Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(348.79 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Come visit Huxley's Boarding House, home of the mysterious clock tower! We are an exclusive retreat for people who want to get away from it all and learn what life was really like in the Victorian Era – no phones, no technology! Our strict schedule of daily activities will help immerse you in the experience and must be adhered to at all times. The waiting list to get in is long, so sign up today!

A note from the management: Reports of the boarding house's tragic past and subsequent haunting are greatly exaggerated. Also, please ignore the detective investigating the disappearance of one of our recent guests...

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 625 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood and Gore
  • Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(348.79 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No monotony Lots of difficult mini games. Loved it!
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent!!!! can I give it more than 5 stars? only a word: EXCELLENT I adore mistery cases files games and I can tell with no doubt that it's the best I ever played Sound, music and graphic are wonderful and the story line absolutely fantastic. There are thousand of puzzle games, minigames, hidden objects someone difficult, other easyer but my advise is: buy it!
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME Loved the mini-puzzles that had multiple parts. Great Fun!
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A spooky MCF treat! Very good. Nice storyline. All the Eipix bells/whistles plus amazing voices and dialogue. A lot of fun. Definitely feels like a game where the protagonist is surviving up until the end as opposed to beating the villain. IF YOU ENJOYED THIS GAME, I RECOMMEND: Phantasmat: Behind The Mask Hidden Expedition: Pearl Of Discord Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt
Date published: 2018-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horrible, avoid avoid avoid !!! Mystery Case Files used to be the best games ever. Please bring back that standard. I didnt even finish the game. It was stupid, made no sense and was not FUN !!!!! That is the reason we are buying these games, so please up your game Big Fish and dont sell out !!!!
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One Hard Game WOW! That was one tough game. The mini games as well as some of the HOS were really tough. I had to skip a few, I just couldn't figure them out. I really loved the story line and I loved the little guy who was a ghost hunter(one of my weaknesses, ghost-hunters). Some of the scenes were just grand looking. I enjoyed the uniqueness of some of the mini games and HOS. Be ready to put your thinking cap on.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour Its really not MCFs, nowhere near in fact and I fear we have lost the fabled series and have to resign ourselves to the fact that Eipix just don,t get it and never will. I went into this game with low expectations, but ended up really enjoying it and you can see Eipix really trying, but failing to emulate the complex characters . Having said that I do recommend this game as its super long and very good. Alas MCF has been commercialised and is no longer special.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A return to an earlier model More than any of their games in a while this one reminded me of the first Ravenhearst game, which I played longer ago than I like to remember. I still miss the timed puzzles where you could actually lose the game if you failed them but we can't have everything. I also like how this was essentially a stand alone game. I am sorry that the folks who didn't enjoy it seemed disappointed but I am not really sure why. At any rate, I enjoyed it quite a lot and I would recomend it to fans of the series who felt the recent games were beginning to drift a bit from the original gmaes.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a pretty good game it has the custom level. a good hint system and a map. you are looking for why the people are dying. i didn't like this MCF as much as the others. hopefully the next one will be better. it is not a bad game, but i could have liked it better.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bizarre Case files. I played some of the others in this series and this one is the most bizarre. No not creepy more disturbing. It was a nice long game so you get your moneys worth. I used the hint button a lot since I had a hard time following the story line. Voice actors were excellent. Some of the puzzles where very hard for me to understand what is wanted but that is me. I still can't figure out the story line. Only thing I can think up is the killer was truly insane and made this game really bizarre. Get this game if you like the bizarre other wise save your money and get another game.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm missing the old mystery case files games. I have enjoyed the MCF series, but I was not thrilled with this mystery case files game. The story line was weak, not exciting or creative. The games were not original--I have played similar in other hidden object. Also sort of repetitive. Some didn't really make a lot of sense. Overall, i would not recommend it.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What in the World was Going On? This is posted after finally completing the whole game. If you are looking for the continuation of the MCF series, you are going to be disappointed. This is not like the others, but that wasn't a problem for me. I liked the MCF series, but I'm always up for a change.. if it is a good change. This one fell so short it dishonors the MCF legacy. In other words, I did particularly care for this game. Graphics were really good and the Fx went along with the action in the scene. The music was fine and not annoying. Voice overs, what there were of them, were well done, but the amount of them seemed lacking. Colors were very well done. Clear and pristine. If you can't tell, I'm trying to find something nice to say about this one. Hidden objects were fine. They were very varied and took a while to complete. Some were darn right difficult, but solvable. The mini games... I don't think Big Fish will allow me to use the language to describe them. I either didn't understand them (most of the time) or they were so involved my patience level just wouldn't allow me to complete them. If you enjoy difficult puzzles, you are going to love this game. Why they would make something this challenging without an alternative method of solving I will never understand. The journal, which has disappeared in most games lately, is back and a necessity in completing the game. It did irritate me that I had to thumb back through page after page to find something I needed and when I did find the information it was crammed into illegible mishmash of other information. You constantly get notes and messages which end up in the journal and going through it to find what you want is tedious to say the least. Many of the notes you get are very difficulty to read. The writing is similar to mine which is almost impossible to understand. You do have the custom mode which allows you to set quick hint and skip times. That came in very handy. I think I used the hint more in this game than most I play. The interactive map is also a necessity. There is a lot of back and forth. The map showed locations where something needed to be done and would transport you. A few times there was nothing indicated and I had to use the hint to figure out where to go, but all in all it functioned fantastic. Now the story. I won't go into the nuts and bolts. Others do a better job than I can. Besides, I honestly can't tell you much about it. I know these designers work hard to put out a good story, but this one had me lost from the beginning. Perhaps I just missed an important part at the beginning which is my bad, but there was no continuity and it just didn't grab me like most do. Not being a fan of the supernatural doesn't help either. In all honesty I bought this by mistake. I played the demo and a couple other games, and simply clicked the wrong game when I went to purchase. I wish I had been more diligent. You be sure and play the demo and make up your own mind. Don't worry that it isn't like the other MCF games. Change is good sometimes. Just make sure you understand what is going on in the game.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MCF - Broken Hour. Disappointing As a longstanding fan of MCF I found this game to be very disappointing especially the story line which had no depth.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointing I have always enjoyed MCF games. but found this one disappointing. Plots ok although a bit weak. . But the mini games, which are usually so very good were a let down. Not up to their usually standard. If you are looking for the edge of the MCF normal games, then this is not for you.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SO many loose ends The game play is fine, and the puzzles are challenging without being impossible. But the story turns very grim near the end and leaves a LOT of plot holes. So many unanswered questions and no real explanation of the main events in the story.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring Back the Old MCF!! A waste of time playing this game. I miss the old MCF games so much! 13th Skull was my favorite, and the older Ravenhearst games. I certainly hope BF reads the these reviews and takes into consideration what their customers want! How about a sequel to 13th Skull- loooooong overdue!!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really disappointing There is virtually no difference between this game and any of the last three Ravenhearst entries. Broken Hour's plot makes little logical sense and that veers towards those games' schlocky horror rather than providing a truly eerie, suspenseful experience. And that's a shame, since Big Fish proved it knew how to provide genuine suspense in Dire Grove -- still the finest game in this series -- and its predecessor, the Thirteenth Skull. Both of those showed much more care in plot and character development. I gather this depressing trend has something to do with the last few games being produced outside of Big Fish studios, but whatever the cause, there's really no excuse. I give it two stars for the variety of puzzles, but I really wish that Big Fish would go back to putting together a compelling storyline and illustrating it with live actors. Why bother making your way through tough puzzles if there's no emotional payoff in the storytelling?
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from found it awkward and frustrating. I used to enjoy games from this developer but the last few games I have downloaded have been so awkward and frustrating that they are not fun to play. Options allow you to change hint and skip to quickly recharge but even that doesn't help this game. Puzzles are very difficult and not well explained and since I'm not a puzzle player anyway I find myself skipping them all. HOS are easy and interactive though. Voice overs were OK, but I found the story line confusing. The transporter map is confusing and I find myself using the hint way too much which ruins the game for me. Apparently I am one of the few that did not enjoy this game for which I didn't even complete the demo. I like to feel I am challenged by a game, but not frustrated.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The usual plus a horrible story This game had the usual collection of random items that turn out to help you later that plagues these games. Locks that make no sense and hide mundane items. The best thing that can be said is there were no ludicrous puzzles such as your character not wanting to wipe away the spider webs or step over a log. The real problem with the game is that it was boring and had a horrible story. The idea that there is a hotel that doesn't allow modern conveniences could have been done so well but the game abruptly throws you into a story and takes little time throughout to build it. Most of the time was spent finding items and then unlocking things to find more items that unlock other things. This game was of the worst type for this where most of the time you are missing that one item while you have a collection of junk you have picked up for no good reason. I really hated the story and how our intrepid master detective deals with the big bad. The idea that a mad woman would sit there and wait while you tromped around finding things to make her tea and you wouldn't just bash her in the head with something is ludicrous. She took down most of the guests with her super powers of having a knife. And why was everyone so afraid to break the schedule? Who would stay at a hotel like that? I didn't care about anyone including the main protagonist. The story made little sense. The puzzles were good for the most part. They took a bit of time to figure out what to do. Most of the instructions were not clear and I had to skip two. A few I accidentally solved. But there were some good ones and MCF kept up the tradition of having the multi-puzzle scenes which I really like. HOPs were pretty good but they were only used once which always disappoints me especially if they are pretty. These weren't pretty but at least they weren't gross or ugly except for a few. The MCF series has taken a turn for the worse. The developers of these games have fallen into a rut and don't know how to enhance this genre. Many times I can ignore these problems because of the story or the beauty of the game. This one felt so lazy in almost all aspects. Please stop giving us more of the same with less thought and try to make something that is innovative and engaging. Please.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much talking, very obscure game scenes I was so excited to have another Mystery Case Files game, but it was SO awful I didn't even finish the trial. When you have to SKIP most every game scene to continue, there's a problem. And TOO MUCH CHARACTER TALKING.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No, I Do Not Think So This game is just one long, painful puzzle/mini-game with a ghost buster story woven into it and some hidden objects tossed in for good measure. The story itself is a confusing mess of riddles, rules, and characters, not one of whom I cared a whit about. The missing person's case you're supposed to be investigating gets completely lost in the ghost story, the puzzles/mini-games, and all the running around finding pieces and parts for the antiquated equipment rigging you have to do. I started out confused and remained confused (and bored) throughout the demo. I'm sorry to say, MCF needs a reboot or else abandon the series altogether.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken. Just broken. I've been playing HO games since 2009 and I'm usually not very picky at all. But this game... Way too long, complicated, not fun, the HO scenes too easy and puzzles way too hard. I just wanted it to be over. I'm not young like most of you on here and I play these games to escape stress and have a little fun, to relax - not for them to give me anxiety and a headache, like this one did.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If This Is Game of Year...It's a Terrible Year...Oh Year...It Was Terrible, terrible addition to the once great MCF canon. Poor story, lousy characters, and what happened to the great MCF puzzles. Ever since BigFish was sold this game series has been a true disappointment. Sad to see it go this way. Wake up, BFG...do the right thing and return MCF to greatness.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MCF is DEAD! I remember when if it was a Mystery Case Files game, I bought it right away. (13th Skull, Ravenhurst, Dire Grove, etc.) WOW, this is so NOT like any of those. Not even close. Mystery Case Files is dead. RIP. No more for me.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken Hour ~ broken game plan This game was way off the mark. 95% of the games were very complicated and just plain weird ! It's the type of game you just "want to be done with" !!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuk I used to think Mystery Case Files games were great. But not this one. HOS were way to easy and puzzles were poorly explained. Characters and voices were annoying. I also found it disgusting that I was expected to consign a body into the flames to be cremated. Sick! I won't rush to buy another MCF. There should have been a warning on this one!
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from loubo Have to agree with other folks comments. Mystery Case Files this is NOT. I was really disappointed having expected the same quality and enjoyment of my previous buys. Found it became more and more irritating. Do not think I will even bother play any future games with this title.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth Getting Stuck My peeve with HO and POV games is no option to skip ALL of the mini-games if any just don't work out. Such was the case here. After attempting Mercilessly to get through the VanCave, only to get stuck on the idiot Ghost video game. No option to bypass or skip and trying the Hint to get me through was useless.
Date published: 2019-08-11
  • y_2019, m_11, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_26050, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Broken Hour

Uncover the mystery of Huxley's Boarding House before time runs out!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.