Dark City: Budapest Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark City: Budapest Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(552.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Friendly Fox Studios is back with another compelling case in a new city! Visit old Hungary in Dark City: Budapest!

A stranger's request brings you to Budapest for a case that promises to shake the city to its core! A series of nighttime attacks have shown suspicious evidence that vampires have returned to prowl the city streets. But as you and your new friend and partner, Agatha, quickly discover, something doesn't add up. Do vampires roam the streets and alleys of Budapest at night, or is someone hiding something even more sinister? Gather your wits and prepare for the hunt in this blood-chilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Loads of morphing objects and collectibles to complete your collections!
  • Replay your favorite scenes and mini-games to unlock challenging achievements!
  • Keep the hunt on track with an official strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1137 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark City: Budapest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(552.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark City: Budapest Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A BLOODY GOOD GAME YOU CAN SINK YOUR FANGS INTO REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 42 pages (My Time: 6 Hours) STORY: Detective! Is prophecy being fulfilled? Is a lunar eclipse portending the resurrection of Dracula? Vampire bats have invaded Bucharest creating chaos throughout the city. Vampire hysteria is rampant! The victims are young men in their twenties, found dead with red eyes, seemingly the cause of a vampire bite. After her brother is a victim, a budding detective, Agatha, has asked your help in sleuthing this case. Has Dracula returned or is there an elaborate hoax being perpetrated by an unlikely suspect? OPINION: This is a “fang-tastic” vampire themed game. It is a nice addition to this week's Halloween games. I enjoyed this detective game with a story which turned out to be nothing what I expected it to be. I found the story behind the game well-written and loved the surprise ending. It is a fast-paced game with beautiful graphics portraying Bucharest of the late 1800’s. I love the layout of this game. There is a sidebar at the left side of the screen which indicates if there is a collectible within the scene and if it has been located. I wish more developers would provide this feature. There are two collectibles within the game, morphing objects and playing cards. There is one of each in every scene. I found most easy to locate; however, I did find a few well-hidden. At the end of the game, you will use the playing cards to play an additional card game. As you play the game you will make deductions in two formats. In one, the player analyzes a murder scene searching for a list of clues within the scene. In the other, the player is presented with six suspects or items from the game and places them into the blanks of a narrative summarizing the events just witnessed. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 24 achievements – some with 3 parts. • Collect 28 cards to play a card game at the end of the game. • Collect 28 morphing objects, mostly bats. • 9 wallpapers and 8 screensavers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 18 HOP scenes and 13 mini-games BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. Play Agatha, a character from the main game, who has earned her detective stripes. The chauvinistic policeman, Laszlo, now realizes her talent for detective work and has asked her to help him with a case. Monsters have invaded Bucharest and are tearing up the town. These creatures have superhuman strength. Where did these creatures come from and what Frankesteinian nightmare has been unleashed on the city? I liked the story behind the game. There are five (5) mini-games and seven (7) HOP scenes. The scenes are reused as well as some of the HOP scenes in this chapter. One of the mini-games was a repeat of one in the main game. It is a decent; nevertheless, I liked the main game better. HOP SCENES: There are eighteen (21) scenes in the game. All can be replayed at the end of the game. Most are lists of items, silhouette, or matching pairs. There is also scene in which items are identified by their pattern or based on a small segment of the item. My favorite is one which involved taking papers with punched out constellations and overlaying them over those on a star globe to remove them from the globe. MINI-GAMES: This game is a puzzle-lovers dream! There are twenty-nine (29) mini-games, thirteen (13) of which can be played at the end of the game. I found them creatively designed. There is one which can be played in either a “hard” mode or “casual” mode. I wished the developer had provided a few more puzzles with that option. There is a wide variety of different styles of puzzles as well. SPOILERS: LISTED BELOW ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Connection puzzle. Rotate 5 cylinders with path segments on them to create a continuous path for each of 3 tokens to reach the other side B. (Hard/Casual) Maze puzzle. Move through a maze collecting parts to build a ladder. In the hard version the maze is dark, only displaying a small lighted area as you move through the maze. In the easy version the scene is lit up. C. Matching puzzle. Match up like bats D. Switch puzzle. Switch masks and clothing on 3 mannequins so each has the appropriate mask and clothing BONUS CHAPTER: E. Jigsaw puzzle. Rotate and connect pieces together to form a picture of a vampire F. Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate 3 dials so that the correct number appears through a hole on each of the three dials G. Math problem. Move a dial on a pressure gauge to a green zone using two valves to move the dial either 3 spaces to the right or 5 spaces to the left.
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play it again, Sam This game is so playable it made me feel like an expert which I am not. The morphs and collectables are readily spotted. The mini games are almost all doable. The hints load rapidly in custom mode and the game just flows like a dancing with your mouse. One more thing: the custom cursor is brilliant.
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! Didn't Love it! I purchased it after the trial thinking that I would love it. It was a decent game. I probably would have loved it, if I had not recently finished playing Maze 360 which set a new standard or Grim Tales Heritage which I also enjoyed.
Date published: 2020-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed! I like the Dark City series and found this new game a real treat to play. I am NOT sorry for enjoying, Nice time of the year for this games release.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Agatha Character! I enjoyed this game, including the Bonus Chapter. It would be great to see Detective Agatha in future Dark City adventures.
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Vamperism Epidemic? I like the graphics and the story. I didn't like most puzzles or the hops. The clothes hop and Gaspard Astronomer was not liked by me. I would use the right thing on the tool bar but had to place it just so or it wouldn't work. Had to place over and over. I did like the recap, mystery and how much the cat loved Agatha. Some hops are used more than once. Replay 38 movies, 18 hops, 13 mini-games and 8 music. Find 28 morphs and cards. Very good indicator. 4 chapters + bonus. Has 9 wallpapers, 12 concept art and 8 screensavers. Has card game- first to gain 21 points by high card.
Date published: 2020-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I FEEL LIKE WE'VE BEEN HERE & DONE THIS ALREADY IN A DIFFERENT SERIES BY THE SAME DEVELOPER?? Completed Game approximately 5.0 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 20 Scene Locations +8 CE Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-Intermediate A lunar eclipse is a dark omen. These are dark times, a time when superstition overrides reality. A time where astrology overshadows science when imaginations were wild, and dreams were lucid, vivid enough to predict a person's future or fate! The citizens of Budapest are afraid of this omen because they know that the Lunar Eclipse has awakened the dark knight, the szúnyogok with an insatiable appetite, an unquenchable thirst for blood...human blood! Collectibles/Morphing Objects: Unlike the last release by this developer, the collectibles were a huge letdown for me. There is one rather large Playing Card per scene (28 total) that allows you to play a Card Mini-Game once the collection is complete. They are red and nearly impossible to miss, and nothing like the beautiful opaque collectibles we are used to from this developer, not to mention there is only 1 per scene! There are 28 Morphing Bats, although not quite as obvious as the bright red playing cards, they are still rather large and easily spotted in most of the scenes, and once again, there is only 1 bat per scene!!! Gadget/Helper: As a Detective, you have two Gadgets at your disposal, a Journal to collect Evidence which is done in the form of photos of the suspects or characters in question pertaining to the story. At the end of each chapter, you will go over the journal evidence by playing a repetitive mini-game where you drag the photos from the top of the page to the blank sentences to fill in the gaps of the story with an actual name. This EVIDENCE JOURNAL is used 5 times during the main game and once during the CE Bonus Chapter. The second Gadget is an EYE DEDUCTION or conclusion of the evidence you have put together. This is done in the form of a repetitive and simplistic Hidden Object Scene where you are tasked with finding 4 or 5 listed objects in the scene that recreates the scene of the crime, followed by a reenactment video clip. This eye deduction gadget is used 5 times during the main game and 1 time during the CE Bonus Chapter. Hidden Object Scenes: There are 16 Hidden Object Scenes +4 in the CE Bonus Chapter, including the repetitive Hidden Object Scene associated with the Eye Deduction Gadget (used 5 times in the main game and 1 time in the CE Bonus Chapter) The HO scenes were just okay, some of them were actually kind of boring and the items were very easy to spot. There are Interactive List Finds, Keywords in Sentence Finds, Multiples of the Same or Similar Object, Swatches Finds, and one where you align Constellation Cards to a Globe that automatically highlights when you get anywhere close to the right area :( The Eye Deduction Gadget HO is a very simplistic and repetitive HOP where you are tasked with finding 4 or 5 pieces of evidence in the scene to corroborate the story. Mini-Games: There are 24 Mini-Games +8 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Because there is an Evidence Journal Gadget, you will play a repetitive mini-game (5 times in the main game and 1 time in the CE Bonus Chapter) where you place photos of characters into the sentences of the journal logically. You can't go wrong with this game, you can basically drag the photos anywhere close to the correct sentence and it will be accepted, so you technically don't even need to read the sentences! Most of the mini-games are super easy and were time-wasters, none of them were original, they are all games that this developer has used a thousand times before, which really disappointed me after their last superb release, Edge of Realty! Here are a few of my personal favorites: 1-Arrange tokens so the teeth correspond to the solution of a ticket puncher. 2-Move each register key to its matching lock at the top, keys can only move to adjacent matching colors, when a key is selected, the previous key changes colors. 3-Use directional arrows to move crates from left to right, select the hook to pick up, and drop crates into position. 4-Select matching pairs of bats whose positions are only shown once selected. Bonus Chapter: (CE version only) Monsters are under the bed! Monsters are everywhere and they have superhuman strength, duh, they aren't human! Detective Agatha and Officer Laszlo team up to rid Budapest of their pesky monsters once and for all, who'd have seen that dynamic duo teaming up? There are 8 Mini-Games and 7 Hidden Object Scenes which include the Evidence Journal Mini-Game and Eye Deduction Hidden Object Scene, Gadget scenario. You will continue searching for the final 8 Cards and 8 Morphing Bats which allows you to play a Card mini-game when completed. Collector's Edition Extra's 9 Wallpapers,12 Concept Art Pictures, 8 Screensavers, 8 Music Soundtracks, 38 Movie Video Cutscenes, 24 Achievements (12 are in 3-categories) 18 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 28 Morphing Collectible Cards, 28 Morphing Bats, 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a Built-In Strategy Guide. DARK CITY SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-London (November 29-2017) 4.5 2-Munich (November 8-2018) 4.5 3-Vienna (September 12-2019) 3.7 4-Dublin (March 12-2020) 3.2 5-Budapest (October 29-2020) n/a by: Friendly Fox Studios
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Terrible game I purchased this game based on the star rating and was very disappointed. Just an ordinary game - fun to play if you don't want challenging puzzles. I played the expert level and it was so easy. A real disappointment.
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from dig in and and drink that red stuff okay game just your every day count dracula story
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A HOPA with the emphasis on Puzzles and More Puzzles While there are some objects to find, they are often things to be used in working out a puzzle, or else you have to work through a puzzle in order to find the objects. I dislike puzzles and want to skip them all. Unfortunately, more often than not that isn't possible in this game. On the positive side -- the graphics are good, the story is intriguing, and the acting isn't awful. As always, try to before you buy.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unsophisticated and rather dull The game lacks subtilty, challenge and originality - I opted to play on expert level. The artwork is somewhat wooden - about 25 years out of date, but without the charm of being retro. The early part of the game is dominated by repetitious encounters with various characters, which result in the acquisition of an essential item - fairly standard ploy to move the action on but felt very clumsy in this game. Collectibles and morphing objects too easy to find. I got bored early and decided to quit: this game is not for me but I can see others thought more highly of it.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There's a Little Mystery if You Want to Search For It Another entry to the Dark City series has joined the line up with a story about a possible problem with vampires. Or perhaps it is just a problem with red eyes and small bats. Either way it all happens during the time leading up to a lunar eclipse at a point in history when citizens were superstitious and gullible. Good stuff: The usual game elements are here with an assortment of CE bling. Bad stuff: The game is set in the mundane city of Budapest and loaded with unappealing characters and time-wasting actions. Much of the story moves forward on clumsy "puzzles" that aren't - puzzles - that is. The artwork is bland, and dark, understandable on the nighttime streets, not so much in doors. Several actions are just odd - like the amulet that gets the player a free set of men's cloths - and the quirky HOP that follows. Bottom line: Another banal game about which you will have to form your own opinion. Please play the Demo.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from same game, different name what a huge let down......this is a carbon copy of about 80% of the games we are getting in the last 5 yrs. and i guess they think we are all blind....the cards we find thru out this slow game are the size of a billboard. nothing new here...just boring .
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lack of correct accents a deal breaker For the last two games they might as well have been called Dark City America because all I could hear were American accents. I cannot get over this....... once again no buy from me.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Big dissapointment After playing all of "Dark city" series games, my expectations were very high.... Loved the demo,it was very promising, but the main game have highly disapointed me. The storyline turned out to be boring- Agatha promised a surprise about her identity, which wasn't there.Very predictible storyline. The gameplay itslef was super easy, the puzzles were for children.. The game was vey short... A huge dissapointment, just waisted money....
Date published: 2021-01-17
  • y_2021, m_5, d_17, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_32183, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark City: Budapest Collector's Edition

Budapest is under attack as vampires stalk the streets!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.