Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Morella Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Morella Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Amax Interactive, the creators of Spirits of Mystery and Grim Façade, proudly bring you the next game in the best-selling Dark Tales series!

The McDougall family has disappeared in their own home, and the police are too frightened to investigate. They believe all the legends surrounding the infamous house, known by locals as the Devourer of Souls. With all these supernatural phenomena, missing people, shadows, and disembodied screams, it’s up to you, and your faithful friend Dupin, to track down the McDougalls and find out what really lies within the walls of the house. Are you brave enough to explore the Devourer of Souls? Find out in this spine-chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Delve deeper into the macabre backstory in the bonus game.
  • Collect fortune cookies and enjoy an array of delectable delights!
  • Locate portraits of extraordinary ladies and unveil their significance.
  • Earn achievements and never get lost with the strategy guide.
  • Enjoy wallpapers, music, concept art, and replayable HOPs and mini-games.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 958 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Morella Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Morella Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 19.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Old, Same Old... Dark Tales had started out as a wonderful series, but I'm afraid it has gone downhill in the last few games. Oh, the graphics are wonderful, as always; and it's always wonderful to hear that old, familiar Dark Tales theme music. It was also great to have our old Dupin "back" again. The devs seemed to have been "experimenting" with new voices, getting one bad one after another. But, apparently, they "saw the light" and went back to the old voice - or so it sounds like, since they sadly never do give us the names of the voice actors in the Credits... A real pity considering it's those actors that actually bring the characters to life, so to speak, in the first place. At any rate, it *was* good to have this particular voice actor for Dupin. Unfortunately, however, the storyline is a real dud. For one thing, it is given to us in pieces - sometimes through dialog, which is good; but at other times, through HOP scenes, which is really distracting from the puzzle itself. But aside from the piecemeal problem, the story is neither original nor even very interesting. We have seen this story in just so *many* BF games themselves: family moves into a new house, a demon takes over one or more members and threatens the rest of the family, and we then have to somehow exorcise that demon and save the family. As I said, same old, same old... Frankly, I find it hard to believe that Edgar Allan Poe would have written such a time-worn, formulaic story. The devs just didn't do a good job of converting the story to a game ... In addition to a dull storyline, the game does not have very good puzzles. The HOP scenes and puzzles (even in the Hard mode within the Hard mode!) are neither very challenging nor really interesting. Oh, there were a couple of puzzles that I "kind of" liked; but you wouldn't want to buy a whole game for just a couple of fun puzzles anyway. Finally, the Achievements are all pretty silly. In fact, you get many of them by just playing the game! In other words, they are just part of the storyline. But the others are not challenging either. I actually liked the Dark Tales series better when there were NO achievements at all. You could then just enjoy the story and the game, without having to worry about all these "extraneous" things. But then, as I said, there is not much of a story here either. In short, if you like to play a game that requires little or no imagination or mental challenge, playing just for the sake of the graphics, background music, and Dupin's handsome face, then you might like this game. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend this game at all.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Want to be immortal? Find out how in this game. I have never been enthused by the Dark Tales series because of the tedium and boredom which comes from the over used graphics, HOs and mini games. How many more Edgar Allen Poe stories are they going to corrupt in this series? This one does not disappoint in tedium and boredom. It has them all. I didn't come away with a hatred of the game, I simply felt nothing about it one way or another. If you like continuity in graphics, story, HOs, etc in a series, this is your cup of tea. The lovely Morella is featured in this game of good vs evil. But which Morella are we dealing with here? It seems she and her husband found the way to immortality by possession of younger bodies. Unfortunately for her husband who was tired of immortality, she had to get rid of him. And, unfortunately for you, you have been zapped by the Amulet. If you like this series, wait for the SE because there is nothing about the CE which places it in the must buy category.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing...again! Hi friends! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to those who do a much better job than I. Been recouping from knee surgery, so trying to catch up now. We have yet another addition to this series. I don't have all the games in this series, but what I do have I liked. Dupin is back, and for some reason, has very piercing blue eyes. Sort of creepy at first. The graphics are very nice and colors are clear and true. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and it fit my large screen. Animation was fairly nice and smooth, with very nice mouth movements when speaking. Voices were the same as in the other games, but again, we do not speak. We have to read our dialog, which is not one of my favorite things to do in a game. Seems to make the game move quite slowly. Music was okay. Sound FX weren't too bad, but still not much. HOPs are very few and far between again in this one. Items were not difficult to find and most of the scenes were fairly clear. HOPs are varied, with some very interactive lists and straight lists so far. I did not see that we could switch to anything else, which would have been nice. Some puzzles did have a little challenge, but still were not difficult to complete, just a little more time consuming. One puzzle I just do not care for is the "follow the line." It isn't fun for me and often frustrating. Hint system would often say "I must press on," rather than actually give us a hint. I did not see a transport feature during the demo. There is a lot of back tracking, so this feature would have been nice. The map was okay, but only helpful for jumping to a location. Collectibles were okay, but not much. We have to find 60 fortune cookies that are holding a jigsaw puzzle piece. These are often small and easy to miss, so be on the lookout for them. Sometimes, a scene has more than one. Definitely could have used a bit more, unless I missed something. Poe is one of my favorites, but not sticking to a story line does bother me a bit. If you are going to use a Poe title, use the Poe story. This story did nothing for me and I found myself wanting the demo to end. Fortunately, it was a short one. I found this one to be quite disappointing. It is not a bad game and one that I am sure some will like, but I do not feel this is CE worthy at all, so no buy for me. I will give the SE version a try when it comes out. Quite often, I find that the SE version makes a much better game. I will recommend this for beginners only. As always, give this one a try and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worth to play through, but that´s about it It is a nice game with challenges and some mind benders but I am sad to say that this game is (in my opinion) the worst Dark Tales game. It felt very forced and it didn't get me excited to keep playing. It didn't have the Poe feel. It gets too much weird and (modern) supernatural. Those fortune cookies blew the excitement away.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MORELLA DE VIL, MORELLA DE VIL, IF SHE DOESN'T SCARE YOU NO EVIL THING WILL Apparently I have been too critical of these games lately because everyone else seems to love them, but this game is no different than the last 11 games in the series. Nothing changes, same graphics, same sights and sounds, same tasks, same puzzle and HOP styles, and basically the same storyline. For the life of me, I can't differentiate one charter from another, other than Detective Dupin! Louisa looks no different than Marie Roget, or any main character, Mark looks no different than any other male character either. The only reason Lilly looks different is because she has black eyes, and Dark Tales rarely features kids in their games, but I'm confident the next child will have red hair and braids! I knew the second I freed Mark, that I was going to need to whip up an ointment for bandages, and didn't I have to free the last female character from a giant water tank, the same character that had an incurable "condition" just like Louisa? Do all women in EAP's novels have an untreatable illness? Do all of the manors have evil spirits? Are all Amulets/Medallions evil spiritually connected? Do all evil spirits have the same M.O of binding doors with thick vines? Do all statues, doors, mirrors, drawers, mailboxes, and picture frames require an emblem to access them, emblems that are ALWAYS missing. Have all evil spirits been banished, they apparently don't exist in the 1900's, because all Dark Tales seem to take place in 1840. These poor people, not only are they burdened with having to solve a puzzle just to enter the next room, but they always get trapped by their own devices! I will admit that the Collector's Edition Fortune Cookies that encase a Jigsaw Puzzle Piece is much more creative than trying to hide a puzzle piece, that always sticks out like a sore thumb, however, the jigsaw puzzle itself is far too easy. Why do they have to show the outlines, can't they at least give you an Easy/Hard difficulty mode? As far as a Collector's Edition version goes, just offering puzzle pieces is pretty lame, and certainly not worthy of the CE price tag. At least offer Morphs or some other feature, is almost as if this game were from the 1800's. The Hidden Object Scenes are pretty basic too. Most of the HOP's require you to find Multiples of objects such as 12 Keys, 15 Pages, and one HOP was a simple Listed Item find without interactions! Well I guess I should be grateful that they no longer seem to be doubling up on the same scene, like they did in the 1700's! The Mini Games are okay, but very similar to all the other games available in Dark Tales, and I am grateful that I haven't had to use a Memory Device to catch flying orbs of lights! Some of the games are available in Casual or Hard difficulty modes. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Use wooden angled pieces to guide each ball into it's matching colored bowls at the bottom. 2) Position the symbols according to the clue, by moving them along the tracks to an empty space. Use directional arrows to rotate the rim. 3) Select the red buttons to rotate groups of valves until all valves turn green. 4) Use rotation and flip buttons on each wooden tree puzzle piece, and place correctly. 5) Select the correct symbols, one on the page, one on the field to match the symbols shown. 6) Click on pairs of matching symbols to reveal the secret area where the lines intersect. 7) Recreate the symbol shown by drawing lines on a honeycomb grid. DARK TALES: EDGAR ALLAN POE'S GAMES AVAILABLE: Title Collector's Edition Release Date Average Rating 1-Murder's In The Rue Morgue (December 17-2009) 3.7 2-The Black Cat (September 16-2010) 4.6 3-The Premature Burial (October 7-2011) 4.5 4-The Gold Bug (January 10-2013) 3.8 5-The Masque Of The Red Death (April 25-2013) 4.4 6-The Fall Of The House Of Usher (March 20-2014) 4.0 7-The Mystery of Marie Roget (February 19-2015) 4.1 8-The Tell-Tale Heart (November 14-2015) 2.7 9-Metzengerstein (July 21-2016) 3.4 10-The Raven (December 29-2016) 3.2 11-Lenore (August 10-2017) 2.8 12-Morella (December 16-2017) n/a This Collector's Edition has 10 Wallpapers, 13 Concept Art pictures, 6 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 10 re-playable Movie Videos, 6 Sweets to taste (whoopie) 7 Brave Ladies bios (bet they all have heart conditions) 60 hidden Fortune Cookies with Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces that allow you to assemble a Jigsaw Puzzle, 15 Achievements to earn, 17 re-playable Mini Games, 15 replayable Hidden Object Scenes (that's a whole lotta keys) a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed The storyline was weak and the HO's were boring. The games were something a kid could do, not challenging. I was hoping this would at least have a good story being it is based off of EAP, but, sadly, not. I gave two stars because I think a beginner or young person might like it.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Once Again, Apologies To E.A.P. For Abuse of a Dead Author! Luisa and Mark have moved into a house reputed to be the gateway to the dead. Their daughter, Lilly, has been possessed by evil spirits. The entire family has disappeared and local authorities have wimped out on their investigation. You have joined Dupin to enter the house and look for evidence of what happened. Any similarities between this game and E.A.P.'s short story, "Morella" begin and end with the name. Once again the Devs have played fast and loose with E.A.P.' s work with this unfortunate and now predictable result. Good stuff: This game has everything you would expect from a sub-par HO game. Bad news: It's a collectors edition with little bling and a minimal story that features game play that is a basic reproduction of bits and pieces of the earlier Dark Tales games. The characters, artwork, and progress through the game are all going to give you a wicked sense of deja vu. Please try the demo before committing to this turkey.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've never seen so many matching pairs in one game. OVERVIEW Based on the full demo, if you prefer games with minimal HO scenes and tons of repetitive mini-games, you might like this. I quit when faced with the 6th matching pairs mini-game. I know I sound like a Negative Nellie lately, but I'm really tired of cookie cutter games with stories that have been done a million times and gameplay that offers no challenge at all. STORYLINE In this 12th episode of Dark Tales, the McDougall family is trapped inside their house, which has a long and convoluted history. (I would totally buy a house that the locals had nicknamed "the Devourer of Souls," wouldn't you?) Mark's and Louisa's adopted daughter, Lilly, is possessed by a witch and creates all sorts of havoc. Once you free Lilly, it's not over, because now you must fight the witch's attempt to posses you. Whilst repeatedly saving Dupin from his own ineptitude. (Honestly, I'm not sure of the reason for his presence in these games; he seems to constantly get himself in trouble and he adds nothing to the storyline.) GAMEPLAY Lots of "broken zipper pull" style tasks and shaped keys. As usual, both the first aid kit AND the fire bucket of sand were locked up. Who does that? No one. Coin as screwdriver, vines and roots to clip, a fire to extinguish, etc. Completely predictable. HO SCENES • Find 12 keys, then randomly pick through them until you find the correct one. • Find 15 pages, all of which are in plain sight. • List with no interactions. • Same scene, interactive list. That's all, folks. Four HO scenes in an hour. MINI-GAMES Only 2 of the mini-games were actually interesting: • Place wooden pieces onto the grid to guide four balls to their matching dishes. If you make a mistake, you have to start over, so this actually required some strategy and critical thinking. • Copy the symbol arrangement: Move symbols along the lines, rotating the rim as needed. Again, this one required some strategy, since you had to "unarrange" some of the pieces that were already in the right place in order to move other pieces. The rest of the mini-games included SIX versions of matching pairs, THREE "copy the clue that's right in front of you," TWO jigsaw puzzles, ONE simple Simon Says, and a couple other extremely easy ones. PRODUCTION Production was a mixed bag. I thought the graphics and animation were terrific, but the music was monotonous and the voiceovers were awful. The adults had no affect, and Lilly's child's voice reminded me of a dog's squeaky toy. The creepy voice was good, though. ISSUES No technical difficulties on Mac OS 10.11.6. EXTRAS Bonus chapter that provides the backstory, achievements, strategy guide. Collect 60 fortune cookies, each of which contains (cringe) a jigsaw puzzle piece. There are 7 portraits of "extraordinary ladies," each with a biography. There are 6 "sweets" to taste. Replay 15 lackluster HOs and 17 simplistic mini-games. And the dev's portfolio includes 10 wallpapers, 6 screen savers, 5 downloadable soundtracks, 13 pieces of concept art, and 10 movies. CONCLUSION Matching pairs is a game for CHILDREN. Period. Devs really need to stop believing that matching pairs is a puzzle that's interesting to adults. I mean, when you're not playing computer games, do you ever whip out a deck of cards and play Concentration? No, because you're an adult. And while jigsaw puzzles can be done well, these were too easy. The only type of in-game jigsaw that offers a challenge is the type where all pieces are not accessible at the same time. IRL, adults are generally only interested in jigsaw puzzles of at least 1,000 pieces. And, let's be honest, aren't we all sick unto death of haunted houses and evil witches? I know I am. I have to say I'm baffled by the rave reviews from "expert" gamers. GAMES IN THIS SERIES Please see pennmom36's review; she kindly listed them all, including the dates of release and the average ratings. BEST GAMES BY THIS DEV • Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga (2012) • PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville (2009), Souls of the Innocent (2010), Return to Joyville (2012), The Price of Immortality (2015) • Redemption Cemetery: Salvation of the Lost (2013) Clock of Fate (2015)
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's time to end this worn-out dull series. The play-by-play has been well described by another reviewer, so I shall not duplicate that good effort. I have several of the Dark Tales games and, while none of them are exactly ‘barn burners,’ none was as dull and disappointing as this latest offering. The plot, as also noted by another reviewer, is a very thin repetition of what we have seen all too often in these games. Too, as I noted in my review of Dark Tales - Edgar Allan Poe's Lenore, apart from the name in the game’s title, there’s not really any connection to Poe’s work. When I play a game, as when I read a book or watch a play, character development is a large part of my enjoying that particular media. In this game, as in others, such development is mostly absent. It is impossible to empathize with the flat, cartoonish characters who inhabit this game. I really don’t care what happens to them. Nor am I moved to any real effort to ‘rescue’ them from the predicaments which, more often than not, they become embroiled through their own ineptness. From start to finish of the demo of this game, I was hard-pressed to continue. The necessary actions —find this, mix that, do this— were all too familiar, and worn out contrivances, to generate in me any sense of fun or accomplishment. The same can be said for the HO sequences. If you’ve read any of my previous reviews you already know that I am not a fan of CE games, so I’m not going to comment on the so-called extras. If you are an experienced HO-type gamer don’t even bother with the demo. If you’re new to these games, why not, go ahead, download and play the demo, then decide for yourself.
Date published: 2017-12-17
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_27590, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Morella Collector's Edition

Save a missing family from an infamous haunted house!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.