Mystery Tales: The House of Others Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Tales: The House of Others Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(509.62 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games presents the next haunting adventure in their spooky Mystery Tales series!

Your brother is the host of Ghost Riders – a popular ghost hunting TV show, but one night you receive a strange package that forewarns his death! You’ll need your special astral glasses to help you view the past and interact with the astral plane, but first you’ll have to find them! Travel to the haunted mansion of a serial killer and unwrap this unsolved ghost story, before you and your brother become the next chapter of it in this haunting hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • See if you have what it takes to solve a ghostly mystery in the bonus game.
  • Find legendary figurines and unlock their ghoulish background stories.
  • Collect hidden tarot cards and find lost butterflies to purchase cursed items!
  • Feeling stuck? Get a nudge in the right direction with the strategy guide.
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, wallpapers, soundtrack, and more

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1766 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Tales: The House of Others Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(509.62 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Tales: The House of Others Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Aside from the same old occultic theme, it was a good game! I must agree with HeavenBound. It seems for years now the occultic theme pretty much dominates the game world of BigFish and this game is somewhat darker in that aspect, which is not that desirable for me. Tarot Cards, psychics, spells, seeing ghosts/dead people. Gets tiring after awhile. But it seems to interest most gamers. With that said, I just finished playing the main game of this CE version. I just started the bonus game. I'll leave the details of the game to those wonderful reviewers who shine in that field. Bless their hearts! They have the patience to do so. I don't. I like to base my reviews on the game flow, strategy, script, editing, rationalization, sometimes the storyline if it really moves me. The strategy was pretty cool. Domini Games developers are known for their cleverness and I must admit that they are one of my favorite developers. You and I know that most of the games require finding objects like axes or oil cans filled with oil in the silliest places and I don't ever see that changing. I mean you go through Haities and high water to repair, for example, a motorcycle or a bike even to have it crash. Same old life-threatening scenario. Again, it's basically that way with all games. Perhaps, I've been playing far too long, but I won't give up. What I like about Domini Games developers is that the majority of items in your inventory are used right away and some are not. I think once the developers learn about sequence and scenes, someday there will be a perfect game in every aspect. The graphics were very good not excellent. The music was very good. The map was the best. I did come across some glitch spots now and then whereby I had to exit the game and then go back in. My computer is fine. The script was good, however, the actors would now and then add or eliminate words from the script. Not a serious thing but I do notice it happens a lot with other games as well. The editors need to check grammar, spelling and the above mentioned. The puzzles and mini-games were very good. Not hard but tedious. Other than the theme itself which I'm not too keen on, I did like playing the game because of the flow--and that deserves a 5-star rating but I'm giving the game an overall rating of 4 stars. Once again, I haven't collected all the collectibles and just was not interested in finding the tarot cards period! So far I have 20 butterflies out of 44. I know there are more in the bonus portion of the game. There are many, many items to find and that's the fun portion. The map was awesome. You have glasses that will detect the ghosts and you will be using those quite a bit. I prefer playing games that once you've collected all your objects in any given scene that that scene should be closed and you can move on. If the storyline requires you to return home that is one thing but going into scene 20 and having to retrieve an item from scene 9 is ludicrous to me. Good job, developers! Come up with something new now. Gamers, try out the demo. You do get a lot of bang for the buck in this game. I still recommend it regardless of my beliefs and concerns.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this game I really enjoyed this game. It was fun and inventive. It was not the same old recycled game we have seen of late. The visual quality was excellent and the game play fun and challenging. All I can say is way to go! I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Real eye-candy, yum-yum! Others have described the play-by-play and the CE collectibles, so I won’t duplicate their good work. The graphics in this game are stunning; there is no other word for them, stunning! I’m impressed and, having played hundreds of these games, that’s no easy thing to do. The background music, the ambient and effects sounds are all game enhancing. Again, I’m impressed. The plot is a familiar one —defeat a demonic being and save a loved one— but let’s be honest, there are a finite number of plots that lend themselves to these types of games. There is enough of a twist in this particular thread to make it sufficiently interesting to keep you playing. The interactive map is very useful, but more so for moving quickly from one place to another. Movement within the game is quite logical and, unless you’re really not paying attention to what you’re doing, or where you’re doing it, you probably won’t need the map to get you to the next location. One thing that I really like that this developer has done is to give you the option of playing the mini-games in easy or hard mode. The HO sequences are a mixed bag of types. While most will be familiar to you, again, there is enough of a twist here to make some quite interesting, if not exactly a big challenge. I’m not a fan of CE games, which you already know if you’ve read any of my other reviews, so I’ll wait for the SE version to be released and then buy that. As always, my caveat is that you play the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not to bad My Review is based on the trial . Which I only played halfway through, because it is more or less always the same. The story is nice, but of course has been there before. The graphics are good and the colours have a lot of purples, pinks and turquoise which I don't mind. Sound music is good sometimes a bit amusing, because it doesn't really match. There are morphing objects, butterflies and Tarot cards to collect . Puzzles can be played in easy or hard mode. All in all it is a good game to kill time.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Do Like This Game. Pretty graphics. I do think it is very easy to navigate through. Good puzzles in between scenes. Collect butterflies, tarot cards and look for morphs. I am going to play it again.
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back to creepy... Hi all! Well, I've lost count in how many we have for this series, but many. As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to those who do a much better job than I. The graphics in this game are quite good, except for the blur you have when going in and out of a close up scene, seems to be a constant with this dev. At first, I was put off by the purple color in the beginning, but that quickly cleared up and the colors were nice and bright, without being over-powering. The voices were very well done, with emotion, excitement, fear, etc. In most cases, you can click through the dialog if you read faster than they speak, without missing any hidden clues. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. Sound FX are very nice. Animation was quite nice and had fairly smooth movements. The music got very boring very quickly and sometimes seemed out of place for the action. Yes, this story has gone back to the creepy, scary type we used to have all the time, but the story is fairly well done anyway. HOPs are very well done. You have a combination of interactive lists and interactive silhouettes. The scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. These are well done. Maybe I missed it, but I did not see that you could switch to something different if you didn't care for the HOPs. Puzzles are not all that difficult, but I did find one that took me a bit of time to complete. Yes, my favorite map! It is very clear and easy to follow, and it also shows you where you have missed a collectible. The hint system is very helpful and actually gives you a hint. You still do a lot of back tracking, just as in the other games in this series, so having the transport feature is a real time saver, which is used through the jump map. Hint system is quite useful and doesn't just tell you to move on. Collectibles aren't bad. We need to find 44 butterflies, which are different colors and often blended well with background, some scenes have more than one; 15 morphing artifacts, some are quite small and easy to miss; and tarot cards, which are very small and hard to find in most cases. Collectibles are somewhat challenging to find, mostly because of their size. You have glasses that allow you to see things from the past, and allow you to pull needed items from the past to use in the present and vice versa. It also gives you more of the story. I liked the story, even if it wasn't anything new, but it was interesting and moved at a steady pace. I do not give 5 stars easily, a game must be exceptional in all fields. This one would have been close, had it not been for the blurry graphics. That said, I think all levels of players will find this one interesting and fun. Yes, I am adding this to my every growing collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Too Easy I like my HOG to be a little (make that a lot) more challenging. The mini games offered a bit more, but not much. Most of the game play was easy and there were parts that were even a repetition of something you have done earlier in the game. IMHO the game was way too easy. It will disappoint a lot of hardcore HOG fans.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How many ghostly anomalies can you take? aka The House of... Failure Look for morphing figures and butterflies in scenes. And then you have tarot cards and of courses your see-the-past glasses. So, my opinion? Everything seems so... tiny? Really unpleasant music and in the HOG puzzles the artwork is just mediocre, at best. The whole "look in the mirror" and find the reflection differences is just sadistic. From the point of game play reaction it's really slow. I mean every time you grab something, you have to wait for your hand to go through the ghostly world. Come on, get some energy going! It's the world of the living... The scenario plus wording of the script is pretty gruesome. Also, it's kinda frustrating: Usually, the bonus game is either the prequel (how did it all began) or sequel and closure to the story. With this one... I'm not sure! Was it the father of the father?... And then, what's with the "sadistic" notion that when you make a mistake in the piano "puzzle" you have to start over?! And last but not least, the wallpapers are dreadful.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from getting better this game was ok....not something to write the family about, but..the graphics, this is what i had a problem with..with every new scene there was alot of blurring...the story was weird, but workable. that said, better than what we have been getting in a long time.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The secret is don't play this one I thought this was going to be a pretty good game when I first started, boy was I wrong. This one went from maybe to nope in a heartbeat. There is nothing great about this game and it certainly is NOT a 5 star game, not even a 4 star and barely a 3 star. It is just your typical HO game where developers think all you want to do is chase after some spirit entity and jump back and forth finding and using useless stuff for no reason. As for the spirit person, the only thing he does is occasionally show up, threaten you with death and then disappear. If he was an actual demon/spirit he would go ahead and, oh, I don't know, kill you and have it over with but that would make for a short game. Graphics in this one are ok but not great and the characters could use a little more detail. Only one really half way believable is the spirit little girl. At least she seems to have a little bit of sense. HO games and mini puzzles are on the easy side without much challenge at all and were finished quickly with no real story progression or help. I can't recommend this one at all despite the 5 star reviews. They must have played a different game than I did. Play the demo and decide for yourself and don't blindly buy this one based solely on reviews. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Used to Love This Series... Nothing in this series has changed....but it needs to! It's not a terrible game, just very outdated...I really wish these Devs would catch up! The CEs were bland and boring, as was most of the game. I did enjoy the paint by number, and the clever way they did it, but it lasted about 45 seconds. After that, I gave up. Didn't even finish the demo...just too boring, for me. And what's with all that blue?? Too much! Personally, I feel I could replay any of the older games in this series, and get the same effect....why pay another $14? As always, try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seventh Mystery Tales Game Is Just Sad Your brother, Patrick, stole your "special" glasses and managed to get in trouble with them. He was investigating Count Valack Arden's house for his program on ghosts when he became the latest victim of the Count. Count Arden went off the deep end when his daughter, Helen, died of illness and subsequently became a serial killer in his efforts to bring her back from the dead. (Helen is the only faintly believable character and she is a ghost!) Now Patrick is trapped in the house as a spirit and the serial killer is using his body. His fiance, Stephanie, is about to become the new "vessel" for the killer's daughter. Guess who gets to fix this mess? Good stuff: The usual game elements are present as is some CE bling and collectibles. Bad stuff: The artwork is garishly colored, the puzzles are sad, the HOPs are sadder, and the story and characters fit right into that mix. Please try the Demo. I don't know how the five star reviews came about, but you really need to try this one for yourself!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cutscene Tales: The House of Really Loud Banners Review based on: full demo Overall rating: ? What my rating means: Not if it were the last game on Earth. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Ridiculous storyline. Too easy gameplay offers no challenge. Truly ugly and cut-rate graphics and animation. The same 2½ minutes of soundtracks over and over again. And at least half the “game” is cutscenes, conversations, and banners. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— STORYLINE Ghostly serial killer possesses your ghost-hunter brother and attempts to use your future sister-in-law as a vessel for the spirit of his dead child. Because it’s logical to reanimate a child into the body of a full-grown adult. I question the Count’s motives, to be honest. This is a weird one. EXPLORATION You’ll never get stuck in this game, for three reasons: 1. There is an overabundance of cutscenes telling you exactly what to do. 2. If that’s not enough for you, large banners loudly proclaim each and every task from goal completion to new goal to the inventory item you just picked up. 3. Whenever you encounter an obstacle, the solution will already be in your inventory. Hope you like shaped keys, because there are tons of them. Also, you have your gimmicky magic glasses to see things no one else can see, and interact with things that aren’t really there. HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES The presentation is varied, but none of the objects is hidden. I encountered interactive lists, a variation on the FROG, interactive silhouettes, small zoom box scenes, find the differences, and more. All were quite easy. PUZZLES Quite a few of the puzzles allow you to choose “easy” or “hard” mode, but even in “hard” mode, none of them was actually challenging. • Rotate & Match: Four images are shown, and four rotating circles bear half of each image. Rotate the circles until all eight half-images match up. Rotating one circle affects others. • Leap Frog: Swap the positions of the black and white tiles by either moving them one space forward or jumping them over pieces of the opposite color. • Ghost Chasing: Clear the board of ghosts by moving your token to a space next to a ghost token. • Lock Pick: Use the five arrow keys to correctly bend the hairpin into a lock pick. Press “play” to try your combination. • Spot the Ghosts: For each image, scan through the colored filters until you find the ghost. • Ouija Grid: Use the arrows to move the Ouija planchette through the grid, ensuring that each tile is flipped. • Book Swap: Clicking on a book will swap the two adjacent books. Place each book in its correct spot. • Tarot Riddles: Helen will give you a riddle in her crystal ball. Choose the Tarot card that best represents your answer and place it in the box. • Paint by Numbers: Mix colors using basic addition to correctly paint the portrait. • Helen’s Path Home: Place the arrow tiles on the board to create a path from Helen’s tile to the house tile, picking up each symbol along the way and avoiding the skulls. PRODUCTION The graphics are truly horrendous. Unnaturally bright colors grace nearly every surface, including neon blue moonlight, violently orange lamplight, toxic green foliage, and nearly glowing crimson woodwork. Whoever chose the palette has no sense of color. Animation was laughable; the characters didn’t walk…they floated without moving their legs. There are only five soundtracks, and each one is less than 30 seconds long. That, in and of itself, is enough to make the music repetitive, but it gets worse. There’s not much variation between tracks, and each track is, itself, extremely repetitive. It didn’t take long to become annoyed with the music. Frankly, for a CE, I expect better than 2½ minutes of derivative music. Game sounds were more than annoying. Each banner was accompanied by a loud crescendo. You couldn’t become immersed in this game if you tried. EXTRAS Bonus chapter, strategy guide, performance achievements. Collectibles include butterflies, morphing objects, Tarot cards, and figurines. You can replay HO scenes but not puzzles, which should be a requirement of CEs. The dev’s portfolio includes wallpapers, concept art, and the above mentioned 2½ minutes of soundtracks. CONCLUSION Nope. The story is stupid, the gameplay is easy, and the production is low quality. I don’t see any redeeming features to this game, which was at least 50% cutscenes, conversations, and banners.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DOMINI, DOMINI, WHERE FORE ART THOU? What happened, Domini Developers? Too many vibrant colors of pinks and purples that hurt the eyes. Too many loud and banging sound effects that lend zero to game play other than to startle and annoy. Too much the same story line with no intrigue, no plot, no clear thought process. A jumble of the usual puzzles and overly used objects i.e. glass cutter, oil, acid, hammer, nails, rag, spray cleaner are thrown into the start-up. EECK! Played long enough to give the little girl her toy bunny and then deleted. Domini has fallen way short of previous games. What happened to these once good developers who instead have churned out this colorful, noisy, nonsensical mess? YIKES! There were glimmers where this could have been a great game such as the art work and musical score. The superior talent is obvious but there's no creativity whatsoever. All about death and dying and revenge, evil trying to resurrect. BLAH! Get a grip and come up with something original and fun with subdued color tones, please! Five stars? Not by a long shot. Happy 4th of July, y'all.
Date published: 2017-06-29
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_26857, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Tales: The House of Others Collector's Edition

Your brother gets in trouble during the filming of his ghost hunting show!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.