Roads of Rome: New Generation 2

Roads of Rome: New Generation 2

PC

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.65 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Roads of Rome: New Generation 2 takes us back to the ancient Roman empire, where dark shadows of the past have risen on a peaceful Rome. Markus, son of general Victorius, leads an army to confront the danger, leaving his beloved Valeria behind in the city. Determined to participate in the battle, she finds herself on the borders of the empire facing incredible challenges!

  • 40 levels plus challenging bonus level!
  • Improved gameplay mechanics
  • Test yourself across four difficulty modes
  • Earn bonuses and build ancient altars
  • Roads of Rome: New Generation

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 230 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Roads of Rome: New Generation 2

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.65 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Roads of Rome: New Generation 2 is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the very best, by far! i didn't think Roads of Rome could get any better, but i was wrong, this really is a GREAT game! hard to get away and do some other stuff like rl! LOL...highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time Management at its Best Excellent Time Management games are few and far between. Hooray for Roads of Rome. The game is really challenging if you play the Hardest level. It takes a lot of thought and coordination to get through each level if you want to come in under time, remembering to find the hidden caches. But it has 3 easier levels, one untimed, for those that want more relaxed play. I love this game.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An enjoyable time management game I have enjoyed all the other Roads of Rome games and this one does not disappoint. Very much along the lines of the other games - gather supplies, rebuild, build the road, erect buildings which produce more supplies and so forth. I also like very much the options of not using the game cursor and skipping all the dialogue. I like to just get into the game. Also those big pointing arrows that sometimes pop up when there is something new, now disappear very quickly. There are also options of playing casual, normal, hard etc which means any level of expertise can play the game. I would recommend this game. Not the best of the Roads of Rome series, but enjoyable anyway. Please keep these kind of games coming BigFish, it's been too long.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fun! This is such a great game! Thanks to Big Fish we have had a few 'gather recources' time management games over the last few weeks. This is my favourite genre. Although I am fairly skilled at these games, the main feature of this offering is that it has 4, not 3 levels of difficulty. I really appreciate the "easy" in between relaxed and normal. I dedided after the last few weeks of some frustration that I really needed to just enjoy a game instead of stressing and becoming addicted to "beating a level" I am playing in "easy" and just having the best fun! If you like these type of games, (and I much prefer them to serving people things) then this is a must to the collection. I have the whole series, and this still has features that are newly set out. I really recommend this game. Just get it!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Time This was our 'First Time' doing a time management/building a small town kind of thing and it was THRILLING!! Just played through the demo and looking forward to playing through the rest! My daughter in peculiar greatly enjoyed the fact that we had to think about which buildings to put up first in order to make things go by the quickest, so to her, it was a bit of a 'puzzle' as well! As for the storyline, it was well done for what it is, but I'd like to see the same type of game with maybe a medieval theme, or maybe even a mystery! ( I'd have to look around and see if there is already one.) But over all, we liked it very much and definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! If you love time management games, you will definitely like this jewel of a game.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried the first 3 levels and had to buy it! After playing the first 3 levels under the trial, I knew this was a keeper. You definitely need to plan your strategy when playing this, but it is enjoyable and fun. The graphics are great also. I have played the previous Roads of Rome series and have always enjoyed them and this one is a great addition to the series.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep em coming!! Worth the wait, the boys are back at it building, gathering, and running their hearts out. This is a great series and I love to play them over and over.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I have bought all Roads of Rome games. This is another one that is very enjoyable and fun to play. I recommend this game
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIKE THE OTHER ROADS GAMES - LOVE IT!! Our Roman friends are back, all grown up and marching off to war - or rather, cleaning up the mess that war leaves. If you like time management games and haven't played any of the previous Roads, I suggest you do - you'll love them.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMNES VIAE ROMAM DUCUNT It's all about the roads in this strategy based, time management series, and all roads eventually lead to Rome! It looks like the graphics have improved since the last release, and there are some added features as well. Some levels have hidden caches, which aren't really difficult to spot, it's just sometimes difficult to remember to spot them! After the earthquake, the citizens of Rome were hoping the peace and tranquility would remain for the rest of their days, but that wouldn't be much of a story right? The Vikings attacked viciously and without mercy, they destroyed the empire's roads, bridges and just about everything else standing in their way. Marcus saves the day once again, as he leads his army and pushes back against the Vikings. Not wanting to be left behind, Valeria convinces her father to grant her the authority to help the residents of the Empire, and restore their lands to their former beauty. But first you need a road to travel on. This is a Time Management game based on strategy because you need to do things in a certain way in order to achieve expert status on each level. I found myself replaying many levels to change the order in which I queued a task, or change the type of building I constructed, so I could finish the level before nightfall, because once the sun sets, you can't receive expert status. There are several modes of difficulty available: Relaxed, Easy, Normal and Hard, I chose Normal but was unable to queue tasks when no worker was available, the only downside to this game. There are the usual Time Management tasks, clearing debris from paths, removing boulders and repairing flooded areas, and of course rebuilding several bridges, as well as gathering resources and finding Viking stashes. To complete all these repairs, pig farms need built to feed the workers, Sawmills need built to produce the wood needed for repairs, and Storage Building will increase and permanently increase resources. Many of the buildings can be upgraded, such as the workers camp to gain more workers. Some of the people you meet are willing to make exchanges of goods for a necessary resource such as bombs needed to clear huge boulders. Occasionally you come across speciality items, such as speed boots that allow the workers to move faster. or boots hidden or a clock, they will increase speed or freeze time once the path is cleared to them. ROADS OF ROME GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Release Date***Average Rating *Roads of Rome I (October 6- 2010) 4.3 *Roads of Rome II (January 19-2011) 4.4 *Roads of Rome III (October 5-2011) 4.2 *Roads of Rome IV: New Generation (February 1-2016) 3.9 *Roads of Rome V: New Generation 2 (November 1-2017)n/a Although each level has different goals to achieve, the main goal is to build the road. In order to build the road however, you need to gather the necessary resources, and keep the crew fed. In order to gather enough resources and food, you need to strategically build the right buildings, such as farms, sawmills and quarries, at the right time. I love the updated graphics, and the day and night visual effects in this game, and that you need to use strategy rather than the course already laid out, "can't make a wrong choice" scenarios. Give this one a try, the series has been around for a long time, and each one is better than the last, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fun! I have enjoyed all the games in this series. This one seemed a little bit less of a challenge than some of the others, though, which surprised me, so not quite five stars. And the map was not as fun, just lines of buildings showing the player's progress. I, for one, am very glad that the devs have avoided allowing players to click several steps ahead. It's part of the challenge, and allows players to carefully consider the allocation of resources and time from one move to the next.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun & Challenging I'm really enjoying this game! Often, the "time management" games are either way too easy or way too challenging. This one seems to be a good mix...and, there are several difficulty options you can choose, so you're the one who decides how much of a challenge the game will be!
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice to see a woman in charge Although why she can't help out once in a while.... If you've played any of the previous Roads, you'll know what to do with this one. There isn't anything really new or different about this one and, at least for me, it was easier than some of the previous ones which even to this day I cannot achieve gold (or top grades) on some levels. This one I got gold first time through playing in normal mode. This having been said, I have not found all the caches and secret hidden goodies on all but maybe 5 levels. I've now gone back and replayed only to find those caches but still cannot find them.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun BUT Not easy like the former games but they do have upgrades from the last four which makes it definitely more interesting. Same idea of rebuilding the roads and villages after a Viking attack but this time Markus is off fighting and Valeria is overseeing the building. Different format in a way but still enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bonus bar at the top I have all the Roads games. I really did not like the change to the bonus bar at the top - i much prefer being able to pick up the bonuses from the buildings. It spoiled the game for me - part of the fun is being able to stack bonuses - and its not possible when you select a bonus from the top and then you have to wait for it to re-charge to select another. Slowed down the game a lot.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game OK but clunky and too slow for my taste This game is by the developers of the Adelantado Trilogy series, which is my favorite game to play of all time. I didn't expect the same scope of game or challenge as Adelantado, but I did expect more of a challenge than this game offers. New Gen 2 is great visually, and I love the music and sound effects, but it is slow and plodding, and not much fun. And you can't click on tasks ahead of time but must wait until the guy gets back to home base for most of the tasks. If you want to play an easy time management game that is kind of fun and not much of a challenge, this game is for you. I recommend it, but not with a lot of enthusiasm.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from boring I should have read my own review on Roads to Rome: New Generation because this one was even more tedious. Like the first one, if you change modes you have to start the game over, no changing modes during the game. Even on easy, the timer runs pretty fast so if you chose to play this one and don't want a timer start with relaxed. In other time management games, you don't have to wait for the little guy to "do his job" and return home before sending them out again...in this one, you have to, which makes a lot of finger tapping time waiting for the next send out. In other ones, you can tag the next project before the little guy is finished with the first job. That was the part that made the game slow and frustrating. Glad I got this on sale because if I had wasted a credit or full fee, I would have been upset...so much for the Roads of Rome series for me.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from When will they let you line up tasks One really big thing for me in this game is the fact that you cannot line up tasks. If all workers are doing something you can't queue anything else and that drives me crazy. I just exited the level I was on today cos I could not stand it any longer. I might get back to it one day but not in the short term. Just not good enough
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother Roads of Rome Generation 2 is awful. It is so buggy I can't play it. You can be almost finished with a level and it just closes. Hummm That happened the most on level 12, on level 13, it stopped showing the arrows marking road construction. I could not win the level because it would not let me build the road, What? is it not called "Roads of Rome" lol? There are never enough options for hiring workers, who move as slow as if they were under water, you can not assign jobs ahead, until the workers are free, who thought that would be a welcome thing in a time management game, that guy should be let go! The amount of resources it takes to build and win are so slow in coming and the workers so limited by the game designers I am sorry I wasted my money and time on this game. If you ask me it is just a hurry up game design for big bucks relying on a proven game reputation which it ruins.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Agree with ElizzyBethB! Had to stop at level 3--impossible to beat due to not being able to click on tasks in advance.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seriously can't click tasks in advance? Stopped the trial at level 3 - can't stand time management games where you can't click tasks in advance. Very sad.
Date published: 2017-11-03
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_27597, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Roads of Rome: New Generation 2

Come back to the ancient Roman empire and help defend it against new threats in this latest edition to this revered time management series.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.