Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(71.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Rumors surrounding the history of stately Ravenhearst Manor have circulated for decades. The recently acquired diary of Emma Ravenhearst may hold the key to unraveling the tale behind this unsettling place, yet the pages are missing. Players assume the role of Master Detective to unlock secrets held within Ravenhearst ®, scouring a myriad of enchanting rooms in the manor for cleverly hidden clues. Locating and assembling diary pages helps tell the story of the house and, ultimately, unlock the mystery.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 2000/Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 79 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(71.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ® is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I love these, I just wish they didn't end all scooby doo 'ish...
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! Love Mystery Case Files, all their games are so fun and interesting. Well worth the money. They really put a lot of thought into there games. So many places to go and things to find, I love using my brain like this instead of brainless HO piles after piles. I love the adventure. Long game, it took forever and that is a plus!!! Plus if you do get stuck the hint button pushes you in the right direction without a fuss. Although, I would like a slight less direct approach so I still have to guess a tiny bit. I have a new macbook and was lucky I got through the game, seems this series is having issues with Lion and it crashed a few times. I hope they get on it and update their games! Please.
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Eerie Romance This game had me fixed to the computer for hours! It was so spooky and so exciting. The puzzles are hard but with some reasoning, solvable. I loved the background sounds, the music and the graphics too. I keep checking if Mystery case File has released yet another lovely game for me to play on my computer. I have all eight of them (the computer games) but hope for more. You never get tired of them!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The First, The Best I LOVE this game. It was my first hidden object game, before I even knew what a hidden object game was. It is a straight hidden object game (HOG) with an interactive puzzle on each level and a jigsaw puzzle at the end of each level that furthers the story. I'm not really a puzzle person, but these are fun! You click around to work out what you need to do and sometimes the actions will surprise you, some are even laugh out loud funny! I find most of the latest HOG games are more puzzle adventures than HOGs, I wish they would release more like this. It's fun, it's spooky but most of all it has a great story that starts out simple and nice but turns......
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chills kept running up and down my back Hidden Object Games didn't really appeal to me because I didn't realize there could be a good mystery to solve. Since this game was cheap I decided to give it a try last year. It was actually my first HOG and it had me captivated, especially with the eerie music and sounds. The voice of Emma freaked me out the first time I heard it and each time her whisper came through the speakers I got chills. The story is a decent one and the scenes are interesting. This in not a quick game... it takes time, but I felt like it was worth it and the vibe is quite mysterious.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging Puzzles !!! The third game of my favorite series. Again, bigfish added something new in this episode. The doors puzzles. What a nice surprise !!! Some rooms are directly accessibles and other ones are locked and you have to solve puzzles in order to enter the rooms and hidden objects scenes You have to figure out what to do and some of the puzzles are really challenging That's a straight Hidden Object games and even if you prefer interactive games, this one is really fun. That's the first episode of a very very creepy story. You meet Charles Dalimar and Emma Ravenhearst .
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. I love the entire Ravenhearst series... every game gets better and better! No hidden object game could compare to this series! :)
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game! I thought this game was interesting and challenging without being too difficult! It kept me playing!!!
Date published: 2011-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first computer game I ever bought. A perfect introduction to HO type games. Had to have a little help figuring out some of the puzzles at the start but still have it on my computer today. :)
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden objects and psychopaths... what's not to love? This is an excellent hidden object game, it is very heavy on the hidden object side- so be warned. It also has a strong and exciting storyline (told through the medium of diary entries which are assembled like a torn paper jigsaw puzzles at the end of each chapter). There are also some truly unique and inspired puzzles which are bonkers, yet brilliant and SO satisfying to complete! This is the first game in the 'Ravenhearst' series and is just lovely! Graphics are a bit old/grainy but not too bad. Give it a trial!
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best!!!!! I have been a Big Fish player for over 4 years and this is one of my first games. It is still one of my favorites!!!! I loved how it ended was so amazing...Big Fish has the best games ever!!!!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game All the Ravenhearst games are fun, the only reason I only gave 3 stars on the visual and sound is because this is an older game and the graphics do not look as nice on the new larger screens. I recommend this game to people who have smaller screens.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 1st Big Fish Purchase This was my first purchase with BFG back in 2007.....and I havent regretted it. This is where we first encounter Emma and Charles.....it was an eerie but fun game.....and it kept you on your toes......literally......who knew there would be many more games to follow this one. The mini-games are fun (a tad bit difficult but what isnt)......there are forums to help when you need it. The story is very well played.....some parts made me sad then angry.....there is nothing I didnt like about the game (except for one character). I suggest you start here before you play any of the other Ravenhearst series so you wont be lost. But also play the other MCF games in-between to keep up with current affairs.....you wont regret it. I must add it made me love hidden object games more......so go for it.
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a pure hidden object challenge this is the best This game has the best hidden object graphics I've ever seen. Not even Return to Ravenhearst tops the hidden object graphics. However the jigsaw puzzle between chapters gets old fast.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I love this game! The graphics are amazing, and it's so spooky!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst are the best games I have played. I only wish there were more like them. Excellent story and graphics.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever! I think this one is destined to be a classic.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring on a challenge! Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst are two of the first and two of the best games I purchased on BF. I love a challenge and these two were hours of fun! I would love to see further installments to this series.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best! This game has everything! A great plot, challenging game play, and fun hidden object scenes. I also love that you have the changing objects to find. It gives another dimension to the game and I love trying to find them all. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Hidden Object Game This is one of the first (of many) Hidden Object games I purchased. The graphics are great as is the hidden objects - it really makes you think! Great for the older generation to keep their wits about them. I love this game. I'm 56yrs old!
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Many Puzzles This was a really fun game, my goal was to get to the puzzle doors because they were so well constructed with so many moving parts. Great fun.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ravenhearst spooky yet fun. Mystery Casle Files Ravenhearst is one of the best Hidden Object Games that I have played since Huntsville and Madame Fate. When I first time I played Ravenhearst game I was little freaked out about by how spooky the game is hearing voice of Emma urging you on to save her. I love this type of game that you can play over and over again and yet get different objects to look for. Make sure you get Return to Ravenhearst as well. I'm excited for the next installment of Ravenhearst saga: Mystery Case Files Escape from Ravenhearst; which is coming very soon..
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun hidden Object game Ravenhearst, and return to Ravenhearst is the all time best, everything about this game was excellent...please make another.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Childhood Nastalgia I will admit, as the first Ravenhearst installment in the Mystery Case Files Series, it is not as well done as its sequels, but that has a lot to do with what could be done at the time. What it does well is establishes a cast of characters that draw you into further playing the game series. I played this when I was little and recently replayed for the sake of nostalgia, and I still absolutely love it. The scenes in which you find hidden objects are incredibly detailed, so even if you play a scene multiple times, you still get lost in the madness. The storyline is amazing, especially with being continued in its sequel Return to Ravenhearst(another favorite), and the creepy factor only increases as you delve further into the game. Definitely, a perfect beginning to my favorite game series.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it, but does not run on MacOS Sierra It seems Mac OS X Tiger or Leopard (10.4 or 10.5) from 2006/2007 were the last versions recommended to run the game. Enjoyed it when it first came out, but wish they'd update the game so I could play it again with the others in the Ravenhearst series. Only recommended IF you haven't changed your operating system in the last decade.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ravenhearst Review This is a review of Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst, Standard Edition for PC, which I completed on 03/06/2016. GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is extremely predictable. That is not a complaint, but an observation. You start the game with one diary page. The goal, at the beginning of the game, is to assemble the diary. You assemble the diary by “finding” the diary pages within Ravenhearst manor. However, you don’t really find the pages themselves. Instead, you are given access to certain rooms. Unlike more modern Hidden Object Adventure games, you don’t really go into the rooms. When you click on a room, you get an HO scene. The basic scenes remain constant for each room, so for example, the Parlor will always have the same items in it. Each scene has eight objects to find, and you need to find a certain number of objects to get a diary page. This means you will usually be interrupted in the middle of an HO scene with a message that you have found all the items. Between each diary page, you also have 6 Hints you can use. The Hint button creates a sparkling circle around the area where the object is, but it’s a very large circle, so you sometimes will still have to look. There is one item in one room that is practically invisible, but I was able to find it eventually. Clicking too much and too quickly results in a time penalty, but it only happened to me once when I was frustrated about the invisible item mentioned earlier. Other times, if you misclick thinking you found the item but didn’t, there is no penalty. It’s only when clicking repeatedly and quickly on one object. While you can simply click on some rooms, others are locked with puzzles. You usually only have to do one door puzzle between diary pages. These are pretty difficult. There are no instructions, but there are usually a lot of things you can do, and through trial and error, I was often able to figure out what to do next. There are also clues like letters, numbers, and patterns in the puzzle rooms, too, which can help. Finally, unlike most games of this sort, the Hint button still works, and assuming you still have any of the 6 Hints, you can use it to get a hint on the next step in the puzzle. If you take a long enough time, a phone will ring, and you will get a pop-up message asking if you want to skip the puzzle. If you choose to do so, you will lose both time (5 minutes) and all your hints. There was one irritating puzzle that I had to skip. It involved manipulating the image of a joystick with the mouse, and my hand continually cramped up while attempting it. Also, I would sometimes be near the end only to find out that the mouse was no longer actually holding the joystick, so when I moved my mouse, nothing happened, and I lost the game and had to start over. It wasn’t that I didn’t know what to do or how to solve the puzzle; it was purely a physical difficulty. What was particularly irritating about that one is that I spent a lot of time on the previous part of the puzzle, even going to look up more information, so the fact that I had to skip the puzzle and lose all my hints over a physical difficulty when I had mentally solved the puzzle really annoyed me. Once you have found all the items you need, you will get a message saying you have found a diary entry. This brings you to a new screen where you assemble a jigsaw puzzle. These puzzles are very easy as the picture is in the background and the pieces are all different shapes. You only see a certain number of pieces at a time, but there’s usually always one easy one -- either a corner, a side, or part of a face that is very obvious. This also means you don’t have the problem where you have too many pieces all on top of each other and covering the actual puzzle area like you do in a lot of more modern games. You do sometimes need to rotate the pieces, which you do by right clicking rather than left clicking. If you left click a second time, you let go of the piece and it returns to the bottom of the screen. That said, you don’t need to hold down the left button. Once you have clicked it once and put in the puzzle area, you can stop clicking and right click to rotate, then just move your mouse to move it into place. The puzzles are all in a greenish hue with pencil-drawn illustrations. Once you have completed a jigsaw puzzle, you get to read the diary entry as it scrolls over the image. Then, you can find it again in the diary itself. Once you have assembled the diary, you have a new objective, which I will not spoil, other than to say that it involves more hidden object scenes and at least one more puzzle. I found this final stage much easier than the previous part of the game. I would say I spent at least 90% if not more on the first part, then breezed through the last part. That made it somewhat anticlimactic. CHALLENGE: I have to say that the level of challenge was perfect for me. The HO scenes had some objects that were easy to find (especially during the Endgame), while others had me pondering and looking for a long time, and still others required a hint. I consider the nearly invisible item to be TOO much of a challenge, but that was the only one like that. Similarly, I was able to solve almost all of the door puzzles through the trial-and-error beginning, which led to insights about the puzzle. There were a couple I needed to look up, but overall, they were just hard enough to keep me interested but not so difficult that I wanted to give up. As I mentioned earlier, the jigsaw puzzles were very easy, but that made for a nice break between the harder sections of the game. STORYLINE: I enjoyed the storyline, even though I predicted most of the story. There were a few strange moments where the diarist would end at a spot that no actual diarist would stop, and the presence of a third character, considering how she was brought into the story, did not make much sense. That said, despite the predictability and occasional lack of logic, I did enjoy it. OPTIONS: There are very few options. At the beginning, you can choose between two modes: Master Detective (timed) and Relaxed (extended time). Penalties, as mentioned above, result in the loss of Time, which means that they’re relatively insignificant if playing in Relaxed mode. I must note that I played in Relaxed mode and thought that it meant it was untimed. As a result, I frequently left my computer without pausing (you can pause by going to the Menu), and spent a long time looking for one object rather than moving on to a new room after finding as many as I could quickly, and I never encountered any worry about time, so I would have to say that the time is extended to the point that you might as well consider it untimed. Hints are limited to 5 between diary pages. They refresh each time you get a new diary page, and that’s the only way you can get more of them. I don’t usually skip puzzles, and when I do, it’s only when I know I can’t solve it, so I am not sure whether the phone/skip option is available at the very beginning of the puzzle or if it takes time to charge. AESTHETICS: This is an old game. The visuals are obviously dated and not particularly interesting. Many of the same scenes are in a different place in a different room rather than each room being unique. This adds to the difficulty, but not to the aesthetics. There is no voice acting. I also did not notice music, aside from the intro. There are sound effects, and they can get annoying, as it is the same effect repeated over and over in the same room. It could be a clock ticking or a cat meowing. LENGTH/VALUE: Overall, I really enjoyed the game, and want to play it again to see if I can beat my time, which shouldn’t be too difficult since I didn’t pay any attention to time the first time. I will note that I do love HO scenes, so if you prefer games with more puzzles or adventure, this might not be the game for you. I found myself excited about the new diary pages, too, even though I was pretty sure I knew what was going to happen in the story (and I was right). I spent over 7 hours on it and enjoyed most of it, aside from the invisible object and the annoying “puzzle”. Final Assessment: I recommend this game to those who enjoy HO scenes and like the feeling of nostalgia that comes with playing old games. CE or no? I don’t know whether there is a CE version of this or not. Mine had a place for a Strategy Guide, but I was unable to use it, so my version is definitely not a CE. I don’t know what I might be missing if there is a CE, so I would have to say that the Standard Edition is very good on its own.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Game This game was way better than I thought. Great graphics and wonderful storyline.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong Hidden Object Follow-Up Ravenhearst differs a bit from its predecessor, Prime Suspects, in that it's slightly darker and possesses less of the humor that I enjoyed so much in that game. That said, the third MCF offering is still full of a lot of positives, particularly if you like collecting hidden objects. Much like Prime, you'll progress through various levels by exploring rooms of the house to collect a number of items. The items stay the same, so eventually you'll find a good bit of them just by remembering from the last time you visited a room. Instead of darkness, though, you'll deal with certain rooms being locked off to you until you defeat a puzzle to access it. A precursor to something HO fans do all the time now, this was groundbreaking then and most of the puzzles are Rube Goldberg-like contraptions that add to the difficulty and the fun. Half the battle is figuring out which object does what, and some are just there for show. Good stuff. Graphics and sound are the same as Prime Suspects, which is to say marginal. Storyline is not bad, as you'll learn more about the occupants of the manor through diary entries you collect, but as before the ending is a bit of a letdown with little explanation. Once you've completed the game, you can try again, though it's less fun than Prime because you pretty much already know everything that occurred. Ravenhearst is a product of its time, and that's good and bad all at once. There are plenty of objects to collect, and the roots of a stellar game here, but it's suffered a bit through the lens of time. Better than average, but likely not as good as you remember.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally playet it. I had this game for ages, and I finally played it. I was surprised that it is strictly a hidden object game, with a few puzzles thrown in. I enjoyed it, but I didn't care for the fact that you only were allowed a few clues, which made it a little hard. But as a hidden object only game, it wasn't bad. :)
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a must play! excellent sound effects, frequent puzzles and a nice story! play it!
Date published: 2014-01-08
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_973, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst ®

The history of Ravenhearst Manor is shrouded in mystery. Unlock the secrets within this episode of Mystery Case Files™.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.