Reflections of Life: Hearts Taken Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Reflections of Life: Hearts Taken Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(440.32 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Grandma Games presents the next chapter in their popular series Reflections of Life.

After his postcards stopped coming, you discovered that your husband disappeared during his expedition to Siberia. He was searching for a mythical cave that hides a legendary force. You must follow in his footsteps and catch up to him, before he meets a tragic fate in the Russian wilderness! Travel through scenic locations and uncover ancient legends in this mysterious hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Spirits alive! History and myth come alive in the bonus game!
  • Aim for the fastest times in the HOPs and mini-games.
  • Find collectible owls hidden throughout the game!
  • Enjoy the exclusive soundtrack, achievements, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 923 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Reflections of Life: Hearts Taken Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(440.32 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Reflections of Life: Hearts Taken Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Easy, relaxing game I understand the negative reviews, this is one of those games you either love or hate. It is not ground breaking, starts with a coach accident and has you fighting an evil spirit who was wronged in life and now wants revenge. However it is a good game that make you think but not too hard! It is not difficult, the story is fine, visuals are excellent the owls are the most challenging part. Only complaint is that the game tells you there are 3 owls at one point, but the guide only shows 2 so I missed a quite difficult to see one after much scrutinizing of the scene thinking maybe the guide was right. I could however go back and get it later and play an additional game. Played full game and bonus, I see myself playing again. Overall a nice game. Good job everyone!
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some more reflection should be done by reviewers (opinion) I purchased this game and am enjoying it. Don't know why its rating is so low. The game has different types of interactive puzzles, and they are varied. Graphics are good; lip movements are in sync, pretty much. Am looking forward to continue playing. Occasionally, you'll get a postcard object to place where it belongs in the scene; found this to be fun.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3½?...engaging story + relaxing gameplay + beautiful production = great rainy day game Review based on: full demo Overall rating: ???½ What my rating means: It’s a good rainy day game; easy gameplay, but good story. Reflections of Life is another series that has had its ups and downs. Equilibrium is the best episode, since it offered quite a bit of original gameplay and a unique storyline. Dark Architect is a close second. The rest...not so much. As for Hearts Taken, I must have played a different demo from other reviewers, because mine had six HO scenes and ten puzzles, the graphics were clear and realistic, gameplay was intuitive, and the storyline was compelling. Yes, it's a variation on the overused "person gone missing" theme, but presented in the context of an unfamiliar myth and culture. That adds quite a bit to the interest in terms of both the story itself and the graphics. Each scene included 1-3 collectible owls, with one being a morphing object. A slide-in banner let you know the total for the scene as well as how many you'd found. If you returned to a scene after an event changed it, there were additional owls to find there...a nice touch. The HO scenes were mostly interactive lists, but less insulting than other devs' scenes since most didn’t include gigantic objects in plain view. The full-sized scenes actually took a few minutes to complete, which isn't as good as the HO scenes of yesteryear, but it's a huge improvement over the devs who habitually get five stars. The ten puzzles during the demo came in four flavors: jigsaws, matching, pattern recognition, and logic. I’d like to see fewer jigsaw and matching puzzles—none, actually—because these are games for adults. But, again, it was an improvement over the usual Simon Says, Towers of Hanoi, and other puzzles that are reused ad nauseum. Jigsaw Puzzles: • From the pieces, assemble the six torn cards. • Choose the correct symbol fragments to complete the central inscription. • Place the given rope fragments correctly to make a long rope. Matching Puzzles: • Match the item cards to the costumed dolls. • Walk safely through the magical swamp by matching pairs of unsafe plants. Pattern Recognition Puzzles: • Examine each of the six cards for symbols, then press the corresponding stones in order. • Match the pattern of beads to the given image by swapping columns of beads. Logic Puzzles: • Swap the accessories to match them to the figurines. Some accessories are hidden and can only be revealed once a figurine’s exterior has been completed. • Move the token along the correct path by following the visual clues. • Place the directional arrows in the correct places by deciphering the logic puzzle. The production was high quality, characterized by beautiful scenery with lots of color, detail, and texture, along with lifelike characters. The music offered a lot of variety. “Echoes in the Woods” is a percussive, ambient soundscape, while “Flowers in Bloom” has ethereal wordless singing, strings, and recorder. “Spring” sounds like a traditional folk dance, and “Twisting Path” is a majestic, full orchestra plus sound effects. Voiceovers were mostly professional with the exception of exclamations, which were badly acted. Extras included the bonus chapter plus a hidden chapter, the aforementioned collectible owls, performance achievements, strategy guide, replayable HO scenes and puzzles, wallpapers, soundtracks, movies, and concept art. I'm purchasing this even though I've rated it below four stars, because the storyline is intriguing, the production is gorgeous, and, while the gameplay was easy, it wasn't annoying. That adds up to a great rainy day game, and it chances to be raining in New England.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bear Spirit A whole village can not move to help life off wood from a women within earshot let alone another well used part of their people. Game not well thought out. It did have some things that were likable. Critter Action, jump map, Cute collection of Owls, Good inventory list and how they were used. I did not like that the game was slow, the game flow was bad. It took some real figuring to decide where and what to do to gain more items at times to continue the story. Characters were so so and HO's were to easy. Goes near the bottom of my to buy list.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fog monsters? Hi all! Well, it looks like this is #5 in this series. I only have 3 of them, don't remember why. As usual, I mostly review on the game play and leave the story to others. This was a very short demo, even though it said 90 minutes, I still had 45 minutes left. That said, it is not always easy to make a fair review when the demo is short, but here goes. The colors in this game were very nice and bright, but not over-powering. Graphics for the most part were well done and clear, and moved in and out of scenes smoothly. We did have a couple of areas that were a bit blurry, but cleared up. I did catch something odd. In the beginning, when Bogdan turned sideways, he was about as thick as a piece of paper. It was very quick, but I know I saw it. Might have to replay to see it again. Voices are okay, but our lost explorer, Dave, sounds a bit whimpy. Maybe I've just watched too many Indian Jones movies. I did love the sound FX, very realistic and constant, so no dead silence, even though there wasn't much in the way of character interaction. Game play was quite good. HOPs are just plain, unless they change up as you progress in the game. All we had during the demo was straight lists. Did not see that we could switch to something else when we got bored. Puzzles were very simple, and a simple story board "find this part and place it here" type of thing. We do a lot of back-tracking and I was beginning to get real tired of it when the transport finally kicked in. The map is set up nicely, but would have been better if it indicated whether or not you found all the collectibles. Strategy guide is the usual. The need to find a plant or animal spirit to help out was a bit much. They are too far and few between to keep you interested. Collectibles are very disappointing. We need to find 80 owls. These aren't all that easy to spot, but so far, they have all been large enough to see. They are different sizes and shapes and most scenes have more than one to find. Definitely could have used a bit more, or at least made them morphing. I thought I saw one morph, but I clicked on it to quickly to know for sure. This one started out very well, but then quickly fizzled out. The game moved too slowly, but then seemed to start to pick up again when it ended. Don't know if I want to spend the money to find out if it does or not. Same old story, just don't feel this one is CE worthy. The game is just too simple for me, but I think it would be a very nice game for beginners, or someone who just wants a lazy day no brainer. I have a number of those myself. I will recommend this for beginners, but probably not for seasoned gamers. I gave it a 3 because I liked the color and sfx, not for the story or challenge. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost a 4-Star Game, But Missed a Couple of Marks! This really could have been a great game, but it fell flat, for me! The owl collectibles are adorable, and an interesting approach. There is at least one owl in every scene, and most have 2 (or more?)....one being a morphing object. Well hidden, for the most part. The graphics are a bit blurry, IMHO. And, there is too much going on "at a distance," which made it hard to tell what was going on, & where I needed to be doing a task.We are just way too far along, technologically, to be putting out games with such poor graphics! Lastly,I just found myself wanting the demo to end...not anything makes me want to keep playing. Simply stated, it was.....boring!
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BOGGED DOWN IN A “MONSTROUS” FOG IN SIBERIA OVERVIEW: Get ready for more black smoke and mirrors as you head off to Siberia circa 1912. Play Eve Glover in search of her husband lost in an expedition within a cave. Once you arrive at the village, you realize that others are missing as well. A fog has invaded the village and within the fog are monsters. Behind all the fog, monsters, and missing people is a misguided spirit out for revenge for her love who was murdered. After kicking up a rampage in the community, she was locked in a cave. Could she be behind the upheaval and missing people? Is she now kicking up a storm in the afterlife? Save the community, settle the tormented spirit, and get that man back into your life along with the other missing people! This game will be a pass for me. This is another smoke-filled game with monsters lurking within the billowy clouds of fog. The story behind the game has been portrayed in a least dozen or more games in the past. The graphics are blurry in places. You will be serenaded by howling wolves. Don’t have a “hissy” fit but there is at least one snake in this game as well. I feel the pace is rather slow. The demo had few puzzles or HOP scenes – just a great deal of traveling around the Siberian tundra. You collect owls which have no relation whatsoever to the game’s story. I usually like our Grandma’s games; however, this one I will pass on. It may get better as the game progresses; however, there is nothing in the demo which impels me to continue my journey on this Siberian trek. If you enjoy it – good for you! HOP SCENES: The scenes are nondescript. Principally they are lists of items. There is one ray of light in the dark smoke-infested game, which is a HOP scene which is rather novel and creative. Locate items on statues and replace them within the proper location. Then, press a button to place the pictures into position. You have the option to play a Match-3 game in lieu of the puzzle. PUZZLES: There are only four in the demo. Sorry, but I am not purchasing the game to see what the others are like. Three of them are matching and one is an assembly puzzle. They are extremely easy, boring and largely forgettable. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints: 10 to 90 seconds Skips: 10 to 180 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 15 Achievements (from what I could count) Collect 80 Owls Replay of HOP scenes and puzzles 16 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art, Music, Movies HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. Silhouette. Replace items back into scenes from several postcards. B. List of items. C. List of items. Not interactive D. List of items. E. Search and replace. Locate items on statues and replace them into the proper location. Afterward, press a button on each to replace pictures. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Easy (2) Moderately difficult (3) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Match up symbols on Tarot cards with those on a stone slab. Rating: 1 B. Matching puzzle. Match 5 dolls with a corresponding card which is some way related to them. Rating: 1 C. Matching. Recreate a given image on a set of beads. Rating: 1 D. Assembly puzzle. Recreate an image choosing symbols to create the central image. Rating: 2
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Visuals Weak Storyline Good visuals (sometimes even stunning) and some pretty clever puzzles do not save from the redundant storyline and game play. While I appreciate the attempt at denser folklore, the characters accents are all over the place, and the story drags on and on, until the game ends with mind-numbing puzzle play. I think less would've been more here. The setup of the story hinging on the main character saving her husband also falls really flat.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware of the fog monster You get postcards which you can assimilate on the screen, as you approach new territories. Every scene holds a "hidden" owl which you should collect. You'll find them in the most... extraordinary spots! I think 2 per screen... I really like the (really few) games, that let you compensate for the missing collect item by going back. This is not one of them! Overall, a descent, ok game which could (and we are anticipating it) and should elevate itself.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ON THE BRIGHT SIDE, THE COLLECTIBLE OWLS ARE AWESOME! In January of 1912, your husband arrived in Siberia brimming with excitement at the possibility of finding a legendary tomb. This is no ordinary tomb, this is the crypt that holds the remains of a woman scorned. A vengeful woman who went on a murderous spree, killing anyone and everyone responsible for her broken heart. Four months later, Dave's expedition team located the infamous tomb, but no one has been heard from since. He and his team are presumed to be dead, but somehow, he's reaching out to his beloved wife, with cries for help! Has Dave unleashed 200 years of fury from a vengeful spirit (sounds more like a Spirits of Revenge plot doesn't it?) I must admit, I had a hard time getting through this demo, I was utterly bored with the storyline and the mundane tasks at hand. The only features that got me through it, was because some of the mini games were entertaining, and I really liked the Hidden Collectible Owls. Each scene has at least one Owl, but most locations have two. (there is a pull out tab that tells you how many are in that current scene) One of the Owls are simply well blended into the scenery, but the second Owl is a fairly slow moving Morph, which was super entertaining, I wish they both morphed! There are 80 Owls total, hidden within 36 different locations, and once you have found all of them, a Hidden Bonus Chapter will be unlocked, therefore you get 2 bonus chapters with this Collector's Edition. The Hidden Objects are basic and lack imagination. There are Silhouetted Shape finds, Interactive List finds and some that require finding and Replacing Misplaced items. There are also Zoom Zone HOP's that have a handful of items to find as well. Remember the good ole days when objects were actually hidden because they were cleverly blended into the scenes? Well, forget them, because these are just junk piles with objects strewn about a room, and plain ole boring. The Mini Games weren't all that bad, and are this games only saving grace in my opinion. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Place torn card fragments correctly. 2) Restore the symbols on the paper in the correct order by selecting Roman Numeral cards in order, than clicking on the symbols that are displayed on the cards as each new card tells a story. 3) Select and place the cards on their corresponding dolls. 4) Match the bottom beads to the top image by swapping columns of beads. 5) Complete the central inscription by placing moving symbols onto the central symbols. 6) Place the correct items onto the correct figurines, using directional arrows and interacting with each figurine's items to expose other items. Reflections of Life games available: Call of the Ancestors (8-13-16) Dark Architech (1-14-16) Equilibrium (4-18-15) Hearts Taken (5-13-17) Tree of Dreams (6-21-14) This Collector's Edition has 8 Music Soundtracks, replayable Videos, replayable Hidden Object Scenes and Mini Games, 11 Concept Art pictures, 16 Wallpapers, 15 Achievements to earn, 80 Collectible Owls some of which Morph, a built in Strategy Guide, a Bonus Chapter and a Hidden Bonus Chapter (Gemini Hearts) once all Owls have been collected.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More Fog, More Monsters, More Vengeful Spirits, More Disappointment Long ago, the Merchantess, founder of the town,was in love with a boy. Boy had wandering heart. Girl fell for boy. Merchantess has boy killed. Girl kills all involved in the death. Your husband, Dave, apparently awakened the still vengeful girl, in his quest for the legend's source. Then Dave and his expedition vanished. You come looking for Dave, who's spirit has called out to you. You meet locals, including Bogdan looking for his missing wife. Soon you two are searching together. Good stuff: Usual game elements, done in the usual way, as well as the standard mini-games, a well-used story, artwork, and average CE bling, with the addition of an extra bonus chapter if you find all the hidden owls, some of which morph. Bad stuff: Been there, done this. The characterizations were odd - a couple of characters had accents, meant to be Russian, while most spoke English with no accent, including Bogdan, the local hunter with the missing spouse. Several times characters spoke in two different moods in the same sentence, sounding sharp or angry for a phrase and then switching to a milder tone abruptly. As is now standard, logic wandered from the picture, leaving us with a village elder, upset over a missing girl, whom we find just over the hill under a pile of logs. Since those worried about her didn't both to even look for her, it is lucky we did! I, a young woman, am sent to get the power of a bear from a totem to enable me to move the logs off of Anna. Bogdan, the burly huntsman, will stand right there and watch me do it! The oddest thing in the game is what is missing. Previous games revolved around the Guardians and their work guarding stuff. They've disappeared from this entry in the Reflections of Life series. Very confusing. Please try the Demo before you buy. You may enjoy a rehashed old story with fog and monsters.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stop the pop-ups! To start, this is another fairy tale type of story, loaded with odd fog monsters and evil people...I'm sure many players will love all that, but it leaves me yawning. Then there are pop-ups, stick-outs, and drop-downs for practically every move you make. Way overdone and very distracting when just trying to make an inch of progress! The characters are stilted, the scenery -- while charming in many ways -- was so tiny that looking for objects and the owls was a strain on the eyes. Also, this is sorely lacking in CE bling; basically all you get is the owls you search for in each scene. While you can go back in the Extras and look for the ones you might have missed, and replay puzzles and HOPs, that's it...no morphs, no extra things to search for. The good parts for me were owl hunting, the music, and the fact that the voices could be muted, but the other faults were too much for me to overcome...I couldn't even begin to get interested in the story. That happens many times for me with games of this type, but if the gameplay is crisp and progressive I can ignore the story and just enjoy the HOPs, puzzles, scenery, music, etc. Not so this time. I would only recommend this for young or new players, or those who just love storybook fairy tale themed games...it won't suit those who prefer more adventure, suspense, or sci-fi action, or a more realistic presentation.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not enough effort made The storyline was terrible ridiculous evil old women and others (??) cutscenes were rushed voices laughable characters movements stiff BUT collecting owls was fun puzzles also fun Sorry this is a succinct review but could not muster enthusiasm for much more sadly
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Intuitive Gameplay and Incomplete Editing Sorry, I can't recommend this game. Beautifully drawn and voiced as it was, there was nothing logical about this game's progression and I was underwhelmed with the magicical menace of the antagonist. Towards the end, her minions made an appearance that was more impressive, but was too little, too late to make a good impression. I felt the entire game was rather abruptly paced. The world building was not fully fleshed out, nor were the protagonists. The hidden objects puzzles were too straight forward and didn't add to the storyline in a logical manner. The next step to take was not intuitive most of the time so I resorted to the hint over and over to find out my next move. Most games, I don't use the hint at all. The heroine solving the mystery just jumped into the game with no real introduction and never had reactions to the strange happenings around her. I never felt like it held together as a complete story or game. I suppose it felt like a good first draft that needed more time to become a fully finished product. The promise wasn't fully delivered.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another poor game.!!! Did not like at all. Played the trial had to stop. Still waiting for a really good game one to really make me rush to buy. No one is giving us a really trilling game and keep us on the edge of our seats without us skulls and stuff just a really good mystery.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WATER, WATER EVERYWHERE AND NOT A DROP TO DRINK Hand drawn artwork is my favorite and brings a quaint beauty to the game. Unfortunately, have my fill of mysterious disappearances, rolling smoke, curses, evil spirits, silly obstacles, endless rescue attempts in which souls, breaths, minds, bodies, hearts are frozen, solidified, transferred, suspended and taken. Enjoy!
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This one was a dud Although this is not my usual type of genre I like, I do own all the other games in this series and have enjoyed them all. This one was a mess. I was so incredibly bored by the mundane tasks and the convoluted storyline, I didn't even play the bonus chapter. This game does not hold a candle to the others in this series. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from COULD THIS GAME POSSIBLY BE ANY WORSE? Wow, and in this case it is not a good wow but one that says I can’t believe how terrible this latest game in the Reflections of Life series really is. A series that I once loved has fallen to a low that I can’t believe. It is as if Granny has terminated its original game designers and started with new developers and, this is certainly not an improvement. I’m not even sure where to begin in describing this game but will only say that it is so terrible I struggled to make it through the demo. The storyline (or lack thereof) is told in bits and pieces with dialog that is so terrible I really don’t want to go further than the demo. The graphics style has totally changed from those in earlier Reflections games and they are not a good change. The graphics are so terrible and cartoonish that it seems like the game was farmed out to middle school students to develop as a school project. Add really bad dialog and horrible voiceovers to the mix and the game becomes painful. There was no creativity in the game except for the very last puzzle which was excellent. However, given the lousy graphics and artistic design of the game even that puzzle isn’t enough to entice me to buy the game. Since the game is a CE release there are collectibles to find but they are so well hidden and non-descript that I was only able to find one during the demo. I want finding collectibles to be fun and not so difficult to find that collecting them becomes tedious. My very short review of this game will end here. Others will provide much more information about the game but, honestly, this one will end up in my recycle bin. I want my old Reflections back. Hopefully, the devs will go back to the drawing board and look at what was so successful in earlier games in the series and bring back the good stuff. I definitely recommend that you try the demo before you buy - who knows you might see something I don't in the game and will really enjoy it.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Believe the Negative Reviews GrandMa games typically are well-done, but this is just plain BAD. There is very little good to say about it - cartoon graphics, bad VOs and a blah storyline. I highly suggest playing the demo before purchasing.
Date published: 2017-05-15
  • y_2019, m_11, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_26609, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Reflections of Life: Hearts Taken Collector's Edition

Search the Siberian forests for your missing husband.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.