Backstreets of the Mind

Backstreets of the Mind

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(118.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sometimes we think that if we could change something from our past, our whole life would turn out differently. In Backstreets of the Mind, join a man who has been given the ability to travel through time and change his own past. He'll have to face the mistakes of youth, the challenges of college life and the missed opportunities of the workplace to try and change the sequence of events.

Avid gamers will enjoy stylized mini-games with old game animations. Backstreets of the Mind features hidden object gameplay where you search for strange titles in locations which look like plain signboards at first glance. At the same time, you'll be trying to place the "right" thoughts into our hero's mind in order to change his destiny. All of this is accompanied by excellent original soundtracks and an engaging story.

  • Dramatic time travel story
  • Hidden Object with original mechanics
  • Mini-games stylized like old machines
  • Two alternative endings of story

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2352 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Backstreets of the Mind

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(118.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Backstreets of the Mind is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, poor result! When I read what it was all about I was really thrilled. Use objects found in HO scenes to change this guy's life for the better. Correct past mistakes or simply obtain better outcomes for the various facts of his life. Reeeeeally new and interesting! Sadly, gameplay turned out to be as far from interesting as far goes. You get to explore time and time again the outside of the family home, in order to collect the desired items in each level. Then you get very easy HO scenes, even if in those you are also required to perform minor less usual tasks, like finding the letters that change a word meaning and similar. All in all, a bunch of excellent ideas, but I could not even bear until the end of demo time. I must also say that scenes took forever to load on my pc, which was even more frustrating when you wait and wait and end up getting the same scene over again. Of course, ya all know! Just give it a try, it is a different kind of game, visuals are good, deliciously retro, loud music can be turned off.... so you may just enjoy it a lot more than I did.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Moderately entertaining The concept is interesting, but the interface is clunky. I could have dealt with the slow to load narrative. The slightly out of focus graphics are not annoying. But the lag time between mouse and action makes it feel as if I am operating a tractor. Ultimately, this is what made me stop playing the demo. The concept was not enough to keep me playing, and the objects were not so much hidden as plentiful. .
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR A man comes to the aid of another man who is being mugged and gets a hit on the head with a baseball bat for being a good samaritan. In gratitude, the hero is offered the opportunity to change anything in his past life. Of course, any change to the past can have a major impact on the future. The hero travels back to his hometown 20 years earlier and begins writing different endings to past episodes. One involves breaking a window while playing baseball in front of his childhood home. Another involves a lawnmower while showing off for the prettiest girl in his class. The impact these changes have in the future aren't clear, at least not by the time the demo ended. The HOS are bright and very simple. The items are large and easy to find. There is a built-in magnifier that helps find anything that isn't easy to find at first glance. There are hints available but I never had the need for one so I don't know how quickly they recharge. There is no choice of difficulty level, achievements, or any other extras. The same scenes are visited over and over again; the childhood home was visited at least 3 times during the demo. Once a set of objects have been found, a choice of 3 items are presented to use that would change the end of the episode. The first set of choices never seemed to have a correct item, so you are returned to the same scene to find more items. Eventually, you get a choice that changes the ending. In the case of the ball going through the window, a pair of sunglasses found in the scene changes the direction of the ball and no more broken window. Unless the storyline gets more complicated, it's hard to get interested in stopping a window from breaking or how that could change the future in any measureable way. There are other HOS in addition to the ones that change the past. These are more complicated and a little more difficult. Each one contains a number of letters, some of which had to be found in the scene and others that needed to be clicked on to correct the spelling of words in the scene. The other issue I had with the game is that turning off the sound in the settings did not stop all the noise. I was left with an annoying background sound like street noise during play and noises during other game actions, like when the hourglass turned while loading a new scene. I finally had to turn the sound off on my laptop to get them to stop. This would be a good game for beginners or children. Unless the storyline gets more complicated, it is a boring game. I like straight HOG but this one is just not challenging enough.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was okay This does have something to offer for Ho lovers. It has some unique interactions in the hidden object scenes. Offering mini games in between gives a nice break from searching. I just couldn't find that something special that makes me want to continue. The story line, imho, seemed like a grade paper. Playing the same scene 3 or 4 times right off the bat lost me right away. As always, play it for yourself. It may be just what you are looking for.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of HOPs and Mini-games with More HOPs and Mini-games So late one night, you courageously help a stranger. Your reward is the ability to go back into your past and change moments in your life that did not come out the way you would have liked. Good stuff: Each time you go back will involve completing a HOP with a list of items to find that fills in with more items as you find the first things - you will usually end up revisiting the scene a couple of times. You will get to pick an item from a selection of three of the things you found. You use that item to change the past as needed. The first set of choices has no good options. The second set will be more helpful, but you will have to finish a second HOP with a new list of items at the same scene to get to that set. There was a ratio of 1 mini-game to 3 HOPs. There is no inventory to hold or collect. When you complete a group of HOPs and attendant mini-game, you will see the effect on your family in the past. Bad stuff: There are no animated sequences or VOs - you will look at well drawn pictures and read dialogue - or not, as it can be skipped. Some item names are incorrect or the item is referred to by a name not familiar in English. There is a single level of game play and nothing is new or exciting. You just go from HOP to HOP to mini-game to HOP, etc. Some HOP items were extremely tiny on my huge monitor to such an extent that even after getting a hint, I had to randomly click in the area indicated to find the teeny whatever. Please appreciate that you will not have to save the world - at least not in the demo. And no cute animal will jump or fly after items out of reach. This is an extremely low key and old fashioned game. Please try the demo before taking the plunge.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is There Anything You Would Change From Your Past? Every important event in your life is the consequence of hundreds of smaller events that have occurred, to you and those around you as well. If you were given the opportunity to change events in your past, what would you change? After helping an elderly Native American, that's exactly what this man get's to do, travel to his past and change small events that will change the course of events for him and his family. This is an old school HOG where you look through scenes for listed objects. After a few scenes, you are shown several photos of an event that the man wants to change, and you must choose from three different items which one will be able to change this event to a favorable outcome. Some of the scenes have interesting features such as finding signs that have one letter changed which changes the meaning of the sign and you have to choose the correct letter. Between changing small events, you will play a mini game such as dragging letters to the correct spot to complete a sentence with clues given, or busting balloons in a carnival game. This game is retro on purpose, it's not a bad game if you like this style of game, but for me, it's just an okay game with a really interesting storyline. I found myself bored after a few levels of searching the same scene over and over.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Concept-But... I found the concept of this game interesting-locate object that allow you to change events in your past. Unfortunately for me the objects are found in an endless series of HOS-and that is simply not my cup of tea. The HOS are well done with objects reasonably easy to find-there are simply just too many of them-for me. The graphics are "old school" the music loud & annoying. The description talks about mini-games-but in the 10-15 minutes I played the demo I did not see any. If you love HOS you will probably like this game. As always I suggest trying the demo first.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting........... But I loved the idea of the game, but I had the whole game beat in an hour and it wasn't really a challenge for me. I do love the idea behind it, I mean who wouldn't love changing the past, but it just didn't do it for me. Maybe for a little kid it would be great.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Like a cheap drive in movie. The misspellings in this game was too many to count. It was unclear what to do to change the outcome of the story in the mini games. And, the cursor was moving very slowly. And if you tried to quit the dart game the game itself would end. The idea was good but the game was poor.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasn't impressed I wasted a free game code on this really boring and not at all fun game. It moved very slowly, really didn't have much of an idea of what I was supposed to be accomplishing other than finding hidden objects and really no tutorial. Will read reviews in the future before buying a game because it's hidden object which I love.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Most boring game, ever! Didn't even get to the 3rd chapter. Repetitive, boring & no storyline in the first few games. No hints or help on the anagrams at the end of the chapters. Give this one a miss.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Backstreets of the mind I usually play the demo to the end before I review but as it juddered it's way through the first 20min of the easiest and so boring HO I've played in a long time I had to give up. No thinking involved and definitely no stuggling to find hidden objects. The juddering was annoying and the pointer wavered all over the place. Not for me.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Interesting idea but poorly executed Others have given the story line away, so I'll just mention the mechanics of the game. Usually, I like quirky little games that other people wouldn't bother with. As others have said, this is a made-to-look-retro game, but I think the game engine used was old school as well, making game play clunky and slow. Even though this is a small file game, each scene took a long time to "load". And after the scene would load, there would be parts of the story to read. However, in order to click quickly through it, you couldn't just click on the screen -- you had to click exactly on the word "Continue". The hidden object scenes are cartoon-like and hand drawn which is a feature I don't like, but a child might enjoy. In fact, the entire game seems to be geared toward children except for the philosophical aspect of going back in time to change things in your life. I ran across only one mini game where I had to break balloons with a dart, but I had no idea what my goal was. When I chose to skip the mini game, I was returned to the main menu. I figured that was my cue to exit the game. This game was just slow and frustrating with no voice overs and poor graphics. Even with the 'zoom' feature, there were times I couldn't locate hidden objects because they were poorly drawn.The premise and core idea for this game was an interesting one, but more time and effort should have gone into the final product.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Old Hidden Object Game Sorry, only played 5 min and that was enough. Very old format.. Slow response to mouse click (that might be my mouse but since it works fine on other games I don't think that is the case). Graphics are not up to standards we are use to in other BF game. Maybe a beginner would like this game, but just not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I liked the settings and the HO parts, the puzzles were fine except the stockbroker thing which was boring, and when I finally got out of that, the next setting was I assume the alternate ending, which I wasn't ready for, I wanted to play more scenes. The fun part was way too short, sorry I wasted my money on this one.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very simplistic hidden object game This game was listed in the brain teaser category, but It's strictly HOG. A lot of time spent waiting for the new section to load only to find more HOG. Items are easily found, there is just no challenge to be had and if there are mini puzzles or games or mind benders, I sure never found them. Pass on this one. I didn't even bother to play out the entire demo.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Game Boring and slow loading scenes
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too short not challeging at all, except for the stock broker part.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Backstreets of the mind I didn't like the mini games in this one.
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from how slow you can go? The main problem of the game is its slowness. Pages and inscriptions unfold so unhurriedly that you start clicking like crazy hoping to speed it a little. Same with sand clocks and scenes from the past. Puzzles are not superintelligent or interesting either.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Backstreets of the Mind - terrible Game is really slow.........takes forever for action to take place, i.e. removing an object in the Hidden Object. Also when not wanting to play the first puzzle (INSERT THE LETTERS), I chose to exit the level thinking the game would continue. BUT was taken back to beginning of the previous Hidden Object. Not going to buy this one. Better luck next time Big Fish.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I lasted 5 minutes... What I don't look for in a game: 1. Lots of reading that you can't hurry through 2. Characters speaking slowly 3. Lots of blank screen time 4. Information like "we got our water from the water tower" If you like these kinds of things, you'll love this game! Others, beware.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible game don't buy it. Very slow and boring. It takes for ever to click your items.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Best for very VERY beginners I am not into most storylines, don't like to have to interface with characters, and don't have a problem if the music isn't A+...I can play without thinking about what the story is doing, skip past dialog, and use the mute function. I will buy them if I like the scenery, the puzzles/HOPs, and music while ignoring what I don't care for. I do have issues with games where everything moves at the pace of a sloth on tranquilizers. Sadly, that is this game. In today's world of design, it is simply laziness to make every scene require the use of a magnifier - provided in the game - to find the items in each HOP. There is also way too much handholding and SLOW scripting. It is reminiscent of the Big City Adventure games - which I own several of - but those at least moved along at a reasonable pace, had no character interaction that I can recall, and they provided interesting bits of history and local facts to keep the player engaged. Those games can be played by young and old alike, no matter of skill level, and keep everyone entertained. I couldn't get through more than 10 minutes of play (forcing myself through the last 5 minutes), and can't even convince myself to use a freebie coupon to keep it on hand 'just in case'. This game would be fantastic for very young, very new gamers who are learning their way around computer games. Sorry.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden object game This has to be one of the worst games I have seen on Big Fish for many a year. It is slow, time consuming with too many needless blank images. I can find nothing good to say about this game, I fail to see how it ever came to be selected
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Game with Misspelled words! It is really boring game. I can't stay playing. There are some misspelled words - for example in the cafe,on the list of orders spells STAKE which should spell STEAK!!! Please use the dictionary!!!! Not recommend to buy.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time.... Just another old, outdated, sluggish, slow and boring game.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TERRIBLE GAME!!! Don't waste your time! Bad graphics, bad sound, bad story line!!!
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck.. I like Hidden Object games. In fact, I really like the ones that just let me find hidden objects. So I looked forward to playing this demo. I wouldn't have to go back and forth to other scenes to find all the misadventures the main character has to go through. I just want to have a simple plot and interesting graphics while looking for 10-15 hidden objects per scene. i expect clear pictures of the hidden objects, and clever hiding places. I didn't find any of those in this game. This game is slow in loading every scene with a large hourglass marking the loading of the next one in the middle of the screen, usually 6 hidden objects in plain sight, and silly mini games. (My computer loads even the heavily graphic games quickly). There was this questionable 'thing' that happened with 3 of the found objects after you find them. Unsure why these 3 objects were chosen, and then I had to choose 1 of them to continue. It appeared that one of the objects had to do with a change in the scene. The basic scene is the front of this guy's house. Weird. I finished the demo in 40 minutes, even taking a snack break while playing. This game developer needs to take a class in designing games, and then look at the games that are popular. And then hire a real graphic designer for the scenes.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This game just drags on and on I played the demo and lasted only 20 minutes. The game plays slow but that might be my brand new gaming computer. The game with the balloons has no aiming, it's just luck. I just could not get past the very slow speed.
Date published: 2016-06-25
  • y_2019, m_12, d_12, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_25040, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Backstreets of the Mind

Sometimes we think that if we could change something from our past, our whole life would turn out differently.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.