Family Mysteries: Criminal Mindset Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Family Mysteries: Criminal Mindset Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.62 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Brave Giant presents the next intriguing chapter in the Family Mysteries series. Is the human mind that easily corrupted?

When Nancy Bradford, behavioral psychologist, makes an important scientific breakthrough, her world turns upside down! The famous Neurotech Institut makes an employment offer that seems too good to pass up, but when the CIA shows up asking Nancy to go in as a spy, she realizes that she’s caught in a dangerous game. Little does she know that her most valuable discovery will put her on the path of solving the nearly 20 year old murder of her parents! Join Nancy and help her stop a killer and save her own discovery from falling into the wrong hands.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus hidden object scenes
  • Additional minigames
  • Downloadable original soundtrack
  • Desktop wallpapers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2282 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Family Mysteries: Criminal Mindset Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.62 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Family Mysteries: Criminal Mindset Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A SCI-FI GAME WHICH IS A MIND-ALTERING EXPERIENCE REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 52 pages (My time: 6 Hours) Enjoy a sci-fi thriller as you, Nancy Bradford, a behavioral psychologist, continue your parents’ research into the realm of MK Ultra, mind control. After accepting a grant from Neurotech Corporation, find yourself working with the C.I.A. to stop this company from using its research on humans for nefarious purposes. While on a fast-paced adventure, learn more about your parents, how they died, and battle several evildoers throughout the game, thwarting their efforts to destroy the world! OPINION: I found this a fast-paced, enjoyable game. The story behind the game is excellent with a well-written gaming script. It is somewhat thought provoking, delving into some of the consequences of mind control and altered states. It is a puzzle-lover’s delight, chock full of various types of mini-games. There are over twice as many puzzles as HOP scenes. For me, this was a pure delight to play! This game is another wonderful masterpiece by this developer. This developer does not produce many games, but the ones it produces are exquisite! MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 24 achievements. • Collect 14 figurines and 15 morphing puzzles pieces • 16 wallpapers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 8 HOP scenes and 8 mini-games There are two collectibles, famous scientists, and morphing puzzle pieces. The puzzle pieces are used to play a jigsaw puzzle at the end of the game. However, the puzzle is easy; the pieces jump into place just by clicking on them. There is no work involved in solving this jigsaw puzzle. Where are these collectibles and the jigsaw puzzle located? Somewhat bizarre, they are found in the Achievement section of the menu. BONUS CHAPTER It is a sequel. It is two weeks after the end of the main game. As Nancy Bradford, try to find an antidote to the mind control serum given to a family member. Return to the research center to see if you can locate this serum. I found the chapter a nice sequel to the main game. Nevertheless, I did feel this chapter was somewhat slower paced than the main game. There are no collectibles within this chapter. There are four (4) HOP scenes and seven (7) mini-games. HOP SCENES: There are eighteen (18) HOP scenes, eight (8) of which can be replayed. Most of the HOP scenes are either a list of items or silhouette scenes. There are a few storybook scenes in which items are found within a text, furthering the story behind the game. Nevertheless, they are creatively designed and interactive. Many of the scenes have morphing objects within them. There is also a game of Monaco which can be played instead of the scenes. It is a variation of a matching game in which two adjacent matching items (in any direction) are removed. MINI-GAMES: There are forty-one (41) mini-games, only eight (8) of which can be replayed! I found most of them easy. There are only a few which I would categorize as of middle difficulty. There are a couple of multiple-step ones as well. I loved the nonogram puzzle. This is one puzzle I wish more developers would incorporate into their games. There is also an incredibly beautiful puzzle involving butterflies imprinted on a stained-glass window. My only complaint is that I wish more of the mini-games could be replayed at the end of the game. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Sequence puzzle. Press red buttons on a 4 x 3 grid until all buttons turn green. Pressing on a button either lights up or shuts off the others next to it. B. Mathematical puzzle. Switch numbered fuses on a board so that the sum of two which are connected equals the number situated between them. C. Sequence puzzle. Choose safe spots on a cliff to ascend it without falling. D. Spot-the-differences puzzle. Find differences between two pictures E. Nonogram puzzle. Create a picture by filling in squares based on numbers and spacing at the top and left side of the graph. F. An incredibly beautiful counting puzzle. Use 5 knobs to display the number of butterflies on a stained-glass window. G. Connection puzzle. Click on pipes between nodes on a circular grid until a number produced on the nodes between connecting pipes is equal to the number of connections for each node. H. Sequence puzzle. Repeat the punching fist sequence by an evildoer. BONUS CHAPTER: I. Matching puzzle. Match up tokens displayed on a heart according to their association with each other. J. Maze puzzle. Move 4 boxes using a forklift to spots within the middle of a grid K. Search and Replace puzzle. Locate missing objects within a scene placing them where they belong
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, Challenging Game Loved everything about this game except one mini-game that wasn't solvable because of a glitch. Very frustrating because I pride myself on not skipping them. Everything else was top-notch. The challenge was just right; I don't care for games that are too easy. 5BN is my new favorite developer. I know I can purchase their games without playing the demo. Highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Mini-Games Bias alert - I love puzzle games and this one was heavily weighted toward puzzles. Not that the HO scenes were inadequate, but the strength of the game was in the puzzles. Our heroine lands a dream job that turns into a family nightmare involving mind control, mystery sera and super-soldiers, and the CIA. And that's only the beginning... Pros: Wonderful sequential puzzles! For me this was the highlight of an excellent game. Nice bit of trickery in the writing - I thought the game was wrapped up but there was this one nagging question left, and a last chapter that resolved it and a couple of other open matters. Nicely done! Cons: Not a big thing, but persistent errors in English - missing articles, inappropriate homophones, misspellings - this is easily correctible and really got to detract from the game flow. The dialogue is stiff (to be charitable) and could have used a serious edit itself. Again we have a heroine who insists on fist-fighting a trained opponent twice her size - this is simply silly. Perhaps we could have a spelling contest? Bonus Game: A compliment and a complaint - this was a very nice wrap-up that should have been the conclusion of the main game, well written and satisfying. The complaint is that only the purchasers of the CE will see it. And one other thing - the puzzles that you get to replay are a small subset of the ones in the game and not the most interesting ones. Not much value added here. Overall, a very welcome adventure/mystery game, heavy on the puzzles, a little short on CE goodies but worth it for the closure on the plot.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok game This was a good game over all. Not sure why I could not get in to this game since it seemed like it was well made. Maybe this type of game I'm not interested in anymore or it could be there all similar. The graphics and voice actors are very well done. The story line was ok but I can't find the word to describe it. Maybe the same old stuff?? Try the game first then buy it if you like it as it seems to be the same through out the game with couple of twists. The twists do seem to me predicable . I liked the bonus round . The doctor was a little funny to me as she was more of a high fashion model than a doctor. Posing anyone.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weird Going Ons An interesting mind game. You have been recruited by the possible murderer of your parents, who were studying mind control over animals. Their former colleague is now in charge of something sinister in mind control. The CIA has asked for your help. This is a straight line game and certain things must be done before you can proceed. You have to find some figurines and morphing puzzles pieces as well. I loved the graphics and the music set the scene for a game I will purchase.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE PLOT KEEPS THICKENING ON THESE FAMILY MYSTERIES! Completed Game approximately 5.5 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 25 Main Game Scene Locations +8 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-Intermediate-Expert And you thought working for Professor Webster with a huge new grant was a good thing? You haven't even started your research and already there's crimes, coverups, CIA operatives, links to government mind-control programs, scams, deceit, and kidnapping? I loved the story, but it was a little too drawn out and I started becoming bored in the fifth chapter. The HO's were not as stellar as the last game because they didn't include those highly interactive puzzle games I had so looked forward to from the previous game, which was a huge letdown for me. Lastly, The CE collectibles are what I refer to as "clickables' they aren't challenging, they are so large you can't miss them so they are just there to click on...clickables! I still loved the story, it's a great story, but the last Family Mysteries had the whole package for me :) ?G.A.D.G.E.T? NO gadgets...that's a wonderful feature! ??Morphing Objects/Collectibles: (CE version only)? There are 15 Morphing Photo Pieces, one in each scene, but they are way too large and easily spotted the second you walk into the room. There are 14 Character Figurines as well and they look like creepy voodoo dolls, to be honest lurking in the corners or sometimes in plain sight?? There is a lamp indicator on the inventory bar that tells you if the collectibles have been found in that particular scene. ?Hidden Object Scenes? There are only 11 Hidden Object Scenes +4 in the CE Bonus Chapter and I was really disappointed that there were only one of my favorites included from the last Family Mysteries game :( Although there were a few that were progressive and somewhat creative, the HO's were just the same ole same ole as far as I'm concerned, with the exception of that SINGLE HO. In true Brave Giant fashion, the HO's include at least one object that morphs and can only be clicked on when it is in the correct object form. There are Interactive List Finds, Multiples of the Same Object Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, or Spot The Difference Finds. My absolute favorite by far is a Progressive Interactive Puzzle type that requires figuring out sequences and codes (the clues are all there folks, you just have to look! similar to a Rube Goldberg type of puzzle where you have to fiddle with several aspects and use discoveries to unlock the next interactions (it wasn't nearly as intricate as the last Family Mysteries Game...what happened??) There is an alternate Associated Pair game available where you flip two tiles at a time and match objects that are similar such as a Horse & Car. ?Mini-Games? There are 53 Mini-Games +10 in the CE Bonus Chapter, most of which are mechanical type puzzles and they are very creative, and entertaining games. That seems like a ton of games, but don't freak out if you aren't a mini-game fan, because a lot of the mini-games are 3-part puzzles that have a few different variations, they aren't brain-burners, but some do require a bit of thought to solve them, and I loved that even the codes required some grey matter to solve versus the standard "sticky note" answers. I'm still going to complain that out of a whopping 63 mini-games, only 8 can be replayed in the extras menu??!!?? Here's a list of a few of my personal favorites: 1-Measure specific amounts of colored liquids??? 2-Swap fuses to equalize the sums of all fuses to the designated numbers. ?? 3-Rotate outer circle to align with symbols by following tangled wires. ??? 4-Cut the correct wire according to riddled descriptions. ?? 5-Set each colored knob according to the number of the butterflies in that same color. ??? 6-Connect joints with a specific number of connections that won't appear unless you enter the correct amount of connections. ? ?Bonus Chapter (Collector's Edition version only)? I'm not going to say much about the storyline folks, to say anything would give away the awesome plot of the main game. I will say that Nancy Bradford finally gets a chance to use her Mind Controlling device on a human test subject...but she had no other alternatives! There are 8 Scene Locations in this decent-length bonus chapter with an additional 10 Mini-Games and 4 Hidden Object Scenes, however, there are no Collectibles or Morphing Puzzle Pieces. ?Collector's Edition Extra's? 16 Wallpapers (none of which have characters on them, whoo-hoo! 5 Music Soundtracks, 8 Cutscene Videos, 24 Achievements, 8 Replayable Mini-Games, 8 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 15 Morphing Puzzle Pieces, 14 Character Figurines, 5 Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. FAMILY MYSTERIES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Poisonous Promises (October 26-2019) 3.7 2-Echoes of Tomorrow (April 8-2020) 3.8 3-Criminal Minds (July 9-2020) n/a by: Brave Giant Studios
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A+ for Effort!! This is the first time I played the complete demo in a very long time. Lately I found myself becoming irritated or bored. It was not so much the story, but that you kept moving along. Story plausibility in a game went out a long time ago for me. What I liked about this game is the extra effort put into the HOPs and the mini games. They were multi-tasked. Another good thing is not having to explore 6 scenes to open one box to get the key to a puzzle. If you just "play in the moment" it's a good game. I think more attention was paid to actual game play. Lately, it seems developers have focused on scenery, wallpapers,and soundtracks. The graphics and scenery are good and fit the game well. The demo did not convince me that this game is "collector's edition" worthy. Two collectibles (30 total) is not great. All the morphs are puzzled pieces. Why bother to morph!? Maybe the overall length will make it worthy to be a CE?
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would have given it five stars but........ I truly enjoyed this game, great storyline, but it ended very abruptly, it would have been a five star game if the ending was better.
Date published: 2020-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the thrilling story, skipped most mini games The thriller kept me engaged. Mini games were a challenge so I skipped to get back to the the story.
Date published: 2020-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Boring. Bad Dialogue. Pathetic Characterization Had hopes this would be a good one, but very disappointed. Richard, the assistant, sounded like the guy in my favorite cartoon, the one with the goofy dog! Next arrives greasy guy with scar supposedly from a scientific foundation. He offers her $$$ to join their company. She says she needs to think about it and goes home. Gets a call and she accepts. Car will pick her up in 15 minutes. SIGH! Key gets broken in cupboard so she has to make an acid potion to open it. Next CIA guy shows up and tells her the head of this company might have killed her parents. Does she ask for ID? No.. He gives her file and asks her to work for them. Great. Driver takes her to big brick building. Lights go out, guy screams, light comes back on. Cat sitting on lawn with empty bowl. Intercom doesn't work. She has to repair it. I suffered long enough to find cat food to feed the cat. Poor script, boring tasks, I swear I unscrewed everything possible before I got in the building! Puzzles around every corner, just skipped them. Sad excuse for a HIDDEN OBJECT game. Story line is boring, predictable, and poorly written. Characters are unrealistic. Inside, Assistant has a bad English accent. Wants invitation, ID card and research papers. She hands them over, but then assistant has to leave and the research papers remain on the counter. Why would someone give up their research papers in the first place, just makes no sense. And, greasy, scar face works for a scientific enterprise, go figure. Tasks are dull, tired and with little imagination. This was a waste of time. Couldn't even finish it. All I wanted to do is make sure the cat got fed!
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Sci-fi, Little Mystery Nancy, a budding young scientist who lost her parents when she was in high school twenty years ago, has a dream job offer from Neuro Tech. Or is it? The CIA agent that shows up at her door to request she be a spy may signal more nightmare than dream. And what about her assistant, Richard? Did she just accept the new oppertunity and leave him in their old lab with no funding and no prospects? Good stuff: The artwork is clear and well colored. The puzzles have instructions. There are two collectibles: morphing puzzle pieces and dolls among the CE bling. Bad stuff: The voices are hit or miss. Assistant Richard does sound like a pre-teen girl, while the recruiter for Neuro Tech sounds like he should have been a Thug in a different game. The head of Neuro Tech, Dr. Webster, seems torn between a British accent and none. There are odd lapses in English grammar that jar on the nerves. And then there is that CIA agent. He shows up at Nancy's apartment minutes before her ride to Neuro Tech and, after speaking to Nancy, walks boldly out the front door. Lesson 1 in the spy game - don't be obvious! Nancy runs into trouble getting into Neuro Tech and proceeds to bend the trim work on a car in their lot to steal the display on the dashboard - and will have graduated to her third screwdriver before she ever gets in their door. Once inside, she makes her own pass card while the secretary is away from the lobby. Bottom line: The missteps in the game are legion. If this thing was beta tested, it must have been done by the designers themselves. Some puzzle instructions needed an owner's manual while others were just silly. Nancy and the people she meets just seem like players from so many different games thrown together to meet a deadline. That might explain some of the problems at least, but I just want a good game to play, not one that has me making excuses for the problems. Please try the demo. I may be irascible!
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PUZZLES, PUZZLES, AND MORE PUZZLES. I WILL BE SEEING PUZZLES IN MY DREAMS TONIGHT! Family Mysteries Criminal Mindset is not the game I was expecting. I love HOPA games, but Criminal Mindset is a puzzle game with one puzzle after another with a few hidden object scenes thrown in to justify the HOPA designation. Although I enjoy a few puzzles in the HOPA games that I play, it becomes boring for me to solve too many puzzles particularly when they interrupt the storyline and the flow of the gameplay. Aside from the issue of far too many puzzles in the game, I disliked the voiceovers. The voice of Richard was really quite terrible. One would think that the voice of a research assistant would not sound like the voice of a teenage girl at a birthday party. I don’t know why the developer chose the voice for Richard but it sure didn’t work for me. The voices of the man from Neurotech and the CIA agent were also awful. Even though the voiceovers were bad, the graphics were actually quite good, which is something I didn’t expect given the poor voiceovers. The storyline was excellent, but the gameplay couldn’t keep me involved because of all the puzzles in the game. I hate having to interrupt the flow of gameplay to solve a puzzle that is thrown into a game as a time extender. In the end Family Mysteries Criminal Mindset could have been a terrific game had it not been for the oversaturation of puzzles. I hope that if the developer creates another Family Mysteries game, they will back off a bit on the puzzles and create more hidden object scenes for those of us who love finding the objects and playing through creatively designed scenes. There are some aspects of Family Mysteries Criminal Mindset that I enjoyed such as the storyline and the well-designed HOS. Had there been a better balance between the HOS and the puzzles I would have given the game a far higher rating but since there wasn’t, I am giving the game only two stars. Developers, please consider that many HOPA game lovers are not puzzle lovers and try to make future games those that both factions will enjoy playing. Even though Criminal Mindset is a game that I don’t like, as always, please try the demo because it might be the perfect game for you. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why do developers think they're so smart I wanted to like this game but Brave Giant took all the fun out of it Why do they think we are all rocket scientists
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I only played the demo version and I admit I didn't get that far into it. Was just too boring. This is the type of game who likes more story line then actual game play. I prefer a lot of game play and a little story line. Mini games don't count to me as game play either. I want to be looking for things, I want a lot going on, I want it to keep me busy. I don't find any story line entertaining, I'd rather was a tv program or movie. I do think an interesting story line can help any game. I wouldn't want a game with no story line either. I won't buy this game or recommend it to most. But I do think maybe a beginner that likes a lot of story line and not to do that much work in a game might enjoy this. I also turn off music and sounds in any game so I can't offer anything on that. But the speaking sounded just fine.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from For me, not worth my time I've been waiting for a good HOP but this isn't it. There are endless puzzles, especially tedious "combination" puzzles. I played to the end of the game to see if things improved. I guess I will continue to wait for a good HOP.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This game is confusing. The puzzles are juvenile, the music is annoying and the characters are as stiff as a board.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Criminal Mindset Accidentally Forces Gamer to Uninstall Game What a waste of time...even though I only spent 15 minutes playing it. 1. I doubt this game was "proofread." The written grammar is awful and the dialog is anything but conversational. 2. The voice acting is ridiculously bad: The associate, world-famous neuro-scientist sounds like Shaggy from Scooby Doo and alternatively emotes like a pre-teen and a fascist; a recruiter (dressed more like a mafia hitman) speaks like a robot with just a nano-second too long between words; the "star" of the show is only POV in the first few scenes I lasted through and she doesn't sound authoritative but more like a cocktail waitress. Believe me, I have nothing against cocktails. The best acting was the dog who did, in fact, sound like a dog. 3. From the video perspective, there was no fluidity of movement...step, reset to further progression, step, reset and disappear....if you play this you'll understand what I mean when you see the recruiter walk out of the lab door near the top of the game. I'm sorry. This is pretty basic stuff. I'd looked forward to it but it's just too poorly constructed to be fun.. Again, I could have spent 15 minutes watching paint dry and it would have been time better spent. One star is two stars too many.
Date published: 2020-07-12
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_31759, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Family Mysteries: Criminal Mindset Collector's Edition

Help stop a killer and keep an important scientific discovery from falling into the wrong hands!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.