Her Majesty's Spiffing: The Empire Staggers Back

Her Majesty's Spiffing: The Empire Staggers Back

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(241.88 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Follow the exploits of Captain Frank Lee English and his trusted regional colleague Aled, as they travel through the cosmos in search of planets to claim for a new Galactic British Empire!

In the wake a political crisis Britain found itself isolated from global society. Frustrated by the demise of this once great nation Her Majesty the Queen decides that the elected representatives at Westminster are no longer fit to govern her United Kingdom. With parliament gone, the Queen concluded that, given the complications Britain was facing returning to a position of power on earth, perhaps it was time to focus her attention elsewhere... Establishing S.P.I.F.F.I.N.G. (Special Planetary Investigative Force For Inhabiting New Galaxies) Her Majesty has turned to the stars in a bid to establish a new, Galactic British Empire in this quaint, graphic adventure game!

  • Hilarious point & click adventure
  • Stunning graphics
  • Intuitive controls
  • Satisfying puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 4096 MB
  • DirectX: 10.0
  • Hard Drive: 591 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Her Majesty's Spiffing: The Empire Staggers Back

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(241.88 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Her Majesty's Spiffing: The Empire Staggers Back is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from . Fun old school type game. I liked it a lot! Hope they make another one. 2018
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute, but a little tedious I'm half-way through the demo and I can't figure out what to do next. There is no help, and for that matter there is no obvious way to exit the game. The characters are cute and the premise is interesting, but there needs to be a little bit more direction. The controls are a bit cumbersome and it has the feel of a much older type of game. I think it might be fun, but I'm not sure it's worth the trouble.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Best Advice> Read the other reviews before you attempt the Demo. They have some good info on navigating through this game. (They also spend time apologizing for game problems - take a hint!) The game is old school and strives to be amusing. It starts with an on-screen warning not to force closure of the game while the hourglass is on screen. The joke is soon apparent when you find that, once you start playing, there is nothing on screen to let you exit the game! The dialogue is mildly humorous and so is the story send-up. Beyond that, there is a very old school game that does not have much story, action, or player engagement. You just try to move the characters around using the clunky controls and hope for the best. There are none of the game-play items we are used to seeing: HOPs, mini-games, and puzzles. There are no levels of play, but you can adjust the sound and choose between an American and a British accent for the main characters. Adjusting the controls was also the first time I had to force the game to close – it froze on the options screen. Along with the general advice to try the Demo, I would also suggest not examining any item in your inventory - The item will be closeup in the center of your screen and you will be able to turn it every which way, but you may not be able to reenter the game! Not only was this feature a hit or miss, so were some of the radio buttons in the game. Sometimes you needed to click on them; other times on the word next to them. Along with the frozen options screen, I was very discouraged by the game mechanics. I can't say I dislike the game - I'd have to have seen more than the bit I managed to walk through between the game freezing and my eventual control-alt-delete solution. Since this game started life a couple of years ago as a video game, the translation to a computer screen is clunky at best. Take advantage of the Demo, please.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Different! This was an interesting game at first. There was a bit too much back and forward for my liking, because you had to open the control panel to do anything. I found my way to the lab and engine room at the bottom, where there is a desk to save your game. To exit the game, click ESC. Not sure if this works before you save. A help guide/walkthrough would be handy for when you get stuck (which I did after about 40 min).
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You Really Have to Try It As someone else said it's a very old style game of point and click. I started out by getting stuck in the options menu and had shut the game down. Once I got back in I found myself wandering around in the dark following directional arrows on the screen. I haven't a clue how to exit and save. I love the characters and the dialogue but this isn't a game you just jump into and you're off and running. It takes time to figure out how everything works. When I have an hour to kill I'll get back into it.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What the heck! I tried the demo and IMO, decided that I felt as if someone had offered something I really wanted and would enjoy, and then grabbed it back. I feel as if this game would be really fun, but, as others have said, there are really no instructions. I got to the restroom, treadmill, computer and sitting room, while looking for the kitchen, which I never found. I am SO disappointed that I couldn't play this. If anyone is reading this who invented this game - HELP!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What was that???? Maybe I'm just tired but without any directions I spent the trial hour trying to make a cup of tea. I wanted to like this but... NO THANKS. I'll get the new Fantasy Mosaic or one of the latest Halloween games.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful navigation spoils the fun Only played the demo for 5mn. It started well with great British humour and yes the graphics were dated but it had its charm, however there were many issues with the navigation controls within the game (not user friendly at all) and i couldn't be bothered to go further. Firstly the options were only about the sound, you couldn't have a "windowed screen" (the other menu tabs seemed to have been disabled), secondly when interacting with the characters and using a mouse you had to open a mini-menu for either talking, doing something etc on every single thing, therefore it was not flowing, it felt like such a chore that it put me off. Not for me, shame because it had all the right ingredients to make it a fun and challenging game.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A BIG step back in time This game is very reminiscent of games from about 10 years ago. Clunky controls and I found the dialog boring, not cute as I am sure it was meant to be. There is a map of the ship but you can't copy it or take it with you. No instructions, so I fumbled around for a bit even figuring out how to open doors. The arrow in front of the door doesn't get you through it, just up to it. Then you have to right click to bring up some options and one is a hand that, once selected gets the character to punch a red button and open the door. I did make two cups of tea in the game but this game is definitely not my cup of tea. I almost always complete the whole of the trial version, but not this time. Maybe it gets better, but it wasn't fun for me. Not the usually quality of BFG!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BORED ME TO TEARS! I played for about 15 minutes, then dumped it. If I want to watch a movie I'll turn on the tv. If I want a story I'll open a book. This is not a game, it's a story. There are no instructions, not even how to exit (cont/alt./delete is the only apparent way). What a waste of time!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's hit or miss depending on the player I won't bore you with details. My review is late, so by now you know what it's about. Opinion: if you like point and click adventures and dry British humor, then you may like this. It's amusing and entertaining in the beginning, but for me, it got old fast. It started boring me around 20 minutes into the demo and I had to bail. Try it, you may like it. The artwork is well done, the point-and-click experience is smooth, the VOs are well-acted. It has a nostalgic feel - right down to the spinning hourglass of old. It's one of those games that's hit or miss depending on the player.
Date published: 2019-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too much talking that you cant skip Too slow paced, not allowed to skip conversation and movement is very clumsy.
Date published: 2018-10-25
  • y_2020, m_5, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_29190, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Her Majesty's Spiffing: The Empire Staggers Back

Her Majesty has turned to the stars in a bid to establish a new, Galactic British Empire!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.