Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate
Exclusive

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(239.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From the innovative minds at Mad Head Games comes a unique new tale of psychological terror!

You’ve infiltrated Iron Gate Asylum on a daring mission to rescue your sister, who has been accused of murder. But as you wander the darkened halls, you quickly realize that you are not alone… Something sinister is lurking in the shadows, and now it’s on the loose! Can you rescue your sister and escape the darkness? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 461 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(239.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from you need a 'watch' feature so I can know when their next game comes out It's that good. I haven't enjoyed a game like this in awhile. The storyline is engaging but most importantly the game itself is super fun to play and has a great mix of HOPs vs. other games. Please keep making these!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent HO adventure game--in prison! This is a good HO game, emphasis on adventure. There are relatively few HOPs, but they are varied and with interesting interactions such as adjusting X & Y sliders to bring the object into focus by bringing the 2 layers together to form a complete picture matching the object on the list. The puzzles are mostly easy to manageable, except for one. The last one was a pain for me, but it is the finale. The storyline really makes this game excellent, with several red herrings thrown in to make it interesting. The story takes place in prison, but you quickly break out of your cell, are thrown outside of the prison walls, and then make your way back into prison....Any more details, and this review will be banned. I think the only thing I didn't like about the game is hardest mode has no hint or skip button. It's a decent length game when played on intermediate mode, but a fun game to immerse yourself into. Enjoy.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tiresome game, tedious storyline Though visually appealing, the gameplay becomes tiresome. I couldn't finish this in one sitting as I got bored performing somewhat repetitive tasks (e.g. finding matching symbols, putting equipment together, getting lost in unlit mazes). Some puzzles felt too easy, as the developers guided the gameplay (e.g. match the shadow shape order at the end of the game). The dark storyline didn't bother me, but it felt contrived and predictable; there are definitely better games out there.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly I do not feel this is a 5 star game! Kind of let down! I've been so looking forward to this game, Mad Head is my top favorite game designer bar none!! That being said, sadly I can not give this game 5 stars. It's average at best. It starts out great during the demo but as soon as the demo ends and you purchase and get back to playing you are no longer in the asylum you're outside of the asylum doing the same mundane tasks you do in every other game. Nothing unique, nothing exceptional to look at, nothing creative to do, no one to interact with, I just got bored!! Things pick up a bit towards the end when you are back in the asylum but not by much. I hate the stupid puzzle where you have to trace and outline to fight the demon or shadows, it's childish and, it's also hard for older folks to do this outline due to arthritis, shaky hands or muscle pain and stiffness even if that's not the case it's still very juvenile, to me. I am enjoying the bonus game, which is a prequel of sorts. You go back in time to when the asylum was actual a gorgeous home. It's there you will find out how these shadow creatures and the lantern game to be. All and all the game was mostly entertaining and fun, if not a little too predictable and easy. It's just not up to the high standards usually set forth by Mad Head. They did Nevertales, Beyond Light Advent and The Princess of Ice games for goodness sakes! Those were all 5+ star games in my opinion so I guess I'm just a little let down because this game wasn't of that caliber. I still recommend the game!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Based on completed main game I bought the SE and played the main game but not the bonus play. I actually completed it 9-18-16. SE took me 3 hours & 10 min. (and the journal also holds the amount of time you play) I had the stopwatch on my phone running while playing. I play on custom mode and try my best to complete the MG and I always finish the HOS (so you can figure against how long it may take you). Generally, I love the darker, spookier type games and I'm a big fan of MHG. This is one of those games that is just better in the demo. The demo & chapter 4 were my favorite parts; I disliked chapter 3. My biggest problem with it was the shadow figures. They seemed comical to me, like Scooby Doo ghosts. They looked so cartoonish compared with the other characters in the game. The end of Chapter 4 has another great slide match HOS like we see in the demo that was fun. At the end of chapter 4 there is a great mini game I liked where you count squares on a chess board, moving the pieces around. The mini game after that was fun too, using the same chess board to open a door. The first HOS of chapter 5 was remarkable & super fun. It is uncommon to see this type in games (Redrum from 2010 had a similar one) where it's in segments of 4 patterns each & 4 pattern blocks, you find the items with the same pattern. It should have been in the demo. Chapter 5 Developer/mixer puzzle MG where you match 6 symbols then spot the differences in the developed pictures (2ea in 6 pictures). So fun. This entire game felt very similar to Maze: Broken Tower. So try that one if you like the demo to this. The main game has a good end that stands on its own. It has a couple of good battle MG at the end that were fun too. I guess I would rate this a 3 1/2*. I did finish it, but I wanted it to end. I'm glad I didn't buy the CE. If you like this type of game, try Maze Subject 360. I liked that game better & would rate that game 5*.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It Was Dark, that's for Sure This is posted after playing the entire game. I am wondering if I missed something. Others seemed to enjoy it much more than I. It was an interesting game, but far from what I expected. I normally play games in one sitting, but in all honesty, I got bored yesterday and quit playing, then picked it up today. It's an okay game, but nothing to write home about. This reaction could simply be because I, like many others, are tired of the supernatural themes that have become the norm these days. Where is the imagination. I know these developers are talented people, but why are we stuck on the dark side constantly. HINT HINT! Graphics are on the dark side, which is normal for this genre of game. Not to say they weren't well done, because they were. Sound was fine especially the voice overs. Effects when along with the action and the music was good. Hidden objects were varied and I found some to be quite difficult. I believe I used my hint more than usual on them. Mini games were nothing new with a couple exceptions, and part of my disappointment was the repetition with the use of the lantern, or whatever it was. I would just get ready to hit the skip button and move on. There is an interactive map which was extremely useful in finding where to go and then getting there. With several modes of play, I used the custom so I could set the hint and skip to the fastest. That is the greatest invention of modern man. The story itself wasn't that bad. Again, I think my disappointment in the story was the theme. Monsters.. witches... ghosts and anything else that goes bump in the night is about all we get and I have soured on it. I don't want to leave with a negative impression of the story. It is well written and produced. It has continuity and comes along nicely. There are some twists and turns that did catch me by surprise and kept my interest. Give the demo a try and you may have higher opinion than I do. I do recommend the game, not the theme. It's a great game to buy on sale.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from . It would have rec'd 4 stars but I had to take another one off because the game was super duper SHORT. 2017
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Annoying Sorry people but I did not like this game. I never listen to music during ANY games so to me all is awful, sometimes the music is a distraction. I do not like going through all kinds of stuff to get to the "game". But I do recommend that everyone try it to see what you think. I'm very fussy about what I like in a game.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but not great It was OK, but not many hidden objects.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vapid, thin storyline. Lots of cutscenes. Gameplay far too easy. After giving the CE version of Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate only two stars, I overruled by better judgment to get the SE with an expiring PCC, solely because I’ve loved many of Madhead’s games. I’m sad to report that I didn’t get my money’s worth. The storyline is never truly explained; the shadow creature remains ethereal with no personality, motivation, or logic. The conspiracy, in the end, sounds as much like tin foil hat nonsense as it did in the beginning. No reasoning is offered for the actions of the bad guys. Gameplay almost seemed like an afterthought to the numerous cutscenes, conversations, and time stops where I was merely required to click in order to nudge the story along, which I don’t consider to be gameplay. There was no innovation except one type of HO scene that had two incomplete layers, the transparent one on top, with horizontal and vertical sliders to move the top layer. To “find” an object on the list, you had to move the sliders to match up the two halves of each object. Even that was only interesting the first time because of the novelty. The rest of the gameplay was mostly recycled from previous games, or so ridiculously simplistic that it can’t be considered gameplay for adults. I mean, in real life, what adult plays Simon Says? Or does jigsaw puzzles of 6-12 pieces? No one I know. These “puzzles” aren’t any more fun or challenging for adults merely because they’ve been translated into computer graphics. Get real, Madhead. Stop trying to sell us something YOU wouldn’t buy.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cut scenes on top of cut scenes Clearly I'm in the minority here, but I couldn't get through the demo because of all the endless dialog and cut scenes. Sorry, but I just wanted to play a game, not watch a movie about yet another bunch of spooky evil spirits taking over the world or something.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasted Money The positive? I'm struggling here. I just don't like this game. The developers, I'm sure, spent time creating the game, but it feels like they phoned it in. There are so many great games out there, and it wouldn't have taken too much more to make this more exciting and interesting. I feel like I've wasted my money. Sorry.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Science Fiction When I played the demo, I thought, "Wow, I love this game!" I waited for a BOGO to get it, and then the game went crashing downhill. To quote BooksandGameFan, "It starts out great during the demo, but as soon as the demo ends and you purchase and get back to playing, you are no longer in the asylum, you're outside of the asylum doing the same mundane tasks you do in every other game. Nothing unique, nothing exceptional...." Seriously? I'd love just one time to play a game that has a flashlight with batteries already in it. And yet again, there's a device you get to wave around, in this case warding off shadow figures that never really DO anything except show up and dance around waiting for you to wave your lantern at them. Ho hum. I'm sorry I wasted a BOGO on this one.
Date published: 2019-01-31
  • y_2020, m_5, d_29, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_25592, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate

Something terrible lurks in the halls of Iron Gate Asylum…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.