Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(411.77 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

The Old Town located beneath the ruins of Grak Kingdom has been rapidly turning into salt in the past few days. This salt-transmutation appears to be caused by a mysterious species of white dragonflies. The Princess of Grak Kingdom went missing a hundred years ago. The Grak Palace also inexplicably collapsed at around the same time. However, a girl who might be the Princess has been sighted in the Old Town recently. You (Detective) are requested to find the Princess and solve all the mysteries behind the salt-transmutation. As you approach the ruins, you are attacked by an abnormally strong man with hostile intent. With the help of two sisters imbued with special powers, you are narrowly saved from peril. As you delve deeper in the case, you find hints that this mystery might be linked to a case that you investigated long ago...

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Dark Parables is back and this is the closest to the original this series has come! Beautiful artwork and outstanding sound track coupled with an interesting story line make this a definite "must have" in my games library.”  - Janet, beta tester

“Loved the story line and the intricate art work. Glad to see this game kept to the style of the other dark parables. Looking forward to buying it and seeing how the story ends.”  - Rosa, beta tester


  • Thrilling story with a fresh take on classic fairy tales.
  • Find collectible notes to unlock the background stories and secrets.
  • Bonus Game - Moonlight Romance.
  • Extras include wallpapers, soundtracks, puzzles, movies and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 844 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(411.77 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 112.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark parables: Return of Blue Tea Games A blast of a 5-star game that marks a blasting return of a one-kind developer ! The graphics of this games and colors are aspects that I've never seen or witnessed it from another developer, ever. They're sharp, colorful, and in high quality at best. Up to the quality of blue tea games, I sit and kept glaring at it for a while, a true artist work was thrown in the graphics that make the game a "must have" and an experience I don't want anybody to miss. The story of this game is one of the best in the series, it's fast-paced, involves all the characters, and doesn't get too complicated to deliver an amazing, balanced story in the end. The FROG scene here in the game are in its golden age, this game has such a smooth and sharp scenes to be played, I enjoyed every scene of them, with every scene worth to sit and glare at it. Puzzles are fewer in this game, but every one is developed solidly, they are unique and enjoyable at best and worth solving them all without skipping. The cutscenes in this game are good, but I feel they could've been executed better. The soundtrack are truly a pleasure to listen to, they are charming and mysterious at best. The parables are easier to spot, unlike the few past installment where you would get out of the mood of the game to spot them because they're almost impossible to spot and you fear to lose them forever, thankfully, this is not the case here. The morphing object were a great addition to the game, although it would be more challenging and more unique if they could be triggered by an exact event in the game. The map can't be used to fast travel and the game has no custom mode difficulty, I can understand if people turned away of the game because of this but the game is balanced not to need the map to fast travel so often, still, it would be better if these features were included in the game. But believe me, the beauty of this game truly covered these flaws, don't let these minor things prevent you from this game, it's amazing. This game misses the old charming ambiences effect used in the old installments of blue tea games, I hope they could be brought back in future installment, thanks to them, every scene in the old installment feels shrouded in mystery and make the player feels a mystery vibe in every scene because everything feels calm. Overall, Dark parables: return of the salt princess is a super comeback from blue tea games, from its storyline to the graphics of every aspect of it. All of these combined makes this game a great, unforgettable experience I don't want anybody to miss.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best among the best ! Welcome back Blue Tea ♥ I remember my first Blue Tea Game : Dark Parables: The Exiled Prince. I discovered at that time a new genre and a new developers. Quality is rare nowadays. I'm a manga/animation fan since so many years - I always recognize the Japanese influence in the beautiful design and the characters of blue tea games. They are fabulous, unique est so well drawn. Their music are celestial and full of emotions. Each songs talk to the heart and are what i love the most of Blue Tea. I could listen them for hours ... The stories are always intriguing and interesting. Tragedy, legend, ancient tales - lost in the memory of time ... The gameplay is the same - simple but easy to follow. Don't care for the custom settings - a good game don't need those fancy things. Enjoy the moment is sufficient. Play this game bring back so much souvenirs ... Thank You !
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome back Blue Tea, I've missed you! Absolutely wonderful! Stunning graphics, without too much glitz and glimmer (some of the previous Dark Parables were so gilded you could barely make out what was what!).The Blue Tea ones have always been my favorites, The Exiled Prince being one of the first game of this genre I ever played. I love the cartoon-ish characters. I may adjust to these new helper women, but wouldn't mind running into the Red Riding Hood Sisters in another game! A fairy tale story, a bit of a twist on the usual. I didn't play enough of the game to see if it's based on the Slovak fable, The Salt Prince, or not. Lovely FROGs, again without the sparkling distraction some of the last ones featured. Also, truly fragment objects, not just big identifiable chunks. Not too many, and fewer puzzles, but I didn't mind! There was still a lot going on, a lot to do and pay attention to. I'll tell you, when the scream occurred I jumped! And rushed from scene to scene trying to find out what happened, as was obviously the developers' plan! Cursed objects were hard to find! So are the parable pieces. Nice! At first, when I read there were no custom settings, I wasn't going to bother trying. I hate sparkles, but want to have a hint if need be. But, the goal is to get a "no hint" achievement, right? So, need a hint, look at the Strategy Guide! It's no biggie not to have a hint or skip. Even in the SE you can check the walk-through. We wanted Blue Tea back and now we complain about something else? Complain about everything and anything and eventually we'll all get what we deserve... nothing! It's one of those rare games where I find myself wanting to play a little more, a little more, curious to find out what happens. I get that feeling in my stomach somehow! Maybe it's just knowing that Blue Tea is back! Oh... I loved the message when I clicked on "hint" but didn't have one, "That's a convenience I thought I wouldn't need."
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beyond Belief I’m trying to describe the beauty of the game. Proportions, vanishing point, plausibility and logic of actions are very important to me. So far everything has been done to perfection. Colors are vibrant, proportions are well done, gameplay is logic. I don’t mind protagonists standing around, a marginal point in my opinion. I don’t necessarily need a map to transport me. Most of the time I know what I have to do, if not, there is a hint button. I love having to complete many actions in one scene. I prefer having five scenes with ten actions over fifty scenes with one interaction each. For me this contributes towards much more intense gameplay. This concept asks for well conceived sequences by the developers. Done here and to my benefit. And hopefully for other players as well. The story is very important to me. Again, full score for Blue Tea! Those who miss the transporter map and custom mode and yet another operation to save the world might get bored. The interpretation of this parable is outstanding! Back to the Salt Princess now.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE SALT PRINCESS BRINGS BACK A LOT OF MEMORIES AND THE DARK PARABLES THAT I LOVE The Dark Parables series returns with game number fourteen in the series with the first seven games developed by Blue Tea Games after which the subsequent games were all developed by Eipix. Call me old school but Return of the Salt Princess is everything that I loved about the original games that had gorgeous graphics, beautiful FROG (fragmented object game) scenes, and excellent puzzles. You once again take on the role of the fairy tale detective and this time you are out to find the missing princess of the Grak Kingdom. I’m not going to bother with the storyline synopsis since others do it quite well and with far more humor than I, suffice it to say that you are in for a great time as you track down the princess and find your way around the old kingdom. I’m quite surprised by this game because it emulates the earlier games so well that I am not really sure if the game is a work shared by the two developers (Blue Tea and Eipix) or if maybe Blue Tea has taken up the reins once again. Perhaps it is all Eipix and they followed the original formula, but whatever the case may be, I love the result. The game is authentic right down to the map that no longer seems to be a jump map (at least it doesn’t work on my computer) which is the one complaint I had with the original games and now with this one. The game also reverts to the old style of offering only three modes of gameplay – Easy, Normal, and Hard with no other options such as turning off the tutorial. All minor for me since I’ve got what I like the most with the great graphics, FROGS, and puzzles. The CE version of the game includes the following extras: 20 Cursed Objects, 20 Parable Pieces, 58 Pop-up Notes, and 24 Special Items to find as you play the game. Other extras include 26 Achievements, 12 Wallpapers, 24 Concept Artwork, 5 Music Tracks, 6 Movies, 9 Puzzles to play, Bonus Game Moonlight Romance, and the 57-page Strategy Guide. I love this game mostly because it is so much like the original games in the series. Although I think the gorgeous artwork and the FROGS are terrific I do miss the special touches that EIPIX added with their technical expertise. I find it more difficult to navigate the game and miss having a jump map as well as the option to select a custom mode of gameplay. That being said, this game is perfect in every other way and it brings back the beauty of the Dark Parables games. I purchased the game as soon as it was available but as always, please try the demo to see if Return of the Salt Princes is a game you will enjoy. Following is a list of other games in the series. Happy Gaming! Curse of Briar Rose Mar 2010 (Blue Tea Games) The Exiled Prince Feb 2011 Rise of the Snow Queen Dec 2011 The Red Riding Hood Sisters Sep 2012 The Final Cinderella May 2013 Jack and the Sky Kingdom Feb 2014 Ballad of Rapunzel Jun 2014 The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Nov 2014 (first game from EIPIX) Queen of Sands May 2015 Goldilocks and the Fallen Star Nov 2015 The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Jul 2016 The Thief and the Tinderbox Sep 2016 Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Feb 2017
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anime is a Japanese term for Animation, this has that Look I heard people try to describe the cartoon look and it looks like a genre my 20 something son is into, called Anime. I love the look and the lip movement is spot on. This review is for the completed game with bonus and bonus content. I Loved this game. Finally a Hops game with more hops. I counted 22 in the main game and 7 in the bonus, making 29 hops. The Hops are lovely and the fragmented hops seem easier in this game to me. It was delightful. I counted 13 puzzles in the main game and 3 in the bonus. You can only replay 9 select puzzles. Playing a fairytale detective in Krakow, Poland in the Grak Kingdom with Dragonflies. I loved several fountains and waters. Especially the Frog fountain. I found my way around without trouble. I knew what to do most of the time. Sometimes I had to use hint for placement of some items. With 6 long chapters and bonus game Moonlight Romance which is a prequel. I think I had 10 plus hours into this game. Maybe I glazed too long. I enjoyed collecting the 20 morphing cursed objects. I also collect 5 parables in the main game and 2 more parables in the bonus. You have 4 items for each parable to find, so 28 items. They are hidden all though the game. I own all the Dark Parables in CE with my favorite being the Rise of the Snow Queen. The other games I own from the maker Blue Tea are HodgePodge Hollow, Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale and Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat. Achievements, 6 movie gallery, 5 music, 12 wallpapers, 24 concept art and 9 puzzles. 7 Parables.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL GAME!!! THIS PARABLES HAS GIVEN BACK PARABLES OF OLD THAT I LOVED, WITH JUST A TOUCH OF GREAT PUZZLES ETC!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money I haven't been impressed enough with any game to buy one in a long time, but this one is worth the money. Beautiful, often challenging, creative, and truly beautiful music. I usually do not make a note of the music in games but this was really very lovely. Well done! Please make me spend money with this type of quality game.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let yourself be charmed The Dark Parables are a quite magical series, in which mostly fairy tales are told in a beautifully style with hidden objects to find in a special way, the FROGs and fairly good, often innovative puzzles. The first one, Briar Rose, took me in at once. Many followed and in between another developer left his ‘handwriting’ . Although the contents remained the same, certain patterns were kept, on the whole there was a different impression. With the Return of the Salt Princess, the series is back at its origins. Unfortunately the mechanics are back to these roots as well: no customizing of the game, miss click penalty, only easy, normal or hard mode to choose. Artwork is simply stunning, all hand drawn with love to detail. Though FROGs are not for everyone, as the objects are not easy to find, here everything is pin sharply drawn and more a feast to look for your items. But the visuals and a very suiting music are only one part of the good impression. Plot unfolds quite fast: you are in the place, where action has to be taken. The story takes place in the old Grak Kingdom. It lies in ruins, which have started to turn into salt lately. Salt used to be the kingdom’s trade, but its ruin as well? A long time ago the princess of the kingdom disappeared, now events, as the growing salt crust on the ruins, suggest, she may have reappeard. It is our task, as fairy tale detective, to track her down. And we ‘stumble’ pretty quickly over one of her guards, a girl, half buried below rubble. She and her sister are helpful and soon we catch sight of the princess herself. But she has a problem: Her unique ability to control the white dragonflies, who are able to turn everything they touch into salt, is vanishing. Not the only obstacle, as there is the giant man. A fire-breathing dragon stands by his side as he captures the princess. To me a magical adventure into a fantastic world…
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last.... a Dark Parables to enjoy!! Keep it up Blue Tea. So like the games of the past. Graphics are excellent,story line is good,sound is good. Just like the old days.Please don't stop. I have every one of your games. I still love your hogs and hops too!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Tea saves Dark Parables from destruction I really thought after Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Dark Parables had run it's course and was on it's last breath. I've bought every Collectors version of the series since it started without even playing them first. They are by far my favorite series to play. So this game may not have been the absolute best of the series but it was really great and I enjoyed it very much. I'm already playing it for the second time. I enjoyed the music, the storyline and the graphics. The hidden objects were not as difficult as past but I've always loved not searching for the ridiculous out of place junk in large piles of junk like other games. I especially like this type of broken up objects. There wasn't a wide variety of puzzles but they could be challenging as you progressed through the game. One part of the game really made me sad enough to cry but I will never spoil a game in the review. And for the one thing I wish all reviewers would do in Collectors edition reviews. No you don't need the bonus to finish the story. BUT It was a great story and it had good length to it. Of course I would never get a Dark Parables as an SE anyways because I enjoy them so thoroughly! And finally Thank You! To Big Fish for getting Blue Tea back to Dark Parables! Thank You to Blue Tea for coming back!! Please keep up the excellent work!!!
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar!!! Finally, a Blue Tea fitting of the original Devs. This has got to be the best game since the first series of games. I'm still quaking at the excitement. I've bought all the games in the series and this is the best in a long time. Please keep it up.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful!!! One of the most beautiful games I've seen in a long time! Stunning art work and graphics! Bravo Dark Parables!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE RETURN OF THE “FROG” PRINCES OF GAMING IN AN AWARD-WINNING GAME REVIEW OF THE ENTIRE MAIN GAME – (Minus the Bonus Chapter) 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter - Strategy Guide: 59 Pages – Time: 6 Hours OVERVIEW: Welcome to Krakow, Poland, Detective! Immerse yourself in a magnificent, well-written fairy tale FROG game designed by Blue Tea Games. Get ready to enter a magical kingdom with princes, princesses, dragons, dragonflies and, of course, plenty of frogs! You will need to be on the lookout for frogs in this game in more ways than one! Such dastardly little fellows! This game is a gem! They don’t create games like this anymore! This is truly a stunning masterpiece! Enter the remains of the “Grak Kingdom,” the remnants of a magical city protected by a magic barrier. Help the conflicted Salt Princess, Brigid, in a story which has plenty of twists and turns and surprises as well! A beautiful love story is embedded within this story intertwined with one of revenge. You will need to complete the entire game to understand the whole story behind this little princess! You are not going to figure this one out until the end! This is the return of the FROG princes from Blue Tea. This game should appeal to those who love HOP scenes which are all FROGS! Ribbit! This game should also appeal to the aficionados of this series, or those who love the magic of a beautiful fairy tale come-to-life. This little “gem” is a great game for school-age children as well. I do believe children would love this game. However, they would need help with the puzzles. OLD SCHOOL GLAMOUR: The story behind this game is well-written. This is a long game and well worth the investment. I found the story engaging with plenty of activities to engage the player. Time flew by playing this game. This is more of an adventure game than a standard HOP game. There are few HOP scenes and even fewer puzzles. This game is old school and with that comes the lack of features offered in most other games. You cannot customize your game. You are only offered three options of game play – easy, normal and hard. You cannot set the time for hints and skips. The map is not transportable. The map merely indicates which scene has an action which needs to be performed. However, a transportable map is not really needed within this game. Most of the actions needed to be performed are just a few clicks away. If you want to play a game which is pure eye candy, this is the game! It has an opalescent jewel-like quality not seen in other games. Absolutely no other developer illustrates the beauty and magic of fairy tales as Blue Tea. It is truly a breathtaking fairy tale come-to-life. There are hand-drawn scenes and the HOP scenes are jewel-encrusted FROGS. I also like that this developer identifies the chapters within their games. It is truly one you do not want to miss. MECHANICS: The extras include a series of five (6) parables. You collect twenty-seven (27) pieces for six (6) parables which can be read as soon as the pieces are collected. They are fairy tales which the player may or may not be familiar. There are twenty (20) cursed objects (morphing objects) as well. The cursed objects, when located, decrease the amount of time needed to refill the hint bar. I found locating the collectibles varied in difficulty. Some, for me, were easy to locate and some not so easy. There are twenty-six (26) achievements to earn. There are twelve wallpapers as well. You can replay nine (9) puzzles from the game. BONUS CHAPTER: The bonus chapter is named “Moonlight Romance.” It is a prequel. It tells the story of a young princess betrothed to a King of a neighboring kingdom in an arranged, loveless marriage. She is trapped, a prisoner of her own lineage. When she takes a moonlit walk, things begin to happen. And this is where the game begins! This chapter appears to be a nice addition to the main game. It appears to be long. I did not finish it, but it seems to be the same quality as the main game. HOP SCENES: - Ribbit! From what I have played – they are all jewel encrusted FROGS. There are twenty-four (24) FROGS within the main game. I may have missed one or two however. There is a successive number of them at the end of the main game. PUZZLES: There are not many puzzles within this game. There are only fourteen (14) within the main game. Many of the types of puzzles are repeated several times within the game. They are formatted slightly different each time they are used. Listed below is an example of each type of puzzle used within this game. SPOILER: HERE IS A SAMPLE OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Checkers puzzle. Plot a path to remove all gems. On a grid move two dragons by jumping over gems to remove them from the board. If you have no gems to jump over, you must restart the puzzle. B. Entrapment puzzle. Move four (4) tokens on a grid to surround and entrap a human so he cannot move. C. Connection puzzle. It is exactly like one in the demo, but in this case, you match up cards of chess pieces. For nine tokens, with two pictures upon them, rotate and switch them so that the sides of adjoining tokens match up. D. Moving tiles puzzle. Better know the Zodiac. In this game amass like zodiac signs of the same element – air, fire, water and earth. All the signs of each element should form a triangle. They are assorted by color if you don’t know which signs go with which elements. E. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide tiles so that animals portrayed on them are within their correct habitats.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Tea Games returns....... YAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!! OMG! it is soooooo wonderful that you are back. Finally a true to its craft developer. The cartoon characters are different but who cares. I actually had to play in 'easy' mode because it had been so long since I'd played an original Blue Tea game that I forgot how hard they are. I am absolutely thrilled to be playing this excellent game. Thank you Big Fish for bringing back the old but truly fun games made by Blue Tea. I have posted my skill level down to beginner for this game as it's very much the old school Blue Tea Games and is very challenging on it's own. Sigh....I can die a happy gamer now.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salt Princess Hits a Home Run! I own the whole series of Dark Parables, and they are my all-time favorites! Beautiful graphics, love the return to the old sounds, the puzzle games are great, and the HOGS are spectacular! Excellent work, near perfect in every dimension. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard Core Gamers chill No, there is no custom setting which we are all used to, And that's irritating. Yes, a better map is needed. That's irritating also. No, the puzzles won't give you a headache. Isn't THAT irritating!! (LOL) Yes, all you hard core gamers can sit this one out if you want but if you will loosen your hats a bit, you may find this to be a cup of Blue Tea that you like. Try the demo to see if you can deal with the "lack of modern technology" and if not, don't buy. However, those of you who want to experience a Blue Tea game that is reminiscent of the years before Eipix, drink up me hearties! The story is good. We all know what is going to happen before the ending but don't we always? And, oh, those wonderful FROG HO's which I love and the frogs too! I fell in love with the Frog Prince in the first Dark Parables game. You walk through places crafted by amazing hand drawn graphics that are not pink and purple but beautiful blues, greens, rustic browns and soft reds. Beautiful music follows you through your journey,and the voice acting is excellent. Refreshing! You still have collectibles i.e beyond objects (morphing objects) and parable characters. You can earn achievements. There is enough CE bling to warm your gaming heart. As, I said, the puzzles are not brain drainers but some were a little complicated. And some were way too easy. I played on normal, but if you play on advanced, you may get a little different game play. I do have a cautionary word about something I did find a little annoying. When placing items into a scene where several different items are to be placed, we are accustomed to having the game kind of zap it into place. In this game, you must put the correct item into the correct place or the game will reject it and you may think it doesn't belong there. It does, just try a different slot. Don't like the CE price, wait for the SE. I gave this wonderful gem 5 stars because there is nothing I have played in the last few months that made me realize more just how much we have been content with hum drum CE games. I have always loved Blue Tea games but the last few were not the old Blue Tea quality. This one is a return to the Blue Tea magic we all enjoyed in the past like The Exiled Prince, The Red Riding Hood Sisters and The Rise of the Snow Queen, If you have liked earlier Blue Tea games, give this one a try. I suggest you play the demo just to see whether you can live without a custom setting.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Parables is Back! A breath of fresh air! Blue Tea Games has had a lot of input into this game. The developer who took over could never make Dark Parables the same. There are many hidden object games and is a fun fairy tale story line. The graphics are full of color and reminiscent of the older Dark Parable games. Love it!
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game Truly "Worth its Salt"! An excellent blend of mystery, fantasy and adventure. The graphics are nearly perfect (barring a few too many blue tints in some scenes) and the voices are appropriate and have expression. For me, the 2 outstanding things about this title are the fragmented HO scenes and the many quite unexpected twists and turns in what at first appears to be an "ordinary" detective drama. The plot's faintly humdrum beginning (a missing princess, a bloody long-ago war) soon evolves into a many layered mystery stretching over centuries. The puzzles may seen fairly easy for puzzle experts, but I found them relaxing and solvable. The clarity and sharpness of the graphics makes HO scenes challenging but very playable.It's probably best to play the demo before buying, I highly recommend it as a good game investment.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful travel to the past Based on full CE. I can't speak for anyone but I simply love all the Dark Parables games and this one is no exception. I get completely immersed by it and the storytelling is simply gorgeous. It holds a twist, just like all DP games. It was very nostalgic for me and I have to say I truly like it "old and clunky" as everyone else claims it to be. We get too comfortable and patted on the back by teleport-maps and custom-difficulty-options. I can safely say, the games need to stop using them and make players use their brains at least for once. I couldn't care less for games where I can just teleport my way through and breeze through playtime. That doesn't make a very memorable game. The beautiful detailed graphics and drawing style are just one of a kind. You can't look a millimeter without spotting a detail. I love that a lot! Despite that I love this game and played it in one go the hidden object scenes were not very difficult unlike the DP games before. Or maybe I'm so good at spotting the parts now due to practice. The mini games got repeated just with different pictures. I get that a developer can't just create a new one for every scene but with the experience Blue Tea Games has they could have had different mini games in every scene. Despite that I liked the mini games they had. They weren't too difficult. I like that Blue Tea Games focuses on the story more than on playability. If you're looking for lots of hidden object pictures or mini games you are definitely wrong here. DP tells stories and focuses on it and I love to read the extra notes that are scattered throughout the game. DP focuses on world building and story. If that's what you are looking for in a game and want a drive through nostalgia road this game is a good choice. It's a game were you have to use your brain instead of skipping through it. The only thing this game lacks was a better voice acting for the princess. All the others were fine but the princess wasn't very well acted.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Back!!!! As a lot of people mentioned already, the past few Dark Parables were not very satisfactory. I began giving up on the series because the storylines were not as compatible to the whole "fairytale" vibe than before. I was super excited for this game, after reading a few comments about how it resembled the old Blue Tea Games versions. I played through the whole thing in two days (could have been one but I had other stuff to do) and the storyline was amazing. It was not predictable and kept me curious throughout until the end. The graphics are beautiful, and the voiceovers are really great as well. There was a hint of creepiness to it that reminded me a little of Cursery, which added to the intrigue. A lot of plot twists and in-depth characterizations. I feel so ashamed for being greedy, but I can't wait to find out what the next one is! Hopefully it'll be as good as this one. Thank you so much to the creators for this! My favorite series is back on track.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Dark Parables I haven't seen one of these games in a while. I love the vividness of the scenes and love the HO games where you put items together. This was a nice story, a little complex, but just enough to make it interesting. I like to buy CEs because of the extra and in this one, it really finishes off the story. Thanks for a fun and fascinating game.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from welcome back BLUE TEA GAMES i miss you so much what can i say awesome story fit perfectly the dark parables atmosphere first i was worried when i saw 6 chapters but then it turns out it was long game ever thankkkkkkkkk youuuuu blue tea games
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back Blue Tea This game is the bomb. It was amazing and wonderful to play a Blue Tea Hidden Object game again. The graphics, music, games, hidden object games, everything was so perfect about this extraordinary game. And the collectible morphing objects were the icing on the cake. My review is based on the 90 minute trial. I bought it as soon as the trial ended. I couldn't buy this game fast enough. Thank you Big Fish and Blue Tea. This game is a keeper. I liked everything about it, everything.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return of the Old Dark Parables! These are some of the few games that I keep re-playing. I personally do not care if I have a custom option and that is not a deal breaker for me. I do enjoy the gameplay and the stories.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars - My 2 Cents I'll add to the pile of 5 star reviews for the return of Blue Tea. It was a sad day when BT moved into a new direction and the DP games were picked up by Eipix so as not to leave them abandoned. The old BT DP games are definitely some of the best and I've replayed them many times. I've bought this game and have been playing it for over an hour now. It's very similar to the older games (incl. the difficulty options, which are exactly as the older games were - and intentionally so, I believe) There are two places that there are differences from the past. (1) The HOP scenes aren't as detailed. The older BT HOPS could be difficult to the extreme and sometimes a little frustrating with how hidden they were but that was part of their uniqueness. (2) The characters are less detailed that I remember - although it's been a while since I last played one. A high five to Blue Tea for returning to adventure games and here's hoping that they completely take back the reigns from Eipix with the next installment. While the Eipix DP games were not as good, I do give them credit for keeping the series alive these past few years.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Tea back in action!!! First off this game is amazing i feel like it picked up where Ballad of Rapunzel left off. It is filled with all the in game connections music and visuals I know i missed very much. As an added bonus because time has wore on since the release of blue teas last game the puzzles are better than ever. Now please Blue Tea if you have returned in full please continue the stories from your Macabre Mysteries, Cursery, and Enchantia games!
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YES!!! Blue Tea is back in effect! Not even finished the demo and I'm buying it! Ever since Eipix took the helm Dark Parables has, for me, gone from automatic buy to "Meh, maybe." The last really good one was the Ballad of Rapunzel. So you can imagine my joy when I read the reviews on this game today and realized that Blue Tea was back at the helm... *FROGs are back to awesome - no more lightning effects and the imagery is complex yet delicate *The mood and feel of the original games is back - no more cartoon characters or swashbucklers *Cursed objects are back *Gorgeous baroque/rococco scenery is back *Parables are back! *We'll see if the story line holds up till the end, but I'm positively hopeful The slightly creepy mood music with the whispering voices is missing, but you can't have everything. So far so good - one thing they could've changed is to add in a custom setting and clickable map to make the game more up-to-date... but I'm good! To have Blue Tea back I can live without it, lol! Plus, you have to move back through the scenes to activate the Cursed Objects. That wouldn't happen if you click through the map, so I get it. They're scrambling a little bit to re-create that continuity of storyline around the Frog Prince, but that's understandable given the number of games that have come between. Players who began Dark Parables during the Eipix era may not like the slower pace, darker mood, heavy emphasis on story, and lack of flashy effects, but die-hard fans who've missed the depth and variety will be ecstatic, I know I am! I'm excited to get back to it and see where it goes.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic addition to the Dark Parables series I am a big fan of the Dark Parables and this latest tale is superb. From the moment you launch the game the quality is clearly evident. A compelling storyline with great characters, a map that's easy to follow and music that enriches the gameplay. For me however it is the colours that make this an outstanding game. They are crisp and vivid and bring life to your screen. The CE is certainly worth the money with the delightful Moonlight Romance tale adding to the enjoyment.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lets here it for the triumphant return of Blue Tea! Im not going to lie when I saw that another installment in the Dark Parables series had come out I wasn't as excited for it as normal since the ladt two games hadn't lived up to the level of amazement that the series is known for. However as a loyal fan I decided to give it a shot and boy am I glad I did because I love this game. The story pacing, puzzles and parables are exactly like the Dark Parables of old just with better graphics. Definitely replaying this game until the next one, way to go Blue Tea!!!!
Date published: 2018-03-19
  • y_2021, m_4, d_10, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_27931, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Return of the Salt Princess Collector's Edition

Explore kingdom ruins and meet the exiled Salt Princess.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.