New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls
Exclusive

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(333.72 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

It's 1950's New York! A rich lawyer's widow has been brutally murdered. What starts as a routine investigation quickly takes a dark turn. It's up to you to shed light on the secrets of the past. Are you brave enough to take on this chilling adventure? Find out in New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 583 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(333.72 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mothers finest: outstanding graphics and animation. It is challenging and exciting. My rating is based on playing the entire SE. It meets most of my requirements. Usually I don’t rate a game with 5 stars, if I can’t play in minimum 4-5 hours, but this one has such an unbelievable fine quality, it is worth 5 for sure. The story as well is quite exciting. - Story: You’re a journalist and member of a secret order. Investigating mysterious crimes. This time, you have discovered someone who not only stole the soul lantern from the Reaper, but also has turned the dead into zombies. You have to stop him. The end was quite satisfying. - Difficulty can be customized slightly. Tutorial, sparkles, map issues, glitter and hint / skip recharge. - Graphics: awesome, lucid, fantastic. - Animation: incredible good. - Music: fitting - Voice-overs: excellent, fitting to characters and well synchronized. - Tools: you have an interactive map. - HO’s: Wonderful full fletch interactive types with silhouettes. Very interesting. You can’t switch to another mode, but why would you do that? - Mini games: not the catchiest, but nice to play. - Adventure part: Very challenging, you do have a lot of items and it is not very obvious, what to do. They are spread about all locations. You have to roam them several times, a lot forth and back. In the middle of the game I began to be impatient and used the map sometimes. Minor Dislikes: - Length: I needed about 3 1/2 hours for completing. Too short, especially because it was so good, I could have played many hours more. - The whereabouts of needed items were sometimes far-fetched. E.g. why is an eagle figure- belonging to the HQ- in a safe from the victim? - You can’t exclude helping texts.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Mystery Game I loved this game. It is story driven and not just a usual hidden object game. There are hidden object scenes but they are silhouettes and instead of just searching for an item you must use the silhouetted item to find other items in the scene. I so prefer that to just random items to find in a scene. The story is good and the length of the game was also good. The puzzles were easy but it didn't detract from the fun of the game.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GREAT GAME FOR THOSE WHO LOVE EERIE MYSTERIES Laura James, a journalist with the Daily News and a member of a very secret organization, is back in Lantern of Souls an incredible new game in the New York Mysteries series. The game begins with a funeral and is followed by a very strange murder. Professor Bishop, the head of the Order, has asked for Laura’s help with investigating the scene but he leaves her with a warning to return to headquarters the minute she sees anything out of the ordinary. Well, it isn’t too long before Laura is back at headquarters and picks up a partner who returns with her to see if they can figure out what is going on at the Martell estate. I don’t want to tell you too much about the story but will only say that this is without a doubt one of the best games I have played this year. This is certainly not the standard HOPA game and it just keeps getting more interesting at every turn. The game offers only three preset modes of gameplay with no custom mode – Easy, Normal, and Hard. The graphics are quite good but the characters do seem a bit flat and could be better and maybe a bit sharper. On the other hand, the voiceovers are excellent. This game is set in the late 1950s and poor Laura needs a new stylist and a bit of an update. The voiceovers are excellent and the sound effects are sometimes downright unnerving and creepy. Your tools include an interactive transporter type map that shows areas with available tasks. At least through the demo I haven’t found any other special tools or gimmicks and doubt that I will as the game progresses. The New York Mysteries games are basic mystery solving games where your most important tool is your brain power, which is one of the reasons I love this series. There are far more mini-games than there are HOPS but the HOPS that we do come across are extremely interactive and terrific. In some cases the HOPS require a lot of patience because it is not always obvious what item you need to locate from the silhouettes shown that will start the ball rolling. On the other hand, even though there are more mini-games they seem very easy. Some examples of the mini-games in the demo are as follows: rotate a dial according to present numbers to select the correct code to open the globe – easy; use symbols located on the spokes in a circle to create the symbol in the center – easy; rotate pairs of levers to match the angles – easy, create a rust remover following a diagram – easy, move a mouse through a maze to open a door – a bit tricky; and match segments of a lock – easy but fun. I am sure that there will be many more mini-games following the demo and I am sure that they will increase in difficulty as the game progresses. Earlier I said that this is an awesome game and IT IS! The storyline grabbed me and given all of the things to do with the HOPS and mini-games I found the gameplay factor to be excellent. The other games in the New York Mysteries series are excellent and Lantern of Souls continued with that pattern of excellence and might even be better than the others. The New York Mysteries series has always been a top-notch series with terrific story lines that create wonderful games but even though I think this is a great game, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no words i don't know where to start this is such a phenomenal game. long and very interesting story. you will need to use the jump map after awhile. i have to say i just love love love this game. one scene made me jump but there is no gore in this game i'm speechless. this is based on full game. no glitches which made this so enjoyable. morphing not real hard to find also the collectibles were ok to see. love the collection cards, i learned something about new york i never knew. as always try the demo but i don't think you will be disappointed in this one.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely a hit with me I was hoping for another New York Mystery and was not disappointed with this game. Another sinister villain wanting to rule the world which leads us into a battle again solving all obstacles to defeat evil once again, I played the CE version and so pleased that I purchased it. The graphics were brilliant with a great storyline. Music has become a theme for New York Mysteries since the very first in the series. I had very little need for the hint in the puzzles but definitely needed the map to get to some of the levels. I especially liked the puzzle with the four tokens which had to be moved.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's up to you, New York, New York. Another murder mystery in New York for Laura James to solve! She returns in this New York series to entertain in a delicious "who done it" that retains the style and color of the previous games in the series but steps up the intrigue and game play. This game is attractive on many levels. Don't miss this one!
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME AND GREAT STORY The NY Mysteries series keeps getting better and better. I played the demo of the CE of this game and submitted my review. As is the case with all SE and CE, this game is just a stripped-down version of the CE. Read my review of the CE of this game. There is one correction that needs to be made to my previous review. I think the dress and other graphics of the game suggest a Roaring Twenties time frame. However, the game is supposed to be set in the 1950's and other graphics support this, like the car. This is just a minor flaw. My SOP is to always get the CE of a game if one is available. But if you don't need all the extras that a CE provides, then this game is perfect for you.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! This game is just the type of mystery game i enjoy..Always something to do,but not hard to solve the puzzles..I love the gameplay!!
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! An excellent game and how lovely that it was an SE. Really engaging, good puzzles and an even spread of HOs. More like this please.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best game to come out in a long time. I enjoyed every moment of this game. It made me think and that is what I look for in a game.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Great Hit from New York This is posted after playing the entire game. I own all of this series, and while this one is not my favorite of them, it ranks right up there. It was fun and I really liked having Will there as a male to help me traverse the pitfalls of the city. Graphics and sound was really good. Voice overs were well done and the music went right along with the action in the scenes. I liked this because I did the majority of the mini games which are not normally my strong suit. I disliked it because all the hidden object scenes were silhouette, my least favorite. However, having said that, they were mostly interactive and were challenging enough to keep me interested. They need to mix up the types of hidden objects and I would have been a happy camper. As tools, you have a journal, which I didn't use, so it wasn't very necessary. There is an interactive map which was a must for me. They do have you jumping from place to place to place to place and I couldn't tell where I had to go. Honestly, I gave up trying to figure it out and just used the map. There are three degrees of difficulty and with the easy you can set your hint and skip times lower. The story was supernatural in nature which I swore I would quit buying, but I enjoyed the other games in the series enough that I did take the chance and purchased it. It's a decent story and is pretty well put together, but it did take you all over without tying things together. Still, it was a good time. Give the demo a try and see if you don't like it too.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not NewYorkish at all I like the previous games and it has this unusual historical atmosphere. But this one has more an underground gaming world than on the surface of the city. The game plot with undead things is also not a great one. Feels too cliche. Visual quality and sounds are really good. You can see how much effort the devs invested in the game. This is why I give it 4 stars, not 3, as I intended to do in the beginning.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long for an SE I enjoyed this game although towards the end I was getting a bit antsy for it to end and started using the hint to move around faster. A lot of running around so the transporter map was a definite "must have". Voice overs were good, but in some cases repetitive and that was annoying. Storyline was there, but not real deep, the game was most seek, find and do. HOS were all shadow and could be a challenge as each piece was used to find the next. The hint refreshed quickly, but the skip was slow therefore if you chose not to play a mini game, it did slow the total game down, which got annoying. There was some dialog explaining the story that tended to get wordy but you could skip it. Graphics, animations and color were excellent. Basically and enjoyable game and worth full price.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from . Lots to do and fun. The mini games were fairly simple but that was ok for me in the game. The length was good, pretty long. I played over several days but needed the map to remember where everything was. A little back and forth but the map came in super handy for that. 2016
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always a winner! I seldom give reviews, but I bought the Collector's Edition of this one right off the bat. Love these games. This one did not seem as in-depth as the previous one; Bishop played a more minimal role, but otherwise, interesting story line and fun game play. The only reason I give it four stars is that the games were not as challenging as previous games, but I still liked it and would buy it again. If you like modern detective stories better than the old wizard/princess ones, then you will like this one.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loved this i really enjoyed this game. the puzzles were easy enough - not a puzzle person (which is always great to be able to do them). The hidden objects were find one item to do the next - i don't mind these a change from lists of items. The storyline was good (had a start, middle and end) and the helper actually helped which was a great change. She certainly has great charm, walk and clothing (i had a jumper the same (which was a bit of laugh for me) Try before you buy - happy gaming :)
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game I liked this game but I just couldn't give it more than 4 stars. Thank goodness for the map! I can't remember having to travel to so many different places over and over again. It's much better to go to a place, finish all the puzzles there and move on. If you have to go back to headquarters, ok, but in the middle of searching somewhere else to find something that you need at a different location? Why would it be at headquarters, or somewhere else so far away? All that moving just broke up the story line and eventually was really annoying. I only recommend this title if you don't mind going back and forth and then back and forth several more times!
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ruined by obvious prompts Demo mode only: It was very well made, and the only issue I had with it was as per title, really. Unfortunately that was a dealbreaker for me. Even on Hard / Custom level (custom where everything was deselected except tutorial for special items only), the prompts were ridiculous. "This looks like it needs a screwdriver" - gee, ya think? It's a real pity. Would've def gotten it otherwise. Recommending for players who aren't as fussed about this aspect.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have all the previous games in this series and liked them a lot. This one, not so much. It seemed disjointed to me, I think because of having to do so much backing and forthing, and I didn't like that the second investigator wasn't visible in the scenes except for a corner thumbnail when he had something to say. I might get it as a DD or COTW.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing New York About It Since there is a similarity to many games, I like an exciting or exotic atmosphere or excellent storyline. One of my favorite cities is NYC and there aint nothin' New York about this game. I don't think any of the developers had ever been there, nor could imagine it in the 40's when the game is set. So it's another same-old convoluted story about saving the world with familiar characters and it's single style of silhouetted hidden object, no variety. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok game If you like games involving machines, you will probably like this game. I find machines in these games not for me. Otherwise, the game is just OK
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Back and forth and back and forth This review is based on the full game... I bought this because I had played NY Mysteries in the past AND this one had such good reviews. BUT, seriously?? Every time a new room opened I literally cringed. You could not just play an area and move to the next. No, you had to start in one area, go back to the previous area, or even the one before that, in order to get something and then travel back to the one you were in originally. Are you confused? Right? It was so confusingly intertwined that by the end I had to use the map just to get to a location. Otherwise all you would be doing is moving from place to place for more than 50% of the game time. The puzzles are essentially non-existent so if you are looking for a puzzle and hidden object game, this isn't it.
Date published: 2020-03-08
  • y_2020, m_8, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_24839, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls

Is this an ordinary murder case, or something more sinister?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.