Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(484.38 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games, the creative minds behind Rite of Passage and Beyond proudly presents their thrilling new series: Moonsouls!

You and your nephew Isaac are excited to bring your wares to the Victory Day Festival. But your plans are interrupted when a strange vessel falls from the sky! When Isaac becomes trapped inside, it’s up to you to free him! This won’t be an easy task, as an otherworldly foe has more destructive plans in mind. Can you use new technologies and abilities to save Isaac and the world in time? Find out in this stellar hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Stop a deadly virus in the bonus game!
  • Find many collectibles and morphing items.
  • Enjoy stunning music, movies, and wallpapers.
  • Play effortlessly using the Strategy Guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 693 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(484.38 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! Madhead came through with flying colors--no pun intended! Will definitely get this game!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object game I would buy this game for sure
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly me to the moon Awesome demo. Mad Head is still on top as the best dev. Great sci-fi tale with all the bells and whistles. Got to buy this game. If you don't you lose out.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WITHOUT AN ATMOSPHERE IS AN ECHO POSSIBLE? (answer is no, an echo sound is a compression wave that requires air to travel) The future and the past have caught up with each other in Mad Head Games latest masterpiece, Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past! It seems war is inevitable for everyone everywhere, a war that divides, but not always conquers. You may have been expecting to see futuristic inventions at the Victory Day Celebration this year, but helping the victim of a crashed UFO, was probably something you could never have imagined. This alien risked everything, to deliver a dire message, "Your world is in danger, HE is coming"! Kudos to Mad Head Games! They continue to release new series games that are incredible! Nobody else seems to be moving forward, they just keep releasing one game after another, in the same old series that dates back to the beginning of the HOPA craze, and they are dreadful games at that! So for having an imagination, thank you MHG! There is a Gadget involved, however, in my opinion, it works, and is something I could envision using in a futuristic world. A device is attached to your hand by the alien, that allows you to understand and communicate in their native language. It also allows you to read, books, signs, and instructions once you arrive on their planet. In this CE version, those famous Mad Head Spirals have made another appearance, and they also offer Morphing Objects, 31 scene morphs, and 16 hop morphs. If you click on the Spiral Icon (bottom left) it shows 31 Icons that light up as you find them. It also shows the ones you may have missed and which location they were in, which I really liked. The only feature that didn't impress me, was the graphics. When I envision a futuristic planet and its inhabitants, I envision bright colors a well-defined graphics, yet they chose to use tan and gold hues, and they weren't very creative with details, in fact, they lack hardly any detail! This could have been THE sci-fi game of all time, had they chosen to be a little more creative in the graphics department! I have grown weary of most HOP's lately because they are no longer hidden objects, they are just objects thrown into a junkpile. I did, however, enjoy the HOP's in Moonsouls! In this CE version, each HOP has a Morphing Object, and this time, I'm okay with it, because they also have Morphing Objects available in each scene location! There are Interactive List items, hidden Symbols within a book, Pair finds that uncover a termite (to use as an inventory item) and my personal favorite, finding sections within the scene that matches Square Swatches. There isn't an alternate puzzle offered, within the demo. The Mini Games are super fun, although they do tend to be on the easy side of the spectrum. My favorite puzzles were the key puzzles that required replicating the pattern on the clues but in a different orientation! Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Select highlighted color-coded portals to move ball to end. 2) Stop the ball when it's in the targeted area. x2. 3) Place light orbs onto sockets to match outlines. 4) Drag a line to remove stones and fill meter before opponent 5) Place gears correctly to move freely. 6) Rotate tiles to complete the image. 7) Drag lines on a grid to replicate the pattern. This Collector's Edition version has 4 Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, 8 Music Soundtracks, 16 re-playable Hidden Object Puzzles, 11 Achievements to earn (some have 3 categories) 47 Morphing Objects (31 Scene Morphs/16 HOP Morphs) 31 hidden Spirals, 5 Main Chapters + Bonus Chapter sequel and a built in Strategy Guide, enjoy the dark side of the moon! Mad Head Games Available Moonsouls, Nevertales, Wanderlust, Adam Wolfe, Rite of Passage, Dawn of Hope, Cadenza, Shadowplay, Donna Brave, Fright Chasers, Beyond, Maze, Dark Realm, Rocking Pilot, Monster Loop
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't wait to purchase!! Beta tested this last year and have been waiting for it's debut. Just purchased without hesitation! Can't wait to get started. If you like adventure, sci-fi and any of the past greats of Mystery Case - you will love this game.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A SCI-FI LOVERS DELIGHT When I played the beta test for Moonsouls Echoes of the Past last year, I knew that this game would be something special. Of course I purchased the game immediately with no second thought or need to even try the demo. Since I was blown away by the game and because I want you to discover it for yourself, I am not going to sketch out the storyline for you. If you love a good Sci-Fi game that blends the best of both worlds, then you will want to see the story unfold as you play. At this point I want to let you know that the game might have a slow beginning but stick with it because when the demo ends things change and it is worth finding out what happens next. I actually had one of those “did that really happen” moments when the demo ended on a cliffhanger so you will want to see what happens next. Everything about Moonsouls is exactly what I want in a game with gameplay and a storyline that held my attention, excellent HOPS and fun puzzles to solve. I think you should consider the CE release of the game particularly if you love finding collectibles and morphing objects. Yes, I know that many of you are tired of collecting the same Mad Head logo but I found many of them quite difficult to spot. In a departure from the norm for this developer, you will find morphing objects located throughout the game and not only in the HOP scenes. The HOPS are very good although I did find a couple of them to be overly crowded with junk but even that didn’t change my mind about my enthusiasm for the game. After the demo there is a HOP scene that I consider to be one of the most creative I have ever seen and I loved it. Although the puzzles were good (and some were great) I did skip of few of them such as the one where I needed to avoid objects coming at me. I loved the puzzles that were more mental in type along with others that required moving objects through a maze. The CE version of the game includes morphing objects and Mad Head’s favorite collectible logo to find located throughout the game. There are 23 achievements to earn as you play the game. Other extras include 12 Wallpapers, 17 Concept Art, 8 Music Tracks, and an HO gallery that allows you to replay 16 HOPS but there is no option included to replay the Puzzles which is a bit disappointing. There is a Bonus Chapter and a 39-page Strategy Guide. In the end I loved this game and now I am going to look forward to another game in the Moonsouls series. In closing, my hope is that more developers will offer good Sci-Fi games and get us out of the evil demon rut that seems to have been hanging around at BFG way too long. Thank you Mad Head for creating such a wonderful game because for the first time in ages, I actually played the entire game while only stopping to stretch my limbs once in a while. As always, I recommend that you try the demo to see if you will enjoy Moonsouls Echoes of the Past as much as I did. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mad for Mad Head! This is a great new series from Mad Head games, which is one of my favourite developers. From the start you are immersed into a sci-fi inspired world where normal life collides with the extraordinary. The graphics are stunning as well as the voice acting and cut scenes. There are collectibles and morphing objects to find with plenty to do in each scene without having to go back and forth in frustration. The mini games are on the simple side but as I was dropped on my head as a child simplicity is alright by me. I'm greatly impressed by this imaginative storyline and I'm already excited to see what comes next in this new series!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BLAST OFF INTO A NEW SCI-FI SERIES FROM MAD HEAD GAMES REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE MAIN GAME: 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter - Strategy Guide: 40 Pages -Time: 4 Hours OVERVIEW/BACKGROUND: Get prepared for an out-of-this-world experience in a new sci-fi series from Mad Head Games. Enter a planetary system with two moons. Play Uncle Arthur, inventor of gadgets and gizmos on this planet. While on your way to a Victory Day celebration on the planet Priora, your nephew, Isaac, discovers a UFO which crash landed in the woods. When he disappears into the UFO, you are off to rescue him. The discovery of this UFO will see you blast off into a world of adventure and intrigue for both you and your nephew. Battle some interplanetary evildoers, lurking in the background out to conquer your planetary system. Can you rescue your nephew and save your planetary system? OPINION: Sci-fi meets the Renaissance Faire along with a few pirates thrown into the mix as well. This is a great game for sci-fi aficionados, adventure game lovers, those who love fantasy games, and ‘tweens.’ It is an easy breezy game with most puzzles on the easy side with only a few which I would consider moderately difficult. Some might find some of the puzzles a tad too easy. The HOP scenes are standard fare seen in most games. I found none containing what I call the “wow” factor. Yet, the story behind this game and those stellar graphics make this an enjoyable game for sci-fi lovers! The graphics encapsulate both the high-tech alien landscape of the space colony and “ye olde” Medieval environment of the planet Priora. “Star Wars” is alluded to within this game from the evil empire to the use of “light spears.” This is a fast-paced game with plenty of activities to keep you busy. This was an automatic purchase for me. MECHANICS: • Game Helper: Hand augmentation device (bracelet) which allows you to understand the alien language and gives you power to fight off evildoers • Replay sixteen (16) HOP scenes (I wish Mad Head would allow for the replay of puzzles as well) • Achievements: Eleven (11) (Some with three (3) parts). • Collectibles: Thirty-one (31) swirls and thirty-one (31) morphing objects (some in HOP scenes). Same collectibles as in all their games. • Four (4) wallpapers plus music selections and concept art. BONUS CHAPTER: The bonus chapter is a sequel. Nephew Isaac has decided to study at a university on one of the Moons learning new technology not available on Priora. However, evildoers out for revenge may foil some of his plans. I have not played the entire bonus chapter, but the quality appears to be consistent with the main game. HOP SCENES: There are fourteen (14) HOP scenes in the main game. There are probably at least two more in the bonus chapter. There are a few mini-HOP scenes within the game as well. These mini-games include searching for pieces of inventory items or searching for a small number of items within a scene. Generally, I was not impressed with the scenes. Most of them consist of silhouette scenes, list of items, or matching scenes. There are some which are interactive; however, most are simplistic searches for items. The only one I thought creative was a panorama one which involves switching between two scenes to locate symbols on two ravens. PUZZLES: There are twenty-six (26) puzzles within the main game. I felt the puzzles were better in the demo than in the main game. Some of these I would not even consider puzzles. There are several “puzzles” which only consist of entering a given code for a lock or device. To me, this is NOT a puzzle. However, Mad Head did include a few moderately difficult puzzles which I did enjoy. I would consider this game a mixture in both the variety of puzzles and difficulty as well. However, generally, the puzzles tend toward the easier end of the spectrum. SPOILER: HERE ARE A SAMPLING OF PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Ship Ahoy! Map puzzle. Create a path for a ship to follow by landing on spaces with one of three (3) images upon them. However, you cannot land at the end of the path until you have exactly five (5) of each of the three images. B. Alien Technology. Physics/Mathematical puzzle. Fill three bowls with liquid within a contraption with pipes and valves. Open the valves and fill the bowls according to the amount posted next to each bowl. C. A-maze-ing! Maze puzzle. Navigate a maze. Collect items as you traverse through the maze. They will need to be collected and used to get through the maze. D. Claustrophobic? Surround puzzle. Move five (5) marbles to enclose a red marble by rotating the marbles until they completely encapsulate the red marble. E. I see stars from this knock-out! Avoid those asteroids! Using arrows, avoid asteroids in your path. F. Bullseye! Center two sets of sliders to knock out a raven. 2X G. Beat the computer! Skipping Stones puzzle. In this case, they are tokens. Play against the computer. Connect more like-colored tokens than the computer (who is the evildoer) in this game. H. A checkered past. Matching. Fill in squares on a checkers -like board so it matches a given diagram.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saving the world(s) One world is not enough. We will start our journey on this planet but come to know others. In the end we may succeed in uniting apart worlds by overcoming evil plans and bring those, misusing their power, to justice. We will play as Harold, an open minded tinkerer of medieval times on earth. The introscene shows the interior of a space shuttle, a single woman at the controls, in front of the screen on which we see Blacksands, the commander, who condemns her, Elonian, for ‘turning against her own’. The controls to her shuttle are cut. Back on earth: We and Isaac, our nephew,are on our way to the Victoria Day Festival. Isaac has created a flying machine, a first ‘aircraft’, which we want to sell at the fair. Then the sky changes. At the forest, we see the crashed shuttle. Isaac is curious and after touching it, he vanishes inside. Behind a bush we see a hand and find Elonian. With a special glove we can communicate. Elonian put it over our hand with the words ‘it translates our technology for us’. She warns of great danger for our world, then vanishes. The glove can do more: it produces her projection and is now our helping hand. And we will need it, as things get out of control soon. In the shuttle finally, we find Isaac unconscious in a closed hatch, the little aircraft combines forces with the alien technology and takes off to town. Having caught it and back in the shuttle, the hatches shut and we are unvoluntarily transported to the moon. Isaac, still unconscious, is carried into an building and shall be subject to experiments. But we succeed in freeing him, escape to the shuttle and restart it. But there is no safe return to earth. An adventurous part of our journey only begins…. A great adventure in which not only the middle ages meet a futuristic world but at the same time a tale of good and evil where the perpetrators are brought to justice in the end. HOS and puzzles are entertaining, challenging and creative in a fast paced game. A big plus. We don’t have to perform actions in too small steps. Mostly we have a tool, when needed and may go on, so an overcoming of obstacles and keeping up the thrill of the story go hand In hand.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pirates and SF???? This game starts off as hard SF, but soon all chaos is breaking loose. The story was all over the place from buccaneers and pirating to SF take over the world baddies. But somehow I kept playing, and ended up enjoying the game. They did allow you to pick up whichever morphing object or sigil you missed, which is always a plus. And the bonus story was much more straightforward and cohesive, and with the extras was worth it as a CE. I will enjoy playing this game a second time, now that I (sort of) know what is going on.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The moon is a beautiful place Just finished Moonsouls and it was beautiful! Enjoyed it a lot more than Wanderlust, that's for sure. The story was good and the graphics were amazing, as always with Mad Head. The bonus game isn't necessary, seeing as the main game is complete, but it is a sequel and was still a good game. There are morphing objects and symbols (Mad Head's one, as usual) to find in every scenes and morphing objects to find in HOS. All in all, it was a really good game to play with beautiful sceneries.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This game will appeal to the Sci Fi fans I think :) Based on completed demo In each scene there is a morphing spiral, a regular spiral to find and one in each of the HOS so an upgrade from prior games and I was happy to see the morphs outside of the HOS. I felt some scenes were clearer than others but huge points for the fact that each of the scenes looked different from the last in that the sun is shining in some and a different colors were being used. I tend to prefer actual cut scenes to the split screening MH has been using lately. I also wish we'd had a notebook to follow the story better. I also loved how from afar, the characters looked almost like live actors. Our character has a voice actor (a great one) and you connect to the game more because of that. I also loved the 3rd HOS into the demo where you have a thumbnail of an area/part of an item and you need to find it that way. Believe it or not, one of my favorite things about this game is the "Options Menu". This DEV has a check box to remove the actual game sounds effects and that allows you to still hear the environment ambiance. I play so many of these games that game effect sounds can make or break a game for me now as to whether or not I will purchase it. If you like this demo: Try the "Beyond" series by MHG, especially : Beyond: Light Advent CE..... Several years later and that is still one of my very favorite casual games I've ever played.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ahoy There! Moon People! Some games require more suspension of disbelief than others. Some of those just don't work. This one did. Yes, it's a little out there regarding plot, but after all, if your planet was invaded by mutagen-slinging, werewolf-making Moon People, isn't the first thing you'd think of to go find a pirate ship? Well, I certainly would. Pros: Excellent graphics after a shaky start, very good voice acting, great puzzles. Interesting otherworldly gadgetry and scenes. Good game length, bonus game that seemed too short because it was a very good game in itself. Cons: Silliness, but it didn't take itself too seriously. I'd have liked a few more details on the villains, who didn't really seem to have much personality of their own. In fact, I'd have opted for a little more plot altogether because what we got was a load of fun. Some of the dialogue was a bit stiff but it was in the spirit of the old Flash Gordon serials so I'd give that a pass. It's a fairly straightforward uncle-to-the-rescue game underneath the wild pre-technological society versus advanced one trappings. Art was gorgeous, music atmospheric, and it seems to have broken the drought of sci-fi games we've been in lately. I really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it but didn't love it I always enjoy trying out the first game in a new series from Mad Head and this was no exception. The fact that it seemed to have sci-fi elements similar to their Beyond series gave it an added appeal. I did enjoy the game; for me it was a good game but not a great one. I thought that some of the environments could have been more interesting than they were and I did not find the plot all that exciting. It did while away the time pleasantly, though, and I was moderately entertained, so I will give it four stars.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from another OK game from MadHead I am a bit late to the gathering insofar as reviews go so I'll make this rather short and somewhat sweet. Originality: not much as this is yet another story wherein an earthling ( Isaac ) is abducted by alien forces and in this case he must be rescued by Uncle Harold and of course the bad guys need defeating. Game Play: not much new here either as all of the HO segments and puzzles are oft seen offerings. There are collectible Mad Head symbols and morphs to gather. I am not too keen on the sci-fi games so I won't be buying this game. For those players who relish the genre Moonsouls is better than lots previously released. In reading the title I originally thought this game might be another of the great Echoes of the Past developed by Orneon. It has been way too long since we have been afforded another of those echoes.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i always knew they was an alien base on the moon holy buck rogers good game enjoyed playing it need to see more games about space and under the ocean
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Dark Creatures Thank you for a game that is not filled with darkness from ghosts, ghouls and dark matter. It is a relief to okay a game that is more on the normal side of the spectrum. Just played demo and so far no issues.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Quite Over the Moon - Extras and Bonus If you expect a science fiction game with space ships and moon landing, you will be disappointed. Although advanced technology as holographic communication, sensors, laser and card readers are used, the setting reminds more of Jugendstil from the fin de siècle than of the future. We are not even sure on what planet we start out. We travel by cart, there are trees, a frigate under sails; it looks like a medieval earth. But the sky shows TWO moons - and one is as big as Jupiter which seems about to collide with our planet any minute. It doesn't; however a flying saucer does and crashes right before our nose. Before we can stop him, the impetuous nephew in our care disappears into the alien ship … It's colourful, it's fun to play, but the story is vague and not really comprehensible. About some people who fled to the moon (which moon?) a long time ago and call themselves Moonsouls. Now they want to destroy the earth (or is it Prioria?) for what reason ever. It doesn't help that every planet we visit looks alike, has water, plants and an atmosphere like earth. I also never had a "futuristic" feeling. No scientific space labs, instead steam-punk gadgets and art deco palaces, floors of pink marble with gold etching ... as if we would dive into a long forgotten, romantic culture like the mystical Atlantis. The music too is on the romantic side and has nothing in common with future sounds or moon tonality. However not bad - if only the loops were longer; the constant repetition becomes grueling. I was slightly disenchanted of the HOPs. Many are (artfully arranged) junk piles or messy cubby holes. We play them twice, however the items we picked up the first time are there again in the second round. The same items appear in different HOPs. Many HOPs consist of rune finding, some on crude sketches. It appears all a bit careless and recycled. E.g. they reuse a labyrinth from Dark Realm, Guardian of Flame, and didn't even bother to alter it: it's exactly the same design and requires the same moves. I hate it when there is not enough time to work out the details, when devs are forced to release unfinished games. This one feels like a rushed thing. It's also rather short, the bonus play lasts about 40 minutes. EXTRAS: - Walkthrough: main game 27 pages (24 scenes), bonus 7 pages (7 scenes) - 16 Wallpapers - 20 Concept Art: raw sketches with a slider to turn them into the finished version - 8 Soundtracks of the wrong genre - 11 Achievements – great, none are game related! - replay 16 HOPs and win stars for accuracy and time. Each HOP contains a morphing object. - 62 Collectibles: the same old edgy spirals plus a morphing object in each scene. At the end we can go back for missed items. Once the collection is complete, we may continue with the pretty boring Treasure Hunt (visit each scene again and pick up random stuff like a spring, pot, bread, crystal, etc.) Eventually we have access to the Ultimate HOP, which can be repeated, and we can win stars for time and accuracy. The BONUS chapter is a sequel and takes place some years later. We play as nephew Isaac who since the peace treaty is able to attend university on moon. Our classmate Gwen, a Moonsoul, is abducted by Tal, one of Blacksands' punks who looks like his clone, including the ridiculous hairdo. There are sinister plans to synthesize a dangerous virus. Tal calls us “human scum”, thus I'm suddenly precarious about Prioria. Maybe we ARE humans after all. Anyway, all ends well ... we merely are not sure what just happened or whether this story is simply a bit moonstruck.
Date published: 2018-06-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So disappointed in Mad Head again. I bought this game after playing the demo because it seemed like it was going to be unique. It went down hill fast. Every scene started looking the same, I got so bored, I started hitting the hint button just to get through the game. Graphics were just ok to me, not as realistic as Mad Head used to produce like the first Cadenza and Nevertales, Beauty Within. those were the best. Unless Mad Head brings back that quality of a game, I'm just about done buying any more games from this developer.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a moon what? This game's plot is unclear and the direction in which it flows is not well defined. First, it starts off with what appears to be a toy flying robot, and then later goes to a spaceship, and then goes to a moon that does not look like a moon. Spoiler alert: when you find the boy you are looking for, he turns into a werewolf. Sheesh! Makes no sense. Trial ends at this point and who cares?
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slightly misleading title This is a typical and good Mad Head game, but it has nothing to do with the great game series "Echoes of the past" from Orneon. Neither the game play nore the music.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does Anybody Think Games Through? Uncle Harold and nephew Isaac are traveling to a festival in the local village. They hope to sell some small inventions. Already fireworks are lighting up the sky ahead. Suddenly a ball of fire streaks down into the nearby woods. At the same time a small toy space ship of Isaac's making, just repaired by Harold, takes off in the direction of the crash. Isaac runs to catch it. But another ball of fire crashes near the wagon and Uncle Harold has both frightened horses and a fire to bring under control, before he can chase after Isaac. Good news: Some imagination has gone into the sci-fi story for this game. The artwork is well done. There are several types of HOPs and mini-games. There are more characters than we usually see in a demo and a good set up of the story. There will be collectible swirls in scenes and a morphing object in HOPs. We play as Uncle Harold, who acquires a special hand/wrist piece from the alien in the aircraft that crashed. This bit of technology will enable Harold to understand some of the technology and writing he will soon see. Bad news: Just when you thought there would not be another game starting with a vehicle crash, it appears. Then the ubiquitous bee smoker will put in a distressingly early appearance. It seems that no matter what the subject may be, the Devs can slip a crash and a smoker into the story. This time you not only get to load that smoker with flammable bits, you get to find the steel and flint, each separately, so you can light it. As for the story, it had potential. However, between the overly heavy dose of bad guy with stiff neck and the inattention to detail, you may well find yourself with less enthusiasm than you expected. For instance: Every structure or vehicle from Uncle Harold's horse drawn caravan wagon to the science building on the second moon will be like a Dr. Who tardis - structure will be significantly altered from what you'd expect after seeing the outside. The inside will be bigger and taller and you will wonder why this flight of fancy in the artwork. As for basic logic, not to worry. That is also twisted into something else, something not particularly attractive. So you will see a technology-impaired Harold repair a space ship and initiate a rescue on another world. Then there is uber bad guy, Blacksands, who locks up his evil weapon experiment with a lock that the yokel can open within a few minutes of landing. Bottom line: Just having a story in a less used genre does not ensure that the game will be a shining success. In this case I intend to check back on the SE when it arrives. Perhaps the sour taste of this demo will have faded.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mad Head Games I'm ambivalent about this game. The premise is very interesting, but, the game play seems stilted and many unnecessary tasks to perform. A great deal of the to and fro I dislike is present. Make up your own mind about this after you play the trial.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not So Good, Not So Bad, Just So-So Based on the Demo The characters were very unique. The graphics were bright, clear, and well drawn. The scenes were very well done. The music was very nicely done. Voice overs were excellent with some of the voices being very unique. Some of the mini puzzles were pretty challenging. The hidden object scenes included morphing objects, mini-puzzles, and fragmented objects. There were morphing objects and collectibles in every scene. I didn't like the story line. It was too discombobulated for me. It was all over the map and I just couldn't enjoy the game, even with all the good things going for it. It was a no-buy for me.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Instant frustration Too frustrating. I had to use non stop hints in the first two areas. Too much different language to deal with. Click places are so hard to click. I keep clicking, but nothing happens. You have to hit that exact spot before you can go anywhere. The horses were non stop whinnying so that I had to turn the sound off while trying to get the pump made. Putting together the parts is hard, because they don't stick. The crossbow took me multiple tries. The parts kept jumping back to the items list, as did the pump parts. After 30 minutes of frustration, I gave up. I'll move the game aside, but it's doubtful I'll ever finish it. I honestly don't see how this had a decent rating at all.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from When you can't figure out what to do with something... Maybe it's just me, but I hate games where you have to run back and forth from scene to scene to find things to get tasks done. When I couldn't figure out what to do about the strange woman, I quit the demo. I wish there were more games like the Vacation Adventures game. Love those.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game appears to have been cobbled together with random spare parts. My current library includes 634 computer games dating from 1980 through today. I'm most interested in a well-developed storyline and challenging gameplay. —————————— QUICK & DIRTY OVERVIEW Having been a science fiction fan since I was a kid, I hoped for a fantastic story and challenging gameplay…and was disappointed. The plot was a patchwork of unrelated elements, fractured and contrived. Exploration included the usual clichés and shaped keys. The puzzles were simplistic and the HO scenes mostly unimaginative (with a couple exceptions). Production was inconsistent, and it's not CE-worthy. —————————— STORYLINE Harold, a medieval inventor, and his nephew Isaac are headed to the Victory Day Festival to sell their inventions when a spaceship crash lands near them. (Obligatory vehicle crash scenario…covered.) Isaac disappears into the ship and is trapped. (Relative in trouble scenario…covered.) The alien pilot (who appeared to be 100% human) fits Harold with a translation device. (Gimmicky gadget filler that takes the place of actual gameplay…covered.) Harold has no difficulty repairing and flying the spaceship to the Moon. Perhaps he took a correspondence course in futuristic alien technology. The Moon…wait for it…has an atmosphere, which is fortunate for the complex civilization that lives there. The alien ruler, Blacksands, apparently wants to take over Earth. (What is it with HOPA bad guys? They either want to rule everything or are seeking immortality.) I strongly suggest that Madhead actually read some science fiction before their next SF series. —————————— GAMEPLAY During exploration, I smoked out bees, extinguished a fire, found an item sewn into a cushion, repaired countless broken devices, found and used shaped keys, and did quite a lot of "just click through the story" type of gameplay. (Find fragments of an item, click on them in the inventory panel, then click again and watch them magically fly together into one piece. This isn't gameplay; it's a filler.) HO scenes included Madhead's usual list which unlocks panels hiding items to use in the scene, symbols in a storybook, zoom box scene, matching pairs hiding smaller items, etc. The two more creative scenes: a pictorial list between two locations, and an array of pictures to match to the scene. More like these last two would have been better. Puzzles were mostly familiar and ridiculously easy. The usual timing test where you click when the moving ball crosses the target zone. Match-3+. Place the gears. Rotate the pipe segments. Choose the correct symbol fragments. Two 4-piece jigsaw puzzles. (I'm waiting with bated breath for devs to reduce puzzles to a series of 2-piece jigsaws…shouldn't be long now.) Matching pairs. There were only three that were interesting and moderately challenging: • Guide a ball in and out of matching colored portals to reach the exit. • Place light orbs correctly, based on the patterns of lines they generate. • Click/drag to draw lines between circles, matching the given pattern (3 levels). The playing grid is oriented differently from the clue, which presents a bit of a challenge. —————————— PRODUCTION Production was a mixed bag. I found the graphics inconsistent. The backgrounds were quite beautiful, fanciful, and detailed. The characters varied from extremely realistic to cartoonish, and they were animated poorly. (I nearly fell off my chair laughing when Blacksands and his minion hopped across a room like stick puppets. It pretty much neutered their evil.) Music wasn't bad…a mix of thematic and ambient pieces with a lot of "otherworldly" sound effects. Voiceovers were decent. —————————— CE BLING The CE bling was sparse: Gameplay: bonus chapter, 16 HO scenes Collectibles: the Madhead spiral (again!!!), morphs both in-game and in the HO scenes Portfolio: 4 wallpapers, 8 soundtracks, unknown number of concept art Other: strategy guide, 11 achievements with 3 levels each (At the risk of repeating myself, the ability to replay ALL puzzles and ALL HO scenes should be standard for CEs.) —————————— SHORT & SWEET CONCLUSION Since the storyline was a disconnected combination of medieval town, futuristic Moon civilization, and monster on the loose, I failed to become immersed. Overwhelmingly, the gameplay was too easy. Altogether, this game made no sense to this lifelong science fiction fan, so I can't recommend it. YMMV, of course. IDIC.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I just finished playing this game and the story started out fine even though it wasn't very realistic. A kid in medieval times invents a flying toy? This long before the Wright brothers? Then the kids uncle knows how to fix an alien space ship. The Uncle manages to get to the alien planet and then can figure out how to do all these technical things on an alien world. Really? The game goes downhill in my opinion after that. The graphics are beautiful and wonderfully done but the story line is silly and very unrealistic. I can't comment on the music since I turn it off. I listen to interviews on YouTube while I play. I did expect more from this game since I love the medieval themes and sci-fi as well. I thought this game would be right up my alley but it was just too silly. That's not the worst part though. I found the morphing objects a waste of time and the HOPS were pretty bad IMO. The mini games were way to easy in some places and others I couldn't figure out what was wanted. The mini game info was almost useless in some cases. I had not played any of these kinds of games for a few years and I expected them to have gotten way better. Seems it's the opposite. Graphics have improved greatly but the story line , HOPS and mini games sucked. It seems, at least with this game, that the creators were off to a roaring start and about half way through they got fed up and just didn't put the effort in. There's a part in the story where the characters are on an old run down medieval ship and they get to a city where they have to get through a huge wall. The solution the creators came up with was to have a big hook come over the wall hook onto one side of the ship and then lift the ship over the wall. Now that's just a bit much. That is beyond silly. It's an OK game if you just want to play a game but it's far from being worth the price. I'm just glad I used one of my free coupons for this one. I'd have been upset had I paid for it.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from no soul could fix this fire Very disappointed with this game. There were too many ideas some good some bad and they didn't come together.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was Disappointed Based on the trial. I like Sci-Fy and I was so hopeful. I Loved the Beyond series from this maker. Especially Light Advent. I didn't like the puzzles. I liked learning more of the story but I didn't like the storybook Hops, I didn't like the texture Hops. I was hoping to see neat creatures. Since I didn't play the full game, I guess it could get better, but you would think they would make you happy in the trial and I wasn't.
Date published: 2018-03-29
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_27997, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Moonsouls: Echoes of the Past Collector's Edition

Can you confront an otherworldly foe and save your nephew?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.