Medium Detective: Fright from the Past Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Medium Detective: Fright from the Past Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(391.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Deep Shadows presents a chilling new series in Medium Detective: Fright from the Past!

When a strange series of murders is linked to an old folktale, you’re called in to investigate. Your ability to see into the past will be crucial in stopping a dangerous entity from getting its vengeance and destroying the town. Do you have what it takes to uncover the dark origins of the “Man of Shadows” in time, or will you become his next victim? Find out in this spine-tingling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Solve another thrilling mystery in the bonus game!
  • Wallpapers, concept art and music available!
  • Dozens of in-game collectibles!
  • Try the in-game strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 844 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Medium Detective: Fright from the Past Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(391.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Medium Detective: Fright from the Past Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 18.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can we expect better games from this new series? Do not put your hopes in this new series becoming the dawn of a stellar future in games. There is nothing in it that promises a good future for this series. To make it good, you would have to check your brain at the door and accept all the usual campy trappings we experience with most of the games offered on Big Fish. If you accept the fact that a 1940's car existed in 1905, you will have no trouble with the rest of the devices of the game. I suppose we should not expect a game to be historically accurate since it is just a game but it is an affront to your intelligence if it strays too far from the era presented. The game appears to be set in the late Victorian era and I don't think electricity was a common commodity then. Also I found it irritating that you are not able to replay the mini games and HOs. Aside from those things, it is a game which develops the story through good graphics and acceptable voice overs. Note I said "acceptable" not great. I don't usually listen to music since I find that distracting. There are achievements, collectible signs and morphing objects in the HOs. I am not going to relate the story of the game as other reviewers have done that. I must be a dullard when it comes to the mini games offered because I found a couple of them hard. The instructions for playing some of them were vague. I found myself faced with a confusing array of puzzles in the super puzzles. These super puzzles usually have three parts in one. Of course, some of the puzzles were reruns of the same old worn out mini games. Unless you just must have the CE version of this game, I suggest you wait for the SE. Play the demo in order to get a feel for the game. You may decide the CE is just what you want. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Past the Glaring Time Warp Problems Is a Story of Sorts You play as Claire Arlington, special consultant to the police. Your Detective friend has appeared at your door to ask for help in a case he suspects is murder. The "suspect" is a man dead for 250 years, Malefie. Burned at the stake for practicing witchcraft and other crimes, he vowed to return to kill the descendants of his accusers. Now a young woman is dead and Detective Pike thinks Malefie is the killer. (Can't you just imagine the trial?) Good stuff: There are collectible signs, lots of puzzles and HOPs, and CE bling. Bad stuff: For reasons that I can't imagine, every time you speak to Det. Pike, his chest is heaving. I'm confused as to whether this indicates a severe asthmatic or if he's been running a lot. Either way, it is very distracting. I didn't notice any music, but the continuous thunder was not attractive! You'll also have to try and ignore the mixture of styles and backgrounds that span decades. Apparently the Devs did not have access to a library to look up any one time period. Theoretically you are in 1905 - since Malefie was burned at the stake 250 years ago in 1655. (Ignore the mix of vehicle styles, buildings, dress, and backgrounds.) And even though he has been coming back every ten years to kill the descendants of his accusers, he hasn't run out of victims. (They all had huge families!) As multiple victims from the same group of families turn up dead every ten years, after 250 years, you'd think the culprit would be obvious. Instead the police have to work this out anew each ten years and by that time the ghost is quietly waiting for the next go around! There are the usual odd hidden things and actions - the bell clapper from the police lab door is hidden in a locked box under the latest victim's sofa. Our character uses a cloth she finds outside to clean a very dirty magnifying glass with alcohol, and then turns around to use that same dirty cloth to gather a sample of blood for forensic testing! The police expert, Dr. Niers, leaves her to do her own tests, trolling through his office and searching through his locked boxes and cabinets as he stands nearby working. He could have sat down, but our heroine used the only chair to climb up to a cabinet - repeatedly! Somewhere in all this silliness I was left lamenting the story that might have been. If they had picked a time period and wrapped this package a bit tighter, I would have opened it with gladness. As it stands, I can only urge you to play the demo and see if all the discouraging bits in the story drive you crazy as they did me.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too dark for me Story is too dark for me. Bonus game was longer then I expected so this is kinda plus. Everything else in main game is well known....... save the world from dark forces with hidden objects and puzzles. And minus is that you can't replay stages after ending the game. You need to start all over again. I played game 4 days because I lost interest for game. But that is maybe because I played too many similar games, so I got bored.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Intriguing game title but game play is mediocre I'll let you refer to the first two reviewers if you want to know every detail and some fun-killing facts about this game. I'll just give you my take on playing the trial period of this collector's edition. While the subject matter is something new, at least to me, I found the execution mediocre. Graphics are blurred, hidden object scenes dull & straightforward, puzzles were basic with a couple of them having vague directions, and collectibles were few as were the morphing objects. And seriously, does anyone use a game's wallpaper anymore? Normally, I wait for the standard editions to come out before I hand over my money. But from what I experienced while playing this CE version, I will not be buying the standard edition either. I recommend trying the game for an hour before buying it.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from How Many Synchronization Puzzles Can We Fit Into a Trial..... I wonder if the devs are getting as tired of reading poor reviews as I am of writing them. I'm just going to cut to the chase and say the story line was making me yawn after 10 minutes, I couldn't of cared less about any of the characters, the puzzles were about as challenging as opening a Ziploc bag and I'm not even exaggerating when I say there were three (maybe four? I might have slept through one) "if you move one, some others might move too" puzzles within 15 minutes of each other. What stopped me from even completing the demo, was the moment I knocked over the lantern into the filing cabinet causing a fire and then hearing (this is not verbatim) "They're trying to destroy the evidence!" Ummm.....I'm the idiot that knocked the lantern down...who's "they"? I'm not being sarcastic when I ask if there is just nothing more they can do creatively. Have we seen everything there is to see? I know I'm not the only one who would rather wait for one great CE game a week, instead of five cookie cutters with no thought behind them that are just a waste of time and money. I am writing this review exactly an hour and a half after release......let's see how quickly it will be posted.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fun game I had an inkling that I wouldn't like this game when it first opened up on my computer screen. Instead of filling the entire screen, I had just a square in the center of the screen. The volume went from "can't hear it" to "blow your eardrums out" depending on the scene. I became frustrated by the poor instructions on the mini games and skipped a whole lot of them. I frequently had to access the guide in order to move forward. All in all, it wasn't a fun game.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really.... are you kidding me?? I am a fan of puzzles, so when I read that this game had lots of puzzles, I decided to give it a try. I couldn't even finish the demo, and that's a first for me. After so many nonsense, doesn't add anything to the game tasks (other reviewers have referred to them as the zipper pull tasks), I had enough. Find oil to fill the lamp, find 2 pieces of a wire snipper, and then hunt down the screw to hold it together. You found a knife, but of course it doesn't work without oil. Find 2 pieces of a tweezer, and of course you have to find the elastic that's at the bottom of the fountain to hold them together. No, nothing else will work. So you have to hunt down a wire, and then unlock a secret compartment that holds a paperclip to attach to the wire to make it into a hook so you can unplug the water at the bottom of the fountain, to fish out the elastic that holds the 2 pieces of the tweezer together, in order to pull out an "N" that is stuck behind a wall. WOW....doesn't anyone see the insanity of this? After 40 mins of this and no movement of story, I waved the white flag, and exited the game. I think the special powers of the detective was in order to make the game seem creepy, but it just seemed really cheesy to me. The puzzles were very easy, and the same kind, where you push one item, and it effects another. Not my favorite puzzle. This is a no purchase for me.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1½ stars...anachronistic, easy, and boring. LACK OF ASPECT CORRECTION If you check "full screen," the aspect ratio is off; everyone and everything is tall and thin, and there are thick black bars down both sides. If you uncheck "full screen," the game window is too small on a HD monitor. This alone should have returned this game to the drawing board. (No idea whether this is something experienced only by Mac users.) SAME TIRED STORYLINE Another paranormal detective with a gimmicky amulet chasing a supernatural, but not remotely frightening murderer who's out for revenge. There are so many games with this exact storyline that it should be a genre of its own. GAMEPLAY IS PRO FORMA AND TOO EASY The amulet is a throwaway. When it flashes, you click it to generate a cutscene of a past event. There's no puzzle attached to the amulet, so this is just a "click through the story" gimmick. HO scenes didn't hide the objects, other than tossing them onto the junk pile of the scene. Mini-games were limited to variations of four types: • Restore the image by swapping or rotating pieces (jigsaw). • Match the pairs (both those in plain view and Concentration). • Copy the clue or code that's right in front of you. • Move tokens to their matching slots (varying mechanics). And exploration mostly involved making up for the detective being unprepared for an investigation. She brought no light source or tools and had to MacGyver everything from pieces conveniently found near where they would be used. ANACHROMISMS ABOUND Oil lamps and candles provide light to Victorian England, but there's a lightbulb in the 1940s-era car…which has electrical tail lights and a blue police light. The camera is old-fashioned, but the "instant photo developer" is modern. The detective is dressed in an old-fashioned suit, but the victim and medium both wear modern outfits and hairstyles. The medical examiner must have traveled in time to get that modern forensics lab with reagents. I have no issue with suspending my disbelief in order to become immersed in a fictional universe, but it does have to make sense! CONCLUSION No thanks. I often enjoy games with easy gameplay, but only if the story is spectacular, and this one's been done so often that it should have its own genre, and this iteration of it failed to be engaging, fast-paced, and interesting.
Date published: 2018-01-06
  • y_2018, m_10, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_27693, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Medium Detective: Fright from the Past Collector's Edition

Can you stop an old evil from wreaking its vengeance?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.