Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(438.15 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

ERS Game Studios presents the thrilling next installment in the best-selling Dark Tales series!

The renowned archaeologist Alan Dillinger is dead, seemingly by his own hand. At his side is a note detailing his love for a woman named Lenore. It seems to be a simple case of romance gone wrong. But the mysterious client who summoned you isn't so sure. He believes Alan was murdered! And he's not the only one. Join the brilliant detective Dupin and dive into a world of lies, betrayal, and revenge. You'll soon find yourself on the trail of the enigmatic White Crow, who takes a more deadly approach to solving the case. Can you uncover the truth? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Stop the Raven Society from plunging the world into darkness in the bonus chapter!
  • Experience the wonders of the mechanical scarab and the memory chest.
  • Collect hidden characters to unlock the secrets of the Raven Society!
  • Earn achievements and replay your favorite mini-games.
  • Enjoy game screensavers, soundtrack, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1315 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(438.15 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good But Not So Great A Game I was actually quite excited to get this game. It had been a long time since I had played a new HO game, and the Dark Tales happens to be one of my favorite series. I tried not to have too high expectations, however, because some of the Dark Tales games were not that good. But my excitement peaked as I started to play the game. The graphics were very good, and the music quite nice as well. The Dark Tales theme music is especially my favorite, and it was so good to hear it again. But it was not just the graphics and the music. The game itself started on such a mysterious and intriguing note. Unfortunately, however, my excitement dropped shortly after I started. You can say that the game started with a bang, but then plopped like a dead duck! As I mentioned, the story starts out well enough – very intriguing and mysterious – but then it takes a nose dive, becoming too repetitive and rather a bore. As you will see at the very beginning, the game is based not on a story but a poem by Edgar Allan Poe. So, the further you go in the game, the more it seems to lack that Edgar Allan Poe "touch," that eerie sense of the supernatural that seemed to pervade all his writings. Still, the developers could have done a better job of “fleshing out” the poem. What’s more, there are many things that we see in the game that are just never explained. Unfortunately, I cannot say anything more, because that would be a spoiler. Suffice it to say that the story just has a lot of holes in it that the developers did not even bother to fill. While the storyline is not that great, the game does have a lot of interesting puzzles and Hidden Object scenes. In fact, I have given the above high ratings mainly because of these puzzles and scenes. This is no doubt the most "advanced" Dark Tales game in that respect. The great variety of the puzzles and HO scenes ensures that every player is sure to find some puzzle(s) and HO scene(s) to their liking. The downside, of course, is that while a gamer might love some puzzles and scenes, he/she might hate the others. In fact, this game is also quite different from earlier Dark Tales games in that it has a lot of Arcade-type mini-games. Most of the puzzles, HO scenes and mini-games are fairly easy; but some can be quite challenging. But the good news is that Hint and Skip are available in all difficulty modes: Casual, Advanced, and Hard. There is even a fourth option, Custom, where you can in effect "make up" your own difficulty mode. In addition, no matter what your particular difficulty mode may be for the overall game, some of the more challenging puzzles offer their own choice of Casual and Hard. So you have quite a lot of choice in solving these puzzles, mini-games, etc., at your own pace and pleasure. Bonus Chapter. Since this *is* a Collector’s Edition, it does include a Bonus Chapter, of course. But this Bonus Chapter is a lot longer than those in most games. In fact, it is long enough to be practically a full-length game itself! And it is not really related to the main game either, except for some of the locations and the underlying theme perhaps. Thus, it could well have been a sequel, rather than just a chapter, to the main game. So, you are practically getting two games for the price of one! And that is definitely a good thing. I should note, however, that I did not really like it very much. The story was rather boring, the locations not that great, and there was just too much technical mumbo jumbo that did not fit Poe's style at all. In my opinion at least, the developers really drifted too far from Poe in making this chapter. Achievements. Again, like most Collector’s Editions, this one also has Achievements. And if you like to win such achievements, you better check them out as soon as possible. You would have to start the game, at least see the Intro, however, before you can see a description of these Achievements. The first thing you will note is that there are just SO MANY of these Achievements! A lot of them are easy because they involve your doing something you need to do to progress in the game anyway. But others are not so commonsensical. In fact, you have to keep checking the Achievements as you go through the game because some of the Achievements actually require you to say or do something specific, for example, not asking someone who he is or giving a sarcastic response, etc. As such, however, these Achievements can be quite a SPOILER, because their descriptions tell you what is coming up in the game. They are also quite a BORE this way, because you have to keep checking the Achievements section throughout the game in order to avoid missing any Achievement, and that can be quite distracting from the game itself. In addition, note that there are two Achievements that require you to take opposite actions in the same situation (give the money/not give the money)! Thus, the game actually forces you to play it twice! Otherwise, you will miss one of these two Achievements, as well as the all-inclusive Achievement of getting all possible Achievements. Conclusion: The game is pretty good as far as the graphics, music, puzzles, HO scenes, and mini-games are concerned. The main story is not interesting, and that of the Bonus Chapter is even worse. But the Achievements are definitely the worst part of the game and are best ignored.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE DAY OF THE CROW Allen Dillinger uncovered an ancient artifact (sure are a lot of these, but I guess nobody's interested in a modern day artifact) during one of his archeological digs of a Sumerian King. It is believed that this artifact can raise the dead, if buried with the artifact. Something strange began to happen to Allen shortly afterwards, his nightmares became reality, reality became his nightmares. Insanity consumed him, and sadly he took his own life. Detective Dupin has been asked to investigate his suspicious death, the only clue lies within his suicide note, penned to his lover, Lenore. The only problem is, she doesn't exist....or does she? This is probably one of the better Dark Tales offered in a long time, and the hand drawn graphics are top knotch. I'm still not blown away with this version of Edgar Allan Poe's: The Raven, because they all seem the same to me. The games always take place at night, the characters all look the same, the scenery always looks the same. There's just not much creativity, and the only CE bling offered is "Little Devils" collectibles, and even then, there are only 12 of them, and they aren't hidden or even a morphing object which would have made the feature more appealing. One of my biggest complaints with all ERS games, is that on my large screen monitor, the game stretches too much and I don't have access to anything along the edges of the screen, so I have to play their games in a small windowed mode. The Hidden Object Scenes are sparse in the demo, although some of the vast Mini Games could qualify for an HOP. At least the scenes aren't repeated, which is usually the case from this dev. In this demo, really there are just a couple HOP's offered, an Interactive list find and a Multiple of the same objects find. The Mini Games are pretty good, and most are offered in a Casual or Hard mode of difficulty. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Ring the bells in the correct sequence as shown in the clue. 2) Get the scarab to the finish, avoiding enemies. 3) Follow the card with the green mark to defeate your enemy. 4) Arrange the weapon card halves to create the correct image matches. 5) Press buttons in the correct order. 6) Place the tokens beside the images they correspond to. 7) Decrypt and enter the safe code by figuring out the number each shape on the clue represents based on the equations. 8) Find the phone number by trial and error. 9) Use arrows to move the birds skull into the correct slot which will continue until it hits an obstacle or trap. Find identical masks by selecting two cloaked figures at a time. This Collector's Edition has 23 replayable Movies, 29 replayable Mini Games, 20 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 11 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art pictures, 6 Screensavers, 4 Music Soundtracks, 49 Achievements, 12 Collectible Devil Imps, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Adventure, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good game Based on the demo. This is really one of the best games I've played lately. Great story, lots of challenge, logical, lots of fun. The story is great and the creatures are gloriously creepy, including Dupin, who has lost his rugged good looks and looks almost as seedy as some of the creepy, crawlies. (I like that change in him - he was just too cute before.) I like my games to engage me, like a good novel, and this one delivers in that regard. That being said, I find I need to comment on the puzzles, which other reviewers classified as "easy." I found many of the puzzles to be very challenging, requiring a great deal of hand-eye coordination, as well as the ability to click fast. I was so frustrated by one of the puzzles (that took me more than 10 minutes of the 60-minute demo to solve) that I almost gave this game a negative recommendation. I'm still not sure I will buy it for myself. Based on all of the elements, I recommend this game, given the caveat that if you are old, arthritic or have bad eyesight, you MUST demo it first.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Played in one go! Really liked this game. Had lots of original games (loved the beetle game). Excellent bonus play, much longer than normal.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Raven and Poe LOVE the Poe games, everything about them.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from dark tales this is a great game for all skill levels.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this series but Dupin keeps getting worse! The initial Dupin character was nicely drawn and had some semblance of believability. As the sequels progress, the character animations become worse and worse and his voice is hideous! Come on! A Frenchman with a twang who can't even pronounce his own name? I usually love this series but the degradation of character and voice are very irritating and make me want to play the game with the sound off!
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining! This latest game from Dark Tales is one of their best to date ! I highly recommend playing it.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grim Welcome once again to the steampunk, anachronististic worlds of ERS Games. I have played all the Poe games and this one is one of my least favorites. I don't like the increased level of violence and fighting particularly. I really don't enjoy the fight sequences. I agree with one reviewer that who said that Dupin looks a bit worse for wear in this particular chapter. I loathed the scarab mazes. I wish there were some way to go back and hunt for missing collector's items--I only missed one of those and they were fairly obvious so I don't know where I went wrong. The artwork and voice overs were well done. I wish that future chapters in the Poe series would give the player the ability to design and/or choose an avatar like the Grim Façade series has been doing. The music was very familiar. I wish the wallpapers would have featured more of the characters. Once thing I will say as these game progress we are inhabiting a more interactive and living world with more interactions with characters directly--instead of the empty, abandoned towns and scenes from older games--these worlds are more invasive and dynamic. I liked the rough men and the arm wrestling, the female characters were lovely too. I am very glad they have gotten away from using live actors in these games. Altogether if you liked the other games in the series you'd like this one. I wish we had the ability to see the alternate endings without having to replay the game; particularly as I don't always know what ending would be most satisfying it would be interesting to see what would have happened if I'd chosen the other one. Sometimes I miss the simplicity of the older games though--the Black Cat remains my favorite game of this entire series and it was an early one.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars - Excellent storyline, some good gameplay...I'll wait for the SE. This episode of Dark Tales is not a reenactment of Poe’s classic poem, but a storyline that merely borrows the inscrutable raven and the narrator’s lost love, Lenore, as thematic elements of a murder mystery with a touch of the supernatural. Honestly, I didn’t think I was going to like the storyline. “The Raven” is one of my favorite poems. However, I thought ERS did a great job pacing both the plot revelations and the weaving together of the story’s threads into a coherent whole. The mystery intrigued and immersed me. Perhaps the raven motif was a touch overused. While there was more variety in gameplay than is typical of most games, there were still far too many shaped objects being used as keys. At one point, I had found one “amulet,” and used it to open a box…only to find another. Which led me to another box. Upon opening that, I found…yet another shaped key. Really, enough is enough with this device. Devs need to start thinking outside the box-locked-with-an-identation-requiring-a-shaped-key. I encountered three types of HO scenes: interactive, find 3 in each category, and interactive sequential list. That last one was the best; it was challenging and most resembled looking for things IRL. Puzzles were about half easy/throwaway and half interesting/challenging. I liked the scarab maze because it tested a number of skills simultaneously: reaction time, memory, and sense of direction. The safe decryption was fun, since it was both a cipher and a logic puzzle. If devs MUST do matching pairs, the weapons cards is one of the best iterations I’ve seen. And the elements tokens puzzle was enjoyable, because some tokens represented two elements in combination. Graphically, I loved the grayscale watercolor effect of the opening animation. Overall, graphics were an interesting mix of soft washes of muted color, crisp linework, and almost photorealistic details. It lent a surreal tone to the game, which I liked. It kind of fell apart with the sound. The music was staccato and repetitive, and the voiceovers were lame…either far too melodramatic or lacking affect. Overall, this is a much better game than most of ERS’s recent offerings, though I’ll wait for the SE.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love Poe, so of course, I tried this, but... I did not love this as I thought I would. I was hoping something more along the lines of the poem, I guess. While it had much of the poem's elements, it just seemed rather off. So, I didn't really enjoy the storyline. The visuals and graphics, were great, though. I loved how well things matched up and it was a rich sound. It wasn't overdone, which was nice. The only thing that, often, takes me out of the game is Dupin. He just doesn't sound like he fits in with the surroundings. He talks like someone walking around right now, today. Not someone fitting in with the time period. Jumping around the map was a bit tedious at times. You "finish" at an area and it takes you to a new area, and those are the only places you can jump to. If you need to go to a past area for something you missed, you have to backtrack by clicking the bottom of the screen. I only had to do it a few times, though, so not bad. I bought the collector's edition because I have the credits piling up, and I wasn't overly excited about the extra features, so I'd tell people to just buy the standard edition. Overall, it has the usual good things I like about this game series, but the story just didn't catch me or excite me.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Ole, Same Ole I was really expecting more up to date graphics, music, sounds, scenery ect. BUT, its the same ole music, sounds, scenery, gameplay as in the other Dark Tales. I would have thought the game developers would move with the changing times. I did really like the BEETLE game. It is a mini game and it was a lot of fun. I did like how they had the COLLECTIONS and ACHIEVEMENTS set up. Those were unique, but the gameplay just seems like Ive been here and done that already. Id like to see more up to date graphics, DIFFERENT music, come on guys you've used the same music and sounds for 7 or 8 years or more now, its time for an orchestrater or something. I wont be buying this one and I hate that too.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the other E.A. Poes I have played some of the others in the Poe series and this one doesn't quite hack it. Graphics are dark and not that clear and add nothing to the story. As I have said many times before, mysteries don't have to be so dark. I have played great mysteries with colorful scenes. The characters are not as interesting as they could be and they almost seem to be overacting if that is even possible. I was not very happy with this one compared to the others. I would't recommend it
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Crowing Around Just not nice that white bird like thing tries to beat me at my job and leave all that bloody mess. Game not for kids. This game was fairly good and makes it on the to buy list. Close to the top. 3 and 1/2 stars for the game, Has very fun collectables that do not come by very often but love the little sealed message each one had. Good Characters, smooth game play, critter action, Nice pace, decent set up to front page with slight interaction, and a good jump map. Love playing the puzzle on hard mode.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not one of my favorite games The game was okay. I wasn't really interested in the story line...too much dialogue. Graphically, I liked it but I couldn't wait to finish it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Edgar Allan Poe Is Being Buried Again - By This Series! Allan Dillinger, an archeologist found an artifact on a recent dig. He also fell in love with Lenore. And then he apparently committed suicide. You will investigate with Dupin. Good stuff: All the game elements are here, HOPs, mini-games, locked everything, and a story made up using names from Poe's poem and not much else. There is a little CE bling and minor collectibles. Bad stuff: Every corpse bleeds from the mouth. I have no explanation for that. There are, of course, several corpses and lots of mystery around a story-line that seems rather apparent by the end of the demo. Is it Poe's "Raven?" NO. Dupin has been altered from previous games - not to the better. He now stands around while you do all the work. He also looks rather tired and scruffy. I am sorry that once again I have to review a sorry addition to an established series. I'm even sorrier that it is today's game! Perhaps the Devs could move on to another author. Please play the demo and make your own determination.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ERS Failed with This Game The biggest issue with this game is that the puzzles were ridiculous. Most of them make absolutely no sense and become little more than a guessing game. Further, many of the puzzles ARE guessing games. Third, so many items in this game hadn't been invented yet for the time period it was set in. I commend ERS for trying to make the game a bit more difficult but this is just nonsense...and a complete fail.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No not for me.!!! I to will wait for the SE and to a free game for me.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So Disappointed I was sorely disappointed with this game, and that's unusual for this series for me. Generally I like the Dark Tales games, and I've been waiting some time to play this one. My laptop died and my old one I was using as a replacement wouldn't run these games. Imagine my excitement when I got my laptop back and could finally play some of my faves I've bveen waiting for. But sadly, this was not one of them in the end. The story was barely coherent, the mini games were terrible - I ended up skipping at least half of them. And they repeated this obnoxious maze one multiple times...not a good call! The bonus chapter was so bad I didn't even finish it before uninstalling the game. If you're set on trying this one though, go for it of course, but I would strongly advise against the CE There is nothing worth the extra cost, even the collectibles were ridiculously limited. I'm pretty easy to please when it comes to HO games, but this was easily one of the worst I've played in a long time. Especially frustrating because the demo made it seem like a great game, but once I purchased and continued, it was all downhill from there. This should in no way reflect on the devs in general though, their games are usually quite fun and have enough innovation to keep them interesting. Note to devs - going obscure doesn't equate to innovation. When basic logic can't be applied to a puzzle or HO scene, and the solutions are so whacked they make no sense, you've taken a wrong turn my friends ;)
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from review of total game.... what another huge let down.........the last 3 or so of this series were not good,neither is this one. boring beyond relief....so much back and forth, with not much purpose. this is sad, this was a great series at one time..........try the demo first please...........
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just does not flow for me. I am not sure why but this game did not flow very well for me. I have played every other Edgar Allan Poe's collector edition and enjoyed them very much. But about 1/3 into game began to lose interest. Would keep coming back and try to reengage and was able to make it to the trolley car and gave up. Did not finish and deleted the game. It was just not an enjoyable play.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't bother Same old, same old. Just like all the Dark Tales that came before. Don't waste your time or money.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Listen to the Raven..."Nevermore!" Other reviewers have explained the gameplay and extras, so I will concentrate on what it felt like to play it: boring, annoying, slow, tedious. The detective, who used to be helpful, now seems to wander around waiting for you to do all the work. He looks like he hasn't bathed, shaved or slept in a week...no wonder he isn't any help! Everything is so dark that it is hard to make out what things are; there's loads of dialog and hand-holding messages -- which I can't stand; lots of going back and forth; no resemblance to any part of Poe's work; the tasks and puzzles don't relate to each other, so I felt just as useless as the detective as I stumbled around trying to figure out what to do. If I left the game to do other things, I found it very hard to get back into it and remember what I was doing when I exited. What pushed me over the edge was when I was directed to go to another location and I couldn't do so without engaging in a multiple choice conversation with the detective -- no way to skip doing it, and the choices just emphasized how trite and pointless all the dialog is in this game...just filler and time-wasting activity. I totally agree that this series has consistently gone downhill and should be retired. I wouldn't even take the SE by using a coupon. Try before you buy!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Dark Tales Poe game yet... SPOILERS! This is the worst Dark Tales game yet, and I have played them all! Why do I feel that way? The story, the characters, the game play, the entire game. The following has spoilers. *****SPOILERS***** The story line is ridiculous. I know they couldn't make an entire game from The Raven, it's a rather short poem. So, why try? Earlier Poe games were based on short stories, and much earlier ones stuck to the story. If there are no more decent stories from which to make games, retire the series! The game begins with a few lines from The Raven, but from then on it's pure fantasy, if you don't count Lenore having a grave (even if she isn't the one entombed). The evil Raven Society... the White Crow (a woman dashing around in a skin tight body suit, crow mask, and slashers attached to her hands)... an artifact that can raise the dead... Dupin has morphed from a "brilliant detective," which some players found attractive (I thought he was a bit too feminine in looks), to a side-kick who barely is involved. Apparently the developer wanted to "man" him up a bit, and now he looks haggard, with slight stubble and sunken, bruised looking eyes! His voice is not the same either. My first thought was, "What happened to Dupin?" Games with warnings are the rage now. Some warrant the caution, most don't. Yes, this one has blood and murders before our eyes, but mostly for the sake of having the blood, and the warnings as an attempt to make it a more "adult" themed game. The ending is ridiculous! That will stay unspoiled. You get a choice about using the resurrection machine (no, not on Dupin, that happened earlier!). I would use a third, un-offered, choice, and let the series itself die. It's been progressively dying over the years anyway. It would have been so much better to quit on a high note. The extras, with just one meager collectible, are not worth the double price of a CE. The HOS were as expected and ditto for the puzzles. Nothing special. The reoccurring scarab in a maze was fun the first time, but not again and again. If I encounter yet more new games with figures in those beaked hood masks I'll skip even demoing. The concentration game based on masks was nauseating (literally, the scene slides back and forth). I hope that won't become a "thing" in games, the sliding back and forth.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT AS GOOD AS THE OTHERS A poor game let down by endless hidden object scenes, many in the same place and very odd too. In one you fill a goldfish bowl only to have a box open on the other side of the screen. There is no connection whatsoever! Furthermore, the puzzles are un-engaging, the action slow and the storyline somewhat pointless. The bottom line is that I didn't finish playing and feel that my money was wasted.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loved The Poem But Not The Game When I first jumped into this game I was immediately drawn into the Dark Tales world. However, soon after the game lost it's appeal very fast. The fun factor was there but then got lost for me with the repetitive mini-games. The beetle mazes just kept coming (there were about 7 which is about 75% of the games). Not only was it impossible to get through the mazes unharmed, but they just kept going on and on (very long). The one maze I managed to get through unharmed and didn't even receive the achievement for! The achievements are why I gave a 2 rating on fun. You can play through on the same name more than once, and have to in order to get all the achievement. I think this makes it more interesting along with all the options in conversations. The game progresses either way but your tactics can certainly change what is said and what achievements you can get. I found the visuals to be ok. About what I've come to expect for the series. What I'm not happy about is like the past few it's a widescreen format with the black bars on the top and bottom so trying to read everything is very difficult (I recommend using a magnifying glass while you play to make it easier to follow along) The music was ok too. I think I heard some past tracks during the game, and only wanted to turn my sound off once due to the repetition of what my opponent was saying. Only one or two conversation parts didn't get spoken, and the voices were pretty clear (though out of character with more English accents rather than the original French heard in the earlier installments) I normally love a challenge but this was ridiculous. Some puzzles had an option to either play Casual or Hard (also didn't receive the achievement for the bells puzzle though I did play the hard version). which was nice, but I found I needed the strategy guide for most and the rest of the puzzles were the mazes that got so boring. Some tasks weren't clear and in the Bonus Game you finish about half the game without having a map which makes it very hard if you get stuck. Pretty much the only positive thing I found was the story line. With this being based on a poem it's hard to go by original story. It did get a little confusing, and the print was so hard to read I couldn't follow the story as well as I have in the past. Overall though it was a decent adaptation. I still give 1 star because it's not a game worth buying. If you want a challenge with good graphics and puzzles you can actually solve play the MCF Ravenhurst series. This is my personal opinion however, and you can certainly try the demo for yourself. I hope this series picks back up and that the glitches in this and the last installment get addressed soon.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me I found this game tedious with lots of cut outs and loads of reading notes. I was bored with it in the first few minutes. Definitely a no no for me.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not recommend I had a hard time with this game. The trial game was okay, at first. After I got it and played further it got harder and harder. I cannot finish the game however, because I cannot finish the Maze. So, once again, money wasted.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad very bad the demo is great but do not buy this game it is not worth it. everything about it is bad.not well made and looks and plays like a child created it. not fun or interesting like the other dark tales and I have them all
Date published: 2016-12-31
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_25951, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven Collector's Edition

The enemy of your enemy is your friend, or are they?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.