Phantasmat: Behind the Mask
Exclusive

Phantasmat: Behind the Mask

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(359.28 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Welcome to the Ward family reunion! The Ward estate is in disrepair and its inhabitants are just as damaged. But they are your family, aren't they? You'll soon discover that being a member of this family isn't just challenging – it could be deadly! Search through level after level of hidden objects and mini-games to unlock the secrets of the Ward Estate. Will you survive? Or will this family reunion be your last?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 633 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Phantasmat: Behind the Mask

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(359.28 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Phantasmat: Behind the Mask is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from . Way to go! I usually save my five stars for those that I feel really deserve it and this is one them. I played for ~10 hours and loved every second of it. 2016
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masked Madness This review is for the completed game of the PC Standard Edition version. GAMEPLAY: This is the most important category, obviously, and it was a great game. I never felt bored, but was always involved in using my brain to solve puzzles. I really loved the Custom mode for difficulty because I like some things to be very difficult (long refreshes for hint/skip, lack of sparkles, etc.) and other things to be very easy (in particular, I hate miss click penalties in HO scenes as sometimes I like just clicking on things I like), so the custom mode was very refreshing! One thing I didn't really like was the fact that there was sometimes only one item to find or a very small number. I like switching from looking for one item to another, and coming back to harder items multiple times, which doesn't work with shorter lists as well. That said, I did like the originality of many of the HO scenes and tasks. I also really enjoyed the puzzles and the special items that you had to create from multiple parts. STORYLINE I rated the story as 4/5, but I'd really put it as 4.5. I really enjoyed meeting the members of the Ward family, but some of them were fairly cliche, and the ending felt a little abrupt. That said, I was really invested in learning about the family and putting everything together. The tasks for the game meshed well with the story, and the types of rooms and puzzles for each character were appropriate and interesting as well. LENGTH/VALUE: I got this at a very low $2.99 so I found it to be an excellent value, particularly as I felt it to be one of the longer HOPAs I've played recently. I definitely feel like I got my money's worth! I'm not sure whether the length was actually longer or if I just spent more time on it because I was enjoying myself and didn't get frustrated or bored, but either way, it points to good value. AESTHETICS: I put this last because I don't feel like a good judge of these things. The child's voice was very well done, particularly once you get to the very end. I did not care for the bugs on some of the screens because I hate bugs. The first time one appeared, I actually thought it was a real bug and screamed. I guess that points to good quality, though, so I can't really fault it. Nothing else really stood out. Final Assessment: Definitely a good buy and highly recommended even at a higher price than what I paid.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weird in all the right ways! I'm just about halfway through this game, and I'm really enjoying it. There's just the perfect balance of creepiness, mystery, surrealism and murder to make this a perfect dark game for anyone in a dark-game kind of mood... But at the same time, it never leans too heavily on any one genre. As I'm going through the game, the various tangents are coming together into a weird but playful tale. And amazingly, it has managed to avoid being depressing, despite the heavy themes... maybe that's because it has a vaguely Alice-in-wonderland ambiance as well? I won't even attempt to describe the abstract story - it's hard to do that without ruining it - but let's just say that many have attempted the same type of thing before and failed. Thankfully, Eipix seems to have mastered the art of keeping us in suspense and they've resisted all temptations to be predictable in Behind the Mask. Eipix seems to be going through a bit of a revival ATM; this is the second game of theirs that's grabbed my attention and held it, in the past few weeks. The level of challenge stays at the right place all the way through, and there are plenty of small twists added to the mini games and HO scenes to keep the player engaged in them. I especially liked the game that involved moving all kinds of numbers and symbols into the right places on a board. It needed strategy and patience, but was engaging and set an easy pace. If you're a fan of the dark genres AND want a bit of fun, then try this game!
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deserves 5 Stars! Everything about this game is good. I loved the graphics, puzzles, music, the challenge, and the length. What more is there? Great game!
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phantasmat series is alive, and scary as heck! I haven't written a review in a while, because I didn't think any were worthy of writing one, but this game was so well done, I had to give my 2 cents. Totally redeemed all the other Phantasmats I was not happy with. Such an interesting plot, and so creepy If you're a scaredy cat, do not play this at night! Story had a good flow with a variety of hidden object scenes, and puzzles. Was scared that there was going to be constant back tracking, but luckily that was only in the first couple of rooms. Was a little disappointed at the ending for the SE. Seemed to cut short, but my fault; I didn't see the CE until after I bought the SE. Next time. Totally worth it, especially since I got it on credit :)
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Big Fish customer since 2004 - this game creeped me out Wow! I have played a LOT of creepy/scary games, but this one REALLY creeped me out. I was actually jumpy while playing and it is gruesome! Fantastic game. Characters are equally frightening. A must play.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Word to newbies and intermediate players I so totally agree with all the great reviews. This is an awesome game. Some of the best artwork, and placement of items I've ever seen. I'll need to play it again to see all the stuff. BUT It can be overwhelming at first. It takes a while to get your bearing in this game. So if you are a newbie or an intermediate , USE THE MAP. It really helps point you along the right path. And don't be afraid to use the hint system. It will help you learn faster. (You can set the difficulty to custom and then slide the times so that it only takes about 10 seconds to reload, just at first, until you are up and running, then you can change it back if you like. Great feature!) Also take your time and really look all around. Sometimes I clicked to quickly and missed a conversation or a good look at the other strange and wonderful things. As mentioned by other fishies, you can go back and get the rocking horses you miss, but I don't think you can do that with the little figurines and pictures. There is a fresh bonus of looking up souvenirs I found when I fished the bonus game which was quite good. Whatever, don't worry about getting all the extras the first time through; this is a game you will definitely want to play again! I know I have played the other Phantasmat games, but I don't believe they were this good. I'll have to go back and replay to see:)
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of intrigue with a murderous fmily Thoroughly enjoyed this game. graphics were very good and the puzzles interesting.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a challenge and good story good story, good puzzles, nice graphics
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!! This was one of the best games I have ever play!
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What did I get myself into? Excellent Fun Game! Would love more like this. Great storyline, professionally developed game; I had no glitches at all and the game had that spooky factor I love! Thoroughly enjoyed playing this game!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good Phantasmat game! This game was amazing! The story was not as great as the first one but it wasn't bad either! I will say that this one was creepier than the first one even though. Great, great game.
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've played in a long time This has everything I enjoy in a game--unique puzzles, long game play, and a dark storyline. I am highly satisfied with this one.
Date published: 2020-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! I enjoyed this game very much! You play as a person who was invited to a family reunion only to find out things aren't as you expected. The graphics are great, the voice acting is good, though I did get annoyed with Thomas' rhymes after a while. The hidden object scenes were a bit challenging at times and fun, and puzzles weren't too overly difficult.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game. Good game; very long. Sooo much stuff to do, soo many rooms to enter, soo many HOs and puzzles!! Each time I thought I was through with a chapter, another door emerged. Great map and task list. (I HAD TO STOP PLAYING A FEW TIMES AND WHEN I THOUGHT OF THE FIRST CHAPTERS, I ACTUALLY THOUGHT THEY WERE PART OF A PRIOR GAME!! Puzzles and HOs are really good. Story line is interesting; relatives are introduced and you do not want these relatives!! Good fun!!!!! HA HA!! Have fun!
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Behind the mask One of the better games in the Phantasmat series. Great story that kept me intrigued the entire way through. Hope to see more games like this in 2016.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a ward family reunion i try never to miss my family's reunion but this one i wouldn't want to go to. more power to her and attending it. she doesn't know any of these people and is meeting them for the first time and they are all strange in their own way........very strange. you notice things are not right as you continue the game. the family members disappear at will, with no trace of them left. then you see them another time, hmmmmm. many levels and mini-games. there is a custom level and an interactive map. a sequel i am sure. this series seems well-liked!!!
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game First game I ever finished playing and immediately thought I needed to give it 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Object It's a really nice game in FISH GAMES. I LOVE IT!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can You Beat the Mask? This is posted after playing the entire game. Okay, I swear after this one, no more ghost games for me.. after this one I said. To be quite honest, the Phantasmat ohas not been my favorite and have passed up on most of them. However, after reading the story description from Big Fish and the reviews, I decided to try the demo. I'm sure glad I did. I really enjoy this one. It is the best of the series. As usual, the graphics and sound were excellent. Colors were refreshing and easy to see. FX were great and the music went along with the action in the scene. There are several types of hidden object scenes from a list to morphing, to a combination of about everything. There are mini games inside the hidden object scenes... I don't know what more you could want from a game. As usual the mini games kicked my behind. They are, for the most part, extremely difficult and time consuming. Thankfully they put custom as one of the difficulties and I set the hint and skip to the lowest setting. All I have to say is that is one big estate. If not for the interactive map I would have been lost. It does show areas where you have something to do and will transport you there. It's a tremendous help. Story is really good and had me from the beginning. Since I don't have, but one Phantasmat game, I'm not that familiar with the characters so it isn't necessary to have played the others to know what is going on. I went from scorn to hate to sympathy is this silly game so the story does have it's connection. If you are one of those who loves toiling over mini games and puzzles, you are going to love this one. Give the demo a try and see if you don't get hooked like I did.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game with Unique Features Game play lasted for hours, but I did see a few new types of puzzles that I hadn't seen before. There were a lot of locations with plenty of features within each room, but not too much back and forth like some games. The art was detailed with well-illustrated scenes, and the storyline was interesting. This is actually the first Phantasmat game I've completed, so I can't compare it to previous games. I play on easy mode because I'm playing for relaxation, but changing modes doesn't make the puzzles themselves any more difficult. The game was a good balance between finding more of what you like about a hidden object game while bringing something new to the puzzles.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Macabre Family Reunion Trap You're lured to a family reunion and become trapped inside a mansion with 6 macabre family members dressed in Victorian garb and come across grotesque macabre debris throughout the house. Spooky elements are present, but they seem too contrived to be scary. Can't remember the rest of the story. What I liked about the game is the artwork is HD and very well done. Would give it 5 stars, except the macabre theme is not my thing. The HOS are very good--a mix of finding morphing objects only, list of objects, interactions only, finding objects from solving a word riddle. The mini games are also very good--most are easy and include some shoot & point games, which I'm not very good at and often have to skip in order to progress, but these are actually not too hard. The ending leaves you hanging in the air, as a set up for the bonus chapter I presume, but also not very satisfying, However, it is a long game, so you definitely get your money's worth. I would recommend Eipix update their cinematic intro to high res movie clip. It's low res and looks so dated.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game Plenty of good puzzles. The game lasted for a while. Enjoyed it!
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Scattered Some things about this game were good but I generally found it to be what I would call scattered. It seemed like the storyline jumped from one scene to another without a lot of sense.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better the second time around. The first time I played this game, I didn't much care for it; the dark themes kind of killed it for me. When I played it through a second time, I was more focused on the tasks at hand & trying to comprehend the somewhat confusing storyline, & that made it a better experience for me. I would probably rate it higher if there were fewer HO scenes & more mini-games; some of the mini-games are quite good, but there aren't enough of them, imo. I'm also not a fan of "mini" HO scenes, & this game incorporates a number of them. As for the "normal" HO scenes, there are a couple that use morphing objects, which makes for a nice change (one mini-game uses them, as well). This is a fairly long game, & the impact of trotting back & forth, hither, thither, & yon, is reduced by having a good map. All up, if the themes aren't a deal breaker for you, I'd say it's at least worth the investment of a coupon, which was how I got it...always good to have something to blow a coupon on before it expires, amirite? ;) Good times.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is just .....confusing and ghoulish. No fun for me. You know, I've always loved the phantasmat games. So when I saw that everyone was rating this with such high stars, I thought I would really like this one too. But IMHO, this one is just a mess. I don't get it. The storyline is not clear, and it's rather nasty - I don't want to give any spoilers for those who want to purchase, but it goes rather beyond (for me) the normal haunted house bit. Into the torture creepy thing. You know. And the story is not clear at all - it is the normal detective tricked into the haunted house, but after that it's just not clear at all what it going on. Just sort of an excuse to be creepy as possible. Now I will say the graphics are well done, but in today's market, LOTS of graphics are well done. So I don't get the raves for this. I'm sorry I purchased it. But it is my own fault - I bought it on the strength of the name, without giving it the "test drive" I know I should by now - I am sorry I used my credit here! I'm sure I could have found a game I would have liked better. I'd just say again, "Try before you buy, try before you buy," and give it a GOOD try - go all the way through the demo.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Compelling Storyline While the storyline was compelling, I thought it would make a better novel than game. What I didn't like about the game was that there were so many puzzles and so few HOS. In fact, there were puzzles embedded in the HOS which will delight most fishies, I guess, but I'm not a fan. Lots of running back and forth, too, which is always a bore. It would be nice to find tweezers in a medicine chest and forks in the kitchen for a change, instead of, for example, behind a brick or in a frog's mouth or sewn inside a teddy bear. Can we have a few servings of logic, please? At least there were none of those infernal "Hmm... what could I possibly do here?" messages, and for that, I'm sure everyone will be grateful.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much focus on torture and death I like a spooky, gothic game as much as anyone, but this game is so focused on torture and death, it was just too grim and unpleasant for me. I didn't finish the game and I'm sorry I bought it.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of Time The best thing I can say is that this game is lengthy (if you like going back and forth a lot). And for that reason alone, I'm giving it 2 stars. Other than that, this game is pretty annoying. It's not logical, nothing is a challenge. It's only, at times, difficult because nothing makes a whole lot of sense. Another difficult factor is that often it takes so long to find a necessary puzzle piece, you've forgotten where it goes. I did play this on the hardest setting, but if it had been on an easy setting, then this game would just be boring and stupid. It's taken me awhile to finish this game, because I can only stand playing it for so long. I realize I should just chuck it, but I always like to get my money's worth and have a hard time giving up on things. I probably would have been better off giving up at the beginning, since it was pretty obviously lame from the get go. Then I wouldn't have wasted so much time.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What's With the High Ratings? This is the 3rd Phantasmat game I have done the demo of. I did the original and this one and another I can't remember the name of. I find this series very dark and I'm not a fan of that. I do not understand why people like such gruesome tales. Someone mentioned this is the best Phantasmat of the series and all I can say is the story is disjointed and the game is not intuitive at all. Nothing makes sense and it's hard to know what you are supposed to do next. I had to use the map just to find out. I have some coupon codes to use and I'm looking for good games to use them on. This series is not for me at all so I will keep looking. I only tried them because of the high ratings. Goes to prove you have to demo the games yourself. Ratings doesn't mean you'll like the game. I have come across quite a few with high ratings that are not to my liking. So far I have found most Eipix games to be pretty good, but not these Phantasmat ones. I'd bet they took over the makers of this series. Their games are not usually so dark and depressing. I like a good mystery but doom and gloom is not for me. Makes me wonder what kind of mind set the devs have who makes these kind of games.
Date published: 2018-05-26
  • y_2021, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_24238, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phantasmat: Behind the Mask

Your long-lost relatives are excited to welcome you to the family... or are they?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.