The Mahjong Huntress

The Mahjong Huntress

PC

Also available on

Mahjong

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(115.75 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Embark on a mysterious quest in search of the missing groom, Charles Gilbertworth. Solve riddles, encounter supernatural creatures and ghosts, all while solving relaxing and fun Mahjong puzzles with innovative gameplay mechanics in The Mahjong Huntress!

  • Nearly 300 levels to complete
  • Search for clues to find your missing fiancé
  • Defeat creatures in terrifying Match 3 encounters
  • Intriguing story with a paranormal twist
  • Beat high scores and complete special objectives

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 531 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Mahjong Huntress

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(115.75 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Mahjong Huntress is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice mahjong, a bit different from most I like mahjong games now and again, but often tire of the sameness of them. Usually the sameness of the tiles, and the lack of any storyline. In this game there is a story, a mystery (my favorite!), and the tiles are not the traditional "Asian" characters I find hard to tell apart. The game plays extremely quickly. You can make match after match and it keeps up with no lags. There are lots of "powers" to help, but I didn't find they made the game too easy. In fact, near the end of the demo time I was having to replay boards. There are the familiar powers, such as shuffle, or hints, as well as new ones, like matching even the blocked tiles, or "polymorph," which turns all in a group into one type of tile. There is a pendant to store a tile for later use. I didn't get to any board but mahjong, but the screenshots show match-3 as well. The graphics are nice, the tiles a little smaller than usual, but I could see them fine with my usual computer/reading glasses! I enjoyed the story, reading the "clues" and following my character from room to room. I want to find out where her fiance has gone, and if they do indeed get married or wait, as our character would prefer.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They must of fixed problems??? I read some reviews and started not to try this game but I like mahjong so I tried it for myself. First of all they have a magnifying glass in corner that automatically enlarges tiles when you move your curser over tiles so no problem there. Also they have a good size playing board so i had no problem seeing the tiles without it, if you are looking at pictures of tile and not the number they put in the corner. Also I did see when they asked you to complete a level in 0 seconds so I left trial and then decided to go back again because I loved the graphics so much and the tiles, with new moons, full moons and quater moons ect. When I played again i re-did levels and seen timer was set at 150 seconds to get an additional star. I really don't like timed either but if you can be satisfied with 2 out of 3 stars it doesn't force you to play fast as long as you complete one of the objectives like collect all the tiles you can move on. It has a story to it which I like, and it reveals clues throughout game getting certain items when complete level. They do have a skip button if you are not intrested in reading dialogue. Also, I like the power ups in the game which are needed if you do want that timed star. So it has a lot of challange to this game. They also have a bonus thingy that counts how many tiles you can clear in a row which you have to be fast clearing them or it resets. Some objectives require you to achieve this to get a star. You can replay all levels to go for perfect. I am a sucker for trying to acheive 3 stars so I do wish they had an untimed mode so I don't have to be bothered with acheiving stars for time. There is also objective to achieve a certain score to get a star. But like I said it doesn't stop you from moving on. So don't go by some of these reviews that were written previously. Try the game for yourself. I think most people will like it if they want a challenge or heck forget about the stars and just play for the story and nice graphics and fun power ups.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game except for the 0 second bug Entertaining story, different than most mahjong games. I'll probably use a credit for it because it IS fun, even though it is currently impossible to get 3 stars on each level. The 0 second timer bug is a problem, and I do prefer a relaxed mode as well. Aside from that I've had no issues with the gameplay. It is worth a try for anyone who likes mahjong.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from YES and NO The Good : Graphic, Storyline and Atmosphere of the game is Great Items and tools is great idea and feature for mahjong game The Bad : Poor level design, no more moves over n over again, Level 1-7 is very easy, and than level 8 is extremely difficult. Annoying music Repetitive Last word : All is great, but level design ruins everythings good in the game
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kudos For Thinking Outside The Box It's nearly impossible to put a new twist on a simple game such as Mahjong. For that reason alone, I have to give a high five to The Mahjong Huntress, and another high five for attaching a somewhat interesting storyline, and some unique features. As you've probably already guessed, this is a detective themed game where the main character, Mary Elisabeth Riley searches for clues as to the whereabouts of her fiance, Sir Charles, from an arranged marriage has disappeared to. Mary possesses a family heirloom pendant that will help you several ways during your Mahjong investigation. Before the start of each Mahjong level, you will be given three level goals to achieve, each goal achieved gives you a star. There are tasks such as scoring a specific amount of points, or making a specific amount of combos, several of the levels had goals of finishing the level within 0 minutes! This feature alone swayed my opinion and prompted me to rate the game with 3 stars instead of 4, how can you possibly finish the level in zero minutes? How can you ever achieve a perfect score? More importantly, why???? The Pendant's powers are available once you have filled the meter either completely to use any of the powers, or at least to the particular powerup you want to use. Strike is the first power-up you earn, which allows you to place an available tile into the pendant, once you click on the Strike icon, the pendant will find and destroy it's match even if that tile is blocked. (note that you can store a tile there anytime and wait for the match to be uncovered, you don't have to use the power-up) The next power-up is Clairvoyance which highlights random available pairs every few seconds for a short period of time. Fate's Edict is basically a reshuffle feature, Paranormal Sight let's you make matches of pairs that are otherwise blocked, for a short period of time and Polymorph allows you to choose a tile and it will morph all tiles in that group to a single type of tile to allow matches. There are 232 Mystery Challenge levels that are basically freestyle levels as well. After a group of Mahjong levels have been completed, you will play a set of Match 3, Battle style against your opponent. The instructions for this game was almost non-existent, there was no explanation of what the colored tiles represented, nothing about the power-ups earned or what they did either. I wasn't thrilled with that part of the game, but the Mahjong game itself was entertaining. If you don't like timed games, you probably won't like this game either because you need to find matches quickly, if you hesitate, your combo will reset causing a combo break. Besides that you have to be wicked fast to achieve the goals of completing the level within 0 seconds!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial period discouraging Only after reading other reviews did I discover that you could achieve 3 stars on many of the levels. During the trial period, they want you to solve many levels in 0 seconds, so I quit before the trial was over. The game didn't intrigue me enough to purchase it.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for An Experienced Game Player I had high hopes for this game. I liked the look of it, the face and feel of the cards, and the story concept, but the tutorials, dialogue, and extremely slow pace made me give up before I even played more than a few games. For those who love and understand Mahjong or just experienced gamers, skip options for all of the aspects would improve the game immensely.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from EXTRA! EXTRA! Read all about it! Graphics were well done. I LOVED the music .... it was perfection. Sound fx were good as well. There was no choice of difficulty. The 'tutorial' seemed to last through several levels and would also pop up when you weren't expecting it. This is a typical mahjong game with an ongoing story along with it. So, why am I so disenchanted with it???? * Too much talking/reading. Like, seriously, W-A-Y too much!!!!! * It hinted at possible HOGs (hidden object games) and 'hints' and 'clues' but nothing surfaced .... ever. * There is NO 'skip' button so you can't bypass all the talking. Otherwise, typical game with a few more bonuses to use during game play that you would ordinarily see in a Mahjong game. And THAT confused me. Huge sigh. You have an entire 'wall' of bonuses but the minute you use ONE, all the rest go 'blank' and can't be used. I love mahjong. I love it more when there's a storyline. I love it even more if it flows well. So, check, check and check .... it has everything I love ................. with excessive reading/talking/boredom which is a dealbreaker in this case. A DEFINITE no purchase for me. Would I recommend it to anyone? Nope.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHERE DID I LEAVE MY MAGNIFYING GLASS? Mahjong was one of the first computer games I discovered along with solitaire and has been one that I play almost every day. Mahjong Huntress has some good things going for it and could have been so much better. I liked the interesting storyline but that is about one of the only plus factors in the game for me. The biggest drawback for me with Mahjong Huntress is the teeny-tiny game tiles. I couldn’t find a way to enlarge them so rather than strain my eyes to see the tile designations I gave up. Had the tiles been larger, I think I would have enjoyed the game. Another thing I don’t like is that there is no untimed or relaxed gameplay mode. I don’t know how many times we all need to say the same thing about these types of games but the message just doesn’t seem to get through. With a bit of restructuring of the tiles, this would probably be a game that I would buy but in its present form, it is definitely not a purchase for me. If you have great eagle-sharp eyesight then I would recommend you give the game a try. If not, then you might want to pass up on this one as well.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from to much talk this game could be good, IF all the "talk" didn't took all the time, in the game . and I have a good gaming PC, but the graphic slows all the scenes down -
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst game ever You have to flip through dozens of storyline which is boring and it's way too easy. And you can't reduce the screen until you've played the tutorial. I had to turn my sound off it was annoying.
Date published: 2015-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Much Fun I love Mahjongs. It was the first game I learned to play. This one though had more cons than pros. I agree with so many of the not recommend this game reviews.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Mahjong Huntress Another Mahjong game that didn't meet my standards I'm afraid to say the least I agree with the single star rating
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yak, Yak, Yak Too much dialogue right out of the gate and if I wish to have tutorial, I will indicate that I want tutorial. Amateur developer? I don't think I've ever given this harsh a review, but I'm sorry.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not hunting for this one This game held a lot promise. The idea was a good one-I love to play Mahjong or solitaire games that have a plot and a journey. It makes it more entertaining than straight boards of tiles or cards. However, the expectations of this one to be able to get the level cleared in 0 seconds is unreasonable and ridiculous. I agree with the others--this is a no go for me, unfortunately.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly Designed Game 1) Storyline could be ok, based on as far I got in the trial. 2) Cannot get 3 stars on some levels because they want you to complete the puzzle in 0 seconds (and there isn't any type of time-altering power-up). 3) Agree that you get access to the power-ups too quickly, which make completing puzzles very easy. 4) No explanation of Mystery Puzzles (on a separate game tab). 5) Could not get 3 stars on the first mystery puzzle because it required clearing artifact tiles that were not actually in the puzzle.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to like this, but... I could find no fun factor to this game. within the first 20 minutes, you have collected numerous "powers" that make the whole mahjong gameplay too easy. shuffle the tiles, reveal hidden tiles, find a match even though you can't see it, match a tile that's still locked. how hard and fun is the game when you don't have to think ahead? also, I was irritated that there is no way to collect three stars on all of the levels. In the first page of the map, there are three rooms where you have to complete the game in 0 seconds in order to achieve 3 stars. I've never been able to complete a game of anything in 0 seconds.
Date published: 2015-08-12
  • y_2017, m_12, d_9, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_23437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Mahjong Huntress

Search for clues, fight werewolves and ghosts, travel and explore Victorian England.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.