Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(346.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Mariaglorum Company brings you a chilling new case in Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger!

When a police station is attacked, you're called in to help investigate. Things take an unexpected turn when the clues point to an ancient dagger and the spectre that wields it! With such a dangerous foe, and countless families in danger, can you uncover the fiend’s origins and save the day? Find out in this spine-tingling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“An excellent game! Plenty of puzzles and innovative hidden object puzzles. Graphics are superb, HOPs are clear and not the usual shades of grey and lilac.”  - Sofia, beta tester

“Wow! Unusual, challenging puzzles, intriguing storyline, great graphics and voiceover sync. This game has everything.”  - Nick, beta tester


  • Defeat a persistent enemy in the bonus chapter!
  • Consult the helpful strategy guide.
  • Search each location for hidden collectibles!
  • Enjoy exclusive music, wallpapers, concept art, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 736 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(346.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS GAME HAS SO MANY PUZZLES! THE HOP'S HAVE PUZZLES, THE ACHIEVEMENTS HAVE PUZZLES, EVEN THE PUZZLES HAVE PUZZLES! The enemy has breached the castle gates, as they stand at the threshold, they make their demands. "You can't hide in the castle forever, your armies are defeated, and your black magic is useless, we've won, surrender!" The King had no intention of surrendering, and his black magic is anything but useless, in fact, what he does next, may very well, punish the townspeople for generations to come! Sure, this story has been done before, but I gotta give Mariaglorum credit for putting a fresh perspective aspect to an age old storyline. The graphics for the most part are fantastic, but at times, seem cartoonish within zoom zones or Hidden Object Scenes. But the one thing that stands out in this game, are the abundance of Mini Game Puzzles, not just small easy puzzles, but multi-layered puzzles, puzzles that are creative and FUN! I also fell in love with the fact that this game starts out in Medieval Times, but fast forwards into modern times. In this Collector's Edition version, there are 23 Hidden Crowns to search for, and 8 Character Figurines to Collect. One feature I've always liked, that's offered by this dev, is that you can refer to the Collections Icon, and see exactly where you missed finding a collectible, because the missing collectible spot glows and tells you which scene the missing collectible is located in. I also like the unique Achievement they always offer, of answering simple questions about the game, to see if you're paying attention to details. The Hidden Object Scenes themselves aren't that special, but they are highly interactive. What does make them special, is the fact that they have included Mini Games, the keyword here being Game(s) Which I will list in the next paragraph. As I said earlier, I felt like the graphics could have been less cartoonish within the HOP's and Zoom Zones. The Mini Games, well, quite frankly, I had a blast, this game is a Puzzle Geeks dream come true! There are so many puzzles in this game, so if you're not into a game heavy on the puzzle side, you may want to sit this game out. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Click on tumbler wheels to match symbols shown on the clue, that automatically posts above the lock. (I do miss the good ole days of having to remember clues or refer to your journal!) 2) Sift through several keys to find the key that matches the image on the clue. 3) A three part super puzzle #1: Move the wires by adjusting various sliders so that none of the wires intersect. 4) #2:Select and drag two colored switches to the tiles of partial symbols so that the two images combined, match the colored symbol shown. 5) #3: Reassemble the image by swapping square puzzle tiles. 6) HOP puzzle: Align the radio waves, by adjusting a slider bar and two different adjustment knobs. 7) Assemble torn picture fragments to complete the image. 8) Use directional arrows on the GPS map to locate the correct destination. 9) Guide the raccoon through the dimly lit maze, to find two fuzes. 10) Create paths between matching colored locks by drawing a line between each lock without crossing paths. This Collector's Edition version has 18 Wallpapers, 30 Concept Art pictures, 8 Music Soundtracks, 6 Movie Videos, 7 Achievements to earn in 3 different categories, (including an achievement for answering simple game questions) Jigsaw Puzzle to assemble, 23 Hidden Crowns, 8 Collectible Character figurines, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy! MYSTERY OF THE ANCIENTS GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Lockwood Manor (September 22-2011) 4.2 2-Curse of the Black Water (November 1-2012) 4.5 3-Three Guardians (January 30-2014) 4.5 4-Deadly Cold (February 5-2015) 4.1 5-Mud Water Creek (April 14-2016) 4.2 6-The Sealed And Forgotten (March 2-2017) 4.0 7-Black Dagger (February 15-2018) n/a by: Mariaglorum Company Mariaglorum Games Available Mystery of the Ancients/League of Light/Kate Arrow/Bonfire Stories
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game ! Played the demo and it is a must have for me. The best game I played in a long time. There are heaps of puzzles to solve, the story line is captivating and the artwork is beautifully done. A game is not only for experienced players , beginners will love it as well . Try it , I'm buying it right now !
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I loved this game. Everything about this was the best I have played in a while, and I play all the time. It was different,I can"t say it enough it's a great game.I hope others enjoy it as much as I did...
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOLVE THE MYSTERY OF THE BLACK DAGGER AND WHY IT IS SO POWERFUL There has been an attack at the local police station and Detective Duncan has called on you for assistance because of your renown in solving supernatural crimes. When you arrive at the scene everything is in shambles and several officers reported that the attacker had superhuman strength and speed, so Duncan thinks that you might be the right person to solve this case. I enjoy the graphics from Mariaglorum, and many of my favorite games come from their development team. In the Black Dagger the graphics are realistic and colorful so I am happy. The voiceovers and sound package in general are excellent as well and suit the game perfectly. Another think I enjoy in this game is the true custom setting where I can make my hint and skip times as low or as high as I want. I happen to be a bit impatient so being able to set a very low time suits me perfectly. There are some absolutely terrific HOPS early in the game at least and I think my favorite is one that has several mini puzzles included. The HOPS are very creative and it looks like all of them are interactive including the list style. The regular Puzzles are excellent, although some might think they are easy. Even though the puzzles might seem easy there were some that I found challenging. I do enjoy puzzles but sometimes I don’t particularly care for the motion type where we must trace lines with our mouse or toggle this n’ that to open something or another. This game doesn’t seem to have too many of that type of puzzle – thankfully, at least in the game’s demo. The CE version of the game includes 8 Character Statuettes and 23 Crowns to find. There are also the ever present achievements to earn. The other extras are 18 Wallpapers, 30 Concept Art, Music, 8 Videos, a Bonus Chapter and a 40-page Strategy Guide. The downfall in the CE is that it doesn’t look like there are morphing objects nor can we replay the HOPS or Puzzles. Although the game has an evil entity I love the modern day mystery concept so it isn’t quite as bad. I have said before that I definitely would like to get away from the evil being theme that seems to permeate the game world but I wonder if that will ever happen. Lately we have had a few games that are strictly crime solving games and I have found them quite refreshing. Why can’t we have great mysteries like the old Agatha Christy games instead of some dark entity seeking to wreak havoc on some unsuspecting souls? That being said I love this game in spite of the ancient evil character mostly because of the gameplay and the interesting storyline. Having very creative HOPS and then Puzzles increase my enjoyment as I follow the mystery behind the Black Dagger. Mariaglorum creates some awesome games such as the League of Light series and Bonfire Stories that I highly recommend. After playing the beta for the game some months ago I have been eagerly awaiting the full release of the CE. Even though I purchased the game as soon as it was released, I always recommend that you try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A thilling tour into the dark side of the past In ancient days, a ruler, who came to power by black magic, escaped his dethronement and death by the hands of his revolting subjects, by suicide. He stabbed himself with a black dagger.....But did he die? Present day, a police station. Duncan, a police detective has called us in. He is at the scene and reports, the station has been attacked by a man with supernatural strength and speed. One officer was killed, the station is devastated. We play as investigator, specialized in cases, where the supernatural plays a role. It is important to find out, what exactly happened and who the attacker was. The station is furnished with cameras, so we are able to watch the video footage on the attack. After breaking into the station and stabbing one of the officers, the strange man is not alone, a dark shadow appears and they communicate, then vanish. The man is unknown, but Duncan recognizes the dagger. It has played a role in another crime 15 years ago and was later stolen from the evidence. This weapon was originally part of a collection of medieval artifacts. A secret surrounds this dagger, with it the life of the man who is stabbed to death seems to be sucked in. We need to know more. The collector, who originally owned the dagger, lives nearby and should know more about it. So we are off to Garold’s Mansion. Here it becomes even clearer, behind this is a supernatural force, which tries to block us from entering the mansion. Inside a fight is going on, the mysterious villain from the station is here and feriously attacking a man. The collector? We manage to overcome the attacker but the man, John, could only utter some words before he is stabbed from behind by the resurrected assailant. The dagger again sucks in the dead man’s life force. But he gave us his diary - the magician was fought in his time and the descendants of those, who did it then, are in great danger now. …… The Black Dagger is a fast paced thrilling game on a dark magician, who escaped death centuries ago by killing himself with the dagger. With the weapon as a means in the hands of one of his servants, he regains his life, every killed man returns his life force. Puzzles and HOS are varied and entertaining, not too challenging but this is not a contra. The plot unfolds quickly and doesn’t let go . So an overall successful performance in the series.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Game I love the Games from this Dev. Interesting Hops and Minigames and especially: execellent Graphics. I can not stop playing. This is another amazing Mystery of the andient.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GET BATTLE READY TO TAKE ON AN EVILDOER LURKING BEHIND “THE SHADOWS” REVIEW BASED ON ENTIRE GAME 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 40 Pages OVERVIEW: Battle up Detective! You are off on another case involving the supernatural! Get battle ready to take on the Dark Lord in an action-packed game! An evildoer is helping the Dark Lord to enter the real world and regain his power for nefarious ends. A dagger is behind all the calamities, being wielded by shadow being from another dimension. Now you must find the generational links and shift back-and-forth between the past and the dark dimensions to locate the artifacts to battle this dark entity out to conquer the world. You will get some help along the way with the ancestors who first destroyed this monster and, of course, the ever-so-handsome Detective Duncan! MECHANICS: This is an action-packed game with plenty of activities to keep the player busy! I almost did not purchase this game; however, I am glad I did. For me, the demo does not do justice to this game – it is much better AFTER THE DEMO! For me, the pièce de résistance are the three (3) Rube Goldberg puzzles. Although it is a puzzle-intense game, the true ingenuity within this game rests in the HOP scenes. This is a great game for those who like supernatural detective stories or those who like action games. There are quite a few battle scenes fought with some type of puzzle. The graphics are decent, but I did find some scenes somewhat grainy and blurry. You collect eight (8) characters from the game and twenty-three (23) crowns. Most of these are easy to locate There are not many achievements; however, six of them have three parts. There are eighteen (18) wallpapers, which is more than I have seen from any other game! You do not replay either HOP scenes or puzzles; however, in this case, I feel the HOP scenes in this game do not lend themselves to replay and the puzzles are too easy to merit replay. BONUS GAME: The bonus game is a sequel to the main game. Follow the Dark King’s son as he tries to destroy everything associated with his father. This may not be as easy as it may appear! This Daddy Dearest is in no mood to put up with his son trying to destroy all he holds dear. HOP SCENES: The HOP scenes are the BEST part of the game. This game provides some of the best interactive and creative scenes HOP scenes I have seen in quite some time. There are ten (10) HOP scenes within the main game. That does not seem like many; however, the scenes require a great deal of interaction and some have mini-puzzles within them. One of the scenes has two (2) mini-puzzles within the scene. All the scenes are interactive. Most are search and replacement scenes in which you must search for an item and then return it to the scene. Many are storybook scenes and in most you will need to locate more than one item for each item listed. PUZZLES: There are nineteen (19) puzzles within the main game. However, three of those are Rube Goldberg puzzles which include up to four or five mini-puzzles within a larger puzzle format. The puzzles are ones seen before in other games. Some of the puzzles are also included within the HOP scenes. The puzzles vary in style and difficulty. However, I did not find one which was even slightly difficult. Most of the puzzles are easy, extremely easy. Here is a sampling of puzzles AFTER THE DEMO: SPOILERS: DO NOT CONTINUE UNLESS YOU WISH TO SEE SOME OF THE PUZZLES OFFERED AFTER THE DEMO: A. Ye Ole Book puzzle! Sequence puzzle. Place books in sequence to uncover a design on the spines. B. Battle up! Rube Goldberg puzzle. (1) Match up runes to knock out a zombie baddie (2) Connection puzzle. Connect points on a figure to trace it without retracing your steps. (3) Jigsaw puzzle. Put pieces into place to create an image. C. Lock them up! Switch puzzle. Switch tumblers on the top and bottom of a lock so they mesh. D. Bullseye! Fight the Shadows by aligning one to three lines so they intersect in the middle of a central point. Increases in difficulty. 3X E. You just “runed” my day! Simon Says puzzle. Defeat 3 dark knights. Battle the evil knights by repeating the sequence of displayed runes. 3X Increases in difficulty F. Match me up buttercup! Match-3 Game. Match up 3 or more stones to remove them. You must remove enough of them to light up two bars. You are limited on the turns you have. G. Build a bridge, not a wall! Tangram puzzle. Build a bridge. Place tangram pieces so they leave no empty spaces except for the red squares within the grid. Rating: 2 H. Rube Goldberg puzzle. (1) Memory puzzle. Remember the items on a shield and choose the correct one among a variety of available ones. 4X (2) Matching puzzle. Match up a rune with its twin. (3) Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide slats up-and-down and sideways to restore an image of a shield. (4) Bullseye! Click on two sliders as they enter the middle zone of their respective bars. (5) Matching puzzle. Match up pairs of items hidden on cards. EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 8 Achievements 6 with 3 parts and 2 others as well Collect 8 game characters and 23 crowns 18 Wallpapers, 30 Concept Art, Music, Jigsaw puzzle, Video
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~~ANOTHER MYSTICAL ADDITON TO THIS CONTINUING SERIES!~~ Kudos to Mariaglorum for their 7th edition to the Mystery of the Ancients Series! In this latest medieval mystery a man with supernatural strength and speed is out and about murdering folks in the city. You and Detective Duncan must use your expertise to solve these thrilling crimes in Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector’s Edition. The story tells of a King who was driven to insanity by dark forces he delved into. The King kills himself with a "black dagger' when the ancient families of the time period discover the King has been participating in these dark forces and decide to take actions against him. Before the King dies from the piercing black dagger he vows out loud to be resurrected which is heard by one of his loyal subjects. Who is this loyal subject and culprit? It seems to be a relative. A relative who is eager to do the King's bidding too in an attempt to resurrect him. There are 3 ancient families who posses ancient artifacts (a ring, bracelet, and a ruby eye) which you and Detective Duncan must locate and use to stop the resurrection of the King. You must also save the 3 descendants of the ancient families who posses these ancient artifacts for the mysterious man with supernatural powers plans on murdering each descendant for their artifact which makes him even more powerful. The task isn't easy but the action packed adventure aspect to this edition engages you to solve this enigma from start to finish. I love this series and this is definitely a 5 star game. Fans of the series are in for a face paced medieval mystery that you don't want to miss. I highly recommend this one for casual adventure lovers and sleuths of every level of play. I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did and I hope to play many more of these games in the on-going saga....Cheers! In this series: • Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor • Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water • Mystery of the Ancients: Three Guardians • Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold • Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek • Mystery of the Ancients: The Sealed and Forgotten • Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm probably not even halfway through... ...but I had to stop and rave about this game. I've never played any of the MotA series, and I admit I'm not actually sure how I ended up with this one in my game manager, but I'm going to have to try them ALL. This is fantastic and I'm hooked. It's got everything I like in a game - engaging storyline, interesting and likable characters, a mysterious villain, collectibles, achievements, and puzzles galore. Full marks to Mariaglorium, and I can't wait to see how this one ends. (Also, I *really* like Duncan.)
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freaky Fun! So much fun! Good storyline. Neat graphics. Creative puzzles. Collect a crown in the scenes. Enjoyed.
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally...A Game I Can Say I Mostly Liked... I looked at this game based on another reviewer's recommendation and almost didn't get past the opening chapter. It didn't flow well and felt clunk, but I decided to continue on....and I'm glad I did. I won't say it's the best game I've ever played, but it is the best I've played (and deleted) in the last two weeks. The things I didn't care for were, once again, the repetitive find the key, find the emblem, disks etc. That said, the developers made fun of themselves, which actually improved my mindset. I still skipped a lot of the puzzles for the same repetitive reason...connect the wires, rotate the disks, move the boxes...I'm not interested. The HOPA's, however are where this game shines for me. Slightly different....interactive moves among the lists, find something use it with another object, puzzles within the HOPA. That was fun and it was creative. Thank you for that. My favorite chapter was in the hospital. Everything you do makes sense. When you do have to go back and forth, that also makes sense. And, that part of the storyline was the tightest of all the chapters. The graphics were nicely done, although there are a few places and a few HOPA's that are dark enough or not clear enough to be just a tad frustrating. But, those did not deter me. The bonus game was a sort of continuation based on "well...what if he didn't really die?" But, I didn't mind that because it was also a redemption chapter (maybe). Overall, I liked the game and will actually recommend this one. It is not overly long or overly hard so beginners and early intermediates shouldn't get frustrated. Super experienced folks might not end of with the same kind of gameplay, however. I will say that the demo does not do justice to the rest of the game.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from don't trust anyone with red eyes and a big knife a little cartoonish but did enjoy playing the game
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this game~ I really enjoyed this game. I loved having the very handsome detective help me out throughout the entire game! There were more mini-games then HOPs but I managed to do most of the mini-games which is saying something because I normally skip them. The HOPs were fun and interactive. The story was pretty good and cohesive throughout the game. Music was nice and fit each scene. All and all this was time and money well spent. It gave me a great deal of enjoyment~ Yes I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it had been longer! I love this series. The games are always great. The story line's are really interesting. I was ready to buy it right after the trial but waited for the usual sale. I almost couldn't wait. As I was playing it last night I noticed that the game wasn't as fun as it progressed. The puzzles weren't overly challenging, but I was really disappointed when the game ended. It was one of the shortest ones in the series. The story while good just wasn't filled out as well as some of the past releases in the series. That being said I think the bonus chapter really saved the game. It isn't necessary to the story but it was enjoyable. It was of sufficient length that it made me feel less disappointed in the length of the main game. It was interesting and fun. If you want this game get the collectors edition. There is always a great sale.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Anyone got a fire extinguisher! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the rest to others, although I do reserve the right to comment on the story as well. Well, we have #7 in this series. Yep, got them all, liked them all. Graphics in this game are extremely well done, and very clear when moving in and out of close ups. Animation is exceptional, with smooth body movements, and have realistic facial movements. Game play was very good, with no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen quite nicely. Voices were very nice and were age and character appropriate, although we did not have much in the way of character interaction. It's easier to get into a story if the characters speak more, or if you have really great sfx. You can click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, and not miss any of the story line or clues. We had very little music, but the sfx were pretty nice, when we had them. I was surprised to see that the dev had cleaned up the colors, which were very nice and clear and we didn't have the usual blues or pinks in this addition. HOPs are really well done, varied and different. We have silhouettes, puzzles within a HOP, IHOPs and match. Items are not difficult to find and the scenes are mostly fairly clear. I did not see that you could switch to something other than the HOP. Puzzles were fairly simple, but some did take a bit of time to complete. I do like the ability to reduce skip time down to one second, rather than 15. The hint system is very helpful and it does transport to longer locations. You do a lot of backtracking in this game, and you are constantly on the move. I did not care for the map, but we have the transport, so I didn't need to use it. It does show if you have missed a collectible in one of the areas. Collectibles were not many, but challenging to find. We have 8 character statuettes that are large and easy to spot. We also have 23 crowns that are well blended into background colors and features. They are not as easy to see as you may think. This story line isn't anything new, but it flowed well and had a lot of action to keep you interested and moving. I did downgrade this one because it is so quiet, and not much character interaction, but I found it entertaining and feel that it will pick up as we progress. That said, I found the game to be well put together and have given it a 4.5. I think all levels of players will find this one worth the CE price. Yes, I am going to add it to my CE collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based On Demo Why can't more games be like this? I was starting to lose hope that there was nothing left in the Big Fish tank, but this game made me breathe a sigh of relief. The graphics are outstanding and the games aren't brain busters, but they're creative and fun. Put those together with an actually interesting story and you have a real winner here. I took off 1/4 star for the games being just a tad easy. If the game continues to be this fun after the demo, I'm in for a good day.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In Spite of Removing Rust from Wood.... Ancient ruler transfers his soul transfer into a dagger before his rebellious subjects can remove him from power. A police station is attacked by a someone wielding that same dagger with disasterous results. What can all this mean? That you will be called in to help investigate by Detective Duncan. Good stuff: Really impressive HOPs, puzzles, and mini-games, along with a supernatural mystery, great artwork, and CE bling with eight collectible figurines and hidden crowns in each scene. Bad stuff: I really like the story and the game play, but I had to deduct one star for bad logic, which reared it's ugly head and kept me from completely enjoying the story and game play. I won't depress us both by listing the sad details, but hopefully you can see past them. The bottom line: This is a really interesting game with multiple layers in almost every puzzle and HOP. Please try the Demo and see what we all found so interesting!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game! To be honest, when I bought this game I wasn't sure if I was going to like it at all. I had low expectations despite the mostly positive reviews. Surprisingly, I'm about half way through it and I'm really enjoying it! Yes, there are the annoying logic flaws that seem to plague most BFG games these days. (I really wish developers would realize that these truly are an insult to our intelligence.) That said, I do recommend it....after trialing it of course.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Story a little wonky but.. I really enjoyed this game. Level of challenge in the HOPs was very good, lots of interaction. Puzzles were well done as well, but the story was a little strange. Very nice bonus game with all new locations and I have to give a big nod to the developers for that. All in all, I really liked this one!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Most, These Days... Based on demo: This game was pretty fun...not the best I've played, but better than most games being released these days! The HOS had layers of puzzles in them, which gave them a unique, fun quality. I didn't give the game 5 stars because so much of the regular game play has been "done to death." The graphics were improved for this Dev...very nice. I did not find this game to be CE worthy, but the SE might be a purchase, for me.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK for me. I found this game to be rather frustrating for me. Here's why: 1. When you found something the game just said "you've found something useful, but often you didn't really know what that item was until it went into your inventory. 2. Then when you click on a hot spot, often it will say "I can use something here. OK. What should I find useful? 3. The guide, for me, wasn't all that helpful. It would say "walk down twice" or go left/right, but it didn't show you what scene you were supposed to be in, and the cut scenes didn't help, at least for me. I got stuck many times trying to figure it out. 4. Sometimes the map wasn't too helpful either. I have no idea what "go to original map" meant. 5. I never play the mini-games because most of the time they don't give you anything for you to pick up or otherwise use. I just find them annoying, and many of them are hard for me to figure out anyway. 6. For me, the story line was kinda lame. There are a bunch of other games that are basically the same thing. Overall, it's a good game, the graphics are great and so is the voice over. I just think the developers of this series could have done a little better job.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Played Wonky Even after changing from the custom cursor, the arrow jumped around, and hesitated a lot. The puzzles were good, HOSs were fun, but wish that there were more of them. Interesting story line, graphics and sound, but I wouldn't buy it at full price.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Black dagger mystery After playing the demo I was not impressed. I own several mystery of the ancients games and even more games from Maria Glorum. My comment is not so much about the story line but it is time to up the game creativity by not having to find clock arms for a clock; screwdrivers for screws; wrenches for nuts, nuts for a rodent; batteries for a flashlight; keys for a car door; oil for something rusted,and last but not least, gloves for thorns in a plant. Been there and done that way too many times. There are a number of better mystery of the ancients games and I suggest seeking them out first over this one.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boredom For Sale Game is ok for what it is..Same old Supernatural hop..They out to rename Big Fish HOP central.......I've been playing these games since 1998..... I did about 45 minutes of the demo and quit........ Maybe some pure adventure games would be great....rpg's, anything that's different...Whoever designs these games are all about the same old evil stalking innocent young maidens This game is puzzle heavy with no sense of wonder....... I know I'm reviewing against the norm but the game is anything but fun for me...... Imagine a a great rts or adventure but this game is by by books ..A big snore for me..
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Simple Simon goes rogue? It's hard to believe this game is so highly rated. I found it mind-numbingly boring. Lots of puzzles, as others have mentioned, but they all seemed so simple that I wondered why the developer bothered at all. This game moves along quickly, but offers no challenge for even a beginner. Save your money, unless you think the violence is appropriate for your grandchildren.
Date published: 2018-02-21
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_28024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Black Dagger Collector's Edition

Can you stop the townspeople from paying for a dark past?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.