Grim Tales: The Time Traveler Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Tales: The Time Traveler Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(324.07 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Elephant Games proudly presents another exciting chapter in their classic series Grim Tales!

Anna Gray is on her way to a family barbeque when disaster strikes! After nearly dying in a car crash, she discovers someone has murdered her niece and nephew and intends to destroy the entire Gray Family. When Anna goes back in time to stop the villain, she discovers that the killer can travel through time too! Now that the tables are turned, can Anna stop the killer, or will her entire family be wiped out? Find out in this gripping hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Once again Elephant has put out a great game. I just love the Grim Tales series. There are four different modes of play to choose from, an interactive map that lets you fast travel, and a tutorial which you can choose all or just special features. That is always a bonus! Graphics are great. There are mini games and hogs with different ways to play. I cannot wait for this game to come out and would recommend it to any and everyone.”  - Sean, Beta Tester

“I have all the Grim series and love them. The Time Traveler does not disappoint. The story line is really good and makes you want to play to the end. Love the graphics, music and games. Looking forward to playing the entire game.”  - Ann, Beta Tester


  • Save Mike's brother in the bonus chapter!
  • Tons of bonus morphing objects to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive screensavers, concept art, music, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1055 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: The Time Traveler Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(324.07 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: The Time Traveler Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WE HAVE A WINNER HERE! This game has great graphics and wonderful HOS..........love it! This game will keep you interested right to the end..........hard to get up from it.....enjoy!
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DEAR OLD DAD FOUND HIS SENSE OF HUMOR WHEN HIS NOGGIN CRASHED INTO THE TREE Anna Gray is back in this 14th game in the Grim Tales series The Time Traveler. I honestly am so confused by the Gray and McGray family relatives that I have no idea who is really who. Sometimes the Anna refers to Elizabeth and James as her cousins but I thought they were here niece and nephew before she took on her eternal younger form. Anyway all the confusion aside, Anna is on her way to a barbecue hosted by her cousins when her car is flipped from the road by a dark cloaked figure. Now Anna’s car is toast and she will definitely be late for the party. As she seeks to pick up all of her scattered belongings she of course has to retrieve dear old dad (or what remains of him) from a cluster of branches. I mean, really a family party wouldn’t be the same if all the important family members could not attend! At any rate after Anna happens to pull her act together and arrive at the McGray mansion she finds she is too late and Elizabeth and James have been murdered. Now with the help of dear old dad, not only providing comic relief but important ritual information, you are finally ready to step back in time to prevent the murders and to apprehend the criminal. After the last couple of games in the series I thought I was really over it all but then Richard shows up with his comedic wit coming to the rescue and he makes the game really fun at least for me. I happen to love most games from this developer but I really wish this team as well as others would say farewell to some of these serial games that seem to go on forever without bringing a lot to the table. The HOPS include the now usual variety but the list type is still my favorite. I like the fact that the items are not too difficult to find in the scenes. It seems to me that there are far more puzzles than HOPS but it might simply be because the demo is loaded with puzzles and there will be more HOPS later in the game which often happens. Fortunately the puzzles are not difficult and they are fun. There are some that I haven’t seen for a while and many of them are excellent. The CE version of the game includes the following extras: Morphing Objects, 26 Screen Saver Tiles, and 14 Collectible Statuettes to find 18 Achievements to earn 4 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art, Screensaver, Music, and Archives 3 Chapters in Main Game plus a Bonus Chapter 38-Page Strategy Guide After playing through the demo I knew that this would be a great game. Yes I know there really is nothing new and all of the gameplay is really what we call cookie-cutter but if you love HOPA games as much as me, then it oftentimes doesn’t matter that they are repetitive. I actually went back into my gaming library from several years ago to play older HOPA games and I didn’t notice that much difference. In many ways the games have improved and in others they have stayed much the same. I still love the genre and never seem to tire of waiting for each new HOPA game to be released. If you want a good mystery with some lighthearted comic relief provided by dear old dad, then this might be a game you will enjoy. As always, please try the demo to see if you will agree that this is a fun and excellent new HOPA game. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from “BACK IN TIME” FOR ANOTHER GRAY FAMILY REUNION 3 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER – Strategy Guide: 38 Pages Welcome to another Gray family reunion! After surviving another car accident, Anna Gray returns to save more family members. This time she goes back in time to save a niece and nephew from a fellow time traveler out for revenge against the whole clan. She will get some help from her “daddy dearest,” from the spirit world. This time bending game is a nice addition to the Grim Tales series. This is an excellent game for beginning and intermediate players, along with those who like some light-hearted trips back in time. I did purchase this game. This is a decent game; however, I don’t consider it an outstanding one. For me there is no “wow” factor here. From the demo I found nothing in the way of HOP scenes nor puzzles which I have not seen in dozens of other games. MECHANICS: The story is a good ghostly whodunit. The helper, the dearly departed, Richard Gray, provides some witty repartee with his daughter Anna. The graphics are colorful and cartoon-like. The pace is good with plenty of activities to keep you busy chasing a time traveler within the Gray mansion. There are quite a few collectibles within this game. Collect twenty-six (26) pieces to create a screensaver. You also collect fourteen (14) statues of the characters from the game. There are twenty-seven (27) morphing objects as well. I found them all easy to locate. The game appears to be short and there is no ability to replay the HOP scenes nor the puzzles. HOP SCENES: For me, the scenes are the weakest part of the game. In the demo they lack creativity. Most are standard ones seen in other games. They include the usual lists of items along with scenes with silhouette items. There are some interactive activities within the scenes but nothing which I would call creative nor innovative. There is also a matching pairs scene. I would recommend Elephant designing more creative HOP scenes. PUZZLES: The puzzles are tame fare. The puzzles are easy with a few of middle difficulty. In the demo, they are puzzles which have been featured in other games. Some have been modified to fit the theme. I did not play one puzzle I have not played before. I found none challenging. However, there is a nice variety in the types of puzzles. FAVORITE PUZZLE: My favorite puzzle is a switch puzzle in which dowels above and below a lock mechanism must match up with the indentations on that mechanism. This requires switching the dowels so that when all are properly placed, the top and bottom combine with the lock mechanism to create a closed unit. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hint and Skips: 15 to 90 Seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game 19 Achievements Collect 25 pieces s to create a screensaver and 14 statues of the characters Morphing objects: There are 27 morphing objects. 8 Wallpaper, 8 Concept Art, Screensaver, Music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: (A) Mini-HOP scene. Locate silhouette items within your purse. (B) List of items (C) Silhouette (D) List of items (E) Pairs of objects PUZZLES: A. Switch puzzle. Switch six triangular tokens on a box so that the lines upon each one connects with the lines on the slot in which it lands. Moving vertically rotates the triangle. Rating: 2 B. Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate four tokens so that the lines upon them match up with the lines connected to them. Moving one affects the others. Rating: 2 C. Matching puzzle. Match five (5) dowels with the proper section on a lock. Dowels are above and below the locks and can only be moved up-and-down and next to each other. Rating: 2 D. Sequence puzzle. Move five (5) fish with variegated bodies, placing them in sequential order so that when a circle with slots for the fish is started, all the fish end up in their designated slots. Rating: 2 E. Switch puzzle. Switch four animal prints that each one matches up with the appropriate animal. Rating: 1 F. Connection puzzle. Move tokens on a grid so that all the lines within the tokens connect with each other. G. Obstacle map puzzle. Move a golf ball from its start to a flagged hole, all while removing obstacles within its path. 2X Rating: 2 H. Matching puzzle. Enter a code based upon runes to open a safe. Rating: 1
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time traveling Aunt Gray meets another one….. When Anna Gray acquired her ability to go back in time, she thought of it as a more or less unique quality. But this game will teach her better. The Grays and McGrays are in great danger. A killer is on the loose who intends to wipe out the whole family and he is more than mysterious, he is intangible, as he is a time traveler too. On her way to her cousins Elizabeth and James McGray, Anna has an accident or was it a murder attack? Not sure first, but Richard jumps in or better makes his appearance, explaining, that a figure jumped in the way of the car. At the McGray’s mansion, all are dead, must have been poisened. Playing as Anna, it is our task now, to investigate. The killer could well be the same person, who caused the accident on the road. Richard, as always my ghostly partner now, has a suspicion, this all could be ‘this creature’s doing’. As the attacker believes me dead, I can go back, prevent the McGrays murder and then catch the killer. During the investigation of the house, the garden and the rest of the premises evidence brings us nearer to the perpetrator’s identity. We have found a note, in which the killer outs himself as the demon from the past with the mission to wipe out the Gray and McGray familiy to avenge his own parents’ death. Since an episode in which Richard made his first appearance, he has become a partner of Anna Gray. He is helpful in her investigation, reports on contexts and hands her the one or other needed item. Of course, doors are closed, keys missing, emblems have to be found……. But all these obstacle are overcome with puzzles and varying HOS. We have lots of collectables and morphing objects. The story is more thrilling, the game feels like an episode in a crime series with supernatural elements.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good game in the series! I liked the story. The graphics are great. I just wish the game had been longer. I was surprised when it "suddenly" ended. Thought there would be more to it. I like morphing objects, screensaver pieces and collectables. I wish there had been more hidden object puzzles though. The puzzles were a good variety, but not enough hidden object puzzles to truly be called that type of game. I have all the others. This one is a fine addition.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where is Dad? I love this series, I have all of them in the Collectors Edition version. However, this time around I was very disappointed with Anna Gray's father. He wasn't sarcastic as he was in previous games. Other then that however, I enjoyed the game! I do wish it was a tad longer, but thats just me wanting more. I hope we get the next installment soon!!
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from family history can be cornfusing enjoyed the game I like anna and her father
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not really a hidden object game There are tons of puzzles in this game, so if you're into that, you'll love it. But I bought it because I enjoy the HO scenes, and there weren't very many.This should go in the category of "some HO, but mostly puzzles". Graphics were great, visual and sound quality good too. I'm just a little disappointed at the lack of hidden object scenes.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Confused at Points -- But Still Enjoyed! I'm thinking I need to replay because at times I was confused around the story. I suppose time traveling presented some challenge for me, I still enjoyed the game! Enough seek and find at locations that offered challenge to this old woman's brain. I enjoy the Grim Tales series.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To easy .. For Lovers of Grim Tales I think it is a must have. the storyline is really good Graphics and sound are well done. Straight forward and lots to collect on the way through. But for advanced players it is just to easy. I have been there , I have done it and I know what comes next . Going through the demo took me about 35 min. But didn't listen to that annoying father ghost. Just clicked through it and didn't miss a thing. I like the older versions of Grim Tales much better , like Legacy or Stone Queen in particular. This game here is a really good one for beginners and for the more experienced players still a good time killer.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thanks, Dad! Hello friends! As always, I review on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job than I can. Wow, is this really #14 in this series? The graphics in this addition are very well done, very clear, with nice colors, even though sometimes a bit faded. Now and then, you would see a tiny blur, but not enough to be annoying. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and it fit my large screen quite nicely. Animation was very well done, very smooth and realistic. Voice overs were well done, when we had them, which was not often. This game had very little character interaction during the demo, so hopefully it picks up as the game progresses. You can click through the dialog if you read read faster than they speak, without missing any hints or needed information to continue through the game. There wasn't much music either, sort of came in and out. Of course, Dad is back to help you out, but he is not a nuisance and only shows up when really needed. We do travel back a bit into the past, to find out what is happening and why, but I didn't notice any bright blinding lights. The only things that I have to laugh at in this series, is watching the characters constantly breathe while talking...not easy to do. HOPs are varied and done well. You have matching pairs, interactive lists, and silhouettes. The scenes are very clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. I did not see that you could switch to a different game. Some of the puzzles had some challenge, but mostly in the time it took to complete them. Well done. The SG is the standard, and something I use in case I can't find a collectible. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport you to longer locations. This is very helpful, as you do a lot of jumping from scene to scene in this one for one or two items, and not just backtracking a few steps. The jump map can be used, but is very bland. Transport feature is much faster. I really like the variation of collectibles. You have morphing objects, that sometime morph quickly and other times are slow, so they are not as easy to catch. We also have 14 character statues that are fairly large and 26 puzzle pieces, which they call "screensaver collection." These are not your standard jigsaw shapes either. Of course, we use these to put together a puzzle, not sure why yet. Guess I have to finish the game to see what happens when I collect them all. The collectibles are not difficult to see, but you do have to remember watch for them. I really like how this series picks up where the last left off and is continuing through the Gray generations. The story flowed quite well and we had a lot of things to do and look for, so you are constantly on the move. This addition has enough challenge for any level of player and kept me interested and moving from the very beginning. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Who's trying to take the McGrays' out? You get to collect morphing items, shards for the screensaver, and collectible statues in every scene and in some micro-scenes. The uniqueness of this game lies in the interchanging between worlds, a clever tactic to renew the player's interest. A minus is unfortunately the puzzles, which in the majority are disappointingly difficult and without any meaningful challenge. Also, the absence of beautiful wallpapers in the menu, is also a great minus for me. Overall rating: 3.7
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Tired Gray Family Drama! Excellent Graphics! Beautiful graphics, hint transports, abundance of mini-games, graphics adjustment in options. Another tired Gray Family journey with Father Richard, who has been somewhat improved, but he still seems like a waste of time and space to pop up and hand his daughter something she forgot or needs. A stranger wants something returned that the family took from him back when and creates havoc and death (?) from the start, so the story line pulls you in right away. Beautifully crafted design and scenes with attention to detail and most characters are attractive with good voice overs. Excellent Hidden Objects games, detailed, with good variety but not enough of them for my taste. Mini-games are over abundant and they pop up just about every step of the way, and for that reason I will not purchase this game and honestly I'm tired of the Gray family drama, however I will recommend this game because of all the good qualities it brings to the table, but I also suggest a trial run to see if this game fits your game style and enjoyment level.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings First off, I really enjoy this series. With that said, this one wasn't one of the better additions. First off, it was a very short game. I didn't realize that I was over half way through it when the demo ended. I really hate it when that happens. I will say that the puzzles were good (although fairly easy) and the HOPS were excellent. I liked that sometimes you had to complete a puzzle to get to the HOPS. The morphs and statues were out in plain sight, but the little puzzle pieces were nicely hidden. No big deal if you miss some of them because all you get is another screen saver. How about a mega HOP next time?? If you are going to make your audience work for something, make the prize worth it. As always, I love the ghost father and that they gave him a sense of humor this time. Overall, not bad, not great. Somewhere in the middle. Try the demo first. I would recommend this only if you have played the rest of the series so that you can continue the storyline.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I just couldn't get into this game... I've all the previous Grim Facade games, and Elephant my fave devs, but I just found the whole game boring. There's nothing that hasn't been done a zillion times before. HOPs and puzzles same old, and I found I was just trolling from scene to scene without purpose. Found the cursor and objects too small, and it's a strain on the eyes. Graphics and sound excellent as you'd expect from these devs, HOPs interactive but not very challenging. Found the puzzles really boring. I tried to solve them all, but found a lack of challenge so skipped most in the end. Lots of collectibles including morphing objects (which I always enjoy). This game just isn't for me, but I'm sure many will enjoy it. Just don't feel there's anything new or different in so many recent HOAGs of late. I'm so hoping for a creepy circus, fairground or hospital game as there used to be.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing new What can I say? The game moves along nicely, but it's getting hard to separate one game from another anymore. So far in the demo there has not been one puzzle or hog that I haven't done a thousand times before. I'm thinking it's time to find another pastime, because it looks like we've seen all there is to see in the HOG world. There isn't much else to say....it's just another "been there, done that" game, but in all fairness to the creative teams, how many more ways could there be to hide objects?
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from One Word - Graphics I won't waste time rehashing the story of this game, as others have already done that. My review is simple...cheap graphics and a very short game. Those two points sum up this game best. Ever since BFG did away with tech support and moved to low tech graphics, everything has gone down hill. The latest move now seems to be VERY short games, as this game once again shows. Well, this fish refuses to bite any longer!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very boring back and forth part of the series Out all of the games in this series, this is the most boring one with very slow plot. It is just back and forth between a few locations.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really short and boring Have to say that the first part of the game wasn't bad. Unfortunately all the good stuff was in the demo and on purchase it went from bad to worse. I rarely get a Collectors edition and feel really cheated by then length of it.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They broke Richard's voice! :-( I love this series, always a good story, but what is this? A car crash at the start *snore* the weird switch between visiting whichever relatives...and Richard's voice?! I loved that guy! Now he's literally a shadow of his former self....boo! I'd give this one a wide berth....
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boardom squashes any fun in this game I cannot see the challenge in going from place to place finding keys and things that fit into things to make things open only to find you need to get another thing to fit into things..... and so the game goes. The HOPs are as dull as ditch water. Feels like they took the reject concepts from all the games, in the past, and threw them together in this game. For the price we are paying for the game we need a modicum of challenge and a sense of value
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Soo Short This has to be without a doubt the shortest game I have ever played. Complete waste of money!!!!
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Amulets, Amulets, locks, locks, back and forth, back and forth The title of this review about sums up the game. To make any progress in the game, you must find amulets or keys or pieces of stone, paintings, etc. Once you track all over the map and find those things, they usually unlock another part that requires a different amulet to find. Thank goodness for the jump map. You will use it repeatedly! I can't find much to praise about this game due to the convoluted, confusing story and the continuous search for amulets, keys, etc. It is as if the developer just wanted to extend game time by making you search everywhere to find things. Once found, they usually only unlocked part of the item. So, off you go again, tracking down the next piece. My patience with the game wore very thin by the time I got to the bonus game. Which was again a convoluted mess. And carrying around your dead father's skull is still a little yew to me. You play as the time traveling heroine, Anna Gray. Anna wants to rewrite history and keep her niece and nephew from being murdered. She travels back in time to find the murderer and while she is rewriting history, she saves some additional ancestors too. Why not?? Instructions for mini games are not always clearly presented. Graphics were ok, voices ok. Music, meh. HOs are nothing special. You have been there done that in some way before. This is not a CE game even though it has all the CE collectibles, morphing objects and pieces of a screen saver to find. Sure the length is fine but it is only lengthy because of the running back and forth to find things. Play the demo. You may think it deserves five stars, but not me. Wait for the SE if you think you can't live without it.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've Locked the Code in the Picnic Basket, Honey! Anna is back with Daddy's skull in time to attend a family BBQ and run her car off the road. In this newest, and again lamentable, addition to the Grim Tales series, another time traveler is out to kill off the Gray and McGray family members, including Anna. Luckily she survives his first attempt and arrives at the McGray home in time to see the police packing up evidence of two murders. As Daddy's ghost so cleverly puts it, it’s time to investigate. Good stuff: All the usual game elements are present along with three types of collectibles, morphing objects, statuettes, and small square pieces for a screen saver in addition to some CE bling. Bad stuff: Everything is locked up beyond crazy! You find two pieces of canvas torn from a portrait in the front hall, presumably by the bad guy. One is hanging from the doorknob of the room he's locked himself into upstairs. The other piece is outside a window that is screwed down. Once restored to the picture, it slides aside to reveal a safe. This safe in the front hall has its combination engraved on the side of a locked cubicle inside a locked door off the front patio area. When you open the safe you get a lot of junk and one item to use. That pretty much is what happens everywhere around the mansion. Multiple amulets and locks are used to keep junk and garbage safe. Anything that should actually be secured is not. Example: The police are packing up evidence of two murders into a box with two amulets and a puzzle in the top to open it. The amulets are left lying around - the bad guy had one - and the other police box has its amulet dumped in a drain in the front walk. Do we all feel safe? As usual there are more logic fractures, lots more, but it’s the only fun you'll find in this demo, so I'll leave you to it. This series has more than run its course, as evinced by the four star review that claims it is only average and has nothing new! The best I can say is that when you come across some bees, flying around at night, you do not reach for the usual smoker. You just hunt up a can of insecticide. Please try the demo. It will take little of your time and you really need to see what you are buying.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO SHORT played all of these..the last 4 -5 have been stinkers...so is this one. they have traded the great voice of father ghost to a valley boy voice over....this game never landed on any storyline..even if you have played them all , you will be shaking your head. and it was very short...CE price, short game. i would go into too much detail, however there are other reviewer for that, safe to say...what a letdown.....another great series rides off into the west.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Game is For You if You Love Amulets and Figurines 95% of this game is finding and placing amulet and figurine keys to open compartments that contain other amulets or figurines. I actually laughed at one point. Is this what passes for clever adventure? Finding shapes that unlock yet more shapes that unlock even more shapes? I have long loved this developer but it is my own fault I bought this tedious, simple, repetitive game. I should know by now that Elephant doesn't develop cool, challenging, beautiful games anymore. Their games are now cookie-cutter, which funnily enough mostly feature cookie cutters. I won't buy another of their games until I see they are capable of originality, as they once were. Very disappointed that I wasted money on this game.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grim Game: The Shaped Keys There's nothing innovative, creative, or imaginative in this game. In fact, it plays the same as the last Elephant game; they just filed off the serial numbers and slapped on a coat of paint. It certainly is NOT a five-star game by any stretch of the imagination. During the hour demo, I counted FIFTY indentations awaiting shaped keys, mostly in sets of two or more. Assuming a four-hour game, that's a minimum of 200 of these stupid things. I guess creativity is no longer a requirement for game developers. The puzzles all resembled one another; they were overwhelmingly in the "swap or rotate the pieces to restore the image" category, some with that annoying "moving one part affects others." There were ten in the demo, all ridiculously easy and horribly boring. HO scenes were pro forma: varying presentations with objects in plain view. Is there an issue with devs comprehending the concept of hidden objects? Or the meaning of the word "hidden?" The remainder of the gameplay involved the usual list of inane tasks, most of them in multiple iterations. Several items were stuck in cracks. Numerous others needed to be fished out of water or from drains. Multiple things were screwed down. A few items were rusty. Two locks were removed using a rasp. Also, there were bees, a recalcitrant bird, and an angry dog that needed to be respectively killed, scared, and fed. Is anyone still actually purchasing these cookie cutter games? The storyline is shallow and dull. It mostly involves rushing to catch up with the villain, whose robed and hooded back you frequently see whooshing off to a different location. Then, there's Richard. Why Anna is still carrying his skull around is beyond me, except that he conveniently materializes the exact item she needs exactly when she needs it. He's just a gadget. Go into the light, Richard. No review would be complete without a discussion of how insanely illogical this game was. How was Anna driving her car when her keys were inside her locked wallet, which was in her purse? Did the murder victims think green wine was normal? Who keeps solvent in their first aid kit? I don't think there was a single logical moment in this game. Frankly, I'm insulted that Elephant is passing this off as a new game, and actually expects people to pay for it. They used to be on the cutting edge; I recommend their games from 2012 and earlier only. This particular one is a hot mess, and I'd give it zero stars if I could.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me.... a big snoozefest I'm not sure why I bother writing a review, as the dev's obviously aren't listening. If you have any other HOP game created in the last year, then you have this one. There is nothing new or exciting at all. It's just one lock after another. Back and forth finding dumb pieces that fit into a lock that stores junk, that you need to unlock another box or cupboard that stores junk. I didn't even care for the puzzles, and that's a first for me when it comes to Elephant games, as they usually are very good. I just finished playing Return to Ravenhearst (for some reason I passed up on this game, and decided to purchase it last month). That has got to be the best game I have ever played, and the dev's need to go back and take a look at this game, and the puzzles and graphics in it. This game however, is a big pass for me.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed...There isn't *any* story continuity. In the first 4 minutes, the story went from visiting her cousins the McGrays, to visiting her neice and nephew McGray. That didn't bode well. Then, as another reviewer said, the voice actor was changed for Richard, and was not up to the task. Also, about 20 minutes into the demo, he started .. skipping, for lack of a better word. The graphics were not bad, but I don't think this was up to Elephant's standards at all. I think Big Fish pushes the developers to extend series until they are completely past being "played out".
Date published: 2018-01-26
  • y_2018, m_12, d_8, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_27866, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: The Time Traveler Collector's Edition

A time-traveling killer is taking out the Gray family, one by one.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.