Fear For Sale: Hidden in the Darkness Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Fear For Sale: Hidden in the Darkness Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.85 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elefun Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Fear For Sale series!

Your writing session for your latest Fear For Sale magazine article is interrupted when a ghostly figure calls out to you for help! Since the opening of a new amusement attraction, people have gone missing from Drammond Island. Can you find the missing people and stop the mysterious kidnapper in time? Find out in this haunting hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Return to Drammond Island for another adventure in the bonus chapter!
  • Tons of collectibles to find throughout the game!
  • Earn achievements for completing fun challenges.
  • Enjoy original music, concept art, wallpaper, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1629 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear For Sale: Hidden in the Darkness Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.85 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Fear For Sale: Hidden in the Darkness Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DESTINATION TRUTH: EXTREME SURVIVAL AS A PARANORMAL WITNESS ON THE ISLAND. 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter OVERVIEW: What is the scoop on Drammond Island? Inquiring minds want to know in this superb 5-star edition of this series! You, Emma Roberts, investigative journalist, are off on another assignment for the sensational “ragazine,” “Fear for Sale.” Drammond Island is an up-and-coming site for a reality adventure theme park “Abandoned House.” Contestants are given only six hours to search for a hidden treasure. However, within that short time, they disappear! Could the manager, Clarissa Marlow be behind these disappearances or is there a dark sinister plan behind all of this? It seems you may have gotten a little too close to the truth when your brakes are tampered with, sending you crashing into the bay. Tread carefully in this case. Someone is trying to thwart your attempt to get the truth. You will need your survival skills handy when uncovering the truth behind this paranormal case. This is another well-designed game for the series with a cleverly written gaming script. It should appeal to those who love ghost stories, frightening tales of mad scientists and the occult, and those who read the weekly grocery store tabloids. I purchased the game immediately. It is far more entertaining than reading the latest “hit pieces” on the Hollywood stars while standing in the grocery store check-out line. There are an equal amount of HOP scenes and puzzles. There are many extras in this game. You collect twenty-five (25) items – five (5) each of five (5) different themed items. You also collect Beyond Objects (morphing objects) as well. Again, you have a chance to advance through eight (8) ranks of journalistic excellence throughout the game. The graphics are cartoon-like and fit the theme of this paranormal thriller. HOP SCENES: There are 24 in the game. You can play a jigsaw puzzle in lieu of the HOP scenes. They are standard fare and most are lists of items. However, there are a couple of unique ones. In one scene, you locate items in a crime scene, and upon clicking on them, they return to their original position. In a storybook scene, you locate items within the scenes and then place them items within blanks in the storybook which changes them to words. PUZZLES: There are 30 in the game. The puzzles are all easy except one which I found slightly more difficult. There are quite a few of what I call manual dexterity puzzles requiring you to drive a boat while avoiding obstacles in your path, moving a large green circle to avoid it being attacked by red circles, and moving dials to restore a picture. Other puzzles include a “spot the differences” puzzle, an assembly puzzle and a maze puzzle. The difficult puzzle involves connecting numbered buttons in a continuous line. Each button contains either a number one or two to indicate how many spaces the line will be moved. LEVELS: Casual, Normal, Hard, Custom Hint: 10 to 35 seconds Skips: 10 to 50 seconds EXTRAS: Strategy Guide: 45 Pages Map is provided as you play the game 11 Achievements Collect 25 items (5 each) for Greed, Spiritualist, Freelancer, Magic, Lust for Power 33 Morphing objects 8 Journalist ranks 24 HOP scenes and 30 Puzzles 9 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art, 3 Screensavers, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: You can play a jigsaw puzzle in lieu of the HOP scenes. A. Silhouette. Locate items in a crime scene, click on them and they return to their original locations. B. List of items. C. List of items. D. Multiple step. Locate 5 of the same item opening a list of items to locate. E. Storybook. Replacement. In a book, fill in the blanks with the correct items. F. List of items. PUZZLES: (1) Easy 2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult A. Spot the differences. Locate differences between two pictures. Rating: 1 B. Logic Puzzle. Calculate the sequence of numbers to open a lock based on a given code. Rating: 2 C. Manual dexterity puzzle. Drive a boat to avoid obstacles in your path. Rating: 2 D. Manual dexterity puzzle. Move a VERY LARGE green circle avoiding red dots. 2X Rating: 1 E. Manual dexterity puzzle. Move dials on a control unit to move two segments to restore a picture. Rating: 1 F. Assembly puzzle. Combine symbols on fingers to match up with those appearing on the hands. Rating: 2 G. Connection puzzle. Connect all numbered buttons on a grid in a continuous line. The number indicates (1 or 2) how many buttons will be connected. Rating: 3 H. Maze puzzle. Create route for a soul vessel to leave the maze being certain to pick up every soul along the paths. Rating: 2
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game! Another great game and everything I expect from this series!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A HOG-ers Delight! I really enjoy this series and this latest is no exception. The graphics are excellent and lots of HOS that are fun with odd things to find. Unlike some of these darker games Elefun gives you a break with the color and occasionally has some bright scenes, which is pleasant. This is a perfect game for a Friday night when you just want to have fun and collect all the goodies. A sure fire favorite for all of us who love Hidden Object games for the, wait for it...hidden objects!
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good variety Based on demo play... Good variety of puzzles, good visuals.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yet Another Soul Collector – Bonus Chapter and Extras Who would have thought that our roving reporter Emma Roberts is as untalented at car driving as Alexandra from Keeper of Antiques? Challenged or chased by another car, she manages to miss the bend and dives her vehicle headlong, no, hoodlong straight into the lake. Elefun should maybe grant their leading women some driving lessons, now and then ;) The story is twisted and intricate, a bit hard to follow - although everybody conveniently seems to keep a diary, or at least to scatter here and there some helpful notes. Young people disappear during a reality quest on Drammond Island. I found this promising: a spooky game contest in an abandoned mansion becomes real horror and life danger. Has Clarissa Marlow, who is the manager of this hazardous game, to do with it? However, instead of looking for the missing people, we set out to chase the master mind behind the kidnappings. It turns out Clarissa is a victim herself, and somebody is collecting souls. Again! Frankly, I'm a bit fed up with soul collecting and rescueing people, oddly still alive, from soul vessels ... but ok, Dr. Diamond collects souls for his ritual. Um, yes, yet a another ritual. Seems that nowadays every game must include a ritual, sigh. Somehow, the story gets stranger and stranger. We eventually meet the “powerful sorcerer” Simon. Simon says? They lost me here. Also, because this Simon figure remains vague and indescript. He must have escaped his tree prison, since he appears as a hooded, faceless figure, emitting smoke and black fogs. I wish, Elefun would curb the supernatural mumbo-jumbo and give us a bit more human badness instead of spectral nonsense. Why invent supernatural entities, when their most devillish plot is no match for the atrocities which unscrupulous humans are capable to commit? Maybe Fear for Sale could simply tell a peculiar, savage crime story. These missing people could for example have been abducted for medical experiments, Dr. Diamond could be an obsessed scientist, wanting to test a new surgery methode. No rituals are needed :) Aside from the supernaturally overcharged story, it's a solid game in familiar Elefun quality. We know what we get and feel right at home: splendid visual art with lovingly added details to interact, enthralling and surprising music, a good game-pace, collectibles and morphing objects in every scene. Just the HOPs are, compared to those multi-layered super HOPs they have in other games, a bit average; we often get only slightly interactive, plain lists. Nevertheless, it's not a simple clicking-through. A few items are irritatingly put invisibly into black corners. HOPs might also contain background information about the puzzling story. Puzzles are amusing to play, but as usual on the easy side. Although it seems as if Elefun, after countless complaints I assume, tries hard to make their puzzles harder. I encountered three or four which I found really tricky, In my impatience, I even skipped one … and noticed that the skipping function briefly shows the solution, step by step. Nice feature. There is a mini game, where we shoot simultanously five of the apeish monster critters with a water cannon, and it is indeed funny and challenging. In any case a huge improvement to the last Keeper of Antiques, where we shoot one single monster and defeat it in ten seconds. Elefun is headed in the right direction - but the majority of mini games are still too simplistic to win acclaim of the majority, I guess. When I read reviews, I'm always interested in the bonus content; thus I will give you some details. It might be helpful to decide whether to buy the CE or the SE edition. EXTRAS: - 9 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art (black and white sketches), 3 Screensavers - 22 lovely sound tracks: a big variety, from wistful classics to eerie ambient, a few idm-like surprises, some pretty catchy, e.g. Bit Workshop, Misty Road, Step by Step. Elefun has still the most inventive composer, and the music regularly allures me to buy the CE. - 11 achievements: only four real ones (not using hints, finding all morphing objects, etc.) - but SEVEN which we can impossibly miss for simply playing the game. Useless. These ranks urgently need an overhaul. Please, Elefun, stop pulling our legs with pseudo rewards. - 25 collectibles: five varieties with five items each, a bit a random collection, referring to the main figures. Lust for Power (Dr. Richard Diamond), Spiritualist (Linda Swan), Greed and Fear (Clarissa Marlow), Freelancer (Tim Swan), A Kind of Magic (Simon) - 33 beyond objects, one per scene: some are small or dark and not always easy to spot. This game contains 30 puzzles and 24 HOPs, Sadly, still none of them are to play again, and I complain every time. Why is it so difficult to include HOPs in a CE? Look what Eipix and other devs offer: all HOPs can be played, plus we can win medals for swiftness and no misclicks. Isn't it meanwhile a standard feature to include HOPs and puzzles? Elefun is the last developer who lacks it. Hence their CE editions remain a bit a meagre bargain. The BONUS CHAPTER is a sequel and plays in 9 scenes, 6 new, 3 old, refurbished. It contains 7 HOPs, 7 puzzles, and the playtime was around 70 minutes for me. As often in bonus chapters, there is unfinished business left at the crime scene ... or should I say supernatural scene? Likewise on Drammond Island. Those ape monster creatures suddenly appear again and attack now the construction workers who are building the planned theme park. Don't read further if you want to avoid --------------- story SPOILERS ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Emma is abducted by a possessed foreman. With her supernaturally trained eyes, she of course immediately detects the cursed medallion at the foreman's neck and breaks the spell. “Let's deal with these creatures!”, she gleefully shouts and sets off to the island. However, those mini monsters are actually intelligent beings: enchanted people who are enslaved since 200 years by faceless Simon. It's time for a revolution. With Emma's help, the creatures finally get their revenge. ------------------------------------------END SPOILER. The end seemed a bit abrupt to me, that is, this Simon is rather easily overturned. That was it? If it was that simple, why did the creatures wait 200 years? I also didn't quite figure out yet how a faceless figure can look into a mirror and be aghast at his own reflection …
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings The mini HOG scenes, not a fan. The music, also not a big fan. I don't know. The game unfolds in a really static way, especially as far as the mansion-summer boarding house is concerned. It seemed that I was stuck in time and couldn't get past that 2nd, 3rd sceene and move on already. And after that, the pace could really pick-up, which... it didn't. So, some mixed feelings here. And some bad puzzles. And also, why can't you guys (the design team) make games for those who doesn't have a wide screen?! I couldn't really finish nearly all the mini HOGs, since some objects were "hidden" in the corners and in my case -"square" screen here- outside the visible screen! Major disappointment. Approaching the end and while in the bonus round, the game play got smoother and more enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LIKED IT! gameplay good ... storyline interesting ... mini games pretty good ... artwork good quality, loved the creatures ... not like fireworks, but i enjoyed it ... no technical difficulties yeah! ...
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT Emma Roberts had barely finished reading an article about the disappearance of a young woman named Linda Swan, when Linda herself appeared as a vision. Emma is no stranger to these deja vu moments, an award winning journalist for the Fear For Sale Magazine, and a Paranormal Investigator (she's had her fair share of visions, in fact, she's been having visions for about 10 games now lol) It doesn't take Emma long to connect the dots, and these dots seem to end on Drammond Island, where a new tourist attraction has opened up in the old abandoned house. A house where lot's of things go bump in the night! I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that this is the best storyline Fear For Sale has ever written! The downside is that the game is far too simplistic with little to no challenge whatsoever. If you are a beginner, this is a 5 star game you simply must try, seasoned players won't be as thrilled, unless you want a relaxing game that doesn't require a whole lot of effort. Fear For Sale has a unique feature that awards the player with points for just about everything you do in the game. As you collect points, you level up from a mere Cub Reporter, to a pulitzer prize winning journalist This Collector's Edition has the usual Fear For Sale Collections, 5 collectibles in 5 categories (Lust for Power/Freelancer/Spiritualist/Greed and Fear/A Kind of Magic) as well as 33 Morphing Objects. The problem with these features is that the cursor changes to a hand and shouts "ooh, ooh, here I am" The Hidden Object Scenes are typical FFS variations, mostly Listed Item finds, but there are also Silhouetted Shape finds and HOP's that are more of a mini game than a Hidden Object Scene. There is an alternate Jigsaw Puzzle to play if you're not into HO's. The Mini Games are all no brainers, but sometimes that's okay if they are fun. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Select the misplaced items on the screen using the photo as a reference. 2) Use the photo clue to open the color coded lock. 3) Use directional arrows to steer the boat, avoiding obstacles that are shown on the navigator. 4) Move the green marker to avoid the red dots until the progress bar is full. 5) Select and drag buttons to overlap images to become one clear image. 6) Select the 2 or 3 symbols on the fingers that when combined will replicate the symbols shown on the hands. 7) Select adjacent buttons to connect them all in a continuous line that doesn't cross itself. The numbers on the buttons indicate how many connections it can accept. This Collector's Edition has 9 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art pictures, 3 Music Soundtracks, 11 Achievements, 24 Hidden Object Scenes, 30 Mini Game Puzzles, 25 Collectibles, 33 Morphing Objects, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Gameplay & Puzzles Based on Main & Bonus games My experience with EleFun is that they put out good quality games that aren't overly challenging. I'm not saying this is the best game evah, but I'm puzzled why so many gave it the thumbs down. Hey, you want major challenge, go play Scratches. The scenes are plentiful, attractive, and colorful. Audio, voice-overs, music, and lip-synch are good. Storyline is better than most. Adventure is smooth and reasonably challenging at times. Puzzles range from easy to challenging, and a lot are new. HOs were varied enough to keep interest, and traditional HO fans will be pleased. Bling includes collectible sets of objects, and every scene has a morph. There are several achievements, and a jigsaw puzzle is an alternative to HOs. Main game is about 4+ hours in hard mode, and Bonus game is 1+ hrs. The latter carries the main game further, using both previous and new scenes. Is it worth a CE? Yeah, probably. Both games are interesting and well done overall, plus the bling adds interest and value. I almost didn't buy this game due to negative reviews, but the demo convinced me it was a good game. You may want to do the same.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game.!!! Love the hidden objects. I can take them every game. Sometime the morphing objects are fun and would like more. and love when the puzzle is very sparking under the objects. Always get fear for sale,
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting story line... Hi all! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others who do a much better job than I. Looks like this is #10 in this series. I do have the others and like this series, except for a couple of things they just can't seem to fix. One that really bothers me the most is the color. If it weren't for the blue undertones in every scene, I think the colors would be very nice. Very tiring on the eyes. That said, the graphics are very nice, clear and realistic, even in close up scenes. There isn't a whole lot of animation, but what there is, isn't bad. Music is the standard as in all of the games in this series...soothing until something is about to happen. The voice of our heroine is somewhat boring, no emotion, just reading a script. She doesn't do a lot of talking and some things she says are sort of silly. Very few sound FX, which would have been nice in this one. Game play was quite good and the scenes fit my large screen nicely. HOPs were just interactive lists. Items were easy to find and the scenes were fairly clear. If you got bored with them, you could switch to a jigsaw puzzle. I am a major jigsaw person, so this is my favorite. Puzzles weren't difficult at all, but a couple did take me a minute to figure out, and I did run across one I hadn't seen before. Hint system is very helpful, but I did not run across a transport feature in this either. However, the jump map is nicely done. It identifies the area with name and picture, as well as letting you know if you missed a collectible. Strategy guide is the same as all other games. I use it mostly to see where I missed a collectible, if I can't find it on my own. I love the collectibles in this series. They are quite varied and I don't seem to get bored with just morphing items or the like. Yes, we do have to find 33 morphing objects, which aren't as easy as you think. They morph fairly quickly. We also need to find 6 of each item related to lust for power; spiritualist; greed and fear; freelancer and magic. These can be anything and are easy to miss or ignore, so be on the lookout, as some are a bit small. This game is not really challenging, except to find all the collectibles, but the story flowed easily and was somewhat interesting. Even though the color drives me nuts, I have the need to play it out and see where it goes. Yes, I am going to add this to my collection. I think all levels of players will find something fun and/or interesting about this game. No, it does not get 5 stars from me because of the color, but because of the collectibles and story, it does get a 4. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from oh !! emma, emma so much stress not a bad game I actually found all the morphing and collectibles
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Could have been better This is one I have mixed feelings on. Although it is quite amateurish I did find it fun to play. Challenging to play? No just fun. Graphics, although average, were fairly bright and added an air of joy to the game. I hate dark games. The characters are a little unbelievable though. In the first scene our heroin is at home, there is a shaking and a vision appears before her asking for help. Her thoughts are on the line of this would be a good story for my paper. Not "What or who was that?" but I need to write a story. The HO's and puzzles/mini games are on the easy side and could have added a little more with a bit more thought. Overall, this wasn't a bad game but not one I would pay collectors edition price for. SE price, maybe but they don't have one I would recommend this but only after you play the demo and decide for yourself. Have fun.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun but not the best in the series I will start by saying that Fear for Sale is my favorite series. This is an enjoyable game but not at the same level as the best in the series (Nightmare Cinema, Phantom Tide). The graphics and sound are excellent as always and the story is good. However the level of challenge is no where near where it has been in the past making it less fun. I did like the game but I would like to see them go back to the formula of the past, morphing objects in the HOA's as well as the scenes and have more difficult puzzles. I recommend the game.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the Best in the series It wasn't the best in this series by far..I love the series overall but this one -and I played the CE - lagged in many places..kept feeling like I was stuck in some scenes plot wise and challenge wise and couldn't get free! It's entertaining but far from great.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautifully Done, But... I'll start with what I liked about the game. The visuals were gorgeous, especially the opening graphics. I enjoyed the music that played in the hidden object puzzles, and the ghost & camera effects throughout the game. I liked the option to do a jigsaw puzzle instead of the HOPs, which was cool when the HOPs were too hard, and that the puzzle pieces were unique every time, instead of the standard pieces. The other minigames were sometimes pretty difficult, but unique Unfortunately there were a few aspects of the games I didn't like. For one thing, in my opinion, I didn't feel immersed in the story. It all felt too rushed, since there wasn't much background set up about any of the characters. I realize that perhaps if I played other games in the series I might care more about the protagonist (if she is a staple of the series), but having not played any other games, I don't. The story seems like your run-of-the-mill disappearance case up until the end unfortunately. But that's just my two cents, other reviewers liked the story. Overall it's a beautiful game with lovely music and an okay story.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Creature Feature This game is fairly easy game with some spook factor to it. Not my favorite but worthy enough to go on my to buy list.. It was a little slow at times. Characters were very good. Good HO's and you and switch to puzzle if You want. Morphing objects, also some specters to click on, Okay jump map, and fair puzzles. Might be to creepy for little kids but game was like ohh and awe and then slip in a hoe hum. Little disappointed because of the good things in it along side the parts that I found boring.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So So A good game, BUT you cannot replay HOPs and little to no level of achievement. Thus, no inspiration to replay.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game for Beginners...3.5 Stars Review based on demo, only: This is a great game for those starting out in the hidden object world. I am giving it 3.5 stars because, IMHO, it will appeal to a lot of players...although I will not be purchasing it for myself. One of my favorite games of all time was the 1st in this series....McElroy Manor. As the series has progressed, the games have changed drastically, and are not nearly as appealing to me. The colors in this game are mostly blues and greens...very subdued. The morphing objects were very easy for me to spot, and the puzzles were super easy....almost insulting! I especially disliked the one where I was "driving" the boat...what year was that designed in...1980?? It felt like an early edition of an old Asteroids game...or Pong! As always, try it for yourself. If you have played a lot of HOPA games, I think you will find this game tedious and repetitive. I know I did!
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game is just not for me! I honestly hate to leave a low score especially for ELEFUN who happens to be one of my favorites. The game was just dull, lame, boring! <p> I usually like games a bit easy breezy for fun and relaxation but this game was a bit to lead you by the nose easy. Which made it boring. <P> The graphics were very nice, the story was ok, the usual haunted this or that, nothing special and they didn't turn it into anything special. I think the biggest reason I found it boring is I've been playing a lot of older games like the Surface series and they are a lot tougher, more intriguing to play so by contrast this just seemed dull. Give it a try you may disagree with me. I won't be purchasing the game!
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fear For Sale:Hidden in the Darkness Have done all the "Fear for Sale" games, this would not even be challenging for a First Grader . A real damage to the brand. I wasted my money even more by purchasing the CE edition. An overly simple game, no challenge. I would NOT recommend buying this game, too bad
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What fear and no sale 5 star view, NOT! This is another been there, done that, seen this, seen that, boring, no suspense, yawn, and unfulfilling game that only should be bought for 70% off; make that 80% off. Played about 20 minutes and (yawn) quit. All these games are about finding ghosts or missing children or murders or whatever. I've played enough; time for a nap.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Storyline for adults. Gameplay for five-year-olds. Uninstall and empty trash. I lasted 22 minutes. There was a distinct lack of fear for sale, and gameplay seems to have been left out of the equation. Most of what I encountered amounted to clicking to advance the thinly-developed storyline. This isn’t remotely a five-star game. I’d rate it zero stars if I could. It’s neither challenging nor fun to merely click images on the screen, causing them to jump to where they belong, a task I was required to do THREE TIMES in the first 10 minutes of the game, all in same game scene. • Clean up the room by clicking on the misplaced items, clearly recognizable because the outlines of where they belong are glowing neon lime green. • Restore the text in Linda’s diary by clicking on the images within the text to return them to the picture. • Using a photo as a basis for comparison, click on the misplaced items on the computer screen to return them to where they belong, i.e., spot the differences. It’s neither challenging nor fun to “restore” a journal by placing a photo from my inventory onto one page, then completing a five-piece jigsaw on the next page. I’m not a five-year-old; I’m an adult. It’s neither challenging nor fun to “decipher” the three-digit combination for a lock by matching up shapes and colors. What is this? Kindergarten? It’s neither challenging nor fun to use arrow keys to steer an extremely slow boat around a few rocks in the water. Not after you’ve steered Sonic the Hedgehog around objects at 100mph, or successfully navigated down Rainbow Road in Mario Kart Wii. Lastly, the one HO scene in my 22 minutes was a basic interactive list…and none of the objects on the list were hidden. I finished it inside of 30 seconds, so no challenge or fun there either. I’ve said before that the HOPA genre isn’t what it used to be, but this is the absolute nadir. It would be nice if at least ONE developer would market games for dedicated gamers who like deviously difficult puzzles, objects that are actually hidden, and adventure mode that challenges. This isn’t it. This is an interactive story with minimal gameplay that’s childishly easy and mind-numbingly boring. Honestly, I’m no longer willing to up my rating for quality production, because who cares? When the storyline fails to engage and the gameplay is tedious and simplistic, does it really matter if the graphics and animation are cutting edge? No, because those things don’t make it a better game.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Epidemic Killing Series Has Spread to Elefun! Another installment of Fear For Sale has arrived. Emma Roberts is led by the spirit of a missing girl, Linda Swan, to investigate the disappearances of young people from nearby Drammond Island. The missing people, including Linda's brother, Tim, had gone to the island for a reality game. Emma will encounter the usual adventures as she investigates. Good stuff: All the expected game elements are here - HOPs with a puzzle alternative, mini-games, a story, VO's, and CE bling. Bad stuff: HOPs are very simple and basic in the demo. The mini-game/puzzles had some instructions, not always helpful. Luckily they were pretty basic. The story is so scant as to be MIA. The VOs were without inflection, except for some bad accents by one character. There is no diary and the task list is embarrassingly simplistic. All of this added up to a "fear-less" Fear for Sale game. Please try the demo for yourself. There is no better way to find out if you will enjoy the game.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fear for Sale? More like Mediocrity & Boredom for Sale. This is yet another of these series that should've been put to bed several installments ago. Absolutely nothing new here; just another investigative person trying to solve a missing person's case with the help of a ghost. I've demoed most of the other 7 or 8 games in this series and never purchased one because of the same old drivel and blandness as this installment provides. I played on the Custom level with everything turned off, never needed any help, and I still finished the 90-minute demo with 70 minutes to spare. That speaks to the incredible simplicity of this game. The puzzles, if you can call them that, are so remedial to the point of being insulting. Develop a picture in 4-easy steps. Avoid 5 obstacles at sea while driving a boat, while using a sonar and big orange buttons to move the boat from left to right. Move a green ball around to avoid red ones in two different puzzles. You get the idea... There was absolutely zero challenge to any of these. No thought, logic, or creativity. The logic of the story-line is quite dismal, as well. I needed a video recording of someone getting scared and automatically assume he's been kidnapped and THEN make the brilliant comment of "I have to find out who's kidnapping these people!" Um, isn't that what set you on your case in the first place, Emma? Yeesh. I visited and entered locations with the ease and superiority of a cat burglar. I was able to lift fingerprints with glue and a glove. I fed a cockatoo sponge cake! The animation is as it always has been in the Fear for Sale games; over-saturated, choppy, and looks like it was made on a dime. There is also so much hand-holding, it's unreal. Just move your cursor around and it will change to a pointer when you hit an active spot. Again, zero use of brain power needed. The voice acting is sub-par with so little emoting or believable performances that it is almost painful to listen to. Emma has the same bland, monotone voice as previous installments. The security guard was as concerned about someone snooping around his building as a sleeping dog, and Nicholas Jensen sounded German, Nordic, Spanish, and French, all at the same time. Just embarrassing... If you want a game that gives you absolutely no reason to think, be entertained, be spooked, or be challenged then this is the game for you. Otherwise, I would recommend you save your money on something "for Sale" that is much, MUCH more valuable.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junky, stupid game I couldn't even stand this dumb game long enough to play the whole demo.I really got fed up when I was clicking on a soccer ball and nothing was happening. It was supposed to be a hidden object, but was right there front and center Same with the starfish hidden inside the deep diving helmet.After finding something to unscrew the screws in the helmet, the starfish just sits there and no amount of clicking will release it. Why can't Big Fish come out with high quality games any more?
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Try Again I'll preface my review by saying that I have never once finished a game by Elefun (even those that I purchased - which has been quite a while). Based on less than 15 mins of the demo, I uninstalled it. It just felt boring. Games from this developer always feel a bit cheesy to me. I think it's the blah voiceovers and sound effects and drab color schemes. Everyone has different tastes, so give it a demo before deciding.
Date published: 2017-04-20
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_26469, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear For Sale: Hidden in the Darkness Collector's Edition

Explore the dangerous landscape of Drummond Island as you hunt for a kidnapper!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.