Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(259.61 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next terrifying case of the classic series Mystery Case Files!

Lady Eleanor Codington, prominent friend of the Queen herself, has disappeared while renovating her family’s legendary estate. Explore the crumbling grounds of world-famous children’s author Gloria Codington for clues. A towering black mirror may reveal a secret, but gazing into its depths may bring more than just a few years of bad luck. Can you find Eleanor and escape the manor alive? Find out in this heart-pounding hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Help Gordon seek and uncover the shocking truth of his ancestry! Restore the cursed mirror and seal Shade in it once again!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games - and earn achievements!
  • Search for tons of magical mirror shards and morphing items!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, screensavers, music, concept art, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 633 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(259.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 99.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from puzzles, puzzles puzzles! YAY! i can understand all the reviews complaining about the volume of puzzles in this game. especially if they were counting on a run of the mill HO game. this is not the kind of game that the hard core HO fans will enjoy. but for me, it was right down my alley! it is so hard to find a decent game with so many puzzles as this one. a welcome relief and i wish there were more of them. the puzzles are awesome, if sometimes a bit difficult. (there is always the guide or the skip button, after all). i loved them all, even it they were sometimes beyond me. i found the graphics/game play/pace and plot to be excellent. never a dull moment with lots to do. i highly recommend this game for all puzzle lovers. prepare to be stumped once in a while.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time No Play MCF! It's been a good couple of years since I've played a Mystery Case Files game! The last one I played was Dire Grove and man was that a good game, but this game beats it by MILES. Just from the demo, it had insanely hard puzzles that even I was just like "wtf?". The voice acting is superb, and the atmosphere is AMAZING. But then again, this is an MCF game, so I should've expected that! Definitely will be buying the full version once Christmas rolls around!
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another very nice MCF title Based on the full game. At long last, it is time for a new MCF title (I've been enjoying them since literally Day One) and it goes back to the usual formula after the nostalgic restrospective HO-only game that was Rewind. Like most of the latest games in the franchise is a brand new adventure without ties to the Ranveahearst story, which is nice because it brings something new to the table. And I must say, the story is waaaaay better than before - The Black Veil was very confusing and the Revenants Hunt was downright atrocious, while this one is interesting, well thought out and easy to comprehend. The gameplay is very balanced, the puzzles are not too easy but not too hard or obsucre either, thre are a dozen of HOP scattered around and no action seems too "out-of-the-box'. I really enjoyed my playthrough of it. Graphic-wise, the game looks very nice except for some bonus games ones which look a litle too rushed (especially with the lighting). However, the only big sour spot this game has is it's music direction. First, most tracks are reused from Key to Ravenhearst and The Black Veil, which is forgiveable but a little disappointing (although they all are really good), but mostly, after the demo portion, there is no overworld music at all! The music still plays during puzzles and HO scenes, but the utter absence of music the rest of the time feels lazy... Overall, it is a game I really enjoyed, and one of the best Eipix-made MCF titles with Broken Hour. It's not perfect but still has a nice, captivating story and good puzzle. Hopefully they will keep this kind of storyline instead of dipping in the same waters than The Revenant's Hunt.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC!!!! This review is based on playing the entire game including the bonus chapter. The Countess reminds me of the Ravenhearst games especially with the engaging and well thought out door puzzles. The mystery in this mystery case files game was also interesting and kept my attention. I judge how good the story line is by how badly I want to play the bonus chapter because that means I want to know more about the characters and to be given more details about the story itself. Obviously if I played the bonus content right after 2+ hours of game play the story was entertaining and kept my attention. Keep em comin MCF!!
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love MCF! I love the MCF games! I look forward to the new ones and love to go back and play the ones I've completed. The Countess was fantastic! I had a lot of fun and was bummed to see it end. The recent MCF games, including The Countess, seemed a little shorter than the original games. I wish these games were longer because they're such a nice break from reality... (hint, hint)... Loved it. Well done!
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game I have just finished full game and i really enjoyed it. The puzzles were challenging and fun and i like the puzzles best.All in all a good game i wasnt disappointed
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant puzzles Thanksgiving and another MCF... this one has a rubbish storyline and I could not understand any of it - but the puzzles were fantastic and I really enjoyed playing the game. The movements of the people were like cardboard cutouts - not good - voices good - music good too. Graphics (apart from people) were good and the locations excellent. I really enjoyed this MCF.
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ENTER A WORLD OF SMOKE AND MIRRORS - ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF THE YEAR REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME: 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 41 Pages OVERVIEW: Detective! You are off to the Codington estate to locate your missing friend, Eleanor Codington. The estate has lay idle for two centuries and rumor has it that an evil entity resides within its walls. Now Eleanor is trying to restore its grandeur. You are greeted by Camille, the interior and exterior designer for the estate. However, you discover her whole crew has been kidnapped - sucked into an abyss behind a mirror by a lady in black. When Camille is also abducted by this same demonic entity, you enter this mirror as well, venturing into a mirrored version of reality. You will need to defeat this dark entity, all while discovering some dark secrets about this family as well. OPINION: Kudos to EIPIX for a fantastic game! I was absorbed into the walls of Codington mansion and did not wish to leave. The story-line is superb. There are some somewhat shocking revelations concerning this family. The graphics are dark, setting a rather spooky mood. The dark lady with her demonic countenance is truly creepy. The game is fast- paced with many activities to keep the player entertained. This is a puzzle lover’s delight. I found the entire game a series of puzzles – one right after another. I do believe most who love this series, will love this game. Unfortunately, I do not believe the demo truly reflects the quality of this game. It is well-worth the collector’s edition price. This is the first MCF game in years which I truly enjoyed playing and one I will replay. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are twelve (12) achievements, some with three parts. Collect thirty-seven (37) mirror shards and thirty-seven (37) morphing objects. I found most easy to locate. You will need a notepad in this game. Not all the codes you need to unlock items will be handed to you on a sheet of paper. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with casual art, music and movie selections. You can replay eighteen (18) HOP scenes and twenty-four (24) puzzles. Nevertheless, I wish EIPIX had provided more puzzles to replay. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. Gordon Codington wishes to discover why his parents sent him away when he was a child. He returns to Codington Manor in search of clues. I found the bonus chapter excellent. There are four (4) HOP scenes and four (4) puzzles within this chapter. HOP SCENES: There are eighteen (18) HOP scenes. All, but one, are lists of items. This is the only part of the game in which I am somewhat disappointed. I found the scenes repetitive, with little creative design. There is one storybook scene in the demo; however, after that, the rest are straight lists of items. I wish EIPIX had provided a little more creativity and variety in the scenes. PUZZLES: There are thirty-three (33) puzzles within this game. However, this number includes four (4) Rube-Goldberg mini-games, which contain five to six individual puzzles within each mini-game. There are also several mini-games with several variations of the same puzzle, each, increasing in difficulty. The puzzles are creatively designed and vary in difficulty. There are some which are difficult. For the Rube-Goldberg mini-games, you have the option to skip each individual puzzle within this mini-game. There are also activities which are puzzle-like but are not deemed as puzzles. Some of those are not easy. There was one in which I needed to check the strategy guide to figure out how to proceed. SPOILERS: HERE IS A SAMPLE OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Sequence puzzle. Using a hammer on a circular disk, calculate the number of moves the hammer must move – either three or four spaces, until all seven tiles are cracked. You must calculate your moves. Hitting a cracked tile will restore it to its original state. B. Moving tiles puzzle. Move tiles so they change from gold to silver on a 3 x 3 grid. Each move only changes the color of half the tile. C. Connection puzzle. Connect pipes so that all flames within the grid are connected to a pot in the center of the grid. D. Rube-Goldberg mini-game. (1) Find the correct fuse connected to a light which is lit. You will go back to this puzzle when you complete each one of the puzzles. (2) Maze puzzle. Move a token to the center of a grid opening red blockers along the way. (3) Sequence puzzle. Move a fly along a path to the end while avoiding a spider who will zap you. There is only one correct sequence. (4) Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate triangular tiles to restore a cameo image. Rotating one tile affects the others. (5) Matching puzzle. On a grid, use arrows to rotate tiles with lines on them so they match up with a given diagram. (6) Gear puzzle. Move gears so they mesh with each other. E. Switch puzzle. Rotate and switch spools of thread with parts of a path imprinted on the top to create a path from one crack at the left to another on the right. F. Assembly puzzle. Using a guide, create three constellations using chess pieces BONUS CHAPTER: G. Pipe puzzle. Position faucet handles to stop the flow of water on four (4) spigots. H. Assembly puzzle. Assemble the image of a knight by increasing and decreasing the dimensions for four parts plus moving those parts into place.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO TURKEY THIS TIME............. Hey, I like this game and I will purchase it soon.............love the game and the music but not the Ninja............can't have everything I guess.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF: THE COUNTESS............ MY NEW FAVORITE GAME! EVERY SCENE, THE MUSIC AND THE STORY,COMPLETE THIS 5 STAR MYSTERIOUS WONDER OF THE BLACK MIRROR!
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game from the series in a while Very very good demo. Intense, exciting story with engaging puzzles. Will buy the CE at some point.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it good game I like it. This is a fun game even so it is a short game it is not very long. It only have 4 chapters the next game I hope the next game be longer. besides that I do like the game
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reflections of Evil Mirrors show us good and bad. Good like in Alice through the Looking Glass. Bad like in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. The mirror in The Countess is pure evil. Once again the Master Detective is on the case, not only investigating her friend's disappearance, but the secrets of Eleanor's family ancestral home. Eipix provides a delightful array of puzzles and hidden object scenes. So put on your detective coat and hat and join the hunt through Coddington Manor. Mystery Case Files is back with yet another great adventure.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DESTROY THE MIRROR REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS Well fishies, if you love lots of hidden object and mini-games, then this will be perfect for you. The main game is mainly about Gloria and William Coddington and the bonus is about their son Gordon. There are lots of twists and turns with the story and things are not what they seem. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Easy, Medium, Hard and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * Journal; * Achievements book (12 achievements, some with 3 circles); * Find 37 morphs and 37 glass shards throughout game and bonus; * 24 replayble mini-games and 24 replaying HOPs. The graphics are superb, with just the right amount of colour. This is one huge manor with lots of locations, so you won't be bored here. Sound is good and the music is orchestral and stunningly beautiful. I've always loved the MCF music and even the family know it well from me having it on loud over the years. The hidden object games are mainly slightly interactive straightforward and there are a lot of them. These are easy to do because items are very clear to see. Now, there are a lot of mini-games to play - some are easy and others take a lot more thinking and strategy. There are a couple of super mini-games, however these are not too hard to do. The first one took me about 20 minutes because I was a bit out of practice, but the second one only took about 5 minutes. There is something in there for everyone, even if you are not a fan of them. I loved them all because its the first game in ages that I had to think, rather than just click. There are 37 morphs and 37 glass shards to find throughout the game and bonus. The morphs are easy to spot, but the glass shards are harder because they blend well into the scenery. I did them first so I didn't forget about them, however there is an icon for each of them in each scene so you can see whether you have grabbed them or not. Get them all and you get an achievement. Make sure you use the interactive map at least once, so you get the achievement, and also keep an eye on your journal as there is information in there to help you. All up the game and bonus took me a good 9 hours or so - that's playing all the mini-games without skipping. Some did take me a while. If you are thinking out just getting the SE I would reconsider because the bonus is integral to the main game and you won't get the full story of this disfunctional family. Overall a totally immersible game with lots to do, incredible mini-games and an intense desire to find out what happened to this family. Happy playing fishies. Its a long game, so please get comfortable.
Date published: 2018-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF: Dark, Cold, Cheerless, Dismal Yikes! These are the adejectives I would use to discribe the wretched house that has taken over its inhabidents making them repeat monotonous tasks over and over again to pay for their sins. I didn't care for the storyline in this MCF. I did love that it had a long bonus chapter. I also really like the mini-games. A reason I buy the MCF games. There was a great selection of min-games. The hardest for me was lining up the solider parts at the end of the bonus. For the excellent min-games I give this game a 4-star and recommend this game.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puzzle-lovers' Delight Another entry in the MCF series, and this one gives full value to puzzle-loving fans and comes up a little short on the rest. We have the MCF requisites, the Detective, the mission from the Queen, the spooky mansion, the mysterious disappearances. But the package is not quite there, although it was certainly fun to play. Pros: the gorgeous graphics we have become accustomed to in this series, with the blue-weighted MCF palette taking us back to the RTR days. Very high production values. Rich background music, adequate to good voice acting, and for puzzle-lovers such as myself a glut of them, enough to force the plot to take a back seat, which turned out to be a bit of a problem. Cons: the plot is actually quite good as a mystery but the timing of the reveals is off - too much too late, when we have started to lose track of the plot among a couple of ancillary characters or, unfortunately, ceased to care. It turns out to be a reasonably logical if quite sad resolution if you can stick around long enough to put it all together. But it isn't MCF. MCF Status: Close but no cigar. We get barely a taste of the beloved and formerly ubiquitous clacky typewriter, the musical theme is barely whispered, and the wry, self-effacing humor is nearly gone. It is unremittingly grim where its predecessors were punctuated by a little comic relief, it scowls at the player where its predecessors winked. And as other reviewers have pointed out, the puzzles, while plentiful, don't always have much of a connection to the plot, and a couple of them aren't even very good puzzles - one picture segment puzzles has an optimal solution of no fewer than 36 moves with no apparent pattern. Tough, yes, fun, no. Bonus Game: Really the resolution of the overall story, which will leave the SE players a bit unsatisfied. Some nice puzzles, a bit of exposition as to what finally happens to the villain and to one character whose absence leaves a void in the main story. I think this would have been better incorporated into the main story and some other theme chosen for the bonus. Overall, with a little rewrite and a lighter touch it would approach a five-star status if only it weren't being compared to the high points of the MCF series, which has had its low points as well. That's not altogether fair but there it is. Four stars and a qualified recommendation for other puzzle lovers.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice twist in the story Based on the finished game with bonus material Lady Codington is missing and me-Master Detective is charged with finding her. A creepy story with a twist. Ghostly characters. Slowly the mystery unfolds. I liked collecting 37 morphs and 37 mirror shards. The indicators are excellent. I thought Eipix also use to have morphs in the hops but not in this one, so they downgraded. It had hops I like with lists. Some puzzles you can't skip, they have no instructions but when playing with it you find them simple and if not you can hint your way. I liked the bonus chapter. It has Gemma and Gordon. Replays on 18 hops, 24 puzzles, 7 music. In Art they have 6 movies, 8 wallpapers and a 54 page Journal. In extras they have morphs and collectibles to retrieve missed one's in gameplay.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF: Getting better again I don't agree with the gloomy reviews I read here. I do think that MCF is finding its way back to great quality. No, it's not Ravenhearst - that is hard to surpass, I think. But after a few disappointing games, The Countess is really tasting like a decent MCF again. So the gloomy scenery, the mild horror aspect, the find-it-out-yourself-puzzles are here again, and I enjoyed them, really. The storyline is tragic enough with that twist at the end (which you might have foreseen before it was reveiled, but still). The CE version has (not too difficult) morphing objects to find and mirror shatters, and I also liked doing that. Earlier games have been more difficult, but sometimes even to a frustrating end. So yes, I recommend this game, and I hope the upgoing line will continue.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best, but not the worst I played both the regular game and the bonus. Although this game isn't up to the legacy that the original Ravenhearst or Madam Fate games were, it's better than Revenant or some of the more recent offerings (excluding Rewind, which I loved). The spooky factor wasn't there and the combo puzzles weren't as difficult as I would have hoped, but they were better than some of the recent games. I sort of feel sorry for the devs because they have so much to live up to. There's only so much you can drag out of Ravenhearst before the well runs dry. It seems like they are trying to start something new with this one. The game ends rather suddenly, which make me think there might be a sequel. The length of this game was good, considering there weren't many chapters. The bonus game was long as well and interesting to me. Overall, it's a good game and worth trying the demo. Just leave your expectations of Ravenhearst at the door and enjoy it for what it is.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fun, but it doesn't feel like a Mystery Case Files game (to me anyway!) I've played about halfway through so far, so can only comment on my experience so far. I am enjoying playing the game - but it's like all of the other 'run of the mill' games from Eipix. Feels a little like Groundhog Day. Again, I feel the essence of MCF has left the building.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but could do better and a bit too short MCF are among my all time favourite games. I have loved everyone apart from Rewind which I thought was a mistake. This game is very good with lots of puzzles that I found challenging (but I don't count myself as expert). The graphics were excellent. I liked the way you moved through the locations. The story held my interest (although a bit weaker than some previous ones). The game length could have been longer and then the story would have developed much more. Games are often too short these days. I hope we see more of these but please make them longer with a bit more storyline
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it time, it's better, but not MY MCF Let me get this one bad thing off my chest right away - WHAT is with EIPIX and bad pixelly graphics?! Other developers have crystal sharp HD graphics all the time now and EIPIX consistently has visible jagged edges and a general haze on everything. That out of the way I began thinking this was just another EIPIX offering with MCF slapped on it but after playing a while I encountered some truly interesting and challenging puzzles scattered amongst the same old ones. Door puzzles! YAY! ...except many, particularly late in the game, were just made up of the standard mini-games we see all the time. I did like the story, although it was derivative of so many others. I found it spooky only a handful of times. The rest of the time it was weirdly flat, not helped by muddy graphics and lack of any kind of background music or sounds. So those of us who experienced the original Big Fish developed MCF games I think are doomed to always be disappointed, at least a little. I wish they would hand off to a fresher developer. This WAS another ground out of the EIPIX machine BUT it had a really tasty sauce on top? I liked it. Didn't love it, but liked it.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so much for black friday and cyber monday not bad I think other games in the series are better but enjoyed playing it
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was ok I still love Dire Grove the best. This 1 was ok, I enjoyed playing it but couldn't wait til I was done. I love Mystery case file games and look forward to the new ones coming out, but this is not on my favorite list, sorry. Make more games like Dire Grove. I can play Dire Grove forever. The graphics were good but to me this was too cartoony & the Evil lady Shade sounded like a MAN not a WOMAN. A few of the games I didn't understand even after reading the info.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PRETENDER, BUT FUN ANYWAY Like most other vintage MCF fans, I was disappointed that this game does not have the heart of the earlier foundations of the series. The main storylines and characters used to revolve around humans who were insane or at least deeply flawed rather than ghosts being the main focus. The ghosts in the early games were people murdered by the bad guys and just wanted peace and to stop further harm to innocents. The newer games' ghosts are bad and need to be destroyed. There are no compelling back stories to the ghosts' existences and purposes. I miss the easter eggs, the hidden Felixes, and the quirky dashboard items. My favorite dashboard item is the Madame Fate bobble head in Dire Grove. The level of challenge and complexity of the original puzzles were a big part of what made the games fun. I especially liked the diary in Return to Ravenhearst which had clues in it that were necessary to solve some of the puzzles. The puzzles in The Countess were easy to solve and uncreative, even the few multi-layered door puzzles. The HOPs were short and easy and contained lackluster items that were not relevant to the storyline. There is no mystery in The Countess; it is just wandering around through a series of connected rooms with no areas away from the mansion. Given all of that, I did enjoy this game. Just don't call it a Mystery Case File. I vote for more Ravenhearst and Madame Fate spin-offs.
Date published: 2018-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from . the game ran for about eight hours and it was fun but not MCF fun. I'll recommend it... 2019
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Puzzles .. puzzles ... puzzles Well ... if you like puzzles ..here is a game for you … But it is not the "classic" MCF. I started with MCF and was hooked and played them all ...until a few years ago when things changed and I have been hoping every year that they would return to the original format... I guess what I'm trying to say is ..it is an okay game but it is NOT an MCF game. If it didn't have MCF attached to it ..I would have rated it higher but as a MCF fan sorry can't do it.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed After reading the reviews, I thought I would try the demo. For the duration of the demo, I enjoyed it well enough. But once I decided it might be worth the purchase, it went rather flat after that. It turned into a mediocre, same old, same old. I have played hundreds of those and was hoping for something unique and up to par, especially for MCF. Nope! If you want to kill some time, it will do, but it is rather boring and done many times before.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Creepy... As all of us who have been playing Big Fish games know, series like the Mystery Case Files are often dark. But this particular game was especially dark, to the point of what I have called "creepy." So, a bit too dark, for my taste at least. The Bonus Chapter, unlike such chapters in most Collector's Editions, is actually a good follow-up to the main game. In fact, it is a prequel to the game, but is way too short to have been the main game itself. Yet, while it does a good job of explaining what we find at the beginning of the main game, it - paradoxically enough - fails to explain how we could even have had the main game, in the first place, in light of what happens in the bonus chapter! I'll let you figure out for yourself what I mean by this, when (and if you decide to) play this game! ;) As for the other aspects of this game... The Hidden Object Puzzles (HOPs) are very interesting and fairly easy. The other kind of puzzles are quite interesting as well, but not always very easy. There are two puzzles in particular that I can think of right off the bat that I would call "insane." One of them just didn't make any sense to me, even after I'd solved it. The other is one of those crazy puzzles which take something like thirty-plus moves just to set far fewer (eight, in this case) pieces in their required positions. I find such puzzles rather irritating since, in the first case, there seems to be no rhyme or reason to the solution; and, in the second case, solving such a puzzle is more tedious than fun. However, since this *is* a Collector's Edition, you can always look up the solution in the Strategy Guide that comes with such editions. Then again, you can even SKIP either or both kinds of these puzzles, since there is no Achievement for not skipping any puzzles! Speaking of Achievements ... They are all the usual Eipix achievements, easy enough to obtain and quite fair. While it can be a bit boring to have the same kinds of achievements over and over in Eipix games, the good thing is the fact that you can obtain just about all of these achievements even after you finish the main game and the bonus chapter! And, yes, there are two kinds of collectibles we have to look for in the game: the Collectibles as well as the Morphing Objects (MOs). But you can find these too, and get the relevant achievements, after you've already finished the game. What's more, it's not difficult at all to get these collectibles and MOs during the game itself, since Eipix is kind enough to provide two icons (on either side of your inventory box at the bottom of the screen) to indicate both the presence of these collectibles and whether you have already found them. So, eminently fair, to say the least. Last but not least, I really did not care for the musical score - except for the usual MCF theme music, of course, which you get only when you are on the Main Menu. Any music scored for this particular game was way too subdued, or perhaps just too unimpressive, to catch my attention. Needless to say, good music actually makes a good game that much better and more fun to play. So the fact that this game's music is so "unimpressive" is definitely a shortcoming. In short, the game overall is quite well-developed and well-planned, with a lot of fun features. My only complaint is the fact that the storyline was quite dark, at least for my taste. But if you happen to like such stories, then...
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So disappointed I'd read a lot of reviews before committing to buying this game. I saw some negatives, but I really wanted to like it. Unfortunately though, this review has been destined to be one of the more negative ones. I just couldn't engage with the storyline at all and puzzles seemed pointless and endless. I knew that was the case when I just started to use the 'hint' option every time I was a bit perplexed with figuring anything out. So it became a bit of a waste of my time, and a bore playing at all, to be honest. I think maybe I'm jaded anyway with this kind of game. Not many have appealed to me for a long time, but I was always previously loyal to all of the Mystery Case File games, even some of the whackier ones. But I think this may be the end of a beautiful friendship.
Date published: 2019-01-04
  • y_2020, m_3, d_29, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_99
  • loc_en_US, sid_29292, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: The Countess Collector's Edition

What lies within the depths of the pitch-black mirror?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.