Fear For Sale: The Curse of Whitefall Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Fear For Sale: The Curse of Whitefall Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(424.42 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

EleFun Games brings you the next chilling installment of the Fear for Sale series!

Paranormal occurrences are spooking the workers and halting construction at a hotel site in Alaska, so you’re sent to investigate. Things quickly turn dark as apparitions try to keep you away and you’re transported into the past! Nothing is as it seems in this old mining town. Can you keep history from repeating itself and save yourself in time? Find out in this haunting hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Research Whitefall’s dark past in the bonus chapter!
  • Tons of collectibles to find!
  • Can you earn all of the achievements?
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1626 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear For Sale: The Curse of Whitefall Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(424.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Fear For Sale: The Curse of Whitefall Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The dark past hunts you... You get to collect hand prints & morphing figures. Nothing too impressive really about this game and no component stand out, in my opinion. So just enjoy the ride!
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The fear is absent, but the storyline is excellent. SUMMARY Based on the demo, I found the storyline engaging and the exploration portion of the gameplay enjoyable. The HO scenes were varied and some were challenging. The game fell down a bit with the mini-games, which were too simple. THE AWESOME Stunning graphics and animation with a realistic palette. A collection of ten soundtracks—which varied among piano, guitar, strings, orchestral, and horns—kept my ears entertained. And even though the plot revolved around a ghost, I found the storyline different and am curious as to how it all ends. THE GOOD HO scenes were fairly decent overall, with presentations including interactive list, two types of zoom box searches (both inside and outside the zoom box), capitalized words in a narrative, and multiples of one object or type of object. While most of the items weren’t really hidden, quite a few were well-blended into the background. Exploration was not merely shaped keys and fixing broken stuff, but involved thinking through how to overcome an obstacle, which was a welcome change. THE MEDIOCRE The extras were just ok. Bonus chapter, strategy guide, performance achievements (with slide-in banners to notify you…ugh), morphing objects, collectible eye drawings, wallpapers, screensavers, concept art, and soundtracks. I’ll wait for the SE. THE BAD The mini-games were all easy and not at all innovative. They included sliding tokens around to match the background, matching the images on the map with those in the scene (basically matching pairs), rearrange photos to match the categories, follow a simple potion recipe, an easy logic puzzle to discern a lock’s combination, a maze with obstacles, and a series of varied jigsaws. THE HORRIBLE I dislike gimmicks, especially when they’re of the “wave the amulet over the scene to find hidden symbols” type. This is a time-waster that offers no challenge or enjoyment. And it really doesn’t matter how complex the runes, glyphs, or symbols are rendered, matching pairs is for children. The alternative to the HO scenes was…more jigsaw puzzles. Lastly, the loading screens in between every scene were annoying. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (✭✭✭✭ or better) • from this series: Nightmare Cinema, The 13 Keys • Mayan Prophecies: Ship of Spirits • Witches’ Legacy: The Charleston Curse, Hunter and the Hunted BEST GAMES WITH THIS GENERAL THEME I can’t describe the theme without spoiling the plot, IMO, so I won’t suggest other games.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The reviewer I thought this game was pretty good. The story line was unique. I would have enjoyed fewer mini-puzzles, but that seems to be the trend right now. I will play it a second time.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fear For Sale steps up to the mark! In recent years I have got bored with the series..graphics/storyline all seemed outdated. I was reluctant to play the demo, but was pleasantly surprised! Much better graphics and a few little new approaches, made for a much more interesting and enjoyable game.. Worth a purchase!
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time travel or dreams? Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others who do a much better job than I. Is my count off, or is this really #12 in this series! I like this series, but for some reason, I only have 10 of them. Amazing how quickly they pop these games out in this series. The graphics in this addition are very well done, very clear, and I didn't notice any blur when going in or out of close up scenes. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. Colors are quite nice, even though at times we have a little fading, but I think it goes along with the story line. Animation is very well done, with eye movements and all. The only draw back is that the characters don't actually "walk," they just sort of jump or float in and out of their movements. I really didn't notice much int he way of music, but we did have sound FX. Mostly, the sfx is wind when you are outside, and not much of anything when indoors. Seems we have the same voice for our heroine, which is still somewhat boring, no emotion, just reading a script. All other voices just seem to fit the character. There really isn't a lot of character interaction, but enough to keep you going. HOPs were highlighted words and interactive lists, but you could switch to a jigsaw puzzle if you got bored. Items were easy to find and the scenes were fairly clear. I much prefer the puzzles over a match 3 game any day. Puzzles weren't difficult at all, but some did have a bit of challenge. We didn't seem to have a lot of HOPs or puzzles in this one, but enough for a change from just the story. Hint system is very helpful, but it does not transport to longer locations. You can click back and forth, which is not a long distance anyway, or just use the jump map. Again, the map identifies the area with name and picture, as well as letting you know if you missed a collectible. It does not tell you if you missed a morphing item though. Strategy guide is the same as all other games. I use it mostly to see where I missed a collectible, if I can't find it on my own. The collectibles in this series are nice. For me, the more the merrier and the better I like the game. They are somewhat challenging in that the 20 eyes you need to find can be anywhere and easy to forget. You do have to find 33 morphing objects, which are a subtle morph and take about 7 seconds in and out. Unless I missed something, that is all we have in this addition. This game is not really challenging, but the story was easy to follow and was interesting enough to make me want to find out what is happening and why. I think all levels of players will find something fun and/or interesting about this game. When I beta tested this one a few months ago, I gave it a 4.5. I think I'll stick to that number. Yes, I am going to add this one to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very frustrating game Art work was well-done. Story line hung together well. Too many irritating issues to go into thoroughly. Biggest one is that any change of scene had to go through "loading", even in the same location. It's hard to figure out some of the actions to achieve objectives with puzzles (not jigsaw puzzles). Irritated by the constant use of storytelling "words" to find - should be half as many. Very few instructions for how to win interior games.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yet again! Another series that started out great but is, seemingly, being allowed to die a drawn out death. Loading of scenes became tortuous tedium. Side games were rather boring even when they presented a bit of challenge. Glad I caught this on sale as it would have been a total bust at CE price. I will recommend the game but only for beginners that wait for the regular edition.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from In Alaska for Fear For Sale Magizine The end credit song tells you what you need to know about the bonus chapter. I liked the main game but not the bonus chapter. I liked the story but had too many puzzles for my taste and a long load up in between scenes. I thought they should have a better indicator for the collectibles. I didn't enjoy the hops very much either. Too many story words that could be any thing, so frustrating and not as clear as a list would be. Didn't have enough bonus extras either. No Replays. There are clouds over my extra the collectible so can't use. The catacombs map took me 8 try's to get it. I liked the tracking female footsteps. They did have some interesting details like magnetic dog and pistol lighter.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fire, Lovers, Injustice, and One Hundred and Five Years Norm loves Olivia. Olivia's Daddy, the Sheriff of Whitefall, does not like Norm. Olivia is murdered. Fast forward one hundred and five years and Emma Roberts, our journalist from Fear For Sale magazine is on her way to investigate mysterious happenings at the site of a new resort hotel being built on the spot where Whitefall existed until it burned down in 1912. Emma is thwarted on every side as she gamely tries to get to work with little help from the local who seems to be the only one around when she arrives. Good stuff: All the usual game elements including a Puzzle alternative to the HOPs, collectibles, and CE bling. The VO's and animation were well done. Another mystery is afoot, with a little time travel thrown in for novelty. Bad stuff: The usual failed logic rears its head as you find pieces to a safe lock everywhere from a public fountain to an abandoned wagon in the woods, with the key hidden in plain sight. And you get to do odd stuff like making not one, but two sleeping potions just in the demo. Yawn. Bottom line: The time travel and story line may be enough to peak your interest. Try the demo and see if this one is for you.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THE GHOSTS OF A HAUNTING LOVE STORY COME TO LIFE IN THIS GAME OVERVIEW: Emma! You are off on another paranormal case for your ‘ragazine,’ “Fear for Sale.” A new hotel, built on the remains of a mining town, is now the sight of a ghost infestation. In this mining town, ‘dig’ up a few ghosts which have been buried under the dust of history. Return to 1912 to relive events in the past which contributed to the ghostly apparitions which continue to haunt this area. Relive a love relationship gone awry for Norm and Olivia when Norm is accused of Olivia’s murder. Blast into the past to investigate the story behind Norm, his beloved, Olivia, her father - the town sheriff, and Tobias, a spurned suitor. Norm insists he did not kill Oliva. Will you find enough evidence to vindicate him and discover Olivia’s true murderer? This game should appeal to those who love the paranormal. In my opinion this is a better game than most from this developer. There are NO helpers hiding in this game except for a gimmicky dreamcatcher which magically uncovers unseen runes. The story kept my interest. The graphics are better than in many of this developer’s games. There are the stop gaps between scenes which makes it seem rather dated. The pace is excellent with plenty of activities to keep the player busy. From the demo I was unable to assess all the collectibles and morphing objects. There are more HOP scenes than puzzles in the demo. Since I am a puzzle fan not interested in a HOP intense game, this will be a pass for me. The game may get better after the demo, but I do not want to purchase it to find out. HOP SCENES: If you love playing creative HOP scenes, you will love this game. You have the option to play a jigsaw puzzle in lieu of the scenes. The scenes are creatively designed. There is storybook scene with items in BOLD letters. You use the dreamcatcher to locate symbols hidden within the scene. There is also a scene which has the player searching for items which match up to patterns. There is also a search and replace scene. All the scenes are very well-done. PUZZLES: There are only five in the demo so it is difficult to ascertain the quality of the puzzles. However, I was not impressed with the ones provided. They are all easy. There is a logic problem in which you position symbols according to information contained in five statements. You use the dreamcatcher to pair up runes. There is a maze in which you choose items at three (3) crossroads to direct you toward the right path. This is more of a HOP scene than a puzzle. There is also a rotating rings puzzle to restore a picture and another matching puzzle. LEVELS: Casual, Normal, Hard, Custom Hints: 10 to 35 seconds Skips: 10 to 50 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 12 Achievements Magical Dreamcatcher which, when used, displays hidden runes within the scene. Collect many collectibles including masks and eyes and there are morphing objects to locate. 9 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art, 3 Screensavers, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: You have the option to play a jigsaw puzzle in lieu of the scenes. (A) Storybook. Locate items listed in BOLD letters. (B) Mini-HOP scene. Locate 5 miniature buildings and plants to place in a mock-up of a town. (C) Dreamcatcher scene. Using this “magical device” locate seven (7) symbols hidden within the mist. (E) Silhouette. Locate symbols in scenes from a journal. (F) List of items to complete a recipe. (G) Multiple step. (1) Patterns from the scene. Locate the items with the distinctive patterns on the swatches from the scene. (2) List of items. (H) Search and replace. Locate items and place them into the proper position. (H) List of items PUZZLES: They are all easy A. Logic problem. Based on a series of five (5) statements, ascertain the symbols and their positioning to open a lockbox. B. Matching puzzle. Slide figurines to match up with news articles on a bulletin board. C. Maze puzzle. Choose items at 3 crossroads to be directed to the right path. D. Matching puzzle. Using the dreamcatcher, match up symbols. E. Rotating rings puzzle. Rotate four rings to restore a picture. Moving one affects the others.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wow and not in a good way! What happened? Did the entire Dev Team quit or was fired? This is so unlike a Fear For Sale I'm totally shocked. The graphics are just standard and the game play is awful. I've always loved the Fear for Sale line of games. As usual I purchased it without a demo and boy and I sorry. It lacks the great graphics, story line and game play that has been a hallmark of the series. All I can say is buyer beware!!!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 1999 This is like something that slipped between the sofa cushions 1999 and just resurfaced. Poorly put together. Not up to standards for the producers.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from frustratingly slow and boring Why the ‘loading’ between scenes? It slows the game down and breaks continuity. It is not a particularly interesting game and I am glad I only played the demo. I think they should either can the FFS storylines or do a dramatic change in the design/scripting.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Complete let down for a Fear For Sale fan This game started with a very good intro and it drew me right into the game. I loved the ghosts popping out at unexpected times giving me the thrill I always enjoyed about this series. Then it went it went straight down hill from there. The loading on every scene, hidden object, or puzzle became very annoying. The dialogue was also very tedious. Having to click on the conversation to continue when they keep getting interrupted. Just make it a cut scene and don't put us through the agony of clicking continue. Maybe they did this to extend the time actually playing. I don't know. I couldn't finish the demo. To make a long story short. I got bored very quickly. This game is not up to the standards that I expect from this series. Might be great for a beginner, but not for me. This is only my opinion, so you may like it if you at least try it.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ANOTHER HO-HUM SEQUEL Fear for Sale the Curse of Whitefall is the tenth game in the series and as always you play the game as Emma Roberts an investigative journalist for Fear for Sale magazine. This time around Emma has been called to Alaska to investigate ghost sightings at the construction site for a new hotel. With all of her experience, surely she will be able to save the day! The game includes most of the bells and whistles that we expect to find in HOPA games here at BFG, but that being said I am a bit dismayed that a developer who is a favorite of mine is apparently a bit behind the times when it comes to keeping up with the newer technology. I dislike the delay between scenes where I get a black screen and a message that states “loading”. I have seen other gamers complain about this same issue so I am hoping that it will be fixed in the near future as I happen to find the delay very annoying and as a result will not purchase the game. There are 22 HOP scenes in the game I happen to think the HOP scenes are excellent and find them far more enjoyable than the puzzles. There are more puzzles than HOPS with 28 puzzles with most of them being quite easy. In fact the trend now is for easy breezy puzzles with most of them seeming to simply be thrown in probably because the specs from BFG require a certain amount of puzzles in each game. If you prefer the CE version of a game this one includes a lot of extra content with 20 collectibles and 33 morphing objects to spot throughout the game. As in other Fear for Sale games you have different ranks to earn based on your achievements and this game has a whopping 128 to earn. Other collectibles are the standard fare with Wallpapers, Concept Art, Music, Strategy Guide, and Bonus Game I love games from this developer and own all of the games in the Fear for Sale series. Most of the early games are excellent but as is the case with these endless sequels each new game seems far worse than the previous games. Of the early games in the series Nightmare Cinema remains my favorite. I mentioned above that I will not buy this game because of what I believe is a technical issue but even then I am not persuaded that the story is anything different from every other new game that I play at BFG. As much as I love HOPA games I am really becoming very tired of cookie-cutter games that are nothing more than an exercise in boredom. Unless the developers can come up with something fresh, I might be reaching the end of my love affair with HOPA games. For those of you who are new to playing HOPA games, I am certain that you will find the game more to your liking. As always, please try the demo to see if Fear for Sale the Curse of Whitefall is a game you will enjoy. Happy gaming!!
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Based on entire game and bonus game. I wish I could trade this game in for SE for this CE game! Just look at all the bad reviews...they said it all for me. Just plain awful...
Date published: 2017-10-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_27358, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear For Sale: The Curse of Whitefall Collector's Edition

Can you stop history from repeating itself?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.