Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders

Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(666.19 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The ABC Murders is an adventure and investigation game adapted from the classic Agatha Christie novel. You are the famous private detective Hercule Poirot and, once again, you find yourself up against a mysterious serial killer who goes by the name of "ABC". Your deductions must be smarter than ever and your brain will need to be razor-sharp to solve the trickiest of puzzles if you want to stop this enigmatic murderer!

  • Collect information by examining suspects
  • Solve puzzles in order to obtain more clues
  • Make deductions to learn about the murderer
  • Build a timeline of events while investigating

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2699 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(666.19 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a welcome change compared with the past games This game is so different to the rest of the games that it was such a pleasure to play it.....I chose the C profile, and I did enjoy to act like Monsieur Poirot. Do not miss the mirrors....you need them to check your awesome mustache and remember to have order and method. You will also receive different reactions to your answer depending what approaches you chose to use....... Please Big Fish, we need more games like this one.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice change from the same old Big Fish offerings Good story and acting, especially considering this is Agatha Christie and Poirot they had to recreate.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The next best thing to a new Agatha Chrisite Alas, Dame Agatha is no longer with us. But we can reread her books, and watch this game. It follows the book closely, but you can make stupid mistakes in interrogating suspects, or miss things. The puzzles are a bit hard, but not impossible (one of them I made the mistake of trying to solve before having all the information). It has very much the Christie flavor, and you can test your detecting skills. Now make yourself a cup of tea, and curl up with this game.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mystery Game Great storyline and graphics. The gameplay is more cerebral and realistic, which is a refreshing break from all of the fantasy-based games. I hope they make another one!
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large File Game (NOT Hidden Object) Awesome Game!! This kind of game used to be called a large file game. If you think of the Nancy Drew games, this one reminds me of those games. If you are looking for hidden object scenes and an easy game to play, this is NOT it. If you are looking for a challenging, stump your brain game, THIS IS IT! The graphics are hand-drawn and are quite clear. They do not have all the gorgeous colors and scenery to look at but that's not to say it wasn't interesting to look around and try to discover all the things Hercule Poirot had to say about everything. I love all the conversations with the different characters and slowly finding out more about them. Trying to figure out who the murderer is was really tough. There are other viable suspects who are only cleared at the end. My favorite part of these kinds of games though, is that the questions that you pick to ask the suspects (and with what kind of attitude) does determine some outcomes in the game. If you pick the wrong ones It will also get you some very humorous achievement awards. Make sure to read through all of the achievements, they are pretty funny towards the end. The ones at the beginning of the list were very routine and monotonous but skip over to the end ones. It would be worth replaying just to see the different circumstances that change if you deliberately pick the ones you know would not be the ones Poirot would pick! This game does have a hint button and the loading screen between scenes tells you clearly how to find it. However, it takes about 10 minutes to reload. I used the hint about 5 times during the game. I probably would have used it more but I went and found the walkthrough for this game. I only looked at it when I was stuck for quite awhile and had no idea how to do something or what I had missed. The hint button, I'm happy to say, did not skip the mini-games but rather gave you part of the answer or showed you the first thing you had to do. Then you still had to figure it out from there. Love it!! I know this is a newer game (2016) but it plays like the games from 10 or 20 years ago, like the ones I love to play! You have to think, you can't just hit the hint button every few minutes, or teleport on the map (there isn't one). It has an excellent storyline that pulls you in rather quickly. I kept playing every opportunity I had for 3 days so I could find out more about the suspects and figure out who the murderer was! I hope there are more games like this one slated to come out in the future! I did find some other Agatha Christie games made in the past that are large file games and I had missed buying them. "And Then There Were None" "Murder on the Orient Express" and "Evil Under the Sun" Sadly, they are not for sale here on Big Fish anymore but I did find them somewhere else in a triple pack! I can't wait to play them too!
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely It was very entertaining even though it was fairly simple! I like some of the intricacy that kept it interesting through out the game and the graphics were wonderful! Would recommend this if you like the demo. Great!
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Those Who Want Challenge! This is my kind of game, one with a first person point of view, where you become lead detective. Other reviewers reported on the slow pace of the game, but I call it an opportunity to be methodical and truly step into the shoes of a detective, not merely pointing and clicking a HOS, based on an irrelevant word list on the screen. Please bigfish, more games like this, Sherlock Holmes and Nancy Drew, that's where your grey cells really get a workout!
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ABC is not so simple This is really an adventure game, I'm not sure why BFG has classified it as Hidden Object (I did not encounter any HO's in the trial). It is a murder mystery where you'll question witnesses, find clues, solve puzzles and try to arrive at logical deductions. It is based on one of Dame Christie's most famous novels, The ABC Murders. It features Hercule Poirot, the Belgian detective, and his assistant Captain Hastings. The artwork and cut scenes are done in a simple style, very clear and clean. Detail is minimal but adequate. Voices are fairly well done, especially Poirot's. Regarding dialog, you are given question choices when interviewing witnesses, and the questions you choose can affect their attitude and cooperation. There is background music that is simple, pleasant and relaxing. The game provides ample instructions on how to navigate, examine items, and earn extra points and trophies for acting the same way Poirot, the master detective, would act. Nevertheless, the navigation took me a little getting used to, The mouse is also used to manipulate objects for examination and to solve puzzles. This also took some getting used to. However, by the end of the trial I was comfortable with it. Each time a scene loads, there is a reminder of how to access additional game features, i.e. reconstruction of a crime. As a fan of Dame Christie I found both the game and story engaging. Prepare yourself to experience a slow pace, keep a sharp eye for clues and, most importantly, engage your "little gray cells" and I think you'll enjoy it too. Eh, bien mon ami!
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, thought provoking game Really good to have a thought provoking game - nice bit of challenge meant it really kept me involved. I liked that the game allows you to make mistakes and doesn't instantly guide you to the correct answers. This also gives a good deal of variety to the game - especially to the ending (no spoilers). However, it is not so open world that you wander around aimlessly for hours not knowing what to do. If there's an urgent task that needs to be done, the game will direct you towards that before it allows you to do anything else. Couple of negative points - navigating in and out of the 'zoomed in' sections was clunky - would be nice to be able to 'back out' more quickly and efficiently. Also not sure who double checked the pronuntiation of the voice actors, some of the dialogue made me giggle it was so wrong! Other than that I would definitely recommend this game - I would have given it 4.5 stars if I could!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new type of Game!!! I really enjoyed this game. I did not have a lot of expectation when I first tried this game. I felted that the graphic was a bit in the 90's. However, after the trial version, I really wanted to carry on with the game. I purchased it and cannot stop playing until i reached the end. The story line was interesting and you get to choose how you want to solve the mystery. The only part that I didn't like was to find the cursor/click moved a bit slow. Great game!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting and different detective game I played most of the demo and like the game. It appears there is a lot to do. You get a "use a hint" choice, but it takes quite long to recharge. Also, my mouse was acting weird and made it irritating to play. Otherwise, I would have purchased it. Tried changing mouse settings, but didn't do any good. The characters are cartoon drawn. You have to use your brain and make deductions. Give it a chance to see if your mouse acts ok. A big disappointment to me that I can't buy it.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's clunky I love Agatha Christie books and the Art Deco era particularly. Some of the visuals were wonderful. But.... The characters were distractingly bad, And having to move Poirot to each part of the room was annoying. His pronunciation of some words was not even English, let alone Belgian. The puzzles whilst quite interesting, some were almost impossible to solve without a clue. It if hadn't been half price, I doubt I would have bothered past the demo.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More of this style of game but with better controls I absolutely loved the storyline and look/feel of this game. The puzzles were nice (if a bit repetitive in nature) and the characters were well-rounded and it felt like a genuine mystery unraveling. I just wish that the controls were more advance and it didn't spend so much time loading new locations/scenes. It would be nice to see more mystery stories in this style developed.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tedious, flawed, and constantly loading the next scene I wanted to like this so badly. I really did. I'm a huge Agatha Christie fan and I've read most of her books. I also love these story telling games that *don't* have HOP scenes, especially since most HOP scenes tend to be there just to add game time. My main problem was the loading. It was painful, and during the 20-30 minutes I played, I spent about 10 minutes waiting for things to load. Even my Sims game isn't *that* bad, and it's notorious for long loading times. I don't mind challenge in clues, either, but multiple times I found myself frustrated with having to have it juuuuuuust right to trigger a clue. For example, when you examine the ABC railway guide, I had turned the book over several times before Poirot finally commented "It's open to the letter A". It took a lot of spinning the book to get him to say that. A little less sensitive, please! Finally -- and I know this is my fault -- the story didn't grip me, because I knew who the murderer was from reading the book. It was, however, an utterly faithful recreation of the book, so it did have that going for it and that's why I gave the story line such a high score. The artwork wasn't very good, distractingly bad at times, I think. Overall, I'd give this one a miss. It's not so bad that you shouldn't download the demo and try it out, but you won't get particularly far into the game during that hour because of the loading issue above.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Book Was Better! Hercule Poirot is investigating a murder in Andover, England, one he was told to watch for in an anonymous letter. With his sidekick, Dr Hastings, Poirot is determined to ferret out the killer. Is it the drunken, estranged husband of the victim? Perhaps her demure niece? The brassy fruit seller next door? Good stuff: Lots of puzzles but no HOPs, very simple artwork, good voice characterizations, and lots of places to investigate. Bad stuff: Even when this game came out in June 2016, it was already old, with slow loading, clumsy controls, and stiff puzzles. It was helpful to be able to turn the puzzle objects 360 degrees. It was not so helpful when the game kept loading incredibly slowly. I love a good mystery, but I don't want to die of old age waiting for the next scene. And, while achievements are appreciated by some players, having them flash on the screen and stop what little action there was, is decidedly unhelpful. Bottom line: Try the Demo. You will know very quickly if this is your cup of chocolate!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ABC Murders What a load of rubbish, slow, stops and keeps repeating itself. utterly boring, a waste of money. if I could find where to write I would ask for my money back. A disgrace to the Big Fish name, great disappointment. it deserves a minus star!
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Big Fish Game! Please don't waste your money or credits! The other A Christi games were fun and followed the book. This game is not what I am accustom to with Big Fish. There is nothing fun about this game, the cursor does not respond well to movement. I loaded this game on three different computers and it did not work on any of them. The only positive thing I can say is, I like Poirot's voice. It really does not deserve one Star, but I had to respond with something to leave a review. Not since the Nancy Drew game have I been so disappointed with my purchase! Hopefully I can get a refund from Big Fish...it is that bad.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love Poirot, Terrible Game I have been waiting for a long time for a new Agatha Christie game to come out, so when I saw that the ABC Murders was now available I jumped on it. I only did the trial first, as I always do before I get the full game to see whether I like it or not. I'm glad I operate this way. I would have been very mad if I spent any kind of money on this game. The graphics were basic cartoons at best, he game play was so slow. I lasted through getting ready to examine the first crime scene (about 5 minutes) before I quit and uninstalled the game. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ABC gets an F ABC = ABOUT as BORING as CAN be. Okay, "boring" isn't really the right word, but "frustrating" is. As some others have mentioned, it's frustrating to wait while scenes load. Also frustrating is the repeating screen "have you seen the awards you can achieve" over, and over! Yes, I've seen them, so enough already. Major frustration: if the cursor isn't exactly, and I mean exactly precisely in the perfect spot, the desired game progression will not occur. Example: in order to show that one fellow was upset and overwrought, I was trying to click that his clothes were wrinkled. After about 20 clicks on his clothes, a random click triggered "his clothes are wrinkled". Aaarrrrgh! And, as others have said, it is super clunky to get Poirot to walk anywhere. All in all, this game wasn't fun for me, and I gave up. No point if it's not fun.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from agatha christie the abc murders i enjoy a good mystery and especially agatha christie had a good story line but was disappointed in how this game was presented i did not enjoy the game was too confusing and hard to figure out what to do next definitely not a game for beginners
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me I played 10 minutes of this game and gave up I, personally do not recommend this game
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing and slow It could have been my laptop, but this game was super slow, both in gameplay and loading of scenes. On paper this is just the type of game I like as I am a fan of the Nancy Drew style games. But the use of mouse to explore the puzzles was frustrating and impossible in the last mini game, so I had to quit.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I enjoy these types of games but in this case movement was not smooth, tedious trying to move Poirot around. Quit demo early as Poirot kept running into things and I became very frustrated. I guess you have to read the book in order to be successful at this game.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not my kind of game I usually like games where I have to do puzzles and think about what comes next however I found myself trying to click through dialogues and movies etc to move the game along. I'm not much for storylines in the first place so this was frustrating. Definitely passing on this one
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from stopped the trial played the trial a total of 9 minutes...if I wanted to do all that reading and watching I would watch a foreign film with sub-titles!
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck! Don't waste your money!! (Wish I hadn't!) So disappointed! My fault for not testing it first. I was so excited about a new Agatha Christe game I bought it sight unseen. Terrible graphics, cutout cartoon figures, very little help. Didn't get beyond 1st part of game before I ditched it. Wish I could have given it a 'zero' score.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst game ever This game is virtually unplayable. It stops, locks up, the mouse is almost uncontrollable, and the animation is almost nonexistent. Total waste of money and time (to download it).
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've never actually just quit and deleted a game for being so boring before this... First, I'm a big fan of adventure detective games. All the past agatha christies and every single Nancy Drew game. So I'm into walking around and trying to gather clues and keep notes, etc. to try to figure out what to do next. This is not like those games. This is hardly a game. It's more like an interactive story. You are just clicking around to get to hear the next step of the story. It's sooo incredibly boring. Then they test whether you paid attention, like some egotistical person felt the story they wrote was soo good they wanted to make sure you paid attention. That's the "use your cells" steps of the game. It's not in a fun way where you paid attention so you have some hint at how to use the tools you collected. It's just straight up: choose which of these is right. And even though you have a toolbox, you hardly pick up things. This was so boring. After I failed the 2nd or 3rd "reconstruction" and it makes you listen and wait for the boring story to repeat all over again: I decided this wasn't AT ALL worth my time and deleted the game from my account. I've never - ever - done that before. This was so lame. Go back to the old style of agatha christie (ie, orient on the express, under the sun, etc. ) Nancy drew game style. This is not fun.
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Disappointment Compared to the previous Agatha Christie games, this was a huge disappointment. Cheap, basic cartoon graphics, did not follow the books & play was slow. All in all, D-list, wannabe knockoff of previous A-list games.
Date published: 2019-06-19
  • y_2020, m_8, d_9, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_27231, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Agatha Christie: The ABC Murders

You are the private detective Hercule Poirot and, once again, you find yourself up against a mysterious serial killer who goes by the name of "ABC".

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.