Beholder

Beholder

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(467.22 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Seize control of your destiny in a grim dystopian world! As the manager of a government-run apartment building, you must keep your residents comfortable and well-fed while fulfilling the directives of your superiors. Featuring beautifully bleak visuals and rich strategic gameplay, Beholder will hold you in its grip until you have mastered its many challenges!

  • Superb graphics and animation
  • Deeply interactive game world
  • Branching quests and storylines
  • Simple point-and-click controls
  • Comprehensive tutorial

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1546 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Beholder

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(467.22 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Beholder is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1984 comes to life... or comes to the gaming world I Beta tested this game and found it interesting AND disturbing. It is a VERY involved game. Every decision you make will impact the storyline, could be good or could be bad. Often you won't know you have made the wrong choice till it's too late... just like life, except there are no do-overs (restarts) in life and, unless you want to REPLAY the entire game, there are none here either. BE WARNED OF THAT. I have played through the Bata version several times making different decisions each time just to see the different outcomes and that is time consuming. Now, this is a WELL CREATED time management game and it is ABSOLUTELY NOT for children. Nor is it a game to be played to help you unwind at the end of a hard day. This is a psychologically disturbing game, just like the book it seems to be based on was a psychologically disturbing book. It’s supposed to make you uncomfortable; it’s supposed to make you STOP and THINK. Now, that said, here's my breakdown of why I both like and am creeped out by the game: It's interesting because EVERY choice you make will somehow impact EVERYTHING ELSE in the game... just like ripples in a pond... just like life. It takes a LOT of programing skill to create a game that changes with each decision the PLAYER makes. I admire that. I’m creeped out by the subject matter. 1984 was DEEPLY DISTURBING to me when I first read it and this game… it's DISTURBING because it seems to be the developer's interpretation of George Orwell's classic dystopian novel 1984 come to life in a game... at least so far. Someone else here called it PRISONER, and yes, in the novel 1984 EVERYONE was basically a prisoner in their own lives. Being watched day and night in their own homes and at work by fellow citizens reporting back to the ministries on their activities, made to follow rules (some bizarre) that came out of the various ministries (and changed on the whims of the people in charge) out of fear of arrest or DEATH. Is it the greatest game I’ve ever played? NO. Is it the worst game I’ve ever played? NOT BY A LONG SHOT. I give it a solid… MEH. MANY people here in the pond will either like it or hate it, very few will be like me and have an “I’m intrigued and yet creeped out and disturbed by it” attitude of the game. If you can come at the game like you are playing a visual version of the book 1984, you might have a better liking/understanding/appreciation of it. ABSOLUTELY try it first before you buy it. Will I buy it… probably… maybe with one of my freebee’s… I don’t know yet… I’m still mulling it over.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strategy genre great If you're into strategy games, running around building things, watching over a whole bunch of stuff at the same time, and finding solutions, this game is for you. The characters are right out of Spy vs Spy, only rounder and all black, and the venue is post revolution Russia full of gray and black and ratting out the neighbors for arbitrary infractions listed by the Ministry. The audio language is akin to adult-speak in Peanuts cartoons, but more dampened, and the thought bubbles are sort of depressing - again, to match the atmosphere. You have to be on your toes to gain the respect that will put you at the top of the Ministry's good graces and make you more money, but sneaky as well to steal and trade for things available only on the black market. You have a wife to deal with and two kids - a righteously rebellious teenage boy and a lonely +/- 6-year old little girl. If you are naturally cheerful enough to avoid being dragged in to the repressive aura portrayed in the game, I recommend you give Beholder a serious go.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent game super amazing graphics and super cool and difficult challenges
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very interesting concept This is based on approx. 15 mins. of demo. Very unusual game. I normally don't play strategy games, but may try them more often. Navigation in this game is strange. It is made in a foreign country (Norway? or near?). It appears there is a lot to be done in this game. Unfortunately, it's not for me. The characters are all black with white eyes. Try it and see what you think.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe more for the HO lovers than a strategy game This game is okay, it is different though. You need to look for things and talk to people to find information and evidence. I don't mind the lack of colour as the game is bright enough so you can see what you are doing. It's not really my thing so I won't purchase the game as it's a bit slow and repetitive for me, I like fast paced games. I don't like HO games but I think this could appeal to some who do. This will be one of those games people will either love or hate so I'd recommend playing the free trial first.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I love strategy games (I find there are way to few of them) but this game was not fun for me. I found moving around extremely difficult, the lack of color was indeed depressing and the learning curve tedious. Not even worth a free coupon. Oh and the audio sucked. Drag.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 'Prisoner' would be a better title There is no skip-through on the intro, you have to sit through the whole dreary thing. In fact - dark and dreary is a good description. There is no colour, just black, brown, and white. The figures are the opposite of stick men. They are little, round, featureless blobs. I can draw better than that - and I'm no artist. I have never seen such an uninteresting, blah game. I managed a whole 2 minutes of the game after the intro, and that was only because I couldn't get out of it. I had to switch off and reboot. This game should have gone into the trash can.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deeply depressing and offending I was beta testing this game so my review is based on that. I did not play it long even in beta as there were technical glitches but actually I did not mind it at all and decided not to purchase this game. The concept of this game is highly political and is not just the imagination of the mind but rather very real. It reminds me of how life was during the cold war in the communist countries, maybe that was on purpose when the devs created the storyline. However, the subject is not fun, sorry to say but I practically experienced the situation in real life and felt offended by the game. This is something every East-European wants to leave behind his or her back and I can say that this is all now history even in the post-communist countries. Why to bring it up again, especially in a leisure computer game? The atmosphere of the game is very depressing, just like it was in real life.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DEPRESSING!!! I tried to play the beta version but couldn't get past the first scene. But it was so dark, dreary & depressing looking I really didn't care. Would not install this game if it were free and I got 100 credits for it!!! Yes, I, too, am thankful we have choices and don't live in a world like Beholder!!!
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from so disappointing Just too difficult to play.... had to wait for the hour trial to end to get out of it..... also boring..... unintelligible.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridiculously Glitchy I'm playing on a mac. I could not move around at all. Nothing worked. Moves were happening 30 seconds after I clicked. Not sure how this passed the testing phase. Unfortunate, because the game looked like it would be fun and entertaining.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not like this game Guess I;m just old fashion didn not like this game at all. Tried to play the demo. Glad I hadn't bought it.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from frustrating I never got past the first scene. Could not find a magnifying glass to examine anything! Could not get back to the menu, had to use control/alt/delete to exit. Would never recommend this game to anyone!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unable to play on mac! I'm really disappointed as this game seems like something I could really enjoy. Unfortunately after the initial scene had been set by, a long introductory 'film', and I had selected the difficulty level I was then unable to move my character or change the view on the screen. Every time I tried to select the journal on the right hand side of the screen nothing would happen for around 30 seconds it was infuriating and a waste of my time. I had to exit the game by selecting a different window on my mac. To give an indication of how slow the game was, 10 minutes of the trial time had passed by the time I had managed to exit. Please sort out these bugs so I can actually give the game a try!!
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2019, m_10, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_26174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Beholder

Seize control of your destiny in a grim dystopian world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.