Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(321.22 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games proudly presents the all-new, thrilling Donna Brave series!

Your uncle’s friends have been mysteriously murdered, and he’s called you to Paris to track down the killer, before they strike again! But soon you’ll find what you’re hunting is no ordinary criminal. A mystical monster is on the loose, and it’s after your uncle! Can you save him in time, or will you become the next victim? Find out in this spine-tingling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Investigate a new string of murders in the bonus game!
  • Earn awesome achievements as you play.
  • Challenge yourself to collect every rune and play the ultimate HOP!
  • Keep an eye out for collectible morphing objects.
  • Enjoy exclusive character icons, concept art, soundtrack, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 622 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(321.22 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooray ! Something new and different I have been complaining and griping about the quality of the hidden object games, the boring mini games etc. and have finally been rewarded with something with a new and different presentation and games with clear directions. Levels of play are accurate and the storyline is clear. I am enthralled with this game and hats off to the producers and Big Fish for finding and producing it. Try it and you will be as much of a fan as I am.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! AWESOME GAME THAT KEPT ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT This is a great game, full of mystery and challenge, and just enough to want to know more. I am excited about this new series and cannot wait to purchase. Donna travels to Paris to meet with her uncle about strange murders, only to find out, he is involved through a very elite club of creative types. The storyline leaves you there and wanting more. The graphics are outstanding and the music fits the theme. I am particularly happy the game developer does not give you too much, so it makes it challenging. Thank you, I highly recommend this game to all. :) Mia
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Atmospheric and engaging. i have just finished playing the demo of this game and, wow, what an adventure! The story is engaging (anything about secret societies grabs my attention), the characters are convincing and beautifully drawn - as is the scenery and both the HO and mini-games are fun and relevant to the plot. If you'd love to virtually explore the back streets of Paris in the evening and enjoy a mystery, this is for you!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WANT TO SEE MORE OF INSPECTOR LAROCHE! MAYBE HE AND DONNA WILL SOLVE MYSTERIES TOGETHER IN THE FUTURE Paris is under siege! Well, at least the Golden Circle is. You receive a letter from your uncle who is living in Paris and he urgently needs your help. He has sent a letter that is rather cryptic letting you know that he is sorry for the lack of communication in the past but he really hopes you will come to Paris and help him. He encloses your father’s medallion as a token of perhaps fence mending or maybe so that you will trust him and come to Paris. Oh and by the way, he will tell you more when you arrive and signs off with “don’t trust anyone.” Brave young American woman that you are, you pack a valise and travel to Paris. However, your arrival in Paris doesn’t start off too well since the friend your uncle sent to meet you is murdered before your very eyes. Now you must find your uncle and pray that you are not too late to save him. Welcome to Paris! Donna Brave is perhaps the beginning of a new series by Mad Head and if so, it certainly starts off being very interesting with a rather paranormal mystery theme. The graphics are very good and capture the art deco feel of Paris in the 1920s. Even though the game is set in the 1920s I swear I saw what looks like a cell phone when rummaging through a drawer in Uncle Andre’s house. Guess Andre was a bit ahead of his time - lol. You have several options when setting up the game that include five different modes of gameplay. You will find an interactive map after you meet your uncle. You also have your father’s medallion that will help you focus and see things that are not obvious to the human eye alone. The HOP scenes are nothing new and follow the Mad Head tradition of including morphing objects in each scene. The puzzles are fairly easy and it doesn’t seem like there is anything new here either. Because things are the same doesn’t mean that they are less enjoyable. I am of the opinion that developers can only do so much and should really always have to come up with something new or different when creating their games. Even though the HOPS and Puzzles are nothing really new I did enjoy them and enjoyed the gameplay even more. I know some gamers might find the gameplay easy but it was just right for me. I enjoyed each step as the story unfolded and I learned more. When the game first began it had a sort of Adam Wolfe feel to it although it is different. I have to say that Inspector Laroche is a bit of eye candy for some of us. I really hope we get to see more of him in the future. In fact, I think he would be a great spin-off character for his own series. If you prefer the CE version of a game this one includes the following extras: Collectibles that are once again the Mad Head Swirl logo. IMHO, it would be nice to find something perhaps a bit more creative and enticing rather than always using the same old symbol in every game. There are morphing objects found in the HOPS and, again, I wish that the developer would locate the morphing objects in the gameplay scenes rather than the HOPS. It takes me forever to finish the HOPS because I spend all of my time looking for one tiny thing that morphs. Other extras include Achievements to earn, along with Wallpapers, Concept Art, Soundtracks, Replay of HOPS, Memory Game, Character Gallery, Strategy Guide, and Bonus Game. IMHO, this represents a fairly decent package of extras if these are things you enjoy. As I mentioned above I found the storyline interesting and this is a mystery I want to solve. Who is this gigantic strangler and why does he only target a select group of people? What are the members of the elite Golden Circle hiding and will I be able to solve the mystery before Uncle Andre meets his end? Oh, and will I get to spend more time with that smoking hot inspector? I find this to be an engaging game and although there is a bit of the paranormal feel, it has enough of a real every day mystery story to pique my interest. Even though I purchased the game right away, please try the demo to see if this is one you will enjoy as well. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At Last!! A great game! Mad Head have out done them selves on this one. Great game play, long lasting game, good mix of puzzles and HOs, not to many cinematic's (which drive me nuts!). Highly recommend this game and to the Developers..more please!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of different games to pla Love, Love, Love the variety here. I've never played any Donna Brave games but now I will look for others. It's just challenging enough with an amazing fun factor with variety!!! You don't see this often in games. The storyline captures you from the start because it's a great mystery with action! I would certainly recommend.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Are You Brave Enough to Match Wits With the Strangler?!?! This is a mystery set in 1920's Paris amidst writers, film makers, singers and other artists (all members of an exclusive club) who find themselves in the middle of a murder mystery. What's not to love about that? I won't go into the fine details of the game's mechanics, but I will tell you it has great puzzles, good voice acting, a great story line, and keeps you engaged and wanting for more. Devs, take note: MAKE MORE LIKE THIS!!! PLEASE!! Try it, you'll like it. Buy it, and you'll be hooked, line and sinker. Let's all support the devs who will give us games like this, instead of the usual mediocre stuff we've been getting as of late. Well done devs!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from “BREAK OUT” IN A “RASH” OF MURDERS IN THE AVANT-GARDE “PAREE” OF 1923! REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME – MINUS THE BONUS CHAPTER 4 Chapters plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 49 Pages Playing Time: 4 Hours (playing all puzzles and HOP scenes) It is gay Paree of 1923 and a strangler is on the loose! There is a well-orchestrated attempt to dispose of all the members of the Golden Circle Club, the crème-de-la-crème of the artistic avant-garde of Parisian society. Play Donna Brave, summoned by her Uncle Andrés, a famous poet and playwright, to solve this crime. Before the club members are murdered, they “break out” with a rash of symbols upon their body. Shortly after that, they are strangled to death. Seemingly, Uncle Andrés is the next victim. However, someone has contracted to have you killed as well. Mystery abounds in this game. Who is behind this “rash” of murders? Can you solve the mystery of the Strangler, save your uncle, members of the club and yourself as well? With a storm venting its rage in my “redneck” part of the woods, A BIG THANK YOU to BFG for offering this game as a welcome distraction! I LOVE Mad Head games and this one is a superb whodunit! This is a murder mystery game reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe´s “Murders in the Rue Morgue.” It was an automatic purchase for me. The pace is excellent with many activities in your search to find the killer. The plot behind the game keeps you in suspense. I found the ending a surprise which was NOT what I expected. The graphics are well-rendered to match the period of Paris in the 1920’s. You collect spirals as in most Mad Head games. You also collect morphing objects within the HOP scenes. Collect items to place in a gimmicky medallion to return you to scenes in the past to collect information and clues. You can replay the HOP scenes; however not the puzzles. This is my only complaint concerning this game. You can only replay the memory game which appears after the demo. HOP SCENES: There are 19 HOP scenes in the main game. They are cleverly designed and are interactive. There is a considerable amount of variety so that they do not seem repetitious. They include a variety of different types, including lists of items, silhouettes, matching, and one storybook scene. These are few which I enjoyed and demonstrate the creativity of this developer. (SPOILERS) • A matching scene has the player searching for items within three scenes in a kaleidoscope. The items are well-hidden and the scenes are beautifully rendered. Just gorgeous! • Another matching scene engages the player in matching letter flourishes outlined on a handkerchief with those on a letter. • There is a silhouette scene which has the player locating letters and symbols missing on a typewriter. They are well-hidden within the scenes. • There are several matching scenes in which the player must match up like items or items which are related in some way. I felt these were creatively done. PUZZLES: There are 29 puzzles in the main part of the game. They are varied and creatively designed as well. Most of the puzzles are easy or of moderate difficulty. I did not find any puzzle terribly difficult. They include assembly puzzles, a maze puzzle, a chess puzzle, rotating rings puzzles, a lock-pick puzzle, switch puzzles, slider puzzles, and even a paint-by-number puzzle. There are also those physical puzzles which require you to sock-it-to the evildoer before the time expires. Here are a few of those which I found creatively designed. You also get to “beat the computer” in a couple of the puzzles! (SPOILERS) • A maze/strategy puzzle requires our heroine to outmaneuver a cab driver who is in hot pursuit. You must play against the computer to get her to the exit before the driver overtakes her. • A chess puzzle requires three knights to move to like-colored slots based on the movement associated with them in the game of chess. • A switch/connection puzzle requires the player to switch policemen so they are all joined together holding hands! • Play against the computer in a memory puzzle. You must match up more tokens situated on three revolving rings, than the computer. At the end of the game, you can replay this puzzle. • In two of the puzzles the player must combine runes or symbols to create one in the middle of the screen. This puzzle is also used to fight the evildoers in the game. • Finally, for the artists in the audience, there is a paint-by-number puzzle which is very easy but, to me, was rather fun to play. MEDALLION PUZZLE: You play a search puzzle every time you need to use the medallion. Collect items to place inside the medallion and then use the medallion to reveal listed items. LEVELS: Seeker, Adept, Master, Secret Master, Alchemist Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 10 Achievements Medallion which returns you to view the past Replay 19 HOP scenes Collect 33 Spirals as in other games and morphing objects found in HOP scenes 8 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art, Soundtrack, Memory Game (the only puzzle you can replay from the game), Character Gallery BONUS CHAPTER: I have started but have not completed the Bonus chapter. However, it is a logical follow-up to the main part of the game. It is not just thrown in to the mix as in many others from other developers. It seems that the evildoer is up to more dastardly crimes in this sequel. The Bonus chapter aptly fits as a good follow-through for the main game.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something a little different and great fun This game has an interesting story line and the action draws you in immediately. I had planned to only play to see how I liked it and almost finished the whole sample before I stopped. Nice recreation of the era in both items and locale. A lot of small but fun things-like the map with a car running through it to your location and the race to get to the destination ahead of the taxi. Thought some of the French voices were a little overdone but nothing serious. Will definitely purchase.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mysterious Crimes...... We see a man in a street, walking towards a building, a bar or hotel. When he’s near the door, he looks at his hands - cryptic marks cover them, he is shocked, confused…. He looks up and some huge dark figure seems threatening him. Next, we see, he is attacked, strangled. Donna Brave is on a train to Paris, looking forward to visit her uncle Andre. He sent her a letter with a warning, not to trust anybody, as strange things happened. With the letter comes a medallion, a heirloom from her father. At the station Donna is met by a man, who shall bring her to the Golden Circle Club to meet with uncle Andre. Taking her bag, on his outstretched hand suddenly cryptic marks appear. Frightened he orders Donna to leave and head for the club, as she would be no longer safe with him. The next moment some huge dark thing grows out of the shadows, attacks – we only see naked feet wander away, carrying the slump body of the man with him. Donna comes to, apparently been knocked out and is approached by an inspector, who has some questions on the events. The questioning is cleverly packed in puzzles and a following HO scene at a kiosk in search for a newspaper gives clues: Uncle Henry is part of the Golden Circle, whose members seem to be in danger, several of them already dead. Donna’s next steps lead her to her uncle’s home. Near the house, set back in an archway, we catch a glimpse at a shadowy, tall and hunchbacked figure – the strangler? On her way to her uncle’s home, the driver had attempted to kill her, so finally meeting uncle Andre, she asks for answers. He tells her, that somebody is trying to kill all members of the Golden Circle Club. The marks on the victims mean simply death. More information could be in a box and in a golden book. Together they search for those items, when suddenly the marks appear on his body. He flees the apartment, advising Donna to trust nobody and to keep the medallion always with her. It is a special piece, that can trigger memories. With uncle Andre gone, Donna now heads for the club. There she gains entrance (after the one or other problem solved) but is not allowed into the back rooms, where two other members of the circle have gone. So she tries to enter from the back of the house. There she overhears a conversation between two of the circle and uncle Andre. Apparently he is not dead and looks healthy. In their conversation he utters, that he had reasons to let Donna come… Instead of answers, more questions? She is again attacked by the taxi driver, this time finally rescued by the strangler, who kills the attacker and vanishes. But now she can investigate the back room and at least find out, that there must be a secret with the Golden Circle, something tying them together and at the same time threatening their lives. Before she can take the next step – the marks appear on her hands…….. Seems, we have a combination of crime and supernatural elements. The shadowy, hunchbacked figure reminds of Shadowplay but at the same time, he seems more like a malformed human being. Music as well as the scenery at the Golden Circle Club let me think of the first Cadenza game. But all in all these are reminiscences and the plot leads in other directions, than in those games. Here we have mysterious murders, need to find out, who wants the members of this secret circle dead, who wants Donna dead? Puzzles and HO scenes vary and are nicely put into the plot. We begin quite slowly but the game gains pace quickly, when met with uncle Andre. With the medallion we have this returning puzzle of finding memory pieces.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A STRANGLER IN PARIS ............................... DONNA BRAVE IS EXCELLENT, IN THIS NEW THRILLER SERIES !!! MADHEAD HAS HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD !!!
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mad Head games are excellant! Wow, I don't usually like Collector versions, but this one was excellent in all ways. Plenty of game time, amazing graphics, the people almost looked real. The storyline had me paying attention for a change. The dialogue was believable, and followed the storyline. This game had everything I look for in any game, Collector, or Standard. Great job guys!
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting game I'm enjoying this one a lot. Very clever and neat HO's and also the puzzles are challenging but not impossible. I usually skip them. The story lines weird monster is weird but I haven't finished the game yet so maybe the strangler is not who it seems. Other than that this game got my attention. Very cool! More like this, please
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game I liked this game .I did use the hint button but most of the time I knew what to do. Biggest reason I liked it is you don't have go all over the place to find things so you don't need the hint button much. I don't use the tutorial.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. Great to see a standard story given a boost by better writing and a lovely music score.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner from Mad Head! I agree with another review, more Inspector Laroche please! Loved the game! Thanks Mad Head!
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love it moreeee A mysteriously murdered in Paris has been killing people from Donna uncle’s circle of friends so she has to track down the killer, before they strike again or everyone will be be dead soon even Donna her self. its was very crazy i love the locations of the game it was so dreamy.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Best graphics. Collect runes and look for morphs. Pretty music. Scary in spots. All I can say, need more of these and wow. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Really enjoyed this game overall A+.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unmasking the Strangler of Paris You've been summoned by your uncle to investigate a series of mysterious deaths in the city of Paris, and how they relate to a secretive club that he's a member of. The graphics and VA were excellent, giving the game a sinister noir edge to it. The storyline also featured some fascinating twists I didn't anticipate. The HOPs were tricky at times, but not impossible to complete, although some of the puzzles were annoying. The bonus chapter, while shorter, featured a fascinating investigation in its own right, complete with a shocking twist. I would recommend this game if you are either a Francophile, or a fan of Epix's Final Cut series.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done This is a fun HOPA, pretty straightforward and with good graphics and a decent storyline. There may be a tad too many "insert the shape in the ___-shaped lock" puzzles, but this game at least tries to vary the ways in which you can solve the mystery and defeat the strangler. The HO scenes are moderately challenging, particularly the morphing objects, and the collectibles ranged from "obvious" to "invisible." Overall, I'd say I would have been just as happy with the SE as the CE, but either way, it's a fun game if you aren't looking for something super-challenging or super-easy.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you suddenly break out in geometric symbols while you're in Paris, run! I forgot that I had played this game right after it first came out, but I thoroughly enjoyed it again the second time around. Enough time had passed for it to feel almost like new again. A couple of collectables were really hard to find, which was nice. The pacing was good and I never felt bored or like the game had become tedeous in any way. I almost never buy CEs, but this was the first game in a new series, and Mad Head rarely lets me down anyways. There's been a couple of games that seemed a little too short, but this one was a decent length, and I felt like I got my money's worth. I look forward to playing the next game in this series.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Donna Brave, not to bad! Bought this a while back, only just played it, as I had just seen the sequel on sale the other day and thought I should see how interesting or not this character was, as the new game has received an average rating. This game is immersive and interesting and the story is compelling enough for me to want to find out what happens at the end. I thoroughly enjoyed Donna's first adventure and will be buying the new game at some point.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Donna Brave braved it in both the main & bonus games! This is a very good game. Well done, Mad Head developers! Well done! One thing that always tickles me is how the police, who are supposed to be assisting you, just stand there in the middle of the street scratching their heads and exclaiming, "Hurry, Miss Brave, the murderer ran down that street!" "Oh, I see, officer, I just now found a few hundred objects in the house to piece together this mystery, and you didn't feel the need to chase after the perpetrator?" Sigh!! I did like many aspects of this game. The HOPS were interesting, somewhat different--morphing objects within them which I don't mind. Puzzles were interesting not hard but tedious. The flow and the storyline were great. Another murder suspense but very good! I completed the entire CE version so my review is based on that. You have a nice soundtrack and I like how you were given the option to download any of the tunes. I found none that I cared to download, however. The graphics were nicely done. The voiceovers were great. I would definitely recommend this game because you get a lot for your money. Of course I didn't collect all the collectibles this time but after completing the Bonus Game you can go back and find them. I did get most of the achievements. All in all it was a great game. I'm giving it 4-1/2 stars.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE MORAL OF THE STORY: DON'T TRUST ANYONE AND ESPECIALLY DON'T TRUST A MEDALLION THAT HAS ALIEN TECHNOLOGY CAPABILITIES Uncle Andre has invited you to visit him in Paris, but this trip is anything but a vacation. Andre Baudin is a member of the finer things club, known as the Golden Circle Club. Members of this elite circle include doctors, poets, world renowned travelers, playwrights, composers,and musicians. Lately, the circle has been getting smaller and smaller, as one by one, the members are being systematically picked off, death by strangulation! You've witnessed this phenomenon with your own eyes, first the marks appear, and within seconds, a shadowy figure arrives and chaos ensues, before you can figure out what's going on, you discover the victim has been strangled! Can you stop this evil force of nature before it destroys anyone associated with the club? I'm a Mad Head games fan because USUALLY their games are unique and have slightly different features, which make them less of a cookie cutter adventure. MH games sure do love their symbols, and I just felt like they went a little overboard with them in this game. Things were going along smoothly for me in the demo, I was willing to overlook all the symbols (even the Collector's Edition bling is a hidden symbol in each scene) then they introduced the Memory Medallion. This futuristic device (keep in mind this game takes place in 1923, cars still require you to crank them by hand!) can not only capture and replay a memory, but swap small items as well, as long as it can fit inside the tiny device! How exactly does this medallion work? Does it tap into your brainwaves? If it does, how does it know whose brain to tap into? Does it project the memory in a holograph? How does it transport objects, telekinesis? Where did this device come from? If someone from the club invented it, why didn't they put all their knowledge towards upgrading the card? I liked this game, but it would have been a fantastic game if they just ditched all the supernatural aspects, and went strictly with the whodunit murder mystery. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied and presented in typical Mad Head fashion. In this CE version, each HOP had a Morphing Object to find. There are a variety of styles offered, such as Multiple Object finds, Interactive List finds, and items that need to be placed into the scene where they logically go. The Mini Games are fairly easy, most can be solved on the first attempt. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Swap tiles to complete the image. 2) Place sticky notes from each side correctly. 3) Move Donna's token through the maze, avoiding the cab, and using the maps features to navigate. 4) Repeat the pauses in the music from the top track to the bottom. 5) Swap triangular elements to match the sketch. 6) Move chess pieced to highlighted sections on the board until each piece is on their color coded spot. 7) Use a magnifying glass to find items you can't see with the naked eye. 8) Pair each token with its owner using the clues. 9) Match the names and occupations with the portraits. 10) Find the coins in a cup shuffle game. This Collector's Edition has 33 Collectible Hidden Signs, 19 Morphing Objects within the Hidden Object Scenes, 10 Achievements to earn, replayable Hidden Object Scenes and Memory games, a Character Gallery, 11 Music Soundtracks, Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fun new game I liked Donna Brave and the Strangler. The scenery was beautiful and the HOs and mini-games were fun. I didn't find them too challenging. There was one game where I didn't understand the instructions, but since I was playing the CE, I had the strategy guide to help out. Speaking of the CE, the bonus game was good. I love how Mad Head Games allows you to go back into scenes to collect achievements. But have they made it easier to get the gold stars in the HOs? In past games, it might take me multiple tries to get the 3 gold stars. In this game, I got them all on the first try in every HO. Overall, I enjoyed this game and will play the next in the series.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Are We Sure This Man is a Relative? Donna gets off the train in Paris, expecting to be met by her uncle. She is instead met by Uncle Andre's friend, destined to be the next victim of the Paris Strangler in a matter of minutes. Donna makes it to her Uncle's apartment only to have him flee as the mystic marks that appear on each victim's body moments before they are killed, appear on Uncle Andre! Donna will have to find out who - or what - is killing off only the members of the Golden Circle Club, not only for Uncle Andre's sake, but for her own safety as the marks popped up on her body as the demo ended. Good stuff: Lot of mediocre and sometimes good puzzles; good HOPs, a few furthering the plot by leaps; art deco stylized artwork; a fairly good mystery; collectible signs; and some CE bling. You'll have your father's amulet to help you - add a special item to it and you get a flashback that helps move the mystery forward - better still, you don't have to play a puzzle over and over to get to the cut scene! Bad stuff: That stylized artwork can come off as cartoon like and sometimes did. The puzzles were OK, with a couple of stand-outs - I thought the Club door puzzle was a nice take on a matching puzzle. The five cup and a ball challenge in the alley was more challenge than a three cup version would be. The HOPs that furthered the story were well done, but some clues were obscure. The stylized sign pieces to collect were mostly in your face. It would have been great if they actually had to be hunted. The story was not the obvious, we-all-saw-that-coming mystery that we've seen too much of lately. Also no small children have to be rescued! I recommend that you play the demo. I thought the game was OK, maybe even good, but not great. I'm still undecided on CE or SE. Judge for yourself.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting story, somewhat challenging puzzles Hi friends! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to those who do a much better job than I. This game reminds me a lot of "Off the Record" games, which I love. It is set up the same way with beautiful graphics and excellent game play. Colors are a bit golden, but still quite nice and not over-powering. I think it's because of the "era" of the game...it fits. Voices are well done and are age and character appropriate, with just the right amount of accent. You can click through dialog if you read faster than they speak. Animation is very smooth and also well done. Music is nice and not intrusive at all. Sound FX are nicely done as well. HOPs are a very nice combination of place item in scene, interactive lists, straight lists and highlighted words. The scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. The challenge here is finding the morphing item in the HOP. I did not see that there was something else you could switch to in this one, if you didn't care for the HOPs. The one thing I didn't care for was that the screen moved in some of the HOPs...annoying. We do get to travel back in time to gain more insight into the story and also to pick up a helpful item to progress in the game. I really like the puzzles. Some are quite different and have multiple levels, and we do still have some of the same old same old thrown in as well. Some puzzles are quite challenging and take some time and brain power to complete. The hint system is very helpful and actually gives you a hint when you ask for it. There is no transport feature in this one, but the jump map does a nice job of that for you. Collectibles were a little disappointing, in that we only had to find a symbol. It really is not hard to see and in some cases was quite large. Still, not a game changer. Check the bottom left corner to see if there is one in the scene and if you actually found it. As I said, this story is interesting and different. I was pulled into it almost from the very beginning. The game and story have a very nice flow and it is quite easy to follow. I was surprised at how quickly time went and how disappointed I was when the demo ended. When I beta tested this one, I gave it a 4.0. It looks like they listened and jumped this one up a notch. As you know, I do not give 5 stars easily. A game must be exceptional in all aspects for that, but this one fell a bit short, mostly because of the collectible and the moving screen. Even at that, I gave it a 4.5. I think all levels of players will find this one fun and somewhat challenging. Yep, adding it to my collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks like another hit series for Madhead! Review based on: full demo Overall rating: ??? for the CE but ???? for the SE What my rating means: It’s just not CE-worthy, but I will get the SE. SHORT & SWEET SUMMARY REVIEW Clichéd story elements get a fresh new life in this latest Madhead series, combining in an intriguing tale that leaves you wanting to know what happens next. Gameplay is heavy on the puzzles and light on the hidden objects, which is unfortunate, because the HO scenes are innovative, while the puzzles are mostly retreads and fairly easy. As usual, the package lacks a number of things that should be standard CE fare. More details on the specific elements of the game below the fold… ———————————————————— STORYLINE As Donna Brave, you’re off to visit your uncle in Paris! Sadly, it’s no vaca, but a murder mystery. A monstrous strangler is offing the members of your uncles club one by one, and it’s only a matter of time until it’s dear uncle’s turn. Or is there a more complex mystery afoot? Knowing Madhead, you can bet on it. EXPLORATION Wander the charming and chic streets of Montmartre, mere blocks from the decadent Moulin Rouge, examining the victims, searching for clues, questioning witnesses, tracking down your uncle’s club and its members, and using your observational and adaptive skills to solve the mystery. HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES The HO scenes were, at least during the demo, all different in presentation. One began with replacing items in the scene, then switched to a find & replace; both segments were challenging and fun. Another started with moving objects within the scene to their proper places, then moving to another scene to find all of one object. Still another was finding the capitalized words in the narrative. And the repeating puzzle involved a mini-HO…using the medallion to reveal items. PUZZLES No real creativity in the puzzles; all were retreads that had merely been put in a different graphic format: • JIGSAW - Swap the pieces to restore the image. EASY • SYMBOLS - Match the symbols on the victim with those on the scraps of paper. EASY • MIXTAPE - Watch the recording, then copy it by pressing play/pause to mimic the pattern where the recording played and paused. EASY • STARLIGHT - Swap the points of the star key to match the given clue. EASY • CHESS - Move the three knights to their matching goals. EASY • CHASE - Move Donna from the alley to the club, avoiding the taxi driver. MEDIUM • VICTIMS - Match the names to the victims’ photos, then match their occupations. MEDIUM • MONTE - The old cups-and-ball version of Three Card Monte. Three levels of increasing speed, but still EASY. • WHEELS - Find all hidden matching pairs on the three moving concentric circles. MEDIUM PRODUCTION Madhead’s usual high quality presentation: stunning palette, glorious textures, beautifully-composed and rendered backgrounds, a wide variety of excellent music, and professional voiceovers. EXTRAS Bonus chapter, performance achievements, collectible Madhead spirals. (I really wish Madhead would change up the collectibles and make them game-specific.) HO scenes each include a morphing object. Replay HO scenes, but not puzzles. There is a bonus ‘memory game.’ The portfolio includes wallpapers, concept art, a character gallery, and about a dozen downloadable soundtracks. CONCLUSION As has been my verdict lately, I will purchase this game, but will wait for the SE version. I don’t think that Madhead offers enough to justify the CE price. If the collectibles were better and puzzles could be replayed, I would morph into a fangirl, because their games have been one of the rare bright spots this year. (Ok, I’m still a fangirl, just not of their CEs.) It does appear that the level of challenge increases as the game progresses, which definitely makes me happy.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved everything but the voice over talent Fascinating storyline and beautifully rendered scenes. Challenging without being frustrating. So what's not to like? Well... surely when creating a game that takes place in Paris, one would use people who could at least mimic a French accent to speak the dialogue. It isn't all that hard to accomplish since players don't expect the characters to SPEAK French (though that would be kind of fun, too, in a couple of situations). But very few voices managed to sound French. Some sounded German, others hard to categorize, and the cabdriver -- A FRENCH cabdriver, sounded like he was straight out of New York City--maybe Brooklyn. So even though I was very pleased with most aspects of the game, I was constantly distracted by spoken dialogue that tended to destroy any sense of ambiance. I mean, throw in a mademoiselle or madame or monsieur every now then, or a French exclamation. That would tie it all together neatly.
Date published: 2017-09-07
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_27071, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris Collector's Edition

Explore the streets of Paris as you track down the Strangler!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.