've been hearing, and it's hard to ignore that. This, in my opinion, is a result of rushing to get the game out and not taking care with it, like ensuring that the character's mouths move realistically when they speak or that they are not just glorified GIFs.That being said and having gotten my rant out of my system, there are some beautiful scenes in this and the whole concept is wonderful and entertaining, all the more so because there are not demonic beings with red eyes or gore in the story, which is enough to make me forget the things I don't like.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from AWAKEN YOUR SPIRIT OF ADVENTURE SAILING TO OTHER WORLDS 6 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: Ahoy mateys! You, as Susan, are off on another adventure, returning to the Lost Lands in this 4-star game. All “hands” on deck! One of those “hands” is a “handy” octopus who whisks you away to the Gray Flounder, a ship under the control of Captain Steelburn. Speaking with him you discover he, his boat, and his octopus are all illusions. He is under a spell which has cast him into an eternal slumber. Every time he appears in any world, catastrophic events occur. He asks you to return to the Lost Lands, locate this body and awaken him from his eternal slumber. However, this will not be an easy task. Involved in this seafaring tale is a nefarious tyrant, the Yarl of Obian, who has abducted the captain’s wife, Nitelli. Locate the captain’s body, awaken him, fight off the evil Yarl, and reunite the captain with his wife! This is a decent game in a hodgepodge mixture of a pirate tale combined with mystery. I find the story well-written. However, the Captain’s last name has various spellings in the game and I was uncertain if they were misspellings or a literary device. The pace is good with plenty of activities to keep you engaged. The graphics are old school lacking the sophistication and clarity we see in other CE games. To me, the graphics are somewhat fuzzy in the demo. There are more puzzles than HOP scenes. You can replay at least some of the HOP scenes and puzzles. Wow! There are an amazing amount collectibles - 107 (including morphing objects) which are somewhat difficult to locate. With the exception of the talking animals such as the “beaverling,” I do like the demo. I will purchase it at an SE price. To me, it is a good but not spectacular game. HOP SCENES: There are only three in the demo. All the scenes are silhouette. However, they are quite interactive and require you to perform tasks within each scene to complete it. PUZZLES: The puzzles are a rehash of what we have seen in other games. Most of the puzzles are easy; however, I found a couple which are either slightly difficult or require some time in solving them. In the demo, there are quite a few lock puzzles. What is unique about these puzzles is that you are not given the combination on a sheet of paper – you must look them up in your diary. I do like two of the puzzles in the game. I did enjoy creating a raft in an assembly/tangram puzzle. You must create a raft with wood pieces, placing them on a frame so that there are no “gaps” in its assembly. There are quite a few pieces and this not necessarily a difficult puzzle, but rather, time consuming. There is also a nicely designed pipe puzzle in which you must connect a beam of light generated by a mirror through a series of crystals. LEVELS: Easy, Normal, Hard (You can still customize the settings) Hints: 15 to 90 seconds. Skips: 30 to 150 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 21 Achievements Collect 75 collectibles – 15 masks, 8 sailboats, 8 fish statuettes, 8 bottles of rum, 8 skulls, 8 map pieces, 20 manuscripts 32 Morphing objects: Replay 23 HOP scenes and 7 puzzles 9 Wallpapers, 26 Concept Art, 21 Videos, 8 Music Tracks HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. Silhouette. Interactive B. Silhouette. There is a mini-puzzle as well. C. Silhouette. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Lock puzzle. Code is given to you. Rating: 1 B. Matching. Match up symbols on the inside ring of the World Compass to match those on the outside of the compass. Rating: 2 C. Assembly/Tangram puzzle. Place raft pieces on a frame so there are no blank spaces between them. Rating: 3 (time consuming) D. Connection puzzle. Recreate an image by connecting crystals with green light so that all lines are lit up in the image. You do not need to create a continuous line. Rating: 2 E. Pipe puzzle. Connect beams of light between two mirrors in a continuous path through a group of crystals so that all crystals are lit. Rating: 2 F. Code puzzle. From a code, decipher the symbols for 3 tumblers on a lock. Rating: 1 G. Lock puzzle. Open a lock by following a given code. Rating: 1 H. Maze puzzle. Move a circular maze to move cubes within it so that a green cube reaches a green cell. Rating: 2
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wandered Away to save the day Love this game. Was very fun. Had lots to do, lots of morphing objects, map pieces to find, journal pieces to find, critter action, Lots to do, Good Inventory, good characters, and descent cut scenes. My helper is voice is so familiar. Going to check out the credits on that. Could he be from a few other games and a popular t.v. series?
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really hard game to rate. I have the other games in the series and was looking forward to this one. Have to say that overall I was disappointed. The visuals were great and the music and voice overs were also above average. Jump map worked very well (thank goodness) And that leads me to my big complaint. There was constant back and forth travel. Sometime objects were held for quite a while before they were needed or sometimes you found an object long after you had first seen the need for it. I could visualize the scene where it belonged but just could not remember how to get there without the map. It became tedious. I was glad to finish the game. Sometimes after completing a task there seemed no logical "next step". So back to the map again. I have enjoyed the other games in this series immensely and really hate to give such a low score but this one did not work for me. I am recommending it because it does have some redeeming qualities and great graphics and the moving may not bother others the way it did me.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lack of Character Story. I haven't even finished the entire game yet so far and it has already given me a summed up feel, pretty much a mediocre game throughout, and felt some regret buying this. I don't know how the collection edition got high reviews like that. Graphics are always great for bigfishgames, puzzles are hard to complete ( skipped most), and they skip story scenes too quickly that its not connecting up the pieces.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing, short and unsatisfying. I was very excited to see that there was a new Lost Lands adventure. I jumped right in and bought the Collectors Edition sight unseen. I was very disappointed when I played it. The game play time seemed short. The map of the part of the Lost Lands was small. Fewer areas to visit. At least one mini game was impossible to figure out what I was supposed to do. You can be sure I'll download the free version first if there is another Lost Lands adventure.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love this series, but.... I really like this series and will maybe eventually get this addition to it, but a few things bugged me this time. (SPOILER ALERT: If you don't want to hear details about the game, don't read further.) There were story inconsistencies just in the trial: One source says my magic-fighting gloves are lying under a layer of dust in my closet, and another says they are in the safe; one source says the old dwarf was imprisoned by the earl's soldiers in the cellar as punishment, but another conversation says he has been hiding in the cellar to avoid the soldiers. When freed, he says he knows where the body is--just down the street a little bit, follow me. But once out of the cellar he is nowhere to be seen to follow. The only place to go is to the beach, and he is not there. So figure out how to fix the gangway to get onto the ship, and when I do, he's magically already there! And by the way, the body is across the bay, only visible through the spy glass. I was also frustrated by the very first puzzle. We are told to "arrange the symbols" on an inner circle to match those on the outer circle. To me this means swap items to get them into the same order, but all you could do was turn the inner circle, which means they will never all match at once because the order is different. So it must mean match one or a few at a time, which I started doing. The ones you match light up green. Good. But when you turn the circle again to match other symbols, the ones you already matched become unlit--so you don't know what you've accomplished and what you have left to do! Actually, in thinking about this again, it seems like what I enjoyed the most were the CE extras--the many varied collectible and morphing items to discover. I also appreciated the interactive jump map that let us know if we still had those items to find, although it insisted I had not found the collectible in one scene, when I absolutely had done so (and I even checked the Strategy Guide to be sure.) If this kind of carelessness exists in the trial, which is supposed to be the showpiece promotion of the whole, will the game go downhill from there? I guess I'm wondering if this one came out before it was quite ready for prime time. Would love to start over with an edited and cleaned-up version.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustration! Exasperation! Vexation! First, let me say that I love games that challenge me but I don't like games whereby tasks require 10 things to accomplish to move on and then to come back again. This may be a spoiler alert--maybe not, take lighting the furnace, for instance. Not only did it require several tasks to complete but the back n' forth business is rather frustrating to say the least. I have to agree with some of the negative reviews about this. I'm giving this game 2.75 stars. Five-BN devs aren't the only ones who give you great games but like some other developers I won't mention here, they tend to be disorganized in their strategy. There is a lack of order and/or common sense I've noticed, thus far. Sometimes I have overlooked this fact with other games because their storyline and tasks made sense and were enjoyable to complete even with the back n' forth business. Yes, I know we're told to try the demo, but let's face it folks, the demo doesn't always give you an accurate picture in the short period of time you're allotted. Still its not a bad game but the storyline is somewhat choppy and the dialog is much too long. I like listening to the actors but again, let's get on with the game, will ya'! There are positive aspects of this game--the graphics are awesome, the music is good, the voiceovers are good, I like the morphing objects, the collectibles but the game-flow is mediocre at best. The go-to map is great! The hint button is good. The puzzles are so-so, to be honest. I'm in the middle of this CE version and the fact that you have numerous items in your inventory, which makes me nervous to begin with, has added to my frustration. I love long games but if this is an indication of how this entire game will play out I'm not sure I'll enjoy it but since I'm not a quitter and that I paid for this game, at a good discount, I will suffer through it. I'm glad that others are enjoying the game. More power to them! It's not the worst game I've ever played but I expected so much more. I still recommend this game because once again--to each his/her own!
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much walking!!! Way too much! The pleasure in playing this game with its great graphics and wonderful creatures diminishes with the minute, when you reckon that you have to walk endlessly here and there in order to get tools to do the next job. Without the map and a custumized hint recharching in 10 seconds it would be shere horror to have to do this. It's a real shame that such a great story and wonderful scenery is ruined by this gameplay, which was not thought through enough. It's not smooth to play at all, unfortunately.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The second star is for the graphics Yoiks! This game took *forever* and truthfully, was not worth finishing. I cringed as I opened the bonus game; I really hoped it would be better, but no. As others have said, too much to and fro, too many times the necessary action simply wasn't intuitive. I can't remember how many times I said "You've got to be kidding me!" Challenge is fun, but this wasn't a challenging game. It was downright frustrating.
Date published: 2017-07-04
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_25622, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Lost Lands: The Wanderer Collector's Edition

It's time to begin your journey to help a ghost captain and save the world.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.