Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition

Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(643.83 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

During the 19th Century Paris world expo someone kidnaps the invited scientists under mysterious circumstances. Step into the shoes of the daughter of one of the scientists, Emily Patterson, to conduct your own investigation. Who is behind the kidnapping of the scientists? Will Emily find her father, overcome the obstacles and manage to solve the sophisticated puzzles and minigames? Embark on a fantastic adventure in the era of modern inventions, unravel the sinister plot and save the world from a scheming madman!

  • 30 fantastic locations from Switzerland to Siberia!
  • Test yourself in 14 puzzles and HO scenes!
  • Visit picturesque Paris at the turn of the century!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpaper, screensavers, music, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1644 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(643.83 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip to the past!! This game is fantastic...A bright and colorful game (was getting a little tired of games that were too dark to find anything). Meet very interesting characters along your journey and get to know them before they became famous. Just fun, fun, fun.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love it!! I have been getting so bored of hidden object games I hardly play, or buy, them any more. I was caught by the graphics in the pictures on the site, so I tried it. Graphics are wonderful. The gameplay keeps you moving right along. There are so many things to do and little games where you wouldn't expect them. Voices are good, and I haven't seen any grammar errors which are so common these days. This was a buy for me before I even finished the trial game. Give it a try and make your own decision, but I love it!!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Syberia for HOPA? Review based on sample.This one is fun. Steampunk feel. Good puzzles, interactive items all over the place. Good voice overs. If my high school science teacher looked like Emily's dad, I would be a Nobel prize winner in quantum mechanics. Just saying.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Liked It...But, I Didn't Love It.... Steampunk games are generally one of my favorites, and for the most part this one fits the bill. Also, when I see that the developer is Artifex Mundi, I expect a lot and this one mostly met that expectation. It was not an overly challenging game, but I wan't in the mood for that when I bought it; so, it was win-win for me. Was everything perfect? No. Some parts were easy to predict...we have a young heroine who does some dumb stuff that we that we know we are going have to get her out of. Some of the HO's were dark enough (even when I lightened the screen) and not clearly drawn such that I had to use the hint to find them. The puzzles I mostly skipped cuz I don't like having to do things 3 times to get / open / find what ever is on the other side. I'd rather do a single slightly more difficult puzzle, but that's just me. The stuff I did like included the fact that the game is slightly linear. You do stuff in a chapter, you move on, and then begin again...which means the back and forth was not as big a pain as some games. The jump map came in handy as did the fast charge on the hint when I needed to use it. The storyline was OK. It got muddled here and there, but nothing so frustrating that I wanted to toss the came. The bonus game was a continuation of the story, but, you see it coming as you finish the game. I felt like the game flowed well and even when things took several different locations to find all the pieces, they rather fit into how you might truly have to hunt for something hidden by people who did not want you to find their stuff. This one of only a few games that I will go back and attempt to get all the "atoms" as I believe they open either a mini-story or at least a puzzle that I find I might like to solve. (I won't spoil by telling what it is.) So...overall I liked the game, will play it again to catch all the atoms, and then move along to the next game. I like Artifex Mundi and already have a few of their titles on my computer. I'll likely check out more of them. Do try the Demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Orchid games and Artifex Mundi Based on the trial I was wondering who made this so I looked at the credits in the trial, hence my title. The trial ended for me in 35 minutes, so that disappointed me. In the guide it has 7 chapters, so it may be a long game. I think the trial is chapter 1. I liked it and I thought it was ok. Has 30 atom symbols to collect. It starts out 1900 Paris. I have six different games I would get before this one. The six other games, I know the makers. Try it for yourself.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I JUST BOUGHT MY FIRST PORSCHE! I love how they were able to mix fantasy with reality and include famous well-known characters in this newest release from Orchid Games, Modern Tales! Emily Patterson is her dad's right-hand man, her go-to guy (wait a minute, leading lady?) at the Science Exposition in Paris. She's helping dad, Brian Patterson, prepare his presentation for his latest invention, an Energy Emitter when havoc ensues. Her father has just become the latest victim of a kidnapping plot of leading scientists in the technology field. Emily is left on her own to investigate her father's kidnapping when all roads seem to lead to a powerful and influential member of society, Alexandre d' Albignac (a real person btw) This is a pretty decent game! The graphics are fairly decent, and the storyline is fairly original. You'll recognize familiar names such as Alexander Grahm Bell and you'll even get to buy the very first Porsche made, and it's a really fast car lol. I was a bit confused when the demo ended with 40 minutes to spare because this is a very long game containing 7 decent sized chapters! Unless you purchase the game, you won't have access to ANY bonus content, you don't even get to see what the content is, so for that reason alone, I'm only giving the game 4 stars! In this Collector's Edition version, each scene has a hidden Atom that will unlock a secret of some sort. The Hidden Object Scenes are a little on the scarce side with only two offered within the demo, but then again the demo is extremely short! The first HOP is an Interactive List find the second is a really well done Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape find. There are no alternative games offered. The Mini Games are interesting, some of which are unique, but the directions could be better. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Place cards correctly to activate the interactions. 2) Connect cables to the sockets in the correct sequence. This Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpaper Backgrounds, 8 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 8 Movie Video Cutscenes, 8 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 8 re-playable Mini Games, 24 Achievements to earn, 30 Hidden Atom Signs, 7 Main Chapters + Bonus Chapter (Secrets of the Monastery) and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy! by Orchid Games: Warsaw Poland founded 2008 Orchid Games: Modern Tales: Age of Invention, Heartwild Solitaire: Dreams, Heartwild Solitaire: Book One & Two Royal Trouble, Royal Trouble: Honeymoon Havoc, Graven: The Purple Moon Prophecy, Spirit Walkers: Curse of the Cypress Witch.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging storyline, fun gameplay. POV of my reviews: Gamer since 1980. Currently own 638 computer games. An immersive storyline and challenging, innovative gameplay are most important to me. —————————— While the blurb makes it appear as if this game is yet another "kidnapped relative in mortal danger" plot, it's actually much more complex than that. Emily Patterson's father is one of the eminent scientists kidnapped from the Exposition Universelle. When the police commissioner orders the case closed, Emily begins her own investigation, and quickly learns there's a lot about her father she never knew. And that the perpetrator must be stopped at any cost. I do think that the multitude of tasks in each area contradicted the sense of urgency the plot demanded. Also, some artistic license was taken, although the anachronisms weren't as blatant as some we've seen. For example, the expo took place in 1889; both Ferdinand Porsche and Coco Chanel were children, not adults well into their lifelong careers. However, I didn't find it objectionable because it was done deliberately for the sake of the storyline. Exploration was fairly intuitive and lacked most of the predictable tasks so prevalent in today's cookie cutter games. Also, shaped keys were rare, I'm happy to say. Many of the activities involved interacting with and fixing machinery, which I found enjoyable. HO scenes ranged from fairly easy to somewhat challenging, and the interactions were thoughtful. Presentations included interactive list, silhouette list, and find-and-use. Puzzles were few and far between, and ranged from easy stuff (sliding chips into place) to more challenging tasks (arranging invention cards in the order they were invented) to difficult ones that took some time (moving tokens to their proper places by rotating interlocking rings). Production was quite good. Backgrounds and objects were beautifully rendered and the palette was subdued and realistic. There was a lot of attention to detail regarding textures, light, and shadow. The characters were more painterly than the scenes. I liked the music, but felt that Emily's voice could have exhibited more appropriate affect, especially since she talked a lot. Personally, I don't find it CE-worthy, since the only extra gameplay consists of the bonus chapter, 8 HO scenes, and 8 puzzles. Collectibles are 30 atomic symbols, but there was nothing in the extras menu hinting that you receive anything special if you find them all. Lastly, the portfolio was rather sparse. I'm going to wait for the SE, but I do recommend this game. Other enjoyable games by this dev include Graven: The Purple Moon Prophecy (2017), Royal Trouble (series), and Spirit Walkers: Curse of the Cypress Witch (2013).
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Modern Tales Age of Invention CE I have just finished the first chapter. Seems given 7 chapters this may be the first game for a while worthy of the CE price, providing of course the chapters are of a good length and is not a four chapter game merely split up. Graphics excellent, storyline seems good and challenge should keep most happy. voice overs lack a little emotion and seem a little stilted. From what seen would recommend
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but a little easy It's been a few weeks since I've played, so I might be a little rusty, but basically : What I found good : Really great visuals and good storyline What I found a little less good : There was an annoying sound when you needed to zoom into a place or on an object and I thought the actions were a little too easy sometimes. You were moving into one place, which had a few locations, and then moving to another when the locations were over, which I find a little less interesting in general. And... I don't really remember the bonus game, so... I guess it didn't exactly leave an impression, but still... It was a beautiful journey to a lot of great places with a really good storyline.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from estein. ziplin , where was tesla like the game just a little cartoonish
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Game-Too Much Dialogue This is a nice game. I have played the Demo only and I do not see where it is CE worthy. So far the only thing to find is an atom in each scene. No morphing objects that I can see. Story line is good as are the graphics. It almost seems as though the Devs thought that we would not be able to understand what is being said by each character because they have each and everyone written on the screen. Distracting to me. But please try it. You might just like it. As for me, I will wait for the SE
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh...not my idea of a great World's Fair drama I will cut to the chase: I played the demo on Custom mode and chose no tutorial. The first thing that happened when I got to the first location was a tutorial bubble appeared and told me what to look for! Everywhere I went, everything I looked at, produced an instructional bubble that told me either what the object was (I KNOW what a door is...), instructed me to do something, or commented on the scenery, etc. WAY TOO MUCH CONVERSATION! I will give the devs a little credit for allowing them to be skipped, but there were still areas where more than one conversation was in play and I had to keep hitting the skip button. It seemed like more of a time filler than a necessary function unless you really find the plot and storyline so interesting that you want to be immersed in it...obviously, I didn't. Lots of running around, revisiting close-ups where things were found before (like parts for things that kept breaking). There are only atomic symbols to find...no morphs or other collectibles. Not worthy as a CE game. Even playing at a very casual pace (and periodically getting up to do some other things) I finished the demo with 45 minutes to spare, which leads me to believe that this will be a quick play indeed on the whole 7 chapter game. The 'thanks for playing' message at the end made me think this was just an updated version of the beta...usually the games just stop cold...maybe because other games have more content in their demos. The only positive thing I can say are that the HOPs and puzzles were okay. Not great, but okay.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Why is there so much evil and greed in the world?" she asks Because there are people in the world. Paris, 1900. You are Emily Patterson, daughter of Professor Ben Patterson a prominent inventor. There has been a recent series of suspicious "accidents," each involving inventors (one person was shot, so hard to see how that qualifies as an accident?). While visiting your father and demonstrating his latest invention, a suspicious accident occurs and your father and his invention disappear. The prime suspect, Count d'Aubinac, is seen leaving via a balloon. Gameplay is fairly straightforward and simple. Lots of things to find and insert, levers to pull, hoses to attach, cables to connect, locks to open etc. My only complaint was there seemed to be an inordinate amount of dialog. They could have easily accomplished the same with much less. One of the characters is Ferdinand Porsche, who has, "ze fastest automobile" and "I'll be back" (ok, I added that). Trial was a little short. Playing slowly I finished in 29 minutes. There are seven chapters listed in the guide. There is no dramatic end to the trial, in fact it was a little flat. Extras are locked until completing the game, but there are 30 collectible atomic symbols (this is announced in the first scene). I enjoyed the trial, but hard to tell if it is worth the CE price as everything is locked.
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from And now we will progr...wait, what? it's over This has to be one of the shortest 90 minute demos I have ever played. Seems like I was just getting into the story and the demo ended. Not even 30 minutes worth of play. What a waste. Graphics are ok and the HOs were on the fun side but other than that I don't know. I wouldn't recommend this just because of the short play time. Might turn out to be the best game ever but I'll never know.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This one's trash-can fodder! I just played the demo for Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition and, once again, I am amazed at the high rating some have given a game that is dull, inane, poorly produced! I’m not going to talk about the minutiae of this game since others have already done that. It’s been a while since I last posted a game review. The offerings of the last several months have been so uniformly bad that I just couldn’t be bothered. This game is just another of the same, but the absurdly high ratings it garnered sent me back to the keyboard. If you have played even one hidden object game you certainly don’t need the ridiculous, childish narrative given by the main character. I certainly don’t need to be told that a hot-air balloon is flying away —I can see that! The era of this game is 1900, so how come I have to find an ‘electronic chip’ to open a door? No such item could have existed at that time —the anomalies just get piled one on top of another, too many to list here. The graphics are okay, if sort of cartoon-like; lip sync is likewise just okay. The HO sequences, such as there were in the very short demo game, offered nothing new, challenging, or even interesting. And the story line, another rehash of what we have seen far too many times already! Big Fish has offered some great games in the past —both of the Adam Wolfe episodes for example and, certainly, Maze: Subject 360— but this game is just another example of the trash dished up during the past several months. I usually say that you should try the demo and decide for yourself, but not this time! Don’t even waste your download capacity, or your time with this one!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Let's Play Fast and Loose With Gamers! Emily Patterson is helping her father at a science expo in 1900 Paris, France. She has just arrived on her bike at the Pavilion with the prism her dad needs for his invention that will send electricity through the air. She helps set up the equipment with an assortment of locks, parts, and puzzles. When the device is turned on, a burst of energy blows through the glass dome roof. Ben Patterson sends his daughter outside to check if anyone noticed the glass roof shattering. Emily looks up to see a glowing ball plummet into the Pavilion and she faints. When she comes to, a policeman tells her that all the people in the Pavilion have disappeared, including her father. Good stuff: Artwork is clear and well-drawn with good color. Normal game elements are present: HOPs, mini-games, and puzzles. There are atoms to collect in each scene, thirty in all. Bad stuff: Once again I find myself wondering what the Devs were thinking. After the disaster in the pavilion, one of the lightening amulets from the front of her father’s equipment is in another room of the Pavilion. Another one of the three lightening amulets is locked in Emily's cobweb covered apartment. The last one is inside a car at the Eiffel Tower. Are they kidding? To get inside her apartment after the disaster, Emily has to recover a magnetic key used on her Dad's device. Why would her Dad use her door key for his charger? And why is it stuck in place till Emily restores some of the machine? Not laughing. Once she gets the key and enters the apartment, she needs to look in the safe for her father's notes. To do that, she has to go back to the Pavilion, unscrew the infinity symbol off a pressure canister she found in another scientist's ruined work, and then insert it in the wall next to the safe, which is behind a dirty chalkboard that she must clean before it will slide from in front of the safe opening! At this point I figure that someone confused put this story/game together. Or perhaps they were trying to confuse us! There is a box containing a voice recorder that was used to spy on her father near his equipment in the Pavilion. Emily finds the stained glass piece to open it by calling police headquarters form the nearby police call box, getting them to send a signal to open a magnetic lock in the lamp post where she parked her bike across from the Pavilion, retrieving the section of the box lock inside the post and then using the piece in the lock to find that the box has Count d Aubenac's crest inside with the recorder. Somewhere in this mess of bits and pieces is a story and, possibly, an adventure, but after thirty minutes, when the Demo ended, I only knew that I was missing not only logic and cohesion, but also any desire to play this game. Please try the demo. Notice that there is not even a listing of the CE Extras - you have to finish the game first to unlock them. Make a value decision based on your own experience. That's what Demo's are for.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Nothing new. Thought it was rather boring. Did play until the end of the free trial, but couldn't wait for it to be over.
Date published: 2018-04-19
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_28235, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Modern Tales: Age of Invention Collector's Edition

Step into the shoes of Emily Patterson, follow the trail of the captor and thwart his evil plans.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.