Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(364.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the latest installment of the spine-tingling Phantasmat series!

Your return to writing is overshadowed when a madman kidnaps your daughter and her friends! Your only clues are cryptic messages left by the criminal calling you to the desolate Brighthill Beach. With specters around every corner, can your expertise as a horror novelist help you save your daughter before it’s too late? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Continue hunting ghosts in the bonus chapter!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks, and more.
  • Replay mini-games, hidden-object puzzles, and Match-3!
  • Lots of collectible morphing objects, symbols, and souvenirs to find!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 776 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(364.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOULD IT KILL YOU TO READ A BOOK? Ron Parks was an aspiring young writer who waited anxiously for a reply from five of the most famous Horror Novelists even known, after all, he was their biggest fan! As the weeks turned into months, it became abundantly clear that none of them had even bothered to read his manuscripts, a blow to Ron's ego that would send him over the edge of darkness. It's a fine line between reality and insanity and an even finer line of Ron's deranged revenge plans. They say the first is always the most difficult, but it looks like Ron has already crossed that threshold many times, and your daughter Joan is his next target! This has an excellent storyline, however, it's a horrible Phantasmat! I just think they are distancing themselves too far from the creepy vibe of past games to stories about the deranged. If you've played the original Phantasmat and most of the earlier games, you know that the entire time you're playing, you have a nagging feeling that you might actually be dead, and that was so cool! I'd give anything to be able to write the next script for Phantasmat, my favorite series that's slowly going down the tubes :( There are 36 Ghostly Signs located in each scene and a Morphing Object in about half the scenes. There are icons that show the availability of both of these features in each scene, neither is difficult to spot because a white ghost and a piece of paper with a morphing pumpkin are hard to blend in naturally with the scenery. These games get shorter and shorter, don't they? I was able to complete this game in less than 3 hours without skipping any of the puzzles, not to mention stopping to take notes! The Bonus Chapter is okay, I've never played a BC that was an "on the edge of your seat" thrilling kind of game, but it is a sequel which takes place shortly afterward. You will search for the remaining 8 Ghostly Signs and 4 remaining Morphs, after completing the BC you can return to 20 of the scene locations to find a souvenir. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied and are the typical Eipix style of HOP's, finding 5 of the same objects to receive a tool that will open up the Item List, Silhouetted Shape finds, Multiples of the same object, Sketched Picture finds, Morphing Objects, and Progressive, Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds where you have to interact with the objects in the scene and find items to help you progress. Many of them are multi-layered offering several different types of Hidden Object finds within the same HOP. Most of the HOP's have an alternate Match 3 game available and they can be replayed within the CE Extra's section. The Mini-Game Puzzles are recycled games that aren't in the least bit challenging which was a huge disappointment for me personally. One feature that I've always liked about the Phantasmat series was that the puzzles were the kind that required tinkering with, such as setting specific water levels in tanks or connecting various wire configurations, games that you had to put some logical thought into. These puzzles, however, were basically the same ones that they include in all of their games lately, some of which required little thought or skill to solve them and they are easily solvable on the first attempt. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo and a few afterwards worth mentioning: 1-Rotate & swap path sections to move gems from end to end. 2-Slide tiles to complete the animal images on a cross-shaped puzzle. 3-Rotate rings to complete the image, slide pins to hold rings in place. 4-Drag the silver ball through a maze, stopping on all white circles first. 5-Rotate & place faces on the box correctly. 6-Use directional arrows to navigate a ball to the hole (tricky) 7-Move chain by selecting numbers, arrows will change the direction of moves. 8-Solve the math clue and change the numbers accordingly. 9-Navigate the swamp using directional arrows & a UV lamp to show hidden paths while collecting items to progress. This Collector's Edition has 6 Character pictures with before/after slider bar & dialog recordings, 8 Wallpapers, 8 Concept Art pictures, 7 Music Soundtracks, 12 Movie Video Cutscenes, re-playable Match 3 Games, 14 re-playable Mini Game Puzzles, 13 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Achievements to earn (some available in 3 categories) 16 Scene Location Morphing Objects (11 in Main Game, 5 in BC) 36 Hidden Ghostly Signs (28 in Main Game 8 in BC) a Souvenir Room with 20 Souvenirs (one souvenir in each of the scene locations) 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy the madness! PHANTASMAT SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Phantasmat (January 7-2011) 4.5 (Codeminion) 2-Crucible Peak (December 6-2012) 3.8 (ERS Studios) 3-The Endless Night (January 10-2015) 4.0 4-The Dread of Oakville (July 9-2015) 4.2 5-Behind The Mask (December 17-2015) 4.4 6-Town of Lost Hope (April 7-2016) 3.6 7-Reign of Shadows (October 6-2016) 4.3 8-Mournful Loche (April 13-2017) 3.6 9-Insidious Dreams (September 14-2017) 3.8 10-Curse of the Mist (December 23-2017) 3.0 11-Deja Vu (July 7-2018) 2.9 12-Death In Hardcover (October 4-2018) n/a by: Eipix Entertainment
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DEATH IN HARDCOVER IS EVERYTHING THAT PHANTASMAT SHOULD BE To be truthful, I lost interest in the Phantasmat series long ago and didn’t even purchase the last game – one of the few that I haven’t since the CE version of games was introduced. With this being the third Phantasmat game released this year I didn’t hold out hope that this would be a good game but what a surprise when I played the demo and found Phantasmat Death in Hardcover to be an excellent game. There is no need for me to recap the storyline, which by the way, I found to be excellent and thrilling. It was a storyline that held my interest from the very first scene as I tried to find out why this madman was targeting me and putting my family at risk. What made Phantasmat Death in Hardcover such a great game? Aside from the well told storyline, what really grabbed me were the very creative HOP scenes. Those scenes were excellent and sometimes challenging with one of them having me a bit confused until I figured it out. The puzzles are terrific and some seemed quite challenging at least for me. Although I am not a fan of the thriller theme in HOPA games, Death by Hardcover gripped me from the very beginning. As I played there were times I was on the edge of my chair but I still couldn’t stop playing since I had to see how this all ended and if Marcia would be able to rescue her family. This game is fairly intense and one that might not be appropriate for all members of the family. For once, all those warnings that we see in games, really is true. If you are able to handle an intense psychological thriller, then you will most likely love this game. Many gamers, I am sure will agree that this is the game we have been waiting to see: a game that is designed for adults and one that elicits a range of emotions while playing. EIPIX did an amazing job with this Phantasmat that, IMHO, would definitely qualify as a candidate for game of the year. Congratulations on an excellent game! Even though I really found this to be an incredible game, PLEASE try the demo to see if Phantasmat Death in Hardcover is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Phantasmat goes really scary! A thrilling story, a great performance and a lot of scary moments, this is, what we experience as Marcia, novelist and the famous author of horror bestsellers. On coming home, we realize, the house was broken in. Our daughter is at a resort with friends for some days, so she should be safe. Then, the next call, an anonymous man informs us, he has kidnapped our daughter and her friends and we should come to the resort. He won't tell us, who he is, but asks for remembering our truest fan, whose letters we never answered. Step by step we come to know, who this man is. We find prove for the murder of a close friend and realize, we are confronted with a psychopath. Fast pace, very impressive effects, variable features (HOS, puzzles) - this Phantasmat has all, a scary HOPA should have.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MEET AND GREET ASPIRING AUTHOR RON PARKS IN ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF THE YEAR! REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME: 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 42 Pages OVERVIEW: As the famed horror novelist, Marcia Clay, you have an extensive fan base. While you are off on a book tour, your daughter, Joan, is off on a road trip with friends. However, you will find yourself in your own horror story, Marcia, when your daughter’s car breaks down and she is kidnapped by “your biggest fan,” a demented aspiring author named Ron Parks. This deranged fan is now sending you messages and clues as to where your daughter is located. In this cat-and-mouse game, you must follow his exact instructions to locate and rescue your daughter and her friends. Experience some twists and turns on this wild goose chase. However, you will get some needed assistance from some “ghost writers.” You are off to the ghost town of Rose Bay. Time is of the essence. Can you stop this psychotic serial killer? OPINION: Kudos to EIPIX! What a superb psychological thriller! This is a long game steeped in suspense and oozing with ghosts! In my opinion, this is one of the best psychological thrillers I have played this year. This game is a vast improvement from recent games from this developer. This game should appeal to those who love this genre of games. This is not one for children; the macabre element within this game is intense. The graphics ooze with creepiness. The ghostly ambiance of the ghost town, Rose Bay, with its dilapidated buildings, add to this chilling tale. This is not as scary as it is macabre. The physical appearance and personality of the unhinged Ron Parks add to the overall unsettling feeling while playing this game. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are thirteen (13) achievements. Collect thirty-six (36) ghosts and sixteen (16) morphing objects. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with concept art, video cut scenes, and music selections. Collect twenty (20) souvenirs at the end of the game. You can replay fourteen (14) puzzles and thirteen (13) HOP scenes. BONUS CHAPTER: It Is a sequel. You, as Marcia Clay, return to Rose Bay after receiving a letter from an unexpected source. It appears that the final chapter is not yet completed on Rose Bay. There are five (5) puzzles and four (4) HOP scenes in this chapter. I found it of decent length and worth the extra money for the collector’s edition. HOP SCENES: There are twenty (20) HOP scenes in the game. They are standard fare seen in other games. I found one which is somewhat unique. Silhouette items to be located are placed on a lazy susan with six different shelves which must be rotated to locate all the items. There are two (2) scenes with morphing objects and one with rebus clues (which is a type of HOP scene I enjoy). Most of the others are straight lists of items or silhouette scenes with some interactivity. There are a few storybook scenes with items highlighted in colored letters. You can play a Match-3 game in lieu of the scenes. PUZZLES. There are twenty-eight (28) puzzles within the game. I enjoyed playing the puzzles more than the HOP scenes. There are not many puzzles in the beginning of the game; however, toward the end, there is an avalanche of them. They vary in difficulty and style, with most being of middle difficulty with a couple which I found difficult. For once, I found the directions easy to follow. I like the twist EIPIX took in modifying the “Queens 8” puzzle. EIPIX revamped this old chestnut, bringing it into the computer age with a board set on a computer screen using tokens instead of chess pieces. Quite clever and unique! SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Pinball wizard! Connection puzzle. On an arcade-type pinball machine, use four (4) arrows to maneuver a ball to an exit slot, hitting bumpers along the way. If you miss a bumper to stop the ball, it will go out of the grid and you must restart! B. Connection puzzle. On a grid, create a path by rotating tokens with arrows upon them so that all arrows are connected while avoiding “X’s” in the path. C. Let’s go bowling. Bullseye puzzle! Strike bowling pins with two balls, clicking on a bar to build up strength, then clicking on the ball when a green circle is centered to knock down the pins. You get two chances to remove all the bowling pins. D. Mathematical puzzle. Move a latch along a scratched path choosing a number on a grid at the side. The latch will move that many spaces. You will need to calculate how many squares you need to go forward and backward to reach the end. E. Sequence puzzle. Pop balloons in a specific order to keep a level centered in the middle of the screen. If you choose the wrong balloon, the level will dip causing you to start over. F. BONUS CHAPTER: Connect-the-Dots. Connect dots on a home security device. In this case you will need to choose the correct dots in the proper order so that all dots are visited once. G. BONUS CHAPTER: Queens 8 puzzle. In this case, place tokens (not queens) onto a computer screen so that there is only one token in each row and column.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a literary genius... Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. Again, we have the Energizer Bunny...this series just keeps going and going. Graphics are well done, but as usual, there is some fuzz to them. Animation is quite well done with appropriate facial features and smooth movements. Colors, although a bit faded, are well done and seem to fit the atmosphere of the game. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. Voices are well done, with some fear, urgency, and our "bad guy" has a creepy sinister voice and face. Otherwise, not a lot of dialog yet. Sound FX, which again include the sounds of a winter storm, are well done. Music seems only present when something is happening or about to happen. HOPs are varied and have an interesting set up. You have a variation of interactive lists, morphing items and HOPs within a HOP. Scenes are clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. I did not see that you could switch to something else. Puzzles are challenging without being overly difficult. They do take some time and thought to complete. The hint system is quite helpful, but I did not see that it transported you to longer locations. It wouldn't be the first game that had that feature show up as the game progresses. The jump map also saves you time, but I found it to be rather bland and boring. Collectibles were a little disappointing but okay. We need to find 16 morphing items that all seem to be pumpkin pictures. Not hard to find at all. We also have 36 ghost figures to find. They are all the same and plenty large enough to see. No real challenge here at all. The opening scene is very well done and makes you want more. Then the story slows down, with bits of pieces thrown in here and there as to why things were happening. Of course, we stayed with the Halloween theme that seemed much like Haunted Hotel. I did get a little tired of hearing the creeps voice so much and we did have to choose dialog whenever we used the phone. Fortunately, that wasn't much. That said, this addition to this series, fits with with this time of year. If you are into creepy, you will like this one. I did give it a 4.5 in hopes that the story picks up soon, and the challenging puzzles. I do feel it is a predictable story, but I like it well enough to add it to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been better Not a bad premise but I don't see the need for the warning in the beginning. This was pretty tame. I don't like that the mini-games get longer and more complicated as the game goes on and our character does make some stupid decisions. Yet another game where the opening is strong but by the end, it's weak as water. The bonus game is a joke, there was no need to have it at all except to make you want to break your screen in frustration with how it changes the stories end. Big Fish should make a separate part of the site for games that aren't as tame. I'm not saying it has to be a gore fest or have nudity and swearing, just that they should have more scares so the story doesn't fall flat in the end. Go for the standard version on sale but not the CE.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Spoiled Child He didn't get his way, so he murders people -- really. The story line was terrible. The only redeeming features for me were the hidden objects and mini-games.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Story, Terrible Graphics I found the story of this game excellent and engaging. The graphics of all locations however were blurred and very poorly done. You would have to go back about 8+ years to find games with graphics this poorly done. Eipix is a seasoned developer and there is just no excuse for this. I'm still at a loss for why BFG allows game quality to continue to fall like this. Shorter games, worsening graphics, no logic, and ridiculously easy puzzles...remind me again why we should continue to buy/play these games???
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WE KNOW "WHO DONE IT" 10 MINUTES INTO THE GAME! Bummer. What kind of a who done it game lets you know at the beginning who the bad guy is? Sure did take away from the game play for me. The story line is excellent...so much potential..but once again in my opinion EIPIX falls short in that department. The HO scenes were fun as were most of the mini-HO's. I will say I do not like the LARGE hint tab and Large task list tab with wasted space on both sides of the screen. What that means is you must click through you inventory to find what all is there. The voice overs were good but the graphics could have been better. I played for an hour of the demo and that was sufficient for me. However, try the demo...you might find it is the right game for you.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why so hard After playing the trial game, and two reviewers who said the game was easy, I bought the CE game. It definitely is NOT an easy game. It gets confusing and the mini-games are unsolvable, While EIPIX makes good games, none of them are really easy. If you are good at strategy and forward thinking, then this game is for you, but not me. Since I bought the game, I will finish it. I might try to play it a second time. But, maybe not. -
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing On Many Levels The game title and description, as well as the opening cutscene, raised my hopes that - finally - Eipix might have come up with a good game. But these hopes were sadly dashed in a matter of minutes. We get a warning at the very beginning of the game that this "psychological thriller" may not be "suitable for younger or sensitive audiences." While the second part of the warning is definitely true (it quite probably is not suitable for said audience), the first part is not, because the game is not a "thriller" by any stretch of imagination. In fact, there is not even any suspense or a mystery. It also deviates from the usual Phantasmat game format. Oh, there are ghosts all right, as is the case with all Phantasmat games. But they are only there to help. The only villain is a real, live *serial killer*; whose identity is revealed in the first few minutes of the game. Moreover, both the description of the game, as well as shortly after the beginning of the game itself, reveals that this man has kidnapped the heroine's daughter and that the story is going to be about the heroine's quest to get her daughter back. So, as I said, there isn't even any mystery or suspense - unless the question is whether the heroine will succeed in getting her daughter back. But then, doesn't she always, in these Big Fish games?!!! So the storyline is not original, nor really very interesting. The Hidden Object Puzzles (HOPs) are easy, though not very original or interesting either. Some of the puzzles are really good though, and also pretty easy. As for what you might call collectibles, there are two sets of things we must collect in the game: morphing objects and "signs." But both of them are pretty easy to collect too, since all the morphing objects and signs are identical. In other words, you have to find the same morphing object (a pumpkin) and sign (a ghost) in different locations. The lower-right part of the screen even signals whether there is a morphing object and/or sign at a given location. So that makes it even easier to find both these sets of collectibles. As for Achievements, it's the same old assortment we find in all the Phantasmat games made by Eipix. And, yes, this game also has the Eipix feature that I really like: you can get almost all the Achievements even after finishing both the main game and the Bonus Chapter. There are only two achievements that you have to get during the game. One is Swift Feet, for which you have to use the Map once during the game to get from one location to another. The other is Match-3 Master, for which you have to switch to the Match-3 mode to complete an entire HOP. This option of playing Match-3 instead of an HOP is not available with every HOP in the game, however. So you have to keep an eye out for it, in order to go for this particular achievement. As for the Bonus Chapter, unlike so many other Big Fish Collector's Editions, this game's bonus chapter *is* actually related to the main game, instead of appearing to have been just tagged on apparently to fulfill some Big Fish requirement for making a Collector's Edition. For the gamers who would rather play just the standard edition of a game, however, the good news is that the main game is actually quite complete in itself. So you can just buy the standard edition, if you like. I must note, however, that the Bonus Chapter does provide a kind of closure to the main story. To recap: I wasn't really impressed with the story. But then, I am not fond of stories about serial killers anyway. Even for a serial-killer story, however, there were just way too many murders. Thankfully, there was no "gore" at least - you know, pools of blood, cut-up body parts, that kind of gory stuff. But then, the Phantasmat series has never been about kidnapping, serial murders, etc., either. So I really don't think that this game even belongs in that series. Finally, as far as a recommendation goes... Well, if you do like stories about kidnapping, serial killers, etc., then you might well like this game. For everyone else, however,
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ~~A MEDIOCRE EDITION TO THIS ON GOING SERIES.~~ While Marcia Clay, the acclaimed writer of several horror novels, is off on her book tour, her daughter Joan is out with her friends enjoying their road trip. Things take a dark turn when Marcia receives an anonymous call that her daughter has been kidnapped by a deranged enthusiast of her work and she needs to go to the abandoned town of Rose Bay immediately! What would you do if a horrifying story that you wrote actually played out in real life? Can you help Marcia connect the dots and save her daughter? Gamers who are sensitive to this kind of story theme are warned during the intro and with due cause! The main concept in Death in Hardcover is definitely intriguing, and the rich backstory adds some depth to the storyline. Unfortunately, the execution does not hit all the right notes. A few moments are completely illogical and the half-baked horror atmosphere does not do anything to make this installment an improvement from the last addition of this otherwise great series. It seems to me that as the series progresses, Phantasmat games distance themselves further and further away from the creepy and atmospheric original game. Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover does resume some of the psychological thriller aspects established by some of the recent Phantasmats (with some assistance from old-school horror elements) but it's not enough to make this game CE worthy. I think Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover would certainly benefit from a more atmospheric approach to the graphics and special effects. This does not mean that the game is not visually-captivating as it is, but an increase in the creepy factor would be appreciated. As for the soundtracks and the voice-acting, they are perfectly orchestrated as usual. The dramatic and suspenseful background music drives the sense of urgency in the game, and the voice-overs really succeed in delivering engaging dialogues IMHO. The hidden object scenes are smartly-layered but a bit mundane, with clichés and tasks that we have solved a thousand times before. The adventure part of the mystery is plagued with puzzles which were quite difficult for me and less than enjoyable to play. That's one factor as to why I gave this edition only 2 stars. I completed Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover in four and a half hours, bonus chapter included, because even though the game was not perfect, I was captivated by the storyline. After twelve (12) installments of this series I am still a fan of Phantasmat, I just think Eipix needs to explore more unusually creepy story concepts for their next installment. Cheers! In this series so far: • Phantasmat • Phantasmat: Crucible Peak • Phantasmat: The Endless Night • Phantasmat: The Dread of Oakville • Phantasmat: Behind the Mask • Phantasmat: Town of Lost Hope • Phantasmat: Reign of Shadows • Phantasmat: Mournful Loch • Phantasmat: Insidious Dreams • Phantasmat: Curse of the Mist • Phantasmat: Déjà Vu • Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I can't help comparing to earlier phantasmats, so nah. Early Phantasmats are some of the best, most complex games I've played so this entry must be compared, and it did not come out well. It veers off into a weird killer theme more like the Haunted Hotel story lines. I found it quite disappointing, and even boring. Not a great sign when you just want it to be over because you tend to finish any game you start. I hope this isn't an indicator of the Phantasmat series' future.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There Is No Middle Ground Here... How you feel about the newest entry in the Phantasmat series may well depend on your liking for clichés and old "B" movies. You remember the time when every game started with a vehicle crash? And those old movies where the leading characters ran into the scary haunted house miles away rather than walking down the block to the police station? We once again have to deal with angry bees and we get to ignore any survival instinct in favor of running where a madman calls us. Add in the sharp shell we carry around instead of the box cutter with the new blade we had at first, and you find yourself starring in your own "B" grade horror film. (This means you will be the author who's teenage daughter falls into the hands of an obsessed, frustrated, and deranged fan/writer out to get revenge for being ignored by his published heroes.) So, good stuff: You get collectibles, CE bling, usual game elements including clichés, decent art work, and an off-kilter story. Bad stuff: There will be angry bees, and a mother who puts herself in the hands of a madman rather than call the police, all the while clutching her sharp shell. Bottom line: There are a bunch of reviewers, possibly in the grip of nostalgia, giving this new Phantasmat lots of stars. Then there are those who remember the wonder of the first game, the growing dismay as new games lost IQ points, and our realization that Eipix had taken over the bad screen writers' retirement home. The story may not seem as woeful to you. You may want to carry your sharp shell as a badge of honor. Someday, all the ways you have learned to subdued angry bees may be just the skill-set you need. Please play the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great concept, lousy execution. I loved the idea of this storyline, because it offers natural places to put HO scenes and mini-games, and because it's both different and suspenseful. Unfortunately, the execution was terrible. I quit after 35 minutes, because I encountered a sequential find-and-use HO scene that made NO logical sense. The setting was a boat, and the task was to unlock the cubby so I could fuel the boat. Now... • What rational, thinking person would use two glass fishing floats to hold up the top of a bench? I mean, what?! • Would it occur to you to use a metal spring from a couch as a lock pick? Yeah, me either. The mini-games were a bit better, although the instructions lacked clarity. But the regular gameplay was mainly finding a bunch of shaped keys...again. Oh, yeah, there were bees to smoke away too. I'm extremely disappointed for two reasons. First, I really enjoyed Mournful Loch. The villains were actually creepy and the plot was well thought out. Second, Death in Hardcover had so much potential in its plot, and that potential was wasted. Ten minutes in, we already know who the perp is and what else he did, which erased most of the much-needed suspense. After that, the game became an exercise in patience...which I quickly lost.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad and dated gfx and unecceasrily complex minigames destroyed the experience for me This could have been a good game, if the graphics has been up to today standard, which it, by far is not. Even the first 2 Phantasmat, which wasn't developed by Eipix looks better than this, and played way better. The story-line is good, if not exeptional. The graphics not at all. But the sounds were okay, with good voice acting. But unnecesarily complex minigames was also a turnoff. It's OK, that some minigames are complex and interesting, if it's LOGICAL that they are. Not so here. All-in-all not recommended, for people who played the old Phantasmat, before Eipix took over.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major Disappointment I liked the Phantasmat series in the beginning but I think this game just completely destroyed it. This is by far the worst game out of all of them and a reminder never to pay for a full version ahead of time no matter how good this or any other series used to be. New games for this series are definitely no longer on my list of must play much less must pay attention to.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My Opinion { Warning Contains Spoilers} I simply hated this installment of the series. This game was very dark and depressing. Usually you can try to save game characters or at least bring them peace but you couldn't in this game. You could only save yourself and your daughter. Everyone else was killed. No hope. You can't even get justice at the end. The killer gets away. Poor game in a wonderful series.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AN ABSOLUTE WASTE The worst part of this very short game was the horrendous graphics. FOG and HAZE EVERYWHERE....washed out scenes....eye strain deluxe. It was sickening. Story was depressing with drab scenery to match. Too many mini hos...and puzzle instructions that didn't make sense at times. This was not enjoyable at all, seeming to go on and on, going nowhere. I couldn't wait to get it over with and didn't even care about the stupid collectibles of 36 ghost signs and 16 morphs or even having replay of hos and puzzles. It was boring and an utter waste of time, even to talk about. No effort put into this and has a definite lack of artistry. With an abrupt ending.... a 35-45 minute bonus if you chore through the puzzles, this is by far the worst Phantasmat of them all. Unbelievable. The only psychological thrill of this was uninstalling it.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Is it good to be "sensitive"? I dont play as many games as I did for a while. Or feel an urge to review ones I do play. Multiple reasons probably but anyway I played this one through including bonus. It has features of interest and of quality in production. Of course in detail the plot etc would be possible only in HOPA world but one suspends disbelief. as so often reading the reviews I can see sense in all of them and they can all reflect players' experience. At the beginning it suggests the game may be too troubling for the very young or for the "sensitive"? The number of deaths and the grisly mode of deaths is on scale of the old Paris Grand Guignol or of a row of Stephen King novels compressed into one. The suggested suffering is appalling... but perhaps to feel that is a degree of "sensitivity" of the sort not making for an ideal player of this game. Know yourself as the philosophers say. and decide. for me the answer is that I cannot recommend this game as being good experience and material to add to memory and imagination. an emphatic thumbs down here.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from To sick to enjoy! Stopped playing the game as we found it to depict the sickest part of our society. This is not entertainment!
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from forced finish... had to force myself to finish this dreadful game. this was at one time a great series.not now. everything about this game was old and just bad. blurred graphics,laughable storyline. sad, the first 2-3 in this sreies were good games.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Quit Before the Demo Was Over I really have to agree with sjkmh45... not even the demo was any kind of fun. The graphics are terrible... washed out, fuzzy, and primitive, as if the entire game was simply thrown together in a hurry. This is such a far cry from the excellence of the first Phantasmat, which won awards for best hidden object game, it hardly deserves the name. The story... well, let me ask you this. If your daughter and three of her friends had been kidnapped and tied up and you know who the perp is and also have a memory stick with video, what would you do? Call the police or go charging off on your own in a boat left for your use by... wait for it... the kidnapper? Also, please don't follow the example of using fertilizer in a bottle to make a smoke bomb, lighting the rag wick and then carrying it around for awhile while you fiddle around with gasoline. It won't end well.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seldom The storyline and visual presentation goes way beyond a game. I find the whole thing repulsive and not acceptable as any kind of "fun". I don't do reviews, but this just was way too ugly to not say something.
Date published: 2018-10-04
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_28953, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phantasmat: Death in Hardcover Collector's Edition

Can you stop a crazed kidnapper in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.