Virtual Villagers Origins 2

Virtual Villagers Origins 2

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(79.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Return to the famed and mystical island of Isola and be drawn into the latest edition of the beloved Virtual Villagers series! In the wake of a volcanic terror on the neighboring island of Asura, a family has made their way to Isola, seeking a new home. As their boat lands on the beach, they are greeted by a strange man and begin to explore this mysterious new world.

The beautiful and curious island of Isola was once a paradise home to a thriving civilization but has gone to ruin and untamed jungle. The twists and turns will leave you discovering new, interactive, magical moments at every turn! Be the master of your own village in this exciting strategy adventure game.

  • Breed, heal and care for your beloved village
  • Gather and combine resources
  • Train villagers to survive in their new world
  • Explore the charmed island to solve all-new puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 185 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Virtual Villagers Origins 2

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(79.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Virtual Villagers Origins 2 is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been Waiting for a New Villager I love this game. Challenging enough yet not to hard. If you say no to the tutorial the annoying man doesn't show. I learned this after a restart of the game. Personally I cant say anything bad about this game. I can say its a must try.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back VV I love this game, I have played all the other VV games and I think this will be the best. Beautiful graphics and I like zoom in. I also like choosing your first 5 villagers. I am very early in the game. Only issue not helpful to have no forum as yet. Having trouble figuring out things. Directions?
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this game! Can always tell how good a game is by the amount of time it makes me procrastinate from my work... I didn't do much work yesterday lol. Lots of in game puzzles etc keep me interested
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unlimited Lavastones I have always loved playing the vv series! Was so disappointed with vvo2, until I figured out how to have unlimited lavastones. Now it's the game I've always loved!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Excellent comeback from the virtual villagers games. It's hard work to get the tech points but it's fun getting there.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Missing Store As with all the VV games everything takes a long time, training villagers, crafting items and working out puzzles! You need alot of patience! I'm missing the store which should be in the bottom left hand corner so everything is taken treble the time as can't purchase lavastones/tech points, which is why I given it a 4 instead of a 5
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My love/hate relationship with VV hasn't changed It was another Virtual Villagers game, so despite me saying every time that I won't play it, I broke down and bought this one too. It's the same VV game you are used to, with a few interesting changes, such as lavastones that allow you to enhance your villager and a cute lemur that shows up to help out with a tedious task. Adults can now gather certain items needed for crafting (similar to grabbing herbs for stew in previous versions) and all can gather fireflies that buzz around. My issue with this game is in collecting other items - there was a pearl available for kids to pick up when the game started, but otherwise, you seem to have to craft things in the collections or find them in earthquake cracks that show up. It shows the outline of several fish - which I see popping out of the water for about 3 seconds at a time - but I can't seem to collect them with kids or adults. This wouldn't be such a problem normally, but there are no valid walkthroughs for the PC version of this game thus far, nor is there a BF forum in which to ask and answer such questions. You can get SOME help online, but it is related to the app version which has several differences. That is probably my biggest problem with this game, and close to being a dealbreaker for me. You REALLY do need as many tips and tricks as you can get from the forums here or online walkthroughs, but until they become available, I can only recommend this to hardcore VV veterans. Giving the benefit of the doubt that this oversight will soon be corrected, I like the new features and the puzzles thus far presented. Sadly, the options of slow/regular/fast speeds are gone - you have only real-time or pause. Why they'd remove that wonderful feature is beyond me, but it is what it is. But who am I kidding? Virtual Villager games are just as addicting as they are annoying, and this one is no different. So, it was an immediate buy for me. ;) But PLEASE, get that forum up and running for us ASAP!
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it BUT.. 23 hours to wait for the crafting of glass ????....... and then you have to do it, another 4 times ?? That's just out of order !
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVE VIRTUAL VILLAGERS GAMES! Having said that, I'm not as pleased with the graphics, but, building huts, clothing shops and the other buildings is lot's quicker. Before, you had to watch the workers carry wood and the building process took forever! This game has a nice flow to it and I am off to a new adventure to help the homeless villagers build a new village, gaining valuable skills as they go! I bought this before I tried it and I'm glad I did. AND, our first new citizen will be born in 3 hours!!
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but why no community forum? I really like the Virtual Villagers series, and this is a great addition but it is slower moving. As usual, the villagers have quests to finish and jobs to do. Lava stones are the currency and you earn them by doing tasks. Near the end of Chapter 1 it is very slow, it takes days to craft an item unless you have a lot of lava stones. If we were given more opportunities to earn the lava stones, it would make for a better game.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always an interesting game for those of you that find the "villagers" too small, hit the gear button ( settings) and turn off HIGH QUALITY. that will bring your Ant people to a more manageable size. My one complain and it's always the same with this company that the game takes to long to develop the villagers and their skills
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great But..... I have played and loved all the VV series and have long awaited a new adventure. I am loving most of this new addition. The villagers are lovely and so is the island. There is a lot more to this island than previous games with better graphics and great scrolling zoom feature. I am ok with the lava stones you can use though not overwhelmed. I have issue with the difficulty in picking up villagers to move them (could just be me) but I miss having different speed choices.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DAY ONE OF MY PROGRESSIVE VILLAGE... I think I may have enjoyed this game more if it were a Point and Click game rather than a Drag Everyone Everywhere Until You Get Hand Cramps kinda game. I also didn't like the fact that my screen kept zooming back into a wee little tiny village so I was constantly having to scroll to zoom back in. I had issues "grabbing" villagers on my neverending Dragfest Quest, I'd click on a villager in several places, sometimes I'd get lucky, other times the sneaky little bugger would keep on walking and pretending as though I didn't exist, but I can't really blame him for not wanting to be a puppet on a string. Basically, your village starts out with 5 villagers of your choosing, but I wasn't allowed to create a Village of all Women, nor was I able to create a Village People Village of all Men (hey it's nearly 2020 now peeps, let go of the past, lol) I chose to go with a Harem instead of 4 Women and 1 Man, so if the Love Shack's a-rockin'... Now I have fully established my Harem Village only to find out there's work to be done. Well, that's just great, I created a Harem thinking everyone was going to have a great time, wink, wink, but now I'm just making everyone work to death, and with only one man in the village you know who's going to be doing all the work! For now, I'm going to keep my eye on Felipe Rose to make sure he's pulling his own weight in my progressive Harem Village, no work, no play, I've got to establish dominance and position myself on top of the Village Totem Pole as Chief because I'm not quite sure yet if these villagers are cannibals? I didn't see this particular "skill" set on their resumes, however, they are constantly saying they are hungry =o( Finally! After a few failed attempts of teaching my Harem Villagers to forge for Coconuts to stop them from eyeballing me, they stopped complaining about being hungry. I thought it was safe to teach them how to build and maintain a fire, but now I'm getting suspicious of Felipe Rose again, I think he's putting two and two together? Speaking of putting two and two together, I decided to distract fire-crafting hungry-eyed Felipe Rose with another Harem Villager. They got into a fight almost immediately, making me doubt my role as Chief Totem Pole. A good Chief never gives up, so this time I selected a beautiful Brunette to tempt him, hopefully, she'll be less feisty. Bingo! I just spotted Felipe Rose and the beautiful brunette sneaking off. I'm bettin' Felipe Rose wants to show the beautiful Brunette how to craft a fire!? VIRTUAL VILLAGERS SERIES LIST Title***Release Date***Average Rating   1-A New Home (July 15-2006) 3.6 2-The Lost Children (February 14-2007) 4.5 3-The Secret City (May 28-2008) 4.6 4-The Tree of Life (February 25-2010) 4.3 5-New Believers (January 6-2011) 4.2 6-Origins 2 (January 7-2019) n/a   by: Last Day of Work
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish List for Mac version I enjoyed the game tremendously when I first started, but now the ability to progress and solve puzzles has become painfully slow. The version I bought is for my Mac (I'm running Mojave 10.14.3) and there are a few things I like to suggest to the developers that I think might make the game on this platform more enjoyable. 1. The cost to add an additional crafting bowl is 300 lavastones, which I think is nearly impossible to acquire unless you never, ever use them for anything else. Since we don't have in-app purchases as an option, it would be nice to reduce the cost to upgrade. 2. The time required to make any of the ingredients seems SO high! Who, as a player, wants to wait 12 hours to make ceramic? With the high "cooking" times, there's not much to do between collecting recipes. Would you please consider reducing those wait times significantly? Would make the game move a lot faster. 3. The process of collecting the last bonus was unnerving. It would add a totem, and then my game would lock up. I'd quit, reopen the game, and then the mysterious crate would appear again, and I'd collect the bonus, and the game would lock up again, and so on. Considering that I received 16 totems, I had to go through that process far too often. I actually thought that the game had malfunctioned and I would be out of luck to continue play. 4. I never noted the opportunity to deal with frogs and herons - is that not a part of the Mac version? 5. PS I do appreciate the full-time lemur. That rocks! Thank you, devs, for perhaps considering these suggestions. other Mac players - your thoughts?
Date published: 2019-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always Good! I only played the demo but definitely will be purchasing the game. I've always loved the Virtual Villagers series and this one did not disappoint! The graphics are SO much better and, as always, the puzzles are very challenging. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because I couldn't find a way to speed up the game like I was able to in previous games. There is a 'pause' option, though, which is needed since this game is in real time.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Virtual Villagers Origins 2 Oh my It is so fun to play VV again. I have them all and have used a lot of hours playing. Its a game in real-time but you can stop the time. You create 5 villagers to begin with and the start can be hard because you must collect food and have a research team and start a familie. There is a lot to explore. I recommend this game
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying this one I'm really enjoying this game. I have played all the previous games, and this ranks right up with them. I am disappointed that this one doesn't come with the store.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Were is the shop, frogs, herron I see that looking at other reviews of this game that there should be a shop that you can exchange extra goods for lava stones, which explains why you end up with so many (metal, clay bamboo, magic etc) I assume so that they can be traded, as well as frogs that make villagers sick and you can use some of your villagers to become healers. There is also a mention of a Heron but none of these things are on my game. Don't understand why these things are not on the BF PC game.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mind numbingly slow I have played all the VV PC games that have been released and loved them all but I cannot recommend this game. The time it takes to craft items or gain lavastones is ridiculously long. Unbeknownst to me this game has been available on mobile/tablet platform for a while and those are the versions that the walkthroughs are created for. The BFG version is different so those walkthroughs won't necessarily help. If there was an updated walkthrough or forum to read then maybe I would increase my rating, but as it stands I have now wasted hours on crafting, etc just to come to an impasse.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from To answer Why this is not the VV of Past and So frustrating I enjoy VV of the past I own them all. Their are many similarities like selecting villagers. Drop and place to do an action. Scrolling. Zooming in or out to see the island. Zooming is not a feature on all the games. Differences: multiple tribes/saved games NO Speed variables; NO{ just a Pause button in menu} New things to this Game: A Roulette Wheel to spin for instant gains in skills, Longevity speed of walking even a Giant head. It is represented by a stone in the necklace they wear. You can see the necklace when you double click on the Lower right corner where you can see a head shot of villager when clicked on. You spin the wheel with the ..Lava Stones 3 Each spin. Lava Stones. Pay to buy spins on the Wheel[3] Speed up crafting [1-48] Upgrade to more baskets to craft{ 300-600} Recall ship [5] Trade. It is with a ship that docks after you repair the dock.It stays for some time and leaves. To call it back you put a villager to the stone dragon in the water and Yes you guessed it Lava stones are used 5. The Mausoleum you can reincarnate a villager for 20 Lava stones. They are children and keep skills and traits. Lava stones come from several areas. Random finds and gather buy Lima of Villager. Frequency low. Lava stone generator once fixed generated 10 stones ever 24 hours. Building is in many ways tied into crafting. Which is nice except for the time it takes Lima to help gather. Herons I believe are a trade item. the frog show up in time .. if you buy the Heron 1st. no frogs. A Crate shows up ever 24 hours in the north water. It changes and resets if missed. It is a consecutive day extra. I wanted to love this game. I love the reincarnate But the truth is Lava stones low spawning and how it directly effects crafting times makes this game tedious, frustrating and a true disappointment. It has a Phone version. same way but cost $. I buy PC cause phone games are too much into hidden costs. If you love it I am happy for you for me and Fail and I see this as the Company Putting all effort into phone game and wanting big $
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't find any help pages or forums on Big Fish for this game I can't concur with the other reviews here ( unless I have the one download that doesn;t work correctly), the version of the game I downloaded is lacking a lot of the components of the android and ipad games. Those games talk about frog, herons, pets, etc. that my game doesn't seem to have. Also the lava stones are very stingy considering that you have to have a least 300 of them to have more than on way to make stuff you need to get ahead in the game. The lava stones you need to upgrade the bowls needed to manufacture something will take you thirty days to aquire, if you don't use any of them along the way, villagers last around three days before they die and in that time might develop at most two skills. if you resurrect them that takes 30 lava stones so plan to spend the rest of your life dragging your villagers around and getting nowhere fast. I loved all the old versions and have them all, this one needs some serious upgrades to make it compete with the iphone version.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to love it I have never written a review for a game, VV started out really fun but got bogged down towards the end with ridiculous wait times for crafting items and a serious game changing lack of lava stones. It is impossible to accumulate enough stones to move on in a reasonable time frame. I can see the transition to PC has not worked well. The game itself is fun just like the old ones as I have played them all, but jeez, come on, 24 hours real time to craft 1 item? What were the developers thinking? And to speed it up takes 48 lava stones? Not going to work when we get 10 a day. I can only hope this game gets fixed for us PC gamers, we were playing this from the beginning of the series and deserve a better game. I only hope part 2 will be available when I finally finish this long slow boring ending of part 1, or will we have to buy part 2, time, a very long time, will tell.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would have loved this ... but ...... it takes too long to get the lavastones in order to increase the ability to craft items to solve the puzzles. I have maxed on all the resources & now have thousands of tech points & food but only 29 lavastones. I only get 3 every 24 hours and it takes 300 to get a second crafting bowl. As many items can take up to a day to craft it is just too slow & I get bored wating & lose the will to solve the puzzles It is a shame as I love this series & was enjoyed the initial building up of tech & food reserves
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Completed Level 2 - nothing else to do 45 days to complete available chapters (2) for PC. No sightings of frogs, storks, or anything else - just the 'mysterious' crate that appears every day which simply incrementally multiplies what it gives you each run through of the wheel. Tech points: over 6,000,000, food: over 500,000, Population: 38 (no more buildings to build as far as I can see - not in the PC version, anyway). I have had 3 sets of triplets and 3-4 sets of twins. There was no fighting with a rival tribe (boo), no troubles with the kraken (big boo), nothing except building up the points to level up. I managed to reincarnate one of my people - can only be reincarnated 3 generations (she ended up as Sanje Surname V) before the 'player' receives the notice that their character has truly gone. I'm not sure that there will be a Chapter 3 as there is no more space in each of the technologies unless the grey bit showing 'upgrade' or 'maxed' goes. If there was some way to buy more lava stones in the PC version I wouldn't purchase them anyway as I have purchased the game. No game is worth hundreds of dollars (and that is the cost that I have come across for purchasing extra lava stones). Even if I had the iPad/iPhone/android version I would not be happy to fork out that amount and I can't understand why it would be in the double or treble digits. I understand the team needs paying but ... There is no ending in sight (because no-one knows if there will be another chapter or chapters). The player is in limbo with this one - unnecessarily so. The fun factor is kind of there - as others have said, the hours/days for crafting is totally ridiculous. It's fine to have a game that will last a while, but the game has to have something more. I hope that any further chapters will be updates for those who have bought it, not bought. The pluses: The characters are certainly better done than all the previous Villagers: movements are far more fluid and lifelike, expressions are varied, they are more curious about things, don't mind work (although some are constantly wanting to shirk their duties and go swimming/sunning/ strolling, anything but work). The Music: quite like - it's pleasant enough. Overall opinion: hard to tell at this stage. Started off happily enough but now I've completed the 2nd chapter there doesn't seem anything left to do but the wheel from the mysterious box. Now it's just on the boring side of interest. I give everything a 3: challenge departs when both chapters are complete. Storyline is mundane when everything is complete. Visual and Sound: pretty good. Fun Factor: wanes once the chapters are complete. Not sure if I recommend it.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from everything takes too long I have played all the other V V games and enjoyed them, but please, why does it have to take 7 hours to make some of the combinations, its just too long why it cant be instantanious is boggling to me. It decreases my enjoyment of the game enormously and to have to have 600 lava stones to get an extra spot to mixed combos it crazy how am i suppose to get 600 lava stones. I play on a PC so there is no store .... not that I want to buy them...
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's fun except ....... It is just way too small and looks like everything is too far away. This is based solely on the demo. I was really very disappointed because I have all of the other games and loved playing them so I was excited to see another one in this series. The only way I would play this game is if it were free. I really like the idea of being able to pick out my own village peoples though. Another fun part of this series, for me anyways, is training each one the way I like until they start balking because their interest lies elsewhere. For the much younger eyes, this game will only be the challenge it is meant to be. Although I am thinking of getting one of those lamps with a swing down magnifier.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to improve The character selection is very difficult and the screen constantly scrolling out is very annoying. I have played these games before and was much better quality.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No, just no All I can do is dragging kids on mushrooms and fireflies. From time to time an adult is idle and I'm trying to put them on a task I want them to learn. Eventually they will go back to their previous task. Or SWIMMING. Or WASHING THEIR FEET. Really?? Got 4k tech points after a whole day of cleaning my house while leaving the game on its own...now waiting for another 6k to be able to upgrade something else (not sure wha it was). Lavastones are scarce, so can't speed up things. This is by far the most boring sim/real time I played.
Date published: 2019-12-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Paid version no longer works; "free" version costs more than paid version!!! The paid version of the game is great, but it no longer works. The loading screen has been stuck at "definitions loaded" for weeks. Big Fish doesn't fix it. Last Day of Work doesn't fix it. The only version of Virtual Villagers Origins 2 that works is the free version available on other sites. Sounds great, right? The "free" one is the one that works. Nope. Not great. The "free" version of the game charges real-world money for major game components (game play doesn't require those missing features, but the lack of those features makes the game incredibly slow and absolutely zero fun), resulting in the "free" game costing more than the paid version. Progression is unbearably slow without the lavastone maker (comes with the paid version but not with the free version), and since it's nearly impossible to progress, I've lost interest in playing the game at all anymore since I've gone as far as I can go without spending MONTHS saving enough lavastones from the daily chest (if I play every day), from the random events, and from the random earthquake crack treasures. Unless you desire to waste about six months on this mind-numbing slower-than-molasses wait for lavastones, you'll have to spend actual money to progress at a reasonable pace. I've played Last Day of Work games for years -- always buying the paid versions legitimately -- but because of the VVO2 scam and LDOW's refusal to fix the game for buyers of the paid version, I'll be cautious about spending any money on their games in the future.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A game shouldn't be this tedious Just FYI, the Mac version is as bad as the PC. I get the impression that it was designed to encourage in-app purchases which aren't available in the BFG version (in fact, there is a blank space where the store used to be). The balance of game play is way off as a result, making for a frustrating experience. I notice that the positive reviews are by folks who have just started playing. I was having fun at first, too! Then the wait times slowed everything down to a crawl. I got halfway through the puzzles before abandoning it. I have 2 million tech points I no longer need and still nowhere near enough lava stones to purchase the third crafting basket. Feh.
Date published: 2019-04-04
  • y_2020, m_4, d_1, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_29577, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Virtual Villagers Origins 2

Return to the famed and mystical island of Isola and craft, farm, solve puzzles and build a thriving village!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.