Dark Romance: A Performance to Die For Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Romance: A Performance to Die For Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(548.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games brings you the next chilling installment of the Dark Romance series!

Your plans to propose to your beloved before her next opera performance are interrupted when she’s kidnapped by a masked madman! Things take an even darker turn when you follow them to an otherworldly realm inhabited by both the living and the dead. Your only hope of escape is working together! Can your love conquer all in the face of death? Find out in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Save your daughter from a ghostly ritual in the bonus game!
  • Lots of achievements and collectibles to find.
  • Replay fun mini-games and HOPs.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2065 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Romance: A Performance to Die For Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(548.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Romance: A Performance to Die For Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A game which is much better than what we have gotten lately Based on Demo I just finished the demo of this game and it is a definite buy for me. This is not the most challenging game I've played perhaps but it is not easy. Domini served up a game which gives us intriguing game play by switching the characters as they try to work toward freeing each other. It has good mini games and HOs and beautiful graphics. As others have stated, the story is based on Phantom of the Opera. Phantom or Isaac believes he can only perform his new opera with ghost singers. We meet his star ghost who helps us in our quest to get out of the dungeon. Try the demo and decide for yourself if this is a game you would like to own. I definitely will be buying.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER I played this for one minute and knew it was a winner.....thanks BFG for giving us these high quality games....well, off the play my new game..................
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game with a "Phantom of the Opera" twist Being a fan of anything "Phantom of the Opera", I was hoping to really like this game and I was not disappointed. The story line is similar to Phantom with some twists. The tasks were challenging and fun. I like games where you have the option to choose your difficulty level and this had that. It was fun looking around backstage and interacting with the characters. I recommend this game!
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Domini Games Presents their version of "Phantom of the Opera" A big fan of Phantom of the Opera, when I played the beta, I know what this game was all about, As soon as Roul proposes to Christine, she is kidnapped by a mad man called Isaac who wants her for his Ghostly Opera Musical. There are many obstacles that the couple have to over come in order to be together again.. This game has 4 kinds of collectibles. Notes, Crystals to decorate your room, Theater props and Poster from other plays such as Romeo and Juliet, Camelot, Swan Lake. I love the game from the start to end. Great game
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game. Really enjoyed this. Lasted a long time. Lots of doors to go through. I like to look for extras in the scenes. It had crystals, posters and music instruments. Pretty graphics and good story. I recommend a buy for this.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Game I usually don't leave reviews. I just started this game & I love it. I have all the collections not one has dis pointed. I'm glad I got the collection.
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHERE IS THE DARK ROMANCE? A Performance To Die For is a Domini adaptation of The Phantom of the Opera, originally a series of articles published followed by a novel in 1911, which incredibly, wasn't popular and went out of print. As my fun fact to the left points out, the character is based upon a real person and a real tragedy. The Phantom of the Opera was a man named Erik who helped to construct the Opera and was given his own Box 5. He was rejected by one of the singers at the opera which resulted in his suicide. From his personal box, he fell hopelessly in love, surely convincing himself that she noticed him as well and that the love was mutual. He certainly must have felt that she was as much a part of his life, as she was his, as he watched her amazing performances day after day, it truly was A Performance To Die For! So as my title asks the question, Where's the Dark Romance? Isn't the Phantom of the Opera supposed to be starstruck in love with the performer? Shouldn't the story be played as the starstruck Phantom and the singer, not the fiance & fiancee? Oh well, maybe I should write these stories lol. As usual, Dark Romance is one of the few games that has the feature of playing the game with a split personality (how cool would that be!?) actually as playing the game from both character perspectives, as Christine Burns, the singer who has just gotten engaged, and as fiance Raul Delacroix. Fortunately, that's the only gadget, and it's a good gadget to have! There are Opera Posters and Theater Props to collect as well as not so hidden Crystals to find which allows you to virtually buy virtual items for your virtual dressing room. This game has 6 fairly long chapters and the Bonus Chapter is even longer, you get your moneys worth from this game. I loved the Story (although it shouldn't have included the fiance) and I'm not a fan of the blue-green-purple, blurpuleen color hues they can't seem to curb on their games. I felt the game presented no real challenge either, which kept me from "loving" this game. This is a TO-DO kind of game for me personally. When you can finish the demo without pausing to think about what TO-DO, where TO-DO it, or how TO-DO it, you can pretty much count on being able TO-DO everything easily throughout the game. The Hidden Object Scenes are a bit scarce, and unfortunately, they aren't very impressive. In the demo, there are only a few, the first was a multi-layered scene with Silhouetted Shape finds and an Interactive Listed item find, followed by a Reversed HO scene where you had to take items from the inventory bar and place them into the scene where they logically fit, which were super obvious and not very challenging. You can opt to play a Match 3 Game if you're not thrilled with the HOP's. I like the fact that Domini always gives you two difficulty mode options on their Mini-Games, Easy and Hard, but wouldn't it be really cool if you could play the game in both modes? I'd love to be able to solve the game on the Easy Mode, and then turn around and complete the same game on the hard mode if I so desired. I realize this game offers re-playable mini-games, but not all of them are offered, and you don't have that option in the SE version. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1-Move 4 puzzle pieces to the center in the correct order. 2-Guide a ball through the symbol w/o touching the sides. 3-Use the magnifying glass to locate the numbers shown. 4-Untangle the ghostly chains. 5-Light all handcuff components, one may affect others. 6-Swap tiles to complete image, select the knob to change positions. 7-Swap and rotate tiles to complete the image. 8-Apply make-up to match the mirror's reflection. 9-Flip 2 tiles at a time to find matching pairs. 10-Restore the image by selecting a central tile on a disc to rotate the tiles. This Collector's Edition version has 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 42 Movie Cutscene Videos, 18 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 24 re-playable Mini-Games, 36 Achievements to earn, Missing Journal Notes to discover, 15 Opera Posters and 15 Theater Props to collect, 15 Dressing Room items to buy with 48 collectible Crystals (note: you can opt to disable the "extra indicator icons" in the Custom Setting Mode, otherwise, icons will glow when a collectible is available in that scene or zoom zone) 6 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter (very long BC!) DARK ROMANCE SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Vampire in Love (February 8-2014) 3.9 2-Heart of the Beast (April 23-2015) 3.8 3-The Swan Sonata (October 17-2015) 3.4 4-Kingdom of Death (April 21-2016) 3.9 5-Curse of Bluebeard (October 13-2016) 4.7 6-Romeo and Juliet (February 25-2017) 2.7 7-The Monster Within (September 7-2017) 3.9 8-Winter Lily (January 18-2018) 4.0 9-A Performance to Die For (July 26-2018) n/a by Domini Games
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually, I kind of liked it. I'm a little surprised by the poor ratings. I liked this game. (demo only) Oh well, to each his own. I play these games to relax, kill time and escape. I like the switching characters. There are only so many plot options available so you will have repeats. It is the extras that keep things going. There have been some real stinkers lately, and I'm glad to get back to some basics. I would like to know the length of the game if anyone knows.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed play the game I like the gameplay it was fast, the color was great. I just like this game very much. Would recommend this game.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving this game !! So enjoying this game. the ONLY thing missing (my opinion) - NO morphing objects !! I love looking for morphing items, whether they are in the main screens or HO scenes. Everything about this game, however, has been great so far. Only part way through. I was too busy enjoying the awesome weather here to sit in the house glued to my computer !!
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must I sing? Hello friends! Well, it looks like we have #9 in this series. As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story review to others who do a much better job than I. This developer just keeps getting better and better. The graphics in this addition are exceptional. Yes, we have a bit of blur when going in and out of cut scenes and close ups, but most games seem to have that problem these days. Colors are bright and clear, but not over powering at all. Sometimes it seems like we have some blue, but the other bright colors make everything blend together. Very well done. Animation is very smooth and realistic, including eye movements and facial expressions. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. The voices were well done and were age and character appropriate. We have more character interaction in this addition, which makes a game feel more realistic. Music wasn't bad and did move with whatever was happening at the time. Sound FX were nice, when we had them. I think this addition had a little more music, and not as many sound FX. HOPs are a variety of interactive lists, place item in scene, and highlighted words. Scenes are clear and items were not difficult to find. Nothing new, but well done. You can switch to a match 3 game for something a little different. I didn't run across any difficult puzzles, but I always demo a game in "easy" mode, then move up from there. We can still choose between easy and hard for the puzzles and the full game play as well, for those who want more challenge. Hint system is helpful and actually gives you a hint as to what to do or where to go next. It does transport to longer locations, by opening the map and showing you where your next move is going to be. Again, my favorite map, very clear, areas are well marked and identified, and it shows you which location has a missed collectible. Who needs a strategy guide when you have such a great map? Collectibles are well done, with some challenge, mostly in finding a few very small items. We need to find 15 musical instruments, which can be quite small; 48 crystals that we use to buy items for the boudoir, which are not hard to see, you just have to remember to look for them. We also have 15 opera posters that give us information on the characters. Fortunately, there is a bar over the inventory that tells you when a collectible is in a scene. A reminder to look for it. This game and story flowed very well and was easy to follow. The story was a new twist on Phantom of the Opera. Isaac is our crazed phantom, looking for people to complete his perfect opera. Christine is who he wants to help accomplish that. She gets kidnapped...Raul is out to save her, and of course, they run across many ghosts along the way. The usual story, but it was well done and interesting. There is nothing terribly challenging or difficult, but there is enough action to keep you moving and interested. This is a very nice addition to this series. I do not give 5 stars easily, as a game must be exceptional in all categories. This one fell short because of the blurring, but I still gave it a solid 4.75. Even at that, I liked this game and I am going to add it to my CE list. I think most all levels of players will find this one entertaining and worth the CE price. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not The Phantom Of The Opera I'm a little confused about the comparisons to "The Phantom of the Opera." There is no infatuated misfit chasing his dream girl and training her voice. There is a maniacal director, well versed in magic, striving to populate his new opera with the ghosts of performers he has killed after capturing them and dragging them down to a theater that sank into the ground. So, as a huge ALW fan, I found the story lack luster. Beyond that, the artwork is over saturated in jewel-toned colors - odd since you are supposed to be viewing everything by candle light in the underground theater. There are three different collectibles, a Match-3 alternative to HOPs, mini-games, the ability to switch characters, and an assortment of CE bling. The game was OK. You will find tools and keys and endless pieces to fit in endless locks, doors, drawers, boxes, and to repair a constant barrage of stuff you will use once. Please play the Demo.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is NOT Phantom of the Opera Those who love Phantom/Erik and Christine together or love the Phantom himself will not like this game for the story presented. Like Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phantom, this one wears a half mask, is lean, attractive, strong, musical and magical – and that is where the similarities end. His name is Isaac not Erik (thankful for that) but Christine is still Christine and Raoul is Raoul (with different last names) – the story takes place in an opera house, much of it in the Phantom’s booby-trapped secret tunnels and rooms. The Phantom in this story is all villain - nothing like ALW, Kay or even G.L.s Phantom. There is no shred of humanity in him, only madness – in this game, he never taught Christine to sing and he doesn't love her or even like her – he wants only to kill her and harm her, for her voice in his ghostly Opera. She never heard of him or met him before he abducted her through the mirror - which he did by chaining her with magical ropes and pulling her through as she was screaming for help. As an E/C lover, and long time fan of PotO – this is what makes me hesitate in buying the full game. I could barely get through the demo, wincing at their OOC (out of character) idea of the Phantom and all the lovey-dovey Raoul and Christine (R/C) bits (which I wanted to ffwd through lol). R/C lovers and Phantom haters will LOVE this game. I recommend it for them and also those who don’t care either way (or know the original story). E/C lovers and those who like the Phantom - proceed with caution. Play the demo first, or you may be very disappointed if you buy outright. Just because it says it's Phantom does not make it so. The only similarities are that some of the characters have the same names, it takes place in an opera house with Christine a rising opera singer, and the Phantom is scarred, musical, and wears a half mask. (For E/C and Phantom lovers, I strongly recommend the collector’s edition of the game shown in my profile – Mystery Legends Phantom of the Opera – it plays like a fanfiction sequel, and is E/OW (other woman – Christine’s daughter, actually)– but is kinder to Erik (who calls himself Erik) and follows story so much better, (though not 100%). The bonus is shocking and dissatisfying to some – but soooo Erik, and I rather liked it. ;-) It’s an older game, so doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of newer ones, but it's so much fun!) As for the rest of this game – The games and HOPAs were good with the usual tasks for games of this nature, though that was also enjoyable – good coloring and music - and I love the interaction of objects that do nothing for the progression of the game. That is a feature of Domini’s games- and I love those little surprises – like opening a grandfather clock to the side, and a bat flying out. 3 collectibles (gems in popups), theater posters, and props – with a signal atop inventory bar to show you when there is one in room (or popup). So play the demo and see. I have most of these Dark Romance games, but am unsure about this one, since story is so important to me when I play … and I was put off by their bad version of the Phantom.
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just another cookie cutter with absolutely nothing new. Another kidnapped loved one. Another masked antagonist. Another alternate reality. Loads of shaped keys. The usual laundry list of silly tasks. Unhidden object scenes. Stupidly simple mini-games (yes, even in "hard" mode). Truly ugly graphics in unnatural, overly bright colors. Repetitive music. Amateur voiceovers. Badly-designed user interface. Easy-to-find collectibles. Not the worst game ever, but not worth spending money on, unless you like to run around performing the exact same tasks that are in every game, completing easy uHO scenes and wicked simple mini-games, all whilst listening to repetitive music and amateur voiceovers, and burning out your retinae viewing the nuclear palette.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A PERFORMANCE NOT WORTH IT The graphics are excellent and colorful. This game had so much potential, but falls short due to the excessive amount of inventory that needs numerous parts to fix before you can use them, the going back and forth, and too many puzzles. It wasn't enough to have to find 3 parts of a statue, you then have to find glue....parts for a clipper, including the screw.....parts, parts, and more parts. You feed animals, you sew a bagpipe back together, first having to find the food and needle and thread. This sort of activity goes on and on, and was wearing me out to the point where I lost interest in the entire game. By the time I did find all of the inventory I needed, I forgot where I was supposed to go and put it. Also, in the inventory, you will see either a red cross next to an item indicating it needs a part, then when you find the other part or parts, the cross turns green to alert you that you have found the necessary item needed. This was both in the Custom and Casual mode because I wanted to see if I could eliminate that by changing modes. The parts are also outlined that you need when you go to place them. I don't care for that. You're so busy with nonsense, wandering around scenes trying to place everything and find out what is needed and where to find it that there is no story to be had or enjoyment in the gameplay. It was just too much. It's not a positive sign when I begin using the hint and that is exactly what I began doing because I was tired of all the senseless activity. There is a "ting a ling" sounding pop out from the upper right that occurs every time you find a collectible or gain an achievement. It is totally unnecessary, distracting, and annoying. I ended up having to go and mute this in the options. Your collectibles are crystals to buy things to decorate a room, posters, and musical instruments. These all have indicators above your inventory on the left. They glow when there is one to be found. You can replay HOS and puzzles, however there are so many puzzles in this that they surely will not all be replayable. You take what they decide to give you. The puzzles outnumber HOS in excess which is another reason I did not care for this game. This is not a balanced game. I have most of the others in this series and am very disappointed in this one. This is definitely not a performance worth dying for or buying at all.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Entry in this Series Others in this series have been very enjoyable. I like switching characters to get both sides of the story. But, this one just didn't do it for me, for so many reasons. The story... the game play... the puzzles... the graphics... all were big negatives for me. What DID I like? I like the choice of hard or easy on puzzles (although, why have that choice in the settings when you can choose before each puzzles?). I also like the little things that react when clicked, the things that are not part of the story. Spend time in the scenes, click on random items and see what they do! What DIDN'T I like? Everything else. The colors were too bright with purples and pinks. The scenes were all to cluttered with colorful, unnecessary stuff. The scenes were too cluttered with necessary to the game stuff. Much too much stuff to collect and use. Each scene jam-packed with tasks and inventory to pick up or use. Jam-packed isn't a good thing. It just made for a junky look. What sort of inventory do we have? What sort of tasks do we need to do? We have: magnet, broken lantern, magnifying glass, glass shard, duster... you know... the usuals. We will need to: find a valve, fix the lantern, dust the webs (not the ones we use the duster on, there are other webs we use another inventory item for!), feed the raccoon, feed the mouse, made a fishing rod... more of the predicable. I couldn't take anymore of the demo at the point I was to apply makeup to a mannequin! 4 items. Whoopy. Other PUZZLES: * move 4 pieces to assemble an amulet (some pieces block others) - great, an amulet * drag ball though outline without touching edges * drag magnifying glass around to find 3 numbers! * untangle chains so they don't touch * click "locks" to open, clicking one affects others * swap tiles to restore picture * swap and/or rotate 4 triangles to form picture * apply makeup to mannequin (4 things) ALL were either "easy" or "super easy" by my book. Boring. HOS: Only 2 in the time I played 8 puzzles. * silhouette opens list - super easy * put back items as back story is narrated to us - super easy, except the owl. Who would know the owl sat on his shoulder? COLLECTIBLES: One of the best reasons to play Dark Romance games, there are a lot! * posters - 15 * crystals - 48 * theater props - 15 * notes - if these count, they go into the journal If this is a Phantom of the Opera (and it is) why are only 2/3 of the characters given the original names (with different spellings)? Why is Erik now Isaac? If this is a Phantom of the Opera (which it is), it's a very poor one. Are there better? Yes! Mystery Legends: the Phantom of the Opera is available right here, and is much, much better. It has a dissatisfying ending, but the game itself is tremendously good for a 2011 release. This is really a low quality game with a lot of extraneous stuff to make it seem jam-packed with a lot of action.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use Your Thesaurus: Look up synonyms for Boring, Repetive and Silly I really don't need to say more, my title says it all..again! This game is like every other game. Flashy colors, pretty, vacuous female artiste (who oddly looks like Duchess Kate), has caught the eye of the villain (who oddly happens to be horribly mutilated and knows lots of evil yet brightly colored swirly, magic) whilst you (the suiter of the vacuous girl opera singer) must go through the same sad, highly ridiculous and repetitive maneuvers to save her. I presume there are puzzles and hidden objects, as well as collectables, but as soon as I got through the mirror and saw the piles of silly obstacles on both sides of the chasm I could not continue. I doubt the game will get better as it goes along, but it will be familiar which I assume is comforting to some players. For me, as far as PC games are concerned, familiarity breeds contempt! Give me something new, fresh and challenging! This game stinks on ice! Needless to say, I won't be buying it.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from a real sleeper wow..this was a very boring game. just like the last one in this series.. this game is no 5 star, , zero anything new...zero. the graphics were nice, but so many silly tasks to do. oh well, the early ones in this series were great games..not the last 2.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garish Colors This game was beyond boring. Lots of little tiny pieces to put in little tiny places. Completely lacked an interesting story line. The colors in this game were way overly bright not true to life. I tried very hard to finish the main game and became so bored I did not even start the bonus game. I uninstalled the ugly boring thing.
Date published: 2018-08-02
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_28683, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Romance: A Performance to Die For Collector's Edition

Can you and your beloved escape a mad composer in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.