Myths of the World: Behind the Veil Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Myths of the World: Behind the Veil Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(381.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment brings you the next thrilling installment of the Myths of the World series!

It’s Dia de los Muertos, and you’re heading home to celebrate! What starts as a happy reunion with your sister quickly turns dark as evil shadows start attacking locals! With your sister kidnapped, it's up to you to track down the evil spirits to save the town. Will you uncover their dark origins in time, or become the latest victim? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Continue your Underworld adventures in the bonus chapter!
  • Hunt for bonus collectibles and morphing objects!
  • Improve your skills with replayable HOPs and mini-games!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide.
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, videos, music, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 799 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Myths of the World: Behind the Veil Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(381.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Myths of the World: Behind the Veil Collector's Edition is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ¡Ay, caramba! Wish my Spanish was a bit more elaborate to describe my enjoyment of Myths of the World: Behind the Veil. Having been made redundant, we are going to celebrate Día de Muertos with family and friends. But, well, it’s a HOPA and soon enough we are in trouble because not everyone is happy with the festivities. Some elements in the story look very familiar: lovers that have been separated, someone trying to get a deal not crossing the line between life and death. The setting is beautifully done. I could smell the marigolds, feel the breeze on my face, sense the discomfort when the fiesta was interrupted. The story enfolds well enough. But as so often I wished for a diary where I could look up dialogues again. It’s a game, not a book, I can’t turn back a few pages. I relished most of the HO’s. In one, my ideas of jewellery collided with those of the makers of the game. Oh well ;) The mini games were well done, some took very interesting turns on familiar themes, as the one with the thorns in the Bonus Chapter. From former gaming experience you expect having to perform a certain task, then it’s all different. Of course not all were to my particular likings, but I enjoyed trying them. And, there is a Skip Button, it’s a game, not an exam. There were details I really loved: the Player Character makes notes on her hand. Haven't seen people doing this nowadays. The moment of shock when a snake curled up „my“ arm. Luckily it turned out to be helpful. Music in a game is very important to me. Some tunes were great, some were too soothing, too monotonous for my taste. But no deal braker, I turned the music down and listened to more spirited, sparkling sounds. Another issue: the final battle. I’m not a fan of them, I think they are not necessary. Let’s talk, find consensus, not fight! And Diego, our talking skull - never had the honour of working with one before - he was a bit lame, he could have been much cheekier in the few lines he had. The Bonus Chapter was stunningly beautiful, different, out of the current gaming world I’ve seen in a long time. I only wish it would be possible to play it again and again and again, simply brilliant! Outstanding! In a book I can go back and reread passages as often as I want. It would be great to be able to do this in a game as well. Other extras: will get the collectibles I’ve missed later on, will replay the HO’s and puzzles, souvenirs already gathered. Despite my personal reservations: congrats! The game is on my list of seasonal games.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The shadow harvesters are coming final score: 3,8 You get to collect hidden signs. What a colorful and joyful game. Although it interrupts the celebrations of the Calavera, the Night of the Dead, it's really fun. The music is bad and to some puzzles, the explanations aren't clear or enough. Apart from that, there are some unique puzzles, like the one with the folding suitcases in the end. A quite enjoyable game for a Sunday afternoon!
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Day of the Dead? Hello friends! As always, I review on the game play and seldom on the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. Graphics are very nice, very clear, but I did notice a "wave" over the face of our heroine in close ups. As always, there is some blurring in the close ups as well, which seems to be the norm lately with all the games. Colors are beautiful, bright and true. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo, and the scenes fit my large screen quite nicely. Voices are very well done, and are age and character appropriate. They even show emotion and not just someone reading a script. Music was soothing and not intrusive. Sound FX were nice and fit whatever scene or area you were in at the time. Animation is smooth and quite realistic. HOPs are varied, the scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. We do have morphing items in these HOPs, which I kept forgetting to look for. The HOPs seemed few and far between during the demo. Hopefully we will have more as the game progresses. You can switch to a match stones game, which is simply a match 3 game. Puzzles aren't difficult, although a couple took me longer than I expected them to. Don't know if it happens in every puzzle with multiple things to do, but in one puzzle, I was able to skip part without skipping the entire puzzle. That is a great feature for me. There is a jump map, but jumping was about all it was good for. When you click to open a picture in the map, it was a little blurry. The hint system is very helpful and it did transport to longer locations, which came in quite handy, since you do quite a lot of back tracking. Collectibles are a bit disappointing again. All we have are 35 signs, which look like multi-colored scorpions. These are not as easy to see as you think. They have done a pretty nice job of hiding and blending them into the scenery. Still would have been nice to have something else as well. This addition makes lucky number 13 in this series. I have all of the others, but not all are CE versions. This story reminded me a lot of the Cadenza series, which I love. Still, it is it's own story and is well done. The game is not really challenging, but it flows very well, so it is easy to follow and objectives are clear. The story was interesting enough to make me want to play it out and see where it goes. I think most levels of players will find this game worthy of a CE. Yes, I am going to add the CE to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful I was very impressed with the graphics/artwork in this game! Unfortunately I had a very hard time getting into it. I was very glad when I received the map. For some reason I couldn't find the flow and felt confused about what to do next through this demo. It could be because of the use of Spanish terms :) There were items I had never heard of and therefore left me a bit lost. I do feel that it finally started to pick up right when the trial ended. Would really like to see where it goes from there.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What was really behind the Veil I feel this game was all over the place, most of the time the story did not make sense,and I didn't understand what this story was all about. I feel the developers did not put enough into the story, even at the end I still didn't get it. This was more of a game than adventure, I was very disappointed in this game. Even though I will not recommend this game. I feel it is up to the players to make that decision
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Real Beauty with a Snail's pace At least when you had a missing zip you knew what to do when you found something to replace it. Have you heard the saying be careful what you wish for? For all the people who wished for some thing different in game play and the not expected this game is for you. So not expected that you constantly hit hint. The puzzles are so difficult and hard I skipped them. Some you have to skip 3 or 4 times because they repeat in a harder sequence. Even with the guide, I have no desire to touch them. I won't use the 21 replayable mini-games. I did like looking at this game. It's just Beautiful. I like learning about another culture. Some complain about the Marigold wreath and the sugar skull but I learned something I didn't know before. The Music is great. Loved the small amount of Hops with some having Morphs (11) and collecting 35 signs that look like a painted and embellished scorpion. Some of them easy and some hard, like in a dark place. But you can go back and get them if you don't find all of them. They need a better indicator. I'm not counting the different scenes and that is the only way the numbered indicator would work. Just about every other game maker does this better. Eipix step it up! Eipix you do have some of them beat by having a way to pick up the collectible you miss after game play. When I clicked on bonus content I was so happy that you have a lot of things I like. Video being a big one. Souvenirs are fun for me too but with only 15, I think you cut back. The Beautiful Hops are Great. Maybe just a little too hard. They should have them in the guide. I keep clicking and a giant skull would cover the scene. Talk about old school. I kept doing it to entertain myself. I would like all of your Beautiful Hops to increase with more morphs and delete all the puzzles. Maybe keep stacking the hats. The game play is so slow. So much like running up hill and not getting any place. I regret buying this yesterday when I was playing but when I finished the bonus chapter today I'm happy I have it. I learned about I culture I knew nothing about. It's very Beautiful. The Hops are Great. I will replay the Hops. 10 Video, Achievements, Souvenir Room with 15 finds, 6 Music, Skipping Stones (Connect 3 or more) In pictures you have 8 Wallpapers and 8 Concept Art in black and white. Replay 14 Hops and 21 mini-games.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Isn't this identical to another game Just started playing and already recognize this to be the exact same scenery from another game with same type storyline, and in fact I am doing exactly what I had to do in the beginning of the other game. I wish I could remember the name of that game, which was also a CE. Does anyone else remember or notice what I have. But in that other game I was to pick flowers for the wreath, go in and make a sugar skull and was told not to forget to ring the bell for the boat man. It's identical to that other game. Feels like they just stuck another title to it and recycled it. Will give an updated review when I am done.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Improvement in gameplay, slowly-moving storyline. SUMMARY…Based on the demo, Eipix has improved its gameplay, offering some new puzzles and actually hiding some objects in the HOs. It’s a shame that the storyline moves so slowly. I found it difficult to remain immersed, given the lack of plot for most of the demo. WHAT WAS GOOD…The production. I’m glad to see Eipix has returned to its high-quality production, compared to their last release. The palette was beautifully colorful without being gaudy. The scenes had good depth of field, and the animation was done well. A variety of music keeps your ears entertained. The extras. Bonus chapter about the Underworld, performance achievements, the strategy guide, and 35 collectible “signs” which look like stylized scorpions decorated in the Mayan style. Replay HO scenes, puzzles, and skipping stones. Souvenir room. Downloadable music, pictures, and videos. WHAT WAS “MEH”…The challenge level. Easy to medium. The HO scenes. Lots of improvement here. Many of the items were actually hidden, and a few were difficult to spot. Presentations were either multi-level or included a puzzle, sometimes both. The puzzles. I was happy to see some original puzzles, and some challenging ones. But the first two were throwaways: a serial opening of drawers that required moving between screens to match keys to their locks (just time-consuming) and choosing the correct link of the pendant (which was random). But there was a nice multi-level puzzle: 1. Sort of a find the differences. Move the columns to choose only one of each piece of the pendant, without duplicates. 2. Logic. Swap the soldiers and tribesmen so that each sword is defended by a shield. 3. Dexterity. Match the shadows’ symbols to repel them. And I enjoyed the “match the connected line to the pattern” puzzle, and wish there had been multiple levels. WHAT WAS BAD…The storyline. Don’t get me wrong; I loved the theme. But this storyline didn’t really explore the Dia de los Muertos themes, other than using it as a vehicle for a basic “good versus Death” plot. And it crawled. There was no motivation to hurry, and the specters were not at all frightening. CONCLUSION…I might pick it up as a DD, solely because I feel Eipix took giant steps away from their usual cookie cutter offering in gameplay. Since I’m rating this in the middle of the scale, I’ll recommend that you try the demo. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV (???? or better) • from this series—Black Rose (2014) • other game series—Amaranthine Voyage: The Living Mountain (2014), The Shadow of Torment (2014), Winter Neverending (2016); Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree (2016), Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow (2017) • one-off games—Off the Record: Linden Shades (2013), Saga of the Nine Worlds: The Gathering (2017), Sea of Lies: Mutiny of the Heart (2014) BEST GAMES IN THIS STORY GENRE (Good versus Death) • game series—Redemption Cemetery: Salvation of the Lost, Clock of Fate • one-off games—Calavera: Day of the Dead, MCF: The Black Veil
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IF THE DEAD COULD SPEAK...... THEY MIGHT JUST HAVE A MYTH TO DISPEL! Unlike yesterday's incredibly creative game, Behind the Veil won't overload your cerebral cortex, however, the occipital lobe is a whole different matter. I don't recall any Eipix game having such bright, beautifully vivid graphics. (perhaps my hippocampus needs some neuron stimulation) This is a very short demo too, I still had a half hour left on the demo clock! I have to give these developer's credit, where credit is due. I think they are finally beginning to realize that we are no longer content to accept cookie cutter, sub par games, that are being released at a breakneck speed, with minimal attention being paid to the details, and with repetitive story lines that barely have a plot. In the past, it was difficult to tell one series from another offered by this dev, but the tides are turning, and it's clear to see they are trying to see what works and what doesn't. I think they are getting there, improving the graphics is a great start, but I think they are having difficulty leaping over the hurdle to create a different kind of "bad guy." This game had promise, but in the end, it's just another floating spirit seeking revenge. In my opinion, the "bad guy" should never be revealed during the demo. Instead, the villain's character should be mysterious, and the plot should thicken just before the end of the demo, we should be left saying "I've got to find out who or what is responsible!" Myths of the World has another myth to unveil, a death defying myth, that you cannot die if there is no Death to claim your soul! A myth that begins to unveil on the island of Alma, as they prepare for The Day of the Dead celebration. But this celebration won't be very festive, when the dead are uninvited! Oh no! We have yet another otherworldly gadget at our disposal, the Xolotl Blade, powered by the Lapis Stone, which, you guessed it, needs replaced and recharged after each and every use! We also get to search for those Hidden Signs, the same offered in all the games by this dev, it would be nice if this feature was tweaked, at least once in a while. This CE version also has the standard Eipix feature of only offering the Morphing Objects within the HOP's, a feature I love, just not when they are offered only in the HOP's! Some of the Hidden Object Scenes are actually quite good. I particularly liked the stone disk HOP where you had to rotate the disks to align the different pictures shown. There are also Listed Item finds, Multiples of the same type of Item finds, and even smaller Zoom Zone HOP's with Silhouetted Shape finds. There is a Morphing Object available within most of the HOP's and there is an alternate Skipping Stones Match 3 type game to play as an alternate. The Mini Games are average and lean towards Easy to Medium difficulty. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Match the keys with the correct keyholes based on the shape of the handle, using directional arrows to move between locks. 2) Follow directions on a recipe. 3) Display the pendant parts that make up the full pendant, select red buttons to scroll through the pieces without duplicating displayed pieces. 4) Arrange the soldiers and tribesmen in combat so that a shield is always blocking a sword, by swapping tiles. 5) Select the correct symbol for each shadow fisherman to push them away from the prince. 6) Match the fruits with their corresponding plates. 7) Move token along the grid to make their lines overlap with the pattern drawn in the background. 8) Destroy all of the connections between the knots by selecting only 3 knots. 9) Stack all of the sombreros together starting with the largest and ending with the smallest. MYTHS OF THE WORLD GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Chinese Healer (January 29-2013) 4.3 2-Stolen Spring (November 6-2013) 3.6 3-Spirit Wolf (January 23-2014) 4.2 4-Of Friends and Fairies (June 7-2014) 4.1 5-Black Rose (October 25-2014) 4.3 6-The Heart of Desolation (April 11-2015) 4.2 7-The Whispering Marsh (September 3-2015) 4.2 8-Born of Clay and Fire (March 10-2016) 4.1 9-Island of Forgotten Evil (August 18-2016) 3.4 10-Bound by the Stone (December 17-2016) 3.0 11-The Black Sun (March 18-2017) 3.2 12-Fire of Olympus (July 6-2017) 2.9 13-Behind the Veil (November 11-2017) n/a This Collector's Edition has 8 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 9 Music Soundtracks, 18 Movie Videos, 21 re-playable Mini Games, alternate re-playable Skipping Stones games, 14 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 14 HOP Morphing Objects, a Souvenir Room, 13 Achievements to earn, 35 (not so) Hidden Signs to collect, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Behind what veil ? This is only based on the Demo which was actually quite short in comparison to other games produced by Eipix The storyline centres around Calavera The day of the dead celebrated in Mexico A time to remember lost loved ones .Part of me wished the game had been lost as well. Although the game looked wonderful the story line was not that good, It ran along the formula used in a lot of the many previous games Eipix have produced .No sooner have we arrived home but warning signs thing are not as they should be . Not that anything actually happens till we leave for the Island of Alma. Then it could have been interchangeable with other storylines from other games It wasn't terrible it was just ok The mini games were varied ,the HOP's were better than expected But something was just missing .Maybe producing a huge amount of games in a very short space of time is beginning to show Please try it your self but for me its going to be a no thank you!
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 3rd Time is the Charm?? This is the third review I have submitted for this game....(and I bet it won't get posted, either!) The number of stars I gave the game really gives my opinion...(and I am tired of typing out the details, just to have review trashed.) As always, try the demo for yourself!!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ~~R.I.P MYTHS OF THE WORLD AFTER 12 EDITIONS IN THE SERIES!~~ I used to be such big fans of the Myths of the World; thus, I had high expectations for this new installment. Unfortunately, I was left with nothing but disappointment by the end of this game. In fact, this game was such a snooze-fest to us that I did not care to even try to properly follow the plot. The storyline develops at a snail pace, the characters lack motivation and depth, and the whole theme of the game just turns out to be very dull. The fact that the production in this game is one of Eipix’s worst also does more harm than good to the already-abysmal game. The graphics are sparse and lack the amount of details Eipix usually excels at. Shifting the focus to the audio side, things seem to fair a little better. The game keeps its background music to a minimal, which is certainly not a bad thing – but considering how boring the game is, a louder music might be more appropriate. As for the voice-overs, they are professionally done, nothing outstanding. Sadly, Myths of the World: Bound by the Stone is no place for creativity either. As an avid HOPA fan, I found the adventure part of the game to be very tedious, pointless, and again, boring. There is nothing in the game that I have not seen before. It may be time to retire this series. Cheers! Myths of the World Series •Myths of the World: Chinese Healer •Myths of the World: Stolen Spring •Myths of the World: Spirit Wolf •Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies •Myths of the World: Black Rose •Myths of the World: The Heart of Desolation •Myths of the World: The Whispering Marsh •Myths of the World: Born of Clay and Fire •Myths of the World: Bound by the Stone •Myths of the World: The Black Sun •Myths of the World: Fire of Olympus •Myths of the World: Behind the Veil
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of time and money It felt like a chore to play this game. I do not recommend it.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Siesta - not fiesta I usually love the Myth of the World series but I lost interest right after arriving at the fiesta. It was just a clunky game.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from La Muerte No Es El Final Del Dolor I've been studying Spanish and I felt the headline to a game about a Mexican Myth should be expressed in the language. It translates to: "Death is not an end to the Pain." So your sister sends you a postcard welcoming you home in time for the Day of the Dead Festival after you have lost your job. You arrive to find you are expected to work your stay off by making decorations for the fiesta such as a marigold wreath and a decoratively painted sugar skull. Having completed your tasks, you hop in a fisherman's boat and are almost capsized in the lake on the way to the island where the festival will occur. Luckily you plug the hole, help bail, and arrive at the island in time to see demons descend on the populace. Good stuff: There are HOPs, mini-games/puzzles, colorful artwork, collectible scorpions, and assorted CE bling. Bad stuff: My usual gripe about the logic: Your sister sent a postcard, not a letter. She greeted you already dressed for the festival. As soon as you decorate a wreath with marigolds, she leaves you to work out the sugar skull and takes a boat to the island. You walk inside and have to repair the amulet out of your suitcase. She had given it to you before you left home. You need to use it to open a diary that has been at the house all the while you were gone. Naturally a replacement piece is waiting on a shelf for you. The good news is the recipe for the sugar skull is in that book. If you hadn't come home with the amulet, the festival would have been a bust! By the time I had greased something with hand cream, used a diorama wheel for a heavy cart, and blown a door open with the insides of a large firework wrapped in paper, I was ready to run from the slowly moving story that had actually not told me what was going on! There was a puzzle diorama that told a story about an Aztec Princess and her Prince. They are both now dead and, in theory, reunite for the one night of this festival. But that does not help with the current crisis. The demon soul fishers are taking the locals. There seems no connection between the Aztecs, the opening animation of a figure that wants to eliminate death, and the rapidly dwindling population trying to celebrate the Day of the Dead. Since there seemed no reason to continue, I was quite relieved when the Demo ended so quickly and I could move on. If I have to choose between Eipix's more usual dark artwork and a good story, versus bright artwork and an MIA story, I would pick the dark. At least a coherent story might put some sense into this muddle. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best of the Myths of the World I only played the demo and found it a little dull, repetitive and just not fun. I think they have tried to re-create their earlier renditions by hashing together this story. The scenes where they 'tell the story' move at a snails pace and are just frustrating. Glad I did not buy it
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't skip I got stuck trying to spin circles and find the images that were located at the bottom of the puzzle. I couldn't figure out the method. Not only was this bad on my eyes, but it was no fun, and it couldn't be skipped. I can't continue the game because of this boring puzzle. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This myth should stay hidden behind the veil While the storyline and music weren't too bad the rest of the game was ridiculous!! Too many mini games and hops overwhelmed the rest of the storyline. No consistency was to be found. Another fail for this series.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HIDING BEHIND THE VEIL OF THE DEMO IS THE FIASCO I PURCHASED REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME – Time: 4 Hours 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 36 Pages OVERVIEW: Can I get my money back? ¡Feliz Día de los Muertos! (Happy Day of the Dead!) - except for me! Yes, I purchased this game and then regretted it! Prepare for a game loosely based on an annual Mexican festival, held on November 2. I love Mexican culture and collect Day of the Dead artwork. I was excited to play this game! I purchased it based on the well-crafted demo. The graphics are incredibly beautiful and truly reflect the heritage of this country. However, after the demo, the mask came off and I soon found myself wondering where the wonderful game went. If I burn copal, is it possible, the spiritual essence of the game might return? What happened to the promising start to this game? I guess it returned to the Underworld, because out popped one of the worst games I have played this year. The well-crafted puzzles left as did the beautifully constructed HOP scenes. The pace slowed down to a snail’s crawl. You collect the same signs as seen in other games. There are the usual morphing objects within the HOP scenes. You can replay puzzles and HOP scenes. Although it is a SHORT GAME, by the time the main game was finished, I was ready for it to be over. ¡CARAMBA! LOS GIMMICKOS: Did EIPIX go to a Mexican flea market in search of gimmicks? It appears EIPIX decided to throw in a new gimmick for almost every chapter. Throughout the game you use a special knife, the Xolotl knife which will be used to cut through the net cast by the Shadow Fishermen. This would be sufficient; however, EIPIX threw others into the mix. In one chapter you get a gimmicky mirror. Another chapter includes a talking skull. You also get a gimmicky hourglass to accompany you through the bonus chapter. DIEGO THE TALKING SKULL HELPER. EIPIX has never had helpers within their games -until now. Throughout one whole chapter you get the services of Diego, a chatting skull with a horrible Spanish accent. He talks incessantly, and you will need to use him excessively throughout this chapter. By the end of the chapter I was searching for a sarape to stuff into his big bony mouth. He also makes a farewell appearance at the end of the main game. BONUS GAME – In the bonus game, you will need to return the island of Alma back to its original state. That will be quite a job. I have not played the complete chapter, nor do I intend to do so. Upon site of a gimmicky hourglass used within this chapter, I declined Death’s offer. STORY: What price would you pay to have your beloved returned to your life – or death? In this game you will discover love may come with a painful price, destroying everything in its path. Play Elena who has just lost her job and returned to Alma (soul in Spanish), an island off the coast of Mexico. She returns just as the festivities for Day of the Dead are beginning in her home town. However, something has gone awry as the veil between the worlds of the living and dead has been breached. Now, you, as Elena, must help La Muerta (Death) restore order. The Shadow Fishermen have been unleashed, destroying everything in their path. Be careful! Instead of a picnic in a cemetery (traditional for the holiday), you may end up as a tasty “taco pescado - grande” (big fish taco). If you do a good job Elena, you might end up in a new career as well. HOP SCENES: There are fifteen (15) in the main game. Some are well-designed, and some are not. They are thematic using items associated with this holiday including an Aztec Calendar, calavera (skull), and Maya runes. Most are silhouette items and lists of items. There is one scene with rebus clues and, of course, what would an EIPIX game be without their signature HOP scene? Surprisingly there is only ONE Storybook scene. You can also play a Skipping Stones game in lieu of the scene. PUZZLES: There are twenty-three (23) puzzles in the main game. The puzzles in the demo are creative. After the demo, they are poorly constructed. AGAIN, THERE IS A LACK OF ADEQUATE INSTRUCTIONS FOR SOME OF THE PUZZLES. There is also a Xolotl knife puzzle, which is used every time you must use the knife. Here is a sampling of puzzles from the game. A. Xolotl Knife puzzle. This is a variation of a rope puzzle. You must maneuver tokens onto an underlying design so the tokens, ropes and underlying design intermesh. It increases in difficulty as you proceed in the game. B. Mexican Hat Dance! Sequence puzzle. Pick up and absorb a myriad of sombreros until only one sombrero remains. C. Ye old fence/gate puzzle. Using five lines, separate a rock into sections so that two different symbols are within each section. D. Physical puzzle. Using arrows center two dots so they center with dots of light within the scene. This puzzle was difficult to maneuver. Not well-designed. E. Physical puzzle. Move a lever up-and-down to create openings for a ball to move through freely. A waste of space! F. Snake charmer! Physical puzzle. Calm an ugly, scary snake by moving a token throughout a screen to calm it down? Poorly constructed puzzle. I had no idea what I was doing. I tried working with the token but gave up and skipped the puzzle. G. Logic Puzzle. Arrange tropical birds on perches according to given instructions. H. Is this the bridge to a better game? Tangram puzzle. Create a bridge by placing pieces of the bridge into the proper location so there are no gaps. I. Crossing the bridge to more of the same. Go across the completed bridge from the last puzzle by calculating your steps (from one to three steps) so you end up ending up at the end of the bridge with no final steps remaining. LEVELS: Easy, Medium, Hard, Custom Hint: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game Replay 14 HOP scenes and 21 Puzzles 13 Achievements (Some with 3 parts) Collect 35 Signs. 11 Morphing objects (Within the HOP scenes) 8 Wallpapers, 4 Concept Art, Video, Music,
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Believe the bad reviews An avid fan of this series, I decided to give it a go and not believe the naysayers. All I have to say is that it was a good thing it was a freebie. Horrible story line, terrible mini-games, bad characters, the list goes on....This game was so awful that I used the skip function on everything I could in the last two sections just to get through the game because I wanted the pain to end. Don't waste your money or your time.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One star is too many I wish I had heeded the 3 star rating when I bought this game. It was horrible! Very confusing and hard to follow. Story line is silly. I didn't finish, just deleted.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry I bought it I've been with BF a long time. I normally don't review games; but I have to say I HATE this one. Good thing it was on sale. I couldn't even bring myself to finish it...which I never do. Waste of time and money.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deleted in About 15 Minutes This game is mostly a disaster. I'm not sure what is going on with Eipix these days. Their games keep getting shorter and the overall quality keeps falling. I unfortunately bought this mess, but I didn't play for more than 15 minutes before uninstalling it.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bait and switch I've never really been sold on the Myths of the World series but I decided to buy this game because I enjoyed the demo. When the demo was over however, the enjoyment was over. I have never been so totally angry with myself for buying a game. I've been disappointed before but never this mad. I have never been angry over spending money on a game I may not have liked because I've always had the attitude that it was my choice to buy it. In this case, the demo seemed like a bait and switch scam. It sucks you in then afterward, the game deteriorates into a jumble of mind numbing mini games and ridiculous tasks that do not seem to have logic for completing them. No amount of colorful graphics and CE bling can make up for the frustration you encounter playing this game. If you want to play a game in which you must press the hint button repeatedly, this one will delight you. I stayed confused on where to go and what to do most of the time. This is unusual for me. I have not finished the game and do not plan to finish it. I gave up after encountering the idea of herding birds together in the third realm. This game is a total waste. I don't think those 5 star reviewers played the same game I did. I have played hundreds of these games over six years and have never encountered a game which I totally dislike until now.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Full of Junk This game is full of useless junk, as are many of the games out today, that have nothing to do with the story line--from decorating wreaths to bailing water out of a boat, to boring, long, drawn out mini games. The story line is boring and full of things to get, mix and assemble. No fear factor here, just a host of useless stuff to do, over and over again. OH, and let's not forget this is a Collector's Edition, so find the 35 scorpions that are blended into the scenery. Ugh! Really! The boredom is real. I'll pass on this one.
Date published: 2017-11-11
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_27508, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Myths of the World: Behind the Veil Collector's Edition

Can you save your sister on the Day of the Dead?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.