Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows

Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(325.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

One of father’s stories was my favorite:

Once upon a time there lived a merchant and his wife. They lived happy lives and had never known grief. However, their maid, Julianne, grew jealous of their happiness and secretly dreamed of taking the wife’s place. Julianne learned of unholy powers hidden deep within the manor that could be summoned by ritual, although, there was a cost. She used these powers to curse the merchant's wife, banishing her to another world and unleash deadly powers into this world. Upon learning what transpired, the merchant vowed to find a way to release his beloved wife from her cursed world.

Years have passed. My father died, but he left me a message:

Your favorite fairy tale was the true story of our family. I tried to free your mother's spirit, but I failed. I beg you to finish what I could not. The solution is waiting in our old family home.

As a son, I must write a happy ending for my family’s story.

Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows is a fantastic casual puzzle adventure game that follows a family’s tragic story and paranormal twist!

  • Pure puzzle adventure gameplay
  • Complete your family’s story
  • Plays like a hidden object game, but isn’t one
  • Discover morphing objects as you play
  • Open world locations to explore

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 822 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(325.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure Not having any hidden object scenes felt different, but I liked that. It has been quite some time since I've played such a great puzzle adventure game.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good "Creepy" Factor Thanks to the clever makers of Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows - a good old classic storyline type of game - and a most enjoyable play for many solid reasonings. What really got me smiling was the first time the game made me "jump" due to the awesome "wee" special effects sprinkled throughout the game so ...... be on your toes! I missed 3 of the 22 scene morphs from the main game despite thorough searching and there are no morphs to collect in the bonus chapter. As previous reviewers have commented there are no HOS but this does not impact on one's enjoyment of the game. There are many beautifully made scenes with clever tasks within ... have to think, think, think ... but if really stuck simply press the hint button and, I discovered the "hint system" is excellent - especially as there is no strategy guide if you are in a bind. Once you have many scenes open using the map all of the time is the way to work seamlessly through the game rather than darting here, there, and everywhere for your next task, or new task. On that note there are one or two areas you cannot go back to (if I recall correctly) so if you miss the morphing object, that's it. Finally, I found the music pleasant and accurately "married" with the awesome realistic sound effects and beautifully created scenes equalling a great atmosphere. Enjoy!
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. This is so good. I like the graphics and story. Puzzles are good. It's a buy.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics and good storyline I love the graphics here and it's NOT a CE keeps the cost affordable. Good map and morphing objects to find. Played it a few months ago and now playing one more time
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kudos to this developer! After replaying the beta for this game I could see how much work and care went into providing us with a game that's different and somewhat challenging and best of all it's a Standard Edition !! So, purchased it immediately and looking forward to finishing it. Even though there's little in the way of customized settings, the hint fills pretty quickly and for the puzzles the hint button becomes the skip which also fills quickly. Good map that will be an asset. So thank you Specialbit Studios and hope we can do more business again in the future.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old School and Spooky A son goes back to the ruined family mansion to clean up his father's tragedy. This one is quite dark and rather elaborate but resolves itself very nicely. There is, despite its not being a CE, a prequel Bonus Game that sets the stage. Pros: excellent atmosphere, and a particularly concise plot setup that does not interfere with the game. Some great puzzles with no hand-holding, at just the right level of difficulty for an intermediate or advanced player. Cons: no frills. Not much in the way of separate difficulty levels, and a frustrating amount of back-and-forth, especially in the Bonus Game. Were it not for the not-always-helpful map I'd have been lost completely. In that BG the player's tray is so full all the time that one is occasionally stumped by carrying a necessary part (the nets, for example) that he or she doesn't even know is being carried. Overall, a very nice entry from a developer I don't recall seeing before. Despite the somewhat unorthodox game mechanics it is eminently playable and I had a great time doing so.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RESCUE YOUR PARENTS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I really liked the game. There is plenty to do in each scene and its not always obvious where to go or what to do next, so a good challenge there. The graphics are not bad, but could be polished up in the next game. Some scenes are a bit cluttered and a little bit out of focus, but not a deal breaker. I loved the music throughout the game and the background noises to make it eerie and a little scary. There are 22 morphs throughout the main game, 10 achievements, a bonus story and an interactive map. If you get stuck where to go, then look in the interactive map. The game and bonus took me about 5 hours to play, so good value for money. Definitely comes recommended.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great SImple Game I played the whole game and bonus chapter in one evening. I found he game a lot of fun and interesting. I am a puzzle girl and but would have liked more puzzles but still some were challenging. Do note there is no way to tell if you found the morph or not and when you finish game you can not go back and get them as some games. There are achievements but fairly simple ones that you get just playing the game. I missed out on the morph one. SPOILERS: Yes this is just a game but because I have horses I didn't like having to wait so long to free the horse. Although I did get to give him hay. Lol
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mysterious Shadows This based om the demo. You have 4 options of play. Graphics are hand drawn. It starts out with spooky scenes and sounds. There are collectables and morphing objects. It has a map and a bonus chapter. The hint button is on the bottom right. but it's not shown as "hints" until the cursor is on it. Only played for a few minutes. and used a free game code. I enjoyed playing. Check it out!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No HOP's (Hidden Object Puzzles)... but not a bad game.. I know most gamers expect to see HOPs … but it is an okay game and they don't all have to have HOPs... I would say that it is more of an adventure game. I enjoyed not having HOPs for a change of pace. I find a lot of the reviews are made with how the reviewer want it to their own personal taste instead of judging the game for itself. The graphics are very well done... love the detail. I will admit there were a couple of times that a walk through would have helped but overall not a bad game.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost 5 Stars Not enough puzzles in this game for me. More puzzles would have given it another star. No (or very few) HOS's, but that's fine with me. I like the adventure part, not looking for items in a pile of junk. This is a good game, however, and the developers really tried to use some different items in different places than usual. I appreciate that. We all know how to improvise when we need to solve a problem. The developers showed us that they know how, too. The ending begs a sequel, so I'll be looking forward to that.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from imagine no hops this was different for sure just a puzzle game enjoyed playing it
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No hint button There is no hint button! I've installed and un -installed it but it still doesn't give me a hint!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An above average game with morphs I was really caught up in the game, but I know *exactly* why BF didn't offer it as a CE: I certainly wouldn't pay for this as a CE, as it has a pretty dark and gloomy atmosphere, and the story while a good mystery lacked in clarity, so that I had to use the map more than I like. However I *did* like the mystery part of the game and and the collectibles pushed it over the top; I wish more SE games did this, if only so it would push the CE games to stop being so self satisfied with adding bling to a poor story! So I will gladly get it as an SE. I don't remember this dev, but this is a workman like game; it just didn't have that "wow" factor I usually associate with CE games. Still, after the great sale this past w/e I've a free game credit to spend and this is a good candidate!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old school but not in a good way! Based on the free trial this game is old style with no real fine tuning preferences and without the classic HO puzzles. The storyline is confusing and one rushes all over the place without and real logic. As another reviewer said if it wasn't for the map showing the areas to visit next I would have given up at the start.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows Judging by the writeup on the game this left me in the dark but I was assuming it was a horror I hope more cheery games come through in the future. I saw The Haunting an act on Britain's Got Talent and it reminded of that
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not really what it is suposed to be This is puzzle game. It is being sold as a Hidden Object Game but there are no Hidden Object Puzzles (HOPs) in the game at all. It is OK as a puzzle game having morphing objects as well but it is not in my opinion being listed under the proper game type and if I had known that it had no HOPs, I would not have bought it. Yes, you can play a game for the first hour to see if you like it before buying it but I tend to trust Big Fish to list the games properly. I will continue to be a Big Fish customer (I buy lots of these games from Big Fish Games), I just will be more careful not to buy games without screen shots in the description actually showing HOPs. I have bought only HOP PC games since 2009 unless I make a mistake and buy under the wrong listing (I have only made such a mistake a couple of times and I have purchased hundreds of games from Big Fish Games). This was a surprise to me, because I am almost always very happy with all Big Fish Offerings.
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a Hidden Object game! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others, but I won't this time. The graphics in this game are actually quite nice, even though they are more cartoon like than anything else. Game play wasn't bad, but very old. No custom settings at all. Voices were okay, but I only had one character interaction during the entire demo. Other than the storm sfx, there was nothing at all. Music was appropriate for the "spooky" atmosphere. Colors were bright, but mostly dark and dreary. They call this a hidden object game, but I did not run across even on HOG during the entire demo. Only had a couple of puzzles that were not difficult at all. You just did a lot of running around and back tracking to places for one thing or another. Hint system was helpful, but there was no transport. Definitely needed that, since you back track from one end of the map to another frequently. Fortunately we had a jump map to save time. This non CE game had morphing items to find in each scene. These are not easy to spot and are well hidden in most cases. I spent more time looking for them than playing the game. This is a very old game, with a very slow old story. There is no challenge, other than spending too much time looking for each morph item. Took everything I had to play through the demo, only to see that there were no HOGs. Unlike others, I do not give 5 stars easily. A game has to be exceptional in every aspect. I do try to find something good about a game, for those who may like a simple, no brainer game. The only good thing I found in this one was the graphics. I'm not sure a beginner would find this one appealing, so I find it difficult to even recommend it. Gave this one a 1.5. No, I will not be buying this one. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to your liking. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing This "review" is really just my notes to myself after playing the Beta version. I know that may be unfair, and it might have improved before its release. Horrible game – no option for custom preferences, very cartoon-ish, an interesting back story which drew me in, but no logic to game play at all, when we get to the old family home. Ridiculous puzzle involving Ben Franklin's kite experiment to solve a problem. Nothing appealing about the game at all. Slow moving and murky.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A retro game, but in a really bad way. This game begins with a ridiculous story line, continues with terrible graphics, and completely lost me at the awful user interface. If I didn't have the map to check for the next available action, I would have only completed a fraction of the demo because there was truly no rhyme or reason to the story. But I know that people like games for different reasons, so so ahead and try it. But don't say I didn't warn you.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I see none of my suggested changes were made. : < I beta tested this game and found it lousy. The entire game is faaaaaaar too dark. I can't even see objects that should be obvious. The incessant thunder is beyond irritating. The storyline is lame. I found nothing to like about this game. Guess I'll have to do more waiting to find the next HOP game that I want to buy.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Dreary. Boring. Back & Forth. Where's the HO games? For a new developer this was a sad introduction with a story book and cartoon characters. The graphics are dark and dreary and I don't mean that kindly. All I did was run back and forth to complete little tasks and when I realized I was going to make a kite it was time to call it a day. Little sense in task development and sadly boring. I found nothing that intrigued me to play, but wanted to give it more time. Could see from the start this is not a forward moving game. By the way, after 15+ minutes of play there are NO HIDDEN OBJECT GAMES or Mini Games. Just boring back and forth tasks and dreadful graphic design that I call gritty and dark with some detail, but could be better. Characters are poorly crafted with a sad try to have voice automation. I tried to give it a fair test, but once inside the house, I called it a day. Not worth my time or effort to explore this one further. Go back to the drawing board, fix the characters, fix the dialogue and create a forward moving game with some interesting Hidden Object Games. I couldn't even complain about Mini Games because they are non-existent. Give it trail run to see for yourself.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Game with Nothing to Offer Confusing game with little help to offer. No hints, +plus items would not expand, no hidden objects. Quit after 6 minutes. You could not customize the game in any way. The only 4 game options - sound/music volume, screen size, and cursor. Not a good deal at any price - not even free.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hated this game Worst game I've ever played. Don't waste your time, money or game credits. Truly just bad all around.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not fun. All work. No hints. No walkthrough. Kind of limits the demographic, don'tcha think? Please, Big Fish, put some kind of warning that a game is this way. I know, I know, I could have played the trial, but when you buy 20+ games at a time, trials are too time-consuming. I definitely feel ripped off! Games are not games if they are not fun.
Date published: 2020-04-27
  • y_2020, m_5, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_30217, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Stormhill Mystery: Family Shadows

Embark on a paranormal journey through a family’s past in this wonderfully crafted adventure game.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.