Darkness and Flame: The Dark Side Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Darkness and Flame: The Dark Side Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

FIVE-BN GAMES presents another pulse-pounding entry in the Darkness and Flame series.

Alice and her companions just blew up a dam and buried the army of the Darkness under thousands of tons of water. Victory was practically guaranteed. But the Dark Warrior survived, and created a hurricane so powerful that it nearly killed them all! Alice regains consciousness on the Dark Side of the Great Fissure, a place where nobody has been for decades. To make matters worse, the power of the burning flame has started to fade.

Travel with Alice through dark lands and deserted settlements into the heart of the Dark Side. Are you ready for a difficult, but thrilling journey? Find out in this wonderful Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

  • Solve incredible puzzles
  • Gather amazing collections
  • Find dozens of morphing-objects
  • Enjoy beautiful graphics and exciting minigames
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 894 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Darkness and Flame: The Dark Side Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Darkness and Flame: The Dark Side Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep up with Alice! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others who can do a much better job than I. I believe this is #3 in this series. I really like how this game picks up where the other left off, giving you a little explanation of what and why things are happening. The graphics are quite good in this addition, even thought some are a little cartoony, e.g., unusually large and clunky looking inventory items. Colors are very nice and true. Voices are fairly nice, except that "Alice" has such a high pitch to her voice, it gets somewhat annoying very quickly. Music is quite soothing and not overpowering at all. Game play was very good, with no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen without gaps or black lines around it. We have really great sound FX in this one, being realistic and appropriately placed in the game. There is no dead air time in this game. Animation is very smooth and quite well done. It actually reminds me of the old Lara Croft games, same type of movements (yep, I had all those too). The one thing I had to laugh at was how Alice stood when talking to someone. Her hand is in such an odd position, she almost looks like she's having an "ah-ha" moment. Silly, but not a deal breaker. You'll know what I mean when you play the game. HOPs are varied, with interactive lists and silhouettes so far. Items are not difficult to find and the scenes are clear...no junk piles in this game. Puzzles were pretty simple and took no time or brain power to complete, but I did run across one that was somewhat challenging. Hint system is very helpful and actually gives you a hint when you ask for it. The jump map is set up quite nicely. Areas are identified and also show if you have missed a collectible or morphing item. I only use the strategy guide if I just can't find the collectible. Collectibles are varied as well and well done. We have to find 30 morphing items, all are different, and not too small to see. We also have various bugs to collect. Not sure if this changes as we progress, because it showed only 8 needing to be found. This are also fairly large, but still not as easy to spot as you may think. Other than the "cartoony" inventory items and Alice's annoying voice, I really like this game. You are constantly on the move and we have a lot more character interaction that what we usually see in these games. The challenge is finding all the collectibles, which I really do like, the more the better for me. The story is a continuation of sorts and pretty easy to follow. When I beta tested this one, I gave it a 4.5 on my beta scale...I'm sticking to that rating. I believe this game will appeal to gamers of any level. Yes, I am adding this one to my CE pile. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review. Play on!
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small Spoiler Alert!! Did I just kill a fox?! This is so much like the last one, but still a pretty good game. I got a little upset when I had to trap a fox using an electric fish though. Sorry...I have a real problem with anything to do with freaking killing animals, which is why I play these silly things in the first place. I'm giving it 4 stars because it deserves it, despite my aversion to harming animals. Also, it may just be that the fox is okay and I jumped the gun. Just wanting to be fair, but at the same time vent a little at what I just saw. Electrocuting a fox with a fish is just wrong......and so is my giggling after reading that.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good slash Ok Game Based on the finished game and bonus material I Loved the last two in the series-Born of Fire and Missing Memories. This one started out good. I was dragging later. There was more back and forth and put this here and there. So little of the story compared to the chores of it. So little Hidden Objects. No replays on Hidden Objects. I only liked two puzzles from the bonus chapter. Shooting the shark and connecting the same color without crossing the lines. With 9 wallpapers I would of like some different ones, like the scene with the Chinese lanerns without a character. Or Grandmother's home without character. Or the true paradise with the Wisteria. Instead of what I got. I relied heavily on the map. It was like do something and hit map. Do something and hit map again and again. Map has good collectible indicator. Loved the collectibles. 30 morphs. I found all the morphs and a pop up said 20 Levels of bonus game are open for you now. You collect 7 lotus, 8 bugs, 8 origami storks and in the bonus chaper you collect 6 jade frogs and 6 rings. The bonus chapter is a stand alone story. I liked it. The bonus content has 9 wallpapers, 7 concept art. Replay 14 videos which is great, 8 music, 21 mini-games and 7 puzzles which are 7 mosaics.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK. I had high hopes for this game based on other reviewers and the fact that I absolutely loved the previous game. The story continues as the dark knight was not defeated the last time... but this game has bad voice acting which was irritating and made me loose interest. Also, the game suddenly ended without me feeling like it was actually over (I won`t say more as I have no desire to spoil the game for other players). Made me wonder what the whole point of the whole ordeal was. I hate abrupt endings, and the bonus game has nothing to do with the mail games story. Oh, well. Try it and see for yourself.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alice Is Back To Fight the Dark Side Alice, the little girl who found a magic phoenix to fight the Dark Knight with in the first chapter of the Darkness and Flame series, is back again in this third installment, ready to continue the fight. Alice, her Uncle Colin, and their friend, Farador, had blown a hole in a dam to flood out the dark army at the end of chapter two. Unfortunately the Dark Knight was able to survive and calls on the dark powers to send Alice, Colin, and Farador into a tornado in their hot air balloon. The two men jump out of the balloon, but Alice hits her head. She awakens in the balloon, caught in a tree and suspended over a canyon on the Dark Side. We will travel with Alice as she looks for her friends and runs from the Dark. Good stuff: there are HOPs, mini-games, good artwork, morphing objects in each scene and, included in the CE bling, a variety of other collectibles, with gold statues, flies, lotus flowers, and origami showing up in the demo scenes. Alice still has her phoenix tattoo on her arm to help against the Dark forces, but it's strength is fading. Bad stuff: Logic fatality: I have a knife in my inventory as I search frantically for scissors to trim the branches of a bonsai tree to get a key. Then I use the knife to take cherry blossoms off another tree. Actually, that's just the kind of "logic" most of us expect at this point. Unfortunately the game also includes the reams of maps as in the first two games. So, not only do you run back and forth between scenes, you do so between maps of scenes. Alice's first thought when becoming conscious in the balloon basket was: "I've got to get out of here." Then she returns repeatedly after reaching a safe place, even climbing over the far side of the basket to reach a ledge below it. I appreciate that there are lots of places to explore, I just don't want to run thru all of them over and over and over .... Please try the demo. If you enjoyed the first two games in the series, you will most likely want to see this one. If you missed either or both earlier games, the new one gives enough background to keep you in the loop. Just please play the demo to see if you will enjoy your purchase.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the first episode. Or the second. My current library includes 634 computer games dating from 1980 through today. I'm most interested in a well-developed storyline and challenging gameplay. —————————— QUICK & DIRTY OVERVIEW • slow storyline • gameplay mostly exploration • excellent HO scenes • puzzles from "not a puzzle" to moderate difficulty • stunning graphics and animation • music reused from previous episodes • horrible voiceovers • design flaw that interferes with black box text • awesomely functional map • decent CE bling —————————— STORYLINE Despite numerous long, repetitive cutscenes, the story developed extremely slowly. By the time the demo ended, Alice had only just reunited with Uncle Colin and Farador after being separated by the Dark Warrior's mega-storm. And she'd met people living on the Dark Side. More action in the demo would have been more immersive and less boring. GAMEPLAY Gameplay is 60% exploration, 10% HO scenes, and 30% puzzles, and there was a LOT of running around completing small tasks and finding shaped keys and missing tokens. There were only 2 HO scenes in the demo: an interactive list with zoom areas to explore, and a sequential find-and-use. A shame…5BN's HO scenes are excellent. Puzzles ranged from filler garbage to moderately difficult. On a scale from 1 to 10: • 0-Choose the "safe" stones to climb up the cliff. Random guessing isn't a puzzle. • 0-Use magnet to find scissors. Mousing the cursor over the screen isn't a puzzle. • 4-Press the green arrows to move the key to the lock. The three inner circles contain red tokens you can jump over but must avoid; each is marked with a red arrow to show its movement direction. Requires some strategy. • 2-Choose the two symbol fragments that make up the central symbol. Not a puzzle for adults; too easy. • 7-Turn the maze to guide the silver ball to the exit. There are three wooden balls in the maze that can hinder or help you, depending on how you move them. Requires planning. • 6-Rotate and swap to move all ten token to their correct backgrounds. A repeat, but one I always find enjoyable. More puzzles like the last two, please! PRODUCTION Background graphics were panoramic with beautiful details, interestingly forced perspective, and lovely use of light and shadow. The palette was colorful, but not eye-searing. 5BN consistently has the best character rendering and animation. Skin, hair, and clothing was all ornately textured, and characters moved in a lifelike manner. The music is the same as the previous episodes, something this dev has a bad habit of doing. It lessens motivation to buy the CE…why pay for an extra I already have? Environmental sounds could have been more prevalent, and the voiceovers were awful. The language was too formal and they spoke MUCH too slowly. The actors lacked emotional affect, so that a fearful outburst like, "We must run immediately!" came out flat and unemotional. It made immersion difficult and eradicated motivation. It's hard to feel an urgency to help characters that aren't relatable. TECHNICAL A notable design flaw: When the characters spoke, their words appeared in a conversation box alongside their picture…in the same place designated for black box text. There was no way to close the conversation box, and it took forever to fade out. So, if you rely on black box text, you'll be waiting forever to read it. A note on navigation: It's designed more like an adventure game than a HOPA. New areas can appear in nearly any direction, and I initially missed a couple that were off to the side of the screen. This isn't a design flaw, but just a different design. The map is uniquely organized into sections with descriptive labels like "Cave Settlement" and "Desert Lands." Some may prefer the entire game map on one page, but I've found that this dev's method helps orient me in the game world. Also, collectibles and morphs are notated both in the specific scene AND in the section overview, which is quite helpful in tracking down missed goodies. CE BLING Gameplay—bonus chapter, 21 mini-games, 7 puzzles, 30 bonus puzzles (no idea whether they're actually mini-games or more jigsaws) Collectibles—morphing objects and 6 categories of collectibles (6-8 items in each) Portfolio—9 wallpapers, 7 concept art, 14 videos, 8 (reused) soundtracks Other—achievements, strategy guide I wish the ability to replay HO scenes was included as bling. —————————— GAMES IN THIS SERIES (my ratings) Born of Fire ????½—Alice, an ordinary farm girl, discovers a phoenix egg. When it hatches, the fiery bird somehow becomes part of her, marking her with a distinctive tattoo. Suddenly, Alice is thrust into an epic battle against an unmentionable evil. Accompanied by her Uncle Colin, she must make a difficult journey to defeat the Dark Warrior's plans. Missing Memories ????—Uncle Colin is suffering horrendous nightmares. A woman who seems familiar to him repeatedly calls out for his help. So he and Alice set out to find a healer to restore Colin's memories. But the Dark Warrior is hunting Alice, and they soon find that the task of stopping his army falls to them. OTHER NOTABLE SERIES FROM 5BN Lost Lands, New York Mysteries, The Legacy —————————— SHORT & SWEET CONCLUSION I am still curious about the story, even though it didn't get too far in the demo. But I'm not a huge collectibles fan; they distract both player and developer from the actual game. It's gotten out of hand when there are multiple collectibles in each game scene. I'd rather have a longer bonus chapter and better quality gameplay. I believe I'll wait and demo the SE because, without collectibles, I'll get further along in the story. Give the demo a try and see if it's your cup of tea.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to Uncle Colin? This is really about a 3-1/2 star game. But I had to just quit playing a couple of times because I couldn't deal with back and forth any longer. I have loved the other games in the series but this one didn't thrill me. Others have mentioned they are not fond of all the maps. I say "Thank You!" for the jump maps because without them, I would have been lost. I personally like the style of the maps and I don't know why all developers do not indicate collectibles on the map. During the game, Uncle Colin is taken over by the dark side and we never find out his fate. Has he been drawn permanently to the dark side? Has the Dark Warrior turned him into a dark soldier? I wonder if there will be a sequel explaining this??? There is so much back and forth in this game that I found it tedious. In every location something is left behind to do making returning to that place a necessity. Sometimes the location to return to was at the beginning of the game. Again, thank you map. There is no doubt the graphics are quality and the voice acting is fairly good. I don't usually listen to the music so no comment on that. We have seen most of the puzzles before but there a couple of different ones thrown in. Or maybe they are the same with a different look. Most were easy. Any comment on HOs is irrelevant to me as HOs are just HOs. See the list, find the object. No matter how interactive they may be, nothing new has come along. It is worthwhile to try the demo just to see if you like it. You will need your traveling shoes though.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good only for beginners...maybe I seldom submit reviews because other "regulars" do such a good and thorough job. When I do, it's because I loved a game or hated it. This falls into the latter category. I'm baffled by the 4.5-star overall rating. The game offers a challenge only to beginners who need to be told, "Oh look, there's something I can't reach. I need something long and pointed to get it," and the like. With a few rare exceptions the games and HOPs were the same old, same old, but easier. But worst of all were the truly cringe-worthy voice-overs. In most cases, at least, it was possible to read and click through the scripts without having to hear them read. I did manage to finish the game, but only because I was collecting morphing objects and collectibles. I can't bear to play the bonus game.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yeesh terrible From the reviews you'd think this would be a good game but its quite the contrary. Its boring and the story is lacking. Whatever happened to her Uncle? The graphics were not very good for this type of a game. The game size was surprisingly small for an Adventure/HO game. This was very disappointing and I should have played the demo before buying. Ugh.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't Waste Your Money This is a very simplistic game with less than average graphics. Not worth the a cent.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grammar Troubles I didn't even really make it past the introduction part of it because the grammar made me cringe. I couldn't do it.
Date published: 2018-07-01
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_28248, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Darkness and Flame: The Dark Side Collector's Edition

Nobody comes back from the Dark Side unchanged, but it’s the only way to re-light the fading flame.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.