Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.61 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games presents the next adventure in their new Donna Brave series!

Donna Brave is on the case again, investigating a strange tree that grabs and poisons its victims, but when her childhood friend Kathi becomes the next victim, the case gets personal. Investigate the strange manor house and unlock the secrets behind this deathly tree, before you get ensnared by its deadly roots in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Prevent another murder in the bonus chapter!
  • Search for dozens of collectibles and morphs while you play.
  • Enjoy exclusive art, music, and wallpapers.
  • Master the game as you earn achievements and replay Hidden-Object Puzzles.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 652 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked It ! The first Donna Brave I really loved , this one gets a like. There are some flaws in the game , where the art work and cut scenes could be better , but I had fun playing it. I like collecting things a long the way , looking for morphing objects and solving the puzzles. There are 6 challenge levels where you can choose from, which makes it a game for beginners and advanced players. I would recommend try and see if you like it as much as I do.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great game I was one of the beta testers of the game, and it was highly entertaining just in that format. Plus, either coincidence was stretched to the max, or the tree has a nasty streak in whatever it has for a mind. I highly recommend playing this game!
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really fun Great game. Was a bit more intuitive than some, you didn't have to refer to the guide to figure out what you were supposed to do next. The puzzles were pretty easy. The only down side to the game was the back story. It didn't explain his growing things with a wave of his hand. It could have been so much more and they just dropped the ball on it.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ~~FANS HAVE "HIGH EXPECTATIONS" WHEN REVIEWING MADHEAD GAMES!~~ Madhead did a great job with the first edition with the release of "Donna Brave and the Strangler of Paris" but this sequel has a predictable storyline which wasn't interesting enough to entice me into purchasing it. It's difficult not to compare this edition to the original Donna Brave and killing a deadly tree just didn't cut it for me. I do think that Madhead developers deserve credit for the efforts put forth into making this series and I hope that the next chapter of Donna Brave will be equally exciting as the "Strangler of Paris". This series has great potential but fans have "high expectations" from the developers at Madhead and a 2 or 3 star rating isn't typically what reviewer's give when rating any of the other incredibly interesting games Madhead creates. Demo this chapter of Donna Brave with enthusiasm for the series and decide for yourself. Cheers!
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from sign langauge would have helped okay game if you are going to have conversations at least have their lips move graphics/art not good but not bad hops and mini's where okay.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sorry I bought this. First off, their mouths don't move when they speak. That's a huge no for me. It wasn't indicated in the preview pane either. It's 2018 people...catch up with the times. Mouths not moving is so old school. Also, I had 1 game club credit. I bought this game on 2/7/2018 on a day when CE's were on sale for $6.99. However BF did NOT use my existing credit. If I had known that the characters mouths didn't move when they spoke...I would NOT have spend another $6.99 for it. Maybe it's just me, but that really stinks. I won't being purchasing any more Donna Brave games in the future. FYI..I bought the first one...just replayed it...the characters mouths move in that one. SMH!!
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from THIS SERIES GOES FROM A STRANGLER IN PARIS TO KILLER TREE ROOTS????? Donna Brave could hardly wait to see her friend Kathi, after all she hasn't seen her since they hung out together at school. When Donna arrives, she is greeted by a very nervous Kathi, who explains that she needs Donna's help to solve a deadly mystery. Is it a whodunit murder mystery? Nope, its a killer tree! Mad Head Games should have made this new series more like an Agatha Christie murder mystery. Instead, they went from a Strangler in Paris to Killer Tree Roots.To make matters worse, the graphics are horrible at times, close ups in some scenes make everything look like it was drawn for a cartoon. I'm more than a little upset that MHG dropped the ball with this uninteresting plot. There are so many inconsistencies and logic fails, that one is left scratching one's head, trying to keep up with the story. For starters, the game supposedly takes place somewhere around 1923, yet Kathi is spelled wit an i not a y, which I can't imagine parents in the 1900's doing. The clothes also don't seem period appropriate. I find a wooden tool box that of course is missing a handle, and I simply can't open the lid until I find a replacement. Oh looky here, an iron handle, I simply place it on the lid, and it lifts the lid with ease. Are there magnets involved here, how did it stay attached? Next up, I've got to melt some ice, do I use my matches, do I use my kerosene lantern, of course not, they won't do the job, but I can use a single match to catch a stick on fire without any fuel! Once I rescue my bestie from the killer tree, and drag her body inside, her father decides to help, so I heave Kathi's limp body into dads arms. Now dad informs me that her wounds are lethal and she has 24 hours to live. Kathi's dad has figured out the solution! I must destroy the vile death tree, or Kathi will die in less than a day! He seemed so sure she would live 24 hours, just a second ago, but now she has less than a day? If the wounds caused by the tree are fatal (and you have 24 hours to live give or take a few hours) how will it fix things if I destroy the tree? Are the wounds one and the same as the tree? I may not like the story, but I loved the Collector's Edition bling available! Each scene has a Morphing Object to find, and each HOP has one as well, now that's more like it! Each scene also has a hidden Magnifying glass to find as well, which unlocks Bonus Content once they have all been collected. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied, and each HOP has a Morphing Object to find. There are Silhouetted Shape finds, Matching Pairs and scenes where you place objects into the scene instead of taking them out. There aren't a whole lot of HOP's or MG's for that matter , and there are no alternate puzzles available The Mini Games are far too simplistic in my opinion, and there just aren't enough of them, at least not in the demo. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Rotate tiles to create an unbroken path. 2) Swap shoes to match their silhouetted shape shoe prints 3) Choose a card from your hand, then select however many cards necessary to equal the sum of the card in your hand. (if you choose an 8 as your hand card, you must then choose cards whose sum equal 8 such as a 5 and a 3) the first person to take use 15 or more cards wins. 4) Place animals on their correct habitat continent. 5) Rotate disks to align the images. 6) Move knights to their color coded board spots. 7) Play the piano keys in the correct order according to the clue. DONNA BRAVE GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Donna Brave: And the Strangler of Paris (August 26-2017) 4.3 2-Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree (January 27-2018) n/a by: Mad Head Games This Collector's Edition version has 4 Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, 10 Music Soundtracks, 10 Achievements to earn in 3 categories each, 8 Character Gallery pictures, Card Game to play(once all Morphing Objects have been found), 28 hidden Collectible Magnifying Glasses, 47 Morphing Objects (1 in each scene and 1 in each HOP) 19 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Q: What Were They Thinking? A: They Weren't! I would give a synopsis of the story, but someone might think I'd been imbibing! So we'll skip that and just say the story is a sorry mess - if a giant evil tree invades your house and garden and you are obviously wealthy, why not just leave? Especially after several people have died? (And how sick is it to post their pictures and dates on the post at the end of the driveway?) So we are left with a slow moving game that has the player running back and forth through a house full of really unlikable people doing some of the dumbest tasks I've seen: After being "greeted" by your friend Kathi's nasty cousin, you heist Kathi's blue necklace to bribe said cousin for her help! It is all a nightmare trip from that point as characters disappear and the tree gets more threatening. And as the tree is growing and destroying the house, you, playing as Donna, all but cuddle up to it, until you get one of the leaves that guarantee you too will die. As this signals the end of the Demo, you will be as happy to go as most players will be! Please try the demo, as the changing time periods and lack of character anything will convince you too that this was a black day at Mad Head!
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry folks we aren't getting a new detective series from Donna Brave! The first game in this series was a fun and gorgeously done detective game that I really enjoyed, this game is a big fat stinker! It has zero in common with the other game in this series! There really isn't much more for me to add that others haven't already said in their reviews. Boring and Monotonous are the only words I can come up with to describe this game! You have to find some kind of amulet, puzzle piece, or key to open, EVERYTHING! I really can not believe these are the same people who gave us Maze, Dark Realm, Adam Wolf, Cadenza and the NeverTales games. Well, to be honest, many of their newer games in those series haven't been all that great either, but at one time Mad Head made the best games out there! Really a shame that this game and the last two or three games they put out recently were real stinkers! No, I do not recommend this game not even as an SE!
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Game By this Dev To Date!! After seeing all the low reviews, I thought "No way! This is a Madhead game!" Well....WAY!! The artwork destroys this game!! It is some of the worst I have seen by such a wonderful game developer....normally. I couldn't even enjoy the MOs due to all the blurriness.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GETTING TO THE “ROOT” OF THE PROBLEM OF THIS GAME. OVERVIEW: Although poet Joyce Kilmer wrote he would never see a poem as lovely as a tree, he never played this game! In truth, I hope I may never see – another Mad Head game about a tree! Ever! I love Mad Head games. We get so few of them on BFG. However, to me, this is one of the strangest and most boring demos I have played. This is a game concerns birthday girl, Kathi, receiving a tree as a present. Great present, right? The tree kills those who are in contact with it. The only way to stop this tree from killing its victims, is by using flower petals on the victims. Donna Brave, school friend of Kathi, has been called in to locate the source of this malady and stop this zombie tree from sending its roots out into the world. NEVER GOING TO HUG THIS TREE NOR THIS GAME: The demo consists of going back-and-forth throughout a house (where this evil zombie tree is located) searching for items and then interacting with them. So, the pace is slow – very slow. After some time, I began to feel like a potted plant in this house, hoping said zombie tree would give me a leaf (which destines you do die) – to “re-leaf” me from this game. Sorry for the pun – just could not help it! There is just not enough action within this game. I fell asleep once and when I begin looking at my watch to see how long I had been playing a game. It is a non-purchase for me. The game could get better after the demo, but I don’t want to purchase it to find out. I am very disappointed, as I usually purchase every Mad Head game. MECHANICS: The graphics are cartoon-like. You collect twenty-eight (28) magnifying glasses and there are twenty-eight (28) morphing objects to collect as well. You can replay nineteen (19) HOP scenes. Again, I wish Mad Head would allow their players to replay some of the puzzles within the game. As with many other developers’ games, there is a gimmicky medallion which allows you to view all those “hidden objects” within a scene. This is another gimmick which has been overused in games by not just this developer, but others as well. HOP SCENES: The scenes are indicative of those seen in other games. There is nice variety of silhouette, lists of items, matching pairs, and replacement of items back within the scene. The are somewhat interactive. However, I found none which were outstanding. PUZZLES: The puzzles within the demo are easy. I found none challenging. One of the puzzles is merely placing shoes into their correct position according to their heel marks. Another has the player place animals according to their continent. There is a chess puzzle with knights, but with its design, it is also boringly easy. WHICH ONE IS KATHI? The developers change the appearance of the character, Kathi, throughout the game. Her hair and facial features change throughout the game. I had a difficult time differentiating her from Donna Brave. Once you have drawn a character, please stop changing her appearance. GOOD NEWS: I know Mad Head has an upcoming game which is terrific! I do believe sci-fi and horror are their strongest suit – not this “tree rot.” Please spend more time developing those wonderful games of alternate universes, space aliens, based on all those conspiracy theories out there! Donna Brave - unless you are an alien from Planet Xenon – I think you need to take the next train back to Paris! LEVELS: Seedling, Sapling, Bloom, Canopy, Heritage Tree Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. Replay 19 HOP scenes You get a memory medallion to see all those hidden objects within scenes. 10 Achievements – Some with 3 parts Collect 28 Morphing Swirls and 28 Magnifying glasses Wallpapers, Concept Art, Music, Card Game (played if you collect all morphing objecs HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: (A) Silhouette. (B) Silhouette. Find items on gold coins. (C) Mini-HOP scene. Locate 5 buttons. (D) List of items (E) Matching pairs. Match up pairs of pipes (F) Replacement. Place items back within the scenes. PUZZLES: (1) Easy 2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult A. Connection puzzle. Rotate tiles on a grid so that the lines upon the tiles create a continuous path from one end to the other. Rating: 2 B. Matching puzzle. Place five shoes in proper locations according to slots under them which match up to the shoe heels. Rating: 2 C. Card puzzle. Never seen this before. Choose a card from your hand and try to pick up cards which equal the value of the card in you hand. First to collect 15 cards wins. Rating: 2 D. Matching. On a map, place the correct animal with its proper home continent. Rating: 1 E. Assembly. On a rotating disk on the center of a gate, rotate the disk so that the petals of flowers end up on the correct flower. Rating: 1 F. Chess puzzle. Move four knights to colored squares of their same color. Rating: 2 G. Matching puzzle. Choose keys on a piano keyboard to play a turn based on a given music sheet. Rating: 2
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I could not wait until the 90 min. were up. Sorry I did not care for the game
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1½ stars...everything is broken, missing parts, or locked with shaped keys. Run back and forth fixing broken stuff, replacing missing parts, and using shaped keys. Incredibly monotonous. Feed a magical box with treasures, then wave a lens around to find invisible stuff. *yawn* Five "unhidden object" scenes in the demo, all completed quickly: (1) silhouettes, (2) silhouettes again, (3) zoom box find five, (4) straight list, (5) replace objects in the scene. Eight mini-games in the demo, all ridiculously easy: (1) Rotate the tiles to create an unbroken path. (2) Swap five shoes, matching them to their footprints. (3) Swap animal figurines, matching them to their continents. (4) Rotate a wheel of petals to match them to their flowers (5) Find matching pairs of smoking pipes. (6) Move four chess knights to their matching positions. (7) Play the piano, following the given clue. (8) Place arrows to guide the ball to the exit, avoiding hidden traps. No logic whatsoever. A complex series of actions would end with finding an everyday item locked up like Fort Knox. However, it does give me an idea for getting rid of all "mouse over the scene to find hidden items" gadgets… Place all gadgets in a box and lock it with a shaped key. Break the key into four pieces, then toss one down a well, sew one inside a cushion, place one in a purse with a broken zipper pull, and feed one to alligators. Next, set the box on fire and put the ashes in an urn locked with a "swap the pieces" jigsaw. Bury the urn inside the basement of a house haunted by demonic ghosts. Plant vicious, anthropomorphic, thorny vines around the house. Warp the entire mess into an alternate universe and seal the breach with a deadly curse that can only be broken by brewing a potion of frog's hair, daffodil toenails, and kangaroo scales in a base of absinthe distilled in London in March of 1892. The potion must be brewed in the shell of a basilisk egg at exactly 9:47 pm on a cloudy day in June, over a fire of exotic wood chopped at midnight and set alight with a flamethrower. Casual game logic at its finest. I really wish devs would start paying attention to their reviews. I've lost count of the number of times the term "cookie cutter" has been used by various reviewers to describe the games of late. But devs must believe the kind of nonsense in this game is what gamers want, because they keep trying to feed it to us. No thanks.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A DREADFUL GAME - WHAT WAS MAD HEAD THINKING? Donna is on her way to see her school friend Kathi who has contacted her with an urgent plea for help. Kathi received a plant for her birthday that has turned her house into a living nightmare and only the petals of the flower that Kathi sent with her message can save people from death. After a brief chat when you arrived Kathi is grabbed by tree roots that appear and whisk her away as she screams for your help, which is probably the most action you will see in this game. I am shocked; absolutely shocked that Mad Head would put their name on this bottom-of-the-barrel game. The first thing I noticed was the lack of lip movement when a character speaks. Yes there are voice overs but the characters stand there staring while the dialog is read. Yes, I have come to expect lip-sync in games and the lack of it shouldn’t be a deal-breaker but this is a game from a top developer who should realize that gamers have come to expect more from them. Sadly, I was so put off by the presentation of the game that I found it difficult to concentrate and stay involved. Perhaps this developer will go back to its roots and put more time and effort into creating the games that are worthy of having the Mad Head name on them. In the end I found the game so boring that I couldn’t complete the demo – something that rarely happens because I generally love HOPA games. Mad Head has created some excellent and very creative games and, IMHO, Donna Brave and the Deathly Tree is definitely not one of them. As always I recommend that you try the demo to see if this game might be one you will enjoy. We all have differing tastes in games so the Deathly Tree might be perfect for you. Unfortunately, this is not a game that I can recommend. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Giant NO! I'm not going to review the story of this game at all as others do a better job of that. I found this game to be unbelievably badly done. Thankfully, I trialed it first. It's indicative of so many other BFG offerings these days: cartoon graphics, very short game play, bad story line, and logic that is an insult to our intelligence.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If only i could... get beyond the beginning of the games of this developer. They always start with such frustrating actions that i quit before i even learn the story in detail. I do not understand, how a game can start with the absurdest actions to take instead of first getting one interested and then start to make the gameplay complicated. Thus i alreay quit, after having to get a rope to get a lantern - whereas this was to get in order to??? The main goal was to keep the carriage from getting to fall down, but i just don't get, how these actions are combined... the too many questionsmarks in my head give me such much un-pleasure of playing that i give up. Too sad, it might have a real interesting story behind all this. And this lately unfortunately happens for me with every game by this developer :-(
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why can't they come up with something new? Started playing this game and it wasn't long before I realized this was like so many other games being presented these days. Bad story line, bad graphics, lame HO's and mini games and just an overall lack of development. I have seen better Mad Head games and I have a few but not this one. You immediately start with the find this to open this to go there and find something else to go back where you just were and open another object and on and on. Completely bored me out of my wits. I kept playing the demo hoping it would improve but, alas, it didn't. Matter of fact, the game got worse. Another thing that bugs the heck out of me is when the characters talk. Like one other reviewer said, I want to see their mouths move. And what's with all these fake accents? They are almost as annoying as the no lip movement. I don't recommend this one at all unless you happen to like all the back and forth getting nowhere scenario. Don't waste your bucks or credits on this one.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Disappointment Wow -- what a huge disappointment! The first installment of Donna Brave was a great game, but oh my, this one is awful. Except for the flapper-attired cousin, none of the clothing and hairstyles fit the time period of the game. And the back and forth and back and forth fixing broken items and finding keys was quite monotonous.
Date published: 2018-01-30
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_27934, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Donna Brave: And the Deathly Tree Collector's Edition

Donna’s childhood friend is overwhelmed by a cursed tree that poisons everything it touches!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.