Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(71.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Rumors surrounding the history of stately Ravenhearst Manor have circulated for decades. The recently acquired diary of Emma Ravenhearst may hold the key to unraveling the tale behind this unsettling place, yet the pages are missing. Players assume the role of Master Detective to unlock secrets held within Ravenhearst ®, scouring a myriad of enchanting rooms in the manor for cleverly hidden clues. Locating and assembling diary pages helps tell the story of the house and, ultimately, unlock the mystery.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 2000/Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 79 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(71.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ® is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 161.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Many Puzzles This was a really fun game, my goal was to get to the puzzle doors because they were so well constructed with so many moving parts. Great fun.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Eerie Romance This game had me fixed to the computer for hours! It was so spooky and so exciting. The puzzles are hard but with some reasoning, solvable. I loved the background sounds, the music and the graphics too. I keep checking if Mystery case File has released yet another lovely game for me to play on my computer. I have all eight of them (the computer games) but hope for more. You never get tired of them!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun hidden Object game Ravenhearst, and return to Ravenhearst is the all time best, everything about this game was excellent...please make another.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a pure hidden object challenge this is the best This game has the best hidden object graphics I've ever seen. Not even Return to Ravenhearst tops the hidden object graphics. However the jigsaw puzzle between chapters gets old fast.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Magnificent....................
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery case file;Ravenhearst I been playing a lot of game but this game is very enjoying.I hope your company will have a lot of this game in 2013.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best!!!!! I have been a Big Fish player for over 4 years and this is one of my first games. It is still one of my favorites!!!! I loved how it ended was so amazing...Big Fish has the best games ever!!!!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game All the Ravenhearst games are fun, the only reason I only gave 3 stars on the visual and sound is because this is an older game and the graphics do not look as nice on the new larger screens. I recommend this game to people who have smaller screens.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst are the best games I have played. I only wish there were more like them. Excellent story and graphics.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever! I think this one is destined to be a classic.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great intoduction to hidden object games I bought this at a department store when I was very young and it sparked a true love for PC and hidden object games. I replayed this so many times, and even in my 20's I am still in love with this game. The game is rather simple and the puzzles are not mind boggling difficult. Just a nice easy introduction to this type of game and a wonderful story line. I highly recommend this game and all of its sequels.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED IT A great game to challenge the mind
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! This is the first H.O. game that I bought here on Big Fish Games back in 2007. I became an avid fan of the genre and especially this series, Mystery Case Files after completing this game. I replayed this game recently after I bought the Mystery Case Files: Rewind game. I wanted to see how close they made the Rewind game to this original game. It is very close. This one is harder. I like this one because the H.O. lists are never the same, so If you have to replay a level when the time runs out, you are not going to be searching for the exact same list of objects! If you have never played this game and you enjoy puzzles, I suggest you give it a try. Be aware, however, that it doesn't play in full screen. At least not on my computer running Windows 10. In spite of that I still loved playing this game again!
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will play this over and over I just love this game way too much. The spooky sounds of thunder, the house creaking, and her voice really amp the creepy factor which I love. I love trying to solve the puzzles to open the doors for the different rooms. There's also lightning in this game at various times which I think is very cool. The storyline seems innocent at first but it gets creepier as you go on which I just love.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like this good job mystery case im so happy
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hidden object game good for any hidden object game lover. easily the best hidden object game.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging First Offering of Ravenhearst Series Excellent Mystery Case Files early HO/Puzzle mystery game with infinite replayability. You are the detective who has been summoned to Ravenhearst Manor to solve a decades long mystery. You search the many rooms of the manor for clues, so you can find the pages from Emma's diary and piece together the intriguing storyline. The game has a spooky feel to it, with eerie music and sounds, sometimes you can hear Emma's voice too. To progress you need to find a myriad of hidden objects from the many rooms, playing against a timer which makes the HO scenes harder and much more interesting. At the end of each search of several rooms, you still have to solve a door open puzzle which can be quite challenging, a refreshing change from some of today's very easy games. Then you still have to piece together a delightful picture jigsaw puzzle which advances the storyline, all this still against the timer. It is a long game, it took me over 6 hours to complete, great for puzzle enthusiasts, offering a welcome challenge. I cannot wait to do the next one in the series. They don't make them like this anymore.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game Good HO before MCF turned to live acting for their story telling. Game you can play many times.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i like suspense, this one had it loved it. i lik ev suspense, this had that
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ravenhearst i loved the game so much im going to get the rest of them cant wait to see what they are like
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I love these, I just wish they didn't end all scooby doo 'ish...
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! Love Mystery Case Files, all their games are so fun and interesting. Well worth the money. They really put a lot of thought into there games. So many places to go and things to find, I love using my brain like this instead of brainless HO piles after piles. I love the adventure. Long game, it took forever and that is a plus!!! Plus if you do get stuck the hint button pushes you in the right direction without a fuss. Although, I would like a slight less direct approach so I still have to guess a tiny bit. I have a new macbook and was lucky I got through the game, seems this series is having issues with Lion and it crashed a few times. I hope they get on it and update their games! Please.
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I love this game! The graphics are amazing, and it's so spooky!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring on a challenge! Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst are two of the first and two of the best games I purchased on BF. I love a challenge and these two were hours of fun! I would love to see further installments to this series.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ravenhearst Review This is a review of Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst, Standard Edition for PC, which I completed on 03/06/2016. GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is extremely predictable. That is not a complaint, but an observation. You start the game with one diary page. The goal, at the beginning of the game, is to assemble the diary. You assemble the diary by “finding” the diary pages within Ravenhearst manor. However, you don’t really find the pages themselves. Instead, you are given access to certain rooms. Unlike more modern Hidden Object Adventure games, you don’t really go into the rooms. When you click on a room, you get an HO scene. The basic scenes remain constant for each room, so for example, the Parlor will always have the same items in it. Each scene has eight objects to find, and you need to find a certain number of objects to get a diary page. This means you will usually be interrupted in the middle of an HO scene with a message that you have found all the items. Between each diary page, you also have 6 Hints you can use. The Hint button creates a sparkling circle around the area where the object is, but it’s a very large circle, so you sometimes will still have to look. There is one item in one room that is practically invisible, but I was able to find it eventually. Clicking too much and too quickly results in a time penalty, but it only happened to me once when I was frustrated about the invisible item mentioned earlier. Other times, if you misclick thinking you found the item but didn’t, there is no penalty. It’s only when clicking repeatedly and quickly on one object. While you can simply click on some rooms, others are locked with puzzles. You usually only have to do one door puzzle between diary pages. These are pretty difficult. There are no instructions, but there are usually a lot of things you can do, and through trial and error, I was often able to figure out what to do next. There are also clues like letters, numbers, and patterns in the puzzle rooms, too, which can help. Finally, unlike most games of this sort, the Hint button still works, and assuming you still have any of the 6 Hints, you can use it to get a hint on the next step in the puzzle. If you take a long enough time, a phone will ring, and you will get a pop-up message asking if you want to skip the puzzle. If you choose to do so, you will lose both time (5 minutes) and all your hints. There was one irritating puzzle that I had to skip. It involved manipulating the image of a joystick with the mouse, and my hand continually cramped up while attempting it. Also, I would sometimes be near the end only to find out that the mouse was no longer actually holding the joystick, so when I moved my mouse, nothing happened, and I lost the game and had to start over. It wasn’t that I didn’t know what to do or how to solve the puzzle; it was purely a physical difficulty. What was particularly irritating about that one is that I spent a lot of time on the previous part of the puzzle, even going to look up more information, so the fact that I had to skip the puzzle and lose all my hints over a physical difficulty when I had mentally solved the puzzle really annoyed me. Once you have found all the items you need, you will get a message saying you have found a diary entry. This brings you to a new screen where you assemble a jigsaw puzzle. These puzzles are very easy as the picture is in the background and the pieces are all different shapes. You only see a certain number of pieces at a time, but there’s usually always one easy one -- either a corner, a side, or part of a face that is very obvious. This also means you don’t have the problem where you have too many pieces all on top of each other and covering the actual puzzle area like you do in a lot of more modern games. You do sometimes need to rotate the pieces, which you do by right clicking rather than left clicking. If you left click a second time, you let go of the piece and it returns to the bottom of the screen. That said, you don’t need to hold down the left button. Once you have clicked it once and put in the puzzle area, you can stop clicking and right click to rotate, then just move your mouse to move it into place. The puzzles are all in a greenish hue with pencil-drawn illustrations. Once you have completed a jigsaw puzzle, you get to read the diary entry as it scrolls over the image. Then, you can find it again in the diary itself. Once you have assembled the diary, you have a new objective, which I will not spoil, other than to say that it involves more hidden object scenes and at least one more puzzle. I found this final stage much easier than the previous part of the game. I would say I spent at least 90% if not more on the first part, then breezed through the last part. That made it somewhat anticlimactic. CHALLENGE: I have to say that the level of challenge was perfect for me. The HO scenes had some objects that were easy to find (especially during the Endgame), while others had me pondering and looking for a long time, and still others required a hint. I consider the nearly invisible item to be TOO much of a challenge, but that was the only one like that. Similarly, I was able to solve almost all of the door puzzles through the trial-and-error beginning, which led to insights about the puzzle. There were a couple I needed to look up, but overall, they were just hard enough to keep me interested but not so difficult that I wanted to give up. As I mentioned earlier, the jigsaw puzzles were very easy, but that made for a nice break between the harder sections of the game. STORYLINE: I enjoyed the storyline, even though I predicted most of the story. There were a few strange moments where the diarist would end at a spot that no actual diarist would stop, and the presence of a third character, considering how she was brought into the story, did not make much sense. That said, despite the predictability and occasional lack of logic, I did enjoy it. OPTIONS: There are very few options. At the beginning, you can choose between two modes: Master Detective (timed) and Relaxed (extended time). Penalties, as mentioned above, result in the loss of Time, which means that they’re relatively insignificant if playing in Relaxed mode. I must note that I played in Relaxed mode and thought that it meant it was untimed. As a result, I frequently left my computer without pausing (you can pause by going to the Menu), and spent a long time looking for one object rather than moving on to a new room after finding as many as I could quickly, and I never encountered any worry about time, so I would have to say that the time is extended to the point that you might as well consider it untimed. Hints are limited to 5 between diary pages. They refresh each time you get a new diary page, and that’s the only way you can get more of them. I don’t usually skip puzzles, and when I do, it’s only when I know I can’t solve it, so I am not sure whether the phone/skip option is available at the very beginning of the puzzle or if it takes time to charge. AESTHETICS: This is an old game. The visuals are obviously dated and not particularly interesting. Many of the same scenes are in a different place in a different room rather than each room being unique. This adds to the difficulty, but not to the aesthetics. There is no voice acting. I also did not notice music, aside from the intro. There are sound effects, and they can get annoying, as it is the same effect repeated over and over in the same room. It could be a clock ticking or a cat meowing. LENGTH/VALUE: Overall, I really enjoyed the game, and want to play it again to see if I can beat my time, which shouldn’t be too difficult since I didn’t pay any attention to time the first time. I will note that I do love HO scenes, so if you prefer games with more puzzles or adventure, this might not be the game for you. I found myself excited about the new diary pages, too, even though I was pretty sure I knew what was going to happen in the story (and I was right). I spent over 7 hours on it and enjoyed most of it, aside from the invisible object and the annoying “puzzle”. Final Assessment: I recommend this game to those who enjoy HO scenes and like the feeling of nostalgia that comes with playing old games. CE or no? I don’t know whether there is a CE version of this or not. Mine had a place for a Strategy Guide, but I was unable to use it, so my version is definitely not a CE. I don’t know what I might be missing if there is a CE, so I would have to say that the Standard Edition is very good on its own.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong Hidden Object Follow-Up Ravenhearst differs a bit from its predecessor, Prime Suspects, in that it's slightly darker and possesses less of the humor that I enjoyed so much in that game. That said, the third MCF offering is still full of a lot of positives, particularly if you like collecting hidden objects. Much like Prime, you'll progress through various levels by exploring rooms of the house to collect a number of items. The items stay the same, so eventually you'll find a good bit of them just by remembering from the last time you visited a room. Instead of darkness, though, you'll deal with certain rooms being locked off to you until you defeat a puzzle to access it. A precursor to something HO fans do all the time now, this was groundbreaking then and most of the puzzles are Rube Goldberg-like contraptions that add to the difficulty and the fun. Half the battle is figuring out which object does what, and some are just there for show. Good stuff. Graphics and sound are the same as Prime Suspects, which is to say marginal. Storyline is not bad, as you'll learn more about the occupants of the manor through diary entries you collect, but as before the ending is a bit of a letdown with little explanation. Once you've completed the game, you can try again, though it's less fun than Prime because you pretty much already know everything that occurred. Ravenhearst is a product of its time, and that's good and bad all at once. There are plenty of objects to collect, and the roots of a stellar game here, but it's suffered a bit through the lens of time. Better than average, but likely not as good as you remember.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally playet it. I had this game for ages, and I finally played it. I was surprised that it is strictly a hidden object game, with a few puzzles thrown in. I enjoyed it, but I didn't care for the fact that you only were allowed a few clues, which made it a little hard. But as a hidden object only game, it wasn't bad. :)
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a must play! excellent sound effects, frequent puzzles and a nice story! play it!
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable game! This was a wonderful game! You have to find hidden objects in different rooms of the mansion for each level. Most of the time one of the rooms in each level has an eleborate lock with a puzzle you need to solve - sort of like a Rube Goldberg puzzle, and when you solve it the room opens. At the end of each level you get another diary page and slowly learn Emma's story and why Ravenhearst is cursed. There is a penalty for too much clicking in the game. There are also hints for each level, but only 5 of them, so use them very sparingly. What I did most of the time, once I caught on, was to try very hard to find all the hidden objects with very few hints, then save most of the hints for the locked room in each level, which I did last. If you can't open the room you click on the telephone, then the worst that can happen is you lose the rest of your hints. The only thing that kept me from giving this game a 5 was that I thought the scenes were a little too messy, and in each scene there was usually at least one hidden object that was very difficult to see, either because it was in a dark area, or it was only partially visible, or it was very small, or there was just so much complicated-looking scenery around that it was hard to see clearly. At the end of the game there is a multi-step final puzzle to solve. I enjoyed playing this game very much, in spite of the difficulty of finding some of the objects.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Oldie But Goodie I got this game for free a couple years ago and just now decided to play it. I like playing pure hidden object scene games right before bed because I find it relaxing. I own and have played Return to Ravenhearst and Escape from Ravenhearst and while I love the adventure in both of them, I can't argue with the fact that this is a classic hit game. I remember when this first came out, there were no games quite like it. The puzzles for the doors are so out of the box, unique and fun. There really aren't puzzles like this out there in other games. I was able to complete a good handful of them. There is a relaxed mode which I played and I enjoyed it more as I hate being rushed. To really enjoy this game, you have to put yourself back in the year it came out. When this came out, it was the first of its kind. It really set the bar high for hidden object scenes and to this day, its still a game most people speak fondly of. The 4 MCF hidden object scene only games are what the rest of this franchise is built upon and I wanted to play the original because I have always been kind of lost on the actual story of Ravenhearst and now I know. I loved the jigsaw puzzles between each scene and the interesting door puzzles. You play a lot of the same scenes and have to find the same objects but I just felt like it never got old. I played it at night in installments over the course of a week or so. Keep in mind, this is NOT a modern adventure game BUT if you go in with an open mind and remember when it was released and how big of a thing it was back then, you'll still enjoy it today. I now would like to play Return and Escape again to really see the plotline unfold. Kudos BFG. I see now why so many bought this as their first game and got hooked. Now I have Madame Fate waiting with the morphs.
Date published: 2013-05-20
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_161
  • loc_en_US, sid_973, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

The history of Ravenhearst Manor is shrouded in mystery. Unlock the secrets within this episode of Mystery Case Files™.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.