Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.10 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

When detective Gingertail is called home by ex-girfriend Barbara, he never imagined that it would be the investigation of his life... and hers. After finding Barbara dead in her living room, he begins a vendetta fueled search for the killer. What lengths will Gingertail go to, in avenging the death of his old flame? Find the clues you seek in this all new series from game developer Brave Giant; Noir Chronicles: City of Crime.

  • A dark noir atmosphere
  • Mysterious soundtrack.
  • Wallpaper, concept art and music
  • Achievements and collectables
  • Find the killer!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 2090 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.10 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goody! Want more! Enjoyed the game very very much.Look forward to sequel
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition Another great hidden object game to play I hope this becomes a series
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I liked this hidden object adventure very much. I can reccomend it!
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game with a nice noir feel! Completed CE: This is a good game. It has a great story. The puzzles I felt were easy and the grainy scenes gave it the "noir" feel. The voice acting was well done and I really liked the music score because it went perfect with the game's themes. The story was good but lacked the suspense it needed to give it the pizzazz of being noir. Playing Dectective Fox was great but I could tell he was walking into danger before it happened...so unnoir style. Also, there was not really a mystery because I felt it was given to me to fast, to early. There was no build to the suspense and thrill of the mystery that you get from noir. And I found..I guess a bug...in several of the voice clips that Detective Fox and other npc's lines were clipped off before they finished talking, I was thankful for the text because I could read what they should have said. This could really be a great game if the developers fix the bugs and put a little more thought into it. Don't rush it! Build the suspense and thrill of the mystery. And don't throw the ruin it by giving the story away to early in or quickly in the game!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHO'S DETECTIVE GINGERTAIL? Detective Fox, aka Detective Gingertail, receives a frantic call in the middle of the night, from his ex-girlfriend Barbara. The detective arrives a little too late to save her, but a little too early for the perp. to escape, at least unharmed. Barbara is just a gossip columnist journalist, who would want to harm her, or more importantly, why? BraveGiant Studios might be on to something with this new addition,whodunit series. I'm a little curious as to why they apparently changed the characters from originally being animals in the beta, to humans, I kinda like that scenario. After all Tiny Tales by BG was very successful. I love the collectibles available in this Collector's Edition version, footprints, handprints, shoeprints and a single fingerprint! They really fit in with the story line genre, and they blend in well enough to make it more challenging. There is an eyeball icon located on the top left of the inventory bar, that remains open until you locate the print in each scene. One of the reasons I only gave this game 4 stars, was because of the absence of a Strategy Guide! Sure, the game is easy enough to play without referring to a SG, however, if I'm not mistaken, a Collector's Edition costs twice as much money BECAUSE of the Strategy Guide. That's why the Standard Edition is half the price, and once the SE is released, you still have the option of buying the SG separately for $6.99!!!?? I also experienced a couple of glitches, one minor, one major, which I explain in the Tech issues forum, so you may want to check out my posts there if you find yourself stuck, because I did find a way to solve the issues. The graphics are very well done, the voice overs are decent, but the character movements are jilted and awkward. There are some logic fails from time to time, but overall, I like where this game is heading, but then again, I've always been a fan of a good detective mystery. Overall I have to give Brave Giant kudos, they are pumping out some really good series entry games (Tiny Tales, Ghost Files, Demon Hunter, Queen's Quest) The HOP's are actually pretty good, and I don't often say this because lately they are nothing more than objects scattered around a junkpile, a true hoarders delight, but nothings really hidden. There are Interactive List finds, Silhouetted Shape finds, and Multiples of similar Item finds. Some of the HOP's have small Mini Games or Puzzles to solve, and there is usually at least one object that Morph's between the actual object on the list and something entirely different. There is an optional Monaco Card Game to play instead of the HOP, a matching card game that requires you to make matches of identical cards that are next to each other in a row, column or diagonally. When you make matches of cards with a special frame, the meter bar fills, once full, you can use the bonuses or shuffle features available. The Mini Games range from super easy to medium difficulty, but nothing seems too difficult or too frustrating to temp you to use the skip feature. Here's a list of brief descriptions on the mini games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Use directional arrows to lead the tokens through the maze, all 3 tokens will move at the same time. 2) Select the watch pins in the correct order by trial and error. 3) Rotate each dial to the correct numbers according to the clue shown. 4) Find 3 hidden symbols on each photo to hear a story. 5) Repeat the sequence of punches by clicking on the left and right hand icons, repeat the sequence 3 times correctly to win. 6) Choose the correct answers on a lie detector, as conversation choices. 7) Rotate and place torn paper fragments into the highlighted slots. 8) Select and place the correct numbered buttons into the slots on the right to complete the equations that will equal the numbers on the clue. (fun game, but could have been more fun if a tad bit harder) This Collector's Edition has 8 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, re-playable Movie Cut-scenes, Mini Games and Hidden Object Scenes, (some HOP's have a Morphing Object) 20 Achievements to earn, 33 Collectible Prints (11 footprints, 13 handprints, 8 shoeprints, 1 fingerprints) and a Bonus Chapter. This game does NOT include a Strategy Guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I thought it would be, based on the reviews Usually I tend to agree with those of our esteemed reviewers who like challenging and well-produced games. I appreciate their input and give them applause for their detailed analyses. However, with this game I guess I diverged enough for me to write about it. I enjoyed the demo and wanted to play on after it ended. It was campy, but fairly logical and I was curious enough about the characters' relationships to want to see how it unfolds. It's light on HOPs and puzzles and more on progressing through the adventure. I like the crime genre as long as it's not too far fetched from a logical process. I don't really care for the added price of CEs, so the CE version isn't for me. But I'm sure I'll check out this game again when it is an SE.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just don't open the door Barbara! I am sure I must have played a game developed by Brave Giant before, but if so, I can't remember it so this is a new developer for me. I will be on the look out in the future for games from this developer because this is a pretty good game. Many of the ideas for using objects in the game are new to me. Using a flattened umbrella spoke as a screwdriver is just one of the ideas I haven't come across before. However, we do encounter some of the same ole, same ole things. The boxing match between our hero and Mortimer is one of those. There is a suspension of logic occasionaly as I don't think many people keep a vise just lying around outside, nor would someone board up their hide key to the house in the wall but keep the crowbar needed to retrieve it locked up in the shed. While Barbara was being murdered, I, as Fox, was running around finding tokens and keys to open the door. If Barbara was so frightened, why did she open the door for her killer? Why not make him look for the key and the tokens. I am not a fan of the type of graphics used. It seemed to me that the developer couldn't make up their minds whether to use art deco graphics or not. The attempt to do so came off rather cartoonish. The scene in Mortimer's apartment looked art deco and cartoonish as well as the graphics in the first bar scene. The story line is one that we have had over and over. Private detective searches for killer while the police let you do all the leg work. In this story, the police are told to back off from the investigation but Fox is told to continue. Ok, that's a little hokey. The collectibles are a little different in that they are shoe prints or hand prints. They are easily spotted. Achievements are the usual things. In short, there's not much to the CE bling in this game. In spite of its shortcomings, this is a good way to spend an afternoon of gaming. Try the demo. Or wait for the SE since there is nothing spectacular about the CE bling.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A change of pace. You play Detective Fox (Gingertail??) and a woman you fell for calls you in distress. You go to her house and by the time you figure out how to get in, she's dead. You get involved in the case and run into some mobsters that you are trying to prove killed her. It's a nice game. A tad slow. You can figure out what to do most of the time and that's the fun of it. What to do next. Some different puzzles and interactive hops. There are morphing objects and collectables that are pretty easy to find. I think an advanced player would buy this as a SE not a CE. Overall, a nice "escape" on a Sunday afternoon.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHO KILLED BARBARA? REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS This is a great fast paced who dunnit mystery. In the main game you play Alfred Fox, a Private Investigator, on the hunt for the killer of Barbara (an old flame) who worked for the Daily Chronicle. The bonus game takes place 5 years earlier where you are framed for murder: There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced and Expert modes of play; * 20 Achievements; * Interactive map; * Objectives book; and * Find (in main game only): - 11 men's footprints; - 13 handprints; - 8 women's footprints; - 1 fingerprint. The graphics are terrific. Colours are well defined and each scene is crystal clear. Sound is good and the music is mainly orchestral and piano. The hidden object games are interactive straightforward, silhouette, finding and using items and finding parts of items to make them whole. There are also morphing objects in each HOP as well. These are all very easy to do and each one takes a couple of minutes. However, if you don't feel like playing the HOPs, then you can play Shuffle instead. There are a good variety of mini-games which are all very easy. We have seen them all before, however I enjoyed doing them again. Each scene has the foot and handprints to find. These are easy to spot, so you should get the achievement for this. I found I didn't need to use the interactive map at all because there are only a couple of scenes to undertake tasks before moving on. All up the game and bonus took me about 4 hours. Its not a long game, however there is plenty happening and you are busy in each scene. Overall, a great game and well worth playing. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We have a vixen with one green eye and one blue eye that is murdered0 We have a vixen with one green eye and one blue eye that is murdered... The victim doesn't seem very likeable. Some of the puzzles are straightforward and some are not. I enjoyed the ones that were not quite a lot. The thinking bar seems pretty low lately and I appreciated the effort to make it more challenging and unique. I thought some of the HO scenes were dark. Perhaps that was in keeping with the film noir art style but I had a little difficulty finding a couple of the smaller items, and some of the item descriptions of what we are looking for are vague. There were three scenes that require you follow a certain pattern against the "fearbag" as he was referred to. I dislike this particular thing and skipped every one of them. Plus, three times for the same thing is too much within such a short amount of time. Skipping those will ding me were I to purchase the CE so I probably won't . As usual we are given an item that we could have used twice within the same area. We use it once and have to find somthing else to accomplish the same goal with. In one HO scene we see that we need a particular item. We can see the item but cannot select it until we turn the light beside it on. That resulted in a mis-click for me. Speaking of mis-clisks I do appreciate developers that still include penalties for a mis-click. I've seen some games where that is not an option anymore. I will definitely purchase it as a standard edition.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This game owes a lot to the bewitching atmosphere of the music Private detective Fox (:o)) [DIck Tracy] is investigating Barbara Death's. I can't rate it. Throughout the game we let ourselves be dragged by the music and the desire to know the murderer. It is a 40 50s story, DIck Tracy, The Great Gatsby. Some New York views are pretty well drawn and good. Eventhough the bonus part is a very inventive story [too short maybe]which takes us 5 years back in Fox Life [biography] and make us discovery why he is Private [I spoil a bit sorry], the game is too short for a CE. The characters are sometimes very ugly and very static for some of them. HOP and mini are rather easy, the writer loves too much prison and safe codes. BUT, THIS MUSIC. So I wanted to put a 3 and put a 4 for the MUSIC. I play this game because the dev Framed Santa :D A little bit disappointed. Have a nice game.
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from who says dick tracy is the best enjoyed the game even though I cant box worth a hoot
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful Drawings Meet Zero Challenge Detective Fox is called out to help an old girlfriend. She is being murdered but the bad guy gives her time to make a phone call! This is all a mild send-up of old Film Noir mysteries. We will help Fox find Barbara's killer, eventually, if he stops getting knocked out! Good stuff: I really liked the artwork - most of it seemed really well done. The characters were a bit over the top and their dialogue a bit cheesy. There were a variety of HOPs, puzzles, collectibles, and some CE bling. Bad stuff: Logic flaws abound - the drill you put together uses the DRILL BIT to UNSCREW a grate. You see silhouettes passing windows of a slim figure in a hoodie and never check to see who it is - and then the big hulking bad guy shows up to knock you out again. There is, of course, more! There was no SG, which the game didn't need, as it was quite easy to get through. But that SG is presumably, in large part, the reason why we pay so much for CE versions of games. This time, if you are not big on collectibles, you can wait for the SE on this game. There is lots to do and the story is a mystery. All and all an OK effort, but not a barnburner! Please try the Demo for yourself.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money; these guys are newbies The game visual quality was good overall. But gameplay was VERY short, even in light of the trend toward shorter games. Most especially annoying was the travel between locations. I've never played a game where you were almost immediately locked out of a location when the main objectives were met. Better find your collectibles right away, or you won't ever get them. But never mind, viewing collectibles isn't even available as one of the extras. It feels like they slapped a Collector's Edition title on a regular game.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure on this one I enjoyed the demo but haven't quite decided if this is a keeper or not. Story line is average and nothing really new but was still fun to play it through. HOs and mini games were average and fairly easy but not to the point of tedium. Graphics were good EXCEPT for the characters, they were creepy and not well drawn. They were more of the comic variety and seemed to be for comic relief only. I recommend this with reservations and will only buy it using credits and not real money. Play the demo and have fun.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does Revenge Taste So Sweet I have mixed emotions about this game; I was expecting a bit more. The artwork was okay, but like so many of these games I am feel like I'm living in a anachronistic nightmare. I really wish it would have had more of a vintage, old time look--but it had too much modern technology present all around. I also wish that main game had had an alternate ending. It's hard to believe anyone would think that Barbara was so attractive that men would be fighting over her all the time; I wish she had had a more of a classy, glamorous movie star appearance. The music was nostalgic sounding, but a bit redundant. If you like fight scene and violence you'll like this--if you're looking for a more of a romantic love story forget about it. The bonus chapter was just OK, I didn't feel it added much, if anything to the main story--so the SE version might be all you'd need to satisfy your Noir cravings. I am recommending this game for a person who wants a violent crime drama--but don't recommend it for people looking for a more romantic storyline
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Easy for Adults..not really appropriate for kids I was hopeful for this based on the reviews to ignore the low reviews. The game had a 2009 feel... old. The private detective wasn't particularly likeable... the puzzles and HOP's were too easy... no challenge. Compared to other high end games, seriously not worth the money
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Far too easy Nice idea but it's far too easy, you need an object, you look around it's there, no thought process and no puzzlement involved.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A decent way to pass the time I thought this game would have had a much better story line due to the fact that the graphics were so awesome. This was not the case sadly and the graphics was pretty much all the game had for it. I wish I would have purchased the standard edition, because the bonus game only rehashed games you had already played and the story line on the second part was weaker than the original story. The story line was so so and was a victim to lazy story telling to bring the game to an end.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Are ALL devs using the exact same cookie cutters? The gameplay was incredibly tedious and simple. Not only were the tasks of the broken zipper pull variety, but several of them repeated. I had to make TWO knives from a glass shard and a rag, and use TWO magnets to acquire items. There were multiple places I needed a knife or matches, but I stupidly kept using each item once, then dropping it. HO scenes were easy. Dumping the list items into a junk pile is not hiding them. The only one that was remotely challenging was a silhouette find-and-use. Of the 14 puzzles in the demo: • FIVE were "copy the clue." This isn't a puzzle. There's nothing to figure out. • THREE were 'random guessing." Also not a puzzle, just annoying. • TWO were exceedingly simple jigsaws: one 6-piece torn note and one rotate 3 rings. • ONE consisted of 3 simple levels of Simon Says. • ONE involved moving tokens to the goals. • ONE required "deducing" whether the con artist was lying, based on what he was wearing and carrying. • ONE required moving a chess knight on a 3x3 grid to touch all squares. Sorry, but I reject rewarding developers with high ratings when it's obvious they believe their customers are idiots who can be tricked into buying the same cookie cutter gameplay over and over again. I want original storylines with depth and gameplay that's challenging. That's what "expert" means.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from easy game I have never submitted a review before and have played for years. This game gives help that is not needed. Easy would be putting it mildly. Lately all the games have no challenge at all.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waiting for Developer's response I have actually contacted Noir Chronicles' creator to ask their help so I can finish the game. But I'll get back to that in a moment. First, the story starts out with a bang, literally, and moves along rather well. The voice overs are done fairly well, except you can tell it's pretty much the same guy doing all the voices. And some of the American slang doesn't fit the conversation, but that's tolerable. There are items to collect and achievements to aim for. However, the hidden object scenes and puzzles were very easy and not challenging at all. My issue is the fact that you cannot play the game in widescreen or in windowed mode. So some of the items I had to find in the hidden objects scenes were not visible -- they were off the screen. And sometimes I could see a list of eight silhouette items to find, but what I couldn't see was that there were actually ten of them. So I would be sitting there wondering why the game wasn't moving on, until I realized I had to hit the 'hint' button so that two more objects, that I couldn't see, could clear the scene. I sat for many hours getting almost to the end of the game, only to find I was unable to see or click on the last object in the HO scene. So, I am stuck, playing almost an entire game and not being able to see the ending. Nice. I have contacted the developer and asked what the deal is. And I can't believe no one else had this problem; seriously, I can't be the only one.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So, So sorry. Well i am greatly disappointing. Boxing, gun killing and just in general, poor graphs, their actions and i certainly did not like Noirs voice over, it rather annoyed me. But then every ones taste are different. You might actually like it. Not my cup of tea!
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A I wouldn't pay a cent for this game for this game, it was terribly written and the voice overs were silly.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Where is the good ending matching to the plot ? At first, the game is appealing, quite nice to play but not overwhelming. Then you realise that you're stuck in each scene until you have solved every task that is given to you, there's almost no going back and forth between scenes, which is unusual. Each dialog is cut short when changing scenes; quite uncomfortable. Not that what is said is a question of life or death but still, one likes to hear the whole story until the end. HOPs are very easy and I felt no challenge here. I loved the main character's british accent ! All in all it could be a pretty nice game, if it weren't for the frustrating end that suddenly dawns on you, unexpected, making it all regret you played this game in the first place, making the plot miss its target and the game way too short. I don't even feel like playing the bonus game...
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Acceptable, until that ending. This would be a moderately entertaining game, no worse than many and better than some (partly due to the marvelously noir music), except for the ending, which is amoral and jarring. Yes, there are the usual translation errors, repetitive puzzles, confusing instructions, ridiculous plot with huge holes, all that stuff. I could live with that for the sake of a little light entertainment. But the ending -- ! Makes me wish I'd never started the wretched game.
Date published: 2018-01-28
  • y_2020, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_27852, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Noir Chronicles: City of Crime Collector's Edition

When detective Gingertail is called home by ex-girfriend Barbara, he could never imagine it would be the investigation of his life... and her death.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.