Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.30 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the newest addition to the classic Mystery Case Files series!

The town of Dreadmond has been almost abandoned overnight. When you arrive to investigate, you find a strange illness taking over the remaining residents – an illness that makes them age in an instant! Time’s not on your side. Can you uncover the cause, or will you be the next victim? Find out in this sensational hidden-object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I absolutely adored this game. The storyline had me hooked, the puzzles were fun & it was lovely to look at. Please release it tomorrow!!!”  - Simone, beta tester

“Simply brilliant. Every time I think we have seen the best of MCF, a new chapter is added. Both the intro and the test-game seems to promise us an exciting and interesting new chapter in the MCF story. And as always the graphics, HOP's and puzzle's are superior..”  - Henry, beta tester


  • Play as a young Richard Galloway and explore Paris in the bonus game!
  • Collect puzzle pieces and morphing objects throughout the game.
  • Earn achievements and even find special trophies in the Souvenir Room!
  • Replay your favorite mini-games and hidden-object puzzles!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 952 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.30 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil Collector's Edition is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STOP RICHARD GALLOWAY AND SAVE DREADMOND REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS The main game is about you, Master Detective, to stop Richard Galloway and save Dreadmond. The bonus is about a young Richard Galloway in the 1920s in Paris. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Hard, Insane and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * Diary; * 19 Achievements (some with 3 circles); * Find 39 puzzle pieces throughout game and bonus. The graphics are quite dark, however there is plenty of colour. I didn't have any problem finding the items I needed and felt that it added to the ambiance of the game. Sound is good and the music is from the Ravenhearst series which I had turned up loud. The hidden object games are highly interactive straightforward and silhouette. All items are clear to see. There are also little mini-games in them as well. I enjoyed doing these. There is also one morphing object per HOP. Get them all and you get an achievement. There are a huge variety of mini-games to play. Some you will get very quickly and others you will be spending some time on. There are a few super puzzles to do, however these are not too hard and I did them all. However, you can skip part or all of these if you prefer. I really enjoyed them. Some took me a good 15 minutes or so to nut them out. There are 39 puzzle pieces to find throughout the game and bonus. Most of these are easy to spot. The puzzle piece icon turns gold when you have found it at that particular scene. It stays dark until you have found it. The diary has some answers to tasks you will need to do, so just check it out from time to time. I didn't need to use the interactive map at all because you are only moving about a few scenes at a time before heading off, so no long traipsing backwards and forwards. I did get most of the Achievements, however I didn't get the 'Skip 3 puzzles', 'Solve HOPs in under 60 seconds' or 'Solve HOPs in 20 seconds' in the Extras. However, I know that some fishies love to get all the Achievements, but I couldn't manage that. All up the game took me a good 10 hours to play and I was disappointed when it finished as I wanted to carry on. Overall, a terrific game. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I don't understand the bad reviews either. I have all of the MCF games and yes it has changed, but this game stands on its own merits. Good puzzles, nice long game and I wasn't bored at all. I can appreciate the hard work that was put into the making of this game and I will be one of those who will always be excited when a new one comes out. I loved the bonus game too and will be replaying this game soon. An excellent value with more puzzles than three of some of my other games put together. Give it a chance and keep an open mind.
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bring it on! great game I don't understand the bad reviews .I really enjoyed this game and I'm pretty picky. Great graphics interesting story line.what more could you want? Granted it's nothing like the original games but it's great in it's own way.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF does it again. I don't understand the bad reviews. This is the first game, I like so much, I read all the end credits. The puzzles were doable for a change, some of the multiple puzzles in others are so arcane, I have to skip, not this one. I love the indicator that tells you if you got the puzzle piece or not, I can never remember. The storyline is excellent, better than many wishywashy ones that are an afterthought. MCF has always been my favorite and it still is.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taking a bit of Time I Like It! My eyes flew open at the very different opening cut scene and my mouth fell open through the rest of the demo. I wanted to do a football touch down dance I was so happy Mystery Case The Black Veil hit a home run. Whoot whoot whoot. Big contender for game of the year award. Goes to the top of my list. Ho's were interesting, nothing was really easy, Characters were good, collect puzzles pieces, jump map, good game flow, layered puzzles, and good cut scenes.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad they are back! The last game really had me worried. While 'Broken Hour' was not a bad game as such, it was definitely no MCF game either. At least for me. MCF is all about the supernatural and not weird science. In 'The Black Veil' the supernatural has returned. Luckily. This game very much had the feeling of the old games for me. I liked the story, the meeting with an old acquaintance and the puzzles. In 'Fate's Carnival' these special complex puzzles - where several puzzles are rolled into one big puzzle - appeared for the first time. I'm glad they kept the concept, even though the puzzles in this game (Black Veil) were a bit on the easy side. Nevertheless, a very enjoyable game. Keep going!
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF 'The Black Veil' Is it fate? Has Easter come early? LOL. Ravenhurst fans should rejoice and enjoy this latest game in the MCF series. I certainly did. Charm, style and theme of earlier games are back with 'The Black Veil'. Thank goodness for that. Having played their last game 'Broken Hour' and being quite disappointed I was a little worried. But as a huge fan I just had to take the chance of purchase. Super happy I did. Love, love, loved it! Highly and happily recommend.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A solid entry in the MCF series Over a million men died during the Battle of the Somme. But one man who should have been a casualty managed to grab a feather from the cloak of Ankou, the Angel of Death, and was healed as a result. Fast forward over a century, and a strange wasting illness has struck the town of Dreadmont, Scotland. The Master Detective has been sent to investigate. She finds that town benefactor Richard Galloway has a strong obsession with Ankou. I don't want to blow too much of what Galloway's doing, let's just say the MD is trapped in Galloway's obsession. Visuals are dark (it's another nighttime game), but not so dark that it's hard to see what's on the screen. Thematically ... any game that starts with a cutscene of WWI trench warfare isn't gonna be kittens and flowers. We do see one bit character die on-screen, though it's not graphic. I have to disagree with the reviewers saying the plot is unclear. The main game is clear once you acknowledge that you're dealing with obsession -- Galloway's actions might not be logical, but they are consistent. More consistent than some of the stuff the Dalimar clan got up to, to be honest. I'll concede that the bonus chapter (a prequel) is missing some important bits of "what's going on". There's a few minor points left hanging (such as why Henry is said to be mute all through the game, only to speak at the end), but not enough to affect my enjoyment of the game.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We're back in business Loved it. The last few MCF games were forgettable, but this one brings back the level of adventure and gaming from the previous games. Without adding more Dalimars, the game connects the past with new mysteries. The game was a nice length, the story line was interesting, the puzzles and HOPs were challenging without driving me crazy. I was totally hooked. Yes, the voicing of Allison was a bit annoying and I used to think that Scottish accents were sexy but will now think of them as creepy, but those are minor irritations.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Black Veil Collector's Edition Quite a good game, but needs a lot more hidden objects games. The guide was excellent but I had to refer to it too often. However it is one of the most interesting of the download and free play games. Too ad it stopped with so many minutes left on it.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from And they're back! Well done MCF, well done. Last two games had me worried that the MCF franchise was in trouble! But you have begun Redemption. This game had it all - a closing (or opening) story to the last 2 games AND puzzles that actually made me think! Really enjoyed it. Keep moving forward and yes, me thinks me saw a hint of the next one? Exxxxcceelent..... Thanks!
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFULL GAME Wonderfull game with many things to do A variety of hos with minigames inside Multi part Minigames/puzzles I don't care about collectibles I want a game that I can do plenty of things, and this games has it all! I don't undertand why some of you give so low rate!
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MYSTERY CASE FILES BACK WITH A BANG!!! I FOR ONE AM VERY HAPPY THAT THIS ONE CAME EARLY! THIS IS AN EPIC MYSTERY CASE FILES! INCREDIABLE GAME PLAY.STORY ETC.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF is back So much more a MCF than the November Game. Puzzles are awesome (fun and challenging). HOP fun with variety and clever morphing. MCF is back.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storyline & Puzzles Galore Based on Main & Bonus games Getting an MCF game in March is like Christmas in July. Eipix showed out with great puzzles, scenery, cutscenes, story, music, characters, and voice-overs. I actually went back to review the cutscenes-I never do that. Nor do I usually follow the story closely, but this one pulled me in hard. Eipix skillfully wove a melancholy, creepy environment with music & sound effects, and eerie artwork. The villain was more like Hitchcock's "banality of evil" type, than the usual cowled "bwah-ha-ha" kook. Adventure was A+ with multiple scenes, less linear play, and none of the trite tasks we come to dread. HOs were interesting w/o being cluttered, and contain morphs. Traditional HO fans will be pleased. For you puzzlers, Super Puzzles are everywhere, and clever, entertaining and challenging. Mini-puzzles are usually much simpler. Puzzle pieces are in every scene; collect them all and get a new wallpaper. CE bling also includes the Trophy Room (a mini-collectible hunt), replayable puzzles & HOs, achievements (some are quirky, read them before you play), and the usual. The main game lasts 4-5 hrs in hard mode, the bonus game about an hour. The latter is more of a prequel. Is it worth a CE? Definitely yes. There was a lot of effort put into making this game more compelling, original and challenging. Plus the bling will extend your playtime. And yes,it's better than MCF:Broken Hour. Hope that helps.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Count On MCF For A Stellar Game The demo was pretty entertaining. a lot happened in short amount of time, which isn't the case with most other demos. The opening scene on the battlefield was just the beginning of a very strange case, for the very famous detective. The reviewers ahead of me pretty much covered it all, so no need to add my almost identical thoughts. I would like to add that I was impressed with the complexity of the games in the demo. Actually, one in particular that really put my thought processes into overdrive. The puzzles were lots of fun, very different. The graphics were just amazing and so colorful, appropriately so. The characters were rendered so realistically and just seem to improve more and more in each game by these developers. The sound, special effects, music were perfect. I love MCF games because the storylines are always so interesting and for me, not so easy to travel through the game without stopping to reflect on things. My pace, even though not quick, still slows down somewhat...and that is the sign of a good game. All MCF games so far have been superb so I think I can safely assume it will be the same with this one. I will absolutely purchase this CE and look forward to hours of sheer delight. God Bless....
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Watch out for the mad Scotsman !!! Many of the reviewers describe in detail the story and game play. I have done so in the past but will refrain from doing so at this time. I am a huge fan of all of the MCF, I have them all, but some of them were getting a little stale in the recent past. I still play them from time to time. I beta tested this one and could hardly wait for it to be released. It has all of the puzzles, HOs, morphs, and puzzle pieces/collectables that many people want in their game play. The graphics and VOs are great. There is a jump map which is always appreciated. When I go back and play one of the earlier games I realize just how spoiled I have become with this feature. Elephant had my heart as far as graphics but Epix is right on their tail. This game has a great story line (at least I thought so) and lots of adventure. I have been waiting for this release so I could discover the ending but I just had to critique before finished. Do you think this will be the next story that offers an on going line? I hope so. I guess that I will have a better idea at the end of the game. I am thrilled that there are Rube Goldberg puzzles. Please continue with this type of puzzle. They make me think and keep me from going to sleep mid way through the game. I am sure that they are a challenge to program but so appreciate. I am again looking forward to the Thanksgiving game release and hope I will be fortunate enough to beta that one. Enjoy! Thank you Epix.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PRESENTING EIPIX' AMAZING, LONG AWAITED MCF, THE BLACK VEIL!!! Am I dreaming of playing an outstanding MCF Game? Do not wake me! Dark, foreboding, interesting, logical--there's a 180 degree turn here from the illogical and mostly boring games during the past year throughout the BFG Site. EIPIX has come through in a big way with a smoothly flowing exchange of conversation and events, music, art, graphics. Bravo! I will be the 1st to admit that I was wrong! Is this the surprise another member wrote about that they had beta-tested and was being released soon? Aha! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! You guys at Big Fish have perfect timing ...I have a sad 2 days coming up ...and to have this surprise game well...Thank you ...the game is great !!!!!!!!! I now have something to look forward to when I get back home!! Thank you!! <3
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! I absolutely love Mystery Case Files series! I already know as soon as I see a new game by them that I'm in for a treat and it never disappoints! Great game!!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INCREDIBLE An abnormal magnetic field under Deadmond has spiked since the time of the Druids, but yesterday's spike has made up for lost time. Time that these townsfolk no longer have, because time has fast forwarded their lives. The Queen has asked you to investigate this crime against mortality, because almost everyone has aged rapidly (I say almost because little Henry is still little Henry?!?) Joined by Alison Sterling, from Dire Grove, your investigation becomes increasingly difficult with every road you take, but all roads seem to lead to the town's benefactor, Richard Galloway. Time won't be on your side for long, Master Detective, this case must be solved before everyone perishes from old age! Incredible! Mystery Case Files has never released a dud (Shadow Lake may be the exception lol) This one might even top my beloved Ravenhearst series, but I do have to voice my opinion on one flaw. It seems they opted to put the Morphing Objects within the HOP's instead of the main game, and for that, I say BOO! I fell in love with this series once I discovered that they all offered Morphing Objects within each scene, and I played them one after another because of the morphs. I always forget to look for the morphs within the HOP's, especially when they are as engrossing as the one's offered in this game. There are 39 Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces and Achievements to earn in this Collector's Edition, which normally isn't enough to sway me to purchase a CE version, but I simply must have this game one way or another to complete my series collection. The Hidden Object Scenes are so interactive, so fun! There are only 2 offered in the demo, the first is an Interactive List find, the second is an Interactive, Progressive, Silhouetted Shape find that allows you to pan between 3 different scenes. Each of the 12 HOP's have a Morphing Object to find and they include at least one Mini Game puzzle. The Mini Games seem to be easier than the usual games offered by MCF, even the 8 part Super Puzzle seem easier, but they are simply fantastic, some of which are offered in the HOP's. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Use the clue to dial the correct phone number. 2) Guide the car to the finish line by selecting parts of the road, fueling is equal to one square of road, traffic lights need two fuel units. 3) Shoot the required number of colored spheres at matching colored spheres to make matches of three or more identical spheres. 4) Move the weights so that both sides of the scale are balanced. 5) Position the red tokens according to the picture in the center. 6) Swap the battery tiles to complete the pattern. 7) Use directional arrows to move the snake to eat all fruit. 8) Flip switches according to the hint provided. 9) Use clues to figure out the correct amount of money needed to withdraw, and select the correct money icons to enter. 10) Select the correct symbols on the cylinders shown on the parking meter. 11) Create a path that divides the empty dots from the solid dots. This Collector's Edition has 12 replayable Hop's with 12 Morphing Objects, 36 replayable Mini Games, a Knight's Dire Fate, 39 collectible Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces, Case Files, a Trophy Room, 19 Achievements to earn, 11 Music Soundtracks, Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, 12 Movies, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Adventure, enjoy lifting that veil!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW !! I woke up and went to BFG's home page and it's Thanksgiving already !! Such a surprise and a pleasant one indeed to have a new MCF game 9 months prior to when we usually get a new offering. Welcome back Alison Sterling who was in a group years ago to decipher goings on at Dire Grove. This time she is in Dreadmond, somewhere in the U.K. to see her former classmate Maggie Sharp since some strange events are bedeviling the town. Alison is rescued by the detective ( that's us ) and upon reuniting with Maggie finds Maggie to be an old woman. Although Alison is unaware of why her friend has aged so incredibly, the player knows from the initial cut scene that a British soldier wounded in the World War I Battle of Somme is miraculously revived by a weird woman-like entity after he plucks a feather from her clothing. We also meet a Scotsman who claims to have devised an apparatus which will end the mysterious events plaguing Dreadmond. Eventually even Alison is suddenly aged by the Black Veil so now it's up to the detective to solve the mystery. Most of the MCF games have been remarkable successes with a couple of clunkers to deal with. The Black Veil appears to be one of the excellent installments based merely on the demo portion. Other than the fantastic drawing of this game, it is the terrific use of imaginative HO segments and the inclusion of some difficult puzzles that make this MCF a worthy successor to the series. The player needs a sharp mind to complete some of the puzzles as they are tough nuts to crack. One is of the Rube Goldberg variety introduced way back in Madame Fate. Fortunately for the player, individual sections of this poser can be skipped if proving to be too hard. I managed to slog through with lots of trial and error before finishing and obtaining a useful item to continue the quest. We also have a fabulous HO segment in the Dreadmond estate building requiring the opening of 3 sections of a scene and locating and inserting objects correctly in order to acquire yet another item. There are jigsaw puzzle pieces to collect and if there are morphs I saw none in the demo. This game is clearly not for beginners and for those who have not played earlier MCF don't worry as Black Veil looks to stand alone quite well. Finding a new MCF at this time of year is a pleasant surprise and I can dare say that most of us HOPA aficionados shall certainly jump straight away into the deep end of the pool. This game should be a brilliant success.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIKE THE AGELESS SPHINX – THIS GAME IS A RIDDLE WRAPPED IN A MYSTERY INSIDE AN ENIGMA 7 Chapters plus a Bonus Chapter OVERVIEW: Welcome ladies and gentlemen to the Scottish town of Dreadmond! Enjoy your stay within this 5-star plus game. Enjoy the dark mysterious ambiance of the Galloway Estate. As you play this game, you may begin to feel a little drained of energy. Take warning! Residing in this game may affect your longevity. Many dark secrets reside in this town all centering on the mysterious Richard Galloway. Play a game with many twists and turns, with many puzzles to solve before you reach the final curtain. Or is there a final curtain in this sequel? Just remember, by entering this game, you are entering a world where your concepts of time, life, death, and immortality will be questioned. Magnetic anomalies abound and can distort your perception – at least in the demo. What is the story of Richard Galloway? That is for you to discover. This is an automatic purchase. I surveyed the beta and have been looking forward to the actual game! Kudos to EIPIX! This game is a vast improvement from last year’s game, “The Broken Hour.” The story is excellent – so good, I could see a movie based on this game. I like the puzzling aspect of this game, the various subplots within the game, the pace, and the well-constructed puzzles. The dark, brooding graphics in the stuffy Scottish estate within the small town, add to the ambiance of this game. Death and decay just ooze from this game. The themes of Death and Immortality are well depicted in this game from the symbols, items, puzzles, to the quickly aging people. HOP SCENES: They are principally lists with puzzles inserted within them. I do feel that if the HOP scenes were varied and included silhouette or matching pairs, etc., it would overkill. The use of simplistic lists of items lends itself to the inclusion of some innovative puzzles. I do like that there are several puzzles incorporated into the HOP scenes. This tends to break up the monotony of just searching for items within a scene. PUZZLES: I am in awe of the amount and quality of puzzles. More kudos to EIPIX for providing not only quite a variety, but also varying degrees of difficulty in these puzzles. PLAYING ON THE MOBIUS STRIP. My favorite part of the demo is the interactive gameplay in the first part of the game between three statues – all related to death and immortality. Looking for items, interacting with them and replacing them on the three statues of the Egyptian mummy, the Aztec warrior, and Death itself, is exquisite. This sequence illustrates the creative genius of the EIPIX. I hope to see this type of gameplay in more of their games. This sequence is so creative and well-done. LEVELS: Casual, Hard, Insane, Custom Hint: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Strategy Guide: 42 Pages Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 19 Achievements – Some with 3 parts Collect 39 jigsaw puzzle pieces Morphing objects Quill (feather) used throughout the game Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, Music, Videos HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE: NONE. You should discover this game yourself! FINAL THOUGHT: Enter at your own risk! This is a game you should enter blind. Half the fun of this game is navigating your way through the maze of puzzles and enigmas never knowing what is around the corner. However, I will give you a little information about the game - It is a masterpiece! Despite all of their faults, no developer on BFG can compare to the production of outstanding classic games as EIPIX - that is, when their heart is in it!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh that sneaky Richard Galloway... This game is off the chain. Five stars don't cut it, and they don't have more. The story, VO's, everything is just perfect. Eipix did a superior job in this game. I would highly recommend at least trying this one. I promise this will NOT disappoint, (along with their other games :) ). The story has a lot of twists which really make it interesting. Like a good book, you can't put it down. The characters in the game don't overact, it was beautifully done. Story: You're sent to a town called Dreadmond to find out why people are aging so rapidly. You meet up with a reporter named Allison who you worked with on the Dire Grove case. You two decide to team up together again. Allison has a friend Maggie in town and they go see her but she doesn't recognize Allison. Why? Because she aged about 30 years and now she's 60. Maggie made a phone call to a man by the name of Richard Galloway cause he's suppose to be the town's benefactor. Maggie thought he could help. You go see Richard and things start to unfold from there. Not saying no more lol. Graphics: Drop dead gorgeous. The people could look so life like. The scenery is awesome. Music: Couldn't of been done any better. Really fits well with the game. Mini games: You play one from a license tag one, a big puzzle one (fav), sliding a stamp seal and putting it back together, getting a little car back to the finish line, another was a magnet one where you had to put the magnets back in these holes in a certain order, just different variations. H0GS: List, & one was a 3 part H0G where you had to use 3 different doors to complete it. Looking back I only played these two in the demo and they both had mini games in them. Hint: Excellent hint. Tells you where to go, and what item you need to use on the object it told you to go. Map: It tells what you your objectives are, and it is a jump map. Kudos to the team for a job extremely well done. I highly recommend this game. Sue
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MYSTERY CASE FILES IS HERE AND IT ISN'T THANKSGIVING, OR DID I MISS IT? In a surprise move BFG has given us our much anticipated Thanksgiving game eight months early. It is anyone’s guess as to why the departure from the norm but I am thrilled to get a Mystery Case Files game earlier than anticipated, and even more so after last year’s excellent game The Broken Hour. The new MCF game The Black Veil begins with a cut scene showing a gravely wounded soldier on the battlefield who reaches out to touch an apparition in the moment before death. As he pulls back in surprise he finds a feather in his hand that soon turns to gold as his mortal wound is miraculously healed. The actual game begins when we see Alison Sterling (yes, our old friend from Dire Grove) reporting on a viral outbreak in Dreadmond, Scotland that that has people fleeing the city in fear of their lives. The virus causes people to age at an accelerated pace and everyone who comes in contact with the virus soon dies of old age. As you delve into this latest mystery you find things are not always as they seem. As is always the case with this top notch developer, the graphics and the Mystery Case Files world created are absolutely wonderful. Everything about the game is exactly what I expect and look forward to in this wonderful series. At least from what I have played in the early part of the game, the Dalimar saga is not present – thankfully! You have an interactive map that is present at the beginning of the game. The HOPS and the puzzles are incredible. I don’t want to say more because you need to experience them and find out exactly what is awaiting you in the game. I thought I had just about seen everything there is to offer in HOP scenes but EIPIX takes creativity a step beyond and has given us a new twist. The puzzles are terrific and yes, they are a challenge. When the first MCF game appeared and we encountered the Rube-Goldberg puzzles I was amazed. It probably took weeks to get through that game and I needed help to complete some of the puzzles that were found at each level. Now, I look forward to finding those Rube-Goldberg puzzles in the MCF games and I am happy to say there is a good one early in The Black Veil. If you prefer the CE version of a game this one offers the following extra content: 6 Morphing Objects, 7 Trophies, and 39 Puzzle Pieces to find. There are 20 achievements to earn and some of them have additional parts. Other extras include the standard fare wallpapers, artwork, movies and music. You can replay the HOPS and Puzzles, Knights Dire Fate, Trophy Room, Strategy Guide, and Bonus Chapter. The Mystery Case Files games have for the most part been quite terrific. There was a point when I reached my limit with the Dalimar saga and I am quite happy that maybe they have gone away for good. The Black Veil is creepy and has an excellent storyline. I knew that the game would be a no-brainer purchase for me so I hit the buy button immediately. I’m am so thrilled to have an exciting MCF game to play and that it is one to stimulate the brain as well as provide the fun I look forward to in a challenging mystery game. Please try the demo to see if this Mystery Case Files is a game you will enjoy!
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Black Veil This game was dreary good with outstanding sound effects and voiceovers. The scene was set perfectly to go exploring in a dark mansion and it's basement underground. If you like mini-games you will enjoy this immensely. I played the CE but I would recommended the SE instead. I didn't think the bonus game lived up to it's potential and the trophy room was lacking.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Totally enjoyed Liked the graphics and sound. I have all the mystery case file games and thought this was just as good as the others. I almost didn't get due to previous reviews but I'm glad I decided myself.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Supernatural Theme! Wow, what a great beginning! The Game had great potential in it's story line but unfortunately the ending was a let down. I did not understand the ending at all. I thought I was going to end up in the Underworld at the end but no such luck! The Bonus Game was totally USELESS and seemed to be put together in a hurry! I didn't see the point of it adding any value to the Story or Game at all. They could gave made the Bonus Game really good by showing us where this "apparition" originally came from. Too bad the Game Developers didn't think that far. There were too many Puzzles, I skipped most of the Puzzles because the instructions were poor and I just didn't get it. The lighting was too dark and some of the Puzzle pieces could not been seen at all because it was so dark. All in all it was a good game but if you had consulted me, I could have made the Story line even better!
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Veil Based on the Demo and Beta. I was getting somewhat tired of Ravenhearst so this is a different story with some interesting puzzles. Graphics are not up to previous MCF being somewhat blurry in cut scenes but it doesn't matter all that much. Typically dark storyline so no change there but with the detective duped very early on. I'm a fan of the MCF games but this one didn't quite hit the mark, perhaps that is why it has been released early. IF you are new to MCF then it's a great game so I think it's best if we think of this as another game and not MCF. I;d still recommend it as a game to play while waiting for MCF to return to form in the autumn
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Like all previous MCF games, this did not disappoint. I purchased the CE because I like the bonus chapter and the achievements. The main game was amazing. Great story line and plenty of games and a few super games that were reminiscent of the Ravenhearst series. As far as the bonus chapter goes, it was very lacking. Normally the bonus chapter is worth the extra money for the CE but this time it definitely was not. All told, the bonus game probably took about 10 minutes to complete. The trophy room in the extras was lacking as well as that only took a few minutes because it only had a few trophies where normally the games have a trophy in each scene. While the game was amazing, I wish I would have waited for the standard edition because the extras just weren't worth the extra money.
Date published: 2017-03-30
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_26380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil Collector's Edition

Can you stop the townspeople from mysteriously aging?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.