Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal

Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(411.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sicily, early 1900s...

The grandson of a renowned antique store owner arrives in Palermo to visit his grandfather. When he gets to the city, he discovers his grandfather's store has been vandalized and that the old man has disappeared.

On the ground, he finds a troubling note regarding a midnight Mass that is to be held the very same evening. The young man decides to follow this lead and unknowingly he plunges into a mysterious quest.

Dive into the heart of an unbelievable investigation set against stunning Italian backdrops. Make your way through many hidden object scenes and solve the increasingly challenging puzzles. Your time is limited, so warm up those gray cells!

  • Variety of mini-games and enigmas!
  • Stunning hidden object scenes
  • Alternate day and night scenes
  • Meet intriguing characters!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1956 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(411.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal is rated 2.7 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK But Not For me Liked the storyline & thought the visuals were good, I did however find the music loud & annoying. I found the navigation slow & cranky, the map confusing & the hint button, that I had to use frequently, sometimes unclear as to where it was directing me. Using inventory items was also difficult as you had to click & hold to use them in a scene. The deal breaker for me was the HOS, junkpiles with tiny difficult to find item-hint-hint-hint-very frustrating. As always try it for yourself.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What's not to like, I'll tell you I'm writing this in 2017 so bear with me. All I could really do is laugh when I played this game. It is soooooo old and outdated that its a nostalgic kickback from back in the day. Wow. That's all just wow.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old School, Great Story This plays like an old school game with very tedious maneuvering within the game. You ultimately do find a "jump" map - lots of repeating previous scenes. If vision is a problem, although you can zoom in, I'd avoid playing this one. The puzzles, which exceed the HOGs range from simple to diabolical. The storyline is very intriguing. Knowing what I just told you, whether you try it or not is up to you.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring Boring story, puzzles to easy to solve
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quickly Became Annoying Occultus is one of those games that is difficult to make it through the demo, in fact it took me an entire week, and to be honest, I still haven't completed the demo. This is a "Click & Drag" type game, that also has a Zoom feature, allowing you to drag and zoom the entire scene. This was the most annoying feature for me because the zoom feature had a mind of it's own and would randomly zoom into meaningless areas on it's own, but perhaps that's attributed to my Mac Magic Mouse. This game has potential, it has an interesting plot, decent enough graphics and soundtracks and it takes place in Italy. That's about it, the bad stuff outweighs the good stuff, there's very little to do in each scene, some of the places you need to visit aren't where you're supposed to be and where you're supposed to be doesn't look like a place you'd be or even think about being. The map is annoying to access, the Hidden Object scenes lack imagination and the items are small and some are unrecognizable. Even the inventory items that need to be combined have an annoying feature tasking you to click and drag both items to an empty slot above the bar, and then clicking the combination button. You collect "lucky coins" but I don't know what you're supposed to do with them. The title makes me think that the game will be dark and creepy, instead it's bright and cheery. Perhaps the game picks up the pace a bit after the demo, perhaps, but I have my doubts, so definitely try before you buy this game!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smoke, Mirrors, Grandpa, and the Family Curse! You haven't seen Grandpa since you were a child, but today you received an urgent letter from him. He asked you to come to Palermo as soon as possible and sent a small key. You rush off on the journey and arrive to find Grandpa's antique shop turned upside down and Grandpa nowhere to be found. After a careful search, you are on your way to church, where Grandpa has left you a small box for that key he sent. You are on your way to adventure. Good stuff: The artwork is beautifully drawn with crisp clear lines and nicely balanced color. There are the usual game elements present for an SE. You have Grandpa's watch, which will shift you between night and day after you have it repaired. And there is an interesting zoom feature present in every scene and HOP. Bad stuff: The game moves slowly and takes its time about getting anywhere. The HOPs are straight list with occasionally a couple of objects with extra steps to find them. The puzzles are pedestrian with minimal instructions. The story moves glacially and has been told before - a lot. And that zoom feature, which was great in the HOPs for the incredibly tiny items to find, is not so amusing when it kicks in at other places in the game. I would recommend this game as an alternative to melatonin or other sleep aid. Please try it before you buy.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The game mechanics destroyed this one. Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal Review based on 40 minutes of demo PROLOGUE... While I’m always up for something new and different in casual games, my eagerness to step off the beaten path doesn’t include: • badly designed game mechanics, • no story development and a plot that goes nowhere fast, • HO scenes that zoom into pixellated graphics, • navigation and gameplay that lack intuition, • characters that speak slowly with dialogue I cannot click through, • absolutely no motivation for any task I’m given. ONCE UPON A TIME... You receive a letter from your grandfather—who owns an antique store in Palermo, Italy—asking you to visit him. The letter includes a key, which he direct you to bring. You arrive in time to witness a bizarre black mist disappearing into a mirror in the antique store, and discover your grandfather has gone missing. From that point, you appear to possess almost supernatural intuition, as you embark on a series of seemingly fruitless tasks that turn out to be useful. For example, for no reason at all, when you discover your grandfather’s broken pocket watch, you decide it’s crucial to find all the pieces and get it repaired. Surprisingly, it turns out to be more than a mere watch, but you didn’t know that when you initially found it broken. This irrationality continues, at least throughout the demo. PLAY THE GAME... The HO scenes require you to zoom in to find quite small objects. The problem with this is that the graphics for the HO scenes were created in standard resolution. When you zoom in, everything is pixellated. Epic fail for what could have been interesting. Additionally, there are interactive items on the list, but not all are indicated. Minor interactions, like uncovering an item, are listed like regular objects; only complex objects are indicated as interactions on the list. And you can’t be zoomed in for them, as the two items required for the interaction are generally in different parts of the scene. The mini-games are torturous because of their game mechanics. One, which could have been good since it involved matching up clues from three different locations, was ruined by the mind-numbing task of manually tracing all three parts of a triptych with a skinny pencil. This was about as fun as cleaning a toilet with a cotton swab. For the minimal number of locations, there was a lot of running around. And the map was utterly horrible. See “toolbox.” SIGHTSEEING... Overall, I really liked the graphics style with its charming, hand-painted backgrounds and NPCs. Each scene was styled to evoke a mood, and it did that well. The NPCs really had character. But it fell apart in the HO scenes, as I said above. SOUNDBOARD... The music was lovely, orchestral and majestic. I thought it complemented the theme of the game well. Voiceovers were hit or miss with the watchmaker’s being done well, but the priest’s pretty bad. Environmental sounds were lacking…scenes were too silent. TOOLBOX... The inventory bar locked open and contained plus items which were combined by using a small area just above the bar. The map is a jump map, but it takes four clicks to transport! First click opens the map, second opens the area, third selects the room, fourth transports. Might as well walk there for all that trouble. Your grandfather’s watch, once repaired, changes the world from day to night and back again. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties on my iMac running OS 10.11.3. I do need to speak to the game mechanics here, though. Navigation was not at all intuitive. In the scene with the antique shop, the church you need to visit is a tiny blur on the horizon. No gamer, whether novice or experienced, would ever consider it might be a valid place to navigate to. Especially when there was a church in the foreground, right down the street. In several places, it’s easy to miss things of interest because they’re so close together. For example, the marionettes in the antique shop are easy to miss because they’re poorly rendered and small compared to the stained glass window right next to them. They just look like random pieces of cloth hanging there, not like anything you should look at. It’s almost as if the graphics team and the game development team didn’t work together. EPILOGUE... I can’t speak to whether this game improved subsequent to the demo; a few reviewers seemed to really enjoy it. Personally, I was unable to become immersed. In the HO scenes, I felt like I was searching for things without my reading glasses…everything in close up was pixellated and blurry. And the mini-games were chores, not fun. The clunky design of the game mechanics and navigation effectively jolted me out of immersion frequently enough that I lost interest in the story, which was poorly developed in any case. I mean, after 40 minutes, no progress had been made at all toward even finding a clue to a lead on why grandfather had gone missing and who was behind it, never mind whatever deeper plot was afoot. This isn’t a game I can recommend.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a Fan To be honest i did not play much of this game, i was extremely unimpressed and bored within the first few minutes and turned it off which isn't great and shows that it isn't very good if it can't keep you engaged within the first few minutes of game play. I also feel like the game is old fashioned, it doesn't look modern. I wouldn't recommend a purchase and i didn't even finish the hour free trial.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a drag! Could only cope with approx. 20 mins. of demo. Is this an old game? Certainly looked like it. Large cursor. A lot of items didn't pick up, first click. Jerky cursor. H.O.S. - had to zoom in/out all over screen, to find items. Items have be dragged, from inventory, to use them. Too slow, moving from scene, to scene. The plus items had to be dragged, too. Obviously, I definitely will not be purchasing. As always, this is only my opinion.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tiny Get ready to use your hint button, the objects and clues are often very tiny. The cursor is large and cumbersome. Printed narration disappears as some as you click on it and doesn't come back unless you leave the scene and return. Not my cup of tea!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slow and awkward Pros: good graphics and nice setting Cons: pretty much everything else Maybe I have gotten spoiled but the game was very awkward to play. Everything moved very slowly and you had to drag objects from inventory to the scene to use them. The voice overs were bad (seemed to be in slow-mo like everything else.) There was a lot of back and forth which was tedious when using the watch as you had to go through changing time and whatever else it took you to get into the scene the first time all over again. Mini game instructions were very brief and sometimes not very helpful. I stopped before finishing the demo because of these and other issues.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to like it, but... I liked the storyline, which is about a young man trying to locate his grandfather in Sicily. The puzzles were challenging but difficult to maneuver. What frustrated me was the poor quality of how to maneuver objects and within puzzles and HOPs. You have to click on something and hold down the mouse button to move items--and it doesn't work if you are not spot on--close doesn't work. Same for interactive items in HOP. Items in the HOP were often extremely small and difficult to locate. I had hoped to use one of my free games, but it's just too hard to use.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from occultus mediterranean cabal I really did not like this game the back and forth and not knowing where you are to go or how to do something. just did not like it
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too frustrating to be fun This is my first review in over a year, hopefully it will be helpful. I found this game's mechanics very frustrating, you have to be exact in order to use tools (screwdriver tip perfectly on the tiny screw, etc); the gameplay was stilted, not smooth like most games now, and the next steps you were to take were not logical. The mini-games did not all have clues in order to help you figure out what patterns you were supposed to create, so I was forced to skip a couple because there was no way I would be able to guess without having seen a clue somewhere else in the game. I lost track of what the storyline was as I became too frustrated trying to complete simple tasks or figure out what I was supposed to be doing next. The HO scenes were dark and some objects so tiny that even when I used the Hint, I still had no idea what I was looking at, just clicked on the glowing area to find the object. The good news is that the map is a jump-map and the hint recharges very quickly, so I did put those two positive factors into use. All in all, not for me. I play for enjoyment, not aggravation. Play for yourselves, however, you may have an entirely different outlook.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem It looked like my kind of Game though it wasn't a Collector Edition. ha! But I couldn't deal with it 5 minutes after I started! Those Text Windows kept popping up after everything I did. Text ( wording ) is annoying enough in the middle of Scene 's but Every time I do something is just TO MUCH !
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tedious Hidden object scene full of junk. Objects extremely small but you can magnify the scene which I find annoying. Storyline is good. Clues must be dragged to spot in order to use. Prefer clicking each spot instead. If developers could bring it up a level or two would be a fantastic game. But to each its own try it and enjoy fishies.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You have to Meditate Sorry this missed the mark but good try if first attempt to make a game. Even as a CE the game was way to much of a struggle even on easy level. HO's were too tiny. The Characters were good, Story line Good, and has a journal and lots to do. Graphics were good also. Just to hard to figure out at some points when to leave and look else where. Hopefully expert gamers will put the right words on the problems.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me Game is VERY slow, although I have a rather new machine. Did not really like the graphics. HOPs are boring and partially really tiny items, so I had more the feeling of pixelhunting instead of playing a HOP. Sometimes inprecise in collecting items when clicking them. Finished the demo after 15 minutes.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from could have been great! I was looking forward to playing this game so much, the graphics looked superb and I love Italy but it took me about 8 mns to be so aggravated with the game that I had to give up: retrieving objects with the arrow turned out to be such a challenge, I did not have the time nor patience to go thru it. Then if they were broken, you had to first put them in a little window where they would be fixed and it was hard enough to drag them there in the first place, certainly not done in 1 try, awful! Took me a while to figure all that out plus it was very annoying, and there was no help of any kind that I could find. Then the scenes can be enlarged, but then they are of a lower quality and so blurry, it is annoying too!. Not worth driving myself nuts for this, the game needs to work properly or differently to be enjoyed, this was not the case here, the way it works is so aggravating that I could not continue. I was so happy to stop to keep my blood pressure down! I had to grade the storyline with no knowledge of it since 8 mns is all it took for me to run the other way.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible The hidden object scenes are nearly impossible. Unfortunately, in the normal mode, you click three times and you get a click penalty. I am in the second hidden object scene, know exactly where a "key" is. I have used a hint. No matter where I click on the "key" I get nothing but a penalty. I thought this might be a different sort of game and a possible purchase, but can't get past the hidden object scene. Huge bug in this game. Don't bother.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a fan This game features hard to see HOS, random actions to further the story, and senseless dialog. Let's not waste any more time discussing it, I've wasted enough already by playing it.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth playing Wish I hadn't spent the time, money, or energy to play this game. Very difficult to figure out where to go next. No walkthrough to help figure what to do and thoroughly frustrated playing this game.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WOW I usually give a game a chance thru the demo. This game was so awful, I only played 20 minutes. Don't waste your money. Ugh.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste my time. i don't review too much anymore but this game really ruined my day. unless you have 20 yr. old eyes this is a disaster. i used a credit thank aliens or i would really be mad. terrible game, played for 5 minutes then it got on my last nerve. back to downloading previous purchase.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Fun This game is to hard to see. Second you don't know what to do next. Very confusing...
Date published: 2016-08-01
  • y_2020, m_2, d_27, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_25356, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Occultus: Mediterranean Cabal

Dive into the heart of an unbelievable investigation. Time's running out, can you solve this mystery?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.