Halloween Stories: Defying Death Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Halloween Stories: Defying Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(348.61 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games returned with the latest chilling installment in the Halloween Stories series!

It's Halloween, and you're excited to go party with your best friend. But this festive night quickly turns into a nightmare when a shadowy specter from your past returns to claim your friend's soul! You and Ted narrowly avoided death before, but can you escape the Grim Reaper himself when he comes to claim what's due? Find out in this stirring Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Journey into the depths of the eternal soul and learn what it really means to be human in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPS and mini-games and earn a variety of unique achievements!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1144 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Halloween Stories: Defying Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(348.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Halloween Stories: Defying Death Collector's Edition is rated 2.3 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not A Goose Bump In Sight! I found this to be very bland for a Halloween story. Even the Grim Reaper failed to add an element of fear. Without the seasonal decorations to indicate Halloween, this is just another typical dark story. After the demo, I used my precious CE coupon, hoping for a few good Halloween scares, but receiving much less. The game, even with the HOPs and puzzles, was approx 4 hrs and I am not a speedy player. That would not normally bother me much, but the story was weak and proved to be one of those cookie-cutters we all find disappointing when the BF description describes it as thrilling or exciting, etc. Oh, well. Some things will never change! I liked that there was not an overwhelming amount of puzzles in this Halloween Stories release. The mini-games were fairly simple, but I enjoyed them more than the HOPs. That is definitely "a first" for me, as I am definitely not a puzzle lover! There were the usual kinds of Halloween decorations throughout and lots of things to keep us busy, making the game move along at a comfortable pace. The graphics were okay and the colors were fitting to the theme, the characters had nothing special about them. At several points in the game there was no sound at all, don't know what that was about, but it did return without my having to try and fix it. I liked the Bonus Chapter which once again featured the Grim Reaper, but the story was not part of the main game. It, IMO, was much more interesting, although I thought it was missing something that could have enhanced the quality of the storyline. The few games and HOPS within were a tad too simple which, for me, made them boring. "Defying Death" was not a bad game but it certainly missed the mark in good Halloween entertainment, at least for me. It does a decent job of providing a few hrs of simple fun if you can overlook the lack of that scary/creepy feel that you would expect from a game that deals with Halloween and the darkness typically associated with it. The Grim Reaper is around no matter what time of year, I think a sinister character with a definite tie to Halloween would have been a much better choice. Of course, try the demo. What I look for in a Halloween themed game is likely quite different than your requirements. I regret purchasing, but still recommend it as an EZ-PZ game that can be enjoyed by all skill levels and age groups. However, any Halloween tale might be too grim for the very young.
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Scary? Well No! For parents of young kids (age appropriate) this game should not invoke nightmares. Maybe some questions about life and death perhaps a question or two for what happens after death. So parents suggest you be prepared to answer possible questions. I love Halloween -- as an adult this game was well bland.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DON’T GET “HOOD-WINKED” BY THE GRIM REAPER REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 3 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 33 pages (My time: 4 hours – short game) STORY: Can you avoid your fate? Begin the Halloween season by helping Roy battle The Grim Reaper. He and his friend, Ted, were involved in a bus accident as children. They survived, but now years later, the Reaper is out to claim their souls along with another survivor of that fateful day. Why has the Reaper resurfaced after so many years? The incidents of that fatal day have been resurrected, but for what purpose? Can you beat the Reaper? I hope so! Your life depends upon it! **OPINION: All decked out in pumpkins, skeletons, and other decorations, this is a nice game to start the Halloween season. I found the game decent but not as good as previous ones within this series. It has a good pace with plenty of activities throughout the game. Nevertheless, I did not care for the story behind this game. To me, the story does not reflect the Halloween spirit. It is more grim than scary or spooky. I found it a short, lackluster game which is a cookie cutter version of other games published throughout the year. Except for the decorations, nothing in the game makes it distinctive to Halloween. As a final note on this game - there are sections within the game where sound is missing - just deafening silence. At least this is what I experienced on my computer. For me, it did not detract from the game; however, it was obvious there was no soundtrack for a brief period of time. . MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 21 achievements. • Collect 11 figurines and 26 morphing objects • Collect 24 puzzle fragments to complete a picture of the Grim Reaper • 5 Wallpapers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 13 puzzles and 13 HOP scenes – within in Archives BONUS CHAPTER: It is another story. Play the Grim Reaper as he tries to become human. Gertrude, the Patron of Souls has offered him this opportunity. However, he must pass three trials by rescuing three entities who need help. I liked the story from this chapter better than that from the main game. However, I found the activities, especially the mini-games, lacking creativity. Most of the mini-games are extremely easy – a little too easy for my taste. There are two puzzles which I would hardly call puzzles. These two would not even be considered puzzles in other developers’ games. There are three (3) HOP scenes, three (3) mini-HOP scenes involving six (6) items, and five (5) mini-games. It is a lengthy chapter; however, to me, it is not indicative of the quality seen within other bonus chapters from other games. HOP SCENES: There are thirteen (13) HOP scenes, all of which can be replayed at the end of the game. There are also ten (10) mini-HOP scenes which contain six times to be located. They include lists of items, silhouette, matching, and one storybook scene with items listed in highlighted letters. Some of the scenes have a Halloween theme. There is one pattern scene in which items are located by either their pattern or based on a fragment of the item. They are somewhat interactive but rather blasé MINI-GAMES: There are eighteen (18) mini-games, thirteen (13) of which can be replayed at the end of game. I feel the mini-games are better constructed than the HOP scenes. Most are thematic, keeping with the Halloween spirit. There are some new mini-games which I have never seen within this developer’s games. There is a variation of a bubble popper game with skeletons used instead of marbles. There is also a slat puzzle which involves moving slats up, down and sideways to create an image. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Bubble Popper game. Using a bow and arrow with a colored skull attached – hit 2 or more moving like-colored skeletons to remove them. Continue until all are removed. All must be removed before the moving line of skulls reaches the exit point. B. Switch/Assembly puzzle. Switch the parts of 3 skulls so that each piece is positioned with the correct skull. C. Slat puzzle. Slide slats up, down, and sideways to restore an image. D. Map puzzle. Press on arrows to plot a course to find a treasure on a map. Most of the directional arrows are given; however, 3 are not and you must decide which direction in which to proceed. If you make a mistake in guessing the direction, you must restart E. Logic problem. On a 4 x 4 grid with 16 squares, use dividers to segment the grid so that like items are grouped together. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Switch puzzle. On a grid with four tokens for each of the four elements of nature, switch the tokens so each element has the proper 4 tokens associated with it. G. Switch puzzle. According to a given guide, switch 5 bits into the proper location to create a piece of pottery. (To me, this is NOT a puzzle) H. Matching puzzle. Locate a symbol which matches one which is lit up. (To me, this is NOT a puzzle) I. Matching puzzle. Match up articles of clothing with each of 5 characters **I recommend this game with reservations. It is a decent game but not reflective of the quality one would expect with a seasonal game.
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If there's a sequel then every player should play as the Grim Reaper from the start. Apart from how every player should play as the Grim Reaper from the start if there's sequel. Then future Halloween Stories, let alone this one, like its previous installments should allow us players to enjoy its pure sound quality without it and its gameplay sorely lagging midway.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mediocre game in every sense of the word I was bored during most of the game. As is the case for the majority of Elephant Games, this game was short. The story was so uninspiring, with very little if anything to do with Halloween. Unfortunately Elephant Games quality has been heading south for a while now. It seems as if the developers were on complete autopilot when developing this game.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from halloween stories I purchased this game for $20.42.. After seeing the preview I was interested. But found out is was only fair,, Not really worth the cost! )o:
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Skip This One I should have listened to the other reviewers. This game is really boring and no "chill factor" at all.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cursor keeps stopping. Although I have a fairly new computer with windows 10, I could not finish the first 5 minutes because of the cursor stopping every 2 or 3 seconds. Then having to wait for it to start again. It may have been a fun game, but it was too frustrating to try to play.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't grip Easy enough to play and I didn't have any of the freezing problems reported by others while playing the demo, but it is not a game for an adult, you'll be thoroughly bored and clicking on "skip" by the second or third screen. As always, each to their own. Try the demo for yourselves and decide. As always, too, I never play any games with the sound on, cos I can't watch TV and listen to some awful accents on my PC at the same time. Not enough challenge, in my view, definitely not worth buying.
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short The game ended abruptly and too soon. I completed the trial before I bought the game. I was enjoying the game and then it was over before I knew it. I am not a fast player, so I expected after the trial that I would have a couple of hours of game play, but maybe 2 hours, at the most. Great graphics, story was convoluted and seemed to change direction at the end.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Elephant Games no longer play well I'm not sure what is now incompatible with my PC (Windows 10) and Elephant Games but I've got 2 games from them that ran fine on demo and now play as though they have a 'skip' in the sound track. They freeze and are basically unplayable. This one is no different, which is unfortunate because I muddled through with the awful skipping (like a record got stuck in a scratch and you need to move the needle - ugh) and was enjoying it - mainly for the thematics of Halloween. I noticed that some of the intro/closing cut scenes have a different sort of animation/artwork to them. They detract from the overall feel of the game. I recommend this game if you can get it to play! It would have been 4 stars if not for this new glitch.
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from IIT"S HOLLOW Boring and tedious not a fun ride for a great time of the year
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Glitch The game launched, but as soon as I began to click on things, my curser could move around but nothing happened. I couldn't even click on hint or menu. Has this happened to any one else?
Date published: 2020-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Absolute crap!!!! Couldn't even complete the demo without it freezing.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Level of Quality is Going Downhill...FAST The games demo say's you get 90 minutes to try it. If you do not skip through talking scenes and let everything play out in real time, it should last 90 minutes should it not? It does not. People have been complaining lately on reviews, so I tested the game. They must allow 30 minutes for educated smart adults to figure out puzzles for 8 year old kids because when my demo ended I still had over 50 minutes left. This was not a good Halloween story. It was just odd. the creative department at Elephant games needs to rethink their employees. They're failing...miserably. I like games I played ten years ago better than anything that's released now. The quality has gone downhill.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No. Seriously, no. The game opens with a group wandering near a school bus. One person picks up a piece of glass? green rock? emerald? Next they are on the bus. A black puff of smoke flits by the front of the vehicle and it seems to tilt. Now you start the game. Was there a crash? Maybe. Did anyone get hurt? Was there a miraculous escape? I don't care. The two characters you start out with are as poorly presented as can be and both seem "off," like they are both half asleep, or should be. Right from the start I was left wondering what Elephant Games was thinking. One of the first things you need to do is get a wrench untangled/untied from a rope hanging out of a tree - which you do with a fake jaw from a skeleton next to the store window of the shop your buddy runs. Really? I have an awful feeling that this may be the best Elephant Games can do now. Try the Demo.
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Possibly unplayable - Don't buy without playing the demo Beyond me how something so glitchy got released. I know reviews aren't supposed to be about technical issues, but players should be warned about this one. I tried twice to get past the opening scene but the game glitches when I try unbolting a window. The audio keeps playing but all I can see is the street scene with the sound effects playing in a loop and I can't interact with anything. I uninstalled it and reinstalled but it still fails at the same point. Very glad I hadn't bought the game. Some players seem to have no problem, others like me do. Strongly advise playing the demo before you buy it.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Childish, mindless, easy and boring ? ? ? What a letdown ! This game is sooooo boring. The story is an empty shell. A bunch of ordinary stuff put together without any consistence. The characters are childish and non appealing - they are flat without any personality. Everything is laughable. Nothing to give you any chills or fears. The mini-games are dull and super easy. The game is short and the bonus chapter is ugly, with blurry scenes and boring hos. On top of that coding problems with lagging, long loading and non-sync dialogue. Some good graphs on the main game and fun collectibles but it's not enough to save this title. It's been forever now since a good, innovative, interesting, non-childish game have been release here. Sadly, i think all the good developers of the ol days are long gone ....
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring Back Actual Humans! I've HAD it with computer generated games! Can't everyone see what's been happening for the past few years?! Is it JUST me? This game is laughably horrible. Glitches all over the place, story line is non-existent and did anyone actually care what happened to these characters? I get it that paying an actual creative team costs more than stamping out cookie cutters for people to hate....but in the long run you're losing customers who have been with you for 10, 12, or like me 14 years now and I can't see how losing us could be worth this slop you're putting out. I for one am done with BF. I've tried coming back several times, but I just can't do it anymore. There are better things out there now than this.
Date published: 2020-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to say good stuff I wanted to like this - it's a halloween story, I like HOGs but unfortunately, there's not much good to say. The sound lags & drops right from the start, which I have never had with a BF game and isn't fixed with a reboot etc. This was far too annoying to go past the first 10 mins. In those 10 mins, nothing new about the storyline, gets right in to a friend needs rescuing, find some stuff. Hopefully a fix is either put out for this or better scary October games are coming.
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What happened to this developer?? The previous "Halloween Stories" was already not as good as the first two games, this installment is plain awful. The storyline makes very little sense, I kept wondering if I skipped some dialogue/movies without noticing. Some of the tasks are ludicruous, like fixing a flat tire with a patch made of water and flour... I haven't had technical difficulties with games for a very long time, this one froze several times and didn't play the background music either. I won't add more as the other reviewers covered the problems really well. My other favorite series (Detectives United) is also going rapidly downhill, I really hope this developer will get their act together.
Date published: 2020-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tragic It is so so sad to see one of my favourite game developers produce something as awful as this. Graphics were slow to load, The storyline as far as I got was uninspired. Poor instructions for some of the games. The demo claimed to be 90 minutes long however I played for just over 40 minutes before the demo ended- this is ludicrous. To me this says that the game is very short and had I have had the 90 minutes I would probably have finished the whole game and I'm not even someone who turns off all help. As a result I will not be buying the game. I wouldn't even use my punch card freebie to get it-it's just not worth it. There does seem to be a trend recently for poorer quality, shorter, decidedly less scary games which is a real shame- where are games like Sanitorium or the first Maze games? I have noticed that people have been making these comments for a while now and nothing has changed, they have fallen on deaf ears. Maybe we need to play something else? I agree with the reviewer on here who said the games 5 years ago were much more fun. I absolutely do not recommend this game
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cannot even play the game What a waste, game freezes all the time, cannot move the curser. Thought it might just have been my laptop but see others had the same issue, glad I didn't jump the gun and buy before playing
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scary game for sure I should have listened to the majority of the reviews before buying this game. The game was short, the storyline was terrible with an even worse ending....be afraid...be very afraid of buying this one!
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A LOT OF "BOO" HOOS FROM ME I absolutely love halloween games. This one, just left me "boo" hooing. Made absolutely NO sense, you never had any idea what you were to do next. So disappointed -- believe it's one of the only times I couldn't even finish the "trial" game.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game freezes Cant review since it froze after 5 minutes into it!
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from locked up I never got through the first ten minutes with out it locking up twice. deleated
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can;t get game to play The games drags and stops. So I gave a low score. I don't have the patience to wait on it so till the techs fix it don't waste your time downloading the demo or buying the game.
Date published: 2020-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor demo lasted about 20 minutes!!
Date published: 2020-10-10
  • y_2020, m_10, d_30, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_32157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Halloween Stories: Defying Death Collector's Edition

Can you and your friend escape death's clutches in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.