Rite of Passage: The Sword and the Fury Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: The Sword and the Fury Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(418.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Rite of Passage series!

After 20 years, you receive a message that could lead you to your missing grandfather. You hope for a happy reunion, but things take a dark turn when dangerous creatures invade your world! Do you have what it takes to defeat darkness and save the world? Find out in this gripping hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Learn what really happened 20 years ago in the bonus game!
  • Find all the hidden collectibles and unlock a special surprise!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, character art, and soundtrack!
  • Replay hidden-object puzzles until you master them.
  • Earn fun achievements as you play.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 729 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: The Sword and the Fury Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(418.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: The Sword and the Fury Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! Great Collectibles! Yet another Mad Head game that hits the mark dead on. Very fun game with challenging collectibles. The HOP morphs are hard! Well done. Wish all games were like this one.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOUR STARS FOR THE STORYLINE-FIVE STARS FOR THE ABUNDANCE OF FUN PUZZLES!!!! The Nightcrawlers are attacking! Oh, I guess that's supposed to be a Night Caller, you know, the ladies of the evening, nope that's not it either. It's a giant creature that comes calling at night, whose energy comes from symbols??? Where do the symbols come from, they didn't appear until the nightcrawler appeared? Are you as confused as I am? It all boils down to one thing, it's Grandpa's fault and I've gotta fix it! I've got to get rid of these Nightcrawlers before it rains, cause ya know what happens when it rains! (I should write these stories) I love Mad Head games, but all their stories lately seem to be about the same thing, and they all center around symbols. The Collector's edition versions have the same Spiral Symbols to collect, and the same HOP Morphs. I do however love the abundance of puzzles offered, which aren't necessarily challenging, but they are fun. The Hidden Object Scenes are mostly Interactive List finds, but there was an Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape one that had a bunch of puzzles, and was really quite fun. Each of the HOP's have a Morphing Object to find, some of which are difficult to spot. The Mini Games are really entertaining, in my opinion. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Use all wires to connect lights by rotating connectors. 2) Drag symbols to align them with the stationary symbols. 3) Navigate through the maze using directional arrows and using items you find to progress through obstacles. 4) Rotate grate sections to allow an open path to retrieve the saw. Because there's always something of great importance in the sewer. 5) Adjust lock sections to create an open bath to the button, clicking on one section may affect others, because they always do. 6) Swap tiles to complete the picture, click on the button to change the available tile sets. 7) Match the symbols to the shape of the buttons, click until desire shape appears. 8) Swap tiles to assemble the picture. Doesn't anybody have a normal picture to enjoy? 9) Click sections in the correct order. 10) Slide puzzle sections to complete the image, because no picture seems to be normal. 11) Swap the painting to match the outlines on the wall. Finally normal pictures, just not in normal spots! 12) Press arrows to move spheres to their matching colored spots, no picture involved. 13) Swap and rotate triangle puzzle pieces to......you get the picture. 14) Find and replace items on the pages of the book, it's sort of like a pop-up only different. RITE OF PASSAGE GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-The Perfect Show (June 7-12) 4.5 2-Child of the Forest (May 16-13) 4.7 3-Hide and Seek (June 12-14) 4.6 4-The Lost Tide (May 2-15) 3.7 5-Heart of the Storm (January 16-16) 4.0 6-Deck of Fates (October 27-16) 4.0 7-The Sword and the Fury (September 16-17) n/a This Collector's Edition has 4 Wallpapers, 10 Music Soundtracks, 17 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 17 Morphing Objects within the HOP's, Characters, 32 Collectible Spiral Signs, 10 Achievements to earn, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow moving story, but not bad. Hello friends! Well, this is #7 in this series. As usual, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job than I on that portion of the game. This addition has excellent graphics, very clear and sharp. Animation is extremely well done. Great facial features and movements. Voices are extremely well done, age and character appropriate, with all the emotions included. Sound FX are very well done and heard throughout the game play. You have just the right amount of sound and music when something is about to happen. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen quite nicely. I was put off a bit by the pop up of achievements in the beginning. HOPs are interactive lists and silhouettes. They are somewhat cluttered, but I still managed to find the objects without too much frustration. We also have morphing items in the HOP scenes, which are not easy to catch, so be on the lookout. I did not see that there was anything else we could switch to, if we got bored with the HOPs. Puzzles, weren't too bad, some familiar, some frustrating and some that took some time and thought to complete. I did not especially care for the symbol puzzle with the sword...it got boring very quickly. Still, nicely done. Hint system is helpful, but it does not transport to longer locations. You do back track quite a lot in this game, but you have a jump map that is fairly clear and easy to use, it's just faster to transport. Collectibles are disappointing. You need to find a symbol in each scene. They are often difficult to see, as some are very small or in dark areas and blended very well. I didn't see anything else, other than in the HOPs. Definitely needed something more. This addition isn't bad, but not really challenging and nothing new in the story line either. Again, I found the "new clue" notice popping up all the time extremely annoying. It doesn't tell what it is, just that you have one. The story moved slowly and I felt we spent a little more time in one location that needed before moving on. Yes, we have to find Grandpa, but I think there's a little twist to this story. I am curious to see what it is, but I'm not sure this one is CE material. This is one of those games for a rainy, do nothing day when you don't want any challenge but want to play. I'm sure a lot will like it, but I think I will put this one in my puddle and see if the SE version moves me more. I often find that if I don't feel a game is CE worthy, the SE often makes a better game. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hey this sword glows just like sting in the hobbit all I can say I liked the game
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars, but I'll wait for the SE. THE AWESOME The Production—Terrific graphics overall, although the animation varied between realistic (for objects) and stop-motion (for characters). The music was more ambient than usual, which I love. THE GOOD The HO Scenes—In addition to a great deal of variation, most were of medium difficulty. None were of the “You finished a hidden object scene in less than a minute!” type. The Puzzles—Overall, despite the plethora of jigsaw puzzles, the puzzles were decent. Even most of the jigsaws had an additional element that increased the challenge. There were also several different types of mazes, a logic puzzle, a few “swap the tokens/figurines,” and one unwelcome Simon Says. THE MEDIOCRE The Extras—Madhead still refuses to allow us to replay puzzles, and I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of the exact same collectible…the dev’s spiral logo. The Storyline—I have mixed feelings here. On the one hand, I am curious to know what happens after the demo. OTOH, I’m not thrilled that it’s yet another supernatural story with an artifact (the sword), a relative in trouble, and demonic creatures (the Nightcallers). Exploration—There was quite a lot of back-and-forth, and a seemingly endless number of little tasks that weren’t necessary. More creativity here would have been nice instead of the usual shovel to dig up something, bag with broken lock, boiling water to melt ice, and others like these. THE BAD The Repeating Puzzle—To use the sword, match two symbols with their outlines. It was the same every time, that is to say, it didn’t increase in difficulty. Symbols Everywhere—Or glyphs, if you prefer. In addition to the above mentioned repeating puzzle, there were a problem-solving, lock, and logic puzzles, plus a HO scene all involving various symbols. Can we think of another way to be mystical, please? THE HORRIBLE The Incessant Banners—I turned off “objectives,” but it didn’t seem to matter; I still got banners for them, plus more banners for achievements, clues, inventory objects…and their animation was lengthy and delayed the game annoyingly. Enough with the banners! The Frozen Mouse—Every time there was animation in the scene, I couldn’t click on anything until it was done. Another delay of game, and I wish I could hand out penalties. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (???? or better) • from this series: The Perfect Show SE, Child of the Forest CE, Hide and Seek CE, Deck of Fates CE • Beyond: Light Advent CE • from the Cadenza series: Music, Betrayal, and Death CE, Havana Nights CE • the entire Dark Realm series, except the finale • Dawn of Hope: Skyline Adventure CE • the entire Maze series • the entire Nevertales series BEST GAMES WITH THIS GENERAL THEME (???? or better) I would fill up a whole page of reviews if I attempted to list games with this general theme, there have been so many.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SAVE GRANDPA REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS The main game is about Kate to find and help Grandpa and the bonus is about Mordecai to find the Star's Tears to save his wife Marina. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Novice, Apprentice, Master, Champion and Swordsmith modes; * Interactive map; * 10 Achievements (some with 3 circles); * Find 32 swirls in game and bonus. The graphics are mainly pretty good. Some scenes are dark, but the majority of them you can see the items needed and to undertake tasks. Sound is good and I loved the different types of music - especially in the HOP games. The hidden object games are interactive silhouette and straightforward. Most of the HOPs take only a few minutes, but there were about 3 or 4 which take much longer. I never got the achievement for this because they were too long and time ran out to get 3 stars. So I mainly concentrated on getting 100% but only 1 star for these ones. Each HOP has a morphing object, so keep an eye out for them. I liked the mini-games. I've seen them all before but it was enjoyable doing them again. None of them are hard to do and you can get back to the game quickly. There are 32 swirls to find throughout the game and bonus. They are easy to spot and I made sure I grabbed it first in each scene before doing anything else. Get them all and you get an achievement and then you can do an Ultimate HOP at the end of the game. All up the game and bonus took me about 4 hours or so. I liked most of the game but I didn't much like having to find so many symbols. They're not fun to do. Overall, not a bad game to play. Its not to everyone's taste, so its probably better to trial before you buy.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The first two games in this series are my favorites.... BASED ON COMPLETED DEMO I'm starting to sound like a broken record that I prefer the older games in these series. It seems I'm not as antsy to buy the newer CE's these days for a few reasons- but due to storylines, mostly. I’ve listed some of my favorite storylines below- maybe it could help the dev. I wasn't even going to download this one due to the fact I disliked the last one so much and I'm done to death with black fantasy monsters that look like out of place cartoons in a scene. I bought and finished #1 The Perfect Show (though it’s lacking a map), and #2 Hide & Seek and highly recommend the CE’s to both of those instead of this one. What actually made me try this title, was reading the hilarious review by Granny_Gruff. I was just laughing so hard + laughed AGAIN while playing the demo; especially when my character decides to scale a 2 story wall TWICE with a messenger bag belt instead of catching the cab. There are several things I didn't like, mostly the logistics- but the storyline is out there too. I don't like how MHG split screens the comic book style cut scenes. They started doing it in the series Shadowplay #1. I also disliked the music in this title. The first two ROP actually have memorable tracks that I'm so glad I have the CE's to. The actual game play in this game did keep me going to the end of the demo- I liked the HOS & MG. I LOVED the voice actors; especially grandpa. The whole beginning of the game was really too dark imo. By the time you reach Grampa's cottage it gets better. I especially liked Chapter 3 and the beautiful waterfall scene. It took me 1hr 4min to finish this demo. I am a super fan of the horror genre but the cartoon- like fantasy monsters are just done to death and detract from a game that is supposed to feel spookier. I wouldn't consider the ROP series fantasy or horror genre either, when the series started, but somewhere in the middle. Not too dark, not too bright...with mystery. The best storylines I've played here at BFG are, that I wouldn’t mind seeing repeated with maps & portal hint systems: I truly hope this helps the DEV re: story ideas. 1. The Reincarnation Series- where you are reincarnated into different lives over separate chapter storylines + you fix those lifetimes. 2. Paranormal Pursuit: The gifted one/ You play as a little boy with telekinetic powers. 3. Mysteries of the Mind: Coma- You’re in a coma and must right wrongs in different storylines though chapters. 4. Redemption Cemetery # 1: The Raven. You are in a cemetery and go through a different storyline portal, per chapter, to reverse the outcome as to why someone is in the cemetery. 5. Time Mysteries, you get to time travel through different storyline chapters while visiting several places and time (not to mention the change of “time of day” during a game). 6. Maze: Subject 360 is probably my favorite in the horror genre. PERFECTLY DONE. I’m sure there some people that will like this game since we all have different opinions but I 100% agree with another veteran reviewer that mentions the red eyed demon or smoke monsters have to go. I do notice some games pick up after the demo. So I highly suggest you demo this game before buying it-- however the CE content is really lacking here too. This game will be a no buy for me on both fronts.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DITCH THE DEMONS, ADD SOME LIGHT TO THE HOPS AND YOU HAVE A 5-STAR GAME This will most likely be one of the shortest reviews I have ever submitted on a game. Others have described the storyline and all of the game’s features so there is no need for me to rehash those. However, what I do need to say is that I am absolutely, totally, and thoroughly sick of games that feature demons and monsters even if they are dressed up in a lovely shade of light purple. A demon, is a demon, is a demon! I am certain that very creative developers can come up with other themes for their games. Now that I have made it clear that I hate the subject matter of this Rite of Passage game I have one other pet peeve and that is the wretched HOPS in this game. Why do developers feel that it is necessary to make almost every HOP scene nothing more than dark heaps of junk in poorly lit rooms? These types of scenes are nothing more than an exercise in tedium and frustration for most gamers over the age of thirty and I even doubt that younger gamers would have fun searching through piles of rubble to find the items they need. Developers need to realize that many of us who love and PURCHASE HOPA games are over the age of forty. Yes there are younger fans of the genre but many of us have been members here at BFG for many, many years. I remember a time when HOP scenes were fun and items were far easier to identify and find. Judging by the recent rash of games that have been released by Big Fish Games, if this is the future of HOPA games, I think I will have to close my laptop and take up another hobby. The only enjoyable part of Rite of Passage the Sword and the Fury were the mini-games, some of which were excellent and fun to solve. I disliked the storyline that could have been so much better if the developer had worked a bit more on the theme and ditched the demons entirely. Honestly, I hate writing negative reviews but lately I don’t think that the games presented by some very qualified and excellent developers deserve more than one or two-stars for their games. I love HOPA games and I spend most of my entertainment budget on purchasing them here at BFG. If future games are more of the same then I can look forward to saving a lot of money. As for the Sword and the Fury, I think it should get lost in some gaming portal in a faraway land.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I hated this game and forced myself to play some of it I hated this game and forced myself to play some of it. As soon as I saw the monster and the runes, I wanted to exit from this boring game. The storyline, elements, monster and the HOP style have been done to death. Please hold a funeral for this gaming style so no other devs create another. Don't waste your time, if nothing new comes up in the first 15 minutes of a game. If I wanted to revisit an old game, I would do so without giving away any more of my hard-earned money.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Logic Has Died; The Nightcallers are the Pall Bearers! There is Kate, Grandpa, and demons called Nightcallers in the story. The story is a “save my family member” rehash so Kate will be saving Grandpa. There is a game with the usual game elements, including the odd little swirl that Madhead uses as a collectible and also morphing objects in the HOPs. The game may be scary, but I'm not sure about that. I spent the Demo being too appalled at the mistakes the Devs made to pay much attention to the pink smoke or the Nightcallers that appeared shortly after the smoke did! Logic is quickly wounded at the beginning of the demo. **Spoiler Alert** (I'm not sure if I'm spoiling anything, but just in case.) Kate is down in the subway station, watching the guy she came to meet fighting a Nightcaller. She walks behind him at the edge of the platform to get some glue and a rubber glove. She passes behind him again and crosses the train tracks to get a poster off the wall. There is broken glass around the poster. Does she use the rubber glove? Of course not. She pulls the huge shards of glass lose with her bare hands. Eventually the fight is over and the guy is down. Kate rifles a first aid box and finds smelling salts – st least that’s what the screen says after she picks them out of the stuff in the box, as only one of the other items was labeled. Eventually she hops on a train and a Nightcaller is hanging from the speeding train as she runs around the car playing puzzles. She fixes an electrical panel to open a door, to find a raging fire, puts out the fire to play a HOP, finds the Brake handle, and stops the car. Naturally she now has to fight the Nightcaller. This involves a child-like puzzle where you drag the outline of a rune figure across the screen till it covers the rune it matches. Do it twice and you win! (Possibly the booby prize.) Once she gets out of the Subway tunnels, she finds herself locked behind a gate as a taxi sent to pick her up waits outside in the street. This must be the time to climb a pipe using a purse strap. Jump down to fish a rusty saw out of the sewer. Clean the saw with the salt stolen from the guard shack in the enclosure and the handy cut lemon up on the AC unit at the second floor shuttered window next to the pipe. Now Kate vandalizes the park bench nearby, climbs back up the pipe, props the shutter up with the piece of wood from the bench, and plays a HOP for a set of lock picks. Back she goes to the guard shack and uses the lock picks on the safe/locker and gets the keys to the gate just in time to jump in the taxi. (Obviously the guard was not on duty as he must have locked himself out!) (Housekeeper’s note: Lemon juice and salt will scrub away a lot of things, but you need more than the lemon peel to scrub with.) She exits the taxi only to be sent into a nearby house to get a special book. Does she go in the house? Heck no. She has to run toward the dark forest, boil water, solve puzzles, and dig in the garden. Eventually she solves enough puzzles to get the pieces to the door puzzle to get inside. Upon entering, she finds the place a wreck. She quickly spots the book in a locked glass-front bookcase. She has quite a few puzzles to get through to get the multiple bits that will open the case. As she is searching to dramatic music, she finds pieces that let her into the attic. There's a HOP up there. She finds a diamond in the attic to cut the glass top on a display case to get pieces to other parts of the HOP up there. Does she trot downstairs and cut the glass front on the bookcase as quickly and easily as the display case? Does she throw any one of the dozens of objects on the floor at it? Heck no. She just keeps looking for those pieces for the lock. I dutifully finished the demo. Things did not get better. Logic died. I object to the demons, mostly because they looked so cartoon-like. I can't object to the story, as I must have more than a hundred games with a similar theme. I just expected some sense in a fabricated world, no matter how odd. The Rite of Passage Games have been a hit or miss proposition in the past and this one is no different. Please try the demo before you buy.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Predicable script with tons of repeating puzzles This game is very boring and features nothing new but fighting the evil. You can easily skip it without regrets.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So Disappointing The demo of the game started off so well. But soon after it devolved into a boring go-through-the-portal-into-another-world-and-find-stuff game, one with gigantic plot holes. It draaagged. I had to force myself to finish the main game, and I bailed halfway through the bonus chapter because I just didn't care anymore. Disappointing.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mini game after mini game Too much minigames that are same old, same old. Again the same collectible. Maybe they can think of something new for a change. This game might be interesting for people who are new in this series?
Date published: 2017-09-18
  • y_2020, m_1, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_27177, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: The Sword and the Fury Collector's Edition

Can you defeat dangerous creatures and find your grandfather in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.