Midnight Calling: Valeria Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Midnight Calling: Valeria Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.72 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Elephant Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Midnight Calling series!

Your world is rapidly cooling down, and your grandmother has called for you to help prevent worldwide disaster! As you investigate the icy landscape, you’ll quickly unravel the magical forces at work. Can you save your family and the world in time? Find out in this exhilarating hidden-object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“AWESOME addition to this series! Has all the bells and whistles - morphing objects, collectibles, great storyline, and fantastic graphics. Appeals to all level of players from beginner to advanced!”  - Joyce, beta tester

“SPECTACULAR! Midnight Calling: Valeria is a giant step ahead of the rest!”  - Caleb, beta tester


  • Play as Granny and save Valeria from evil in the bonus chapter!
  • Complete your collection of zodiac signs and picture fragments.
  • Get awesome wallpaper, concept art, music, and screen savers.
  • Earn achievements as you master the game.
  • Replay mini-games and hidden-object puzzles in the secret room.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 902 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Midnight Calling: Valeria Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.72 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Midnight Calling: Valeria Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When magic happens... Wow! In this cartoonish-styled game, you have so much to explore and a really enjoyable gameplay. You collect fragments, morphing silhouettes. The music is a bit off, in the sense that it continues playing a tune while the scenary and mood has changed. All in all, it's a perfect little game with some serious potential!
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like reading a novella when you expcted a novel Found this game to be rather disappointing. Graphics, cut-scenes, voice-overs were all well done. But the game itself was very short. Lacked imagination. And offered nothing new. I'd go into further detail, but most of it has already left my mind. You had collectables and morphing objects along the way, but if you missed any you couldnt go back and get them - this is a real turn off for me, as i like to 'complete' my games. Same thing for the bonus chapter. The overall feeling was that it was over just as you were getting into it. Recommend the SE, but not worth the CE price or label.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's A Midnight Castle Thing...... This is the third game in the Midnight Calling series that is a spin off of the cult classic Midnight Castle. If you haven't played Midnight Castle, you might not "get it" but if you are a fan like me, you totally "get it" Yes, this is a fairly easy game to play, but what's wrong with easy? Not every game has to be challenging in every aspect, sometimes an easy game is just as entertaining, and I was entertained by this game. Midnight Castle has a following unlike any other adventure game out there, and Midnight Calling ties into the original nicely, but can still be understood without having played Midnight Castle. Don't be intimidated into thinking this game is child's play, it is a fantasy themed game, and fantasy isn't real, so use your imagination, and enter another realm, a Kingdom that is bitter cold, and slowly freezing anything and everything in it's path. The reason for the killing frost may have been caused by one of the Castle's royalty, but what happened and why is the real question! This Collector's Edition has plenty of bling, each scene has a Morphing Object, and there are collectible Zodiac symbols to find, Fresco Fragments, and plenty of Achievements to earn as well. Eventually you will be joined by a baby Griffin with very large baby blues to help you with items you cannot reach or to scare away various critters. Granny gives you her Magic Watch which can turn back the hands of fate and land you right where you want to be, only at an earlier time, before the tragedy occurred. Honestly, I would have given this game 5 stars had it not been for the poor graphics. The hand drawn graphics are too cartoonish, after three tries, you'd think the devs would up their game by tweaking the graphics. This game could be epic with sharp, computer generated graphics. The Hidden Object Scenes are actually not bad, there are Interactive Listed Items finds, Silhouetted Shape finds in groups of 3, Matching Pairs to uncover, and my favorite required you to click on the scene the exact location shown in a square tile fragment. Some of the HOP's have a small puzzle to solve, or an extra requirement such as using a magnifying glass to find several fragments to open a chest. The Mini Games are easy, all of them as a matter of fact, but as I stated earlier, mini games and puzzles don't have to require a college degree, to be entertaining and fun. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Select the lock pieces in the right order. 2) Arrange the small tokens around the image that matches them by clicking on the circle centers to rotate them. 3) Swap vertical tiles to restore the image. 4) Solve the super puzzle by completing 5 different smaller puzzles. a) Click on matching maze tokens. b) place each sphere so that they all connect with their specified number of connections. c) Use directional arrows to move the token over each light symbol within a specific amount of moves. d) Select runes in a specific order. e) Arrange the small circles so they are next to the symbol that matches their color. 5) Select the correct roots to escape the trap. 6) Select the arrows in the right order. 7) Recreate the blue image on the tiles by selecting and dragging across other tiles to form the image. This Collector's Edition has 12 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, a Screensaver, 4 Music Soundtracks, 23 Achievements to earn, 32 Fresco Fragments, 12 Zodiac Pieces to collect for horoscopes, a Morphing Object in every scene, a Secret Room, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy your trip to the Midnight Castle!
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from don'tt mess with nother natuer okay game { cartoonish } moore of a kids game
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Travel to the past - a game for beginners Traveling to the past and have the opportunity to set things right, to have a bright future, sounds really great . Like really the idea and story line ; liked the graphics, music and cut scenes . What I didn't like , that I had constantly look for ornaments to open/ unlock something. This made it rather boring for me, I had preferred some puzzles . This game is really easy and not for people who love challenges. I think this game is perfect for beginners and when you're looking for something easy to play. The review is based on the trial.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the CE price... Hi all! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others. This is #3 in this series and by far the best. Graphics are quit good, even though the characters look a bit cartoon-like up close. Features are just a bit too chiseled. Colors are really nice, even with a little purples here and there. For the most part, very clear and nice. I really loved the voices in this one...quite well done, with emotion and not just someone reading lines. Sound FX are throughout the game, so between that and the soothing music, there is no dead air time. Game play was exceptional, of course, with no problems during the very short demo. We do have a little helper bird who only makes noise when he needs to be used. He whistles, which gets quite annoying. Otherwise, he is very quiet. We also have a bit of time travel, which is always fun. HOPs are a very nice combination of silhouettes, interactive and straight lists and finding pairs. I did not see that you could switch to something else. The scenes are clean and uncluttered and items are not difficult to find. I did find that the puzzles were very simple, and not a lot of them. There seems to be more action and doing, rather than puzzles. Help system is helpful and it does transport to longer locations. There is a jump map that indicates where a collectible may have been missed. Collectibles are many and very well done, which makes this one CE worthy in my book. We have to find 32 glass shards that can be anywhere. These really aren't difficult to find. We also have the 12 Zodiac signs to find as well. Not sure what this does yet, but I will find out. Naturally, we have morphing objects. These morph fairly quickly and some can be a bit small, so be on the lookout for them. This game is not really challenging, but I found that I was disappointed when the demo ended so abruptly. The story is nothing new, but it was interesting and kept you moving. There is just something about it that makes me want to keep playing. Do I think it is worth 5 stars...no, but I don't give them easily either. This game is well done, interesting, very nice collectibles and flows extremely well. I think all levels of players will find this one worth getting, for one reason or another. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A game for everyone ! Ok I have not had time to do reviews for ages BUT I just have to do one now Please remember everyone should have the chance to play games from newbies to advanced and sometimes its ok to play scary more adult themed games . Sometimes its ok to play an gentler game There is nothing wrong with this game its like a gentle fairy tale .The challenges are not ridiculously easy But if you play the online midnight game or any of the two previous games you will know what to expect The synopsis of the game is exactly as it plays Try it, you may just enjoy it! If not, you do not have to buy it
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit disappointed I usually make these games last because I just dip into them every so often. I had just completed Spirit of Revenge: Cursed Castle and it took 2 weeks of occasional dipping in. This game was over in 2 days. There were 2 sort of chapters, one cold and one hot and there should have been more. I love HOS but a lot of these were where you have an outline or silhouette and you have to find it in the scene and some were where you have to find a rune symbol. Those are really boring. I much prefer to see a list by name and find those in the scene. What there were of those were a bit too easy. I don't recommend to buy or not but I'll rank it in the stars. One thing though it's not a criticism: it's a bit strange being a female protagonist. I suppose women who play the games where men are the protagonist must feel the same. You get used to it though.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really easy! I agree with the other posters. Really easy game, been there done that. Nothing really new here but would be great for kids or someone new to these type games. The demo kept me occupied, but didn't have to think much. Not for me, but play the demo and decide for yourself. Happy Gaming! Linda
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Illigal to talk on crystal ball and drive See what happens when you are on the phone Umhum crystal ball and driving your horse. You crash. This game had some whimsical things I liked. Like the sleeping locks. But then there was Lame parts to it and it seem like a kids game until I got to the puzzle in the cave. Then I though okay to hard for most younger kids. So the game is just that so so for me. Buy it on a rainy day when I am bored of my crystal ball. Morphing objects, critter action, collect shards, Okay HO's, Most puzzles easy, Lots of inventory, slow pace game, and Characters were just okay though Tim looks older he reminds me of a Young Tim from Night Fall Mysteries asylum conspiracy.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sometimes Being Average Is Not Good Enough Valeria is on her way in answer to a summons from her Grandmother when her carriage crashes. As the latest in a vast number of games that start with a crash, this one is not good enough to get past the usual repetitious game elements that you've seen in all those other games. Once again someone chooses to try to change the past and will have exactly the usual success, unfortunately accompanied by endless back and forth between locations to collect myriad pieces of amulets and puzzles to accomplish the most basic of actions. There will be a young griffin whose cage you dig out of the snow in front of the castle, where presumably Granny left him. He will help with some of the things out of your reach. I say some as, even though he's sitting in the corner of your screen, there are several things well above your head which he does not help you to retrieve. There will be lots of HOPs, a weak story, weaker mini-games and puzzles, good artwork, and CE bling. Unfortunately that weak story in the demo only takes a short time to get through, suggesting a short game ahead. I can't recommend what I have no interest in buying. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same type of game The game was just ok. It was short with nothing new. I got tired of matching runes. I think its a good game for beginners. Hopefully their will be more challenging games in the future.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A GAME WHICH LEAVES ME COLD OVERVIEW: A cold front has arrived at BFG this week. Get ready for a bone chilling adventure! Climate change has taken over a fairy tale kingdom! A spell has caused a cold chill to descend upon the kingdom in this 3-star game. You, as Valeria, must go back in time to stop one of your family members who is behind this change in the climate. This game also leaves me cold and is a perfect ice storm of many elements I dislike in a game, including a childish story, nasal-toned characters, nondescript HOP scenes, and extremely easy puzzles. This is the third week I have found no CE on BFG which I have wished to purchase! This is yet another in a recent avalanche of fairy tale “helper” games from BFG. This game is designed for beginning gamers, children, those who love Harry Potter books, or those who like easy-breezy games. The game is beautifully illustrated. Elephant produces games with almost a gemlike opalescence about them. However, as far as the game mechanics, this is an average, run-of-the mill HOP game. I found nothing in this game to propel me to purchase it – ever! I dislike animal helpers in games, and the helper griffin is annoying. I find this game boring. You collect fragments, morphing objects and signs of the zodiac which describe your personality. Being an Aquarian, my sign tells me to exit this game. HOP SCENES: The HOP scenes are consistent with those seen in every game. They include nondescript boring lists of items with little interactivity. In one you get a gimmicky magnifying glass to look for items. There is a new type of HOP scene in which you locate parts of a painting within the painting itself. There are a couple silhouette scenes and in one, you must locate more than one item to remove the silhouette PUZZLES: The puzzles are extremely easy. Elephant did try to generate a little excitement with the inclusion of a Rube-Goldberg super puzzle. However, most of the five puzzles comprising this super puzzle are ridiculously easy. There are two which are somewhat difficult. Other puzzles include a couple of sequence puzzles, one of which was so poorly created, I gave it a negative score. To me, choosing roots to climb up a cliff IS NOT a puzzle. The sequence puzzles are trial and error puzzles lacking any clue as to the order of the sequence. There is also a switch puzzle to restore a picture. FAVORITE PUZZLE: There is one puzzle in the demo which I did enjoy. It was the last one in the demo. It has the choice between casual and hard settings. You must recreate an image on a slab with squares. ATTENTION: HOGWARTS - PLEASE RECLAIM YOUR GRIFFIN: Accompanying you in this game is a dopey-eyed griffin who sits at the left-hand corner of the screen making screeching noises and flapping his wings throughout the game. He soon became annoying with his BIG EYES staring back at me as I played the game. He is used four times in the demo. POOF! BEGONE! I truly hope the Great Wizard of the Kingdom of Pisces (two fish for the price of one BIG FISH) will cast a spell to remove all animal helpers from future HOP games. Perhaps, Bertha the Ferret will adopt the dopey griffin from this game. I sincerely hope that we will see some games from BFG WITHOUT these ridiculous helpers. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 24 Achievements – From what I could count Collect fragments – no number given Collect Morphing objects – no number given Collect 12 signs of the Zodiac. 12 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art, Secret Room, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. Silhouette. You must locate more than one item to remove the silhouette. B. List of items. Use a magnifying glass to look for lock parts. C. Silhouette. Locate sections from a painting within the painting itself. D. Matching. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Sequence puzzle. Remove pins in the correct order to open a lock. Restart from the beginning if you make a mistake. Rating: 1 B. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate four large circles to move 16 tokens so that each circle has token which match thematically. C. Switch puzzle. Switch tiles to create a picture. Rating: 1 D. Rube Goldberg super puzzle (1). Matching. Match up tokens. Rating: 1 (2). Logic puzzle. Move hexagons so that the triangles emanating from them match up with the triangles of the other hexagons. Every triangle must be matched up with no triangles left hanging. Rating: 2 (3).. Maze puzzle. Using arrows, move a lighted square to the bottom within a specific number of moves. Rating: 1 (4). Sequence puzzle. Press 6 tokens on a star in order. If you make a mistake you must start over. Rating: 1 (5). Moving tiles puzzle. Move small disks so they are next to a larger disk of the same color. Rating: 2 E. Sequence puzzle. While falling, Select the correct roots on a cliff break your fall. If you choose incorrectly, you must start over again. Completely inane and hardly what I would call a puzzle. Rating -.5 F. Sequence puzzle. Select arrows flying toward you to knock them down. If you make a mistake, you must start over. G. Matching puzzle. Choice between hard and casual. Copy an image on a slab with squares. Rating: 3
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dont waste your money I am sooo disappointed in the way Elephant are now making their games. Long gone are the days of Fates Carnival with lots of great mini games, long chapters and great story lines. This game took me an hour and a half from start to finish, if I could get my money back I would. Very happy I only paid half price. Wait for the SE. Doubtful I will be purchasing from this developer again. Used to be my number 1. Graphic were good, a bit cartoonish, lame story line, the only real positive was that you didnt have alot of items to place and not to much jumping from site to site. I dont like leaving negative feedback but this is such a waste of money. Developers, change direction back to how good you used to be and drop the quick buck style.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing... Review is based on the demo; Beautiful game, but unfortunately that is all it has to offer. Frankly, the game is boring and the puzzles are ridiculously simple. I recommend this game for ages 8 through 13.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Granny, you're in trouble! Others have described the game play in some detail, so I won't re-invent that wheel. I must say this, though. The game opens with the view of a horse's rear which, in my opinion, is exactly how you'll feel if you buy this game! At least it didn't start with yet another car crash —but, wait, the horse-drawn wagon crashes instead. I did not find the graphics as unappealing as some other reviewers. Yes, the hand drawn scenes are not as sharp as are found, for example, in Eipix offerings, but the 'old school' ambiance was fitting for this particular game. I don't care for the 'find two of everything' type of hidden object tasks, as found here —I think them annoying, in fact. Once again, the protagonist must rely on the help of an assistant —a griffin, with rather large blue eyes. Surely game developers can do better than saddle us with this tired, hackneyed gimmick. Once more. as far too often in these games, you must rescue a relative, and were you that old kinswoman, sorry, Granny, but you're in trouble! Perhaps a first-time player might find this game satisfying or, perhaps, one might buy it for young person to play but, if like me, you have many years and many games behind you, don't bother with it.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game was way too short... I love Elephant games, and having played the trial hour I decided to buy it. That decision I truly regret. The entire game took less than 2 hours, including trial hour! I skipped one puzzle! So, for £10.80 I got less than an hours game play. Haven't played bonus game yet. The gameplay was a yawn. HOPs were excellent and I looked forwards to them. The puzzles were boring in the main, very easy too. Amongst the puzzles were really lazy 'find the symbols' and these recurred far too often. In fact the whole game seemed to have been thrown together with little thought. This has to be the worst game ever by these devs...in fact one of the worst CEs ever. I would have been disappointed had it been an SE for free using a voucher.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money This is the worst game in the series, no storyline! Boring, boring. I'm going to delete this game and never bring it to life again. The game appears to be thrown together, was really disappointed in Elephant/Big Fish. Plus as I was near the end of the game it froze and I had to control/alt/delete to get out of it.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thankfully, I had my phone on "do not disturb" when Midnight called. I'm certain that some fishies consider my reviews to be contemptuous. Whoever said “familiarity breeds contempt” was spot on. This is the sixth HOPA I've reviewed this year, and I feel like I've reviewed the same game six times. Once again, I have a relative in trouble, which unleashes hundreds of game memories of storylines when my child-sibling-parent-spouse was in danger. Been there, done that, got a closet-full of t-shirts. On the way to the rescue, my horse-drawn carriage overturns and slides off a cliff, which prompts flashbacks of a thousand prior carriage-automobile-plane crashes I've experienced in games. Ugh…again? Next, I discover that the very fate of the world rests in my hands, which causes a myriad of echoes in my mind of games in which the fate of my world-another world-both worlds was in danger of destruction, and I was the only one who could save the day. This is beyond tiresome...hence my contempt. When the possibilities for storylines is limited only by the imagination, I reject attempts to sell me the same boring tale under a new name. Imagine my utter lack of surprise when the first hundred things I see are shaped indentations requiring matching amulets. Would one of you five-star fishies please explain to me how doing the exact same thing over and over again for several hours is entertaining? Because I find it not only boring, but annoying. Finding and using those amulets was, quite literally, the only thing adventure mode consisted of. Sometimes, I’d place an amulet, the whatever would open, and inside would be another amulet! I’m going to have nightmares tonight. Moving on to what devs insist on calling “hidden object scenes,” in spite of their lack of hidden objects, do you ever wonder why none of the devs actually hide the objects anymore? Because they don’t have to. It’s not difficult to create a scene of random objects, then decide which of those visible objects to put on the list. It’s even easier if you have a collection of pre-rendered objects from previous games that you can reuse…just change the color and alter the light source and no one will catch on—except the contemptuous reviewer who happens to be a graphic designer…ignore her…look at all the five-star reviews! It’s comparatively more difficult and time consuming to create a scene, then camouflage objects within that scene so they’re not obvious, because you must create from scratch sixteen objects to hide for each HO scene, tweak them to blend in, then render them. And rendering takes a LOT of time. For large files, it’s not uncommon to start the rendering process…and go to sleep for the night, because there’s literally no point in waiting around for something that ties up your computer for hours. (Oh, the varied presentations? Yeah, that’s not difficult either. This game had minimally interactive list, silhouette multiples, painting fragments, mouse over with a magnifying glass to find “invisible” items, etc.) Onto what the devs laughingly call “puzzles.” A real puzzle is game, toy, or problem designed to amuse and made purposely difficult in order to test the solver's skills and ingenuity. As an adult, what skills of yours were tested by the six-piece "swap the pieces" jigsaw in this game? Personally, my ability to refrain from spewing profanity was tested. I failed miserably. Did you feel particularly ingenious when you found three matching pairs amidst seven tokens? I don’t think you did, because you’re an adult. Were you challenged by having to randomly guess the correct order in which to click three arrows? I wasn’t either. This is another case of pure laziness. These simplistic puzzles only require simple programming. And when a dev reuses the same puzzles, they just dig into their collection of programs and reuse old programming too. “Hey, do we have a subroutine for a nine-tile slider?” You know they do, because it’s in every single game, isn’t it? So, recycled storyline, recycled graphics, recycled programming…somehow that’s supposed to equal “new game?” This must be the same type of logic that insists that objects in plain view are “hidden” and matching pairs is a “puzzle” for adults. Anyone else feeling contemptuous?
Date published: 2017-01-20
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_26085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Midnight Calling: Valeria Collector's Edition

Can you uncover the cause of the cool down?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.