Rite of Passage: Hackamore Bluff Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Hackamore Bluff Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(450.40 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games brings you the next chilling installment in the Rite of Passage series!

Your plans for a surprise visit to your husband while he's on a work trip are thwarted when you discover he's missing! Either the people of Hackamore Bluff haven't seen him, or they're not willing to admit it. With strange specters around every corner, can you find your husband and escape before it's too late? Find out in this spine-tingling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Venture forth and confront a relentless evil in the bonus game.
  • Find collectible skulls and morphing objects.
  • Never get lost with the comprehensive strategy guide!
  • See if you have what it takes to unlock every achievement.
  • Enjoy exclusive character gallery, concept art, wallpapers, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 674 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Hackamore Bluff Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(450.40 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Hackamore Bluff Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DEFEAT THE DEVOURER REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I really enjoyed the game and loved that there was plenty to do in each scene. You play Jenny who has to rescue your husband Carlos from the clutches of the Devourer. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Easy, Medium, Hard, Very Hard and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * 10 Achievements (all with 3 stars); * Journal; * Find 29 skulls in game and bonus; * Find 50 morphing objects (this includes the HOPs as well). The graphics are superb and each scene is very clear to find items you need. I loved going through the scenes never knowing what to expect next. The music is mainly orchestral, piano and chanting. There are 21 replayable HOPs, some of which have a great challenge. I love playing these HOPs and I keep going at them until I get 3 stars - which is no mean feat! Keep an eye out for that ever elusive morph in each HOP. There are a huge variety of mini-games to play and I enjoyed them all. Most are relatively easy to play, but there are a couple where you have to get tiles in the right order, etc and these can take a while. All are very accomplishable though. You have a talisman with you throughout the game and bonus. You play a simple game of putting the skulls in the right part of the grid and then you are ready to use it. At the end of the game you have another small bonus game to play and MY ULTIMATE FAVOURITE the Ultimate HOP which is a great way to finish off. All up the game, bonus and extras took me around 8 hours to play, so good value for money. Overall, a terrific game and definitely worth putting in your collection. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game but NOT Rite of Passage This is a good game but what I do not like is that it is not "Rite of Passage" which in the original games was all about children learning new things in order to grow up... This story is great and I have enjoyed it but all games seem to have the same premise these days. Spooky weird "otherworld people" with nefarious designs on the living. Am getting so tired of it. The original Rite of Passage games were brilliant because of the new storylines. Still the game is good.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Game...liked it! The demo sucked me in so I went ahead and purchased the game. You know the story...husband goes missing after finding artifact, wife goes to find him in creepy town with a creepy past. Been there...done that. However, I found the HO scenes and puzzles fun! There's enough to do, but I will admit I would never think to use a wedge of cheese to plug a hole in a frying pan! That stumped me for a minute! I found the graphics to be a little murky and dark, but okay. VO's and music were okay too!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from are spirits real ? once again enjoyed playing the game
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit of challenge! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to those who do a much better job than I. I've lost count on this one, but I know we have a few in this series. This addition has excellent graphics, clear and sharp, for the most part. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen. Animation is very nice, except for very choppy body movement, especially when walking. Colors are really well done and true, but not over powering. Voices are age and character appropriate, with all the emotions included, and I love the sinister sound to the "bad guy's" Voice. Sound FX are fairly nice and pretty much constant. Music is soothing and not over powering. Nothing too exciting happened during the demo, so not sure if it picks up or not. We don't have a helper, but we do have a talisman that includes a game. I found this to be quite boring and completely unnecessary to the game play. HOPs pretty much just lists with a few extras thrown in with them. Scenes are clear and items are not difficult to find. There isn't another game that you can choose, if you do not wish to play the HOPs. Be on the lookout for morphing items in the HOPs. I usually accidentally find them, but they are not hard to see. Puzzles are not bad at all. They actually had some challenge to most of them, and some took me a bit of time and thought to complete. Hint system is helpful, but it does not transport to longer locations. You do back track quite a lot in this game, but you have a jump map that is fairly clear and easy to use. The map is rather plain and boring, but it works well for quick jumps. Collectibles are not many. You need to find 29 skulls. These are outlines and not easy to see. They are blended well into the background and being an outline makes it even more difficult to find. I admit I had to look at the SG to find one of them. This is our challenge. So far, I only see one in each scene. Each scene also has a morphing item to find. These morph fairly quickly, so be on the lookout for them. This addition is much better than the last in this series. We did seem to spend a lot of time running back and forth in this one, which seemed to slow the story a bit, but the story was easy to follow. I think I liked this one because of the challenge to the puzzles. I much prefer HOPS over puzzles, but these were nicely done. Even though it is the usual story of the lost husband, I found myself drawn into the game fairly quickly. When I beta tested this one a few months ago, I gave it a 4.5, and I think it deserves that much. I believe all levels of players will find this one interesting and somewhat challenging. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Immortality doesn't come without a price Have you ever been to Hackamore Bluff? This is where we will live through a strange adventure and cross the borders between the living and the dead. And it is not only the name, that makes this small town special, the dead here are more or less un-dead. We play as Jenny, on her way to her husband Carlos. His last call was more than strange: when he told us, he finally had found the archeological item, he had been seeking for so long, in Hackamore Bluff, the connection broke down. Couldn’t reach him since then. Our last information: he was in this town and staying at the only hotel there. No other way but trying to find him in Hackamore Bluff. Nobody in the small town seems to have seen Carlos, all are friendly but as soon as we ask questions, people react more or less hostile. We won’t give up though and take a room at the town’s hotel. In the middle of the night, we wake up, alarmed by a noise from the wardrobe. And we have our first paranormal encounter: the wardrobe opens to a vault, in which we see Carlos, bound to a chair, asking for help. Is this a clue? Carlos here but in a desperate situation, needing help? In a short clip on his camera, Carlos had expressed, he didn’t trust anybody, things weren’t quite in order and he would try to find the Hackamore Grimoire for more information. A temporary peak of suspense in the plot is reached with the cemetery: after our unconventionally forced entrance a cloaked ghostly figure calls demands our leaving town immediately. In form of a bookstory he tells us about the devourer or: one dead person here seems to have not accepted being dead. And even after successfully freeing Carlos and managing to escape the crypt – we are not free. The dead wouldn’t let us go. We will have a long way and many obstacles to overcome to finally free Carlos and destroy the way into the dead’s lands. Our special equipment in this game is a talisman, similar to a dreamcatcher with a colorful skull in the center. It connects us somehow with the world of the dead. With it comes a puzzle. After solving it, we can reach otherwise unattainable objects or defy other borders and limitations. So it is not the usual gadget to overcome the evil, more an instrument or a bridge between our world and those Grey Lands of the dead. In the beginning it is fun for all, who like gadgets, but later in the final parts of the main game, we have to use it excessively. Not a fan of the gadget feature, for me it is a big minus for the otherwise adventurous game. Plot unfolds fast and the story is captivating. We have many puzzles and HOS as well, all of the usual good quality but not too challenging. The biggest plus is the story that immediately captivated me, a real contra is the talisman, especially in the last part of the game, where he is used excessively.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventureous What happened to my husband, Got to go find him I loved the Beginning and I just know thats what I will have in store for the ending .... Cant wait to play ...two thumbs up for these awesome Games ... I love it when you dont have to travel back to the floating Clouds and 1800 's I know I will enjoy this one very Mysterious ..... Great puzzles
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hackamore Enough I usually really like Mad Head games but this one didn't thrill me too much. It had very good graphics and music. The story line was a bit too familiar to me though. Another spouse goes missing after messing with the occult--under an evil spell, etc. Carlos was a replacement for the damsel in distress and was almost a non-character with no character development at all to speak of. I guess I'm tired of indigenous people demons threatening to take over the world. I must confess I loathed the talisman Simon type of repeating patterns which one had to reproduce in the correct order. I haven't played any other games in this series so I have nothing to compare. Give the trial a whirl before buying--the bonus game really didn't add anything much to the story.
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ~~YOU MAY WANT TO WAIT FOR THE STANDARD VERSION.~~ I thought this edition of Rite of Passage was predictable and offered very little challenge during gameplay. This edition is a vast improvement over the previous edition, The Sword and the Fury but I was disappointed in Hackamore Bluff. I recommend the SE version when it is released. Cheers!
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Been There, Saved Him, Shall I Do It Again? Carlos, your husband has traveled to the little town of Hackamore Bluff looking for an artifact. When he calls to tell you he's found it, the call gets wonky and then dropped. Worried when you can't call him back, you rush to find him. But the peaceful looking town is not particularly welcoming and checking into the hotel leaves you more worried than before. No one remembers Carlos or admits to having seen him except the creepy librarian who rushes off after throwing you out of the library. Good luck! Good stuff: The game starts slowly, introducing you to the town, hotel, and library, along with a few of the unwelcoming locals. There will be lots of items to find, hold on to, and eventually use. There are collectible skulls and morphing objects along with some CE bling. All the usual game elements are present including a protective amulet that you'll reassemble. Bad stuff: There is a claustrophobic feeling as most areas are very limited - you see part of the hotel lobby and the short flight of stairs up to your room door, then you are just in the room - bed, wardrobe, small stove. bedside table. Walking outside you are in a town square that doesn't look big enough to turn a SUV around in. The library is one side of it, but once inside, what you see does not match the outside and again is just a room and a balcony with another small room. As for game play, you will have to accomplish a couple of brain twisting feats. You will need to magnetize a poker by using a rag! Then after you light that stove in your sparse hotel room, you ditch the matches and hold on to a tazer to light candles in a cemetery crypt! The puzzles vary between super easy and hard with an easy one giving your protective amulet its power as needed. HOPs are dark and an occasional item is mislabeled - whisk broom as a brush, for instance. Bottom line: Do you want to save Carlos? At the end of the Demo,I didn't. Please play the Demo. You may see something I missed.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Medium game Based only on the trial. As it has been already said here for more and more games, the storyline is a used and re used one. Originality is not here. Then the scenes are very limited, the views are shorten: in the hotel, you have access to the lobby and part of the stairs, then your room is immediately there, no corridor, no more decor than just necessary for some HOP. I didn't really noticed the music, unremarkable. The level of challenge is OK, no real challenge either...
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of money, time and effort I buy CE editions for the bonus chapter but this game won't let you play until you find all the morphing objects. I paid for a bonus chapter regardless of how I play the game. Definately feeling ripped off.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from bleh. I have not submitted a review before but I tried this game because I am a puzzle lover and one of the first reviews let puzzle lovers know that this was a game full of them. The puzzles are something a 4 year old could finish with ease and I found my intelligence insulted so I uninstalled before 30 minutes in. Rapid clicking and copying a 5 color sequence with the sequence right in front of you is not a puzzle it's preschool work.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell asleep playing This game started off OK, but went quickly to snooze mode. So much so I actually fell asleep playing the game. And this was after a good nights sleep. Too many objects collected in your tray before you use them, poor story line and just ugh. Mad House usually makes awesome games, but this was a downer.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DID NOT FINISH I usually adore MadHouse games but couldn't finish this one because not all the puzzles were skippable. Hey, not all of us are super smart game players and many of us just want to enjoy the game, try the puzzles and be able to skip when needed. I played the mandala puzzle so many times that I finally gave up and uninstalled. In the beginning days of casual games there were no skips and I lost my money on a few games. The best thing about game development was the "invention" of the skip button. Now, many of the games are only allowing some of the mini puzzles to be skipped despite choosing casual mode to play. I will be sure to play the entire trial before buying games anymore and do not recommend this game to people who want to play in casual mode.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Rite of Passage I own all of the Rite of Passage games and enjoyed them all, until this one. Many reviewers said this is a creepy game. I'm not seeing the creep factor unless you consider a talking buffalo creepy. Using the amulet required you to play the same mini game over and over. Definitely not a fan of that. Also, could not play the bonus section, as I did not find all the morphs, but it wouldn't let me back in the game. I was so bored of this tedious game by the end, I was glad it was over. Hopefully the next one will be better and give the player ALL the bonus content.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This one tired me I played the demo for a total of 12 minutes before I became so tired of bouncing all over the place just collecting things to collect other things. Only redeeming factor were the graphics which weren't too bad. However the characters need a little more development, they are just short of comical. HO and mini games are just average and nothing to write home about. Sorry, but I can't recommend this one but at least play the demo before you buy. You might like it.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not the best Don't bother with this game. Got all the way to the end but can't play the bonus game since I didn't find all the morphing objects. The skull memory to get the talisman to work was fun once. I've been playing this kind of game for a long time and this one was just tedious. Way too many HOPS.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great up until the end Interesting story line with slightly older characters, which was nice for a change. Some of the music was annoying, but could be turned down. Puzzles were just right for me. Unfortunately, I can only give it two stars because I was unable to play the bonus game. I had the message that I had to find all morphing objects to play the bonus game, which I had done. I guess without help, I'll be sticking to Standard Editions from now on.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best It started good, but then went downhill. In the beginning story started with an eerie hotel, scary happenings and after that you are strolling around, collecting here and there sth. You loose a lot of time in each scene doing boring things, I started thinking., hey, what am I looking for. Font of scripts is almost unreadable. Surrounding noise and music are terrible, I turned them off. Bying this game was a big mistake.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Mini Games Galore. Poor Script. Graphics 4: Well done with attention to detail, good scenes and décor Sound/Music 3: Turned down Characters 3.5: Good design Voice Over 4: Not over the top, variety Hidden Object Games: Beautiful designs, variety, a few with dark corners, interactive Mini Games: Too many, shuffle, move one end to another, eye hand coordination and memorization. Not a fan, but mini fans will enjoy, and games are nicely crafted Morph/Collectibles: Yes Overall: Many improbable inventory items and poor script. I lost interest after about 20 minutes, but finished to be fair. Scrawny desk clerk gets all upset because lady looks at the guest book, but he doesn’t make her sign in. Room is prepared, the clerk tells her. Paper is peeling off the wall and there’s a hole in her pillow, I would rather sleep in my car. In town, creepy mailman warns her off. At the library, there’s a razor blade stuck in the door. Really! And, the door is locked. Why? She meets a lady doctor walking by who shares that she is busy during the day but available in the evening. So why isn’t the doctor in her office? Then she discovers a stapler in a fountain? Lady finally gets the librarian’s attention and he is so thrilled that someone wants to read a book. So why was the door locked? As soon as he lets her in, he suddenly has an important task and leaves her alone in what looks like someone’s junk room instead of a library. The tasks continue back and forth with the same lack luster, with implausible tasks, and with predictable outcome…lady needs to find her man and save him. The story is old and seems too familiar. Fans of Rite of Passage will probably want to add this to their collection, mini fans will enjoy the games, but I am looking for something that intrigues me to continue beyond a mini game focus with an innovative and intriguing story with strong characterizations. This is not that game. But to be fair, I suggest you give it a trial test to see if you enjoy it. Maybe in the future, someone will write an interesting script that moves forward with continuity, with plausible tasks that make sense, with items not just tossed in for the sake of need/use, and develop a clever story that utilizes continuity, clarity, and distribution and use of inventory items that make the story interesting.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing new under the sun... Based on 1/2 h. demo (couldn't take it any longer) Honestly, this dev can do whatever new game they want..., doesn't catch me anymore than the many previous ones. One gets too many objects to deal with at a time and I don't like it. Game is slow with too many dialogs and pop-ups. It totally lacks energy. Music is dull, no effort was made in this instance. Decoy is cheap and "flat". Like already said by another gamer, nothing worth playing it, thus buying it. It's regrettable when one thinks of their first games, it just was a whole other story. Sorry guys...
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dont buy ten minutes into the game was the first HO - It was so dark on one side of the scene you couldnt see anything I would not buy this game ever
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring game Sorry but this game is awful. Graphics are okay, Storyline the same as always, nothing holds my interest and it feels as if I have played something like this 1000 times before. I remember the first games in this series. They were great but this game is a new low. Sorry.
Date published: 2018-05-12
  • y_2018, m_12, d_13, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_28329, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Hackamore Bluff Collector's Edition

Can you find your husband and escape an otherworldly foe?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.