Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(325.69 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Amax Interactive is proud to bring you another installment in the beloved Dark Tales series!

Dupin is back and better than ever! Your next case with the dashing detective is set in motion after a series of strange disappearances. Each of the victims had recently posed for a famous painter, and each woman received a threatening note afterward. Surely, the painter is to blame… or is he? Nothing is as it seems in this chilling tale of death, obsession, and the supernatural based on a short story by the master of the macabre, Edgar Allan Poe. Follow the clues to find the answers in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Great visual and sound! As always, with this series, great story line. Plenty of action and surprises at every turn. Loved it!”  - Karen, Beta Tester

“I love the Edgar Allen Poe series! I don't know how you keep coming up with new ideas and themes. This is one of the best! The HOPs were interesting, the mini games were clever and unique. Love this series!”  - Claudia, Beta Tester


  • Help the people of Gray Valley in the exciting bonus chapter!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Lots of collectibles and morphing objects to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive videos, concept art, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 627 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(325.69 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait Collector's Edition is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than Expected, Better than Other Recent EAP Surprise, surprise! I was surprised that I enjoyed the entire demo (took 41 minutes)! I am not an entire demo person, so that tells you something right there. Oh, it's not a "great" game, and I wouldn't vote it "best" or anything, and I won't be buying the CE (the collectibles are less than thrilling), the SE will do. First off, lovely music in the intro! I don't usually pay attention, or it's noticeably off. This was nice. TONS of HOS and PUZZLES. I counted what seemed like puzzles, but since they lacked instructions they probably were just tasks that included something puzzling, something to put together, etc. I counted 17 puzzles and 13 HOS in the demo (HOS too might not have been what are considered HOS, but were ones where you look for pieces or so many ofs). HOS: Lots of the recent "minis," mostly find so many of this or that, or pieces of this or that. Silhouettes, lists, storybooks, put wrongly placed into place, etc. Some with lots of interaction. One was to find 16 pieces, then put together a torn note with a code, which then turns into a puzzle using that code. PUZZLES: Heavy on the turn/switch/rotate tokens/pieces/tiles to form an image sort. Some of the turn one it turns others, like always! All of them were super easy. But, for some reason I was still interested in playing. Even the placing labels on jars, which was just to match the jars that already had labels. A minority of them offered "hard" or "casual." In one case it just meant the difference between doing all the pieces, or starting with two already done. The problem with the puzzles (besides the ease and sameness) was the outlines. We do not need outlines for a ripped note. We do not need outlines to fit curved pieces in to a ring (they are curved, no way to place them wrong). We do not need outlines for anything really. Lose them. COLLECTIBLES: Uninspired. Morphs (26) and figurines (13), but not both in each scene. So, you really don't know what you should be looking for. Not consistent. Things I didn't like: Too many cut scenes of much too much peeking through. Peeking through to see imperiled maidens. Peeking through to see a struggling Dupin. Peeking through keyholes... windows... doorways... always peeking. Speaking of Dupin, he's another thing the series can lose. He's been relegated to a supporting character, a minor one giving no support. He either stands and waits (yes, I'm alluding there), gives us obvious suggestions, or weakly struggles with assailants, shoving his cane to and fro. He's no longer necessary! And, what's with changing his appearance every game? No my favorite Dark Tales, the earliest ones have much to recommend them. But, the best in the past couple of years. As an SE I'll get it. The extras in the CE just aren't worth it for me. Oh, don't buy if you're after a Poe story game! They used to be true, but no more. Ha! "Nevermore" perhaps? Time for a new series with a different author? I'd be game for that!
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should have been longer These games are usually highly enjoyable and this one was no exception. It was however way too short which seems to be a common theme these days. I suspect that anyone who is a whizz at these games will polish off the whole game including the bonus chapter in the 90 min trial period. It could easily have been longer with a bit more depth to the storyline
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short & Unimaginative The beginning of the game actually encouraged me to think this would be a great game, at long last. But I had hardly gone much further when the storyline sank back into the same old mold we have seen so, so many times before in Big Fish games themselves: an older person, "devouring" the souls of one or more young women, trying to recapture his or her own long-lost beauty and youth. How many times are we going to have to suffer this same old theme before the game developers start trying something really new for a change??? What's more, the game is so short, even that old beaten theme never gets properly developed. In fact, the whole story can probably be recounted in less than a paragraph. The only things that make the game even as long as it is, are the HOPs and the puzzles. And, yes, the graphics are great (as in almost all Big Fish games); the music is okay; and the HOPs and puzzles are fun - although perhaps way too easy, even in Hard mode. And if that's all you want, then that's all you will get. It's almost as if the developers were in such a rush to put out yet another Dark Tales story, they just slapped together a different (and pretty sloppy) version of an old battered theme. Not exactly a great marketing technique, to say the least... :/ The Achievements are okay, although not really original nor very interesting. One of them is rather ridiculous though, requiring you to solve ALL the HOPs without a single wrong click! As for the Bonus Chapter, it is neither related to the main game, nor does it even make any sense - where did this "brother" come from, and why did we never hear of him before? The chapter seems to have been added only because Big Fish apparently "requires" such chapters in Collector's Editions. Indeed, the Dark Tales series was a whole lot more fun in the beginning when it didn't have ANY achievements OR Bonus Chapters! If only the developers would go back to that earlier format, when the gamers could enjoy the game for its own sake, without having to worry about all this Achievements nonsense OR trying to make sense of such nonsensical "Bonus Chapters..."
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Grab Me Based on the demo, not sure what it's about, but I've discovered that these type of games are a dime a dozen and hold no interest. Sorry, it's a no buy.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the price This was a great game but the reason for the 3 stars is because it is short, so short I do not know why it is considered a collectors edition, even the bonus game was way too short. save your money and wait for the standard edition to come out!
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great game, but.... I loved this game. The story, the graphics, the puzzles. I loved everything about it. So needless to say, once I played the trial version I purchased the full CE. And then, an hour later, the game was over. It was REALLY short compared to other CE's I have purchased. I was really bummed I spent the money.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from flawed entry in a decent series... phoned this one in usually I love the dark tales games. this one though: 1: I was able to finish both the main game and bonus game in less than 3 hours of not even constant play 2: most mini games and HO scenes were too simple, one mini game's objective (even with help from the strategy guide) made no sense & I was forced to skip. When a mini game requires that level of precision and offers no real feedback on progress (until a step is 100% complete, it's all or nothing) you have no way to figure it out beyond blind luck. 3: as other reviewers stated, the stories are getting repetitive and beyond formulaic. (at least the 'let's get in the coach' cut scene only played once. At the same time, some details in this storyline were so quickly glossed over that I no longer cared about the true villain or their motives. wish I had stuck with the basic version and saved myself a few bucks.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A GAME WHICH IS LESS THAN PICTURE-PERFECT! REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Game – Strategy Guide: 30 Pages OVERVIEW: Detective! What is the price of beauty? You will find out as you take an “artful” journey to Bedford, joining Dupin on another case. An artist’s models are disappearing! After posing for the famous artist, Tussole, the models simply vanish! The police suspect that the artist himself may be involved. However, is he the culprit? After one of the girls receives a letter indicating that her soul will be devoured by her portrait, it appears there may be a supernatural element involved in these disappearances. Discover what is behind the disappearances and learn the surprising identity of the culprit. OPINION: This is a very short game. I finished this game, including the bonus chapter in less than four hours. To me, there is nothing to distinguish it from the thirteen (13) previous games within the series. The game is based on an obscure two-page Edgar Allan Poe story. It may appeal to those who love this series or perhaps those who love Edgar Allan Poe. However, I found this game a rehashed cookie cutter version of the others in this series. I was surprised at the “Editor’s Choice” designation. To me, with the brevity of the game, the lackluster HOP scenes and puzzles, plus the lack of extras, this game is not worthy of this rating. To me, it is a decent game but not an outstanding one! I found this game somewhat boring as well. The game lags in some places. There are several scenes in which you collect the same items in multiple mini-HOP scenes. To me, this seemed like time filler. Why not just collect all the items in one standard HOP scene? And of course, it would not be an AMAX game without collecting coins to purchase items. However, the coins are not collectibles; rather, they are collected within mini-HOP scenes. The graphics are realistic with some breathtaking scenes. However, beautiful graphics cannot compensate for this lackluster game. I purchased it and then regretted it. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. The residents of Bedford turn against the old hag from the main game. A curse is put on the town, but not by the witch but by her brother, Bernard. His magical brushes are turning living creatures into stone. Now, with the help of the old hag, stop her brother and return the town to normal. As stated previously, the chapter is very short. There are only five (5) puzzles and three (3) HOP scenes within this chapter. To me, it is not worth the extra money to play this chapter. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are twelve (12) achievements. Collect thirteen (13) figurines and twenty-six (26) morphing objects. You can replay twelve (12) mini-games and twelve (12) HOP scenes. There are the usual music selections along with video sequences and concept art. There are six (6) wallpapers and five (5) screenshots as well. HOP SCENES: There are thirteen (13) HOP scenes in the entire game. There are also fifteen (15) mini-HOP scenes in which you search for a small number of one item or pieces of items. There is a variety of HOP scenes including lists of items, silhouette, and storybook scenes in which you must search for items which are highlighted in the text. There is also a matching scene and a couple of search and replace scenes. I found two (2) creatively designed. In one you replace items back onto an iron gate. I found it somewhat difficult to find the location for the items. In another, you open boxes to match up items. PUZZLES: There are only twenty-three (23) puzzles in the entire game. There are three puzzles in this game which are variations of ones I played last week in other games. The styles may vary, but they are basically the same puzzles. There are a few puzzles which allow the player to choose between a “Casual” or “Hard” version of the puzzle. I found that the puzzles had a good mix of easy and difficult ones. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Jigsaw puzzle. Move between three (3) doors to place pieces into place on a grid to create numbered door placards. B. Cleverly designed puzzle. Cabinet puzzle. Begin with one drawer in a cabinet. Pull out a door handle and place it into position on the cabinet to open yet another drawer. Continue until all drawers are open. Within the drawers you will locate items you will need to use to interact with items in other drawers. C. Map puzzle. Walk through a series of hallways to get to the exit. Place eleven (11) arrows onto a grid to plot the route and then press Play to see if you have the right combination. Played this same puzzle last week in another game. D. Sequence puzzle. Unusual puzzle in which you are given a code with four (4) symbols, each associated with three (3) numbers. Based on this code enter the numbers in sequential order on a telephone E. Rotating tiles puzzle. Place tokens into position to open a gate. After rotating the pieces, press the play button to see if they move to the center to form a circle. Just played this puzzle last week in another game. F. Excellent puzzle. Match -3 game. On a 3-dimensional grid match up obstacles by threes to remove them and open a path for a carriage to move through. Best puzzle in the game. BONUS CHAPTER: G. Assembly puzzle. Combine two or more symbols, from two rings so that when combined they produce a symbol in the middle of the screen. H. Maze puzzle. Go through a maze with a flashlight picking up items to help you overcome obstacles in your path. Just played this puzzle in another game last week.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still Looking for Something for Myself The story is exciting. The cartoon version is okay, and creatively and intelligently acted, but I wasn't thrilled by the obnoxious no-frillsy sound effect the hint button makes, like a person shouldn't have the right to a very special unobtrusive or subtle hint button when they just want to hear the story, interact with it, and tackle challenging puzzles here and there. Is it being done on purpose? The same sound ruins the pleasure of the game for me again when I reach to accept objects from characters when they offer things. I remember feeling relief when the music relieved me of the stupid sound. The morphing objects were not . There were tiny little sillouettes which blended into the background because they were so faint (the shapes were undefined until found) they faded out and reappeared without ever morphing into a different shape. I prefer actual morphing objects that shapeshift. I like more visual effects and interactive setting. The hidden object scenes in the demo were entertaining. I especially loved the second of the two replayable minigames as it was for me enough of a challenge in hard mode that it was something to enjoy that I could happily keep this CE on my PC for, if the rest of the game was more lavish and unobtrusive, especially if other minigames are similarly fun and I don't even mind the too easy if it is beautiful. I liked at least one of the wallpapers (the last) and am always glad to get so many screensavers. I thought the achievement page was ingenious, not that I think of achievements as a useful addition, myself, but this one was tasteful. I can't really say I have an opinion of the music. I would never save the music they selected but that doesn't mean anything. The game is slow but not slower than most and is well thought out with objects in the right places for finding them. I did not enjoy some of the sounds or anything at all about the hint button, but I did enjoy the demo.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the series but this one fell short I love the Poe series especially Dupin (although I preferred his old voice) but this game was way too easy and quick. I was only playing for a short while and I was done, seemed like a bt of a waste of money for a collectors edition. Shame as I always look forward to a new Poe game :(
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Not enough of anything. Too few scenes, too short, seemed like it was written for young children
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dangerous Arts Is it Dorian Gray, waving at me in this game? No, we are of course in Edgar Allan Poe's world, again as Inspector Dupin's assistant, this time hurrying to the aid of a young lady, who fears for her life. She has, like her friends, gone to a famous yound artist, letting him paint her portrait. Nothing dangerous, one could think, though many of the portrayed ladies have vanished and she has received threatening letters. The letters say, she will leave her sould to the portrait and die. Dupin and we can have a few words with her, but then a masked and hooded man appears on the scene. She is dissolving and literally sucked into the painting. But it is not too late, we learn from an old woman, who hands us a book, from which we learn the ways of bringing her back to the living. The hooded man could escape, we catch the painter. Soon we learn, it is not him, who takes the life and souls of the portrayed women, but somebody else, who takes their beauty. The story would be well told, if not interrupted by many puzzles, which are thrown into almost every scene. I like challenging puzzles, but please not into a more or less dramatic moment. For me the puzzles have been placed randomly to bring challenge into the game but with the effect of destroying the plot. HOS are far from the creative approach this developer once had with this feature. So all in all, not one of the outstanding performances in this series. But everyone should try for themselves.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was way too short I've been an avid player of these games because I like EAP. At first, the games in the series did try to stick to the story somewhat, but they barely do that, anymore. Besides that, the games have always had wonderful visuals, good music, and were interesting, which kept me playing, despite the storylines. However, buying this game, the CE at that, was highly disappointing. The game was incredibly short; I wasn't expecting it to end where it did and I sat there for a few minutes wondering if that was really it. I didn't bother with the bonus stuff because I shouldn't have to buy the CE to get a normal-length game. I'm just disappointed in where this series has gone. The game didn't even take me a full hour to play. I'll definitely think twice before buying another Dark Tales game.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This Short Game is NOT a CE It seems Amax games keep getting shorter and shorter. The graphics are very nice in this game. The game itself is exactly like every other AMAX game these days....they are all mostly the same game rehashed over and over. Regardless of story or game play, based on how short the game is, there is no way I will buy the CE. The value is just not there. I honestly don't understand the logic behind making these games shorter and shorter.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stop Holding My Hand! I wanted to get through the demo, hoping that the positive reviews were right...but they weren't. This game is the same as the previous ones only wearing a different shroud. Arrive at the scary location, chat with the detective, search all the bushes and weeds for stuff that will get you in the house, go inside, see something scary, chat with the detective, etc. There are lots of conversations and cutscenes, and, with all the hand-holding during puzzles, I don't know why the devs even bothered to put them in the game...the game shows you where each item goes! I am sure there are those who like the series no matter what, and beginners might find all the hand-holding helpful, but I think it's high time Dupin retired along with this series.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from THE PRICE OF BEAUTY A good artist can draw a painting that is almost lifelike, but a great artist can make a painting come to life. Leonard Tussole was such an amazing artist, it was an honor to pose for a portrait from him. His portraits were incredibly realistic, and the women he portrayed were absolutely beautiful. These beautiful women soon discovered the price to have Leonard paint their Oval Portrait was costly, but there's always a price to be paid for immortality, there's always a Price to be paid for Beauty. Although I found this game to be dull and uninteresting, I have to give Amax credit for a job well done on the Morphing Objects. They are somewhat small (remember the huge paw prints) and they morph at a slower pace to make them somewhat challenging. I can't say the same for the Statues because they stick out like a sore thumb and are located in obvious places. I'm sure die-hard fans will love this rendition of Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait, but there's nothing here folks if you've played any of the Dark Tales games, you'll find this game to be just more of the same. The scenes all look alike, the people all look the same, the graphics are the same, the music is the same, the mini-games and HOS are all the same. In my opinion, Amax should have ended this series after The Masque of Red Death because it's gone downhill ever since...way down! The Hidden Object Scenes are better than the mini-games, not great, but better than. They are varied with Interactive List finds, Multiples of the same Object finds, Silhouetted Shape finds, Finding and Replacing Objects, and several Zoom Zone HOP's where you are tasked with finding Matching Pairs of flowers or several pictured items. There are no alternative puzzles available but some of the HO scenes have a small puzzle to solve. The Mini-Games are mostly just fragments that require placing them onto highlighted slots, and they aren't really interesting or challenging. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1-Place 12 fragments around the ring into highlighted slots. 2-Rotate the rings to create the image. 3-Place torn photo fragments into highlighted slots correctly. 4-Swap pieces to create the correct image. 5-Swap pieces to create the correct pattern. 6-Create a path from point A to B using the pattern shown. 7-Swap books to create the images shown above them. 8-Swap hexagonal tiles to recreate the portrait. 9-Swap tile images to place them into associated categories. This Collector's Edition has 6 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 5 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 21 Movie Cutscenes, 12 re-playable Mini-Games, 12 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 12 Achievements (that don't tell you why you earned it after you earn it?) 26 Morphing Objects, 13 Collectible Statues, 5 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide, DARK TALES EDGAR ALLAN POE'S SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating  1-Murder's In The Rue Morgue (December 17-2009) 3.7   2-The Black Cat (September 9-2010) 4.4   3-The Premature Burial (October 6-2011) 4.5   4-The Gold Bug (January 10-2013) 3.8   5-The Masque Of The Red Death (April 25-2013) 4.4   6-The Fall Of The House Of Usher (March 20-2014) 4.0   7-The Mystery of Marie Roget (February 19-2015) 4.1   8-The Tell-Tale Heart (November 14-2015) 2.7   9-Metzengerstein (July 21-2016) 3.5 10-The Raven (December 29-2016) 3.2  11-Lenore (August 10-2017) 2.9 12-Morella (December 16-2017) 3.7 13-The Pit and the Pendulum (April 5-2018) 3.2  14-The Oval Portrait (August 30-2018) n/a by: Amax Interactive
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Editor's Choice? Wait for the SE to be released I agree with Pilot1 -- leave Edgar Allan Poe alone. This series, especially lately, has really nothing to do with Poe's works. The developers should re-name the series The Diaries of Dashing Detective Dupin or something of the sort. Once again, this is nowhere near CE worthy not only because of the poor bonus content, but because the game is so short. We need to make developers accountable for what they're trying to push off on us by refusing to buy their sub-par CE games. Graphics and the game interface are top notch as always. But nothing new is being brought to the table. At times, I felt like I had played parts of the game before. I'm going to wait for the standard edition and use a coupon on it.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another loser! With all that Edgar Allan Poe endured during his troubled life, he really doesn’t deserve to be plagued by trashy games trying to cash in on his name and fame! If this game is an ‘Editor’s Choice’ then, as I’ve noted before, Big Fish needs to get some new editors! Dull boring story, even if we discount that it’s one we’ve all seen before. Dull boring graphics, poor lip-sync, background music that is more annoying than game enhancing and, to tell the absolute truth, characters I just could not care less about saving! Usually I suggest that you download the demo and make your own decision, but this time I’m going to strongly suggest that you waste neither your download capacity nor your time.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Dark Tales Has Arrived Looking & Playing Like the Ones Before it! The only similarity between this game and the Edgar Allen Poe story is that both had a portrait. So short version of the mangled story: Girls are getting their portraits painted and then they disappear. The local police immediately focused on the painter and Dupin buys into their theory without any evidence. As usual you are helping Dupin with his case as you were both summoned by Mary, who recently had her portrait painted by the same artist. She disappears under your very noses. Good stuff: There's a game, with the usual attributes and decent artwork. As this is the CE version, there are collectibles and some CE bling. Bad stuff: There are so many logic fails in this game that I want to crawl into that grave with E.A.P. and share his hanky! The joke here is that I enumerated every sad moment when I beta tested this sucker three months ago and all the points I made are still up front and just as cringe-worthy. Please play the demo for yourself. You can start your own list of problems, excessive hand-holding, and logic fails. Compete with your friends to see who has the longest list - that's the most fun you'll get out of this game.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Incredibly Short even for me!! I love this developer with the beautiful artwork that I never get tired of and I love this series and Dupin but, this is the second time I have bought a game by them and I actually paid full price to be finished it in an hour!!! I'm not exactly a speedy player as I can only play here and there but this is very disappointing and I must read the reviews before buying from now on. I heavily rely on Penmom lol but didn't check this time around as I jumped since it was from the Dark Tales series and I was confident I was getting another great game in the series. All in all it was an interesting storyline and I loved the collectibles but to charge CE price on such a short game when one could have gone to a movie and spend more time enjoying the entertainment with snacks is not very encouraging to gamers who buy CEs based on the developers and storylines they have come to know and love.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too simple I normally like these games but this one is just to simple. I took off all the sparkles and clues and it still highlights where to move things. Not for me this time.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money! I finished this game in one sitting, about 3 hours. The story line was not engaging at all. I played it at the hardest level and it was very easy. I'm very disappointed as I've enjoyed the other games in this series.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short Way to short for a CE, I usually like this series, this was disapointing
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Bummer Way too short. The lenght is at least 2/3 shorter then the Dark Tales releases of 2014 and before. Not to mention the Bonus Game. I do not rate the music, because I never listen to it. Game is also shorter then the releases of 2016 till 2018. It's the worst Dark Tales game of the 15 I own. I only bought it to keep my collection complete. This one is a waste of money.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too many puzzles There were so many puzzles, the story could hardly move forward without having to solve another puzzle, but even so the story development itself seemed extremely shallow. I played the demo on custom settings, so the puzzles could be skipped quickly. Nevertheless, there were so many puzzles doing nothing to advance the plot, as my mother would have said, just busy work. I doubt the devs even thought much about a story line. They definitely didn't do Poe any favors.
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother, unless you absolutely LOVE jigsaw puzzles suitable for the 3- to 7-year old age group. When I encountered the third jigsaw within ten minutes, I quit. Not an ounce of thought was put into the gameplay. I find it incredibly insulting that AMAX thinks this game is worthy of a $10 price tag. HO SCENES • silhouettes, then find 12 puzzle pieces • storybook find and use • find 16 puzzle pieces PUZZLES • slide 3 tokens to the correct places • match pairs of flowers • torn image jigsaw • rotate concentric circles jigsaw • swap pieces jigsaw Seriously? So the gameplay is ALL finding puzzle pieces and solving elementary jigsaw puzzles? This is even less imaginative than usual. If devs can't be bothered to write original storylines and create innovative, challenging gameplay, then I can't be bothered wasting an hour of my time on their demo.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hsted it I have played many games on here and this game was not worth the time or money. The story is over as soon as it begins with abrupt ending that left me questioning what I had just boght
Date published: 2018-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no overtime.... this game, and the last 5 or so in this series are SHORT!!!!!! guess dupin and his helpers are not getting paid for overtime. the storyline was very weak, the graphics were great, and that is about it. ...please redo this poor series..........anyway, was very letdown,....just , one of the shortest games this year.
Date published: 2018-08-30
  • y_2019, m_12, d_13, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_28867, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Oval Portrait Collector's Edition

A chilling tale of death, deception, and the supernatural!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.