The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(548.60 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

WARNING: The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana contains occult images that may not be suitable for younger players.

Can you survive this dark adventure set inside the sinister Arcana Manor? On a dark and stormy Halloween night, you find yourself standing before the manor’s gothic gates. A strange force compels you to find a way in, but as soon as you set foot inside the mansion, the door slams shut behind you, sealing you inside the eerie manor house. A ghostly vision appears before you, presenting you with a challenge: Resolve a maze of riddles and perplexing puzzles, or be doomed to spend eternity locked inside the inescapable mansion. Do you dare accept the deadly challenge and discover the secrets that lie within The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana?

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is a throwback to early computer puzzle games. The game was designed to have a very retro look and feel within a simple framework with minimal mouse controls. The end result is an effectively moody and entertaining game that evokes a haunting sense of nostalgia. Players must resolve a variety of devious puzzles to unlock Doctor Arcana's darkest secrets. Players are also subjected to taunting remarks from Doctor Arcana throughout their adventure, and lost souls who consult the in-game walkthrough, aptly named The Cheater's Compendium, will be scolded and ridiculed for doing so. For those seeking something more mentally stimulating than the usual arcade game or hidden object adventure, this is the game for you.

  • A captivating mystery set in the realm of magic and illusion
  • Over 50 perplexing puzzles and mind-bending mazes
  • Original soundtrack by Nox Arcana
  • In-game art gallery featuring eerie works by Joseph Vargo
  • Detailed walkthrough from Doctor Arcana himself

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 582 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(548.60 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Puzzle Lover's Dream This game is unlike most of the HOGs and adventure games I buy on Big Fish. You won't find any HOPs here - just puzzle after puzzle. You arrive at a spooky, Gothic mansion where you are immediately given a choice: turn around and leave or choose to solve all the puzzles inside the mansion. If you fail, you will be locked in forever. The spooky voice taunts you throughout and grudgingly gives you back-handed compliments when you succeed. I have heard that he insults you if you use a skip or hint, but I never did so I can't tell you about that. The puzzles get harder and harder as you progress. One took me DAYS to accomplish. I had to try for a while and quit and come back, but I was determined NOT to skip it. (If you're curious, it was the one with the scarab and the little golden balls). This is not so much a scary game as a creepy one. The artwork is gorgeous and the music is compelling. It's old-school point and click and very easy to navigate. Hint: Look at EVERYTHING! Take your time and just enjoy the experience with this one. What a feeling of accomplishment to complete this fiendish game! I was never sadder to complete a game before. Where is the next one?!
Date published: 2020-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLEASE PLEASE MORE LIKE THIS!!!! This is an old school game. Very challenging. If you like a challenging adventure game with challenging puzzles and little help, this will be the top of your favorites list.
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Devious Puzzles and Arcane Conundra! Well, this was just a ton of fun. We explore a spooky mansion belonging to a deceased magician on Halloween night, solving puzzles and enduring the taunts of Dr. Arcana along the way. The game is puzzle-centric and it will not hold your hand -- you need to notice patterns you find as you explore, and some of the puzzles are tough. Try the demo and see how you do with the gate puzzle. If you can't solve that one or find it too confusing or frustrating, stop there -- you aren't going to enjoy this game. The atmosphere is delightful -- pleasantly creepy and enhanced by an excellent score (the game creator is also a member of the band Nox Arcana, who provided the gothic melodies). The mansion is peppered with artwork as well, which is saved in a gallery to look at later if you want to, as one of the game extras. There are tons of puzzles, ranging from very easy to mind-bending. Many reviewers have called out the scarab puzzle, which I actually solved without too much pain -- but I really suffered over the constellation tiles and circular maze! Be prepared to do a certain amount of trial and error to figure out how to approach these -- and since the game won't let you undo a move without resetting the whole puzzle, there is a LOT of trial. But when you beat a particularly hard puzzle at last, the glow of accomplishment is worth it! Some puzzles are familiar types, but others are creative: my favorite had you rearranging skulls with letters on them to create a phrase. I loved the presentation of the game, the wealth of puzzles, and the challenge factor. This game reminded me of old classics like The Seventh Guest. I do have a few nits to pick -- the mansion is full of doors, all of which you open with the same two kinds of puzzles: a tile-swapping challenge, and a cipher to decode. The tile puzzles are fun, but the cipher puzzles aren't challenging or enjoyable, they just feel like a tedious task to get through as you match symbols on a scroll to figure out what letters they represent. And you do 13 of these (I think), which is simply irksome. There's also one "click lights at random to figure out the right sequence" puzzle, which is pointless. And the graphics are not particularly lavish, although they do the job. Still, for me this is a five-star game because it was just so fun and so satisfying. IMO the "occult themes" are mild and shouldn't offend anyone who's seen much stage magic -- there are some pentagrams and runes and familiar "spooky" motifs, nothing offensive.
Date published: 2019-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Masterpiece! BEST Game Ever Played!! Stunning graphics, artist worthy. Hauntingly beautiful soundtrack. Thoughtful, well developed story line and voice over. Brilliant puzzles, off the beaten path. Challenging. Recommend that you give yourself time to figure out the puzzles. Some took me days, yet I was not frustrated. Just curious and interested in solving. Impressive and Unlike ANY other game on BF. Highest Recommendation, especially if you are looking for something different. MONOLITH GRAPHICS PLEASE GIVE US MORE!!!!!
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More, More, More You could have knocked me over with a feather when I read that this game was mostly a puzzle game. I'm cool with that as I wished after every BF game played that devs would come up with a game with only great and challenging puzzles. I can do without an excessive story line, hidden objects and back and forth nonsense so this game was up my alley from start to finish! For sure most puzzles needed some thought to solve but that's good for my old brain. Buy it if you love thought provoking puzzles.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game for many years I agree with another reviewer, that this is the most enjoyable game I have played since the early MCF games. Best puzzles, best graphics, best everything. I will play this again, and hope that BF will release more games like this.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game ever This is a great game for people who love goth environments but not exclusive...I do not understand the restriction note btw. High quality graphics...I would live in such a manor, which incidentally does not have dead animals trophies everywhere on the walls. Real challenging puzzles..at last...and the music from Nox Arcana, just mesmerizing !! This game does not compare to any other. Definitely calls for a sequel.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love puzzles? Then this one is for you I absolutely enjoyed playing this game. If you love going from one puzzles to another without having to spend time on tideous HO scenes, then this game is for you. Having said that, some of the puzzles are repetitive, but I wasn't bored with them. The level of challenge is good, but not frustrating. Also, the game comes with a built-in guide. It reminded of Safe Cracker and if you like that game, then Arcana is definately one you want to look into. I'd advise doing the trial. The games has a warning as the theme is occult, but I didn't find any of that disturbing. I recommend this game to anyone who loves solving puzzles.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real treat for puzzle lovers If you find joy and happiness in solving puzzles - the more challenging the better - this is the game for you. Not much of a storyline here, but it doesn't matter really, because this type of games doesn't require a storyline - think "Safecracker" or even the "Azada" series. The game is a collection of puzzles, some maybe a tad repetitive, but others unique and challenging. I wouldn't give an A to the art, and I mean the numerous portraits here which were painted for the most part without due attention to human anatomy (but at least the interiors were executed well), and that's the only complaint I have about the game. I surely hope there will be Arcana 2 at least - and maybe more.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old school puzzles at their best! This game does not hold your hand. The puzzles are deceptively easy at first, and get really super hard later on. The story is simple - you're in a mansion and you have to collect keys to get out. I'm almost done, and stuck, but I'll get it. The best part of this game is the satisfaction of beating each puzzle (and goading a game character into bringing it on - it's ridiculous.) I did skip one puzzle because I'm rubbish at the type of puzzle it was, and the game chided me for it :( Though I deserved it :) I LOVE that it's not the type of game where you run to location 1 to get something to use in location 2, which opens something in location 1, which works with a gadget in location 2, etc. etc. Take a deep breath, don't use any hints, and get those "I did it!" endorphins after each puzzle. And don't try to play this in one setting. Some puzzles need a fresh mind.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Loved this game! I was very proud of myself not skipping any of the puzzles. Some of them were very long to do but I persevered and got them done! I did have to send a question to the website about getting to the last chamber but other than that I was able to find what I needed, navigate all of the rooms and master the puzzles. Hope we can see more of these!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want a Puzzle Challenge, Here You Go I joined the Doctor Arcana elite and finished the game without any skips. Sound like no big deal, well it is. I'd say over half of the puzzles are standard fare that you may have some experience in. But, there are 3 or 4 that will put your mind and patience to the test. If you're not into challenging puzzles, this may not be for you. It's rather minimal in navigating around and the extra things to do are few and far apart. It's solving the puzzle(s) within each unlocked room that's the main event. There is the 'Skip' button so you're never stuck for long, but that's not the purpose of this game. The purpose is to make it through without skipping and be approved by Doctor Arcana as someone who braved through its sometimes torturous puzzle challenges. I'm serious, there's a circular maze, arrow grid and marble puzzle that to me nearly had me doing the 'Skip', but I didn't. When I finished and the game displayed my certificate, I wished others around me knew of the game so I could boast it proudly. The old-style, kind'a Castlevania looking atmosphere and music was refreshing for old-schoolers like myself.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW Very different games, no HOPS, all brain challenging puzzles. Music, artwork and plot and incredible. Best game I've played in years!
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best puzzle games yet! LOVED IT!!! Wow. This game stretched my brain and I loved it! I play games because I love figuring out things, I love to be challenged, I love to think and I love being surprised... this game did it all! Bravo to the team of developers and brainiacs who thought up every part of this game and then put it into a semblance of logical order. Would LOVE to see more of these types on Big Fish
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I say WOW! This is so good. Puzzles to work on, keys to get in a mansion. There is help if needed. Really entertaining.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzle galore Wow, puzzle galore nice and hard. There hasn't been a true puzzle game since the Azada's and the Pahelika games. I loved this. More please.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had so much fun! I really enjoy a good puzzle game especially when it has a storyline where the solving of a puzzle leads to some purpose. This game is all about that. This was fun. There are no HOPS , no morphing objects, just puzzles. You agree to be locked in a mansion and the only way out is to find the 13 keys. There are some redundancies that may bore some but there is an element of perseverance that is part of the game.Things get harder as you go. I enjoyed it. I am not good at keeping track of direction and experienced some frustration with finding my way and the map isn't the usual map, in that you can only go to places where you found a key. So at one point I was frustrated but that 's part of the puzzle. This was fun and well worth the cost of a standard game.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr. Arcana Rocks ! Just finished this game. Best one I've ever played. Everything about this was great. I hope Monolith does more of this thought provoking play. There were hard and easy games., and many of them. the Cheaters compendium made it happen for me. The humor of script plus the eeriness of the graphics just touched off a wonderful game play. I'm so glad this was Not listed as a Co llectors Edition since I won't pay the higher cost. This was only $6.99. I hope many more enjoy this game.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Please!! Wowza! I'll buy every one of these types of games without even trying them out first. They're that good. I'm not finished yet but I had to interrupt my play to rave about this game. It's not an easy one, and it takes hours & hours to solve (at least for me). But that's what I love about it. You get your money's worth over & over again. More like this, please!
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game!!! Easily one of the best games in a very long, long time!! I would have definitely spent the money for this game but was able to buy it with a coupon. Very challenging, great story, SO MUCH FUN and the graphics were excellent although not on par with much of what is coming out these days for graphics - having said that, I think the graphics were appropriate for the storyline and the look. This game reminded me of the older games from 10 years ago - oh I have missed the quality and challenges from back then. Thank you so much for this game Monolith Graphics and The Hideout! Was an absolute pleasure to play it. I didn't know there was a compendium until the end but am glad of it. Next time I play - because this is a repeat play game for sure - I will check that out. Can't gush enough about this great game. Really, REALLY hoping there is a sequel to this - and that's the first time I've ever said that.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4.5 Stars - The Most Fun I've Had In a Long Time Getting Totally Mind Blown! [review based upon completed game] Pros: really cleverly crafted puzzles, great atmospheric graphics and music, non-obtrusive dialog, built in walkthrough and other extras (and in an SE!) Cons: if you want everything handed to you in your games...leave the mansion now! This is easily one of the best games I've ever played for how compelling it was - I literally spent all my free time outside of work playing until I completed the game in just a few days - sleep deprivation, missing my usual gym workouts, barely cooking anything - because I couldn't stop playing until I reached the end! This developer is new to PC games and really hit it out of the park with their first crack at making games which is truly amazing to me. If you are looking for HOS, don't bother as there are some hidden objects here and there to pick up, but this is all puzzles. If you've been playing casual games for a while you'll be taken down memory lane with the puzzle types you'll see. Not to worry, it's not totally 90s as the graphics and soundtrack are beautifully done and very atmospheric. I'm glad to see BFG changed their cautionary statement, as there is no graphic content to scare anyone nor is there any "explicit adult content", but there definitely is a lot of occult imagery which doesn't bother me; however I can understand how it's not for everyone. Loved how the storyline was worked into the game: instead of the usual cutscenes/voiceovers, you get Dr. Arcana's mysterious mask appearing here and there speaking to you just enough, and the rest of the story is worked into the rooms of the mansion as you're working on accessing the assorted puzzles. The puzzles are varied and ingenious in their design and level of complexity. The difficulty is everything from pretty easy [if you get what the clue is telling you] to diabolically brain-straining, and there's a pretty good mix of hard and easy puzzles within each room of the mansion as you're going along, although there's a definite difficulty gradient that increases as you go higher up in the mansion. The very final underground room you access is either an awesome example of puzzles within puzzles, or a hair-pulling hard fiendish trap as you will have to solve a puzzle even to get the clue to be able to get into the rest of the room. Something I noticed while playing was the assorted clues and objects to collect weren't always needed right away - sometimes you won't be using them for quite a long while as you might have to do several rooms elsewhere before you can get to the spot where you need a particular object or clue. The clues themselves start becoming little puzzles of their own late in the game which I thought was truly clever. There are no sparkles or other giveaway hints so even early on you'll need to engage your gray matter. The in-game journal is great for checking on your found clues especially when you finally reach a puzzle for which you found the assorted clue or HO several rooms ago, but I'd recommend writing down other tidbits you come across in a notebook. If you get stuck, there's a built-in walkthrough, but even if you only play for a little while, you'll notice Dr. Arcana has a dark, biting humor in his commentary. He saves his best shots for the walkthrough, which is a work of art IMO with how he ranges from patronizing, miffed, and very mockingly sarcastic. I actually read through the entire walkthrough after finishing the game just because I found it hilarious, but if you're one who's easily hurt and needs a lot of help to get through a game...this one isn't going to be for you. There are even other extras which usually only appear in CE versions like being able to view all the artwork you've discovered in your travels, a music player, and hidden Easter eggs to find which don't affect the main gameplay, but those who have gaming OCD will be spending quite some time trying to discover all the hidden secrets. If you like to *really* be challenged in your games and want one where you can solve it with logic and not luck, I definitely recommend this! The only minor quibbles I have are that you can't replay the game on the same player once you've finished to try to improve your ranking or locate whatever missing artwork, journal entries, or secrets you missed, and some of the puzzles could have benefited from having an "undo" button instead of only a "reset" button. Oh, and don't press the Hint button as I found it nearly useless and it lowers your ranking when you've finished the game. These are really the only reasons I took half a star off my review. I'm eagerly looking forward to more of this series. Puzzle lovers rejoice, you're seriously missing out if you haven't tried this game!
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Challenging Retro Style Game I really enjoyed this game. It is one of the best games I have played in a very long time - definitely a Game of the Year contender. It reminded me of puzzle games from the 90's. If anyone remembers the Seventh Guest it is very similar in feel to that just not as complex. Yes the puzzles do start off easy and there is repetition with unlocking the doors but the difficulty does increase as you go along. The only thing that would have been nice is to be able to have the map with you to be able to zip through the rooms quickly, but as a previous reviewer stated, it is not a big house that you are exploring its just tedious going back to previous rooms looking for clues and items that you may have missed or to go back to puzzles that you have finally located a clue for. The other nice thing would have been a counter letting you know the number of secrets you had uncovered and same with the artwork. I managed to find all 38 pieces of art but it wasn't until the end that I discovered that I had only found 20 of the 22 secrets and I can't go back to see if I can find the missing 2 secrets. i hope that the game developers create a sequel as I really did enjoy playing this.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Adventure Game I really recommend this game for Adventure Games lovers. At last we got a different game for a change. Get it, you won't regret it.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever That's the game I'm looking for, PLEASE MORE OF THIS KIND
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun puzzles love this game. is is all puzzles and it does repeat puzzles but lots of games in between i had a hard time at first because when i downloaded the game after buying it. it tool back a purple stone and i was stuck . could not advance .. so i started a new game and then i had no problems it you like puzzles that put pics together or filling up all the spaces without backtracking. things like that you will like this game. i think im about half way through it and the puzzles do get harder but all fun..... very good puzzle game.. no hog
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzles, puzzles, and more puzzles OK so I bought this after playing the demo for 15 minutes. This is not your everyday HOP game so don't go there if that's what you are looking for. This is a bona fide puzzle game. Yes there is a help. Go back to the main screen and click on EXTRAS and then the CHEATER'S COMPENDIUM. This has all of the help you'll ever need. Here's a clue to get you past the front gate - Abracadabra!!! If you've gotten that far, I was a little confused at the staircase as I didn't realize there were hallways off the top floor and only stumbled on it by accident. So move your cursor around and you'll get there. Read the low ratings. They are all from people who couldn't find help or didn't know how to get past the gate. Everyone else loves the game. Now that you know where the help is, you should love it too. Enjoy!!!
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best ever This is THE BEST GAME.... I can't wait for these folks to offer up a sequel.... I LOVE puzzles.... ok, I confess I had to cheat once with the cheater's compendium of secrets.... but I felt no shame....my favorite puzzle was the maze with the gold scarab pushing around the gold balls..... made me think..... totally ready for the next game of puzzles please....
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED IT! This game reminds me of the first ever game I played...AZADA! It's a game with logic puzzles that are not so easy to solve (in fact, I had to skip 4 puzzles that I wasn't able to solve) Inside the many rooms of the mansion you will find many clues that will help you to solve the puzzles... but some clues are not so easy to find. You have to look very hard. The puzzles are quite challenging and you have to use logic to solve them... and that's the main reason why I love this game. I love logic puzzles. So, if you love the usual HO games, you may don't like this one. It's a pity that there isn't a guide though, cause I would have liked to see the solution of those games I skipped. Anyway, if you love challenging games, this one is for you!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana I enjoyed playing this game because all the mini games were good to play. I could practise them for the hidden object games. The graphics were simple to look at and it was a treasure hunt when it came to the gemstones because I had to search for them all over the mansion
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best. Game. Ever. I never review games, but I've simply got to weigh in on this masterpiece. This is not a few hours of entertainment --- it's a days-long adventure. Lots of thought from some fiendish minds went into creating The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana, and players must expend lots of thought to survive. The Cheater's Guide --- which I'll admit accessing once or twice --- also requires fortitude to survive, as Arcana's rapier-like snark impales all mortals foolish enough to look. (If you manage to make it through the game unscathed, check out the Cheaters Guide after finishing. Arcana vacillates between extreme disdain and utter exasperation. The guide is a masterwork in its own right.) Please, please, please give us another like this soon!
Date published: 2019-04-10
  • y_2020, m_10, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_29992, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

Solve a series of devious puzzles to escape Arcana manor and uncover the dark secrets of the mysterious magician once lived there.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.