Cradle of Rome

Cradle of Rome

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(12.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1st Runner-Up Best Puzzle Game of 2007
Build the heart of the Ancient Roman Empire and become the Emperor! This legendary city was one of the most beautiful and powerful capitals to ever exist in history. And you'll be able to bring back to life all the masterpieces of the Roman architecture. Use your matching skills to Coliseum can become a good training school for your brave gladiators! And the Pantheon - the Temple of all the Roman Gods - will bring you luck! The fabulous Caesar's land opens its gates in front of you in this engaging puzzle game Cradle of Rome!

  • 20+ masterpieces to build.
  • 5 epochs to build through.
  • 8 original bonuses.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 42 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cradle of Rome

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(12.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Cradle of Rome is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Match 3 game Have had this game for years and replay it again and again. You get helps like hammers and bombs and more. I was new at these games and could not get past a certain level. Then the strategy finally hit me. I also have Cradles of Rome II and Egypy. Both the others are different in some ways. I love and play them all. I just now discovered Cradle of Persia. Oh yeah!
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS A GREAT GAME, I LOVE IT EVERYONE SHOULD JUST TRY IT AND YOU WILL GET ALL INVOLVED IN IT TOO. IT MOVES ALONG AT A GREAT PACE AND IS JUST PERFECT FOR AN AFTERNOON OF RELAXING ACTIVITY. THANX! SORRY FOR THE CAPS BUT I CAN'T SEE THE SCREEN VERY WELL, I"M NOT SHOUTING.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addictive and Fun Challenge Got carpal tunnel? Want it? You can have it with Cradle of Rome. This game is so addicting and fun you won't want to stop until your wrist falls off. Toward the upper levels it is crazy hard. But, nice challenges with different bonuses, working to the goal of mount olympus, and building yourself from peasant to emporer. Music is delightful and the game moves swiftly along adding things each turn so no two screens look the same. I predict at the end you will say 1 thing: "I hate those chains!" -- still you will love this game - long, and worth the cost.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it love it it is entertaining and i enjoy every minute of it
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a good challenge! I really enjoyed this game and played it to the end. It was quite a challenge when you get into the higher levels. It's a swap type of M3, which is my favorite. The graphics are beautiful and the game plays beautifully without any rough areas. The good news is that you don't go all the way back to the beginning if you fail a level -- you go back to the previous epoch. The bad news is that if you're close to the next epoch, you get knocked back several levels. I highly recommend!
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cradles of Rome 1 and 2 Great! Need Cradle 3 This is one of my favorite games I go back to all the time. It is fun, challenging and has many levels to complete. Each level getting little harder. I would like to see a Cradle of Rome 3 and would definately buy it. Try this game, you will love it, Great 3MG, try Cradle of Rome 2 also, even better. Big Fish get a Cradle 3 if available!
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging, engaging M3 Pros: Game length, secrets to obtain citizens, good learning curve Cons: Timed only, highly difficult near end of game If you want a good, classic M3 swaps type game, it's hard to beat Cradle of Rome. The basic objective is to remove all the non-gold tablets from each board, but the main goal is to build up ancient Rome by using the resources you collect from playing each board. Each game tile has a value in either money, food, or building supplies and it will take a number of each of these to obtain a new building for your city. As you progress, you will also earn powerups to help you in your quest for more materials, and the game tiles will be upgraded accordingly with the rising costs of new buildings. Along with all this construction comes the people who will live in your city, and these citizens are the Easter eggs to find. The tricks for obtaining new citizens are kept a secret until you perform one and the popup dialog appears to tell you who has just moved in. If you manage to build up ancient Rome (it will take you more than a day assuming you do other things sometimes) and get a full complement of citizens, you will be rewarded with the opportunity to visit Olympus, the home of the gods. The gameplay eases the player in gradually, with the first 10 levels being more of a tutorial. But the learning curve picks up very smoothly and goes all the way to very hard by the game's end so that everyone will be challenged sooner or later. Unfortunately for some, there is not an option for untimed mode, so finishing COR is a job for the experienced M3ers. Even if you play a lot of M3s, you're going to hate those double chained tablets in later stages of the game. The graphics are a little dated now, but are on a par for the time the game was released and the music is OK, but a little repetitive over long gaming sessions. I always wondered if the developers meant to cut the fisherman from the citizen roster but left him in at the very end, because the fisherman is not only the hardest citizen to find, but he's invisible in the city view screen even after he's moved in. Happy building, and good luck!
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beginning This game led me into the world of games. I just love it. It is fun but not over the top hard. Great for the reflexes. My challenge is to have my name in some form on every level. I have about 80 out of 100. Great Fun
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite M3 game! Have played this over and over again. Levels move quickly from tutorial easy to very hard to beat. Getting to build the city from the ground up and gain in status is much more fun that just collecting points. There are some M3 games where after a match you have to wait for all of the tiles to fall before you can make your next move (Jewel Quest), which means matches you are setting up are often swept off the board before you can use them. I don't play those. Cradle of Rome lets you keep making matches as things are falling, much more entertaining and strategic in my book. I would like to give it 4 1/2 stars. There are several things I don't like. Once you have reached Olympus there is no more point to collecting points except to achieve a higher score. The graphic scenes behind the M3 levels are lovely and the only time you get to see them in full is a brief glimpse when you have completed a puzzle. I'd like a slideshow of them. And if there is a way to go back to see your previous high scores I haven't found it.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the most awsome game in my book it is the most coolest awsomest and fun.
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ITS ON ALEVEL ALL ON ITS OWN. ITS ALOT OF FUN AS WELL. SUSPENCE IS HIGH.ITS ALOT OF FUN KEEPS YOU ENTERTAINED.I WOULD RECOMMAND THIS TO EVERYONE TO PLAY.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cradle of Rome Not my favorite Cradle game. The tiles change so quickly you don't have time to plan moves. Only timed mode and near end very hard. However, if you like a challenge I can still recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! Awesome game!! Keeps me playing for hours!!
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a cute game. Away from the scary ghosts, goblins, witches, etc. Just build a road to get to Rome. That's it, simple. Along the way collect crystals, keep the wolves at bay. Great instructions with each level. Disappointed that it was only 50 levels and I reached 10 during the Free Trial so I would probably consider it short but sweet. Because of that (the shortness of the game) I would probably get as a freebie or buy on Double Punch Monday. - In any event, it will go on glam-ma's list of games to get. Reminded me a lot of that game (forgive me if I get the name wrong) A Gnomes Home - I LOVED that game and spent many long hours playing it. Great for beginners.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cradle of Rome: A Best Of Best Match 3 Definitely one of the best Match 3 games available from Big Fish. Unfortunately, I have been unable to load game well on my Windows 7 Lap Top. The game concept and goals are entertaining and add additional challenges. This game is well done! I rated 3 on Fun Factor, because had board play area and tiles been designed larger, people with vision issues could play with more ease. There was ample open background area to design so. The music was less than I expected for a Roman themed game, but tolerable. User friendly and comfortable challenge. The entire Cradle series looks well worth trying.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I PREFER CRADLE OF ROME 2 AND CRADLE OF EGYPT I've played Cradle of Rome 2 and Cradle of Egypt many times over the years and thought I would try out this first game as well. Unfortunately, due to the horrible graphics, I could only play for short periods of time before my eyes started watering because I was staring at the screen trying to decipher what things were. The music is exactly the same as Cradle of Rome 2. You collect extra lives as you go, so if you run out of time you use a life. There are no achievements or blitz modes in this game - you only get a blurb come up saying you have acquired something, but its gone before you realise what is happening. The game itself was pretty easy up until about Level 60. It gets harder then, so you end up using your axe, lighting, bomb, timer, etc to get to the end before time runs out. But overall its a pretty easy game. The game has 100 levels and I finished the game with 17 lives to spare - so overall its not very challenging. HOWEVER, please do try Cradle of Rome 2 and Cradle of Egypt - they are brilliant games to play. The graphics and challenge are so much better and you have achievements and blitz modes to play after the game has finished. Try these out first - you will enjoy these two.
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Booooooooooooooring Match 3 games are one of my favorite genres. Since they are all basically the same, they need some spark and flash to be fun and keep you interested. I guess some people would call Cradle of Rome "challenging." Anytime someone calls a game "challenging," I run for the hills. To me "challenging" is a synonym for "frustrating." One of my biggest complaints about Match 3 games is taking too long for powerups to recharge. On this game, it takes forever, and you only earn one predetermined type of powerup per level. This is one of those games that you feel was developed by sadists who are laughing as the game works against you. I resent having to play the same boring levels over and over as time repeatedly runs out, trying to earn paltry amounts of resources to buy tiny little buildings. This game has dinky, outdated graphics. I have always been interested in ancient Rome, but this game doesn't have enough substance to engage me on that score, either. I always like to finish a game even when I know I'm never going to want to play it again, but this one is really a struggle. It is sooooooooo booooooooooooooring.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So-So Game I enjoyed some of the other "Cradle of" games, so thought I would try this one. It was not very much fun and not as well put together as others in the series. The graphics are so-so, game play was not very much fun and I muted the sound. I would not recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad mouse I loved Cradle of Egypt, but this is nothing like it. The pointer that comes with the game doesn't work very well even though I decreased and increased the sensitivity levels. Also, you have to play it timed, which I never like. Got through 3 levels before giving up.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cradle of Rome I found it too boring... was toooo easy as well . sry
Date published: 2012-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate this game I liked Cradle of Egypt because you could take your time to think on your moves. Big Fish would not let me play the trial game, and because I thought it might be the same way, I got it. But, because the icons are small, close to the same color and a lot to do in a short time, this game is hard. Unless you are fast with your thinking and don't mind small icons I definitely would not recommend this game. it is a total waste of money
Date published: 2017-08-16
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_1069, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cradle of Rome

Become the Emperor of Rome as you match tiles and build your Empire in this truly original matching game.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.