Surface: Virtual Detective Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Surface: Virtual Detective Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(360.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games, the studio that created Mystery Trackers and Haunted Hotel proudly present their latest hidden-object puzzle adventure in the innovative Surface series!

The Virtual Detective Agency is now hiring! Secure your ranking as a top detective in the world’s premiere virtual reality space, sponsored by the Capsule Nexus 2000 – the most realistic full-dive virtual reality device. We’re looking for a few good sleuths to investigate the cause behind the growing numbers of missing players who have become comatose in the real world. Apply today!

  • Dive deeper into the virtual worlds, where evil forces threaten your memories, in the bonus chapter!
  • Replay HOPs, mini-games, and puzzles, and collect enough flowers to unlock the Secret Room!
  • Download unique artwork, screensavers, music tracks, and more!
  • Never get lost with the helpful strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2241 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Virtual Detective Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(360.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Surface: Virtual Detective Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW what a game! I have all Surface games but this one beats them all. After ten minutes of playing the demo I was hooked. Thank you Elephant Games for another excellent game. I enjoyed the HOPs and puzzles, they were different to the usual ones and I did skip a couple. I am now buying the game and will start again with a new profile. Please give it a try.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good storyline and a variety of scenes No talking animals, no princesses or fairytales, yey! This story is mostly set in modern times. The puzzles were good, the hint and map worked well, and there weren't too many cutscenes. The usual wackiness of characters in the story standing around while you do all of the work is in full force, but it is amusing this time. Overall a good game and worth the CE price.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's not to like, I'll tell you This is my kind of game. Some games have so many areas open it is nearly impossible to remember where your inventory items go. This game only opens a few areas at a time, allowing you to concentrate on those areas before moving on. Hint is excellent and is located on the lower right side, just where I like it. Great, great story line. There's not much to dislike about this game. A MUST buy.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's like having a dreeam it seems real I have all the surface games I think this is there best one good graphics good storyline liked the hops and mini games
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Investigate a virtual reality program that’s turning some players comatose What a game! I have played many surface games. This is the most different game. Story was awesome and visuals were great.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOSE YOURSELF IN A VIRTUAL WORLD OF AN AWARD-WINNING GAME! 6 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER - REVIEW BASED ON THE DEMO PLUS CHAPTER 3 OVERVIEW: Welcome to the next evolution of Virtual Gaming - the Capsule Nexus 2000. Wow! What a fabulous 5-star game! In this futuristic glimpse of a virtual reality, players are disappearing or becoming comatose after entering imaginary game worlds. You will play a newbie virtual detective off to locate your friends, seemingly taken prisoner by the game itself! As you traverse the various virtual worlds, you will find yourself dealing with the Dark Lord, a mastermind behind the games who seems to be turning these virtual worlds into virtual nightmares. Deal with his minions, the Black Queen and her alter ego, a young girl, Naya, who seem to be tied to the inventor of the Virtual World game system – Victor Stein. Watch out – Do not end up eliminated from the game! I have been looking forward to this game! I LOVE this game and it was an automatic purchase for me. This is a sci-fi masterpiece. The story explores the consequences of a virtual gaming world gone amok. The graphics well depict the possible dangers of a not-to-distant world of virtual reality in not only gaming but in other aspects of life as well. Both the HOP scenes and the puzzles are creatively designed. I have been anxiously awaiting this game. I purchased this game not only for the great storyline; but also for the magnificent puzzles. HOP SCENES: In the demo the HOP scenes contain the usual silhouette scenes and lists of items. There are a couple of mini-HOP scenes in which you locate a small number of one item. There is one multiple-step HOP scene which we have seen in other games. PUZZLES: Exquisite! They vary in both variety and difficulty. In the demo there are two easy breezy puzzles which include a jigsaw puzzle involving a stain-glass window and a sequence puzzle to light up a fallen Christmas tree. There is a modified old chestnut – the “foxes and hens” puzzle with the characters replaced by people and reapers. You must switch the position of the people and reapers on opposite shores of a lake by rowing them across the lake in a boat. However, you cannot leave any person alone with more than one reaper. ITSY BITSY SPIDER: My favorite puzzle involves an @spider.com finding his way off the “web.” A simple click of a mouse will not suffice. This spider must maneuver his way off this web by creating a complex path. This will prove to be a tricky little venture as you lead him to a metal claw awaiting him at his final exit. Chomp! OTHER PUZZLING DELIGHTS: There is a mathematical puzzle used to close a reaper’s hand in which each finger represents a number. You must total 27 by closing the fingers in correct sequence. There are two pipe puzzles in the demo. In one you create the physical appearance of your character by linking polygons so each link is connected to another link. The other pipe puzzle contains three tubes in which you create paths for liquid to move from the top to the bottom. Finally, choose between several answers to answer some cryptic clues. AFTER THE DEMO: Chapter 3. So awesome (well at least to me)! Enter a virtual world of a space ship in an adventure which is out of this world! Look out for space monsters as you demonstrate your mechanical aptitude in navigating more great puzzles and HOP scenes. Chapter 3 has a top-notch “a-maze-ing” puzzle not to be missed! LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, and Custom Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 9 Achievements. Some have 3 or more parts Collect Flowers to unlock a Secret Room. They are very easy to locate Collect 12 figurines well-hidden within the scenes. Replay HOP scenes and Puzzles Strategy guide - 50 pages 12 Wallpapers, 12 Concept Art, 2 Screensavers, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: (A) Silhouette items. (B) Mini-HOP scene. Locate 7 moons on a skeleton. (C) Multiple-Step. (1) Silhouette. (2) List of items to locate. (D) List of items to locate. (E) Mini-HOP scene. Matching. Locate 6 pairs of items. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Typing puzzle: Respond to your boss online by typing in replies. You can use your keyboard to type replies as well. Rating: 1 B. Variation of a pipe puzzle. Connect links between polygons so that all links match up with no links unconnected. 3X. Increases in difficulty. Rating: 3 C. A very old puzzle originally called “foxes and hens.” Exchange the positions of people with reapers from one shore to the other so that no human is left alone with a reaper. Rating: 2 D. Mathematical puzzle. Close a reaper’s hand by proving the correct numbers which add up to 27. Each finger has a number assigned to it. Rating: 3 E. Maze puzzle. On a spider’s web, using four circular wheels, create a path for the spider to exit through a metal claw. Very tricky. Rating: 4 F. Jigsaw puzzle. Recreate a stained-glass window by replacing the shards. Rating: 2 G. Pipe puzzle. Connect lines for three tubes containing liquid so it creates a pipeline from the top to the bottom of the square. Rating: 2 to 3 H. Sequence puzzle. Turn on all lights on a Christmas tree. Turning on one affects the others. Rating: 3 I. Cryptic clues. Answer a cryptic question with one of four answers. Rating: 2
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Virtual Masterpiece What a refreshing hidden objects game!! I loved the virtual reality storyline and different mini games. You truly feel immersed with a sense of urgency to find Jane and help the other victims.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VIRTUALLY FANTASTIC! LOVE the direction of this new game ... so SCIFI and different ... love the mini games/hos and ALL the characters and storyline ... the music is unique and interesting except for that background on the ship which was annoying ... visuals/animation/places are wonderful and love the creatures the humans AND the AI ... i am so happy with this new direction in editorial ... more NEW EDITORIAL in this genre please! ... based on entire game ...
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way cool This one is so different from all of the others, but I like it. Very much actually.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1010101010101010101010101010101010100001110101 I didn't get a chance to play this game when it was first released, so I had all the time in the world today to read most of the reviews posted. I have to agree with p2668's review who stated that you shouldn't be fooled by the title, because the title implies that this is a game on the cutting edge of technology. The title implies that this game will be different than so many other games with the same story told a million different ways. Virtual Detective has a great start, the latest and greatest Virtual Reality capsule, the Nexus 2000, has just arrived at your residence. You have joined the Virtual Detective Agency to investigate a strange phenomena that is responsible for some of it's users becoming comatose in reality, and one of your friends has now gone missing in the virtual world. Just when you think this game has crossed the threshold of same ole, same ole, to wow, this really is different, you get a reality check of epic proportions. Yep, you guessed it, the game instantly reverts back to the same storyline, stuck in the past, do all of the same meaningless and predictable tasks, only this time, it just seems like everything is confusing and mismatched as if the virtual world is part of a vivid dream where things seem to make sense at the time, but they in fact don't make sense. I'm not saying this is a horrible game, it's not, but, it's also not a cutting edge sci-fi game that will blow your mind because it's so creative.It has all the familiar aspects, creepy little girl who seems lost, an evil witch who calls the shots, ghostly apparitions, skeletal remains of hero's who have failed their missions. There's still graveyards that have mysterious things recently buried that you must find a shovel to uncover, well's that are missing buckets so you can find that missing puzzle piece at the bottom, gargoyles that are missing stone pieces, and let's not forget to visit the chapel where magic books give us much needed recepies to enter portals once we find all the ingredients hidden in every nook and cranny, need I say more? The Collector's Edition bling includes the ever so famous collectible Flowers that the Surface games are known for. Now I will say that I love the "new" flowers, that have replaced the Red and White pansies (or whatever kind of flowers they used to be) Perhaps the new modern flowers are just temporary to go along with the virtual aspect theme, but they are way more challenging to find because not only are they smaller, but they blend into the scenery much easier, especially when they hide them in a zoom zone. There are 12 Collectible Morphing Characters and the usual achievements to earn in the Collector's Edition as well. The Hidden Object Scenes are decent but nothing new offered. There are Multiples of the same item finds, Silhouetted Shape finds, and one scene requires you to click on dots of lights to find the symbols or animals shown, and after they have been found, an Interactive word list is given. The Mini Games are decent as well, all are doable and fairly entertaining. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Reply to your employer by typing your response on the computer keyboard. (I had fun with my responses but still just got generic answers) 2) Arrange the polygons so that all the parts connect. 3) Use the boat to carry the living to the right shore and the reapers to the left. The boat doesn't move if empty and if the reapers outnumber the living you will lose. 4) Close the reapers fingers in the right order so that the numbers add up to the sum shown. 5) Create a path to the claw on the left of the web by lining up red dots located on 3 different wheels that can be swapped. 6) Drag the stained glass puzzle pieces and rotate them to fit correctly in the window. 7) Arrange each channel so liquid will flow through it from the top to the bottom. This Collector's Edition has 12 Collectible Morphing Character, Collectible Flowers, a Secret Room (requires flowers to progress through the puzzle) 9 Achievements to earn, 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 2 Screensavers, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Adventure Through Time This is really less of a detective story than it is a trip through various scenes of virtual reality in a future scenario where your character digs into their past to uncover some interesting secrets. Gameplay is similar to previous titles in this series, with a decent combination of puzzles and hidden object sequences. There are multiple types of HOs to play, which is nice to break up the monotony. They also threw in some shooter sequences and even a small platform game, which are less successful. The story is a good one, and the slow reveal of what went on continues in the bonus chapter which did add to the game and wrapped things up. There's also a big choice to make at the end of the game that made things feel important, which I quite liked. Other bonus content are the standard collection of objects and flowers, which often times stand out harshly against the otherwise good-looking game. Voices and sounds are good but nothing of note. This is a good continuation of what's been a strong series, and one thing it has going for it is it's constantly introducing new characters and themes rather than sticking with the same tired formula of other long-running titles. It's not quite as heavy on HOs as I would like, and the end sequence was drawn out, but it makes a good purchase as a CE.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is it real! Hello friends! Well, we have #10 in this series. As always, I mostly review on the game play and leave the story to others to review. Colors aren't too bad, although a bit faced looking. Graphics are very well done for the most part, but close ups seemed blurry. Game play is excellent, with no problems during the very short demo. Animation is a little choppy, but not too bad. Music is the same as all the others in this series. Voices are age and character appropriate and fairly well done. Sounds FX were not bad. It seemed that this game was a little quieter than others in this series. Be aware that there are bright lights now and then, when traveling to other worlds...very bright lights. HOPs are a combination of silhouettes, interactive lists and straight lists. Areas are very clear and items are not difficult to find. I did not see that there was another game you could switch to if you did not care for the HOPs. Puzzles were interesting and some were a bit challenging as well. They weren't especially difficult, just took a little more time to complete. Nicely done. Hint system is quite helpful and it does transport to longer locations. This is very helpful, as you do return to the same locations multiple times. Yes, you can use the jump map, but this way is much faster. Collectibles are 27 flowers. All of the games in this series have flowers, but these are quite different from the others. They look more like buds than a flower. Some blend very well into the background and are a little difficult to find. We also have 12 figurines of the characters. These can also be disguised very well, so be on the lookout for them. On the whole, this is a nice game, with a little different story line. To me it moved a little slowly, but I found that I really need to play out the story and see what happens. I really like the virtual reality angle. I think most all levels of players will find this one fun and entertaining. Yes, I am going to add this to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rising to level of Virtuality Fairly good game. Love the Characters and collectables, HO's were very fun, Puzzles simple but fun, Game flow was good, and loved how the inventory was used. Worth a Watt to plug into this Realm. Goes on my to buy list. Demo was short and sweet.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Care for a game of AI? Yes, please! This concept brings the Surface series to a whole new level! After playing the "Beyond 2", I'm in the sci-fi mood and I really liked the turn that Surface has taken. Not boring, not unedged... it is more ballsy than ever! And although I skipped too many puzzles in this HOG, the mini games of arrows and linking (the 1st one) got me hooked.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relaxing Visual Variety Modern story line with a fantasy twist and a customizable avatar. The collectables were reasonably easy to find and offered a fun mini game. This game wasn't super hard though there were some frustrating puzzles. Beautiful game with a good bonus chapter.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from surface: not a virtual reality Let me first say this is a visually stunning game. It is on the more difficult side such as the map is not always helpful and the objects to find are like, that's it??? It is another dark lord type of game; not at all what I expected since it starts out more like a science fiction cyber type of game and then totally changes to a been there done that I am a queen and he is the dark lord, etc. Even though I am recommending the game, it is not for me. By all means enjoy the demo, but don't buy without trying first.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusing! Too many Mini Games! Lack of Clarity and Direction! Overall: Excellent graphics and characterization Not the best effort from this developer. Bizarre scenes, confusing mini games with way too many of them and story just seemed to ramble without much direction.Long game.Did not enjoy the start of the game, encountered a number of weird locations that really didn’t make any sense.Lack of clarity where to go and what to do, overloaded inventory, often double click on hidden objects, mini games were confusing and some didn’t work. Need to go back to the drawing board and run another test on all features.Final mini game was just overkill but with okay ending. Bonus game didn’t impress either. Graphics: Excellent Sounds: Good Music: Okay but too often repetitious Characters: Nicely designed, human appearance, detailed Hints: Long wait, never looks full, transports at times and with lack of direction it needs to reset faster Map: Didn’t use HOG: Often had to click item more than twice to connect; poor pretesting and not enough games for a “Hidden Object Game.” Music during HOG often repetitive and annoying and turned it off. Mini: Way too many! Some were bugged, many unclear and didn’t make any sense, repetitious games, and some just down-right annoying. A few were easy but most very time consuming and redundant. Morph/Collect: Yes, but didn’t focus on them
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sadly underwhelming The Surface series has produced some excellent games in the past, but for me, this is not one of them. Maybe I was just in the wrong frame of mind. It starts promisingly, but gets confusing and illogical very fast. Note that "confusing and illogical" is standard for these types of games, but this was really not good. Inventory clutters up fast with random junk. Characters and storyline are not engaging. Visually a treat, but that is not enough to save it. Finally hit my "can't be bothered" point when I could not select the item I needed in a HoP despite the hint assuring me that yes, this was what I needed. Try for yourself, but I would not recommend and regret this purchase.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from How to make virtual reality as stimulating as leftover oatmeal: Start by using every hackneyed HOPA cliché you can think of (an item rusted shut, a bottle requiring a corkscrew, a well w/ neither crank nor bucket) in the very first virtual "world" the player visits. Add in an overabundance of "There's a tiny owl missing", "It's a wax seal with a floral design", "It's missing five little amulets" (it was actually missing four, but at that point, who's counting). Add HO scenes that are unremarkable & puzzles that pose very little challenge (I do concede that a couple weren't standard fare, which is nice, but they still required very little thought to complete). Collectibles in this game include little futuristic-looking flowers & what appeared to be morphing figures. While I thought the characters were well done, I personally didn't care for the graphics overall, but that's probably just a reflection of taste. Finally, I would watch the forums on this one for a minute, as it was acting a little glitchy, & I had to use "escape" to exit the game after completing the demo. Sorry to be the "grumpy cat" today, but I saw nothing in this demo to entice me. I might revisit it when the SE comes out, but I doubt it. To do so, I would have to take it on faith that this game gets much, much better after the demo...& the demo is supposed to set the hook, not leave you wondering if (even a virtual) one exists.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chaotic story + easy gameplay (except where it was insanely illogical) = nope REVIEW BASED ON 40 minutes of demo (Mac OS 10.11.6) I can’t imagine why this game is getting 5-star reviews. The game I demo’d was a typical Elephant game, rife with shaped keys, unhidden object scenes, simple puzzles, and solutions two steps away from the problem, all couched in a nonsensical storyline. STORYLINE ? My character, apparently, had a bad experience during a virtual reality game, and has been petrified of technology ever since. Currently, there’s an epidemic of people disappearing or falling into comas following their VR experiences. My friend, Jean, has now gone missing, so my friend Steve has convinced me to re-enter the VR world to search for her. Once I do, I discover I’m in the midst of a virtual medieval LARP. And Steve is kidnapped by some sinister being. Then there’s the lost and lonely child, the mysterious Black Queen, and the disembodied glowing red eyes. If you’re confused by all this, you’re not the only one. This storyline was fractured, disconnected chaos. GAMEPLAY ? Adventure mode occurs in limited areas, so every obstacle you encounter goes like this: “I need a thingamajig.” *takes two steps* “Hey, look! A thingamajig!” Literally, every single inventory item was found close to where it was needed…unless some insanely illogical action was required to retrieve it. Why did I quit before the demo was over? Because I had just used a pick to destroy some rocks, then discarded it. Two steps later, I discovered a rock I needed to crack open. Too bad that pick vanished into thin air! The method required turned out to be: use a magnifying glass to discover the faults, then use a wooden smoking pipe to crack open the rock. Are you kidding? Perhaps it’s time for your meds, Elephant. HO scenes were quick and easy, since no objects were hidden. Puzzles were also easy: • Three levels: Connect a number of polygons so that all the links match up. Since, when you position two polygons together, the links on them automatically hook up even if they’re on opposite sides, this wasn’t at all difficult. • River Crossing: People on one side, reapers on the other. Use the boat, which holds two, to exchange their positions. If the reapers outnumber the people at any point, you lose. If you can’t do this one in your sleep by now… • Close the skeletal hand one finger at a time. Each finger represents part of an equation, so you must choose the fingers in the correct order so the sum is 27. There’s no difficulty here; it just takes one time through to learn which finger represents what. • Move the spider from the center of the web to the claw at its edge by swapping and rotating the four mini-webs to create an unbroken path for the spider. Again, this isn’t hard because the path lights up as it connects. If nothing else, trial and error will get you there. • Complete the stained glass jigsaw puzzle with rotating pieces. Yippee. GAME MECHANICS ???? The interface was a bit crowded because both ends were taken up by empty decorative areas that served no purpose, squishing the interactive icons and inventory into the middle. The map transported and indicated not only available actions, but also collectibles. There was a journal, but it wasn’t necessary as far as I could tell. Inventory locked open and included plus items. Navigation was intuitive, hotspots were adequate, and the cursor was designed well. MUSIC & SOUND ??? I did really like three of the five soundtracks. They accented the VR aspect of the game well. The other two were too repetitive for my taste. Ambient sounds were just ok. Voiceovers were pretty dreadful, much too melodramatic. GRAPHICS & ANIMATION ??? Given the VR game theme, I thought the graphics could have been much more imaginative both in the “real world” and in the virtual reality universe. I mean, if you’re creating a VR universe, the sky’s the limit. Why depict normal, everyday scenes when you can violate the laws of physics with impunity? I would have loved to see the glorious surrealism that was present in the “Mystery of Another World” bonus game. As it was, I felt there were too many artificial-looking light sources (turquoise, pink, purple) in otherwise realistic scenes. Depth of field was lacking; items that are far away shouldn’t be as crisp and in focus as items in the foreground. The NPCs were well-drawn, but not animated in a lifelike manner. They moved in a stuttering stop motion style. Items up close did have lovely textures. COLLECTOR’S EDITION EXTRAS ???? Bonus chapter, performance achievements, strategy guide. Replay both HO scenes and puzzles. Collect the easy-to-find flowers to unlock the secret room. Find collectible figurines. Check out the developer’s portfolio of wallpapers, concept art, screensavers, and soundtracks. HOW I RATE GAMES Based on having bought 516 computer games dating from Zork to the present (and having demo’d hundreds more), I believe that a well-developed and entertaining storyline, and logical and challenging gameplay are most important, so I give those categories double the weight in my rating. Secondary are intuitive game mechanics, a variety of music an appropriate ambient sounds, professional graphics (regardless of style), and, if the game is a CE, sufficient offerings to warrant the doubled price. CONCLUSION Overall Rating: 18/40 ? ÷ 8 = 2.25 ? (rounded to ??) Rounding down because storyline and gameplay were exceedingly weak. I’m saddened that the Surface series is a shadow of its former self, and I don’t recommend this episode. If you don’t care at all about a well-developed, interesting, and entertaining storyline AND you’re a beginner to the world of HOPAs, it’s within the realm of possibility that you might enjoy this game. However, I could recommend hundreds of games that are better. RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV These are games I rated at least ???? at the time of their release. Some may be older, so please compare your system specs with the game requirements before downloading. Happy gaming! • from the Surface series: Mystery of Another World CE, The Noise She Couldn’t Make CE, The Soaring City CE, The Pantheon CE • from the Mystery Trackers series: The Void, Raincliff, Black Isle, Four Aces CE, Silent Hollow CE, Raincliff’s Phantoms CE • from the Royal Detective series: The Lord of Statues CE, Queen of Shadows CE • from the Chimeras series: Tune of Revenge CE • from the Grim Tales series: The Wishes, Bloody Mary CE, The Vengeance CE • One-offs…Unfinished Tales: Illicit Love CE
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't let the title fool you.....not science fiction I was hyped about a new science fiction themed story, like Beyond game, but after the first minute, it takes you right back into the same old same old story line with dumb stuff to fix, and queens, graveyards, and centuries old scenes again. Why bother with fooling gamers, that this is a science fiction themed game, when it's anything but? It could have had such potential as it started out, with players being sucked into a bizarre virtual, futuristic reality, and it totally failed. I was so dissapointed, I couldn't even finish the demo. You might find this game ok, IF you want the same old same old, but not for me.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Furious I was SO excited to see a new premise for a mystery game--people disappearing into Virtual Reality games, and a detective who must enter and use that same venue to solve the mysteries. But that degree of excitement turned into an equal level of disgust and disappointment when the whole thing turned into yet another demonic, occult, curse and conjuring scenario. What could have been a scientific or technological or futuristic thriller based on good detecting in VR and the new vistas it suggests, fell back instead on the same gruesome, ghoulish horror so prevalent lately. Good game-play and graphics don't offset the trite, occult, evil enemies. Disgusted.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Virtual ICK!!!!!!! Story line: Ghosts, scarecrows, skeletons, creepy people bent on doing evil, runes, amulets & a lot of childish nonsense. Game play: B O R I N G Graphics: Amateurish with the ever present blue tones. Characters: Stiff & wooden with the usual wonky mouth movements. HOS: Small, messy, cluttered murky scenes. Not terribly interesting or fun. Mini games: Inadequate info to understand how to play games & most were just plain silly. A lot of senseless back & forth. If this is reality count me out.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Surface has disappointed me I've always enjoyed the "Surface" series, but this one is horrible. I've see all the puzzes in other games, the story is not compelling, and far too short.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vercy bad replica of the precesessors. Horrible MS DOS graphics, pathetic story line that throws you back in 2010. Stay away. STOP PUBLISHIN CHILDISH GAMES!
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2022, m_1, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_25812, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Virtual Detective Collector's Edition

Investigate a virtual reality program that’s turning some players comatose.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.