Dark Romance: Romeo and Juliet Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Romance: Romeo and Juliet Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.60 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games presents the next exhilarating chapter in their classic Dark Romance series!

Romeo and Juliet survive their families' feud and pledge to get married, but a ghost from the Capulets' past wants to make sure the feud never ends and the Capulets are destroyed! Can you help them find a happy ending, or are they doomed to forever be star-crossed lovers? Play as both Romeo and Juliet and help them defeat the villain who wants to keep them apart in this lovely hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Play as Mercutio to save the star-crossed lovers in the bonus chapter!
  • Tons of collectibles: masks, scrolls, and coins.
  • Spend your coins to purchase decorations for Juliet's boudoir.
  • Enjoy the soundtrack, wallpapers, concept art, and more!
  • Never miss a thing with the strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1452 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Romance: Romeo and Juliet Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.60 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Romance: Romeo and Juliet Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the graphics the most It was visually beautiful which made it fun. Story was smooth. It is a fun afternoon game. wasn't thrilled no monsters which is fine with me. some nice games.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Agree with majority on this one I like the dark romance series and enjoy playing as two different characters, this one however is not as good as others. The puzzles were so dull that I skipped most of them and overall as others have said, the game is just too easy and predictable. I didn't even finish the demo!
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from oh !!!!! suckatash all I can say it was okay I my self wouldn't use romeo and Juliet in a hop game just a little unususal.......depends on what the game player likes !!!!
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Okay! I play for fun, so if it's not that fun.... I don't get into describing all the details...others have done a much better job than I ever could. I just found this game middle-of-the-road...at best. As always, try it for yourself!
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A magic carpet in Romeo & Juliet? Hi all! Here we are with another addition to this series. As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others who do a much better job than I. The graphics in this one are fairly well done. I did have to laugh at the face on the wounded soldier...such terrible pain, but then bandage his arm and up and away he goes. We need that kind of medicine! Not a game changer, but funny. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo. Colors are very bright, but not over-powering. You can switch players in this game, which was sort of fun. That way, you see the game from both sides and not just yours. Music just came in and out and was very quiet for the most part. There was very little character interaction during the demo, so not much in the way of voices either. What we did have, was done well. HOPs are a nice combination of interactive lists, silhouettes and find the highlighted word. The scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. If you don't want to play the HOP, you can switch to a match 3. Wish the devs would come up with something other than a match 3. In the puzzles, you can switch from easy to difficult. In easy, they may be simple, but they still take time to complete. There is still some challenge. Hint system is very helpful and when you need to travel a long distance, the map opens up and you transport through that. I really like this type of map. Areas are clearly identified and marked and you can choose to also have it show you where a collectible is located. This helps in case you miss one. Collectibles are many. To me, this is what makes or breaks a CE game. We need to find 11 masks, which can be a bit small but not hard to see. We also have 89 gold coins, which are not hard to see, but easy to miss. You use these coins to buy items for the boudoir...not exciting, but okay. There are also 13 scrolls of various sizes. These are very easy to miss. Collectibles are nicely done and do add a little challenge to the game. When I beta tested this one, I wasn't too kicked out about it, but it looks like a few things were fixed. It is nowhere near as good as the last one, but it isn't a bad game at all. I don't remember there being a "magic carpet" in Romeo and Juliet, but I guess that's what is called "literary license." Hollywood does that a lot. For some unknown reason, I did like this game. Maybe it was the collectibles, because I know it wasn't the story. It is not all that challenging, but I found the need to keep playing anyway. Some will like this one and some will not, but I think I am going to add it to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is This Shakespeare or Aladdin? 'O Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou? Oh Juliet, Juliet, here I am, in prison guarded by a giant bear! Hang on my love, I shall simply dig around for some tranquilizer darts and a blow gun, that should do the trick. Oh look, a puzzle, give me just a second sweetie, it looks so intriguing. Then Romeo and Juliet ride off into the sunset on a magic carpet and live happily ever after, well, okay, it doesn't really end with the magic carpet ride, but it probably would have been best to just have ended the entire game that way. I have always enjoyed the Dark Romance series, one of the only games I know of that allows you to switch between characters, in this case you will play Romeo and Juliet. I found this game to be slow and super easy, you will know exactly what inventory item you will need to complete a task BEFORE you even find it. The characters speak, and then their lips move which is annoying and I'd rather see no lip movement at all. In this Collector's Edition version, you will collect Journal notes, 11 hidden Masks, 13 hidden Scrolls and 89 Coins that allow you to purchase items for the Boudoir. Remember the first Dark Romance? You could purchase interface upgrades which was way cooler than buying virtual wedding items to decorate a room that doesn't exist. The Hidden Object scenes are varied with Interactive List finds, Silhouetted Shape finds and Multiples of a single item. There are smaller zoom zone HOP's as well and you can opt for a Match 3 game instead. The Mini Games are available in Easy and Hard modes which is a fantastic feature in my opinion. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Match top and bottom tokens on the wheels by rotating and swapping tokens. 2) Guide the golden rose into the far right slot by creating a clear path using other shapes to unblock the path. 3) Interact with the story scene by placing objects and characters correctly according to the storyline. 4) Restore the image by rotating rings, moving one ring may affect others. 5) Push in all of the lock parts, pushing one may affect others. 6) Move all red hearts to the left side and all of the yellow hearts to the right side. 7) Move all 3 goblets to the blood drop slots above the board without getting touched by the arrows. This Collector's Edition has 36 replayable Movies, 18 Wallpapers, 26 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 11 Collectible Masks, 13 Collectible Masks, 86 collectible Coins to purchase items for the Boudoir, 16 replayable Mini Games, 29 Achievements to earn, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shakespeare is Spinning in his Grave. Based on the demon only. I did like the game play as it was relatively smooth, the HOS are interactive and the puzzles were really easy. I found the colours a bit over the top as it wasn't easy on my old eyes, far too bright for me. The storyline was just OK, I studied Shakespeare at school and at college so I am hoping these devs stick to the original and don't turn it into a "lived a happy ever after" story. Inventory - there are 3 circular discs on the top of the inventory bar which glow if there is something to collect in that scene, Coins, Scrolls and Masks. Map - given to you shortly after the start of the game and is easy to navigate. 30 Achievements. 11 Masks - easy to find as they do not morph. 13 Scrolls to collect also easy to find. 89 Coins to find to spend in the Boudoir. 16 Mini Games to replay but no mention of any HOS to replay. To buy or not to buy, that is the question.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wherefore art thou, Delete Button? Sorry to say, this demo was so boring that I struggled to play the first 20 minutes...my mind kept wandering when it wasn't focused on how ridiculous the anachronistic items and many of the tasks were. Out of those tasks I did get to during my blessedly brief gameplay, the straw that broke this camel's back was using the heel tip of a woman's stiletto to unscrew something. The slot was triangular...it was impossible to see that the heel tip was also triangular. Who would even entertain the thought of using a shoe as a screwdriver?? That's not a clever challenge, it's ridiculous! When the opening scene started with a medieval theme, but the person on horseback is holding a cassette player, I sensed trouble ahead. For me. The story made no sense; there was no challenge beyond figuring out the nonsensical use of inventory items, and that was more frustrating than challenging; it is a tag-team setup where you switch between characters, which I feel is just a useless gameplay extender when the devs can't come up with enough strong storyline and engaging HOPs and puzzles. There is a boudoir to spend the collectible coins on -- a waste of time that adds nothing to the interest level. The HOPs and puzzles were extremely easy even on the Hard mode. The only nice thing I can say is that the graphics were largely colorful and nicely drawn. Beginners and younger players might enjoy this, but more experienced players will likely find it tedious at best...especially if they have any sense of history. After 20 minutes or so I got up to let the dog out and promptly forgot I was in the midst of the demo...came back to discover I only had 20 minutes left to play. I couldn't force myself to do it and deleted it.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Idiotic Story Line This is one sad game! I have always liked this developer especially being able to play two different players, but they have butchered such a beautiful story. I could not even finish the demo, which is very unusual. Everything in this game just seemed really stupid to me. I cannot recommend this game. But try the demo and make your own decision.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Demo only! Hey guys, I've an idea! How about we take one of the great tragic romance stories and turn it into a game that lacks any logic or continuity and illustrate it with scenes containing glaring anachronisms? Oh good idea fellow dev! Then we could pepper it with puzzles and HO scenes that are so easy that the players will think they're geniuses and will be distracted from the ridiculous storyline!That'd be fun wouldn't it? Well.......... no, actually it would be a total travesty !!! By the way - I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 only because it would have to be the worst game in the history of Big Fish to get 1 in the same way that I rarely give any game 5 stars!
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why Pick on Shakespeare? So this story starts as sort of a lead in to Romeo and Juliet in so far as Juliet's mother, Alberta, dies at her birth and the game opens at the engagement party for Romeo and Juliet. The disgruntled suitor who did NOT marry Alberta arrives in time to attack the young couple as they enter the party area. Romeo comes to Juliet's aid to save her from a fire with a modern fire hose. Juliet's father is still upset that she was endangered and locks her in the house. Luckily he throws a messenger pigeon into her room before locking the door and telling her not to use the pigeon. Like any teenager, Juliet whips up some clay, fills a convenient mold, drills out some holes with her handy drill, and fashions a flute to help send the pigeon on its way to Romeo with a letter. There is way more silliness, but I still don't understand what Shakespeare could have done to make the Devs this irritated with him. They did not have to use Romeo and Juliet's story - or any weird derivative of it for their game. Several of the other games in the series were made up, why go for great literature this time? Surely they could have done better than this poor little effort? The artwork varies wildly from smudged, wavy, and murky to crisp and clean. The HOPs are crystal clear, with a Match 3 alternative, but the mini-games/puzzles leave much to be desired in clearness of instructions if not artwork. As for the game play, stupid things are locked up - a rusted set of garden clippers - while the characters carry around things like a pitch fork while riding a horse. Once again we are presented with a game that needed more work, more thought, and way more time put into it before it was released. Please try the demo. Take no one's word for anything. If you like it, more power to you - but that funny sound is Shakespeare spinning in his grave.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from sheer snooze fest wow...this was the most tedious game i have played in awhile.......just bad. same old, same old....masks to find, hos puzzles from 2005, and the very lack of ANY storyline.....just awful. i have never been a fan of the jumping back and forth between characters..this game is all of that and more...sadly, it did not work.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Romeo and Juliet Rewrite From Demo play I would not buy this or get this game for free. The charters are puppet like, the voice overs the lips don't even move from what I can tell. Out of all the games I have played this year this is one game I did not like at all I am sorry to say. I can not recommend this game, but as always play the game and determin for yourself is you like it or not.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had Shakespeare himself written this disaster one less play would have been published I am no great fan of the bard Shakespeare and any of his comedies, tragedies and sonnets but the developer of this awful story should be ashamed to dishonor what is rightfully one of the outstanding stories of all time. The story gets messed up in the initial cut scene with Juliet's mother dying during childbirth. What rubbish ! A bit later on Tybalt is now a cat??? I realize that games based on well known fiction need to be tweaked a bit but what goes on here is nothing short of ridiculous. The primary theme of the story here is one seen too often in games. Two men vie for the same woman, in this case it's Alberta ( Juliet's mother ) who is sought after by suitors. The loser becomes so villainous in defeat that he must then ruin the relationship between Romeo and Juliet a couple decades later. After about 45 minutes into the demo I had had enough of this drivel and quit. As to game play itself, we are forced with cliche after cliche in advancement of the quest. Rusty tools, locked doors, specific shape items to open boxes, etc. Why at one point we must use yet another crowbar to pry a loose board to find a horse bridle. I don't know about you but that's where I secrete all of my bridles !! The best aspect of this Dark Romance are the HO segments as they are beautifully drawn. Some of the puzzles require some thought. Other than that and due mostly to the abyssmal story the game falls SPLAT ! I wonder which if any Shakespearian play the developer shall elect to dishonor ? Game players, please save your money and put this lame effort where it belongs, in your computer trash bin.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ridiculous This game is terrible. Appalling storyline - never mess with a classic graphics cartoonish and gharish But worse of all is the logic (totally missing)!! Fire all around and you get "Im fine but the ceiling might collapse. Do have my shoe which might help" I mean really. Utter tosh!!
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AN UNBELIEVABLE ROMEO AND JULIET The Dark Romance games have always been rather hit or miss for me and this one is really a miss by a mile. The storyline is just unbelievable and poorly told. To say I disliked the game would be an understatement. The game developer is one who has quickly risen to the top tier of BFG game developers with some very creative offerings but Romeo and Juliet is certainly not one of them. The back and forth between Romeo and Juliet was annoying and disrupted the flow of the game. At the time of this writing, I played the entire game and trust me it took a lot of patience for me to continue until the game was completed. If you are searching for a great game to play, I would definitely suggest you look elsewhere since Dark Romance Romeo and Juliet is probably one of the not so great games in the vast BFG HOPA category. Although the graphics were good, items were so out of line with the time period setting. For instance Juliet handing Romeo a stiletto high heel that she no longer needs is just unbelievable. I would suggest that not only this developer but others pay more attention to the items they insert in their games. HOPA games could be a learning experience for many younger gamers but using items that are so out of timeline is teaching them something that is not true. As a CE the game had all of the collectibles and other fluff you could hope to find. So if you decide to suspend your sense of reality and play the game, you might enjoy the CE. In the end, the game is another of the recent HOPA offerings that is just not worth the download time.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't Even Play The bottom of my computers menu screen did not go away when the game started. Couldn't see the hidden object list except for the top row and my inventory was completely hidden by my google icons. Have never had this happen before and was really looking forward to trying this game.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not an HO but a HA HA Seriously, taking one of Shakespeare's greatest works and trying to make a game out of it shouldn't be done. He would turn over in his grave if he hasn't already. The graphics are ok in this game and there is the best I can say. Everything else is so not there. Story is far from anything fun or worth going into. For example, Juliet is on the balcony and Romeo has to help her down. Ok, easy enough, right? No. Instead of finding a ladder, climbing it and helping her down, he gets a rope, ties a hook on the end, throws it up to hook on the railing and hope Juliet can shimmy down. Boy, what chivalry! This is also one of those switch between characters games which makes the game stretch out when it doesn't need to and something I'm not in favor of. Some gamers may enjoy this type of HO but it's not for me. I don't recommend this one.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from same old game So tired of these kinds of games. Boring beyond belief.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I don't submit reviews often. This was just plain awful. The game play was awkward; the storyline was asinine; the graphics were terrible; and the games were too easy. I did not finish the demo.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This dev's formula is an all-around failure. I find myself saying much the same thing for every game from this dev, and this game is no different. The production is just terrible. Graphics have an utterly eye-searing palette as if the game universe has been irradiated with nuclear waste. Animation has a stop-motion appearance, and living beings moved unnaturally. Environmental sounds were missing entirely, and music started and stopped at random. Mostly, there was just silence. Voiceovers were mediocre at best. Gameplay was formulaic, too easy, and included ridiculous departures from logic and common sense. A stiletto heel used as a screwdriver? "I'm locking you in your room. Here's a messenger dove, but don't use it!" A flute made by dumping clay into a mold, then drilling random holes in it? Putting out a fire with an anachronistic rubber hose? Good grief! HO scenes could be completed in less than a minute, and most were minimally interactive list. Puzzles were too easy even at the "hard" level. And adventure mode included all the trite game devices we've seen a million times, like the broken ladder, the rusty pruning shears, the cobwebs, and more. All completely predictable. Don't even get me started on the numerous ways this dev butchered one of the bard's masterpieces. It's criminal.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Didnt even finish the demo. Very poor graphics, uninspired minigames, boring storyline. Not for me.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointing I was so excited to find this game because of its beautiful graphics and fun storyline. It seems most games these days are dreary and so gray (or blue) washed - not a nice place to escape a stressful life. Why? Are blue & gray colors on sale? After a demanding day I want to escape to a beautiful, relaxing place - not more misery. When I found this game, I was delighted. The graphics are beautiful - colorful & pleasant - real eye-candy. I tried the demo & was really enjoying it when I came to the puzzle that presented a scene with characters/objects that you had to move to one of the highlighted spots based on the clues in the caption. First scene, no problem. Second scene, nothing worked. I resorted to the Strategy Guide & followed that solution, but no go. THIS PUZZLE COULD NOT BE SKIPPED. End of game for me. I've never encountered a puzzle that could not be skipped before. How arrogant of the developers to think that their game would sell when they put such obstacles in the path. Since I had used the Strategy Guide solution AND tried every possible combination of placements without getting past this puzzle, I can't help but wonder if there is some kind of glitch or if the developers had programmed such narrow positioning that even the slightest of inexact placement caused it to be discounted. BAD, BAD GAME. I do NOT recommend this game, & would be very leery of any other game by this developer.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely dire The graphics are awful. So is the plot and so are the mini games. No challenge and really, when a fire breaks out telling me that my task is to put out the fire?! I didn't bother playing to the end of demo.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from what a tragedy another game that could have been great but is so incredibly easy i could not finish the demo (not like me) through sheer boredom
Date published: 2017-02-25
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_26240, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Romance: Romeo and Juliet Collector's Edition

Can you give Romeo and Juliet the happy ending they desire?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.