The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(548.60 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

WARNING: The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana contains occult images that may not be suitable for younger players.

Can you survive this dark adventure set inside the sinister Arcana Manor? On a dark and stormy Halloween night, you find yourself standing before the manor’s gothic gates. A strange force compels you to find a way in, but as soon as you set foot inside the mansion, the door slams shut behind you, sealing you inside the eerie manor house. A ghostly vision appears before you, presenting you with a challenge: Resolve a maze of riddles and perplexing puzzles, or be doomed to spend eternity locked inside the inescapable mansion. Do you dare accept the deadly challenge and discover the secrets that lie within The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana?

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is a throwback to early computer puzzle games. The game was designed to have a very retro look and feel within a simple framework with minimal mouse controls. The end result is an effectively moody and entertaining game that evokes a haunting sense of nostalgia. Players must resolve a variety of devious puzzles to unlock Doctor Arcana's darkest secrets. Players are also subjected to taunting remarks from Doctor Arcana throughout their adventure, and lost souls who consult the in-game walkthrough, aptly named The Cheater's Compendium, will be scolded and ridiculed for doing so. For those seeking something more mentally stimulating than the usual arcade game or hidden object adventure, this is the game for you.

  • A captivating mystery set in the realm of magic and illusion
  • Over 50 perplexing puzzles and mind-bending mazes
  • Original soundtrack by Nox Arcana
  • In-game art gallery featuring eerie works by Joseph Vargo
  • Detailed walkthrough from Doctor Arcana himself

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 582 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(548.60 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engage that grey matter !!!!!! Absolutely brilliant game, no need for helps, hints, sparkly areas or a cute little helpers.....just engage brain and work it out !!!!!! Well done Big Fish, finally an adult puzzle game that actually engages you, good graphics, great voice overs and good fun. Knew i was going to purchase it at the very start of the demo....still struggling my way through it but loving every frustrating second !!!!!
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game I can't remember when I played a game as interesting and challenging as this. I prefer puzzles as opposed to HOS in the games I purchase, and this game had a really great variety of puzzles with different levels of difficulty. I didn't want to stop playing. Lately, many of the games are just too easy and cutesy. I prefer the darker games, and challenging puzzles, and this game had it all, along with great artwork. I even enjoyed the voice telling me I did well on a puzzle or asking why it took me so long to finish it. The only issue I had was accidently hitting the skip button on one puzzle. It just skipped it instead of the usual box popping up asking if I really wanted to do that. That was disappointing because it was a really good one. Luckily for me, i can play the game again anytime since it was a definite buy for me after only a few minutes into the demo.. If you like brain teaser and more challenging puzzles, and a darker style of game is to your liking, I would highly recommend this game and I hope there willl be more of this style available.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unmissable Adventure For those gamers who like puzzles, this game is an absolute must to play. Okay, it won't be to everybody's taste - no hidden object scenes here - but a puzzler's paradise. The minigames appear to get harder as the game progresses but, unusually for a SE game, there is a very humourous walkthrough (hidden in the "extras" and described as a Cheater's Compendium). Congratulations to the devs and BF - a real pearl!
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting and challenging game. A different and challenging game. Enjoyed it.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little brainstorming Very pleasant to play. You have to use your memory and your brain to resolve puzzles. I'd like other games like this one…
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Fun! First, the artwork and design are wonderful! And it's full of puzzles, yay! If your looking for the usual hidden object, need just the right object to open another object - this isn't for you. I like those, too, but this is a refreshing change. There aren't constant directions because you don't need them. You're given clues and part of the puzzle is figuring out what to do. They aren't unattainable, you just have to think it through. Each room has puzzles, a key and a gem to get into the next room. Visually it's beautiful and the storyline is fun. And there is a fun guide included if you get stuck (not usually in SE's). Thanks Big Fish, I had a lot of fun with this one!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME This game is full of puzzles. I love it! I trialed this game briefly and purchased it instantly because I love puzzles, and the quality is outstanding. We all have our favorite genre, but, obviously I recommend this to gamers who like to use their brain and nut out puzzles.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Love this game! Very retro and so nice to play something so different from everything else out there right now!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, good and good. It is a retro looking game and I really liked it from the start. A lot of puzzle going on and you need really to think. It no HOS so I do not understand why somebody is complaining about no HOS in the game. Loved it till the and and hope there will be more of this story line.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Frustratingly Brilliant Serious mind challenging games. Absolutely loved this. No, its not a hidden object game, far better. Big Fish have come up with an exciting, difficult and different game. Best game I've played in ages.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A PUZZLE LOVER'S PARADISE The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is retro-style puzzle adventure that offers a gauntlet of challenges. The game begins on a stormy Halloween night, outside the gothic gates of Arcana Manor, the mansion home of Doctor Arcana, a famous magician who mysteriously vanished several years ago. After solving a few preliminary puzzles to get past the front gates and mansion doors, you find yourself locked inside Arcana Manor where you meet your ghostly host, the mysterious Doctor Arcana. The masked magician challenges you to stay the night in his creepy mansion in an attempt to discover his secrets and find 13 skeleton keys that will unlock a hidden treasure. If you are brave enough to accept his challenge, you will be sealed inside the mansion with no means of escape until you resolve the mystery. The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana offers some twists on the standard HOPA game. The main thing that’s different is that there are no hidden object screens to search, instead the game is loaded with puzzles, roughly 60 in all. There are a nice variety of puzzles that range from tile-slides and mazes to logic puzzles and decoding symbols. One Egyptain-style puzzle that requires you to guide a golden beetle to push 16 balls into a central hole is a nerve-wracking challenge. Thirteen of the mansion’s rooms hold Doctor Arcana’s puzzle cabinets. Each of these rooms is sealed by a puzzle door. These doors display traditional tile puzzles that increase in difficulty from square tiles to hexagonal grids as the game progresses. While these puzzles require you to discover and assemble magical symbols, the door cryptex puzzles require the names of mythical magicians that are hidden throughout the mansion. They start easy enough, but eventually they must be decoded to be solved. Finding the codes will require you to return to a puzzle plaque the Library to unlock three different scrolls containing mystical alphabets. The Library also holds a map that shows you where keys have been found in addition to transporting you to unlocked rooms. The map can only be accessed from the Library, but the mansion is fairly easy to maneuver once you get acquainted with the layout. The haunting background music builds tension very nicely and adds to the creepy feeling of things lurking in the shadows.There are only a few cinematic scenes as Doctor Arcana appears at key points throughout the game, but his ghostly voice taunts you at every puzzle.Your journal automatically keeps track of all important discoveries, providing clues by allowing you to reference notes and images. There is also a complete walkthrough in the Extras menu called "The Cheater’s Compendium.” This strategy guide, written from the scolding perspective of Doctor Arcana, adds a nice touch of humor to the game. Finally, If you do survive Arcana’s challenge, you will receive a diploma at the end of the game giving you an honorary title based on your score. The graphics are beautifully detailed and have a very gothic feel. Paintings of vampires, ghosts, witches and other strange creatures adorn the mansion and you can view all the artwork you collect in the extras gallery. There was a warning on the site that says the game contains adult material, but there wasn’t anything in this game that could remotely be deemed explicit, so I’m not sure what that was about. After playing this game and MCF, The Countess, I’m noticing a nice trend toward more puzzle-based games. If you prefer hidden object games, this may not be the game for you, but if you’re a fan of puzzles, I highly recommend exploring The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Key! The Key! Fun, fun game. All puzzles no HO's. Puzzles are fun to do once you get the hang of them. You definitely have to check out the guide if only to read its disparaging remarks.Terrific game. Enjoy!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down, this is the Game of the Year! Before I even downloaded the demo, I knew this would be a purchase for me, based solely on the fact that the negative reviews complained that it was too difficult. YES! Challenge accepted. The negative reviews included quite a bit of misinformation which I feel should be cleared up: • Yes, there is a map, but you don't find it until you access the library. And do you really need a map to navigate a foyer, two hallways, and four rooms? • Yes, the puzzles include instructions. Click the RULES button, located in the top left corner of the puzzle screen. • No, the HINT button is not useless. It provides a hint; it doesn't hold your hand and tell you exactly what to do. • Yes, there is a walkthrough. It's accessible from the main menu. Click EXTRAS, then CHEATER'S COMPENDIUM. Your game will be saved and you'll return to the exact spot. • No, there are no HO scenes. Because this game isn't a HOPA. Time management games don't include HO scenes either. Nor do Match-3 games. Because they're not HOPAs either. • No, nothing is customizable. That's how it is with ALL adventure games. No one will hold your hand or hand you the solution. You're expected to use your brain. I'd like to note for the record that this game was developed by only three people. Knowing what goes into developing a game, I can't stress enough what an epic accomplishment this is. The lead, Joseph Vargo, wrote the story, developed the puzzles, created the artwork, performed the voiceover, and composed and performed the music with his band, Nox Arcana. Christine Filipak created all the computer graphics. And Daniel Kennedy programmed the game from start to finish. STORYLINE You begin outside the gates of Darklore, the magical mansion of Doctor Arcana wherein his secret society called Arcanum met. You bear an amulet that has been handed down through your family to you. The image of the doctor greets you and challenges you to a death match battle of wits, taunting you endlessly. Find the doctor's Sarcophagus of Doom, hidden somewhere in Darklore, and fulfill your destiny as his successor. PRODUCTION The graphics are beautifully detailed and textured, creating the atmosphere of a gothic mansion steeped in magic. Paintings and other decorative details abound, most containing clues. The music is appropriately eerie and quite diverse, with nine compositions entertaining your ears. GAMEPLAY Explore the mansion, collecting clues and solving challenging puzzles, until you finally reach the Sarcophagus of Doom. Most of the puzzles require you to find one or more clues in order to solve them, but some stand alone. They range in difficulty from moderate to difficult. There are no throwaway matching pairs, Simon Says, Towers of Hanoi, etc. You'll need to have your wits about you, be vigilant in observing your surroundings, and able to strategize and think critically. PUZZLE DETAILS Here are descriptions of some of the puzzles you'll encounter: • Door Locks (repeating, increasing in difficulty, easy to challenging) - First, find the appropriate clue: a sigil alongside a name. Next, swap and rotate the pieces of the puzzle to restore the image of that sigil. Then, input the name. The door locks increase in difficulty with the sigils becoming more ornate, the puzzle including more pieces, and the name requiring increasing levels of decryption. • Circular Maze (difficult) - From the start point, strategize a path to the center that visits every room once without doubling back. • Logical Deduction (challenging) - Twelve beasties are arranged on a grid. At right are labels bearing their names. At left is a list of clues about their positions relative to one another. Decipher the clues and correctly label the beasties. • Golden Lines (challenging) - Swap the pieces of the circular design so that all its golden lines match up, including those around the circumference and in the center. (Note: The center circle can be rotated.) • Color Theory (moderate) - Swap and rotate the triangular pieces to restore the images of three cubes so that their adjoining colors match one another and the colors along the edges of the board. • Rune Pattern (moderate) - Slide to rearrange the rune tiles so that each one is positioned in its matching place. • Masks Maze (difficult) - Light up all the masks by creating a path, following the directional arrows without doubling back. RECOMMENDATIONS • First, as always, I recommend that you try the demo. Just because this game is my favorite type of game doesn't mean you'll be as enchanted. • If you love to be challenged and are sick unto death of childish, cookie cutter gameplay, this game is for you. • I hereby nominate The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana as Game of the Year. It's that good. Beautifully immersive, constantly challenging, and utterly enchanting. Now, if you'll excuse me, Doctor Arcana and I have some work to do. Oh, you rave reviewers might want to check out the website where your reviews are quoted. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Retro Puzzler Very enjoyable puzzle solving game! The story line is interesting and I enjoyed Dr. Arcana's taunting along the way. Not sure why this is listed as HO as you basically go from one puzzle to another to solve and move forward. A nice challenge with some repeat puzzles but not boring. Like that you can skip some puzzles if your brain isn't quite engaged so you don't get permanently stuck.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A PUZZLE GAME THAT WILL KEEP YOU HAPPILY ENTERTAINED FOR HOURS IF NOT DAYS The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is an amazing Puzzle game. Although it has a Hidden Object designation it is definitely more of a puzzle than hidden object game. As you may know I am not a huge fan of having far too many puzzles in HOPA games BUT with The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana being what I consider a Puzzle game I love it. Now these are the types of puzzles that I love to solve. Yes, I am looking around for bits and pieces to help me solve them I still don’t consider it to be a HO game. Everything about The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana is high quality and amazing. The graphics are rich and the voiceovers are incredible. Wow, Monolith Graphics created a masterpiece with this one! The puzzles in the game require some thought to solve but if you find yourself stuck, there is an excellent journal and then you can find additional help in the Cheater’s Compendium that is included in the Extras section. If you enjoy puzzles where you need to use your brain instead of your fingers to twist this or that then you are sure to enjoy this game. We don’t often see a terrific game like The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana here at BFG and I hope that we see more like this in the future. Even though I am now a fan of this developer and this wonderful game, as always I recommend that you try the demo to see if this is one you will enjoy. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE CABINETS OF DOCTOR ARCANA IS A PERPLEXING MIND BENDER!!! The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana can provide some solid gothic puzzling fun for several hours, especially if you enjoy brain teasing puzzles! Steeped in a lovely gothic atmosphere, this adventure is loaded with tried-and-true puzzle archetypes enthusiasts of this genre are certainly going to enjoy. From swapping tiles to navigating-the-maze, all the classics are represented here in abundance, often multiple times. It also provides a bit of flair and a handful of challenging moments during the entire puzzle parade. There’s a bit of a backstory established during the opening moments. Doctor Arcana was a renowned magician who mysteriously vanished years ago, leaving behind a hulking estate that has sat abandoned ever since. Now, as the nameless protagonist, you find yourself in front of the mansion’s foreboding gates, drawn by some unknown power to enter despite your better judgment. The inspiration the developers convey is an obvious entrapment for players to “be locked in a house with puzzles.” After a couple of token introductory obstacles, you gain entry and the doors seal themselves behind you, cutting off your escape. Your only choice, as a masked vision of the good doctor informs you, is to make your way into the mansion’s innermost sanctum and unearth the secrets lying there if you wish to live thru the night. Naturally, no inner sanctum is ever easily accessible (but check out THE MAP in Arcana's office), and this particular one requires collecting thirteen special keys. This aspect brings with it the first blow to the overall sense of fun. Each of the thirteen keys is hidden in a different room, each of which is itself locked by identical pairs of puzzles: assembling an arcane glyph representing one of a number of gothic creatures, and spelling out the creature’s name translated into cryptic symbols. All thirteen doors follow this exact pattern, though with increased difficulty for some of the later ones – every…single…one! Clues revealing the glyphs and creature names can be found by inspecting the large portraits hanging all around the manor, but there’s no challenge involved here, as a portrait will include both the name and glyph together, with no wits required to match pairs. A colored gem – unique for each door – must also be found hidden somewhere in the mansion before it can finally be opened. A good quarter or even third of the game’s entire four-hour running time will be spent solving and resolving this sequence of puzzles thirteen times over. In addition to sprucing up the puzzles with some atmospheric aesthetics, the presentation on the whole does a great job of lending the experience an occult air, helping it stand out a bit more as its own entity. The game is certainly no graphical powerhouse, but it is evident that care and effort was poured into polishing what is on display. The visuals, while mostly static screens with perhaps an effect or two sprinkled in, are nicely detailed. Of special note are the aforementioned portraits adorning the mansion, showing custom hand-drawn renderings featuring an array of gothic and occult images of various creatures and deities. There isn’t much in the way of animation throughout, with the exception of a handful of cinematics showing Arcana’s mask when he berates your intelligence even as he goads you ever on. (LOL)!!! The score also fits the mood perfectly, though not in the whistle-along-at-work way. It’s the kind of music one might expect to hear while in line at a haunted house attraction – cheesy, fun, party-store Halloween music, suitable for the setting and vibe the game is trying to achieve. A bit of voicework for Doctor Arcana is even included, rounding out a production that won’t leave anybody starving for spooky ambience, even though there’s no real danger involved... So, that's my take on this clever and thought provoking gem. It's going to take me hours upon hours for me to complete this adventure and I can't wait to see what happens next and I promised myself NO CHEATING (rolling my eyes at that remark and giggling). Hope everyone enjoys this unique SE, I highly recommend it. Cheers!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the most wonderful enjoyable and puzzling game Absolutely LOVE it... having such a great time playing this game. Wonderful puzzles and you have to think... no finding HOPS just logical processes... Only a quarter of the way through and have stopped so I do not finish too quickly.. Brilliant and a SE to boot !!!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THERE'S NO OTHER GAME LIKE IT, BY FAR THE BEST PUZZLE GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED (and the best game BF has ever had!) Arcanum is a Secret Society of Magicians and Dr. Arcanum is the Grand Master of Arcanum, or at least he was. Dr. Arcanum vanished over two decades ago, and all that remains is a Mansion no mortal has entered successfully. There have been rumors that Dr. Arcanum presided over The Mysterium, an annual event of magic and the dark arts, held within the legendary Theater of Illusion on Halloween night. Members of this society have supernatural abilities, but none of them are as mystifying as Dr. Arcanum. You are about to learn the truth of Dr. Arcanum and all of his secrets, or die trying because once you enter the Mansion, you cannot leave until the final door has been opened! Equipped with nothing more than a mysterious amulet, your quest is to find 13 Skeleton Keys. You must solve perplexing puzzles and confounding conundrums in every chamber of the mansion. Each chamber is sealed by a magical ward, a spell that must be broken to unlock the door. Clues to unlock the doors are scattered throughout the mansion, but finding those clues will take more than luck, my friend, this isn't one of those cookie-cutter games, you're going to have to think, decide and solve puzzles and solutions using grey matter! (there is a "cheaters guide included") Check for clues everywhere, important clues are automatically added to your Journal. FANTASTIC-a journal that's actually used correctly! This is what a journal was all about back in the day. Nowadays the HOPA's have become easy, the journal isn't needed because you don't have to find clues and refer to the journal, because you don't have to think about anything or solve real clues, you don't even have to go back more than a scene or two in newer games...and that's why HOPA fans are becoming bored...but not with this game! After finding Gems etc for each door, you must solve a perplexing puzzle. They are tricky puzzles that make you think, they aren't impossible, they are just complex and require you to solve them logically, there will never be a sticky note that magically appears as most HOPA's do. After solving the door puzzle, you have to enter the correct word or Sigil by using directional arrows to scroll through the alphabet, again a riddle you must think about to solve! The directions are clear but vague, but solving puzzles like these give you a certain pride of accomplishment. There are 38 Art Gallery Pictures included and a step-by-step Walkthrough Guide, but you will have to click on the Menu tab and go to the Extra's Tab to access it. This is also FANTASTIC-it's not easily accessed so you try harder not to access it! If you love puzzles that make you think, solving riddles, and you are tired of all the hand-holding, this is the game for you. Not to mention how FANTASTIC the creepy Mansion scenario plot is!!!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game!! It is by far the best puzzle game I ever played. I really hope there will be a Dr. Arcana 2. Congratulations to all the people who worked very hard to produce it. Thank you so much.
Date published: 2019-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank You I have been lamenting the lack of challenging puzzle games for quite a while now, and then I stumbled onto this game while looking at a posters comment history. Thank goodness for comments! This game FAR exceeded my expectations. There are some challenging puzzles, especially the constellation puzzle and the find your way through the round maze puzzle. I have trouble with even basic right and left let alone rotating something and knowing what it will look like so I ended up getting the first piece or move for a couple of puzzles otherwise I would have been stumbling around in them for days and days. With that first clue those puzzles were still quite challenging enough for me. My favorite unaided success was the push the golden balls puzzle – one has to be very, very careful with moves. The story line is based on finding what happened to Doctor Arcana. It involves keys, moving around to open up rooms in the house, and doing LOTS of puzzles. I probably made about 4 pages of notes and drawings. I used the journal, which is great. Other games are usually so simple a journal is more of a decoration. A map is found mid game, but I didn’t use it much as I drew a map as I went along. The graphics were fine – again, not the main point of the game. This game was good enough that I will replay it at some point, and that’s rare for me. I sincerely hope MORE puzzle games like this are made available.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from don't open any kitchen cabinets I really think this was a great game it was different i feel it was quit a challenge butt i do say having the map in one room was kinda off the path. and the hint button only worked in certain area's. butt a good game
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever Played!!! This was by far the best game I have ever played with Big Fish Games. If you are a puzzle lover, this game is for you!! Absolutely loved this game!!
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzles galore No hidden object, just puzzles enough to drive you mad!!
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging LOVE IT! This game has been sitting waiting for me for weeks, and when I finally sat down to play it, I couldnt leave! The puzzles are increasingly difficult but not impossible. This is by far my favorite game in recent memory
Date published: 2021-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing and Rare True Puzzle Game, Not HOP~! This was a super fun game to play, it was a challenge to get through the puzzles, but just hard enough to make it exciting! I wish there were more games like this, instead of the bazillion HOPs! I like solving puzzles, not forever searching for another piece to open something in a super-predictable HOP! Please publish more games like this, or point me in the right direction!
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from collectors when will they release the collectors edition??
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED this puzzle game! Based on the completed game. This is a great game for puzzle lovers, not so much for anyone else. There are a variety of types of puzzles that repeat, but the degree of difficulty changes for puzzles that appear more than once. The further you get in the game, generally, the harder the puzzles are. I had to skip a bunch of them, even with the help. I'll join with others in complaining about the mostly useless map, but having to travel for it made you really remember where you were and what you had seen there. Often you cannot finish a location on your first visit, so the map was occasionally helpful. What was not so helpful, but oh, so much fun, is the Cheater's Compendium. It's worth the read through, just to feel how useless and stupid you are, even when you have actually solved something. The tone is hilarious. The hints are scant, although there are lots of clues - you just have to remember to look for them. I also found that some of the solutions in the Cheaters Guide did not work (or maybe I couldn't follow the directions). The graphics, while old style, are exquisite. The game plays more like a CE than and SE and I had a great time spending a few hours over several days with it. Then I went back and played it again as another player. Someone else noted that you can't go back and play the games you've skipped, and that would be a nice fix. I wholeheartedly recommend this game (which I don't often do)!
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Puzzle Game I was happy to play a game that isn't like all the other games I have played lately. I feel a little in a rut and this broke me out. This is a straight up puzzle game, It is puzzle after puzzle in order to learn about Doctor Arcana and escape his mansion. The puzzles were varied and interesting, and a few I ended up skipping due to my lack of patience when I get stuck. That brings me to my one tiny drawback, and that was there were no hints on where to go. I found myself a couple of times wandering from room to room trying to locate the puzzle that I needed. Once you get into the library you can jump from room to room, but there is no indicator on where to go. Overall super fun and I spent a nice rainy afternoon playing it.
Date published: 2019-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good puzzle game excellent for puzzle lover, some really difficult but take your time and you will be so happy to succeed,
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Puzzle Lover's Delight This game is nothing but puzzles but oh, what fun they are! For experienced puzzlers, this would seem to be too easy but for me, it was just right. I took off one star for not making the map user friendly. Not for it being non-transportive, but the fact that you have to go the library on the first floor in order to look at it every time you need to consult it! This is poor game design, in my opinion, and is a poor excuse to prolong gameplay. There's also one puzzle that doesn't have a reset button which I am stuck on and there's no way to try a different strategy other than to start a whole new game. This is unacceptable to me when all the other puzzles have reset buttons. There's no reason why this feature should not be updated but since it hasn't, I can give no higher rating than four stars. The graphics, however, are quite beautiful and the humor from your host both within the game and in the strategy guide are well worth the price.
Date published: 2021-01-01
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_29992, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Cabinets of Doctor Arcana

Solve a series of devious puzzles to escape Arcana manor and uncover the dark secrets of the mysterious magician once lived there.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.